this was a huge disapointment.

too many un-needed story lines.

and whats this all about...

http://media.comicvine.com/uploads/0/40/712604-watchmen_man6_super.jpg

why does he need to have his big blue bonk out???? :confused:

13-03-2009, 08:25 AM
You've not seen "Legally Blonde 2" then, I assume?? :jamboak:

That said, I've not heard good things about "Watchmen", and does it really last THREE hours??

Eff that for a game of soldiers!!

13-03-2009, 09:19 AM
You've not seen "Legally Blonde 2" then, I assume?? :jamboak:

That said, I've not heard good things about "Watchmen", and does it really last THREE hours??

Eff that for a game of soldiers!!

Watchmen makes legally blonde 2 look like Gladiator... in a twisted kind of way :rolleyes:

yeh, its about 2hours 50mins i think.

there was just far to much crammed in!

you had the night watcher owl who was a poor mans batman who flew about in an owl shaped spaceship...... plus he couldn't 'get it up' unless he had his owl suit on.... trust me, if you had the women jump on you like he did in the film, you'd get it up, owl suit or not!!! :wink:

not enough fight scenes in it.... mostly just crap chat!

so disapointing.

was expecting a sin city type of film!

Expecting Rain
13-03-2009, 10:45 AM
Also the worst cover of "Desolation Row" ever on the soundtrack.:grr:

Flynn
13-03-2009, 02:34 PM
Thought it was brilliant myself. 2 Hours and 42 minutes of a great story and it is so refreshing for a writer/director to make a film that isn't the usual dumbed-down Hollywood crap for the lowest common denominator audience.

This film will be considered a cult classic and almost a masterpiece in the years to come. I went with 10 people to the cinema and only 1 person didn't like the movie.

Recommended for people who like to use their brain while watching a film. My only criticism is that the director used far too many slow motion shots but it did not detract from my enjoyment of the movie.

Can't wait for the extended edition on DVD.

Watchmen - Amazing Graphic novel, great movie. :thumbsup:

13-03-2009, 02:52 PM
Thought it was brilliant myself. 2 Hours and 42 minutes of a great story and it is so refreshing for a writer/director to make a film that isn't the usual dumbed-down Hollywood crap for the lowest common denominator audience.

This film will be considered a cult classic and almost a masterpiece in the years to come. I went with 10 people to the cinema and only 1 person didn't like the movie.

Recommended for people who like to use their brain while watching a film. My only criticism is that the director used far too many slow motion shots but it did not detract from my enjoyment of the movie.

Can't wait for the extended edition on DVD.

Watchmen - Amazing Graphic novel, great movie. :thumbsup:

:faf::faf::faf:

rrrrriiiiiggggghhhhhtttttt!!

i totally got the story lines.... they were just crap!

i am a great fan of films with twists in its storyline as i like to be kept on my toes about whats happening next.... however watchmen was gash!!

Flynn
13-03-2009, 03:24 PM
Each to their own m8. The trailers for Wolverine, Terminator Salvation and Star Trek before the film may be more your cup of tea. I am looking forward to these summer blockbusters very much.

Watchmen is a deeper film than most traditional superhero movies combined and far more complex. It is more of a mystery thriller with superheroes in it.

I wish Hollywood would take more chances and make movies like this. There are so many books aching to made into movies and yet we are subjected to loads of pointless remakes (some are good to be fair but majority are rubbish IMO)and pish sequels to movies that were terrible to begin with.

Watchmen rules!

13-03-2009, 07:17 PM
Each to their own m8. The trailers for Wolverine, Terminator Salvation and Star Trek before the film may be more your cup of tea. I am looking forward to these summer blockbusters very much.

Watchmen is a deeper film than most traditional superhero movies combined and far more complex. It is more of a mystery thriller with superheroes in it.

I wish Hollywood would take more chances and make movies like this. There are so many books aching to made into movies and yet we are subjected to loads of pointless remakes (some are good to be fair but majority are rubbish IMO)and pish sequels to movies that were terrible to begin with.

Watchmen rules!

Haven't seen it - YET. But I intend to.

The book is a masterpiece.

Definitely NOT a 'comic book', wouldn't you say? :wink:

And 2 hours 50 minutes is shorter than "Seven Samurai" or "Apocalypse Now Redux" IIRC.

13-03-2009, 08:48 PM
I haven't seen it, but a guy at my work went the other night and his thoughts on it were almost word for word what Richie said.

15-03-2009, 01:46 PM
Im sure there will be plenty of people who agree with Ritchie's views but basically if you've read the graphic novel you're almost guaranteed to like the film. Zack Snyder has done a pretty great job IMHO.

I'm in Flynn's camp here, thought the film was fantastic and can't wait for the extended version.

15-03-2009, 08:58 PM
I must admit, I read the original post and my heart sunk slightly, as I've had a few folks telling me it's not that great - I'm personally not a fan of "graphic novels" or "comic book" adaptations (especially after the last one which I went to see, The Spirit, which was bloody appalling, save for Eva Mendes :wink:), but my other half is a literature/film studies PhD student, who has taken a recent interest in the roles of graphic novels and wants to see it.

Thankfully, we have the Cineworld passes, so I'm not paying specifically to see it. Thanks to the others who've posted and given me a slight modicum of hope!

15-03-2009, 09:43 PM
Totallt brilliant film :agree:

Was a bit miffed at the start of the film but soon picked up what it's all about :thumbsup:

Rorschach is without doubt one cool dude...and Silk Spectre is one hot hot mamacita :agree::agree:

It's quite a long film with a clever storyline but it's very well done

18-03-2009, 11:26 AM
I must admit, I read the original post and my heart sunk slightly, as I've had a few folks telling me it's not that great - I'm personally not a fan of "graphic novels" or "comic book" adaptations (especially after the last one which I went to see, The Spirit, which was bloody appalling, save for Eva Mendes :wink:), but my other half is a literature/film studies PhD student, who has taken a recent interest in the roles of graphic novels and wants to see it.

Thankfully, we have the Cineworld passes, so I'm not paying specifically to see it. Thanks to the others who've posted and given me a slight modicum of hope!

Aye, but remember "Sin City" - totally brilliant.

And remember "No Country For Old Men" - if you'd paid attention to some of the audience reactions on IMDb and suchlike, you'd never have gone to see it.

"Watchmen" was never going to be another Spiderman flick - but I think a lot of the early audiences went expecting one.

I have a source whose taste and judgement I trust, and he's seen it and going back to see it again. So I'm going with an open mind.

The graphic novel, btw, is a genuine masterpiece.

Grizz
18-03-2009, 10:09 PM
I think Snyder did really well with the cinematic cut. Even at 2hrs 45m it was quite obviously condensed from the original GN. The new ending is more plausible too I felt (although awfy rushed after a good build up).

Given his uncut version is about 4 hours (?), I think I'll reserve judgement til I see what he did with the rest of the book and if they stitch in the Black Freighter stuff too.

I went with 9 folk to check it oot: 4 of us had read the GN and the other 5 hadn't. Out of the folk who hadn't, a few of them "got it" and liked it and the others didnae because they were basically expecting a Spiderman, X-Men or Batman type film. Wouldn't say you'd have to read the book to understand it though, but deffo you would appreciate it better on screen what he manage to squash in given the source material.

The boy who played Rorschach absolutely nailed it though:top marks

18-03-2009, 11:08 PM
Read.
The.
Book.

I think it was wrongly advertised as a "superhero" film as none of the characters are superheros. Jon is not a "hero" although he certainly is "super".

26-03-2009, 01:52 AM
The book (comic) was fantastic. While the film can't get to that depth, it's still superiour to your average Marvel/DC flick.

Unless you like comic-style films...ehm...

31-03-2009, 10:35 PM
Just back from seeing this.

Wow. It was fantastic! Brilliantly shot, superbly acted, gripped storyline and some superb action/sexy scence :wink:

Didn't feel like a full 3 hours! Can't wait to see the extended version on DVD!

01-04-2009, 07:46 AM
I was a little disappointed that there was no superhero with a three day growth, and who sat on a deserted industrial estate warming himself in front of a blazing fire in a big oil drum punctured with holes, while nipping on a half-bottle of Bell's whisky, and uttering the catchphrase: "what yooose waaahntin then" in a Glasgow accent.