View Full Version : 12 Golfers needed

16-03-2009, 06:37 PM
Turnhouse have a good offer on for visitors.

They will give you a round of golf and feed you for only £27.00.

I'm not sure when this offer finishes, but I'll find out tomorrow and will post possible dates then.

Please indicate if you'd be interested in this and whether you could play on a weekend, a week day or either. Obviously, it's much more difficult to get times on a Saturday.

We are going for Friday 29 May.

Names of those interested so far;

Greenlex
Scott M
Superhibi1
Gordon Turnbull
TQM
Spamheid

16-03-2009, 06:44 PM
I would be up for that. Weekend would be dependant on my Club competitions but during the week would be ok as I would take time off work.

16-03-2009, 08:04 PM
I would be up for that. Weekend would be dependant on my Club competitions but during the week would be ok as I would take time off work.

Likewise. Midweek would be difficult for me coming from Dundee, although I finish Uni in 2 or 3 weeks.

I'm not sure how we are for competitions in the coming weeks GL - the Winter Cup and Opening Day Greensomes aren't far off, but I don't think there's a huge amount of competitions (not both days anyway) in the first few weeks of the season.

17-03-2009, 08:13 AM
Good news!

There is no end date for this offer so we can wait till the better weather...ahem.

£27pp is for one round of golf followed by a two course meal based on a minimum of 12 persons.

So far we have 3 names so if you want to bring a mate, let me know. Should it be over subscribed, though, hibs.net members get priority.

17-03-2009, 08:25 AM
I'll mention to my dad - he'd probably enjoy it too (although I will mention that its on the basis of not getting enough members from on here).

He leaves for Florida on Saturday for 2 weeks though, so it would depend on the date of the outing...

17-03-2009, 08:30 AM
Do you need to bring along proof of handicap?

17-03-2009, 10:45 AM
Do you need to bring along proof of handicap?

Good question.

I don't think so, but I'll check and get back to you.

17-03-2009, 11:17 AM
Got an answer and some more information already!

If they don't have official CONGU that's OK, as long as they have "office" handicaps or a reasonable playing ability/standard to get round the course in 3.5 hours/4 max, and they must be aware of the rules and the etiquette of the game.

If this helps: The times for outings midweek unless there is a comp on, are:

Mon: Between 9.30 - 11.30 & 2 pm - 4pm

Same for Tuesday

Wed not suitable re the Wed Flyers and Monthly Wed Medal

Thurs between 9.30 - 12.30 & 1.30 pm - 4pm

Fri 9.30 - 11.30 & 2 pm - 4 pm

Saturdays only after 3 pm, and on Sundays from 12 noon subject to availability but you will see yourself from the Fixtures Diary how busy Sundays are.

I'm thinking a Friday afternoon in May looks favourite...

17-03-2009, 11:24 AM
Good offer :agree:

Golf here is so expensive and as for the etiquette, well need I say more than "Germans and rules" :grr:

17-03-2009, 12:02 PM
I'm thinking a Friday afternoon in May looks favourite...

Sounds good to me, although mid-late May would be my preference, as I reckon I'll have exams up until around the 9th of May.

17-03-2009, 02:40 PM
Sounds good to me, although mid-late May would be my preference, as I reckon I'll have exams up until around the 9th of May.

That's fine with me. Let's get the numbers up first!

17-03-2009, 04:42 PM
Fridays are good for me. Finish up Friday mornings if I am nightshift and early and back are 6hr shots so If I am having the time off it's not to painful to pay back. :thumbsup: I will give the laddie a shout if we can't get the numbers.

17-03-2009, 05:18 PM
Good question.

I don't think so, but I'll check and get back to you.

Cool, well im up for it depending on defo dates, ill bring along proof of handicap just in case

17-03-2009, 06:24 PM

I'm not sure when this offer finishes, but I'll find out tomorrow and will post possible dates then.

Please indicate if you'd be interested in this and whether you could play on a weekend, a week day or either. Obviously, it's much more difficult to get times on a Saturday.

So is this no for members then :greengrin:wink:

17-03-2009, 07:43 PM
So is this no for members then :greengrin:wink:

I'll fit you in, and John if he wants, but we need paying guests to get the deal.

17-03-2009, 08:04 PM
:wink:Count me in :thumbsup: nowt like a hack round the airport course :wink:

Gaz
18-03-2009, 12:41 PM
I am a member at Turnhouse and its good to see our marketing dept are seeing there work coming through. We have made a lot of changes to the course in the last few years and the condition is getting better every year I am sure you will all enjoy it

malcolm
18-03-2009, 09:56 PM
Irie (lying in the jamaican sum smillie) ya mon I'm up for that.

19-03-2009, 10:28 AM
Irie (lying in the jamaican sum smillie) ya mon I'm up for that.

I'm sure you would be, but we need paying guests, not members! :wink:

19-03-2009, 02:26 PM
If towards the end of May then count me in.

19-03-2009, 02:30 PM

Names of those interested so far;

Greenlex
Scott M
Superhibi1

You no playing? :cool2: Or is it just commission yer after! :greengrin

Put me down - but date will be key, D!

20-03-2009, 06:37 AM
OK. I'm looking at the 29th of May for this, but it does depend on the numbers for the £27 deal.

I'll ask how much a round would be for maybe 6 people and let you know.

In the meantime, if you'd like to bring a mate along, let me know and I'll include them.

20-03-2009, 02:55 PM
Sounds good. I'll be up for it.

20-03-2009, 03:08 PM
29th May eh :hmmm: rings a bell.
You'll know my standard of gowf by then D :greengrin

I'll have a few things to do that day, then I'm off out for a meal at night.

/wheres the golfing smiley?

20-03-2009, 03:39 PM
29th May sounds good to me as long as you allow hackers along :greengrin

20-03-2009, 06:23 PM
29th May is good by me.

20-03-2009, 06:53 PM
I'm in. :thumbsup:Boss owes me big time. I am working before the game tomorrow and all day Sunday too. ****ing Depeche Mode!!!!

20-03-2009, 06:59 PM
Book the day off.

I'll work something out so we definitely get a game, one way or another.

21-03-2009, 12:20 PM
I've sent a PM to everyone who has expressed an interest.

If you haven't received it, let me know.

24-03-2009, 04:47 PM
More interest expressed from cocopops1875.

24-03-2009, 07:09 PM
Count me in Radge.

Friday would be OK with me :agree:

24-03-2009, 09:20 PM
Count me in Radge.

Friday would be OK with me :agree:

Good man!

12-04-2009, 07:41 AM
We're now playing in the morning of Friday 29 May.

Places still available.

If you're interested, send me a PM.

12-04-2009, 04:04 PM
29th May eh :hmmm: rings a bell.
You'll know my standard of gowf by then D :greengrin

I'll have a few things to do that day, then I'm off out for a meal at night.

/wheres the golfing smiley?You asked Sir ...4396

13-04-2009, 06:34 AM
Hope I can hit it as good as the smiley!!!!!!

13-04-2009, 09:24 AM
If you have a Paypal account, you can send me your deposit that way.

It's free when you use your PayPal balance or your bank account linked to your PayPal account.

There is a charge of 3.4% + £0.20 for debit or credit card payments so please add £0.54 if you're paying like that.

PM me if you'd like to use Paypal.

24-04-2009, 11:52 AM
We're now playing from 10.30 on the 29th.

PM me if interested.

29-04-2009, 09:38 AM
This is the up to date list of everyone who will be playing on the 29th of May. We hope to tee off at 10.30.

Please send me a PM if you'd like to join us.

Greenlex - £10 paid
Scott M - £10 paid
H18sry - £10 paid
Gordon Turnbull - £10 paid

Spamheid
HibbyScott
TQM
Davy Archibald

Members

Malcolm
Atticmonkey

01-05-2009, 09:01 AM
You have a PM D.

01-05-2009, 09:58 PM
Davy Archibald added.

02-05-2009, 05:28 AM
And paid for. Cheers matey. :thumbsup:

02-05-2009, 08:46 AM
Greenlex - £10 paid
Scott M - £10 paid
H18sry - £10 paid
Davy Archibald - £10 paid

Spamheid
HibbyScott
TQM

Members

Malcolm
Atticmonkey

If we can get one more, we can get the tyee booked and a meal for £27.00.

Anyone?

02-05-2009, 09:03 AM
Greenlex - £10 paid
Scott M - £10 paid
H18sry - £10 paid

Spamheid
HibbyScott
TQM

Members

Malcolm
Atticmonkey

If we can get one more, we can get the tyee booked and a meal for £27.00.

Anyone?

Would we not get better value playing as members guest's and putting 4 balls in the tube then having a bar lunch :hmmm:

02-05-2009, 11:17 AM
Would we not get better value playing as members guest's and putting 4 balls in the tube then having a bar lunch :hmmm:
You wont guarantee the tee times doing that. One more and and the tee will be booked.

How are the greens coming on Dave? or Dave? :greengrin

03-05-2009, 06:00 PM
You wont guarantee the tee times doing that. One more and and the tee will be booked.

How are the greens coming on Dave? or Dave? :greengrin

They are much better than when you played, but are still at least a month from being right.

Fingers crossed.

03-05-2009, 08:43 PM
They are much better than when you played, but are still at least a month from being right.

Fingers crossed.

A bit of growth this month with the rain expected this week and a bit of heat and they will be just Dandy for the 29th. :agree: :thumbsup:

03-05-2009, 09:44 PM
Updated list

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Greenlex - £10 paid
Scott M - £10 paid
H18sry - £10 paid
cocopops - £10 paid
Spamheid - £10 paid

HibbyScott
TQM
Crabit

Members

Malcolm
Atticmonkey

03-05-2009, 09:58 PM
Radge - I'm better withdrawing as work's gonna get in the way mate! :boo hoo:

Apologies for this.

G

05-05-2009, 11:30 AM
Greenlex - £10 paid
Scott M - £10 paid
H18sry - £10 paid
cocopops - £10 paid
Spamheid - £10 paid

HibbyScott
Crabit

Members

Malcolm
Atticmonkey

I spoke to the secretary today about our outing because I was getting a bit worried about tee times given that Turnhouse don't have a booking sheet.

We've agreed that we can get official outing status as long as there is at least 8 guests in a minimum total of 12, given that I already have 7 deposits, with 3 more on the list, that should be easily reached.

Although the total package comes to £27, the 2 course meal costs £11 and the guest green fee is £10.00 so it's only slightly dearer.

The benefit is that we'll have the tee booked and we won't have to queue and pay separately for grub. I think it's good value and saves any hassle.

It would be a shame if we had to wait a klong time for a game and/or we all got separated.

I hope that's ok with everyone.

I'll post this on the Golf Club Social Group too.

07-05-2009, 09:16 AM
Updated

Greenlex - £10 paid
Scott M - £10 paid
H18sry - £10 paid
cocopops - £10 paid
Spamheid - £10 paid
Houchy - £10 paid
Crabit - £10 paid

HibbyScott

Have you seen my post about a golf weekend on the Golf Club Social Group?

HibbyScott
07-05-2009, 01:37 PM
Updated

Greenlex - £10 paid
Scott M - £10 paid
H18sry - £10 paid
cocopops - £10 paid
Spamheid - £10 paid
Houchy - £10 paid
Crabit - £10 paid

HibbyScott

Have you seen my post about a golf weekend on the Golf Club Social Group?

I'm out in a group with you at Harburn on Saturday, so will be able to give you my deposit then :thumbsup:

09-05-2009, 09:30 AM
My brother in law has had to withdraw so we are down to 13 now That's not a problem, but spaces still available.

Greenlex - £10 paid
Scott M - £10 paid
H18sry - £10 paid
cocopops - £10 paid
Spamheid - £10 paid
Houchy - £10 paid
HibbyScott - £10 paid

Members

Malcolm
Broxi
Atticmonkey

09-05-2009, 07:33 PM
Radge,

I spoke with my brother today and he'd be keen to play. The only problem is that he stays in Gilmerton and does not drive so he would be reliant on a lift and i ain't coming in West Lothian to his gaff and then out to turnhouse again :greengrin

Is there any space and if so, is there anyone who could give him a lift?

If there are 2 spaces then his mate could also go and he drives......

10-05-2009, 11:32 AM
Radge,

I spoke with my brother today and he'd be keen to play. The only problem is that he stays in Gilmerton and does not drive so he would be reliant on a lift and i ain't coming in West Lothian to his gaff and then out to turnhouse again :greengrin

Is there any space and if so, is there anyone who could give him a lift?

If there are 2 spaces then his mate could also go and he drives......

Yes, there are still spaces so both of them can play.

I definitely need non-refundable deposits though as I have to order the catering in advance.

Can you Paypal £20 to me?

10-05-2009, 11:44 AM
Yes, there are still spaces so both of them can play.

I definitely need non-refundable deposits though as I have to order the catering in advance.

Can you Paypal £20 to me?

Are we going for the £27 option?

11-05-2009, 08:26 AM
Are we going for the £27 option?

Are you winding me up?

I posted the info here (http://www.hibs.net/message/showpost.php?p=2024587&postcount=49) and here (http://www.hibs.net/message/group.php?do=discuss&group=&discussionid=157) and I sent out a PM.

12-05-2009, 04:39 PM
Are you winding me up?

I posted the info here (http://www.hibs.net/message/showpost.php?p=2024587&postcount=49) and here (http://www.hibs.net/message/group.php?do=discuss&group=&discussionid=157) and I sent out a PM.

I'm a busy man Radge - just making sure the goalposts haven't moved!

12-05-2009, 04:40 PM
BTW - What time do you anticiapte teeing off?

Both me and my brother have a night out to get to so need to be done for 5pm.

12-05-2009, 09:26 PM
BTW - What time do you anticiapte teeing off?

Both me and my brother have a night out to get to so need to be done for 5pm.

First tee is at 10.30.

We should all be in the clubhouse before 3.00.

If you want your brother and mate to play, I need £20 deposit.

See the letter from the club in your PMs.

13-05-2009, 06:57 AM
First tee is at 10.30.

We should all be in the clubhouse before 3.00.

If you want your brother and mate to play, I need £20 deposit.

See the letter from the club in your PMs.

I'll see him this afternoon so you'll have your £20 tonight or not at all dependent on whether he goes or not.

13-05-2009, 10:23 AM
I'll see him this afternoon so you'll have your £20 tonight or not at all dependent on whether he goes or not.

Perfect.

I'll make the draw tomorrow.

24-05-2009, 05:52 PM
Final update.

Greenlex - £10 paid
Scott M - £10 paid
H18sry - £10 paid
cocopops - £10 paid
Spamheid - £10 paid
Houchy - £10 paid
HibbyScott - £10 paid

Spam's Bro
Spam's Bro's mate

Members

Malcolm
Broxi
Atticmonkey

25-05-2009, 07:28 AM
Hi Folks

I've done the draw for Friday, see below. The first name in each group knows the course and will be able to guide you round, if needed.

Please try to get to the course by 10.00.

There are changing facilities and showers if you require them.

Unless anyone has objections, I think we should play a stableford, which will allow us to pick up if/when we have a nighmare hole.

I'm thinking nearest the hole at 11, longest drive at 18 and prizes for first, second and third, but I'm open to other suggestions.

Can I suggest £3.00 each for the prizes? That will make it a straight £20 balance left to pay.

Last, but not least, I'm not taking the car. :wink:

See you Friday.

Dave

Atticmonkey (John)
Houchy (Lawrence)
HibbyScott

H18sry (Ronnie)
Alan Farmer
Wattie

BroxburnHibee (Dave)
Spamheid (Dave)
Greenlex (Alex)

Hibbyradge (Dave)
Scott M
Cocopops

Malcolm
Gordon Turnbull
Davy Archibald

26-05-2009, 06:47 AM
http://www.metoffice.gov.uk/weather/uk/dg/edinburgh_forecast_weather.html

26-05-2009, 07:07 AM
I will need to join cocopops in the shorts stakes then :greengrin

26-05-2009, 11:40 AM
I'm gutted I can join ye all! :boo hoo: I hope you've a GREAT day, lads! :thumbsup:

27-05-2009, 08:52 PM
Get there for 10.00 please guys.

Gaz
28-05-2009, 09:15 AM
enjoy yourself guys our club championship qualifying is this weekend so the course should be in good nick

28-05-2009, 10:06 AM
Quick problem/question for tomorrow:

I've agreed to bring Lawrence (Houchy) through from Bathgate in the morning, as I'm leaving from there anyway.

My intention upon finishing was to nip straight onto the bridge and back up to Dundee - I wasn't thinking that this would leave Lawrence stuck at Turnhouse.

Anyone from the West Lothian area, who is travelling through able to take him back to Bathgate??

28-05-2009, 11:33 AM
Well I hope I play better than this morning..........that was embarassing!!!!!

HibbyScott
28-05-2009, 12:14 PM

I've agreed to bring Lawrence (Houchy) through from Bathgate in the morning, as I'm leaving from there anyway.

My intention upon finishing was to nip straight onto the bridge and back up to Dundee - I wasn't thinking that this would leave Lawrence stuck at Turnhouse.

Anyone from the West Lothian area, who is travelling through able to take him back to Bathgate??

I'll be able to take him back Scott, should be able to fit 2 sets of clubs in my car

28-05-2009, 12:42 PM
I'll be able to take him back Scott, should be able to fit 2 sets of clubs in my car

Cheers matey! :thumbsup:

28-05-2009, 03:54 PM

Cheers matey! :thumbsup:

Thanks guys:agree::thumbsup:

28-05-2009, 05:10 PM

Would said vehicle be travelling to Turnhouse via M8 or A89

28-05-2009, 10:54 PM

Would said vehicle be travelling to Turnhouse via M8 or A89

M8 most likely - I'd offer to gather you en route, but my car is wee and pokey, and only able to hold 2 sets of clubs and 2 bods.

Sorry bud :boo hoo:

I hope I play as well tomorrow as I did tonight - had a matchplay tie at Harburn and ended up winning 7&5! Shot a scratch 82 (net 65).

29-05-2009, 06:32 AM
What a horrible day to play golf :dummytit:

29-05-2009, 07:14 AM
What a horrible day to play golf :dummytit:

Aye its much better when there's horizontal sleet & rain & wind & snow.

For some of you anyway :tee hee:

29-05-2009, 07:28 AM

29-05-2009, 07:38 AM

ANYDAY is a good day ya wooooooose :greengrin

29-05-2009, 11:57 AM
M8 most likely - I'd offer to gather you en route, but my car is wee and pokey, and only able to hold 2 sets of clubs and 2 bods.

Sorry bud :boo hoo:

I hope I play as well tomorrow as I did tonight - had a matchplay tie at Harburn and ended up winning 7&5! Shot a scratch 82 (net 65).

Bandit alert .. :agree:

29-05-2009, 02:59 PM
I sincerely hope Spamheid and Lexo had plenty sunscreen slapped on their nappers! :cool2:

You got a beautiful day for it guys! I enjoyed work though .. honest!

29-05-2009, 04:30 PM
I sincerely hope Spamheid and Lexo had plenty sunscreen slapped on their nappers! :cool2:You got a beautiful day for it guys! I enjoyed work though .. honest!

Aye they did but you should see Scott-M's coupon the original beetroot man :greengrin

29-05-2009, 05:10 PM
Aye they did but you should see Scott-M's coupon the original beetroot man :greengrin

I could swear I wasn't wearing glasses, but my face suggests otherwise...

You can certainly tell which arm I wear my glove on too!

Ouch!!!

Cheers for today guys - great company, great course, great banter afterwards and the wee money pot made the day that wee bit nicer - very unexpected as I played absolutely pish at times.

Looking forward to the next outing!

29-05-2009, 05:14 PM

Ouch!!!

Cheers for today guys - great company, great course, great banter afterwards and the wee money pot made the day that wee bit nicer - very unexpected as I played absolutely pish at times.

Looking forward to the next outing!

Well start arranging it then :duck:

29-05-2009, 05:33 PM
Well start arranging it then :duck:

Fine then! :rolleyes:

29-05-2009, 09:58 PM

Ouch!!!

Looking forward to the next outing! bandit mask:cb no bandit smiley so have a cowboy:thumbsup:

29-05-2009, 10:01 PM
any yeah cracking day good laughs and a very very attractive waitress :drool:cheers to all involved and good efforts by the radge :thumbsup:

30-05-2009, 09:08 AM
How did you get on in your tie?

30-05-2009, 09:54 AM
Also big thanks from me to all. A great day although my broo is pretty much beetrooted out!!!!

Hey, and I won 2 quid as well!!!!!:greengrin

30-05-2009, 09:56 AM
As promised, my red has now turned to a nice shade of brown :thumbsup:

Off to the beach at St Andrews today for a picnic, followed by dinner and the theatre this evening. Need a day off from all this golfing!

I propose another outing at the end of June/beginning of July :thumbsup:

30-05-2009, 10:07 AM
As promised, my red has now turned to a nice shade of brown :thumbsup:

Off to the beach at St Andrews today for a picnic, followed by dinner and the theatre this evening. Need a day off from all this golfing!

I propose another outing at the end of June/beginning of July :thumbsup:

I'm up for that, no footie on either so why not give a Saturday a go, more able to attend without taking time of work. :agree:

30-05-2009, 11:06 AM
I'm up for that, no footie on either so why not give a Saturday a go, more able to attend without taking time of work. :agree:

No worries, although as you'll no doubt be aware, most clubs charge extra on the weekends, on account of member preference (understandably so).

I'll look into a few courses, including Drumoig again - it was in awesome condition last week and is usually cheap enough, on account of a lack of members!

30-05-2009, 11:20 AM
Wee tad more expensive than Turnhouse was, but Drumoig looks alright actually...

Round of golf £25 (Saturday rates), 2 course meal £10 = £35

Option to hire buggy (which is probably the best way to play Drumoig, as it's a long haul!) - £7.50 each.

Do it on a Friday again, and it'll work out cheaper obviously, but it would be dependant on availability I guess:

Round of golf £15 + £10 (2 course meal) = £25, plus a few bob for prize money again.

Thoughts?

30-05-2009, 12:40 PM
How did you get on in your tie?

beaten 4 and 3 he was putting well paring most holes so even the 5 strokes i had were very little help not to worry less scheduling issues and can get tanked after our net outing:greengrin

30-05-2009, 09:20 PM
Brilliant day guys - even though I played completely Nade :greengrin

Scott if your outing is end of June/beginning of July I'll not make it sorry.

I'll be lazing about in Ibiza by then.:wink:

BTW......played a medal today.....put my second card in for my handicap.

Score...............81 :bitchy: Stableford - 43 points.

I should play with a stonking hangover all the time.

Lets keep them going guys - superb :thumbsup:

30-05-2009, 10:50 PM
Wee tad more expensive than Turnhouse was, but Drumoig looks alright actually...

Round of golf £25 (Saturday rates), 2 course meal £10 = £35

Option to hire buggy (which is probably the best way to play Drumoig, as it's a long haul!) - £7.50 each.

Do it on a Friday again, and it'll work out cheaper obviously, but it would be dependant on availability I guess:

Round of golf £15 + £10 (2 course meal) = £25, plus a few bob for prize money again.

Thoughts?

Count me in anyday suits :thumbsup:

31-05-2009, 11:38 AM
I'd prefer a Friday, but I'll play anytime.

31-05-2009, 11:41 AM
Seeing as it's a separate outing, I'll start a second thread if nobody minds. I'll pop something in the social club as well.

malcolm
31-05-2009, 02:42 PM
I'd be up for another outing and should be flexible enough fit anything in with the majority.

If its a course thats more of a hike than Turnhouse then a buggy would be an essential :agree:

I enjoyed Friday - golf is a great game when you are at the start a upward spiral of improvement :greengrin

31-05-2009, 07:27 PM
I'd be up for another outing and should be flexible enough fit anything in with the majority.

If its a course thats more of a hike than Turnhouse then a buggy would be an essential :agree:

I enjoyed Friday - golf is a great game when you are at the start a upward spiral of improvement :greengrin

That's the spirit! :thumbsup: