View Full Version : Google Street View

The doomed
19-03-2009, 10:11 PM
Launched in UK today - covering Edinburgh and 24 other cities. Its SUPERB!

http://maps.google.co.uk/maps?f=q&source=s_q&hl=en&geocode=&q=EH7+5QG&sll=55.96311,-3.165221&sspn=0.011098,0.027466&ie=UTF8&ll=55.964239,-3.166165&spn=0.010521,0.027466&t=h&z=15&iwloc=addr&layer=c&cbll=55.962127,-3.166695&panoid=9WW5Ivt2woIXhoao0kSK5A&cbp=12,79.73637407684803,,0,-16.374999999999993

aazza91
19-03-2009, 10:39 PM
I love it, just a bit dodgy. I have a primary school behind me and the kids are on their lunchtime break and you can see them all in the playground.
Plus i managed to spot someone i knew outside his house :thumbsup:

NYHibby
20-03-2009, 04:30 AM
When this first came out in America, there were a lot of stories about people being unhappy being pictured. I think there may have been law suits from people being shown picking up their newspaper in their underwear or passed out drunk on sidewalks, etc...

When where the Edinburgh pictures taken? I'm guessing late spring 2008

20-03-2009, 06:35 AM
Its pretty amazing. Go to St Johns Road and the bus stop at Blockbuster, you get a close up of all the people upstairs on the number 12 bus!!! No faces blurred as they should be.

Anyone else got something they spotted?

scott7_0(Prague)
20-03-2009, 08:35 AM
When this first came out in America, there were a lot of stories about people being unhappy being pictured. I think there may have been law suits from people being shown picking up their newspaper in their underwear or passed out drunk on sidewalks, etc...

When where the Edinburgh pictures taken? I'm guessing late spring 2008

Edinburgh trades, first two weeks in July, as my Brothers car is in my grans drive and that only happens when he goes on holiday!!!

The doomed
20-03-2009, 08:58 AM
Its pretty amazing. Go to St Johns Road and the bus stop at Blockbuster, you get a close up of all the people upstairs on the number 12 bus!!! No faces blurred as they should be.

My car in the supermarket car park!

TheBall'sRound
20-03-2009, 09:18 AM
Edinburgh trades, first two weeks in July, as my Brothers car is in my grans drive and that only happens when he goes on holiday!!!

This explains why my car wasn't outside my house! I was on my hollybobs - thought someone had take it for a joyride and left it later on in exactly the same position and condition as before... unlikely I admit... :greengrin

blaikie
20-03-2009, 09:43 AM

My bedroom window :grr::greengrin

20-03-2009, 10:22 AM
My wee cousin who was about 14 done the classic run down the street after the car sticking his fingers up at it. Going to look for his street now. :greengrin

Edit; I found him but it's got a pic of him before he starts the abuse. :LOL:

HibbyScott
20-03-2009, 11:12 AM
My wee cousin who was about 14 done the classic run down the street after the car sticking his fingers up at it. Going to look for his street now. :greengrin

Edit; I found him but it's got a pic of him before he starts the abuse. :LOL:

Firhill in Glasgow, if you go to the players entrance at the main (old) stand, theres a group of 4 or 5 wee neds sticking their fingers up at the car :greengrin

wpj
20-03-2009, 04:34 PM
posted this on the techy board but worth posting again

"Looking at the headlines of the Evening Standard here, apparantly it's being withdrawn as it shows someone getting arrested and another chap leaving a sex shop" :faf:

hibsboy90
20-03-2009, 04:45 PM
Firhill in Glasgow, if you go to the players entrance at the main (old) stand, theres a group of 4 or 5 wee neds sticking their fingers up at the car :greengrin

Can't see it myself? Link (http://maps.google.co.uk/maps?f=q&source=s_q&hl=en&geocode=&q=firhill+glasgow&sll=55.947638,-3.183331&sspn=0,359.945068&g=Parkside+Terrace,+Edinburgh,+City+of+Edinburgh+E H16,+United+Kingdom&ie=UTF8&ll=55.881101,-4.270356&spn=0,359.980688&t=h&z=16&layer=c&cbll=55.881011,-4.270296&panoid=uHCdXADe_hSnbAwBMH81QQ&cbp=12,109.02824151487128,,0,14.94999999999997)

20-03-2009, 05:51 PM
Can't see it myself? Link (http://maps.google.co.uk/maps?f=q&source=s_q&hl=en&geocode=&q=firhill+glasgow&sll=55.947638,-3.183331&sspn=0,359.945068&g=Parkside+Terrace,+Edinburgh,+City+of+Edinburgh+E H16,+United+Kingdom&ie=UTF8&ll=55.881101,-4.270356&spn=0,359.980688&t=h&z=16&layer=c&cbll=55.881011,-4.270296&panoid=uHCdXADe_hSnbAwBMH81QQ&cbp=12,109.02824151487128,,0,14.94999999999997)

Red top maybe? : dunno:

http://maps.google.co.uk/maps?f=q&source=s_q&hl=en&geocode=&q=firhill+glasgow&sll=55.947638,-3.183331&sspn=0,359.945068&g=Parkside+Terrace,+Edinburgh,+City+of+Edinburgh+E H16,+United+Kingdom&ie=UTF8&t=h&layer=c&cbll=55.880918,-4.270229&panoid=Fa8LcvG7rWGMokzDSLL06Q&cbp=12,40.97635472241826,,1,11.850943396226358&ll=55.881004,-4.270291&spn=0,359.977255&z=16

hibee
20-03-2009, 08:59 PM
Anyone know this guy then ?

Lothian Road (http://googlesightseeing.com/maps?p=&c=&t=h&hl=en&ll=55.945818,-3.205508&z=17&layer=c&cbll=55.945732,-3.205471&cbp=12,269.4324795137993,,1,16.108536519684406)

Aritch
21-03-2009, 11:21 AM
http://googlesightseeing.com/maps?p=&c=&t=h&hl=en&ll=55.945205,-3.194071&z=17&layer=c&cbll=55.945009,-3.194022&cbp=12,348.2651933701658,,0,7.983425414364638

21-03-2009, 04:04 PM
Anyone know this guy then ?

Lothian Road (http://googlesightseeing.com/maps?p=&c=&t=h&hl=en&ll=55.945818,-3.205508&z=17&layer=c&cbll=55.945732,-3.205471&cbp=12,269.4324795137993,,1,16.108536519684406)

21-03-2009, 04:08 PM
Does anyone else think this could be a great tool for a modern criminal?

It's certainly a bit ****ed up that's for sure.

21-03-2009, 04:23 PM

It's certainly a bit ****ed up that's for sure.

Not really.

It is ****ed up, but even if we had one of those famous "bans", there would still be phone cameras, scoping places out on foot etc etc. It doesn't show you anything that driving by the place doesn't show you, or that didnt exist already a couple of years ago.

Its probably only a matter of time before some newspaper or other latches on to it and tries to connect it tenuously to some crime or other.

21-03-2009, 04:25 PM
What sort of things have people looked at on this apart from usual stuff like ER, your house etc etc

I've just taken a wee trip down Compton (there's not many streets on there. :LOL: ), Las Vegas and the Bronx.

muz1875
21-03-2009, 04:36 PM

How? Name one way in which it could be used by a criminal?

21-03-2009, 04:48 PM
How? Name one way in which it could be used by a criminal?

It could be used by burglars maybe? Getting an idea of the surroundings.

I don't know I didn't really think about it too much as I'm not a criminal mastermind.

I'm sure that there are millions of techniques and tools that criminals use that wouldn't normally be thought of by Joe Bloggs. E.g people in jail who melt the end of a toothbrush to put a razorblade in it. Have you ever thought about that when brushing your teeth?

People will always find ways to make use of every available tool they have at their disposal if they want to achieve something.

It was just a question and chill the **** out.

muz1875
21-03-2009, 05:12 PM
It could be used by burglars maybe? Getting an idea of the surroundings.

I don't know I didn't really think about it too much as I'm not a criminal mastermind.

I'm sure that there are millions of techniques and tools that criminals use that wouldn't normally be thought of by Joe Bloggs. E.g people in jail who melt the end of a toothbrush to put a razorblade in it. Have you ever thought about that when brushing your teeth?

People will always find ways to make use of every available tool they have at their disposal if they want to achieve something.

It was just a question and chill the **** out.

I am chilled. Sun is shining and I'm heading out soon to get pished. My post wasn't meant as a dig towards you (I actually find your posts quite amusing btw) it's just I was subjected to Radio 2 yesterday morning where people were calling in and saying it was an invasion of people's privacy, dangerous etc, with no real evidence to back it up. I think it's brilliant and people should stop picking holes in it. As blacksaltire said, you can get far more info by driving past the place.

21-03-2009, 05:21 PM
I am chilled. Sun is shining and I'm heading out soon to get pished. My post wasn't meant as a dig towards you (I actually find your posts quite amusing btw) it's just I was subjected to Radio 2 yesterday morning where people were calling in and saying it was an invasion of people's privacy, dangerous etc, with no real evidence to back it up. I think it's brilliant and people should stop picking holes in it. As blacksaltire said, you can get far more info by driving past the place.

Sorry buddy. Bit on the defensive, split up wi the burd and hungover! :LOL: Still, I'm about to hit the boozer in about 20 mins which always makes things better. :greengrin

I think it's pretty cool. I'm sure there will be a few sites out there that have gone around and picked out a lot of great things to have a look at.

People shouldn't get too worked up about it. If this type of thing is now in the public domain, how many years have governments etc had the technology. I think some people are under the impression that they actually have some privacy left to defend. As for the car registration malarky, can you not just go out on the street and look at car registrations?! Oh, and you wouldn't want anyone looking at your face, I wonder if we should all walk around with blurred masks on. :faf: In fact, there's an idea for munters. :greengrin

Have a good night mate.

stevensons-fan
22-03-2009, 11:01 PM
Anyone know why you can't view the cramond area in the street view?

blaikie
22-03-2009, 11:12 PM
http://googlesightseeing.com/maps?p=5295&c=&t=h&hl=en&ll=51.514939,-0.228567&z=15&layer=c&cbll=51.514926,-0.228765&cbp=12,146.93929279045796,,1,-11.442465484477555 :greengrin

Calvin
23-03-2009, 06:49 AM
http://googlesightseeing.com/maps?p=5295&c=&t=h&hl=en&ll=51.514939,-0.228567&z=15&layer=c&cbll=51.514926,-0.228765&cbp=12,146.93929279045796,,1,-11.442465484477555 :greengrin
That's crazy! :thumbsup:

blaikie
23-03-2009, 06:13 PM
http://maps.google.co.uk/maps?f=q&source=s_q&hl=en&geocode=&q=Stadium+bar&sll=55.8398,-4.336527&sspn=0,359.977856&ie=UTF8&ll=55.854601,-4.304237&spn=0,359.911423&z=13&iwloc=A&layer=c&cbll=55.85452,-4.304347&panoid=W8ZTXQB4nWlV254Od0EF4g&cbp=12,269.2785828785818,,0,13.181818181818187

Some of Govans finest down at the stadium bar in Ibrox :faf:

Hanny
23-03-2009, 06:56 PM
Name and address please son..... (http://maps.google.co.uk/maps?f=q&source=s_q&hl=en&geocode=&q=hunter+square,+edinburgh&sll=55.85452,-4.304347&sspn=0,359.806023&ie=UTF8&ll=55.956408,-3.19612&spn=0,359.951506&z=15&iwloc=addr&layer=c&cbll=55.949635,-3.187806&panoid=9HcJacNOEUawhZThECCLYQ&cbp=12,342.9515804545906,,2,3.1051496084184005)

Austinho
23-03-2009, 09:22 PM
Topless Hun gentleman mouths off at a pregnant smackhead on the leafy Paisley Road West, Glasgow. (http://maps.google.com/maps?f=q&source=s_q&hl=en&geocode=&q=paisley+road+w&sll=55.866932,-4.444828&sspn=0.087268,0.20462&ie=UTF8&layer=c&cbll=55.852322,-4.288543&panoid=wsPXWGHBr0Q6uFXvC0iZUw&cbp=11,0.11206312307798345,,1,7.944630872483219&ll=55.852322,-4.288543&spn=0.002391,0.012789&z=17&iwloc=addr)

blaikie
23-03-2009, 10:30 PM
Topless Hun gentleman mouths off at a pregnant smackhead on the leafy Paisley Road West, Glasgow. (http://maps.google.com/maps?f=q&source=s_q&hl=en&geocode=&q=paisley+road+w&sll=55.866932,-4.444828&sspn=0.087268,0.20462&ie=UTF8&layer=c&cbll=55.852322,-4.288543&panoid=wsPXWGHBr0Q6uFXvC0iZUw&cbp=11,0.11206312307798345,,1,7.944630872483219&ll=55.852322,-4.288543&spn=0.002391,0.012789&z=17&iwloc=addr)
I work down that way next to the bbc building. Scary place at the weekend :greengrin

24-03-2009, 06:44 PM

thats a good spot :top marks

Brando7
25-03-2009, 09:12 AM
noone is safe :greengrin

http://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/scotsol/homepage/news/article2338939.ece

http://maps.google.co.uk/maps?f=q&source=s_q&hl=en&geocode=&q=49+Regent%E2%80%99s+Park+Road,+London&sll=55.967722,-3.152132&sspn=0,359.961548&g=EH7+5QG&ie=UTF8&ll=51.540423,-0.157542&spn=0.008768,0.019226&t=h&z=16&iwloc=addr&layer=c&cbll=51.540537,-0.157535&panoid=0rvvP-E9RJXMPPBgnt__GA&cbp=12,305.8156983147371,,1,14.306658704439515

25-03-2009, 04:58 PM
The Google car just drove into my street as I was putting stuff into my car so I should be on it whenever they get round to putting West Lothian on the map.

I drove past the car 10 minutes later too, so I might get 2 mentions :greengrin

25-03-2009, 06:14 PM
First to find someone with a Hibs top on (not the dummy in the Hibs shop) wins a prize (virtual).

25-03-2009, 06:51 PM
Whats going on ere then.

http://maps.google.co.uk/maps?f=q&source=s_q&hl=en&geocode=&q=edinburgh&sll=51.51578,-0.150504&sspn=0,357.561035&ie=UTF8&ll=55.971301,-3.173096&spn=0.002522,0.019054&z=16&iwloc=lyrftr:w2.92,0x4887c78fd238bc57:0x67588c6d3a a9e78c,55.95284,-3.191421&layer=c&cbll=55.971297,-3.173106&panoid=2tBhzFaH1vFXwnRCRozvmQ&cbp=11,219.62148891085718,,0,9.079391891891898

25-03-2009, 07:14 PM
Whats going on ere then.

http://maps.google.co.uk/maps?f=q&source=s_q&hl=en&geocode=&q=edinburgh&sll=51.51578,-0.150504&sspn=0,357.561035&ie=UTF8&ll=55.971301,-3.173096&spn=0.002522,0.019054&z=16&iwloc=lyrftr:w2.92,0x4887c78fd238bc57:0x67588c6d3a a9e78c,55.95284,-3.191421&layer=c&cbll=55.971297,-3.173106&panoid=2tBhzFaH1vFXwnRCRozvmQ&cbp=11,219.62148891085718,,0,9.079391891891898

Seeing some crackhead burd in the middle of the street for some reason made me think of the complete opposite. Miami beach here I come. :greengrin

Edit; There's no miami beach.

25-03-2009, 09:39 PM
The car with the mad camera on it came into my cul-de-sac this morning. If I had spotted it quicker my bare erse would have been filmed at the windae. :agree:

25-03-2009, 09:41 PM
The Google car just drove into my street as I was putting stuff into my car so I should be on it whenever they get round to putting West Lothian on the map.

I drove past the car 10 minutes later too, so I might get 2 mentions :greengrin
Did West Calder this morning. Its a mad looking car is it not. :agree:

scott7_0(Prague)
26-03-2009, 08:09 AM
Whats going on ere then.

Is that not a needle in the bints hand?

McSwanky
26-03-2009, 08:41 AM
First to find someone with a Hibs top on (not the dummy in the Hibs shop) wins a prize (virtual).

2005-2006 top here?

http://maps.google.co.uk/maps?f=q&source=s_q&hl=en&geocode=&q=EH7+5QG&sll=55.96311,-3.165221&sspn=0.011098,0.027466&ie=UTF8&t=h&layer=c&cbll=55.965395,-3.170228&panoid=hxGubZTJFcGghE9PtvR0og&cbp=12,267.43844168013726,,1,5.1001112347052215&ll=55.965296,-3.170242&spn=0.013667,0.038581&z=15&iwloc=addr

30-03-2009, 02:04 PM
The DR have said that this could have been a factor in Goodwins house being attacked. :LOL:

A security firm has reportedly said that could easily be used as a tool for burglars. :greengrin

Although as said above it wouldn't be long before someone attributed it to some kind of criminal offence and the security quote is probably made up. :LOL:

aazza91
31-03-2009, 06:17 AM
2005-2006 top here?

http://maps.google.co.uk/maps?f=q&source=s_q&hl=en&geocode=&q=EH7+5QG&sll=55.96311,-3.165221&sspn=0.011098,0.027466&ie=UTF8&t=h&layer=c&cbll=55.965395,-3.170228&panoid=hxGubZTJFcGghE9PtvR0og&cbp=12,267.43844168013726,,1,5.1001112347052215&ll=55.965296,-3.170242&spn=0.013667,0.038581&z=15&iwloc=addr

Afraid that looks really like a Adidas top :boo hoo:

Brando7
31-03-2009, 08:56 AM
Oh dear :greengrin

http://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/scotsol/homepage/news/article2350771.ece

Austinho
31-03-2009, 10:35 AM
First to find someone with a Hibs top on (not the dummy in the Hibs shop) wins a prize (virtual).What do I win? (http://maps.google.com/maps?hl=en&client=safari&ei=QPHRSZCqB5CsjAeO--jwBg&q=niddrie&ie=UTF8&ll=55.930284,-3.126479&spn=0,359.986299&t=h&z=17&layer=c&cbll=55.930356,-3.126613&panoid=F1EhzHZrYGJ9NMex_ygeQw&cbp=12,82.74695732581475,,1,10.217359770876755)

01-04-2009, 08:07 PM
What do I win? (http://maps.google.com/maps?hl=en&client=safari&ei=QPHRSZCqB5CsjAeO--jwBg&q=niddrie&ie=UTF8&ll=55.930284,-3.126479&spn=0,359.986299&t=h&z=17&layer=c&cbll=55.930356,-3.126613&panoid=F1EhzHZrYGJ9NMex_ygeQw&cbp=12,82.74695732581475,,1,10.217359770876755)

Sorry I meant the home top:greengrin

How long did that take you?

01-04-2009, 08:16 PM
What do I win? (http://maps.google.com/maps?hl=en&client=safari&ei=QPHRSZCqB5CsjAeO--jwBg&q=niddrie&ie=UTF8&ll=55.930284,-3.126479&spn=0,359.986299&t=h&z=17&layer=c&cbll=55.930356,-3.126613&panoid=F1EhzHZrYGJ9NMex_ygeQw&cbp=12,82.74695732581475,,1,10.217359770876755)

You win a virtual trolly dash round here
http://maps.google.com/maps?hl=en&client=safari&ei=QPHRSZCqB5CsjAeO--jwBg&q=niddrie&ie=UTF8&t=h&layer=c&cbll=55.941533,-3.102351&panoid=bkJDIBGIDB2s9sjvcx1dLg&cbp=12,32.121398388458616,,0,5&ll=55.94141,-3.102313&spn=0.000589,0.004785&z=18

Austinho
02-04-2009, 01:24 AM
Sorry I meant the home top:greengrin

How long did that take you?I'd already seen it before you posted your challenge.

Was searching for the roughest area of Edinburgh when I found her :greengrin