View Full Version : Recycling

07-06-2009, 08:48 AM
I try to recycle as much as possible. Cans, bottles, paper and cardboard are easy cos of the roadside collections, but I guess that doesn't happen everywhere.

So, my question is simply, "do you recycle"?

Comments are welcome.

07-06-2009, 09:04 AM
other than what the council makes me do i dont bother.

JDanielR1875
07-06-2009, 09:16 AM
Up here in Portsoy we have to recycle.

07-06-2009, 09:45 AM
I dont have much option, come home from work and find stuff sorted out for me to put into the 3 different bins by the mrs. Although if i'm being honest when she isnt in i normally throw it in the green household waste bin

sKipper
07-06-2009, 11:57 AM
I recycle as much as iI can.

Tins, cans, paper, plastic bottles and card go in the blue bin

Glass to the bottlebank.

Carrier bags to Tesco

07-06-2009, 04:12 PM
I do, but I have my moments of weakness......and I've been lazy in the past.

For example: we generally do self-catering holidays in France. Supermarkets there stopped giving out free bags years ago - they've been doing the 'bags for life' thing. Every year, I religiously pack all our French supermarket bags in the car, and use them. Here, until recently, (basically when people started making a fuss about it) I've taken the free checkout bags, because it's easy. I've repented though.:cool2:

Landells
07-06-2009, 04:22 PM
Bottles,cans,paper and cardboard = Bluebin :agree:

Darth Hibbie
07-06-2009, 04:58 PM
Whenever I can I do. We have 3 bins out here and that makes it slightly easier. Thinking about getting a compost bin. Are they any good?

I wouldn't consider myself a massive environmentalist or anything but I think its important that we all do our small (but important bit).

Out of interest those who do not is it mainly because you are not supplied with the bins or is there some other reason. I'll be honest if the council had not supplied the bins I would not have started but if they took them away now I would prob still make the effort.

07-06-2009, 06:48 PM
I dont have much option, come home from work and find stuff sorted out for me to put into the 3 different bins by the mrs. Although if i'm being honest when she isnt in i normally throw it in the green household waste bin

Can yer Mrs no work the lids or something? If she is going to the bother of sorting it it would only take a few seconds to put the stuff in the bins instead of waiting for you to do it. You need to have a word FFS. :confused: Wouldn't happen in my hoose.

07-06-2009, 07:02 PM
I try to recycle as much as possible. Cans, bottles, paper and cardboard are easy cos of the roadside collections, but I guess that doesn't happen everywhere.

Comments are welcome.

I do. My bins only get collected every 2nd week and if I didn't recycle I'd probably be overflowing.

What annoys me is that they don't take certain types of cardboard - I tried to put some orange juice and milk cartons in the other week and they gave me the bin back with them still in it. Apparently the cartons have a wax or something on them (tetra pack?). I just thought do they want to encourage recycling or not?

07-06-2009, 07:03 PM
Can yer Mrs no work the lids or something? If she is going to the bother of sorting it it would only take a few seconds to put the stuff in the bins instead of waiting for you to do it. You need to have a word FFS. :confused: Wouldn't happen in my hoose.

:hilarious Sounds like she needs a fit up the erse!

07-06-2009, 10:20 PM
Yes we do :agree:

In fact just put my Paper and plastic bins out 10 mins ago :thumbsup:

08-06-2009, 12:14 PM

Believe me if i had my way she would be doing it, all i hear is i cant do it as the baby will be in the house himself. Lost count of the times ive told her to take him with her, its only two feet out the back door. Time for a trade in i think:greengrin

08-06-2009, 12:24 PM
I do at work but not at home because we don't have seperate bins.

08-06-2009, 08:35 PM
The joys of living in the country is one bin for everything and a weekly collection. No recycling for me - Happy days!!

08-06-2009, 09:21 PM
I try as much as i can :agree:

I was surprised to hear from the guy at the tip that plastic like Garden Tables and chairs , buckets , large kids toys go straight to the landfill.
I was under the impression that all plastic could be recycled.

Why can they not recycle plastic bottle tops ?
I was squeezing the air out of the bottles and screwing the cap back on to save space but i watched a documentary about recycling and they were just throwing plastic bottles with caps on into the landfill bin:bitchy:

08-06-2009, 09:39 PM
I will admit to being an unreconstructed dinosaur on this front. I hate being told what to do by those who think they can get away with it. Like a teenager I will go in the opposite way. So if some patronising politician or jumped up crusty eco-nazi tells me to recycle they can get tae and try and find a real life with something worthwhile to get worked up about.

08-06-2009, 10:30 PM
I will admit to being an unreconstructed dinosaur on this front. I hate being told what to do by those who think they can get away with it. Like a teenager I will go in the opposite way. So if some patronising politician or jumped up crusty eco-nazi tells me to recycle they can get tae and try and find a real life with something worthwhile to get worked up about.

What he said. :agree:

08-06-2009, 10:39 PM
Hibs have tried recycling what with bringing JC and Mixu back but they've had limited success.

All that is about to change however :greengrin

Riordans Boots
08-06-2009, 10:41 PM

Comments are welcome.

I was at MacDonalds today with 3 kids and couldn't help myself from taking all their empty chip paper bags and happy meal boxes and the fruit shoot bottles home to recycle!!!

I always mean to ask the question to one of the staff, but never get round to it .. do big companies like McDs recycle all their rubbish :confused:

09-06-2009, 11:10 AM
I always mean to ask the question to one of the staff, but never get round to it .. do big companies like McDs recycle all their rubbish :confused:

:agree: They call it a Big Mac.