View Full Version : Worse Film Ever?

26-03-2009, 01:57 AM
Quite a few thoughts:

1. That Lars Von Tier one with Nicole Kidman. (I've repressed the memory of the title)
2. Four Weddings (or anything by Richard Curtis)
3. In Bruge - take away Colin Farrel's eyebrows and it's a mess. A child is shot dead at the begining - not a great premise for a comedy.
4. Alien vs Predator - I know thios is supposed to be terrible, but shot in total darkness so you can't see any fight scenes doesn't help.

26-03-2009, 06:07 AM
1.Mad Dogs and Englishmen. Liz Hurley, Joss Ackland. Don't ask.
2.Titanic. Total drivel from start to finish (apart from the less-than-5-minute-long-folk-falling-from-boat-300-feet-in-air-scene, which i admit was quite good in a watching car crash kind of way)
3. Mamma Mia. Ive never seen it but my wife says its the worst film ever made, so ive included it on her behalf. I saw the trailer and i'm sure she's right.

26-03-2009, 07:11 AM
Honest (starring the All Saints - even them getting their paps out does absolutely nothing to redeem this monstrosity of a film)

Blackball - starring the guy who was Dennis Pennis, absolutely gash. Sat through most of it before getting angry with myself for wasting my life.

Anger Management - watched it til the end, waiting for the funny bits to start. They never did.

p.s. I thought In Bruges was absolutely brilliant, btw.

26-03-2009, 07:41 AM
Marabunta- a film I saw about Killer ants, on some oscure Sky channel years ago :faf:

Here is the summary

A swarm of flesh-eating ants attack a small Alaskan town. They're opposed by a plucky schoolteacher, a convenient entomologist, a tough sheriff, and a little boy. Guess which side wins

26-03-2009, 08:10 AM
Marabunta- a film I saw about Killer ants, on some oscure Sky channel years ago :faf:

Here is the summary

A swarm of flesh-eating ants attack a small Alaskan town. They're opposed by a plucky schoolteacher, a convenient entomologist, a tough sheriff, and a little boy. Guess which side wins

Rangers with a 98th minute penalty? :dunno:

26-03-2009, 08:12 AM
Rangers with a 98th minute penalty? :dunno:

:faf: Aye

It was seriously that bad, every time the killer ants went to munch someone the screen just faded to black with killer ant music :thumbsup:

26-03-2009, 08:14 AM
Shrooms. About some people who go into the woods and take mushrooms.

26-03-2009, 08:18 AM
That film where Liz Hurley plays the devil. :bitchy:

26-03-2009, 08:23 AM

Bedazzled, I just put it on mute :faf:

Tomsk
26-03-2009, 09:21 AM
Nuns on the Run -- Eric Idle is the romantic lead!

Australia -- I just don't get Nicole Kidman at all

My idea of Hell at the movies -- a remake of Gone with the Wind with Nicole Kidman as Scarlett and Eric Idle as Rhett

blaikie
26-03-2009, 09:24 AM
1. The Wild Geese
2. Green Street 2

26-03-2009, 09:36 AM
Worse film ever?

Not your usual eloquence with the English language there Robert.

26-03-2009, 09:46 AM
Legally Blonde 2 - what a pile of vapid *****, made more so by the fact that Reese Witherspoon is actually a good actress.

Miami Vice - umpteen shots of a Miami sunset and a awesome Colin Farrell mullet do not make up for the stilted acting and utter pish plot.

26-03-2009, 09:48 AM
Legally Blonde 2 - what a pile of vapid *****, made more so by the fact that Reese Witherspoon is actually a good actress.

Miami Vice - umpteen shots of a Miami sunset and a awesome Colin Farrell mullet do not make up for the stilted acting and utter pish plot.

Aye she ruined a good solid performance in Legally Blonde by doing the sequel :faf:

26-03-2009, 09:50 AM
Aye she ruined a good solid performance in Legally Blonde by doing the sequel :faf:

Lol I was more referring to "Walk the Line".

That said, Legally Blonde isn't half as tragic as the sequel.

I think the really important question is, why the **** have I seen BOTH Legally Blonde Films :confused::bitchy:

26-03-2009, 09:54 AM
Lol I was more referring to "Walk the Line".

That said, Legally Blonde isn't half as tragic as the sequel.

I think the really important question is, why the **** have I seen BOTH Legally Blonde Films :confused::bitchy:

yep she was good in Walk the Line. She was the best thing about it, in fact. Joaquin Phoenix is very overrated IMO.

26-03-2009, 10:02 AM
1.Mad Dogs and Englishmen. Liz Hurley, Joss Ackland. Don't ask.
2.Titanic. Total drivel from start to finish (apart from the less-than-5-minute-long-folk-falling-from-boat-300-feet-in-air-scene, which i admit was quite good in a watching car crash kind of way)
3. Mamma Mia. Ive never seen it but my wife says its the worst film ever made, so ive included it on her behalf. I saw the trailer and i'm sure she's right.

I have still never seen that & have no intentions of ever having to watch it :agree:

26-03-2009, 11:22 AM

I thought that was ok...did you see what she was wearing, or not :devil::devil::devil:

26-03-2009, 11:29 AM
I thought that was ok...did you see what she was wearing, or not :devil::devil::devil:

There's no doubting the aesthetic appeal that she brings to the film, but outwith that the whole thing is simply rank.

26-03-2009, 11:48 AM
I've watched some utter rubbish on the telly but the award for worst film I paid to watch at the pictures goes to Get Shorty. It was supposed to be a comedy sat for an hour without anything even mildly amusing happening then walked out for the only time ever at the pictures.

26-03-2009, 11:59 AM
I've watched some utter rubbish on the telly but the award for worst film I paid to watch at the pictures goes to Get Shorty. It was supposed to be a comedy sat for an hour without anything even mildly amusing happening then walked out for the only time ever at the pictures.

I went to see Black Hawk Down and thought it was the worst film ever. The noise in the cinema was unbelievable. I though my ears were going to burst so walked out. I watched it again on TV and it was brilliant!

26-03-2009, 12:34 PM
Honest (starring the All Saints - even them getting their paps out does absolutely nothing to redeem this monstrosity of a film)

Woah back! All Saints? Paps out? That just shot straight to the top of my must see list!:wink:

I like Anger Management as well. The ending is a bit crap but it is by no means anywhere close to being one of the worst films out there.

Nuns on the run is decent as well.

Start naming genuinely crap films or I'll start a worst 'worse films' thread and put this thread top!

26-03-2009, 12:36 PM
Cloverfield
Blair Witch Project

I hate films filmed with camcorders etc, they're just crap. And Blair Witch was totally over-rated, the only scary bit was right at the end!

26-03-2009, 12:37 PM
Start naming genuinely crap films or I'll start a worst 'worse films' thread and put this thread top!

The problem with genuinely crap films is they usually cross over from 'crap' to 'so crap they are actually good'.

26-03-2009, 12:38 PM
Cloverfield
Blair Witch Project

I hate films filmed with camcorders etc, they're just crap. And Blair Witch was totally over-rated, the only scary bit was right at the end!

Agree with that, when I saw it at the cinema, there were screams galore, I was thinking "what the hell are these people on?". Least scary film I have ever seen

26-03-2009, 12:40 PM
The problem with genuinely crap films is they usually cross over from 'crap' to 'so crap they are actually good'.

Thats when they become a "Cult" classic.

I saw the film Stardust with De Niro etc about a year ago, to this day I still cannot work out if it was the biggest pile of pish ever or actually ok :rolleyes:

Barman Stanton
26-03-2009, 12:52 PM
Cloverfield
Blair Witch Project

Didnt mind cloverfield actually. Thought it was quite well done as long as not taken too seriously.

In terms of the worst ever, I will throw Rocky 5 into the mix. Awfull movie.

26-03-2009, 12:56 PM

Its a similar thing with people. My wife was watching Gareth Southgate on MOTD a few months back and said 'you know, he's so ugly he almost goes the other way into being handsome':confused:

26-03-2009, 01:01 PM
Its a similar thing with people. My wife was watching Gareth Southgate on MOTD a few months back and said 'you know, he's so ugly he almost goes the other way into being handsome':confused:

:faf: Genius

LiverpoolHibs
26-03-2009, 01:01 PM
Cast Away, the most mind-numbingly boring film in cinematic history.

And pretty much every disaster film ever made; Twister, Perfect Storm, Dante's Peak, Armageddon, Deep Impact, The Day After Tomorow - dul, dull, dull, dull, dull.

26-03-2009, 01:02 PM
:faf: Genius

You can laugh, im actually worried about her:faf:

26-03-2009, 01:18 PM

So are you uglier than Gareth Soutgate for her to think you are handsome? :greengrin

26-03-2009, 01:35 PM
So are you uglier than Gareth Soutgate for her to think you are handsome? :greengrin

That was my first thought as well:faf:

26-03-2009, 01:38 PM
Oh, what was that one involving Tom Green (the only other man to remotely combine a ***** sense of humour and being a irritating prick in the Russel Brand echelon). I'm sure it involved him ****ging a cow, or wearing a dead cow or something. The title escapes me (with good reason) but I'm sure it cleaned up at the "Razzies" that year

I'm all for daft American comedies, but there has to be some wit and content that isn't completely "gross out" based. This film was so far below the lowest common denominator that it had absolutely no redeeming features.

26-03-2009, 01:42 PM
Oh, what was that one involving Tom Green (the only other man to remotely combine a ***** sense of humour and being a irritating prick in the Russel Brand echelon). I'm sure it involved him ****ging a cow, or wearing a dead cow or something. The title escapes me (with good reason) but I'm sure it cleaned up at the "Razzies" that year

I'm all for daft American comedies, but there has to be some wit and content that isn't completely "gross out" based. This film was so far below the lowest common denominator that it had absolutely no redeeming features.

Freddy got fingered, do not compare that to Russell, he is team shegger & a legend :agree:

aliman82
26-03-2009, 02:09 PM

Freddy Got Fingered.

Painfully bad. Candidate for worst film: the Guy Ritchie/Madonna monstrosity, so bad no-one watched it to find out.

For the so bad it's good, I'd like to put forward anything in Steven Seagal's oeuvre- hilariously excellent.

26-03-2009, 02:46 PM
The Villiage

Mon1875
26-03-2009, 02:59 PM
Can't believe In Bruge and Cloverfield are amongst folks worst films! Thought both of them were brilliant.

I'd say:

Moulin Rouge
Four Christmases
Blair Witch Project
Any followups to Halloween

Sure there are others (what was the name of that football film at Hampden about the small team winning the league with Ally McCoist)

Kaiser_Sauzee
26-03-2009, 03:18 PM
Some of the films listed above only cover the 'big movies' and don't come anywhere NEAR as bad as the ones that don't make it to the big screen.

I put forward the worst film ever, IMO.

Border Blues (http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0461471/)

Trailer for Border Blues (http://www.imdb.com/video/screenplay/vi3099263257/)

26-03-2009, 03:23 PM
In Bruges can hardly be considered close to one of the worst films there is; slightly overrated probably.

Going Overboard (think it's called that) has to be the worst film I've ever watched. That or GS2.

26-03-2009, 03:27 PM
i love in bruges i found it really funny

26-03-2009, 03:50 PM
The Villiage

I forgot how **** that film was. So **** I forgot all about it!

26-03-2009, 03:59 PM
Moulin Rouge

my god I forgot about that one. Ewan Macgregor wanted shooting for that:grr:

26-03-2009, 04:29 PM
There was a film (and I use the term loosely) in the mid 90's entitled "Catwalk" that was absolutely rank-rotten.

A so-called behind-the-scenes exposé of the worlds fashion shows.

I felt conned when I departed the cinema that evening.

EskbankHibby
26-03-2009, 04:35 PM
Curious case of Banjamin Button, 3 hours of my life i can't get back.

26-03-2009, 04:38 PM
Moulin Rouge

Stepford Wives

Vanilla Sky - how i HATE that film

Sick Boy
26-03-2009, 04:42 PM
Rarely go to the cinema but the worst I've seen on the 'Big Screen' is Epic Movie by a country mile. For a so-called pi$$-take, there wasn't one remotely funny bit for the whole sorry duration.

26-03-2009, 04:45 PM
Moulin Rouge

Stepford Wives

Vanilla Sky - how i HATE that film

All time classic:confused:

Arch Stanton
26-03-2009, 05:02 PM
It's the american films done to a formula that get me -

Sister Act 2 (the finale made my toes curl - although it's my own fault for watching to the end)
Beethoven 2 (not that Im saying that the original Beethoven was any good mind)

26-03-2009, 05:03 PM
van helsing (walked out)
secret window (felt like doing it)

I think both are johnny depp films*

26-03-2009, 05:13 PM
The film "W". A film about the life of George Bush. I went in the hope that they would take the piss out of the, at the time, most powerful man in the world. What I got was political drivel. I've never seen so many people walk out during a film before. Utter garbage.

26-03-2009, 05:55 PM
Curious case of Banjamin Button, 3 hours of my life i can't get back.

Good movie and brad pitt played a good part

van helsing (walked out)
secret window (felt like doing it)

I think both are johnny depp films*

nope van helsing is Hugh Jackman

the worst i can think off is Catwoman or Shaun of the Dead it the only movie to date i have walked out on

26-03-2009, 06:01 PM
1. The Wild Geese

I love The Wild Geese.:confused:

Each to their own I suppose (I also liked In Bruges, Cloverfield, Blair Witch and Cast Away)

Moulin Rouge and Chicago are both keech though.

26-03-2009, 06:13 PM
Rarely go to the cinema but the worst I've seen on the 'Big Screen' is Epic Movie by a country mile. For a so-called pi$$-take, there wasn't one remotely funny bit for the whole sorry duration.

Forgive the terrible grammatic lapse, SB. I of course meant to say 'worsest' film ever.

26-03-2009, 06:14 PM
Freddie got fingered was a quality film:agree:

alloa hibee
26-03-2009, 06:50 PM
hollywood homicide - awful, terrible story line and action scenes that bored me to tears.

that load of gash about some john tucker guy who pulls alot, basically a chick flick that i had to sit through with some burd, its awful!

i also hate most films with nicolas cage in them, apart from god of war which was actually really good.

i just remembered the village and that other shylaman film about trees killing people, awful movies!

26-03-2009, 07:04 PM
Gladiator, the only time ever to have walked out of a cinema

Hibee-Bongo
26-03-2009, 07:29 PM
Shaun of the Dead it the only movie to date i have walked out on

What?! Love that film!

Open Water for me

26-03-2009, 07:32 PM
What?! Love that film!

Open Water for me

That is very gash. So gash that I watched it again when it was on TV just to confirm how gash it was. :greengrin

26-03-2009, 09:07 PM
What?! Love that film!

Open Water for me

Good shout - Open Water was gash.

26-03-2009, 09:21 PM
Fahrenheit 451's pretty silly, as I recall.

There's an utterly appalling remake of Night of the Hunter starring Richard Chamberlain as Harry Powell (the Mitchum role).

And there's a horribly ropey b+w noir "thriller" called The Blue Dahlia with Alan Ladd and William Bendix which wasted an evening for me on one occasion.

But I think I'd have to vote for The Bells of St Mary's.

A truly emetic production, in which Bing Crosby, alcoholic and wife-beater, plays "Father Chuck O'Malley" reforming juvenile delinquents by singing soppy songs at them.

What's always puzzled me about that film is what on EARTH Ingrid Bergman's doing in it. She must have been hard up for cash.

Or drunk when she signed the contract. :devil:

Going My Way's pretty bad too.

Clip: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EeGvt8uqioY&feature=related

Big Ed
26-03-2009, 09:46 PM
Maybe not the worst films ever, but "classics" that I loathe are:

Some Like It Hot

Manhattan

The Italian Job

Universally loved by everone - except me :hide:

26-03-2009, 10:22 PM
Titanic: How the **** can people watch that over and over and over and over and over :grr::grr:

Watched it at school and fell asleep...missed Di Caprio drowning :grr::grr::grr:

Riordans Boots
26-03-2009, 10:34 PM
1. The Wild Geese
2. Green Street 2

Reeeally?

I love that film. :agree:
War movies are great, you can't beat 'The Great Escape' though. :thumbsup:

26-03-2009, 11:48 PM
2 Girls, One Cup.. nuf said

27-03-2009, 12:46 AM
2 Girls, One Cup.. nuf said

:jamboak::agree:

mickeythehibbee
27-03-2009, 01:20 AM
A fairly recent one that flopped massively so hopefully no-one else here suffered through it but The Spirit is absolutely undoubtedly the worst time i've ever had at a cinema.

How the hell do you make Scarlett Johansson seem unattractive whilst simaltaneously destroying any level of cool held by the coolest man allive Samuel L Jackson!!!:grr::grr:

God dammit Frank miller is an awful director. :bitchy:

(((Fergus)))
27-03-2009, 03:24 PM
In Bruges can hardly be considered close to one of the worst films there is; slightly overrated probably.

Going Overboard (think it's called that) has to be the worst film I've ever watched. That or GS2.

Are you talking about Overboard with Goldie Hawn? That's my wife's favourite film! :faf:

I started watching a real duffer the other week - Berlin Alexanderplatz (the Fassbinder one). The production quality, sets, costumes, etc. were fantastic and I thought it would be great but it ended up being pretentious drivel.

(((Fergus)))
27-03-2009, 03:30 PM
Maybe not the worst films ever, but "classics" that I loathe are:

Some Like It Hot

Manhattan

The Italian Job

Universally loved by everone - except me :hide:

I hope you don't mean the Michael Caine one. That is classic British cinema.

If you mean the new one, I couldn't agree more. :agree:

(((Fergus)))
27-03-2009, 03:32 PM
I hope you don't mean the Michael Caine one. That is classic British cinema.

If you mean the new one, I couldn't agree more. :agree:

"We've come here to pay our respects to Great Aunt Nellie. She brought us up properly and taught us loyalty. Now I want you to remember that during these next few days. I also want you to remember that if you don't come back with the goods, Nellie here will turn in her grave, and, likely as not, jump right out of it and kick your teeth in." :greengrin

27-03-2009, 03:34 PM
Are you talking about Overboard with Goldie Hawn? That's my wife's favourite film! :faf:

I started watching a real duffer the other week - Berlin Alexanderplatz (the Fassbinder one). The production quality, sets, costumes, etc. were fantastic and I thought it would be great but it ended up being pretentious drivel.

Na, it's this.http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0096870/

Looks like the users of IMDB agree with me.

27-03-2009, 03:46 PM
Woah back! All Saints? Paps out? That just shot straight to the top of my must see list!:wink:

Just fast forward to the bit when they get them out. It's the sisters as well - not the ugly ones.

Tomsk
27-03-2009, 03:59 PM

I like Anger Management as well. The ending is a bit crap but it is by no means anywhere close to being one of the worst films out there.

Nuns on the run is decent as well.

Fire away.

Doubt anyone will take your judgement seriously though after you saying Nuns in the Run is decent.

New Corrie
27-03-2009, 04:49 PM
My main nomination is based purely on the trailer as I couldn't ever contemplate watching one of these cinematic nightmares, otherwise known as the Pink Panther remakes with Steve Martin.

Other candidates

Meet the parents
Blair Witch Project
Stepford wives (remake)
The American "Get Carter"

gringojoe
27-03-2009, 04:56 PM
2001 space odssey

WTF was that all about monkeys with bones:confused:

steino1875
27-03-2009, 06:55 PM
loved the first jaws film but the rest well enough said

27-03-2009, 07:15 PM
Cast Away, the most mind-numbingly boring film in cinematic history.

And pretty much every disaster film ever made; Twister, Perfect Storm, Dante's Peak, Armageddon, Deep Impact, The Day After Tomorow - dul, dull, dull, dull, dull.

Too true, forget what film is was but they stopped an Alien invasion by cunningly infecting the UFO with the worlds most simple computer virus....I just about died there and then.

27-03-2009, 07:18 PM
"We've come here to pay our respects to Great Aunt Nellie. She brought us up properly and taught us loyalty. Now I want you to remember that during these next few days. I also want you to remember that if you don't come back with the goods, Nellie here will turn in her grave, and, likely as not, jump right out of it and kick your teeth in." :greengrin

"You were only supposed to blow the bloody doors off"

Quality. :greengrin

28-03-2009, 08:30 AM
Pirates of the Carribbean 3
Shrek 3

Even the kids were bored and felt they were extracting the urine on these franchises.

28-03-2009, 08:36 AM
Oh, my brother and his wife went to an opening screening of Lesbian Vampire Killers in London. It was a cast and crew invite and party, and everybody felt embarassed for the filmmakers, who I think stayed for just one drink at the aftershow party before going home to shoot themselves.

28-03-2009, 09:25 AM
Oh, my brother and his wife went to an opening screening of Lesbian Vampire Killers in London. It was a cast and crew invite and party, and everybody felt embarassed for the filmmakers, who I think stayed for just one drink at the aftershow party before going home to shoot themselves.

They should have sent out a clearer message as to the reason behind their suicides by driving a stake through their hearts.

HibsMax
28-03-2009, 11:07 AM
There are soooo many bad movies but, for me, the one that sticks out is the only movie I have ever wanted to leave part way through.

Eyes Wide Shut.

Ugh. I can watch some crap (Alien vs. Predator for example) and watch it to the end but Eyes had me bored to tears, even with Ms. Kidman's ass on display.

Was In Bruges not a dark comedy? I liked it.

28-03-2009, 12:25 PM
There are soooo many bad movies but, for me, the one that sticks out is the only movie I have ever wanted to leave part way through.

Eyes Wide Shut.

Ugh. I can watch some crap (Alien vs. Predator for example) and watch it to the end but Eyes had me bored to tears, even with Ms. Kidman's ass on display.

Was In Bruges not a dark comedy? I liked it.

It was, and so did I!

28-03-2009, 01:22 PM
Switch Killer (The title says it all)
Vanilla Sky
Goal
Apocalypse now- I know it won Oscars and million love it but it was too long and only had a few good moments.
Godfather 3

ScapeGoat
28-03-2009, 02:12 PM
Son of the Pink Panther utter rubbish.

28-03-2009, 02:42 PM
I can understand why Benjamin Button was mentioned further back. My arse was numb and I kept wishing it to finish! There just wasn't enough "grip" in the storyline for me. It's a cracking book and was well acted by all concerned, but it was way too long for my liking!

I'm going to throw The X Files: I Want to Believe into the ring! I cannot convey how big an X Phile I am (and no, I'm not ashamed to admit it :wink:) - I own all seasons on DVD, as well as the last film and have numerous signed pieces of memorabilia. I was rediculously excited to hear that a second film had been arranged and was being produced - safe to say I was there on opening night with an unquenchable sense of anticipation....and dear God it was *****. Considering they had so much time to spend, as well as money, they could have made a much better job of the storyline and used a much better cast XZibit for Christ sake!!!!

28-03-2009, 03:44 PM
I can understand why Benjamin Button was mentioned further back. My arse was numb and I kept wishing it to finish! There just wasn't enough "grip" in the storyline for me. It's a cracking book and was well acted by all concerned, but it was way too long for my liking!

I'm going to throw The X Files: I Want to Believe into the ring! I cannot convey how big an X Phile I am (and no, I'm not ashamed to admit it :wink:) - I own all seasons on DVD, as well as the last film and have numerous signed pieces of memorabilia. I was rediculously excited to hear that a second film had been arranged and was being produced - safe to say I was there on opening night with an unquenchable sense of anticipation....and dear God it was *****. Considering they had so much time to spend, as well as money, they could have made a much better job of the storyline and used a much better cast XZibit for Christ sake!!!!

So Benjamin Button was well acted but too long? Is that really the qualities the worst film ever would possess?

NaeTechnoHibby
28-03-2009, 06:27 PM
The Fisher King :bitchy:

Only watched an hour or so on video, but I hadnae a clue what it was all about, so I gave up and watched The Last Mohican (sp?) :thumbsup:

It came on the telly a few years back and considered having another look at The Fisher King, but I decided not to waste any more of my life :greengrin

EskbankHibby
29-03-2009, 12:19 AM
My main nomination is based purely on the trailer as I couldn't ever contemplate watching one of these cinematic nightmares, otherwise known as the Pink Panther remakes with Steve Martin.

Other candidates

Meet the parents
Blair Witch Project
Stepford wives (remake)
The American "Get Carter"

Anything involving Steve Martin after The Jerk, The Man With Two brains or Planes,Trains and Atomobiles is painful.

Truly tragic decline.

29-03-2009, 12:25 AM
Faster pussycat!, Kill! Kill!

If anyone can explain this film to me I'll carve an oscar out of gold for them myself.

29-03-2009, 12:53 AM
Cloverfield
Blair Witch Project

Agree with the Blair Witch. SO over-hyped.

Many really bad movies come from decent originals. There are so many poor films which are sequels. Scream, Robocop, Halloween, Police Academy, Saw, Nightmare on Elm Street, Beverly Hills Cop, just a few films which are ruined by endless and unoriginal sequels. I mean Saw 6, really!!! :grr:

Also the modern fascination of remakes of classic films. Rob Zombie's Halloween is about the only one which at least deviates from the original, the rest are almost scene for scene remakes, what's the point?

29-03-2009, 02:15 AM
Agree with the Blair Witch. SO over-hyped.

Don't agree.

I listened to the hype but still thought it was terrifying. The thing about that film is that it was scary as what you made it because it's what you didnt see what made it what it was. The ending was a typical fright scene but if you viewed the film in such a way that you actually tried to believe you were behind the camera then it might have been different.

Maybe it was just me but I find films with disturbing imagery scary rather than ones with these jump out your seat scenes. You have a camera going round a door...you know whats going to happen...something will give you a fright. As for blood and guts...If you've seen one person being carved up with a chainsaw you've seen them all.

The blair witch and ringu are disturbing.:bitchy:

29-03-2009, 02:31 AM
Don't agree.

I listened to the hype but still thought it was terrifying. The thing about that film is that it was scary as what you made it because it's what you didnt see what made it what it was. The ending was a typical fright scene but if you viewed the film in such a way that you actually tried to believe you were behind the camera then it might have been different.

Maybe it was just me but I find films with disturbing imagery scary rather than ones with these jump out your seat scenes. You have a camera going round a door...you know whats going to happen...something will give you a fright. As for blood and guts...If you've seen one person being carved up with a chainsaw you've seen them all.

The blair witch and ringu are disturbing.:bitchy:

I agree in a way. The most frightening films are those which are either based on factual events or those in which events could happen within reason.

A film like Silence of the Lambs, for example, is more frightening than Alien because it's more realistic and more believable.

I just didn't get the Blair Witch Project. Whilst I agree that the concept of being in a deserted woodland is quite scary, I didn't find the film convincing. :dunno:

29-03-2009, 08:00 AM
Fire away.

Doubt anyone will take your judgement seriously though after you saying Nuns in the Run is decent.

Streetfighter
Flight Plan
Death Proof

29-03-2009, 08:40 AM
Gladiator, the only time ever to have walked out of a cinema

What????:confused: Beautifully shot film

29-03-2009, 08:43 AM
I just don't get Nicole Kidman at all

Nicole Kidman is absolutaly stunning, maybe not the best actress in the world, but a total godess non the less:wink:

29-03-2009, 09:28 AM
So Benjamin Button was well acted but too long? Is that really the qualities the worst film ever would possess?

I never put if forward as a candidate myself. I can just understand why people would dislike it as a film, on account of its length and lack of gripping storyline. I thought it was OK personally, just a tad long.

29-03-2009, 11:32 AM
What????:confused: Beautifully shot film

i know a lot of people like it but i thought it as boring, i usually like films like that as well

Austinho
29-03-2009, 11:44 PM
Atonement is without doubt the worst film I have sat through. Complete and utterly awful.

Mon1875
30-03-2009, 10:15 AM
Atonement is without doubt the worst film I have sat through. Complete and utterly awful.

I loved Atonement. Thought it was a great story. Didn't work it out to the very end.

Someone also said 2001 A Space Odyssey. That's a class science fiction movie.

Just watched the latest Friday 13th last night. That was pretty poor.

30-03-2009, 10:17 AM

I loved Atonement:top marksGreat book as well.

RoslinInstHibby
30-03-2009, 10:44 AM
1.) sky captain and thw world of tomorrow.
2.) batman and robin
3.) the spirit
4.) the bride of chucky
5.) the wickerman (remake)
6.) the omen (remake)

all utter p*sh

Tomsk
30-03-2009, 02:36 PM
Nicole Kidman is absolutaly stunning, maybe not the best actress in the world, but a total godess non the less:wink:

As my mother is want to say, you wouldn't give her a second look if she was serving behind the counter at Boots.

RoslinInstHibby
30-03-2009, 02:59 PM
As my mother is want to say, you wouldn't give her a second look if she was serving behind the counter at Boots.

:agree: she is nothing special at all, and to tie it back in with the OP, the invasion starring Kidman is awful.

Chuckie
30-03-2009, 03:02 PM
Worst film ever surely ? :cool2:

Took my nephews and niece to see Marley and Me on Friday night. Even they thought it was rubbish.

Something about that Owen Wilson though. He's a charming guy.

Mon1875
30-03-2009, 03:26 PM
Just remembered seeing the awful Solaris with George Clooney.

Mind numbing stuff.

30-03-2009, 03:38 PM
The Fifth Element? :cool2:

EH6 Hibby
30-03-2009, 05:47 PM
Worst film ever surely ? :cool2:

Took my nephews and niece to see Marley and Me on Friday night. Even they thought it was rubbish.

Something about that Owen Wilson though. He's a charming guy.

Think that's more of a chick flick cause I loved it and so did all my friends! :thumbsup: