View Full Version : Beggars In Edinburgh

cad
28-04-2009, 07:22 PM
Walked home from a job at Newington today ,never noticed this before when driving ,but how many beggars are there from Newington to the
bottom of The Bridges I counted 11 in all at Banks, Tescos , Scotmid , , Pizza Hut ,
The Carlton Hotel and a few hole in the wall cash machines on the way down it looks terrible.
Ive given the odd 50p but it looks like a racket in fact at one point walking past a girl at Surgeons Hall outside Tescos she looked over to another beggar a young boy outside Scotmid I think it is, she pointed to her watch time to go sort of thing the guy then waves a cigarette at her then they both get up and walk to a new pitch presumably .
The other thing was the other beggars 4 or 5 of them looked foreign in fact this was confirmed later 2 off the stopped me asking for money Slavs , Romainian, what do you think about this I think it makes our city look like a beggars paradise ,,I never saw any police moving them on any of the banks or shop washing the outside of there premises to get rid of them
What do you think or am I not being very understand as I say Ive never noticed driving but it was certainly an eye opener , god knows what the tourists think .

28-04-2009, 07:42 PM
You are right it is an organised racket now just like big issue selling. If nobody gave them anything they might go away.

28-04-2009, 07:54 PM
Walked home from a job at Newington today ,never noticed this before when driving ,but how many beggars are there from Newington to the
bottom of The Bridges I counted 11 in all at Banks, Tescos , Scotmid , , Pizza Hut ,
The Carlton Hotel and a few hole in the wall cash machines on the way down it looks terrible.
Ive given the odd 50p but it looks like a racket in fact at one point walking past a girl at Surgeons Hall outside Tescos she looked over to another beggar a young boy outside Scotmid I think it is, she pointed to her watch time to go sort of thing the guy then waves a cigarette at her then they both get up and walk to a new pitch presumably .
The other thing was the other beggars 4 or 5 of them looked foreign in fact this was confirmed later 2 off the stopped me asking for money Slavs , Romainian, what do you think about this I think it makes our city look like a beggars paradise ,,I never saw any police moving them on any of the banks or shop washing the outside of there premises to get rid of them
What do you think or am I not being very understand as I say Ive never noticed driving but it was certainly an eye opener , god knows what the tourists think .

know what you mean

a guy came into my shop on princes street looking to buy something, (he was foreign, possibly romanian although to be honest i'm not sure) when he came to pay for it he pulled out a roll of £20's for a £5 purchase, there must have been hundreds if not thousands there, half an hour later i went out for my lunch and he was begging outside burger king.

I'd never do anything about it but out of curiosity if i had gone to the police is there anything they could do? wasn't sure if the guy was breaking any laws or not :dunno:

EH6 Hibby
28-04-2009, 08:06 PM
They're everywhere now, I live off Leith Walk and there are usually around 4 or 5 sitting at banks and Supermarkets! I definitely think there is some kind of organised Eastern European group, a few months back there were several foreign women at various intervals at the bottom of Leith Walk and on Junction Street they were all dressed the same and all had paper bags to put the money into. They were there for a few days and then they disappeared, I was in a pub in town a few weeks later, and I seen them all going round selling roses.

You also get the same people coming up to you with the same stories every day because they can't remember that they fed you the story a few days earlier, I seem to be a magnet for these people! :bitchy:

I used to try and give people money if I could, but I just couldn't afford to do it to them all now so I generally don't give to any.

28-04-2009, 08:37 PM
You are right it is an organised racket now just like big issue selling. If nobody gave them anything they might go away.

Are you saying that the Big Issue is an organised racket?

28-04-2009, 08:39 PM

Am I right in thinking that you're mainly concerned with how it looks?

cad
28-04-2009, 08:56 PM
I should be able to walk down the street without being asked for money bye anyone and 6 or 7 times in that short distance is not on , and yes I am bothered how it looks do you think its OK ?

Mike777
28-04-2009, 09:00 PM

was the big issue not originally set up to help the homeless/unemployed get back on there feet, i know its founded by the princess trust.
its just annoying seeing these europeans selling them, they hassle you like mad. The beggers away up at the tesco's in newington is just wrong. You can tell its organised and why is the council not doing anything about it?

28-04-2009, 09:01 PM
I should be able to walk down the street without being asked for money bye anyone and 6 or 7 times in that short distance is not on , and yes I am bothered how it looks do you think its OK ?

I think that how it looks is of minimal importance. Most major cities in the world have beggars on their streets. Doesn't make it right, but I think there are aspects of it that are far more important.

Like:- why it happens.

how much of it is organised.

how much society can do to prevent it, and whether that should be a police matter, or a social care matter, or both.

28-04-2009, 09:03 PM
was the big issue not originally set up to help the homeless/unemployed get back on there feet, i know its founded by the princess trust.
its just annoying seeing these europeans selling them, they hassle you like mad. The beggers away up at the tesco's in newington is just wrong. You can tell its organised and why is the council not doing anything about it?

You are right about its origins. It is, IMHO, a superb initiative.

However, what it is that you object to about Europeans selling it?

28-04-2009, 09:04 PM

Which continent's people would you prefer to sell Big Issues in Edinburgh?:confused:

28-04-2009, 09:07 PM

Lived in Edinburgh all my life and i've never been hassled like mad for a big issue once, in my experience if you say 'no thanks' then thats appreciated and they leave you to it.

I have however seen them hasle people that ignore them or are rude to them, fair game in my book, if people are rude to them they've got every right to be rude back IMO

Mike777
28-04-2009, 09:42 PM
On the north bridge bang in the middle of the entrance to the Arcade there used to be one boy about 25 quite sleazy who would pester me on a daily basis to buy one and if it was not him it was not him it was his friend outside the bank hotel a crowdy place during the day.
now i buy the big issue but only from people i believe are from this country, like for instance the guy at maltress walk who is very pleasant and cheerful.

I object to the european's being aloud to sell it in the first place, even the beggers, allowing this to happen effects the people who survive on begging or selling magazines or even the sex industry!

28-04-2009, 09:48 PM
On the north bridge bang in the middle of the entrance to the Arcade there used to be one boy about 25 quite sleazy who would pester me on a daily basis to buy one and if it was not him it was not him it was his friend outside the bank hotel a crowdy place during the day.
now i buy the big issue but only from people i believe are from this country, like for instance the guy at maltress walk who is very pleasant and cheerful.

I object to the european's being aloud to sell it in the first place, even the beggers, allowing this to happen effects the people who survive on begging or selling magazines or even the sex industry!

I am assuming you are meaning non-Scots. We are Europeans, after all.

That apart, it's a fact of life in the EU. For every ten decent Polish plumbers, there's a beggar from the same part of the world. You can't allow one in and not the rest.

Oh, and by refusing to buy the Big Issue from non-Scots, you are effectively helping to KEEP them on the streets. The most successful ones move on...

28-04-2009, 11:09 PM

The selling of the big issue is no longer done in the spirit it was intended to be done in. A lot of the vendors are not genuinely homeless people. Intimidation has been used to secure pitches.

Chez
28-04-2009, 11:26 PM
Can anyone mind a lassie who was on the North Bridge with the notice she was pregnant, hungry and homeless? She was there for about a year and a half - who has been pregnant for that length of time in one go :faf:

cad
29-04-2009, 12:25 AM
I think that how it looks is of minimal importance. Most major cities in the world have beggars on their streets. Doesn't make it right, but I think there are aspects of it that are far more important.

Like:- why it happens.

how much of it is organised.

how much society can do to prevent it, and whether that should be a police matter, or a social care matter, or both.

I think looks are very important I dont want to see or be bothered bye beggars at anytime , it cant endear the tourist to Edinburgh on there jaunt to the Old country to have beggars at every corner asking for cash
Most major cities true could be I dont know ,on the other hand I dont stay in other major cities as you put it I stay here and its a soddin disgraces that people cant go about there everyday business without this grief
As one of Europe's if not the worlds most historical and beautiful cities I think Edinburgh doesn't need these people wherever they come from and for whatever reason they are doing it as for the organised side a few people have enlightened me as to there local beggar who picks him up where he gos for a drink how many cans or cigs he buys per day so its seems to be a profitable venture in some respects.
Why does it happen , I think its because we are a soft touch,
do you really care why they are begging I dont .
I just wish they would piss off and leave me alone the aspects you want to sort the social economical the why what or where for to be honest I dont care if you do thats you, not me.
You want to find out why , why theyre doing it ,why cant somebody help them why isnt whoever it concerns doing more to help them .
They see the giver the compassionate one the guy or girl who wants to try and help them as a mug , a 20p 50p or even a £1 a compasionate and careing person no a mug and if I come back tomorrow there will be more off them
You dont mention if you think its and eyesore a pain but your concerned
about why its happening , how much is organised ,etc ,etc ,etc
I dont want to understand there problems life's to short ,the only problem I had today was beggars spoiling my happiness on walk home from a hard days graft ..

29-04-2009, 05:24 AM
I think looks are very important I dont want to see or be bothered bye beggars at anytime , it cant endear the tourist to Edinburgh on there jaunt to the Old country to have beggars at every corner asking for cash
Most major cities true could be I dont know ,on the other hand I dont stay in other major cities as you put it I stay here and its a soddin disgraces that people cant go about there everyday business without this grief
As one of Europe's if not the worlds most historical and beautiful cities I think Edinburgh doesn't need these people wherever they come from and for whatever reason they are doing it as for the organised side a few people have enlightened me as to there local beggar who picks him up where he gos for a drink how many cans or cigs he buys per day so its seems to be a profitable venture in some respects.
Why does it happen , I think its because we are a soft touch,
do you really care why they are begging I dont .
I just wish they would piss off and leave me alone the aspects you want to sort the social economical the why what or where for to be honest I dont care if you do thats you, not me.
You want to find out why , why theyre doing it ,why cant somebody help them why isnt whoever it concerns doing more to help them .
They see the giver the compassionate one the guy or girl who wants to try and help them as a mug , a 20p 50p or even a £1 a compasionate and careing person no a mug and if I come back tomorrow there will be more off them
You dont mention if you think its and eyesore a pain but your concerned
about why its happening , how much is organised ,etc ,etc ,etc
I dont want to understand there problems life's to short ,the only problem I had today was beggars spoiling my happiness on walk home from a hard days graft ..

and breath :wink:

29-04-2009, 10:34 AM
Edinburgh is slowly turning into a **** hole.

There's the same Romanian looking woman sitting outside the church next to Blockbuster everyday begging.

There's a guy who frequently sits at either the Scotmid at Southside, the bank outside the Blackbull (grassmarket) and at the west end. He has been doing so since around 2004/2005 ish. Now I know there are a lack of housing etc / jobs etc but 5 years FFS.

One day he asked me for money and I asked him if he had a place to stay. He said no. I asked him why he had a packet of cheesy pasta sticking out of his covers if he had no where to cook it. Eh... Um.. Eh. ****ing ********.

29-04-2009, 11:02 AM
I am assuming you are meaning non-Scots. We are Europeans, after all.

That apart, it's a fact of life in the EU. For every ten decent Polish plumbers, there's a beggar from the same part of the world. You can't allow one in and not the rest.

Oh, and by refusing to buy the Big Issue from non-Scots, you are effectively helping to KEEP them on the streets. The most successful ones move on...

The whole point of immigration is to get skilled people to fill gaps in the countries work force. NOT to have people coming from all over the place to scrounge off us. It's a ****ing disgrace.

29-04-2009, 11:48 AM
The whole point of immigration is to get skilled people to fill gaps in the countries work force. NOT to have people coming from all over the place to scrounge off us. It's a ****ing disgrace.

:agree: Totally agree Woody

I'ts getting ridiculous in the city centre all these scrounging gits :bitchy:

29-04-2009, 12:03 PM
And that's why immigration is not working and hasn't for a long time.

29-04-2009, 12:23 PM
I find it interesting, I don’t really, that there don’t seem to be the same high proportion of other country (and other parts of this country) beggars living in the city’s hostels and turning up at the ‘soup kitchens’ as there are littering our streets.
[Source: hearsay from a few folk that work with them, the real homeless folk that is, that do work at these places.]

IMO then these outsiders are not legitimate homeless people and as suggested earlier are probably part of a sinister syndicate.

I was waiting for a bus on Lothian Road a while back, at Bread Street as the 35 is at one stop up the way and the 1 is down the road the other way. There was an ‘out of town’ beggar girl at the 24 hour corner shop. After having waited a while on my bus this guy comes over and starts chatting away to the girl in foreign then comes over and asks me what my problem was and suggests it would be better if I moved on as I made the girl nervous. Can you ****ing believe it? I didn’t but as my bus came after another couple of minutes it didn’t really matter.

While I’d quite happily have all the beggars forcibly removed from our pavements I do think, while I wouldn’t give any of them a brass farthing, we do have a responsibility for our indigenous beggars. That responsibility is mostly met by Local Authorities and the voluntary sector who receive funding from local and central government.

29-04-2009, 01:23 PM
It's the same faces, usually the same tired old story "I need to get back to (xyz place which costs a tenner) and I don't have my train fare". "It's for a cup of tea" etc etc. Aye right. I watched a guy the other week on the corner of north bridge, begging within yards of the cash point. Every so often, he fished out his diamond white and took a swig.

Another guy who sits there in the mornings usually has the Metro to read. One regular guy on Lothian Road sits and texts, while another guy further along reads a book.

If people must beg, I don't think it is unreasonable to expect that they put some kind of effort or imagination into it or have some kind of trick or talent to get the coins flowing. At least an interesting life story to tell of, like the vagrants in days gone by.

Sitting torn faced in a pool of their own effluence, stinking of p!ss and booze as a reminder to the absurdities of the human condition just doesn't cut it anymore, I'm afraid.

I expect so much more from the 21st Century itinerant. Petrie, get it sorted.

hibsdaft
29-04-2009, 02:18 PM
god knows what the tourists think .

i doubt theres a city on the planet that doesn't have beggars on the street, its par for the course.

i walk past beggars every day and i have never had a problem with them bothering me, you just walk on by if you don't want to give, which generally i chose not to.

29-04-2009, 03:57 PM
i doubt theres a city on the planet that doesn't have beggars on the street, its par for the course.

i walk past beggars every day and i have never had a problem with them bothering me, you just walk on by if you don't want to give, which generally i chose not to.

Fair enough, but not in the ridiculous quantaties that there are here. You would think this was a 3rd world country FFS.

When I went to Newcastle for the first time something seemed different about it (I was there from Fri to Monday). I couldn't quite put my finger on it. However, once I returned to Edinburgh I realised that I had never once seen a begger in the weekend. I've now been down 5/6 times and I have only seen a couple. There is also a clear lack of chavs and junkies compared to Edinburgh. As I get older and the more I see other places, the more I dislike Edinburgh. When I was younger I used to think it was great and that nothing could compare. How wrong was I?!

29-04-2009, 07:36 PM
Big Issue sellers don't bother me, I'm always polite and reply to them when they ask if I would like a Big Issue. Common courtesy costs nothing. I have no problem with them sounding off is someone is being cheeky to them.

The beggars that really annoy me are the ones with dogs. If you can't look after yourself then how the fluck can you look after a dog? :grr: There's one that sits outside Tesco Metro in the centre of Perth with a dog. He asked me for change on the way in and I said I'd get some when I was in the shop. He said it was so he could feed the dog. He wisnae very happy when I came back out and gave him a box of Bonios for the dog!! He probably ate them himself!

29-04-2009, 08:08 PM
I was on holiday over Easter and on my return I had four jaikballs in the space of 24 hours come up to me and literally stop me in the street - not just passively begging - and ask me for cash. It was a joke. These guys were total wasters. Really hit home how much of a problem Edinburgh has now.

29-04-2009, 08:18 PM
Big Issue sellers don't bother me, I'm always polite and reply to them when they ask if I would like a Big Issue. Common courtesy costs nothing. I have no problem with them sounding off is someone is being cheeky to them.

The beggars that really annoy me are the ones with dogs. If you can't look after yourself then how the fluck can you look after a dog? :grr: There's one that sits outside Tesco Metro in the centre of Perth with a dog. He asked me for change on the way in and I said I'd get some when I was in the shop. He said it was so he could feed the dog. He wisnae very happy when I came back out and gave him a box of Bonios for the dog!! He probably ate them himself!

Don't know the facts but is it true Junkies etc get more money from the social for having a dog? Somebody was telling me this I thought they were at the wind up.

29-04-2009, 08:25 PM
Don't know the facts but is it true Junkies etc get more money from the social for having a dog? Somebody was telling me this I thought they were at the wind up.

PMSL :greengrin:greengrin

DONT BELIEVE ALL YOU ARE TOLD

DONT READ DAILY MAIL EITHER :top marks

30-04-2009, 05:50 AM
Fair enough, but not in the ridiculous quantaties that there are here. You would think this was a 3rd world country FFS.

When I went to Newcastle for the first time something seemed different about it (I was there from Fri to Monday). I couldn't quite put my finger on it. However, once I returned to Edinburgh I realised that I had never once seen a begger in the weekend. I've now been down 5/6 times and I have only seen a couple. There is also a clear lack of chavs and junkies compared to Edinburgh. As I get older and the more I see other places, the more I dislike Edinburgh. When I was younger I used to think it was great and that nothing could compare. How wrong was I?!

You are spot on about Newcastle and lack of beggars. I don't know why there arent any here, whether the council has a zero tolerance policy or something? As to the 'clear lack of chavs':faf: You surely have to be joking, the teenage jakey should be on the Newcastle coat of arms...

30-04-2009, 07:21 AM
You are spot on about Newcastle and lack of beggars. I don't know why there arent any here, whether the council has a zero tolerance policy or something? As to the 'clear lack of chavs':faf: You surely have to be joking, the teenage jakey should be on the Newcastle coat of arms...

Re the chavs part, there are chavs there, especially around the Bigg Market on a night out but I don't notice a bunch of trampy jakie type chavs when walking the street during the day. When I'm down there I don't get the same sort of feeling around the chavs. IMO you don't feel like you're going to get in a fight every two minutes. Not that it bothers me but I feel you can relax and enjoy a night down there more than you can here.

30-04-2009, 07:39 AM
Had a few at bus stops in Leith before, latest one was a guy harrassing women for money, didnt realise what he was up to at first, then he came up to me and asked for £1 for the bus, I politely told him to GTF then told him the bus was £1.20 now anyway :faf:

30-04-2009, 08:46 AM
Re the chavs part, there are chavs there, especially around the Bigg Market on a night out but I don't notice a bunch of trampy jakie type chavs when walking the street during the day. When I'm down there I don't get the same sort of feeling around the chavs. IMO you don't feel like you're going to get in a fight every two minutes. Not that it bothers me but I feel you can relax and enjoy a night down there more than you can here.
Maybe a better class of chav in Newcastle! :greengrin

30-04-2009, 09:01 AM
Maybe a better class of chav in Newcastle! :greengrin

I'm serious when I say that though!

My mates aren't angels to say the least but when you're down in Newcastle and a couple of guys bump into each other into a pub (even in the rougher ones) it's just a 'sorry mate' type thing and maybe even a laugh. Up here it generally turns into a scrap and someone getting lifted. :LOL:

mickeythehibbee
30-04-2009, 10:10 AM
Had a few at bus stops in Leith before, latest one was a guy harrassing women for money, didnt realise what he was up to at first, then he came up to me and asked for £1 for the bus, I politely told him to GTF then told him the bus was £1.20 now anyway :faf:

Once had one come up to me at a the bus stop outside forbidden planet next to the bridges and ask for a tenner for the bus home :brickwall Hw many bus trips did he need to get home!

The worst one i've come across is a lassie who wanders up and down between Blockbuster on Clerk Street and the Farmfoods up near Tesco Metro. Really pale lass with a proper chav cap. About once a week she asks me if she can borrow bus fare as she's lost her purse!:bye: I have yet to see her actually succeed with this but presumably someone gives in? :bitchy:

30-04-2009, 10:17 AM
I have however seen them hasle people that ignore them or are rude to them, fair game in my book, if people are rude to them they've got every right to be rude back IMO

I reckon I should be able to ignore them and still not get hassled. I didn't ask for their intrusion. They should just take the hint and look for their next mark. Pursuing things further is heading towards aggressive begging in my book - which is not on - and is even less likely to get them a result.

mickeythehibbee
30-04-2009, 10:24 AM
I reckon I should be able to ignore them and still not get hassled. I didn't ask for their intrusion. They should just take the hint and look for their next mark. Pursuing things further is heading towards aggressive begging in my book - which is not on - and is even less likely to get them a result.

Yeah, agreed. It may not be curteous and i wouldn't do it myself, but i can see why someone might ignore them. To make an issue of someone just ignoring them is unacceptable IMHO :agree:

30-04-2009, 10:46 AM
Once had one come up to me at a the bus stop outside forbidden planet next to the bridges and ask for a tenner for the bus home :brickwall Hw many bus trips did he need to get home!

The worst one i've come across is a lassie who wanders up and down between Blockbuster on Clerk Street and the Farmfoods up near Tesco Metro. Really pale lass with a proper chav cap. About once a week she asks me if she can borrow bus fare as she's lost her purse!:bye: I have yet to see her actually succeed with this but presumably someone gives in? :bitchy:

Yeah, she'll ask anyone and everyone. I've never seen anyone give her money. She once hassled me outside the Tron, needing a bus fare down to Leith.

I just said that Leith is near enough that you can walk it.

30-04-2009, 11:38 AM
There was a guy sitting at the cash machine beside cav once who asked me if I had change and I said no, I was just getting money out and he said it's alright he could give me change of a tenner

30-04-2009, 11:56 AM
There was a guy sitting at the cash machine beside cav once who asked me if I had change and I said no, I was just getting money out and he said it's alright he could give me change of a tenner

Kin'ell, they'll be asking you to make donations by chip and pin next.

This country. Thatcher's Britain. :wink:

JennaFletcher
30-04-2009, 01:18 PM
I used to give money to beggars, particularly those who looked rough and like the could do with an extra 50p or a quid now I don't even bother.

The majority of those on the streets are using it as an organised business. It has been mentioned on these threads about the foreign women on Leith walk outside Tesco, they're everywhere, they're not homeless either and they can be seen outside the huge clock on Lothian Road and pin point their location so that you feel pressured into giving whilst going past.

It's about time these ''ladies'' were booted out, they're so annoying and make the streets of Edinburgh filthy.

JennaFletcher
30-04-2009, 01:19 PM
Ah yeah and don't fall into the whole "I'll give you 3 quid if you give me that tenner for my hostel" malark either!!

30-04-2009, 01:27 PM
Ah yeah and don't fall into the whole "I'll give you 3 quid if you give me that tenner for my hostel" malark either!!

Isn't it funny that they're always looking for a tenner? :cool2:

30-04-2009, 02:36 PM
There's a guy that sits outside my work asking people for change saying that he's hungry then he comes in every couple of hours for a can of super lager

30-04-2009, 04:06 PM
Why can't they just be honest. If they want some money for a bevvy I'd be more inclined to give them some shrapnel instead of coming out with this bus crap.

There was a wee homeless dude crying outside starbucks in george street a couple of nights ago asking anyone for 20p for a cuppa, as I was walking passed some lass came out and gave him the tea and I've never seen someone look so happy! It was actually quite a heartwarming moment :greengrin

30-04-2009, 04:27 PM
Why can't they just be honest. If they want some money for a bevvy I'd be more inclined to give them some shrapnel instead of coming out with this bus crap.

There was a wee homeless dude crying outside starbucks in george street a couple of nights ago asking anyone for 20p for a cuppa, as I was walking passed some lass came out and gave him the tea and I've never seen someone look so happy! It was actually quite a heartwarming moment :greengrin

I did that before. A guy on Rose Street I got talking to. I nipped into Sainsburys and got him a sarnie and a can of ginger. He was proper delighted.

Then later, I got paranoid that he might have a some kind of allergy to shellfish/nuts/wheat/dairy. He might have died or at least sued me!

On the plus side, I would have been a Daily Mail hero. It would have been one in the eye for the homeless and workshy and made me a health-and-safety-madness martyr to boot.

You couldn't make it up.

LFC Fan
30-04-2009, 05:14 PM
When I was in Edinburgh last year for a weekend with the missus we both commented on the number of beggars/homeless out on the streets. There were a lot, far more than I've seen in any other major european city - particularly in proportion to Edinburgh's size.

As tourists our perception of the city wasn't affected, but we did think it was a little strange to see so many out on the streets on a saturday night.

Most of them were polite though and referred to us as "sir and madam" and when we said sorry we couldn't help them they all wished us a good night - which made us feel a little guilty!

It's clear a lot of them are full time beggars and they probably do quite well out of it, but quite a few looked to be in a genuinely bad way.

hibsdaft
30-04-2009, 07:38 PM
It's clear a lot of them are full time beggars and they probably do quite well out of it, but quite a few looked to be in a genuinely bad way.

thats it, you just never know. either way there are generally things in place to help people who end up in these circumstances but they don't always have the information if they've just ended up on the street.

a few years ago i worked with a guy who'd been on the street aged 16 or so, he'd had a row with his gran and been thrown out. the stories he told me about being beaten up by people while out on the street were really sick.

if i see a young person thats the only time i will give money, or in very very cold weather. if things are so bad that they need to beg in those conditions then my attitude is that they must need the money more than me.

also worth noting that a high proportion of homeless people are ex-army.

30-04-2009, 11:11 PM
Aye blame the romanians and albanians because before these pesky people came over there was no junkie begging fkers in Edinburgh :yawn:

In this day and age, why the **** are their human beings sitting in the streets at 4am in the morning anyway...

01-05-2009, 07:49 AM
Aye blame the romanians and albanians because before these pesky people came over there was no junkie begging fkers in Edinburgh :yawn:

In this day and age, why the **** are their human beings sitting in the streets at 4am in the morning anyway...

They are there because it's easier than getting up at 5 to go to work, run a house and all the other responsible things that go with it.

01-05-2009, 08:56 AM
thats it, you just never know. either way there are generally things in place to help people who end up in these circumstances but they don't always have the information if they've just ended up on the street.

a few years ago i worked with a guy who'd been on the street aged 16 or so, he'd had a row with his gran and been thrown out. the stories he told me about being beaten up by people while out on the street were really sick.

if i see a young person thats the only time i will give money, or in very very cold weather. if things are so bad that they need to beg in those conditions then my attitude is that they must need the money more than me.

also worth noting that a high proportion of homeless people are ex-army.

Just out of interest, how do you know that? What are the main reasons behind it? Is it generally people who've been thrown out. I was always under the impression that army people who are away and living on bases would have saved up a fair few quid given so little time to spend it. That's just my perception which could be completely wrong.

:yawn: No one is blaming anyone. We're just saying that it's a joke that there are beggars from foreign countries coming here to scrounge.

We all know that Edinburgh has had a problem with beggars (ever since I can remember anyway) before the foreigners arrived recently. We've been talking about all beggars from different places and no one is focusing on foreign beggars in particular and are having a general discussion so if you're so tired go for a wee nap. :bye:

01-05-2009, 11:48 AM
I remember seeing a women begging outside M&S and Superdrug in Morningside Road. 20 Minutes later she is in the Merlin ordering a drink and some lunch.

The women that annoys me now is the Gypsy looking women in Shandwick Place outside Habitat - she kind of whines at you as you walk past.

I am often tempted to go up to the ones with dogs and the ones that smoke and say if you can afford dogs and you can afford to smoke then you can afford to buy a tin of beans and a loaf of bread to feed yourself.

01-05-2009, 12:08 PM
There's a guy that sits outside my work asking people for change saying that he's hungry then he comes in every couple of hours for a can of super lager

Super lager has the same effect on me:greengrin

01-05-2009, 06:04 PM
The beggars that really annoy me are the ones with dogs. If you can't look after yourself then how the fluck can you look after a dog?

If I was homeless I'd want a dog for company. One with 2 heads and loads of fangs to keep the Romanians away (they turn into vampires don't you know).

Maybe they have them just to feed them up then eat them.

check to see if the dog has a collar with a badge - its a give away that they're not homeless at all.

Swine flu will see to them all anyway co there's no where to deliver their leaflet and tamiflu.

01-05-2009, 09:39 PM
Just out of interest, how do you know that? What are the main reasons behind it? Is it generally people who've been thrown out. I was always under the impression that army people who are away and living on bases would have saved up a fair few quid given so little time to spend it. That's just my perception which could be completely wrong.

I think it's more to do with the lack of aftercare given to soldiers when they finish up. There are sometimes a lot of mental issues and I don't think they are dealt with properly. These things eat away and things like alcoholism and suicide are surprisingly common.

01-05-2009, 09:48 PM

Thrown out? No, a lot of these guys have had very succesful Army careers.
And why should they have saved up so much money? The money is crap compared to civvy street and they have families, rent etc to pay for............just like everybody else.

01-05-2009, 09:56 PM
FFS it's been common knowledge for years that there are eastern European begging rackets operating in Edinburgh.
It might be too simple but I just don't give to foreign beggars because of this. You can't be sure that they are not part of the scam.

I have no problems in giving some money to local beggars. I have no problems with them spending it on drink or drugs either. You have to ask yourself how you would behave if you found yourself sleeping in a doorway with nothing to your name and you felt like there was no hope.

What's the easiest way to escape that harsh reality?

02-05-2009, 10:02 AM
Thrown out? No, a lot of these guys have had very succesful Army careers.
And why should they have saved up so much money? The money is crap compared to civvy street and they have families, rent etc to pay for............just like everybody else.

I think it's more to do with the lack of aftercare given to soldiers when they finish up. There are sometimes a lot of mental issues and I don't think they are dealt with properly. These things eat away and things like alcoholism and suicide are surprisingly common.

Fair enough. I was just interested. Wasn't trying to get at anyone.

02-05-2009, 08:59 PM
There are various places in Edinburgh which offer hot food, support, advice, a friendly chat and a few precious hours of shelter to people who are genuinely homeless, cold and hungry, whether they are "foreign" or not.

I know this thread is about beggars in Edinburgh, but there are a few generalisations creeping in on some posts which are tarnishing anyone who is on the streets with the same brush. I agree that there are people falsely making a lot of money from doing this but surely it is the police`s job to deal with this and establish who those people are from those in genuine distress and need. Not an easy task, nevertheless, they don`t appear to be succeeding in many areas. I also find the distinguishing between "native" and "foreign" people in some posts on this thread - regardless of the context they are mentioned in - pretty unpleasant.

So, irritating though it is, if writing to your local police station or MP doesn`t work, perhaps it`s time instead to turn the attention to how you can help those who you know for certain really need help. If anyone wants to know that their money is going to help the people who actually need it, they can contribute to such places or do a couple of hours volunteering with the folks that run them. Here are some examples:

http://www.standrewsandstgeorges.org.uk/homeless.php

http://www.hopuk.org/

http://www.edinburgh.gov.uk/internet/housing/homelessness/homepoint/CEC_edinburgh_homeless_practice__ehp_

02-05-2009, 09:05 PM
Great post, GG, thanks for the balanced input. :agree:

hibsdaft
03-05-2009, 03:15 AM
Just out of interest, how do you know that?

its just one of these stories that comes up every few years in the papers.

in 1994 one in 4 homeless people were ex-armed services:
http://www.independent.co.uk/news/exclusive-quarter-of-single-homeless-served-in-the-armed-forces-major-says-millions-agree-with-him-about-beggars--mod-accused-of-not-doing-enough-to-help-exservicemen-1439267.html

now around one in ten:
http://news.scotsman.com/homelessness/10-of-homeless-people-were.3314357.jp

reasons : well imo ex-servicemen get treated like ****. they get patronised with all this "our boys" garbage but when it comes to the crunch too many aren't given the after care they need and deserve. dealing with the mental trauma etc - its also possible that some are too macho to deal with these things mind you.

other things about the nature of their job make it very difficult to readjust afterwards

theres probably some full reports on all this out there and i am no expert tbh. a sad state of affairs really tho and something some of the more judgemental on this thread would do well to bear in mind

03-05-2009, 06:52 AM
There are various places in Edinburgh which offer hot food, support, advice, a friendly chat and a few precious hours of shelter to people who are genuinely homeless, cold and hungry, whether they are "foreign" or not.

I know this thread is about beggars in Edinburgh, but there are a few generalisations creeping in on some posts which are tarnishing anyone who is on the streets with the same brush. I agree that there are people falsely making a lot of money from doing this but surely it is the police`s job to deal with this and establish who those people are from those in genuine distress and need. Not an easy task, nevertheless, they don`t appear to be succeeding in many areas. I also find the distinguishing between "native" and "foreign" people in some posts on this thread - regardless of the context they are mentioned in - pretty unpleasant.

So, irritating though it is, if writing to your local police station or MP doesn`t work, perhaps it`s time instead to turn the attention to how you can help those who you know for certain really need help. If anyone wants to know that their money is going to help the people who actually need it, they can contribute to such places or do a couple of hours volunteering with the folks that run them. Here are some examples:

http://www.standrewsandstgeorges.org.uk/homeless.php

http://www.hopuk.org/

http://www.edinburgh.gov.uk/internet/housing/homelessness/homepoint/CEC_edinburgh_homeless_practice__ehp_

Excellent post:agree:

03-05-2009, 08:17 AM
its just one of these stories that comes up every few years in the papers.

in 1994 one in 4 homeless people were ex-armed services:
http://www.independent.co.uk/news/exclusive-quarter-of-single-homeless-served-in-the-armed-forces-major-says-millions-agree-with-him-about-beggars--mod-accused-of-not-doing-enough-to-help-exservicemen-1439267.html

now around one in ten:
http://news.scotsman.com/homelessness/10-of-homeless-people-were.3314357.jp

reasons : well imo ex-servicemen get treated like ****. they get patronised with all this "our boys" garbage but when it comes to the crunch too many aren't given the after care they need and deserve. dealing with the mental trauma etc - its also possible that some are too macho to deal with these things mind you.

other things about the nature of their job make it very difficult to readjust afterwards

theres probably some full reports on all this out there and i am no expert tbh. a sad state of affairs really tho and something some of the more judgemental on this thread would do well to bear in mind

It's not just those who see action that have problems. Many ex-servicemen enlist straight from school and then spend x number of years being told exactly what to do, when to do it, who with, what to eat, what to wear, what time to get up, etc. Even when not working, a lot of these guys will spend their free time with their colleagues, ie. going with the flow.

Obviously there are many who will marry and start a family during their military career but for those who don't, leaving the services and learning to run their own lives can sometimes be too much to handle.

03-05-2009, 08:36 AM
It's not just those who see action that have problems. Many ex-servicemen enlist straight from school and then spend x number of years being told exactly what to do, when to do it, who with, what to eat, what to wear, what time to get up, etc. Even when not working, a lot of these guys will spend their free time with their colleagues, ie. going with the flow.

Obviously there are many who will marry and start a family during their military career but for those who don't, leaving the services and learning to run their own lives can sometimes be too much to handle.

Wouldn't, therefore, be too much of a leap to think that SOME of the non-Scots are also ex-servicemen.

In any event, given the publicity about the Gurkhas, it would seem that our "after-care" services are crap. Fair point?

03-05-2009, 09:03 AM
Wouldn't, therefore, be too much of a leap to think that SOME of the non-Scots are also ex-servicemen.

In any event, given the publicity about the Gurkhas, it would seem that our "after-care" services are crap. Fair point?

I knew a lad who had been in Iraq and was injured there. He was brought back to the UK and pretty much as soon as he was off the critical list for his physical injuries, he was discharged. From what he said, once he was able to get up and about, he had to go and seek help from his own GP about the post traumatic stress and the impact that his injuries had had on his mental health. So he joined the usual waiting list and was seen roughly a year later.

He managed to get through the qualification he was doing but in the very rare moments he spoke about it, he wasn't complimentary about the way his situation had been handled by the army.

Thankfully, he had a good bunch of family and friends who were there to help him make a good adjustment back in to normal life.

I'm sure that for every one like him, there are plenty who don't have that network for whatever reason and who've since fallen between the cracks of the system.

He's a Rangers fan, but unfortunately no-one was able to do much to help him for that :wink:

03-05-2009, 09:41 AM

Not at all.

I would say so, though I'm no expert.

03-05-2009, 10:08 AM
The police don't seem to have a problem clearing the streets of unfortunates around Festival time.

03-05-2009, 11:44 AM
The police don't seem to have a problem clearing the streets of unfortunates around Festival time.

We must preserve the illusion that Edinburgh is toytown at all costs, especially when we have paying guests.

03-05-2009, 12:35 PM
We must preserve the illusion that Edinburgh is toytown at all costs, especially when we have paying guests.
:agree: Exactly!

03-05-2009, 12:47 PM
:agree: Exactly!

Its the civic equivalent of bringing out the best china.

03-05-2009, 12:53 PM

It's not only Edinburgh. In St Malo, a popular holiday destination for French and foreigners alike, the homeless/beggars aren't allowed to hang about the historic centre/touristy parts at any time of year.

03-05-2009, 01:16 PM

Nobody forced it upon some of the beggars (I do realise that not everybody falls into the same category and that there are genuine case out there) to take up drinking for a living or to be dependent on drugs. If they want to do that then fair enough but I for one am not going to finance it for them. If they can afford a dog, a dog license and the ability to feed their pet then they either shouldn't be begging or be pet-free.

03-05-2009, 03:00 PM
Nobody forced it upon some of the beggars (I do realise that not everybody falls into the same category and that there are genuine case out there) to take up drinking for a living or to be dependent on drugs. If they want to do that then fair enough but I for one am not going to finance it for them. If they can afford a dog, a dog license and the ability to feed their pet then they either shouldn't be begging or be pet-free.

Maybe the dogs were homeless as well, everybody needs a friend you know. :boo hoo:

03-05-2009, 05:29 PM
Maybe the dogs were homeless as well, everybody needs a friend you know. :boo hoo:

I used to give a can of winalot regularly to the scottish dogs begging, especially in the old days, but these days theres a lot of Eastern European dogs around, its an organised racket dontcha know, so I don't bother. Theyre like animals:grr:

03-05-2009, 06:03 PM
I used to work with a guy who is now a "full time" beggar, he could graft for fun & had many opportunities to work with some of the best Brickies in Edinburgh...he turned all that down prob bacause he earns in a day what he was earning in a week plus the fact he doesnt have to graft & when he wakes up late from his drunken stupor he doesnt have to worry about facing the boss ..

I used to see him regularly on the back seat of a bus putting on his "work" clothes ready for his next shift at the Tron (benches)

He looks a pathetic figure of a man now, face all battered up, heavily bearded & wearing a filthy bandana & leather bikers jacket that has seen better times....i dont feel sorry for him..i feel sorry for his poor wee dug !!!

03-05-2009, 07:37 PM

Mate, where have you been hiding - you haven't needed one of these for years! :wink:

03-05-2009, 07:39 PM
I used to give a can of winalot regularly to the scottish dogs begging, especially in the old days, but these days theres a lot of Eastern European dogs around, its an organised racket dontcha know, so I don't bother. Theyre like animals:grr: :faf:

04-05-2009, 09:46 PM
I used to give money regularly to beggars. I'd have a pocket full of loose change and dispense some coins from it until it was exhausted.

I have to admit, I got sick of being hassled all the time. Sometimes, in the street, one enjoys being alone with one's thoughts and resents the intrusion.

So now I contribute to a couple of homeless charities through direct debit.

The only time I give money to beggars now is if i'm a little tipsy and sentimental and it's a really cold or wet evening.

05-05-2009, 10:05 PM

Mate, where have you been hiding - you haven't needed one of these for years! :wink:

:doh: :greengrin

05-05-2009, 10:47 PM
At least they don't give you lip if you say no to them. They always put on the whole manners thing, but IMO aswell as it being a bit annoying, at least they are being polite, whether genuine or not and not having a go(which they have no right to anyways but thats besides the point).

There will obviously be some genuine ones, but there will be chancers too. I would rather work for my living TBH.

I hate how they have dogs too. I can understand for the genuine ones wanting something to be close to, but it's just not fair on the dog to be living on the streets, it's cruel. Now, that may sound like I am saying that the people deserve too, but I am not saying that. I saying that they shouldn't have the dogs sharing their misfortune.

Also, how annoying is it when those Record PM ****ty newspaper girls take both sides of the entrance to St James Centre/pavement down to the omni. They hit you from both directions so you have to take one or say no. Annoying as I always walk past them with my iPod in and have to say no while not knowing how loud etc I am speaking :grr: and then if you walk opast again it's rammed in your face.

sevennil
07-05-2009, 10:15 AM
When I worked at the Evening News about 14-15 years ago we ran an investigation in to Bogus Beggars in the city. I spent a few weeks tracing some of the main characters/chancers involved. Some worked in teams, one lot coming in to town and changing their clothes in to scuffy gear and keeping the good stuff in lockers at the bus station.
All of the folk we exposed had homes and travelled back there after making £100 quid plus each day. They worked in shifts, changing pitches after a certain time.
One old git, we called him Moothie, (I saw him up to his old tricks the other week and he is always about) is an old guy, flat cap, plays a mouth organ badly. Turned out he lived in a nice ex-cooncil house in Broxburn or somewhere in W Lothian. He was a regular at Castle Greyskull and had a nice fat satellite dish on his gaff when satellite telly was still a bit of a luxury.
After the stories appeared in the paper I got a fair bit of hate mail and phone calls from tree hugging sandal wearers claiming it was very bad of the EN to do such a thing and they were really poor, disadvantaged blah blah.
Sounds to me like the Evening News need to revist this subject for an update.