View Full Version : 29-stone mum feeds her eight-month-old triplets McDonald’s

29-04-2009, 01:23 PM
I picked this up from another forum.

I realise mums today are busier than they were when I was a kid, maybe, although this one being unemployed should, IMO, have more time to prepare something decent than those who work. Maybe nobody showed her how? Sad

Sad in so many ways. None more so that I find myself agreeing with a Sun columnist! “Sun columnist Jon branded the fast food diet as “child abuse”.”

A 29-STONE mum who feeds her eight-month old triplets with McDonald's has insisted she is bringing the tots up in the “best way she can".

Leanne Salt, 24, said she is “too busy” to properly feed daughters Deanna and Daisy and son Finlee.

So she lets them eat her takeaways and gives them Wotsits snacks and microwave meals.

Leanne today defended giving her kids junk food on Sun Talk – which broadcasts every day on thesun.co.uk — when quizzed by DJ Jon Gaunt.

She said: “I’m trying to bring up my children the best way I can and the best way I know. My children are happy.”

Sun columnist Jon branded the fast food diet as “child abuse”.

But Leanne insisted: “My children are healthy weights for their ages.”

A 68-strong team of medics delivered Leanne’s triplets last year, costing the NHS £200,000.

She now dresses them just one day a week when she goes out to collect her dole money.

The tots eat 1,249 calories a day instead of the 765 recommended for their 17lb weight.

Leanne, who swelled to 40 STONE before the birth last August, eats an average of 3,000 a day — 1,000 more than is recommended for a woman.

She said: “My babies were six months old when they had their first McDonald’s. They like fish and chips too. I chew the food first so they can eat it because they haven’t got any teeth yet. I give them packets of Wotsits as a snack at 2pm.

“Sometimes I’ll cook them a microwave lasagne. Babies are always hungry — sometimes it’s easier to give them food that’s already prepared.
Taste

“They’re on the baby food jars and love the fish pie and cottage pie meals. But I see no harm in letting them have a few bits of my takeaways too.

“They like the taste of them and it’s a treat. I let the triplets eat fries off my plate as I think it’s best they try all kinds of food to see what they like.”

She added: “Anyway they don’t always have junk food — sometimes I cook a microwave meal. My babies are healthy.” Leanne, of Coventry, blames her obesity on thyroid trouble.

She got pregnant by her boyfriend of only four weeks in January last year. They split halfway through her pregnancy, and Leanne now lives with her brother and mum Jane, 46.

Their tiny house is strewn with laundry piles and toys.

Leanne receives £140 a week tax credit, £42 a week child benefit and £45 family allowance. She spends the £227 on food and ten cigarettes a day.

Her takeaways confession comes as figures show a shocking one in five children are raised on little but junk food.

The Infant and Toddler Forum poll also discovered that 65 per cent of mums NEVER cook meals from scratch.

Leanne said she also feeds her kids milk, scrambled eggs on toast and instant mashed potato with spaghetti hoops.

She told Closer magazine: “I feed my babies vegetables every Sunday, and a lot of the baby food has fruit in it.”

Leanne steers away from healthy foods in case it makes her tots anorexic. She said: “I don’t want them to think they have to watch what they eat. I’ll tell them big is beautiful.”

Mum Jane said: “I buy salad, but nobody eats it. They’d rather have sugary foods.”

The Sun’s Doctor Carol Cooper warned of the dangers of feeding kids junk food.

She said: “A balanced diet is important as it gives children the best possible start in life.

“A poor diet in the short term can cause bowel problems such as constipation.

“In the long run it may mean bone disease, obesity, diabetes, high blood pressure, heart disease and maybe kidney failure.”

THE average 40-year-old British woman has a “fat age” of 66 — after eating a level of fat that should have taken her 66 years, shock figures reveal.

http://www.thesun.co.uk/sol/homepage/news/article2399352.ece

29-04-2009, 02:22 PM
Who's the father he must be a magician?

29-04-2009, 02:30 PM
everytime i see a story like this it just convinces me more the film "idiocracy" will come true :grr:

Hibbie_Cameron
29-04-2009, 02:58 PM
Saw the pics of her yesterday in the Sun :jamboak:

What a terrible thing to brag about and in turn make money from

29-04-2009, 04:11 PM
Utter ****, and the sun is right. That is child abuse.

"Big is beautiful". Yeah keep telling yourself that when we have to fork out even more than the £200,000 to deliver your babies, for your healthcare because you're too lazy to do anything about your weight and quite happy to sit taking dole money.

Her way of bringing her kids up will just result in more and more strain placed on the taxpayer to support a NHS that is overloaded with medical issues that are easily avoided.

Jay
29-04-2009, 04:28 PM
Its all down to lack of education and ignorance. I agree it is child abuse but she needs help rather than scorn. We should be sending someone in to teach her how to nourish the children properly and get them to a nursery to give her a proper break. Help her help her kids to a good life.

29-04-2009, 04:40 PM
Not like the Sun to exploit someone's ignorance! :bitchy:

29-04-2009, 07:43 PM
Its all down to lack of education and ignorance. I agree it is child abuse but she needs help rather than scorn. We should be sending someone in to teach her how to nourish the children properly and get them to a nursery to give her a proper break. Help her help her kids to a good life.

Jill, I do agree with you but how ignorant do you have to be to come out with some of those sentences? Sheer laziness is more like it IMO. Glad to see she still has money to buy herself fags though.

30-04-2009, 08:32 AM
"I chew the food first so they can eat it because they haven’t got any teeth yet." :jamboak:

mickeythehibbee
30-04-2009, 09:55 AM
Utter ****, and the sun is right. That is child abuse.

"Big is beautiful". Yeah keep telling yourself that when we have to fork out even more than the £200,000 to deliver your babies, for your healthcare because you're too lazy to do anything about your weight and quite happy to sit taking dole money.

Her way of bringing her kids up will just result in more and more strain placed on the taxpayer to support a NHS that is overloaded with medical issues that are easily avoided.

Totally agree.

I'm not going to criticise her for being stupid but how on Earth do you miss the information that's plastered everywhere about how important healthy eating is? It's not like it's hard to find!

Also out of curiosity what the hell is she doing that means she's "too busy" to prepare real food? :rolleyes:

P.S. imagine if this lassie had been Polish, the uproar! Instead it's relegated to a side story in Closer and the Sun. :bitchy:

30-04-2009, 10:03 AM
Totally agree.

I'm not going to criticise her for being stupid but how on Earth do you miss the information that's plastered everywhere about how important healthy eating is? It's not like it's hard to find!

Also out of curiosity what the hell is she doing that means she's "too busy" to prepare real food? :rolleyes:

P.S. imagine if this lassie had been Polish, the uproar! Instead it's relegated to a side story in Closer and the Sun. :bitchy:

That is crazy, she's on the dole FFS how can she be to busy?

30-04-2009, 10:08 AM
This woman can't be a Jambo though otherwise she would need someone to chew the food for her!!

Of course she is too busy to prepare a meal for her kids. Daytime telly doesn't watch itself :rolleyes:

strummbo
30-04-2009, 12:23 PM
What really gets me is the general apathy of people to re-learn what they already know yet have not utilised

Basically, anyone who is obese like that, morbidly so, needs help!

I think she's a bit dolly dimple... fat lazy folk like that are symptomatic of everything that is wrong with western culture.

Soylent GReen them I say...

poor kids...

erin-go-bragh87
30-04-2009, 12:45 PM
The worst thing is that she has no reason to go out and look for work and change her life because she makes more in benefits than she would working a full time job.

Im not saying that she shouldnt recieve benefits but for her to sell this story to the paper makes people think that everyone who needs benefits as they are out of work do so simply because they are lazy.

30-04-2009, 01:59 PM

A break from what? Sitting on her ass only to leave the house once a week to collect her dole. It's morons like her that help keep taxes high as she sits collecting dole and costing the NHS a fortune, as her health is so bad.

30-04-2009, 02:37 PM
A break from what? Sitting on her ass only to leave the house once a week to collect her dole. It's morons like her that help keep taxes high as she sits collecting dole and costing the NHS a fortune, as her health is so bad.

:agree: :agree: Quite right - there's only so far one can stretch this "ignorance" line. How "ignorant" can you possibly be to (especially at the weight of 29 stone) not realise that that diet is completely unacceptable for children?? If such "ignorance" actually exists I'd suggest that social services get involved unless this changes tout suite. That IS Child abuse, and christ knows I despise the Sun, but this case really shows that truth CAN be more disgusting than any fiction the "pie in the sky" Sun journos could possibly invent!!

As for her being "too busy" to properly care for her kids, gies peace. The women is a dole junkie, abusing the system that is set up to care for those that find themselves in GENUINE, unavoidable difficulty/distress. Frankly, her and her ilk make me sick, and almost make me think twice about the validity of a social security system, something which - in the cold light of day - I believe any democratic country should have in place.

30-04-2009, 02:38 PM
Saw the pics of her yesterday in the Sun :jamboak:

What a terrible thing to brag about and in turn make money from

Pages 3,4,5,6 and 7 I believe :wink:

Hibbie_Cameron
30-04-2009, 02:59 PM
Pages 3,4,5,6 and 7 I believe :wink:

Page 3 of the Sun:jamboak::wink:

Jay
30-04-2009, 04:52 PM

Triplets

30-04-2009, 08:58 PM
:agree: :agree: Quite right - there's only so far one can stretch this "ignorance" line. How "ignorant" can you possibly be to (especially at the weight of 29 stone) not realise that that diet is completely unacceptable for children?? If such "ignorance" actually exists I'd suggest that social services get involved unless this changes tout suite. That IS Child abuse, and christ knows I despise the Sun, but this case really shows that truth CAN be more disgusting than any fiction the "pie in the sky" Sun journos could possibly invent!!

As for her being "too busy" to properly care for her kids, gies peace. The women is a dole junkie, abusing the system that is set up to care for those that find themselves in GENUINE, unavoidable difficulty/distress. Frankly, her and her ilk make me sick, and almost make me think twice about the validity of a social security system, something which - in the cold light of day - I believe any democratic country should have in place.She is a dole junkie with eight month old triplets? I'd like to see you cope with 3 babies aged eight months, in fact have you got any kids?

30-04-2009, 09:59 PM
Another instance of the ridiculous state Britain is in...

This country is SCREWED!

30-04-2009, 10:17 PM
She is a dole junkie with eight month old triplets? I'd like to see you cope with 3 babies aged eight months, in fact have you got any kids?

i think the vast majority of people would do a lot better than that TBF :bitchy:

30-04-2009, 11:28 PM

As for her being "too busy" to properly care for her kids, gies peace. The women is a dole junkie, abusing the system that is set up to care for those that find themselves in GENUINE, unavoidable difficulty/distress. Frankly, her and her ilk make me sick, and almost make me think twice about the validity of a social security system, something which - in the cold light of day - I believe any democratic country should have in place.

Spot on with the ignorance bit - nae excuse, IMHO. Nobody sat me down and told me what was healthy for my kids - I got off my erse and found out though.

I wish folk would start taking responsibilty for themselves (assuming that they has the mental capacity to do so, clearly there are exceptions where people simply aren't capable), rather than waiting for someone to show them or do things for them.

The lack of responsibility is one of the biggest problems this country faces, IMHO.

01-05-2009, 07:30 AM
Spot on with the ignorance bit - nae excuse, IMHO. Nobody sat me down and told me what was healthy for my kids - I got off my erse and found out though.

I wish folk would start taking responsibilty for themselves (assuming that they has the mental capacity to do so, clearly there are exceptions where people simply aren't capable), rather than waiting for someone to show them or do things for them.

The lack of responsibility is one of the biggest problems this country faces, IMHO. Which is my point, nobody knows the woman's circumstances, she could have post natal depression for example. Its hard enough bringing one or two kids up on your own, never mind at three eight months old. As for ignorance, I think the woman's statement "I am bringing up my kids the best way I can" kind of gives the show away. She doesn't know any better. You are probably part of a two parent family, so you would have an input in your children's diet and upbringing, from what I gather from the article she is a lone parent. The woman obviously needs help not ridiculed by the likes of John Gaunt and the Sun.

Jay
01-05-2009, 08:38 AM
Which is my point, nobody knows the woman's circumstances, she could have post natal depression for example. Its hard enough bringing one or two kids up on your own, never mind at three eight months old. As for ignorance, I think the woman's statement "I am bringing up my kids the best way I can" kind of gives the show away. She doesn't know any better. You are probably part of a two parent family, so you would have an input in your children's diet and upbringing, from what I gather from the article she is a lone parent. The woman obviously needs help not ridiculed by the likes of John Gaunt and the Sun.

:top marks She very obviously needs help and as a society if we cant step in, no matter how much we dislike her comments which are probably bravado anyway, and help those kids as well as her then I despair of what we have turned into.

01-05-2009, 09:19 AM
:top marks She very obviously needs help and as a society if we cant step in, no matter how much we dislike her comments which are probably bravado anyway, and help those kids as well as her then I despair of what we have turned into.

Or BS.

You would think she was the first woman ever to have had triplets.

The kids can be helped but where do you draw the line? Do you start looking at the possibility of taking away every fat kid with a bad diet?

I know there's a certain level of social responsibility but we are seeing a larger and larger amount of scroungers every day who won't help themselves.

Jay
01-05-2009, 09:30 AM
Or BS.

You would think she was the first woman ever to have had triplets.

The kids can be helped but where do you draw the line? Do you start looking at the possibility of taking away every fat kid with a bad diet?

I know there's a certain level of social responsibility but we are seeing a larger and larger amount of scroungers every day who won't help themselves.

I am not suggesting taking the kids away, far from it. If she is 29 stones she needs help in the first case. I would imagine she suffers from depression. Like was said before she may have post natal depression. Surely its better to do something about it than ridicule her. Ridiculing her will change nothing, it will probably make it worse. Step in and show her the way for goodness sake!! Give her a chance!

Have you got kids? I cant even begin to imagine how hard it would be to have 8 month old triplets on my own. I had 4 kids under 6, like to think I am pretty sensible and am lucky enough to have good suport around me but believe me there were times I was on my knees and could easily have gone down the route she has. There isn't a parent around who hasn't opted for the easy option at some point making a rod for their own back - she has just done it on a much bigger scale than the rest of us and needs help.

01-05-2009, 10:26 AM
I am not suggesting taking the kids away, far from it. If she is 29 stones she needs help in the first case. I would imagine she suffers from depression. Like was said before she may have post natal depression. Surely its better to do something about it than ridicule her. Ridiculing her will change nothing, it will probably make it worse. Step in and show her the way for goodness sake!! Give her a chance!

Have you got kids? I cant even begin to imagine how hard it would be to have 8 month old triplets on my own. I had 4 kids under 6, like to think I am pretty sensible and am lucky enough to have good suport around me but believe me there were times I was on my knees and could easily have gone down the route she has. There isn't a parent around who hasn't opted for the easy option at some point making a rod for their own back - she has just done it on a much bigger scale than the rest of us and needs help.

Well thats another issue in its own right. Another breakdown of society is the rise of single parents.

The fact of the matter is at some point, she must have realised that she was getting unhealthily overweight, and any sane human would do something about it. The ignorance card is no excuse, kids are educated about this from a young age at school.

All she is going to do is take, take, take from society and pass those shoddy morals on to her kids.

01-05-2009, 10:48 AM

That must be an absolute nightmare. Have to laugh at the bit in the article which said "she claims £42 a week child benefit", every family in the country gets child benefit, so therefore we all must be scroungers. As for John Gaunt maybe he should address his own "weight problem", he has hardly got a sylph like figure. :rolleyes:

Jay
01-05-2009, 10:58 AM
Well thats another issue in its own right. Another breakdown of society is the rise of single parents.

The fact of the matter is at some point, she must have realised that she was getting unhealthily overweight, and any sane human would do something about it. The ignorance card is no excuse, kids are educated about this from a young age at school.

All she is going to do is take, take, take from society and pass those shoddy morals on to her kids.

Well god forgive us for not being perfect. Let me know how you manage it. You are right, she chose to be morbidly overweight and wants to do nothing about that, she chose to be a single parent and she is choosing to be a bad parent - its probably something she dreamt of being when she was a wee girl. We need to burn her at the stake and imprison her less than perfect 8 month olds to save our souls. Her upbringing and ignorance is no excuse and we as a society should be rid of such people. Close your eyes and you'll not see her ruining your perfect world.

Jay
01-05-2009, 11:02 AM
That must be an absolute nightmare. Have to laugh at the bit in the article which said "she claims £42 a week child benefit", every family in the country gets child benefit, so therefore we all must be scroungers. As for John Gaunt maybe he should address his own "weight problem", he has hardly got a sylph like figure. :rolleyes:

I get more than that - what does that make me? My youngest didn't sleep for the first year of his life - maybe 3 x 20 min naps per night (on a good night) I remember how exhausted I was with him and still trying to function as a normal human being during the day. I just hope she can get and accept some support.

HibbyScott
01-05-2009, 11:18 AM
I get more than that - what does that make me? My youngest didn't sleep for the first year of his life - maybe 3 x 20 min naps per night (on a good night) I remember how exhausted I was with him and still trying to function as a normal human being during the day. I just hope she can get and accept some support.

I appreciate that it can be hard to look after Triplets by yourself, but if she's at home, would she not be able to ask her own mum to look after her grandchildren for a wee bit while she goes away to get a break for a wee bit?

After reading the article, I'm also not so convinced she would accept any support that could be given to her.

Leanne steers away from healthy foods in case it makes her tots anorexic. She said: “I don’t want them to think they have to watch what they eat. I’ll tell them big is beautiful.”

This quote here kind of sums it up for me I think. Surely everyone should know that a few fruit and veg a week (not just on a Sunday) aren't going to turn children anorexic? The quote seems to point to me that if she was able to get some support from someone who would try to give pointers on how to adapt her and her children's diet, she may just not take it on board.

I can appreciate eating ready made meals as they're easier to prepare if you have little time. I'm a student so I can be found to pretty much live off them sometimes, but I think that the 1,249 calories a day (which is 163% of their recommended allowance) is absolutely extortionate.

01-05-2009, 11:51 AM

I would imagine that she suffers from stuffing too much food down her gob!!

Jay
01-05-2009, 12:14 PM
I would imagine that she suffers from stuffing too much food down her gob!!

nice. If she was anorexic and starving her babies the world would be falling at her feet trying to help her but because she is fat its all her fault.

Jay
01-05-2009, 12:19 PM
I appreciate that it can be hard to look after Triplets by yourself, but if she's at home, would she not be able to ask her own mum to look after her grandchildren for a wee bit while she goes away to get a break for a wee bit?
After reading the article, I'm also not so convinced she would accept any support that could be given to her.

This quote here kind of sums it up for me I think. Surely everyone should know that a few fruit and veg a week (not just on a Sunday) aren't going to turn children anorexic? The quote seems to point to me that if she was able to get some support from someone who would try to give pointers on how to adapt her and her children's diet, she may just not take it on board.

I can appreciate eating ready made meals as they're easier to prepare if you have little time. I'm a student so I can be found to pretty much live off them sometimes, but I think that the 1,249 calories a day (which is 163% of their recommended allowance) is absolutely extortionate.

Huge understatement - 3 newborn babies 24/7, up for night feeds, nappy changes and possibly colic is not difficult its way more than that. Just having enough bottles made up at all times is a nightmare! I dont know what sort of support she has around her and who could offer to help or even if she chose to have it. Her comments are ridiculous but I dont believe she means them anyway. It only shows her ignorance and that she is not a great mum by any stretch of the imagination but also proves she needs a lot of help.

01-05-2009, 03:34 PM
Well god forgive us for not being perfect. Let me know how you manage it. You are right, she chose to be morbidly overweight and wants to do nothing about that, she chose to be a single parent and she is choosing to be a bad parent - its probably something she dreamt of being when she was a wee girl. We need to burn her at the stake and imprison her less than perfect 8 month olds to save our souls. Her upbringing and ignorance is no excuse and we as a society should be rid of such people. Close your eyes and you'll not see her ruining your perfect world.

I'm sorry things aren't better, because no kid deserves to be brought up in such a way. It's sad that people are having kids outside stable relationships.

I'm fed up of this softly softly approach to these people. She has already cost society a fortune in dole money, and the £200,000 for giving birth. How much more support can we give this idiot?

All kids from a young age are encouraged to eat healthily, and this is taught from nursery school. Getting to a weight where you can hardly function is completely irresponsible.

She clearly isn't capable of raising kids due to her apparent lack of knowledge regarding health, and her own health.

It's a real tragedy for the kids.

Jay
01-05-2009, 04:05 PM
I'm sorry things aren't better, because no kid deserves to be brought up in such a way. It's sad that people are having kids outside stable relationships.

I'm fed up of this softly softly approach to these people. She has already cost society a fortune in dole money, and the £200,000 for giving birth. How much more support can we give this idiot?

All kids from a young age are encouraged to eat healthily, and this is taught from nursery school. Getting to a weight where you can hardly function is completely irresponsible.

She clearly isn't capable of raising kids due to her apparent lack of knowledge regarding health, and her own health.

It's a real tragedy for the kids.

That can be said for a huge portion of society. How about a mum smoking in front of her kids? I know a woman who smoked 40 a day while her baby was in the same room as her. What children are taught in nursery is totally different to what goes on at home.

01-05-2009, 04:19 PM
That can be said for a huge portion of society. How about a mum smoking in front of her kids? I know a woman who smoked 40 a day while her baby was in the same room as her. What children are taught in nursery is totally different to what goes on at home.

I quite agree. It's tragic, but there isn't much we can do legally to stop it.

Jay
01-05-2009, 04:45 PM
I quite agree. It's tragic, but there isn't much we can do legally to stop it.

Its always been in society some children will be raised better than others. I know there has to be a lower level of acceptance which should never be crossed (as it is in this case) but the only thing we can do is to help and educate the woman.

Sitting here pointing our oh so better fingers at her and tutting isn't going to help those kids. Like I said most disagree with babies passively smoking but is there huge newspapers stories on it? No! Why? One of the reasons is because she is 29 stones. If she was a size 12 it would hardly have been mentioned.

She needs help and the kids need help.

01-05-2009, 04:46 PM
I don't understand why people defend people like this. I really don't.

The softly, softly approach doesn't work for everyone. How many times when you were young were you told not to do something, you did it and did it again until you got a tanned arse. Then you stopped it.

Fat slobs like this should be sent to some kind of government fat camp. That was just a joke for all of you about to get histerical. :faf:

Even if this slob does lose weight (which I doubt) it's going to cost hundreds of thousands more for her to get all the excess skin etc chopped off her elephant like physice.

How does she get her fat ass to McDonalds anyway?

I loved this quote.

She added: “Anyway they don’t always have junk food — sometimes I cook a microwave meal. My babies are healthy.” :faf:

Jay
01-05-2009, 05:49 PM
I don't understand why people defend people like this. I really don't.

The softly, softly approach doesn't work for everyone. How many times when you were young were you told not to do something, you did it and did it again until you got a tanned arse. Then you stopped it.

Fat slobs like this should be sent to some kind of government fat camp. That was just a joke for all of you about to get histerical. :faf:

Even if this slob does lose weight (which I doubt) it's going to cost hundreds of thousands more for her to get all the excess skin etc chopped off her elephant like physice.

How does she get her fat ass to McDonalds anyway?

I loved this quote.

She added: “Anyway they don’t always have junk food — sometimes I cook a microwave meal. My babies are healthy.” :faf:

Its hysterical not histerical and I dont know what a physice is. Thats about all there is to say I think.

01-05-2009, 06:09 PM
Its hysterical not histerical and I dont know what a physice is. Thats about all there is to say I think.

Sorry mum.

I meant physique.

If two mis-spelt words are all I need to worry about I'm happy. At least I'm not in the same state as that fat mess who probably can't even spell McDonalds.

Jay
01-05-2009, 06:23 PM
Sorry mum.

I meant physique.

If two mis-spelt words are all I need to worry about I'm happy. At least I'm not in the same state as that fat mess who probably can't even spell McDonalds.

Good for you. And if you were you wouldn't want or deserve any help anyway

01-05-2009, 07:36 PM
Good for you. And if you were you wouldn't want or deserve any help anyway

It's interesting to see that you're the judge and jury on who deserves help. I bet that I contribute a million times more to society than that mess.

01-05-2009, 07:37 PM
It's interesting to see that you're the judge and jury on who deserves help. I bet that I contribute a million times more to society than that mess.

Your capacity for compassion astounds me.

01-05-2009, 08:38 PM
Ultimately, there are people that feel empathy for those less fortunate than ourselves, and those who don't. I think most of know who is who on this board by now.

Jay
01-05-2009, 08:50 PM

I think you are missing my sarcasm. I am actually saying everyone should get help and support if they need it regardless of background, size,colour whatever. I am certainly not being judge and jury, in fact I would say that you are the main offender of that. You seem to be of the opinion that because of her weight she doesn't deserve any help.

01-05-2009, 09:53 PM

Looks like you have appointed yourself judge and jury here.

03-05-2009, 07:47 PM
nice. If she was anorexic and starving her babies the world would be falling at her feet trying to help her but because she is fat its all her fault.

If she has so much running around to do after triplets (as you say) why is she so fat?

1. She would be getting exercise;
2. She wouldn't have time to stuff crap down her gob.

I know I'm being flippant and I do agree with you that if she had been a size 12 then this would have been a non-story for the tabloids, but she's not and it is and I believe she got paid for the story so she only has herself to blame for any negativity towards her.

04-05-2009, 06:38 AM
According to this, she's doing a sterling job anyway:agree:
Some baby foods less nutritious than a cheeseburger, says report
http://www.guardian.co.uk/uk/2009/may/04/baby-food-nutrition-claims

Cheeseburgers and chocolate biscuits are more nutritious than some of the most popular baby foods from Britain's leading brands, a report claims.

The food company Heinz comes under fire in the research which found that Farley's rusks – a classic weaning food – contained more sugar than chocolate digestives, while its mini cheese biscuits, aimed at toddlers, contained more saturated fat per 100g than a McDonald's quarter pounder burger with cheese.

The survey by the Children's Food Campaign of 107 foods marketed for consumption by babies and young children – all bought from mainstream British supermarkets – shows that a high proportion of these foods are high in saturated fat, salt and sugar. Only half of all the products surveyed were low in saturated fat, salt and sugar, while for Heinz products this figure was one in four.

In the case of Cow & Gate, one in nine products were high in sugar.
Its Baby Balance bear biscuits were also found to contain unhealthy trans fats – which have proven links with heart disease – and were also poorly labelled. The biscuits have recently been withdrawn from sale.

The Children's Food Campaign (CFC) works to improve children's health and wellbeing through better food, and is supported by more than 300 national and local health organisations and 12,000 members of the public.

CFC joint co-ordinator Christine Haigh said: "Many foods marketed for babies and young children are advertised as 'healthy'. In reality, in terms of sugar and saturated fat content, some are worse than junk food. In particular, failing to correctly label products that contain dangerous trans fats is outrageous."

The results of the survey follow those of an investigation in 2000 by the Food Commission which exposed the high levels of sugar in baby biscuits, and which urged manufacturers to reduce the amount.

In a statement, Heinz said: "Farley's rusks have been enjoyed by generations of babies, and some adults too, for 120 years. Enriched with vitamins and minerals, the unique Farley's rusk recipe has remained virtually unchanged."

04-05-2009, 10:21 AM
Which is my point, nobody knows the woman's circumstances, she could have post natal depression for example. Its hard enough bringing one or two kids up on your own, never mind at three eight months old. As for ignorance, I think the woman's statement "I am bringing up my kids the best way I can" kind of gives the show away. She doesn't know any better. You are probably part of a two parent family, so you would have an input in your children's diet and upbringing, from what I gather from the article she is a lone parent. The woman obviously needs help not ridiculed by the likes of John Gaunt and the Sun.

I think you've introduced a bit of perspective here, BB. We live in a consumerist culture and people with no support and low self-esteem are fair game for the type of passive conditioning the rest of us would scoff at. Whenever I watch programes about morbidly obsese people, it strikes me that most of them seem to suffer from depression and take comfort in sugary and salty 'food' and become addicted to the spiking that these provide.

I think we have to have a revolution, and that these products should not be allowed the designation of 'food'. There should be a minimum nutrient, calorie level etc etc for every orally consumed product, and it should hit that level before it can be officiially designated 'food'. This would force people to confront what they actually give themselves and their kids.

06-05-2009, 06:01 AM

Agree to a certain extent but surely the bit i've put in bold is down to plain common sense :dunno: