View Full Version : Murieston Football Tournament

02-06-2009, 09:13 PM
Any fellow netters have their bairns playing in this on Saturday ?

My boys team has 5 matches in the one day. First one kicks off at 10:30.

He'll sleep well on Saturady night:greengrin

02-06-2009, 09:15 PM

I'll be there from 9:00 SG. Mon the Polbeth Utd. :thumbsup:

02-06-2009, 09:22 PM

I'll be there with Broxburn Colts Utd. I will wander over and say hello if our paths cross:thumbsup:

02-06-2009, 09:29 PM
I'll be there with Broxburn Colts Utd. I will wander over and say hello if our paths cross:thumbsup:

:agree::thumbsup:

03-06-2009, 08:38 AM

Great, more parents than usual parking dangerously on grass verges and pavements.

Jay
03-06-2009, 08:46 AM
We are at the Cumbernauld tourny this weekend, leaving at 7.30am :boo hoo: The Murie one is a good tourny, usually well organised (as is the Broxburn one) Much rather we were there as its only 5 mins up the road!

Enjoy :greengrin

Edit: i am sooooooooooooooooooo excited!! On Sunday Broxi bear and Hoopy the Huddle Hound are visiting! Yeah me! :thumbsup: Cant see me leaving a trailing leg as they tumble past, no way!:cool2:

03-06-2009, 02:43 PM
Great, more parents than usual parking dangerously on grass verges and pavements.

Where is the best parking then Andy ?

03-06-2009, 04:02 PM
Where is the best parking then Andy ?

Car parks either at Bankton Mains or Williamson Primary School, lazy parent usually avoid them to park on verges on the main busy road and right over the pavements forcing prams etc into the middle of the road!

To be fair they will be full if it's a big day there but it'd be better, even us residents would say, to park round in the housing estates where you can and walk down. It really is dangerous on that main road with the parking.

Its not right to park your whole car on a pavement and force people onto a very busy road or to mash up all the nice verges then bugger off!

Should be somehwere round in Bankton Drive and also a path down to the park in the second cul de sac on the left.

My drive for a fee!

Jay
03-06-2009, 05:17 PM
Or do what I did and get dropped off and picked up again to save the hassle :agree:

Andy Bee
03-06-2009, 10:51 PM

I'll be there, mon the Polbeth Colts . Mini Bee has 3 in 3 starts which ordinarily is fantastic unless you're paying a tenner a goal, time to discuss a new contract methinks :agree:

04-06-2009, 10:27 AM
I might pop up early doors to catch a bit of the Mid Calder 2000s games.

However, it's gala day in Mid Calder, so the boozer beckons as I think the BBQ will be rained off.

04-06-2009, 11:55 AM

Early tee-time for our Open then? :wink:

04-06-2009, 06:45 PM
Early tee-time for our Open then? :wink:
Nope. A really late one. 3.32. :dizzy:

04-06-2009, 06:47 PM
I'll be there, mon the Polbeth Colts . Mini Bee has 3 in 3 starts which ordinarily is fantastic unless you're paying a tenner a goal, time to discuss a new contract methinks :agree:

I pay Fraser a quid a goal and double against anyone who has Hearts in their name. He has cost me a fortune. 7 in the last two games alone. He has scored several hattricks over the season. :boo hoo:

04-06-2009, 07:30 PM
Nope. A really late one. 3.32. :dizzy:

Just after me then :thumbsup:

Hope it's a nice day for all yer wee ones :agree:

Andy Bee
04-06-2009, 07:36 PM
I pay Fraser a quid a goal and double against anyone who has Hearts in their name. He has cost me a fortune. 7 in the last two games alone. He has scored several hattricks over the season. :boo hoo:

LOL, I thought I was getting off lightly at a tenner Alex, a mate of mine pays twenty and his boy netted 5 last night in a lost count after 12-4 routing of East Calder :greengrin.

Had a chance to watch a few of the Polbeth United games, some cracking little players throughout the age groups and watched atleast a fiver of your hard earned going Frazers way :greengrin

05-06-2009, 10:24 AM
Never mind sat get urself up to Broxburn Juniors park tonight. Livingston and Districts consolation cup final!!! Uphall v Stewartfield

06-06-2009, 01:04 PM
Update. Polbeth utd have won three games 4-1 and drawn 2-2 so far. One game to go but I have to bugger off to the golf. Wee man has scored 3. Mon the utd !!!!!

Andy Bee
06-06-2009, 02:51 PM
Update. Polbeth utd have won three games 4-1 and drawn 2-2 so far. One game to go but I have to bugger off to the golf. Wee man has scored 3. Mon the utd !!!!!

:greengrin wee man seems to think he scored 5, I can see a contractual dispute shortly :greengrin

Final tally for the day - £40 for goals scored and a ****in parking ticket from Lothian n Borders finest :bitchy:

Utd took the last game against the Colts 2-0 in what was a hard fought match, neither side giving in, infact at one point I thought it was going to go to blows, lots of colourful language fired at eachother and abusive comments towards the officials, anyway enough about the coaches the lads were brilliant

06-06-2009, 02:54 PM
Just back:greengrin
Broxburn lost the first game 6-2 against Fauldhouse Foxes (decent team BTW)
1-1 Draw in the next game but i canny mind who it was agianst.
Beat Celtic 3-2 , drew against Livi BC and beat the other team 4-1.

Really good day out for football even though it was Freezing , Rainy , Sunny and Roasting:greengrin

Fauldhouse tore up apart and looked a very good side:agree: I believe they have not lost a match all season:top marks

My boy scored 2:greengrin 1 screamer from outside the box to which i was jumping about like a loony.

Lots of great football on show and plenty of emotion. Our keeper was in tears after the first game as he let in 6 and was raging about it. Poor wee guy.
We played with 3 different keepers across the matches and i was really proud of everyone.

Great day indeed:thumbsup:

Mon the bairns

06-06-2009, 03:05 PM
Were you on pitch 2 Lex ?

I'm sure a Polbeth team were on our pitch inbetween our matches !!

Andy Bee
06-06-2009, 03:09 PM
Were you on pitch 2 Lex ?

I'm sure a Polbeth team were on our pitch inbetween our matches !!

Yup SG, Polbeth had 3 teams there all in the same group along with East Calder, Mid Calder and other (s) that I don't know

06-06-2009, 03:09 PM
:greengrin wee man seems to think he scored 5, I can see a contractual dispute shortly :greengrin

Final tally for the day - £40 for goals scored and a ****in parking ticket from Lothian n Borders finest :bitchy:

Utd took the last game against the Colts 2-0 in what was a hard fought match, neither side giving in, infact at one point I thought it was going to go to blows, lots of colourful language fired at eachother and abusive comments towards the officials, anyway enough about the coaches the lads were brilliant

The lads in our team were discussing how many goals they had scored all season. I swear i heard "ive got 44" "ive had 30" "35 for me" "10 for me from defence" and "im the keeper and ive scored 6":greengrin
They must have scored them at matches i didnt attend:greengrin

Andy Bee
06-06-2009, 03:21 PM
Don't know if you noticed SG but there were photos for sale after the games, team photos and some individuals that were shot during the games. They're seemingly going to be on their website later Link (http://www.media-event-management.com) £6 for large and £4 for the smaller

06-06-2009, 03:23 PM
Don't know if you noticed SG but there were photos for sale after the games, team photos and some individuals that were shot during the games. They're seemingly going to be on their website later Link (http://www.media-event-management.com) £6 for large and £4 for the smaller
I noticed that they had been taking the pictures but i was really wanting away when it finished so i didnt go in.
I will have a look at the website as i seen the guy taking a picture of my boy when he was in goals and was tangled up in the net:greengrin

Jay
06-06-2009, 07:20 PM
My sons team are in the semi finals at Cumbernauld tomorrow but they have to get past Celtic boys to get into the finals which is a huge task as they seemed to beat everybody by a rugby score today.

Win or lose they still did really well although we were pelted by hailstones during one game!

06-06-2009, 07:40 PM

I'm giving him 4 maybe I missed one but no chance of missing two :grr:.

Good tourney. I was a bit gutted I missed the last game. Fraser seems to think it finished 4-0 his mother 3-0 and you 2-0. We all need to stay out the sun I think. :greengrin
Pauline got a ticking off from the polis too. I think I scarpered just in time. :thumbsup:

06-06-2009, 07:43 PM
Just back:greengrin
Broxburn lost the first game 6-2 against Fauldhouse Foxes (decent team BTW)
1-1 Draw in the next game but i canny mind who it was agianst.
Beat Celtic 3-2 , drew against Livi BC and beat the other team 4-1.

Really good day out for football even though it was Freezing , Rainy , Sunny and Roasting:greengrin

Fauldhouse tore up apart and looked a very good side:agree: I believe they have not lost a match all season:top marks

My boy scored 2:greengrin 1 screamer from outside the box to which i was jumping about like a loony.

Lots of great football on show and plenty of emotion. Our keeper was in tears after the first game as he let in 6 and was raging about it. Poor wee guy.
We played with 3 different keepers across the matches and i was really proud of everyone.

Great day indeed:thumbsup:

Mon the bairns
Agree about the Foxes SG. The only team to have beaten Polbeth Utd this season. Polbeth were 3-0 up only to get beaten 6-3. :confused:

06-06-2009, 07:44 PM
My sons team are in the semi finals at Cumbernauld tomorrow but they have to get past Celtic boys to get into the finals which is a huge task as they seemed to beat everybody by a rugby score today.

Win or lose they still did really well although we were pelted by hailstones during one game!
Mon Scottie boy get intae thum. :agree: :thumbsup: (It is Scottie's team?) :greengrin

06-06-2009, 07:46 PM
Just heard that after the event one of the parents on our side had a go at our coach for subbing his boy:bitchy:
They played 5 matches ffs.
The worst thing is that we are struggling for coaches and this guy who got abuse gives a lot of his time to this as he is the only registered coach we have.

Out of order:bitchy:

06-06-2009, 07:49 PM
Just heard that after the event one of the parents on our side had a go at our coach for subbing his boy:bitchy:
They played 5 matches ffs.
The worst thing is that we are struggling for coaches and this guy who got abuse gives a lot of his time to this as he is the only registered coach we have.

Out of order:bitchy:
Nearly two and a half hours of football. What was he wanting FFS? We have one lad who is absolutely usless but he still gets on and gets a game.He is stuck up front out the road but gets a game all the same. Some Parents need to think about it from time to time.:bitchy:

Jay
06-06-2009, 07:49 PM
Mon Scottie boy get intae thum. :agree: :thumbsup: (It is Scottie's team?) :greengrin

Yep. They only had one sub today because of Gala days and they played 3x 1 hour long games with an hour break in between each game so they were all knackered.They lost the first game 4-2 then won 9-3 and 5-3 so they did themselves proud.:agree:

Have to say they are all well up for this game tomorrow because its Celtic boys, there is only one Celtic fan in the team the rest are Hibbys, Rangers and a couple of wayward Jambos.

06-06-2009, 07:53 PM
Yep. They only had one sub today because of Gala days and they played 3x 1 hour long games with an hour break in between each game so they were all knackered.They lost the first game 4-2 then won 9-3 and 5-3 so they did themselves proud.:agree:

Have to say they are all well up for this game tomorrow because its Celtic boys, there is only one Celtic fan in the team the rest are Hibbys, Rangers and a couple of wayward Jambos.
Thats just bloody stupid. How can they expect that to be good for kids? 3 hours of organised competative football. Whats wrong with half hour ganes and finish ot the day? Professionals wouldn't do it.
On the positive side he will sleep tonight. :greengrin

06-06-2009, 07:56 PM

Good luck to your lad. I'm sure he will get stuck in.:thumbsup:

Jay
06-06-2009, 07:56 PM
Thats just bloody stupid. How can they expect that to be good for kids? 3 hours of organised competative football. Whats wrong with half hour ganes and finish ot the day? Professionals wouldn't do it.
On the positive side he will sleep tonight. :greengrin

They are 11 aside now Lex, thats what they play. First game 9.30am ko and the last was 1.30pm ko. Most teams had 5 subs, Bathgate Gala day got in our way so we lost a couple of boys but the others did well and got the missing ones a couple of good games tomorrow. If they get knocked out first game they will be in the play offs for 3rd and 4th place so regardless they will have done well.

As much as we moaned about the weather I dont think they would have been able to play that long if it had been last weekend. They had one game early last sat and the ref stopped it twice to send the boys for drinks.

He's already sleeping :greengrin

08-06-2009, 10:03 AM
: and a ****in parking ticket from Lothian n Borders finest :bitchy:

Good to see they are dealing with the dangerous and selfish parking!

08-06-2009, 10:13 AM

Bee in yer bunnet Andy?
FWIW I did not see anyone parked dangerously on the main road. In fact there was only about 3 cars actually parked there. Everyone else parked in side streets. My ex missus got a talking too for almost parking too near a junction coming out of a cul de sac of about 5 houses. I think L&B's finest would be better utilised elsewhere. It may have been a problem in the past but there was no problem on Saturday. A quick look from them and then onto something more constructive would have done.

10-06-2009, 09:49 AM
Bee in yer bunnet Andy?
FWIW I did not see anyone parked dangerously on the main road. In fact there was only about 3 cars actually parked there. Everyone else parked in side streets. My ex missus got a talking too for almost parking too near a junction coming out of a cul de sac of about 5 houses. I think L&B's finest would be better utilised elsewhere. It may have been a problem in the past but there was no problem on Saturday. A quick look from them and then onto something more constructive would have done.

There was no problem on Saturday because the police took action, had cones up, and obviously patrolled.

Yes, I do have a been in the bunnet when my wife and baby are forced to walk in the middle of a main busy road to walk past cars parked on the verges and across pavements.

As serious accident has been on the cards for some time now and I'm glad that the actions they have taken seem to have sorted it this time.

People have been asked nicely and warned in the past and they haven't taken heed and did what they liked.

10-06-2009, 09:54 AM
There was no problem on Saturday because the police took action, had cones up, and obviously patrolled.

Yes, I do have a been in the bunnet when my wife and baby are forced to walk in the middle of a main busy road to walk past cars parked on the verges and across pavements.

As serious accident has been on the cards for some time now and I'm glad that the actions they have taken seem to have sorted it this time.

Andy, i know how annoying this can be but its better not to exagerate to get your point across.
She wouldnt have to walk in the MIDDLE of the road and its not really a busy MAIN road is it.
No exuses for the inconsiderate parkers though.

10-06-2009, 10:00 AM
Andy, i know how annoying this can be but its better not to exagerate to get your point across.
She wouldnt have to walk in the MIDDLE of the road and its not really a busy MAIN road is it.
No exuses for the inconsiderate parkers though.

Eh?

Cars park right across the pavement. The whole car across the whole pavement. Same where this is just a grass verge.

To get the pram around the cars at those points she has to take the pram right into the road. Made worse when the cars are both sides and the cars on each side have to swerve onto the other side, so yes, it's the middle of the road.

And yes, it's a very busy and quick road, it's straight off the A71 and cars hurtle up and down it all day and night.

No exaggeration.

Andy Bee
13-06-2009, 11:46 AM
Car parks either at Bankton Mains or Williamson Primary School, lazy parent usually avoid them to park on verges on the main busy road and right over the pavements forcing prams etc into the middle of the road!

To be fair they will be full if it's a big day there but it'd be better, even us residents would say, to park round in the housing estates where you can and walk down. It really is dangerous on that main road with the parking.

Its not right to park your whole car on a pavement and force people onto a very busy road or to mash up all the nice verges then bugger off!

Should be somehwere round in Bankton Drive and also a path down to the park in the second cul de sac on the left.
My drive for a fee!

That's a bit cheeky without knowing the facts Andy naw?

:faf: Guess where I parked and guess what muppets advice I read the night before that lead me to park there :hmmm: I was actually going to use your drive Andy, was it the house with the high horse tied to the whirlygig?

The reason given for the ticket was "unsuitable parking" not "dangerous" parking or "selfish" parking and it turned out when I phoned the police that the "residents" don't like all the cars parking in the schemes on matchdays, I suppose it doesn't help with half of F Division staying in Murieston or having six football pitches together with enough parking for twenty cars at most.

15-06-2009, 10:06 AM
That's a bit cheeky without knowing the facts Andy naw?

:faf: Guess where I parked and guess what muppets advice I read the night before that lead me to park there :hmmm: I was actually going to use your drive Andy, was it the house with the high horse tied to the whirlygig?

The reason given for the ticket was "unsuitable parking" not "dangerous" parking or "selfish" parking and it turned out when I phoned the police that the "residents" don't like all the cars parking in the schemes on matchdays, I suppose it doesn't help with half of F Division staying in Murieston or having six football pitches together with enough parking for twenty cars at most.

The residents, nor the police would have any issue with any parking in the schemes or otherwise that was in a parking space or safe.

I'd guess, seeing as the ticket was issued, it was in a place not designated for parking or somewhere that was otherwise not suitable.

Where I am for example there are several proper parking sapces free for visitors or the public and i'm only in the first steeet rounf drom the park.

That must have been far too long a walk for people as not one the spaces were used, instead they were all over the verges and corners of the road that was just ever so slightly nearer.