View Full Version : Glass half full or empty (Drink thread)
With all these drink laws being applied by the government..2 for one offers being banned etc coupled by rising prices ..has it changed your view of drinking alcohol ..?...do you go for the offers..the cheaper brands or stick to the premium beers/lagers/spirits..?
Have imported beers/lagers changed your drinking experience or are you a homer & stick to your "local" brand ..?
Any old favourites that are no longer available you would love to sample again or any disgusting (i can think of many) that you are glad to see the back of ...
My own favourite is the heavily (chemicalised) Tennents lager & worse prob Mcewans lager closely followed Carlsberg lager..
Worse imported lager would prob be Carling Black label, Englands No1 & unfortunately a popular lager amongst scots ..
Ales ..many with Caledonian 80' & IPA up there wi the best...
Discuss..
Cannae believe the amount o tee-totallers on here ..:party:
With all these drink laws being applied by the government..2 for one offers being banned etc coupled by rising prices ..has it changed your view of drinking alcohol ..?...do you go for the offers..the cheaper brands or stick to the premium beers/lagers/spirits..?
Have imported beers/lagers changed your drinking experience or are you a homer & stick to your "local" brand ..?
Any old favourites that are no longer available you would love to sample again or any disgusting (i can think of many) that you are glad to see the back of ...
My own favourite is the heavily (chemicalised) Tennents lager & worse prob Mcewans lager closely followed Carlsberg lager..
Worse imported lager would prob be Carling Black label, Englands No1 & unfortunately a popular lager amongst scots ..
Ales ..many with Caledonian 80' & IPA up there wi the best...
Discuss..
When it comes to drink I reckon you're only cheating yourself if you start downgrading because of price. If you do that you will lose something...usually the quality.
I like supporting local when it comes to buying beer but I have to draw the line at local lager. Tennents is just a glass full of E numbers and I haven't seen McEwans lager for years. If I'm in a pub I will opt for the council lager on offer...usually Miller or Fosters due to the franchises. If I'm having a sesh the stronger varieties aren't an option because I'm wasted after a few!
When it comes to beers I always like to buy the local brand wether in the supermarket or in the pub. A pint of Caley or IPA not only tastes great but you think you're doing your bit to help the local economy.
As for beers being brought back....Coors on tap....not this "coors light" in bottles. Also, WTF happened to tartan special?
I'm more of a wine drinker nowadays but whenever I'm allowed out I like to sample different beers I used to shy away from for whatever reason.
When it comes to drink I reckon you're only cheating yourself if you start downgrading because of price. If you do that you will lose something...usually the quality.
I like supporting local when it comes to buying beer but I have to draw the line at local lager. Tennents is just a glass full of E numbers and I haven't seen McEwans lager for years. If I'm in a pub I will opt for the council lager on offer...usually Miller or Fosters due to the franchises. If I'm having a sesh the stronger varieties aren't an option because I'm wasted after a few!
When it comes to beers I always like to buy the local brand wether in the supermarket or in the pub. A pint of Caley or IPA not only tastes great but you think you're doing your bit to help the local economy.
As for beers being brought back....Coors on tap....not this "coors light" in bottles. Also, WTF happened to tartan special?
I'm more of a wine drinker nowadays but whenever I'm allowed out I like to sample different beers I used to shy away from for whatever reason.Excellent Peter ..your tastes are not too different from mine ..i do have the occassional vodka (which i despised at one time)..& ive started drinking whisky because as you mentioned E numbers etc in the lager ..
Excellent Peter ..your tastes are not too different from mine ..i do have the occassional vodka (which i despised at one time)..& ive started drinking whisky because as you mentioned E numbers etc in the lager ..
Whisky is something I can't really do because I turn introverted and aggressive when I drink lots of it. I don't know wether it's a mental thing or something in it that genuinely does that to me. I've heard it happens to other people as well.
however, as a one-off thing, a great whisky genuinly does hit the spot.
I remember being in my old local and speaking to a guy about whisky and how I didn't really understand what all the fuss was about and the differences between certain types. He put his hand in his pocket and ordedred up a nip of Scottish leader and a nip of laphriog and told me to down the cheap one first and then the more expensive brand. Even since then I've understood what whisky is all about.
I don't get out much to pubs randomly nowadays because I can only drink in "controlled environments" but they all serve the same stuff. You go into different places but the same selection of beers are on offer. It's as if you have the coice of either a macdonalds or burger king style menu no matter where you go.
I remember when I started going into pubs there was a selection of guest ales in nearly every pub I went into. Big business has killed the pub trade just as much as the smoking ban.
Whisky is something I can't really do because I turn introverted and aggressive when I drink lots of it. I don't know wether it's a mental thing or something in it that genuinely does that to me. I've heard it happens to other people as well.
however, as a one-off thing, a great whisky genuinly does hit the spot.
I remember being in my old local and speaking to a guy about whisky and how I didn't really understand what all the fuss was about and the differences between certain types. He put his hand in his pocket and ordedred up a nip of Scottish leader and a nip of laphriog and told me to down the cheap one first and then the more expensive brand. Even since then I've understood what whisky is all about.
I don't get out much to pubs randomly nowadays because I can only drink in "controlled environments" but they all serve the same stuff. You go into different places but the same selection of beers are on offer. It's as if you have the coice of either a macdonalds or burger king style menu no matter where you go.
I remember when I started going into pubs there was a selection of guest ales in nearly every pub I went into. Big business has killed the pub trade just as much as the smoking ban.Whisky made me boak ..put a malt or a blended under my nose & i couldnt tell the difference ..i do love the fact that some folk can actually tell a where whisky was distilled by taste alone ...ive tried it but sorry i cant taste no lemon tones in my nip ...:greengrin
Lager ..im a loyal man ..i loved Tennents lager before it became overly E numbered or chemicalised ..Heriot brewery due to fantastic spring wells gave it that distinctive taste ...all is sadly lost to Glasgow now ..
Carling ..well ..very similar to Tennents but it is in actual fact Canadian ..imported & brewed down south since 1953....in fact the mash was so akin to Tennents that in days of high production it was shipped up here & sold as Tennents lager ...as recent as late 90's ..
Whisky made me boak ..put a malt or a blended under my nose & i couldnt tell the difference ..i do love the fact that some folk can actually tell a where whisky was distilled by taste alone ...ive tried it but sorry i cant taste no lemon tones in my nip ...:greengrin
Lager ..im a loyal man ..i loved Tennents lager before it became overly E numbered or chemicalised ..Heriot brewery due to fantastic spring wells gave it that distinctive taste ...all is sadly lost to Glasgow now ..
Carling ..well ..very similar to Tennents but it is in actual fact Canadian ..imported & brewed down south since 1953....in fact the mash was so akin to Tennents that in days of high production it was shipped up here & sold as Tennents lager ...as recent as late 90's ..
You might just have solved a very old issue.
When I first drinking in pubs in the early nineties the lager was of choice tennents every time but it seemed to taste slightly different depending on the pub.
We weren't going mad after all.:greengrin
15-03-2009, 07:17 AM
Tartan Special is still around, it's just mostly in social clubs where the clientele tends to be a bit older.
McEwans Lager is being touted as making a comback soon, but with a lower ABV. It was always rotten anyway, so I can't see that making much difference :dizzy:
When I first drinking in pubs in the early nineties the lager was of choice tennents every time but it seemed to taste slightly different depending on the pub
It probably had as much to do with how the beer lines were looked after and how often they got cleaned as much as anything else.
Tartan Special is still around, it's just mostly in social clubs where the clientele tends to be a bit older.
McEwans Lager is being touted as making a comback soon, but with a lower ABV. It was always rotten anyway, so I can't see that making much difference :dizzy:
It probably had as much to do with how the beer lines were looked after and how often they got cleaned as much as anything else.It was actually true Shugster...i played a major part in removing the product from pubs ...
I worked on the fork-lifts occassionally in the trunking section at Tennents (South gyle)...i was tipping barrells of "Tennents" lager which had arrived from Tadcaster ....why Tadcaster ..?...Tennents lager is brewed in Wellpark brewery Glasgow ...
Seemingly when kegging was maxed out at the Wellpark they switched production of Tennents lager barrells (36g) to Tadcaster ...Reps assured us it was genuine Tennents ...
Then the problems ...
Swanneys bar (Ratcliffe Terrace)..some punters could clearly distinguish a different taste from the kegged (11g) & the barrell (36g)...barrels were repeatedly switched but the difference remained ..
The Right Wing (Willowbrae) punters were exactly the same ..
The Artizan bar followed as did the Jewel miners..Wallyford miners ..Easthouses miners & practically any barrel shop we delivered..
The reps then admitted the kegging problem & said only one batch poss 1000 barrels were indeed brewed in Tadcaster but it was Tennents products using English water..however they argued it was very similar to our own brand ..
Our depot managers sent out crews (myself included) to remove every 36g barrels from the said outlets with immediate effect ..those were replaced with 11g (kegs)....
Funny now though after all that Carling is widely sold in most of those outlets now ...i wonder if the punter eventually got used to the taste...
15-03-2009, 10:01 AM
I always buy Tennents for a carry out because it's okay and is generally on the cheapest deals. I have noticed that over the last few months the deals have been on the wain a bit anyway. £10 for 15 cans on Friday. :grr:
Personally, increasing the minumum price of crate of 24 cans won't stop me buying 24 cans. It'll just mean I can buy a better quality lager at the same price. Might actually help me enjoy my cans more!
I occasionally buy a 70cl of vodka and 12 cans to mix it up a bit but it depends how I feel.