View Full Version : Media Parky hits out at 'ignorant and puerile' Jade

07-04-2009, 01:29 PM
Sir Michael Parkinson has launched a tirade against Jade Goody.

The veteran broadcaster told the latest issue of Radio Times that the late reality TV star represented "all that is paltry and wretched about Britain."

He said: "Jade Goody has her own place in the history of television and, while it's significant, it's nothing to be proud of. Her death is as sad as the death of any young person, but it's not the passing of a martyr or a saint or, God help us, Princess Di.
"When we clear the media smoke screen from around her death, what we're left with is a woman who came to represent all that's paltry and wretched about Britain today.

"She was brought up on a sink estate, as a child came to know drugs and crime, was barely educated, ignorant and puerile. Then she was projected to celebrity by Big Brother and became a media chattel to be exploited til the day she died."

07-04-2009, 01:34 PM
Well spoken Parky, a lot of truth in that statement. :top marks

07-04-2009, 01:35 PM

The veteran broadcaster told the latest issue of Radio Times that the late reality TV star represented "all that is paltry and wretched about Britain."

He said: "Jade Goody has her own place in the history of television and, while it's significant, it's nothing to be proud of. Her death is as sad as the death of any young person, but it's not the passing of a martyr or a saint or, God help us, Princess Di.
"When we clear the media smoke screen from around her death, what we're left with is a woman who came to represent all that's paltry and wretched about Britain today.

"She was brought up on a sink estate, as a child came to know drugs and crime, was barely educated, ignorant and puerile. Then she was projected to celebrity by Big Brother and became a media chattel to be exploited til the day she died."

I agree with all of that, though it's more a comment on modern culture than an attack on Jade Goody herself.

McSwanky
07-04-2009, 01:39 PM
I agree with all of that, though it's more a comment on modern culture than an attack on Jade Goody herself.

:agree: Exactly what I was going to say.

07-04-2009, 01:45 PM
Well done Sir Michael for speaking a lot of common sense.

07-04-2009, 01:47 PM
I agree with everything that he's said there.

07-04-2009, 02:11 PM
I have to say the man have called it spot on, the death of Jade was sad but no less as important than my sister dying last October. The Funeral itself was OTT and skynews's coverage started at 8.00 and went on for 4 hours you would think that they might have covered more important stories like the helicopter crash that killed 16 oil workers.

07-04-2009, 02:21 PM
I watched Charlie Brooker's newswipe last week. I think he handled the whole situation sensitively. He reckons that since Diana's death, the news media have been driven by the section of the population that "likes" these kind of stories.

He called these people over emotional, and possibly hysterical. The remainder of the population look on in bewilderment at the news covering their agenda.

07-04-2009, 02:46 PM

Agree with his comments except the bit about Princess Di. Britian went a bit mad there as well and that was just the same sort of daft celebrity mourning.

07-04-2009, 02:51 PM
Agree with his comments except the bit about Princess Di. Britian went a bit mad there as well and that was just the same sort of daft celebrity mourning.

That was the start of emotional incontinence in the UK.Most people have enough reasons to grieve in a lifetime without crying about someonethey didn't know.

fergal7
07-04-2009, 03:14 PM
Thank god someone has come out and said how this maudling grieving and the likes has gone too far.

I was beginning to think I was at fault for not really caring that much that she died.

07-04-2009, 03:19 PM

This is the only bit I feel uneasy about. Hardly her fault and not a lot she could have done to change that IMO

07-04-2009, 03:26 PM
I watched Charlie Brooker's newswipe last week. I think he handled the whole situation sensitively. He reckons that since Diana's death, the news media have been driven by the section of the population that "likes" these kind of stories.

He called these people over emotional, and possibly hysterical. The remainder of the population look on in bewilderment at the news covering their agenda.

Totally agree with this, and their probably eagerly anticipating the next hapless victim that the more feeble-minded of the populace can go ghoulishly crazy over. A while ago, the media had some standards and their role to protect us as a citizenry from our baser impluses (or more likely they never knew what those were), but now anything goes that helps sell them papers and get them viewers.

07-04-2009, 03:36 PM
This is the only bit I feel uneasy about. Hardly her fault and not a lot she could have done to change that IMO Aye funny for him to come out with that, as he came from Barnsley, and was the son of a coal miner.

07-04-2009, 03:38 PM
Aye funny for him to come out with that, as he came from Barnsley, and was the son of a coal miner.

Is Michael Parkinson from Barnsley, funny he's never mentioned it. :greengrin

07-04-2009, 03:40 PM
Is Michael Parkinson from Barnsley, funny he's never mentioned it. :greengrin :greengrin

07-04-2009, 03:42 PM
Is Michael Parkinson from Barnsley, funny he's never mentioned it. :greengrin

Next you'll be telling us he's a cricket fan :greengrin

07-04-2009, 04:36 PM
Well said Parky. I suspect he represents the views of the silent majority.

07-04-2009, 05:04 PM
Parkinson has it wrong. Jade Goody did not represent all that is paltry and wretched about Britain. She was a victim of all that is paltry and wretched about Britain.

07-04-2009, 05:34 PM
Aye funny for him to come out with that, as he came from Barnsley, and was the son of a coal miner.

Yet, he wasn't an ignorant, racist bully:agree:

Parkinson has it wrong. Jade Goody did not represent all that is paltry and wretched about Britain. She was a victim of all that is paltry and wretched about Britain.

I agree that to start with she was the victim, but she quickly learned how to "play the game" and eventually did come to represent it.

Parkinson:top marks

07-04-2009, 05:36 PM

Well done Parky:thumbsup::top marks

07-04-2009, 05:37 PM
Well said Parky. I suspect he represents the views of the silent majority.

87% of a poll that yahoo have been running all day agree with his comments and skynews viewers 90% agree with parky.

hibsdaft
07-04-2009, 05:49 PM
i think he's shown himself up as ignorant as her to come out and slander a woman who's been dead less than a week. right or wrong.

07-04-2009, 05:50 PM
87% of a poll that yahoo have been running all day agree with his comments and skynews viewers 90% agree with parky.

Interesting and yet some people were made out to be bad people for daring to think the whole thing was over the top the past few weeks. I wonder what the people who defended the whole media circus at the time have to say now it would appear their views are vastly in the minority. If anything has been learned by this the media will now know how long they can drag a story out before the majority of sane people tire off it. That said i still fully expect the people who read OK and Hello to lap up the next month or two of coverage about life with Jade yadda yadda yadda. :rolleyes:

07-04-2009, 05:52 PM
i think he's shown himself up as ignorant as her to come out and slander a woman who's been dead less than a week. right or wrong.

No, I think you are wrong! He has said to himself enough is enough and time for this bizarre rollercoaster to stop and let the sane people off!

07-04-2009, 05:53 PM
Interesting and yet some people were made out to be bad people for daring to think the whole thing was over the top the past few weeks. I wonder what the people who defended the whole media circus at the time have to say now it would appear their views are vastly in the minority. If anything has been learned by this the media will now know how long they can drag a story out before the majority of sane people tire off it. That said i still fully expect the people who read OK and Hello to lap up the next month or two of coverage about life with Jade yadda yadda yadda. :rolleyes:

Just watch Shameless and see some more Jades of the world.

hibsdaft
07-04-2009, 05:54 PM
No, I think you are wrong! He has said to himself enough is enough and time for this bizarre rollercoaster to stop and let the sane people off!

some of us never got on it.

Arch Stanton
07-04-2009, 05:59 PM
Is this the same Michael Parkinson who spent years shoveling mindless and smarmy pap into our living rooms?

07-04-2009, 07:48 PM
Is this the same Michael Parkinson who spent years shoveling mindless and smarmy pap into our living rooms?

No - this is a different one who recognised that his guests were the ones the audience was interested in and was happy to be relatively quiet. I suspect you might be thinking of Jonathan Ross?

07-04-2009, 09:01 PM
I think Parkinson is spot on. I don't think he's slandering Jade Goody at all, he's just highlighting that she represented a lot of what is wrong in Britain these days. He's not saying she was the cause of the problem, but she was certainly a symptom of it.

07-04-2009, 09:21 PM

This is the only bit I feel uneasy about. Hardly her fault and not a lot she could have done to change that IMO

The welter of emotion surrounding the death of Diana Spencer was way OTT. I wonder what Parkinson considers SHE represented about "Britain today" - the self-indulgence of the rich, and the empty vanity of the professional celebrity?

And I agree with you, J - where she was born and grew up wasn't her fault. She got a chance to get out of it, and she took it. Most of us would have done the same had we been presented with the opportunities she was presented with - Big Brother, the follow-ups, the chance to take advantage of whatever publicity came her way?

That quote actually comes over to me as rather snobbish, in fact - for a "Yorkshire lad from Barnsley", as he always likes to portray himself. :cool2:

NaeTechnoHibby
07-04-2009, 09:37 PM

To be fair John, that whole quote from Parky, said exactly what you don't.
She done everything she could, within her means, alebit 'celebrity' of a duller standard from our youth:wink:, but no less she allowed herself to be exploited everybit as a young Norma Jean Baker :greengrin

They both used what assets they had to gain what 'life' they wanted, it was both their choices IMO :agree:

Arch Stanton
07-04-2009, 10:05 PM
No - this is a different one who recognised that his guests were the ones the audience was interested in and was happy to be relatively quiet. I suspect you might be thinking of Jonathan Ross?

Nope - it was definitely Parky - sat like a smug git and fawned over the great and the good - except when the Big Yin was on and he treated us all to a bit of rough.

And then after Muhammad Ali got annoyed with him for being asked to read from his biography Parky cheerily pronounced his theory that Ali couldn't read.

Maybe I detect a theme here - people who didn't stay in school and learned all the proper school subjects just weren't interesting enough for educated people to be interested in! Some may consider Parky to be perceptive in that while others may just see him as a jerk.

07-04-2009, 10:40 PM
She done everything she could, within her means, alebit 'celebrity' of a duller standard from our youth:wink:, but no less she allowed herself to be exploited everybit as a young Norma Jean Baker :greengrin

They both used what assets they had to gain what 'life' they wanted, it was both their choices IMO :agree:

I take your point C but the fact that she was born into the 'sink estate' set up was outwith her control IMO and so it seems a tad unfair of Parky to highlight that. :agree:

07-04-2009, 11:17 PM
I take your point C but the fact that she was born into the 'sink estate' set up was outwith her control IMO and so it seems a tad unfair of Parky to highlight that. :agree:

He wasn't using that to beat Jade Goody though, JC, he was using it to highlight the ills of society - that we have people born into poor areas who, end up doing drugs or abusing alcohol etc, and actually a good proportion of them see getting famous through whatever means (Big Brother, glamour modelling, reality tv shows) is a better way out of the 'sink estates' than choosing to better themselves through education and hard work.

Parkinson isn't criticising Goody - he's criticising society, IMHO.

08-04-2009, 06:55 AM

Other than the fact you cannot slander someone who is dead, which part do you think is incorrect?

Reading the story today prompted me to read her Wikipedia page. Anyone who thinks she was to be admired in some way should go back and read her quotes during the Celebrity Big Brother debacle.

McSwanky
08-04-2009, 07:24 AM
It's funny, I seem to be the only one on here that has interpreted Parky's comment about Princess Di in the opposite way. The way he said, "God help us" made me think he's actually commenting (albeit slightly cryptically) that in his opinion Britain went way over the top there as well. Am I the only one to think this?

And for all you people conluding that he was slating Jade Goody, I would urge you to read the full article, where he describes her as a 'victim' and 'exploited.' Hardly laying into her personally, is he? Some of the headlines I've read are very misleading.

08-04-2009, 07:31 AM
It's funny, I seem to be the only one on here that has interpreted Parky's comment about Princess Di in the opposite way. The way he said, "God help us" made me think he's actually commenting (albeit slightly cryptically) that in his opinion Britain went way over the top there as well. Am I the only one to think this?

And for all you people conluding that he was slating Jade Goody, I would urge you to read the full article, where he describes her as a 'victim' and 'exploited.' Hardly laying into her personally, is he? Some of the headlines I've read are very misleading.

Maybe, now you mention it. But, I still don't think so.

08-04-2009, 07:40 AM

No. Good post.

08-04-2009, 08:10 AM
Interesting how so many people on here seem to agree with Parkinson, but when similar thoughts were posted on here last week all hell broke loose and those posts were accused of being disrespectful:confused:

Maybe its because this time its another celebrity's opinions instead of just those of a mere mortal :wink:

08-04-2009, 08:54 AM
Interesting how so many people on here seem to agree with Parkinson, but when similar thoughts were posted on here last week all hell broke loose and those posts were accused of being disrespectful:confused:

Maybe its because this time its another celebrity's opinions instead of just those of a mere mortal :wink:

I think what people found disrespectful was the way the RIP thread had been hijacked and not what you were trying to discuss. Hence why I encouraged the discussion to take place on another thread.

I actually agreed with a lot of what was getting said (apart from your analogy:wink:) but unfortunately it encouraged some people to post outrageous nonsense.

08-04-2009, 11:08 AM

First up, I am heart sorry for what that poor girl went through with the cancer, and what her kids have lost. She seems to have been a good mother, no-one should take that away from her.

As a person she seems to have been someone whose way of coping with life's problems was to keep busy and distract herself. Well done to her, for coming through a bad situation and trying to make the best of it. Personally, I think it would have been better if she hadn't set her kids up as media objects, whose every move in life will be tailed by the press and whose every mistake will be broadcast to all. However, her decisions have to be respected.

To me, the issue is "what assets did Jade actually have". She didn't have a special talent, she wasn't the sort of person that most people I know would want to be. I don't think she was a bad person, or even that what she did was wrong. I think the horrendous thing is that ordinary people put her in the position she was, when there were so many more positive things they could be admiring.

We used to admire sportsmen, explorers, soldiers, scientists and people who achieved something through work. Jade seems to have been succesful merely by existing. I'm going to be a real old fart here, but I have to ask, what is wrong with a society that holds up Jade as a role model, as an example of the best that people can be?

I can understand it more if people didn't come across Jades in their real lives, but they are everywhere. Jade is no more a hero than a lottery winner, or a contestant on Deal or No Deal. I think she was no more than an icon for the hopeless in society, those with no abilities or talents and no hope.

hibsdaft
08-04-2009, 11:34 AM
Other than the fact you cannot slander someone who is dead, which part do you think is incorrect?

i agreed with most of what Hibsbollah said on the RIP thread, but i kept out of it because it wasn't necessary at that point and it still isn't now.

who cares if some dafties are going over the top for some random celebrity, its all a bit weird and hysterical but ffs its not the end of the world.

talk about it in a month if you have to but not two days after she's buried. theres no need.

and on top of that to come out with all that abuse, 'ignorant' etc. why? all this abuse at a dead woman from a man whose given the red carpet treatment to wife-beaters, druggies, drink drivers , racists etc but he starts getting all moralistic when it comes to Jade Goody for some reason, why?

maybe i will start my own thread when parkinson dies to say exactly what i think of him, except of course, i won't because unlike parkinson it seems, i have a degree of taste.

08-04-2009, 11:52 AM
Parkinson highlights the problems of society, he's not just getting at Goody.

But reading her wiki page, this also shows exactly what's wrong with society.

"Just before entering the house (BB 2007) Goody ranked number 25 in a poll by heat for the most influential person in the world"

08-04-2009, 12:00 PM

"Just before entering the house (BB 2007) Goody ranked number 25 in a poll by heat for the most influential person in the world"

Yikes, who was 26th?:shocked:

08-04-2009, 12:58 PM

I HATE to be pedantic but you can't describe a woman as "puerile".

"Puerile" comes from the Latin noun "puer" meaning "a boy" and can only be applied to men, or to the behaviour of men.

Parkinson could, and should, have used either "childish" or "immature".

Pretentious and snobby, Mikey-boy. Maybe, dare I say, ignorant? :devil:

And I still think that part of what he's saying is that it's OK to make a fuss when a real celebrity like "Princess Di" (how I HATE that phrase) dies, but not when it's someone "barely educated, ignorant and puerile" like Jade Goody.

Not a nice attitude, IMO.

08-04-2009, 01:08 PM

:faf: In fairness most Heat Magazine 'readers' probably had Jordan at number 1 though. They had to have Jade in because 'She's well nice innit, yeah?'

08-04-2009, 01:33 PM

:faf: In fairness most Heat Magazine 'readers' probably had Jordan at number 1 though. They had to have Jade in because 'She's well nice innit, yeah?'

A problem in society fuelled and perpetuated by the very media Sir Michael P has served all his days and from which he's made a very nice career for himself....

08-04-2009, 01:58 PM

Jordan and Jodie Marsh are pin ups in Heat and OK Magazine there are people out there wanting to be like these two idiots and in most polls they come top in looks and fashion sense. Chantelle houghton FFS is a millionaires, what talent has she got it seems that the jade is not the only one who had very little talent who made it big in the celebrity merry go round.

08-04-2009, 02:01 PM
A problem in society fuelled and perpetuated by the very media Sir Michael P has served all his days and from which he's made a very nice career for himself....

I agree with you completely. I don't entirely disagree with what Parkinson is saying but i think it's just a tad hypocritical that it comes from him.

08-04-2009, 02:03 PM
Jordan and Jodie Marsh are pin ups in Heat and OK Magazine there are people out there wanting to be like these two idiots and in most polls they come top in looks and fashion sense. Chantelle houghton FFS is a millionaires, what talent has she got it seems that the jade is not the only one who had very little talent who made it big in the celebrity merry go round.

:agree: It's sad that a lot of tenage girls see someone like Jade Goody or Jodie Marsh as a role model rather than wanting to educate themselves and improve themselves through hard work and aspirations.

HibsMax
08-04-2009, 06:28 PM
I don't really know much about Jade Goody so I can't comment on whether his remarks are spot on or not but I find his commentary a little distasteful. She's dead now, does he really need to make an example out of her? If he wants to pass comment on the state of British TV, or anything else, I think he could have done it slightly differently.

$0.02

09-04-2009, 11:02 AM
:agree: It's sad that a lot of tenage girls see someone like Jade Goody or Jodie Marsh as a role model rather than wanting to educate themselves and improve themselves through hard work and aspirations.

09-04-2009, 03:52 PM

Hallelujah for Parky.

The man has always been a legend, but now he's been elevated to demi-God status IMO.

10-04-2009, 11:01 AM
I think this sums it up perfectly

http://www.thesun.co.uk/sol/homepage/news/columnists/ally_ross/article556133.ece

10-04-2009, 11:51 AM
I think this sums it up perfectly

http://www.thesun.co.uk/sol/homepage/news/columnists/ally_ross/article556133.ece

Am i alone in finding it a tad ironic that now public opinion will no doubt swing the other way over all of this because the media are slowly changing tact? A few stood out with their thoughts the past few weeks and now it would appear that there is more support that was not there before.

10-04-2009, 12:28 PM
Am i alone in finding it a tad ironic that now public opinion will no doubt swing the other way over all of this because the media are slowly changing tact? A few stood out with their thoughts the past few weeks and now it would appear that there is more support that was not there before.

No you're not alone. Those that are changing their tune because the papers have told them to are most likely those that say they "don't read that rag".

Well done to those that can have their own opinion.

10-04-2009, 12:30 PM
No you're not alone. Those that are changing their tune because the papers have told them to are most likely those that say they "don't read that rag".

Well done to those that can have their own opinion.

Baa baa!:greengrin