22-03-2009, 06:49 AM
http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/entertainment/7925719.stm

22-03-2009, 07:15 AM
She fought her illness bravely,and left her boys well looked after. RIP

22-03-2009, 07:22 AM
I dont really know who this woman is or what shes famous for (girl band?) but she's all over the TV news this morning:confused:

I dont know if this is a)a sad indictment of the media, or b)my knowledge of popular culture:confused:

22-03-2009, 07:35 AM
I dont really know who this woman is or what shes famous for (girl band?) but she's all over the TV news this morning:confused:

I dont know if this is a)a sad indictment of the media, or b)my knowledge of popular culture:confused:

Both :agree:

She was in Big Brother back in 2002...and then kept turning up in various places.

22-03-2009, 07:41 AM
At 27 and a mother of two young lads, Jade Goody Has certainly left her mark she dies on mothers Day and the one thing I think she was good and that was being a mother.

So it is a sad day for 2 young lads who will now have only pictures to remember there mother.

Famous for being thick will be Jade's claim to fame

R.I P

22-03-2009, 07:46 AM
I've just educated myself by reading up on her. Sounds like she was manipulated throughout her life and now the public are having their emotions manipulated by her death. Sorry if that sounds disrespectful.

22-03-2009, 07:52 AM
At 27 and a mother of two young lads, Jade Goody Has certainly left her mark she dies on mothers Day and the one thing I think she was good and that was being a mother.

So it is a sad day for 2 young lads who will now have only pictures to remember there mother.

Famous for being thick will be Jade's claim to fame
R.I P

I've just educated myself by reading up on her. Sounds like she was manipulated throughout her life and now the public are having their emotions manipulated by her death. Sorry if that sounds disrespectful.

For being thick the lass done pretty well out of it.

hibsbollah your entitled to your opinion but no-one has manipulated me into feeling sorry for those 2 young boys who have lost their Mum.

Personally I didn't really like the way she lived out the last few months in the media but I understand she did it to make as much money for her boys as possible, as well as raising awareness about cervical cancer.

22-03-2009, 08:01 AM
hibsbollah your entitled to your opinion but no-one has manipulated me into feeling sorry for those 2 young boys who have lost their Mum.

But wasn't she told to do everything she did in the latter stages of her life by that Max Clifford guy to maximise public sympathy? Would you have even heard of her kids if she hadnt been bought over by a publicity machine?

22-03-2009, 08:04 AM
But wasn't she told to do everything she did in the latter stages of her life by that Max Clifford guy to maximise public sympathy? Would you have even heard of her kids if she hadnt been bought over by a publicity machine?

So am I to shut myself off from the world - no telly no papers nothing.

Fact is I have heard of her - so I do feel sorry for the kids as I would if it was any other mums kids I had heard off.

Still don't feel manipulated.

22-03-2009, 08:04 AM

Jade has said that she was doing it for the money so her kids would have a better chance in life. Bringing in a PR guru is fair enough and I would do exactly the same thing if I was in that position.

22-03-2009, 08:27 AM
For being thick the lass done pretty well out of it.

Personally I didn't really like the way she lived out the last few months in the media but I understand she did it to make as much money for her boys as possible, as well as raising awareness about cervical cancer.

Jade was a millionaires but my point was she became famous for being thick, it was not meant as a disrespectful comment but simply stating a fact.

As for Jade using PR Guru Max Clifford that was a very cleaver move by Jade because this guy is the best at what he does and that's making money for his clients.

22-03-2009, 08:30 AM
If anything good can come out of this it will be that young women will realize that they have to go for their smear test's as required and not miss them , like she did.

22-03-2009, 08:42 AM
Rather poignant that she died on Mothers day, of all days.

Was not a fan of the endless press coverage of her throughout her career. They certainly seemed to prey on her lack of intelligence. The coverage of her through her final months has also been less than dignified. I just hope there wasn't a documentary crew there to film her final moments!

At least she has used the publicity of her final weeks on Earth for positive gain -her young family will be well looked after (I just hope the press will now leave THEM alone) and many young girls will have learned the benefits of cervical screening.

I feel for her young family this morning.

Jay
22-03-2009, 08:46 AM
If anything good can come out of this it will be that young women will realize that they have to go for their smear test's as required and not miss them , like she did.

Jade didn't miss her appointment, she igonored letters to return for a follow up appointment, these appoinments often just mean not enough cells were taken at the original test but it panics a lot of women, Jade was one of them and chose to ignore the letter.

From what I gather she was ill for some time before it was picked up again.

If one thing comes from it it must be to lower the age of smear tests in England and to push through follow up appointments - educate the girls.

Jade was so young to have died but at least she managed to turn things around from her appaling childhood and have a good if not short adult life. All in all Jade had a good heart and adored her boys.

I didn't sit comfortably watching her demise in the media but understood why she chose to do it. Jade had lived her entire adult life under the spotlight so it was nothing to her.

Dying on Mothers Day has a very poignant message to the young women out there :agree:

I hope the media dont turn her funeral into a circus but I have my doubts, I feel newspaper comemorations etc on their way.

RIP Jade

Arch Stanton
22-03-2009, 08:53 AM
Most people who die from cancer are reported as dying after a short illness or a long illness - I don't think it will do anyone any harm to have had an account which is up close and personal - I certainly felt touched by it.

I think it is a bit mean spirited calling her thick - what does that mean anyway - compared to Gail Trimble I am pretty thick too. For better or worse she was a media celebrity and more interesting than most. RIP

22-03-2009, 09:02 AM
Most people who die from cancer are reported as dying after a short illness or a long illness - I don't think it will do anyone any harm to have had an account which is up close and personal - I certainly felt touched by it.

I think it is a bit mean spirited calling her thick - what does that mean anyway - compared to Gail Trimble I am pretty thick too. For better or worse she was a media celebrity and more interesting than most. RIP

I think your missing the point and tell me what made her interesting before we know about the cancer. I say AGAIN not meant as a disrespectful comment :bitchy:

22-03-2009, 09:24 AM
Her poor boys :boo hoo::boo hoo:

Hibby D
22-03-2009, 09:33 AM

I always liked her - even when she was being portrayed as "some thick ignorant Essex girl" by a mass media who knew she'd sell papers and capture tv audiences. I liked her because she was quirky and had an eagerness and spirit about her that I can only envy. She turned down a million pounds from playboy magazine to appear nude yet wasn't that "thick" that she didn't see the irony in that (she stripped off naked and for free during her first stint in the BB house) She worked hard every day of her young life to be liked, never mind loved, and I'm glad she died knowing she was loved by her children, friends and family.

Strange as it may seem, I'll miss her contribution to tv entertainment although I suspect there will be as much mileage in her death as there was in her life.

RIP Jade

x

22-03-2009, 09:40 AM
I couldn't be bothered with her and payed her very little attention when I was still in Scotland. To me she represented everything that is wrong with modern day culture and epitomises the 'sun reader' mentality that unfortunately prevails. I was quite surprised to see that she was still in the news more than 4 years since I left Edinburgh.

With that said, I didn't wish her any harm and if her illness has helped raise awareness of certain health issues, then all the better.

Riordans Boots
22-03-2009, 09:40 AM
Dying on Mothers Day has a very poignant message to the young women out there :agree:

:agree: and god love her wee boys.

22-03-2009, 09:49 AM
Jade has said that she was doing it for the money so her kids would have a better chance in life. Bringing in a PR guru is fair enough and I would do exactly the same thing if I was in that position.

Maybe i'm missing something but I just don't get the logic here. What if she'd become a prostitute for the final months of her life, 'so her kids could get a better (financial) chance in life'? Would that be something to admire as well?

22-03-2009, 09:55 AM
Maybe i'm missing something but I just don't get the logic here. What if she'd become a prostitute for the final months of her life, 'so her kids could get a better (financial) chance in life'? Would that be something to admire as well?

Sorry HB but that is just pathetic.

The lass is dead - I never admired her but I did get the feeling she was a devoted mother. Spare a thought (no matter how small) for the 2 wee boys grieving her just now.

Last night when they went to sleep they had a mum............now she's gone - my heart goes out to them.

Hibby D
22-03-2009, 09:56 AM

Probably not by most no - but then she didn't become a prostitute did she?

The lassie did what she knew best and imo did it with a fair amount of dignity. If anything she deserves pity and respect, not annihilation.

22-03-2009, 09:57 AM
Sorry HB but that is just pathetic.

Why?:confused:

22-03-2009, 09:58 AM

Should have said IMO.

I'm not in the mood to spell it out to you ................just find your point ridiculous.

Take it what ever way you want.

RIP Jade

scott7_0(Prague)
22-03-2009, 10:30 AM

cause your a fanny (IMO) there you go!

You said you knew nothing about the lassie, yet you have enough to say about her and her opinions!!

JOG ON.

22-03-2009, 10:35 AM
cause your a fanny (IMO) there you go!

You said you knew nothing about the lassie, yet you have enough to say about her and her opinions!!

JOG ON.

:greengrin give us a kiss, you big softie:blah::faf:

EH6 Hibby
22-03-2009, 10:36 AM
Very sad that it happened today of all days, Mothers day will be hard enough for her two boys in years to come without this association with it.

I have to say I was suspicious of Jack Tweeds motives when he proposed, but he seemed to be genuinely upset whenever I've seen pictures of him.

RIP Jade.

22-03-2009, 11:15 AM
Lets not turn this into a slagging match for your benefit eh.

A Mother has died. RIP

Jay
22-03-2009, 11:24 AM

There are times that you are a better person for saying nothing and I believe this is one of them.

22-03-2009, 11:29 AM

Actually, yes it would be, but what a ridiculous analogy.

Most parents do what they can to provide for their kids. Do you dismiss those efforts with the same argument?

Aritch
22-03-2009, 11:33 AM
I couldn't be bothered with her and payed her very little attention when I was still in Scotland. To me she represented everything that is wrong with modern day culture and epitomises the 'sun reader' mentaility that unfortunately prevails. I was quite surprised to see that she was still in the news more than 4 years since I left Edinburgh.

With that said, I didn't wish her any harm and if her illness has helped raise awareness of certain health issues, then all the better.

Agreed!

22-03-2009, 11:39 AM
good riddance

scott7_0(Prague)
22-03-2009, 11:43 AM
good riddance

You posted this for a reaction and you will get one. You are a t!t, here is hoping you never have to suffer like that lassie did!!

22-03-2009, 11:50 AM
Actually, yes it would be, but what a ridiculous analogy.

Most parents do what they can to provide for their kids. Do you dismiss those efforts with the same argument?

I think its quite a useful analogy. When lifes actions are reduced to being justified by 'it gave her children some cash', everything becomes acceptable. You have to justify the actions on their own merits, not by how much money those actions generate.

I'm surprised in one way that questioning all this overblown emotion a la Diana is offending people. In another way its quite understandable; if celebrity culture is the 20th Century's new religion, then the likes of Jade are its religious martyrs; when they die, we are encouraged to grieve like we know them. In fact, its a bit of a Virgin Mary syndrome.

22-03-2009, 11:56 AM
good riddance Grow up!

LiverpoolHibs
22-03-2009, 12:00 PM
I think its quite a useful analogy. When lifes actions are reduced to being justified by 'it gave her children some cash', everything becomes acceptable. You have to justify the actions on their own merits, not by how much money those actions generate.

I'm surprised in one way that questioning all this overblown emotion a la Diana is offending people. In another way its quite understandable; if celebrity culture is the 20th Century's new religion, then the likes of Jade are its religious martyrs; when they die, we are encouraged to grieve like we know them. In fact, its a bit of a Virgin Mary syndrome.

"Mourning sickness is a religion for the lonely crowd that no longer subscribes to orthodox churches. Its flowers and teddies are its rites, its collective minute's silences its liturgy and mass."

Flynn
22-03-2009, 12:00 PM
Thank ****...it's over. Now I can go back to glancing at tabloids on news stands and not have to see her coupan.

22-03-2009, 12:11 PM
good riddance

And your label is created.

22-03-2009, 12:12 PM
It's amazing the lack of respect and decency these days in society.

22-03-2009, 12:21 PM
"Mourning sickness is a religion for the lonely crowd that no longer subscribes to orthodox churches. Its flowers and teddies are its rites, its collective minute's silences its liturgy and mass."

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/uk/3512447.stm
I'd pretty much agree with all of that.

22-03-2009, 12:22 PM

It seems to me that the only person who is at all offended here, is you.

You are clearly uncomfortable that the woman has allowed the country to watch her die, if they so wished.

To the extent that you compared her to a prostitute.

I know very little about this woman - if you showed me a picture of her before she lost her hair, I wouldn't recognise her and I have no idea why she is supposed to be a celebrity.

I have no time for the celebrity culture in this country and I wouldn't waste my time watching these contrived shows like BB and IACGMOOH, but I see no harm in her telling folk what it's like to be dying, whatever her reasons.

And the fact that she isn't gaining personally from it, does matter.

22-03-2009, 12:23 PM

And living in Liverpool, you should know! :wink:

22-03-2009, 12:25 PM
It seems to me that the only person who is at all offended here, is you.

You are clearly uncomfortable that the woman has allowed the country to watch her die, if they so wished.

To the extent that you compared her to a prostitute.

I know very little about this woman - if you showed me a picture of her before she lost her hair, I wouldn't recognise her and I have no idea why she is supposed to be a celebrity.

I have no time for the celebrity culture in this country and I wouldn't waste my time watching these contrived shows like BB and IACGMOOH, but I see no harm in her telling folk what it's like to be dying, whatever her reasons.

And the fact that she isn't gaining personally from it, does matter.

You're wrong, im not offended by any of it. I clearly offended that Craig from Prague dude, but since his last post I read was describing all French people as arrogant, i'm not too bothered. For anyone else, sorry if my musings on celebrity offended you...

22-03-2009, 12:26 PM
Huge increase in young women going for smear tests due to the publicity given to her illness.

How can that possibly be wrong?

Jay
22-03-2009, 12:26 PM
It's amazing the lack of respect and decency these days in society.

I think its more than that wembley, I think these people post (as said before) purely for a reaction. Makes them feel big and clever. Makes them look small and stupid.

LiverpoolHibs
22-03-2009, 12:27 PM

Yup, so would I.

Like you, I'm not sure why that's being labelled 'indecent and disrespectful'. Of course it's sad that she's died, but I'm not sure why nowadays people seem to insist on basic human empathy being blown out of all proportion.

It's a very, very odd and unsettling state of affairs where this is the top story in pretty much every British news outlet

22-03-2009, 12:31 PM
Yup, so would I.

Like you, I'm not sure why that's being labelled 'indecent and disrespectful'. Of course it's sad that she's died, but I'm not sure why nowadays people seem to insist on basic human empathy being blown out of all proportion.

It's a very, very odd and unsettling state of affairs where this is the top story in pretty much every British news outlet

I suppose its not odd at all now, its totally predictable. That is the way tabloid Britain is.

But as I sad before if it raises awareness and saves lives then it can't be all wrong.

LiverpoolHibs
22-03-2009, 12:35 PM
I suppose its not odd at all now, its totally predictable. That is the way tabloid Britain is.

But as I sad before if it raises awareness and saves lives then it can't be all wrong.

It actually makes me feel quite uneasy, but maybe that's just me. And no, I suppose it really isn't surprising.

And as for your secong point, absolutely. But doesn't that say something in itself? That the celebrity-media is now more capable of the dissemination of that sort of information/knowledge than government agencies or whatever...

scott7_0(Prague)
22-03-2009, 12:41 PM
You're wrong, im not offended by any of it. I clearly offended that Craig from Prague dude, but since his last post I read was describing all French people as arrogant, i'm not too bothered. For anyone else, sorry if my musings on celebrity offended you...

At least get my name right and if you could not see I was being ironic about the french and sarcastic to the guy on the thread then that's you issue.

And no, you did not even offend me as I have no time for people like you seeking attention.

22-03-2009, 12:43 PM
At least get my name right and if you could not see I was being ironic about the french and sarcastic to the guy on the thread then that's you issue.

And no, you did not even offend me as I have no time for people like you seeking attention.

:bye::sauzee:

22-03-2009, 12:57 PM
As for Jade using PR Guru Max Clifford that was a very cleaver move by Jade because this guy is the best at what he does and that's making money for his clients.

aye, he never does anything without getting his cut...:faf:

22-03-2009, 01:03 PM
aye, he never does anything without getting his cut...:faf:

Is that it a spelling mistake and you soak your pants with laughter, I wouldn't have bothered myself like. :rolleyes:

22-03-2009, 01:16 PM

Her main "crime" was being ignorant.

But not half as ignorant as you.

22-03-2009, 01:27 PM
People either like Jade or they don't, I always felt a bit embarrassed when jade came on our screens but that changed over the final months. She have given her boys a great chance in life and all credit to her for doing that Women are now more aware of having cervical Cancer test early and again that's all down to Jade.

22-03-2009, 01:53 PM
Is that it a spelling mistake and you soak your pants with laughter, I wouldn't have bothered myself like. :rolleyes:

:dummytit::dummytit:

mickeythehibbee
22-03-2009, 02:04 PM

You're an absolute disgrace. i didn't like Jade but she did what she did and i would never EVER say good riddance to someones death. You are a horrible person and your comments are a waste of time for everyone here. Please proceed to GTF. :grr::grr:

Hope her children are left to grieve in peace and that she RIP.

scott7_0(Prague)
22-03-2009, 02:11 PM

Your parents must be so so so proud of you. T!T.

22-03-2009, 03:06 PM
I didn't have much time for what she represented. She wasn't particularly talented and the fact that people can become a "celebrity" in this country by sitting in a house for a few weeks, says it all.

However, despite all her faults, she was still a human being and she was still a mother with two young children. I would not wish her illness on anyone and there are now two young boys who will have to grow up without their mother. If people can't feel sorry for Jade Goody, surely you must feel sympathy towards a 4 year old and a 5 year old, who have lost their mother.

Regardless of whether or not she deserved to be a celebrity, she was a very well known person and her illness, and the publicity of it, has resulted in a great increase in the number of women going for cervical smears. If no other good comes out of her plight and subsequent death, that alone should be enough for her family to be proud.

Arch Stanton
22-03-2009, 03:07 PM

I wouldn't - it is all about face for me. Organised religions offer insurance policies against death by promising eternal life - identifying with grief is something that is universal, a recognition of how fragile our hold on life is, and happens more with someone we feel an affinity with, for whatever reason.

I wonder if people who have a problem with all this have a problem with grief - why else would they want to intrude on others expression of loss.

ChooseLife
22-03-2009, 03:11 PM
I can start buying the sun again!:duck:

Please don't jump on me, please.

22-03-2009, 03:37 PM
identifying with grief is something that is universal, a recognition of how fragile our hold on life is, and happens more with someone we feel an affinity with, for whatever reason.

I wonder if people who have a problem with all this have a problem with grief - why else would they want to intrude on others expression of loss.

Well said.

Surely a sense of decency and common humanity would allow us to pay resepect to anybody dying of such a terrible disease without the need to belittle them in any way.

RIP Jade Goody.

chorley_fm
22-03-2009, 03:40 PM
Goodnight Sweet Prince

22-03-2009, 04:05 PM
I wouldn't - it is all about face for me. Organised religions offer insurance policies against death by promising eternal life - identifying with grief is something that is universal, a recognition of how fragile our hold on life is, and happens more with someone we feel an affinity with, for whatever reason.

The point of the report was that the number of events of (usually media-driven) public grief outpouring devalues genuine shows of public togetherness like Armistice Day. For example, the 2 minute silence at football grounds in November will inevitably start to lose its special place in the calendar when you've have had a 2 minute silence for the death of the groundsman's neighbour the week before...

22-03-2009, 04:18 PM
Im sorry for her children but that is all. I just think this stinks of hypocrisy, everbody hated her when we had the racism row in Celebrity Big Brother. She was slated by the press now thats shes dies everybody loves her again?
Na, i dinnae think so.

Hibby D
22-03-2009, 04:22 PM
Goodnight Sweet Prince

What's the point? :confused:

The point of the report was that the number of events of (usually media-driven) public grief outpouring devalues genuine shows of public togetherness like Armistice Day. For example, the 2 minute silence at football grounds in November will inevitably start to lose its special place in the calendar when you've have had a 2 minute silence for the death of the groundsman's neighbour the week before...

I must have missed that week

Hibby D
22-03-2009, 04:24 PM
Im sorry for her children but that is all. I just think this stinks of hypocrisy, everbody hated her when we had the racism row in Celebrity Big Brother. She was slated by the press now thats shes dies everybody loves her again?
Na, i dinnae think so.

Codswallop

chorley_fm
22-03-2009, 04:29 PM
What's the point? :confused:

Its a reference from a television show, since she's famous for being on a television programme I thought I'd post it.

Hibby D
22-03-2009, 04:32 PM
Its a reference from a television show, since she's famous for being on a television programme I thought I'd post it.

So it's not your sincere condolences then? And here was me thinking you'd found your heart :greengrin

chorley_fm
22-03-2009, 04:35 PM
So it's not your sincere condolences then? And here was me thinking you'd found your heart :greengrin

Having just had to deal with a close family member passing away this very friday night, it was sincere condolences.

(not sure which smilie to use?)

22-03-2009, 04:38 PM
I must have missed that week

Are you saying you havent noticed an increase in the number of 2 minute silences at football grounds? Do you remember the Tynecastle game? George Millar? no, i doubt most yams had heard of him either:confused:

22-03-2009, 04:38 PM
Codswallop

You know its true, she got hit hard in the press and in particular articles. I dont know if it was hate but she was disliked by many. Im not buying into this Goody love in. I only feel for her children.

Hibby D
22-03-2009, 06:26 PM
Having just had to deal with a close family member passing away this very friday night, it was sincere condolences.

My apologies J - that'll teach me to jump to dumbass conclusions

Are you saying you havent noticed an increase in the number of 2 minute silences at football grounds? Do you remember the Tynecastle game? George Millar? no, i doubt most yams had heard of him either:confused:

Nope! I'm saying I didn't notice that we, or any other team for that matter, have had a two minute silence for the groundsman's neighbour :agree:.

You know its true, she got hit hard in the press and in particular articles. I dont know if it was hate but she was disliked by many. Im not buying into this Goody love in. I only feel for her children.

I appreciate there will be some who "hate" her, or at least think they do but you said "everybody" and that simply wasn't/isn't the case.

And why, because a certain percentage of the public don't feel the same as you, do you refer to our response as a "love-in"? Surely anybody, like me for example, can have liked her in addition to being sad at her passing, without being accused of belonging to some mis-guided blinkered fan-club.

22-03-2009, 06:27 PM
Na, i dinnae think so.

Guilty of nothing but ignorance.

Christ you'd have thought she was a child molester or something the way some folk are reacting.

22-03-2009, 06:35 PM
RIP Jade

She's at peace now...but I do think she should have kept her last few weeks private rather than turning it into a media circus.

She'd already made a mint for her two boys through big selling autobiographies and her perfume range not forgetting the 3 BB's that she appeared in.

The press (two tabloids in particular) will show how fickle they are by running at least 8 pages of tributes to her....they quite happy branded her svum of the earth after the whole Shilpa Shetty international incident but now she's the princess...

My thoughts go to her boys and rest of her family....

Arch Stanton
22-03-2009, 06:53 PM

But you prefer to make obscure references about tv programmes - I fail to understand that.

22-03-2009, 07:16 PM

Wow.

You remind me of those High Court Judges who come out with statements like, "What exactly is a Kylie Minogue?" :wink:

chorley_fm
22-03-2009, 07:21 PM
But you prefer to make obscure references about tv programmes - I fail to understand that.

chorley_fm
22-03-2009, 07:22 PM
My apologies J - that'll teach me to jump to dumbass conclusions

No worries D, check yer pm's

22-03-2009, 07:36 PM
Fascinating exchange of views on this thread. It would be beyond the hardest of men to fail to feel great sympathy for the two wee laddies left without a mother.

Having said that it beggars belief that Gordon Brown took time out today to express publicly his condolences. I await with little expectation for a similar statement regarding the 4 guys who appear to have been drowned on Loch Awe this weekend.

What is most scary is that thousands if not millions of people in this country will again become professional mourners. I defy anybody not to have felt just a little scared by the scenes at Princess Diana's funeral.

The bottom line is it isn't Jade's fault but rather the collapse of what should define a rational and compassionate society to be replaced with the mawkish, voyeuristic lunacy that prevades our homes today.

LiverpoolHibs
22-03-2009, 07:54 PM
Fascinating exchange of views on this thread. It would be beyond the hardest of men to fail to feel great sympathy for the two wee laddies left without a mother.

Having said that it beggars belief that Gordon Brown took time out today to express publicly his condolences. I await with little expectation for a similar statement regarding the 4 guys who appear to have been drowned on Loch Awe this weekend.

What is most scary is that thousands if not millions of people in this country will again become professional mourners. I defy anybody not to have felt just a little scared by the scenes at Princess Diana's funeral.

The bottom line is it isn't Jade's fault but rather the collapse of what should define a rational and compassionate society to be replaced with the mawkish, voyeuristic lunacy that prevades our homes today.

Yep, that pretty much sums it up for me. :agree:

Recreational grief is the term.

22-03-2009, 07:57 PM
Wow.

You remind me of those High Court Judges who come out with statements like, "What exactly is a Kylie Minogue?" :wink:

Once I looked at the BBC links I actually remembered watching that Big Brother series, but I didnt realise she was that Jade. Its amazing how you can ignore celebrity shenanigans if you try hard enough:wink:

Hibby D
22-03-2009, 08:08 PM
Once I looked at the BBC links I actually remembered watching that Big Brother series, but I didnt realise she was that Jade. Its amazing how you can ignore celebrity shenanigans if you try hard enough:wink:

Yet you don't remember reading the thread on this forum referring to her marrying Jack Tweed?

Let me help jog your memory - you read it on

02-03-2009, 08:01 PM

Big Brother is indeed watching :wink:

22-03-2009, 08:11 PM

:agree: Spot on.

Arch Stanton
22-03-2009, 08:32 PM
"The bottom line is it isn't Jade's fault but rather the collapse of what should define a rational and compassionate society to be replaced with the mawkish, voyeuristic lunacy that prevades our homes today."

Personally I blame chat forums where mindless moronic idiots just post whatever pops into their heads without regard to the genuinely expressed views of other posters.

22-03-2009, 08:32 PM
RIP Jade

She's at peace now...but I do think she should have kept her last few weeks private rather than turning it into a media circus.

She'd already made a mint for her two boys through big selling autobiographies and her perfume range not forgetting the 3 BB's that she appeared in.

The press (two tabloids in particular) will show how fickle they are by running at least 8 pages of tributes to her....they quite happy branded her svum of the earth after the whole Shilpa Shetty international incident but now she's the princess...

My thoughts go to her boys and rest of her family....
:top marks Don't agree with some of the stuff you say on here Gramo but with you on this one.

The whole Diana thing did my head in and I feel that we're in for at least a week of nonsense about Jade. Yes, I feel sorry that she has died, yes I feel sorry for her kids and family but no I don't need it shoved down my throat by the media thank you very much!

Little Miss Perfect
22-03-2009, 09:06 PM
RIP Jade.

22-03-2009, 09:06 PM
I feel most sorry for those two little boys, being without a mum is frightening at 24, never mind 4 years old.

I hope now westminter will reduce the age of cervical smears to 20, and eventually all the uk governments will reduce the age of the first smear screeening to 18 since more younger people are becoming sexually active. i say this after watching this morning last week and seeing the parents of a 23 year old woman who lost her life due to this horrible cancer, the risk of getting cervical cancer is increasing dramatically.

RIP Jade

22-03-2009, 09:57 PM
"The bottom line is it isn't Jade's fault but rather the collapse of what should define a rational and compassionate society to be replaced with the mawkish, voyeuristic lunacy that prevades our homes today."

Personally I blame chat forums where mindless moronic idiots just post whatever pops into their heads without regard to the genuinely expressed views of other posters.

I was commenting on the general state of society which will no doubt to some degree be reflected on these pages. But then again you knew that but still felt the need to act as some sort of Conscience Police.

Arch Stanton
22-03-2009, 10:06 PM
I was commenting on the general state of society which will no doubt to some degree be reflected on these pages. But then again you knew that but still felt the need to act as some sort of Conscience Police.

You start hectoring on here about "mawkish voyeuristic lunacy" and you call ME the Conscience Police?????

And really - do you have to choose an RIP thread to make your cheap points?

22-03-2009, 10:14 PM
Yet you don't remember reading the thread on this forum referring to her marrying Jack Tweed?

Let me help jog your memory - you read it on

Big Brother is indeed watching :wink:

Well clearly I must have...:hnetinq:

Her name genuinely didn't ring any bells with me cos i dont follow those sort of stories generally.

22-03-2009, 10:58 PM
:yawn:

22-03-2009, 11:34 PM
I hope now westminter will reduce the age of cervical smears to 20, and eventually all the uk governments will reduce the age of the first smear screeening to 18 since more younger people are becoming sexually active. i say this after watching this morning last week and seeing the parents of a 23 year old woman who lost her life due to this horrible cancer, the risk of getting cervical cancer is increasing dramatically.

RIP Jade

Haven't followed the Jade Goody saga, but in her educational efforts to do with cervical cancer, did she do as much to publicise the causes of the disease as the desirability of screening? Not saying it was her job to do this (as someone else has suggested, that should be a government/parental/whatever responsibility), but all the mention seems to be of the good work she has done in getting younger and younger women to go for smears, rather than what causes the need for smears. (Apologies if I have simply missed that other part of her work through inattention.)

23-03-2009, 05:07 AM
Yup, so would I.

Agree.

I am not going to say things like "my heart goes out to her" or "my thoughts are with her family", "RIP" etc because to be honest my heart doesn't go out, and I haven't been sparing any thoughts for her family! I don't mean that in a bad way, it's simply a fact. I don't know her, I don't know her family, and I don't know anyone that knows her.

I'm not disagreeing with things like it's heightened awareness of cervical cancer but this was just a consequence of her getting cancer in the first place, I'm not entirely sure how she can get credit for it?

Just my tuppence worth.

Jay
23-03-2009, 06:55 AM
Agree.

I am not going to say things like "my heart goes out to her" or "my thoughts are with her family", "RIP" etc because to be honest my heart doesn't go out, and I haven't been sparing any thoughts for her family! I don't mean that in a bad way, it's simply a fact. I don't know her, I don't know her family, and I don't know anyone that knows her.

I'm not disagreeing with things like it's heightened awareness of cervical cancer but this was just a consequence of her getting cancer in the first place, I'm not entirely sure how she can get credit for it?

Just my tuppence worth.

No problem and I see where you are coming from but why oh why do people feel the need to be disrespectful on a thread where people do wish to express their sympathies?? Why not read the thread title and decide its not for them and read another thread instead?? Why do they feel they have the right to throw in some smart comment?

Its better to say nothing than to say something disrespectful on a condolence thread - no?

23-03-2009, 07:16 AM
No problem and I see where you are coming from but why oh why do people feel the need to be disrespectful on a thread where people do wish to express their sympathies?? Why not read the thread title and decide its not for them and read another thread instead?? Why do they feel they have the right to throw in some smart comment?

Its better to say nothing than to say something disrespectful on a condolence thread - no?

23-03-2009, 07:25 AM

I think there are so many of these types of threads and newspaper 'tributes' these days that people have simply gotten tired of it. Every one is the same - my thoughts are with their family / my heart goes out / I'm thinking of them etc. Are people REALLY sitting thinking about these dead people and their families (whom they don't actually know), or are they just adding a token comment to a thread / tribute because they feel they should?

I mean if it's an ex-Hibs player or there is SOME link, fair enough...but sometimes it just seems that anyone who dies gets a long tribute thread.

Anyhow, I am ranting now!

23-03-2009, 08:14 AM
I wonder who the next tabloid obsession is going to be?

Jay
23-03-2009, 08:31 AM
I think there are so many of these types of threads and newspaper 'tributes' these days that people have simply gotten tired of it. Every one is the same - my thoughts are with their family / my heart goes out / I'm thinking of them etc. Are people REALLY sitting thinking about these dead people and their families (whom they don't actually know), or are they just adding a token comment to a thread / tribute because they feel they should?

I mean if it's an ex-Hibs player or there is SOME link, fair enough...but sometimes it just seems that anyone who dies gets a long tribute thread.

Anyhow, I am ranting now!

Yes you are :cool2:

Calvin
23-03-2009, 09:33 AM
Everyone is sorry that people die. 150,000 people die every day in the world. A lot of them will have had achieved much more in their lives and should be remembered for what they did. Are they? No, so why should someone who became famous for being stupid be?

Dieing of cancer must be terrible, and having watched it in my own family I know the effect it has. I feel sorry for those who know her, as I feel sorry for anyone who experiences a personal loss, but I'm not jumping on the the bandwagon of liking Jade which this definitely is.

No matter what you say, it is true that during the race row she was a figure of national detestment, one look at the papers at the time would confirm this. Personally I felt that the whole issue was blown out of all proportion. However at times of death, people are looked at more positively and I found it baffling to be honest. I would rather commemorate those that I know and genuinely like than get swallowed up by OK's issue selling regime of faux-sympathy.

I would never wish death on anyone, and I would never wish illness of any sort upon a person. I would never develop insincere emotions in my head either and while my sympathy is with her family, she's most certainly not a hero in death to me.

Jay
23-03-2009, 09:41 AM
Everyone is sorry that people die. 150,000 people die every day in the world. A lot of them will have had achieved much more in their lives and should be remembered for what they did. Are they? No, so why should someone who became famous for being stupid be?

Dieing of cancer must be terrible, and having watched it in my own family I know the effect it has. I feel sorry for those who know her, as I feel sorry for anyone who experiences a personal loss, but I'm not jumping on the the bandwagon of liking Jade which this definitely is.

No matter what you say, it is true that during the race row she was a figure of national detestment, one look at the papers at the time would confirm this. Personally I felt that the whole issue was blown out of all proportion. However at times of death, people are looked at more positively and I found it baffling to be honest. I would rather commemorate those that I know and genuinely like than get swallowed up by OK's issue selling regime of faux-sympathy.

I would never wish death on anyone, and I would never wish illness of any sort upon a person. I would never develop insincere emotions in my head either and while my sympathy is with her family, she's most certainly not a hero in death to me.

Nor to me - well no more a hero than any other young mum who has gone through this horrific disease. I dont think a condolence thread on this forum turns her into a hero of any sort or insinuates that any of us think of her in this way. She was in the public eye so her death will be in the news but I dont think many consider her a hero. Still very sad for a young mum to have died and left 2 very young boys. Also Jack,her husband, he is a 21 year old man who has just watched his wife wither away and suffer such pain, people forget how young he is to be going through such a thing too.I cant even imagine facing something like that at 21.

Calvin
23-03-2009, 09:48 AM
Nor to me - well no more a hero than any other young mum who has gone through this horrific disease. I dont think a condolence thread on this forum turns her into a hero of any sort or insinuates that any of us think of her in this way. She was in the public eye so her death will be in the news but I dont think many consider her a hero. Still very sad for a young mum to have died and left 2 very young boys. Also Jack,her husband, he is a 21 year old man who has just watched his wife wither away and suffer such pain, people forget how young he is to be going through such a thing too.I cant even imagine facing something like that at 21.

I wasn't referring directly to anyone on this board, more to the mass media.

And I concur, it's sad that anyone would have to go through that.

23-03-2009, 09:48 AM
Yes you are :cool2:

I think Steve-O has a point, though. Someone was talking about "mourning sickness" earlier on and I think he also had a good point with that.

I'm going to buy a couple of the OK souvenir editions, though.

23-03-2009, 09:50 AM

Spot on. this country's gone crazy since Diana-mania took hold of us.

:agree: I’ve said it before on here. I don’t understand why folk post RIPs for those they don’t know and aren’t really thinking about (just as Steve-O says) so I make sure I don’t post them myself.

Jay
23-03-2009, 09:52 AM
I wasn't referring directly to anyone on this board, more to the mass media.

And I concur, it's sad that anyone would have to go through that.

No I know. I think the media will turn her into something she was not, not the public. I am listening to Max Clifford on This Morning just now and he is already starting it. A young girl from Burmondsay (Shocking spelling) whose death was reported all over the world and how many young girls will have Jade to thank for saving their lives - I bet Jade would rather be here though.

They will turn her into a saint which in my opinion is disrespectful to the person Jade was. Jade was a character, a fighter but definitely no saint.

Jay
23-03-2009, 10:00 AM
I think Steve-O has a point, though. Someone was talking about "mourning sickness" earlier on and I think he also had a good point with that.

I'm going to buy a couple of the OK souvenir editions, though.

I agree (I was just having a laugh with my comment to Steve O) but is it the public or is it the media making money from it? I cant see the media coverage being because the powers that be feel they are providing a public service, they will be milking it for every penny they can get. Normally I would be judgemntal about that but given the fact that Jade milked the media dry with her story before dying I dont suppose it matters that much, she obviously wouldn't mind.

I think the media jumped on the bandwagon after Dianas funeral and will now turn anything inrto a circus. Does that mean we suffer from 'mourning sickness'? I think we suffer from media sickness, most people I know dont want the papers and magazines full of it for the next few weeks or to watch the funeral on the telly but it will happen.

23-03-2009, 10:02 AM

Yep, I find it all a bit of a worry to be honest.

Famous for being famous and we are all supposed to feel some empathy or loss for someone we don't know or care about.

Yes, it's a shame for the kids but kids lose parents each and every day so I feel no worse for them than all those others. Most will end up in far less of a comortable situation. I don't know why the loss of a parent means you have to be very rich?

It's society gone a bit mad and I don't really want to be a part of it all much in the same way I felt nothing but concern over the Diana situation!

23-03-2009, 10:04 AM
You start hectoring on here about "mawkish voyeuristic lunacy" and you call ME the Conscience Police?????

And really - do you have to choose an RIP thread to make your cheap points?

Aw get off the moral high ground. Its a forum isn't it? If someone is gonna forward this thread to her family then i will happily delete my posts.

Scarily enough now i have mentioned that someone will probably want to.

23-03-2009, 10:32 AM
Aw get off the moral high ground. Its a forum isn't it? If someone is gonna forward this thread to her family then i will happily delete my posts.

You never know - it might get copied and pasted into a book of condolence.

If someone lets me know I'll delete my posts as well.

Hibby D
23-03-2009, 11:45 AM
I think the media jumped on the bandwagon after Dianas funeral and will now turn anything inrto a circus. Does that mean we suffer from 'mourning sickness'? I think we suffer from media sickness, most people I know dont want the papers and magazines full of it for the next few weeks or to watch the funeral on the telly but it will happen.

:top marks:

It will suit people to believe that those of us who choose to wish her peace in death will be queuing up to get the first editions of all the newspapers and magazines - I certainly won't :no way:

You never know - it might get copied and pasted into a book of condolence.

If someone lets me know I'll delete my posts as well.

I can't recall any condolences thread on here being forwarded on to a deceased persons family (maybe one footballer thread aside) - so no need to be scared :wink:

23-03-2009, 11:47 AM
I can't recall any condolences thread on here being forwarded on to a deceased persons family (maybe one footballer thread aside) - so no need to be scared :wink:

I've not posted anything to be scared about.

I don't know of any passed on either (although there may well have been) there's a first time for everything though. :wink:

Arch Stanton
23-03-2009, 03:13 PM

This is indeed a chat forum and this is a RIP thread - if you think your ideas on reality shows and the state of our society are worth hijacking the thread for then I'm afraid I beg to differ.

In fact why don't you press the Caps Lock key before you type - it could only enhance the quality of your posts.

Tomsk
23-03-2009, 03:35 PM

The line is from Hamlet.

23-03-2009, 03:41 PM
The line is from Hamlet.

that'll be the All-Star Celebrity Charity version of Hamlet, then?

Who do you want killed next, viewers?

Press 1 for Hamlet

2 for Ophelia

3 for Rosencrantz

4 for Guildenstern

5 for Christopher Biggins

or press 0104 for Radio 4 and some sanity.

23-03-2009, 05:37 PM
This is indeed a chat forum and this is a RIP thread - if you think your ideas on reality shows and the state of our society are worth hijacking the thread for then I'm afraid I beg to differ.

In fact why don't you press the Caps Lock key before you type - it could only enhance the quality of your posts.

Its also a Jade Goody thread so I think it is wholly appropriate that someone can come on and discuss their views on public grieving as long as they are not being disrespectful.

Who is the RIP thread actually for? I don't see the point of everyone just typing RIP as if they personally know them or feel that their family is going to read it like a book of condolence.

LiverpoolHibs
23-03-2009, 08:03 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vpJuE9-nZMQ&feature=related

23-03-2009, 08:39 PM
Ok guys you've all had your say.

The OP started this thread to pass condolences to someone in the public eye who had died.

Whether we knew her or her family is irrelevant.

I'm closing this thread as some of the comments have been absolutely distasteful.

If you want to have a discussion about public mourning then fair enough but no more on here.