View Full Version : University of Edinburgh rector election

06-02-2009, 12:31 PM
George Foulkes has withdrawn from being a candidate as Rector of Edin Univ, citing other commitments as the reason.
I wonder if Mad Vlad has invited him back on to the Yams board.

06-02-2009, 12:37 PM
George Foulkes has withdrawn from being a candidate as Rector of Edin Univ, citing other commitments as the reason.

Of course!

He'd love to do the job, but sadly commitments like his newspaper column (in which he shamelessly plugged his candidacy for weeks on end) mean he's far too busy.

What a load a pish this man speaks!

06-02-2009, 12:38 PM
Pity his Dad didn't................

GordonR
06-02-2009, 12:41 PM
The fat auld slavvering balloon knew he was going to lose, and has done a runner. :agree: :agree:

Is there a live debate involved? As flawed as George Galloway is, he would have ripped Foulkes to pieces in a face-off between the candidates.

McSwanky
06-02-2009, 12:48 PM

JoJo_07
06-02-2009, 12:51 PM
I have just had an email from the returning officer telling me that "George Galloway has withdrawn his candidacy". :confused: and I thought I had read similar to the o.p. on the text on TV.

Makaveli
06-02-2009, 01:08 PM
"Sent on behalf of (Dr Alexis R Cornish, Director of Planning and Deputy Secretary, Deputy Returning Officer) by CAM. This list is used for official announcements only. Please do not reply to this message as it is not possible for responses to be read or acknowledged.

George Galloway has withdrawn his candidacy for the post of Rector of the University.

Mr Galloway, an MP for the Respect party, has cited other commitments as his reason for stepping down as a candidate."

JennaFletcher
06-02-2009, 01:14 PM
Any links to this info? I can't find any.

I sincerley hope that Iain McWhirter becomes rector. And I have done ever since I found out the candidates!

http://www.iainmacwhirter.org/

stevensons-fan
06-02-2009, 01:16 PM
He was up at the uni today, he was purchasing a parking ticket infront of me. Took him ages to get it, made me late for my lecture!

JennaFletcher
06-02-2009, 01:22 PM
He was up at the uni today, he was purchasing a parking ticket infront of me. Took him ages to get it, made me late for my lecture!

Who was up at Uni? Iain or Galloway?

Makaveli
06-02-2009, 01:32 PM
Any links to this info? I can't find any.

I sincerley hope that Iain McWhirter becomes rector. And I have done ever since I found out the candidates!

http://www.iainmacwhirter.org/

It was in a University e-mail, now being reported here: http://www.studentnewspaper.org/index.php?option=com_content&view=category&layout=blog&id=54&Itemid=75.

Incidentally I saw Fatty Foulkes last week and must say he is even more revolting in the flesh :jamboak:.

06-02-2009, 01:44 PM
George Galloway is leading an Aid Convoy to Gaza, called Viva Palestina, leaving on the 14th of February. Good luck George! :thumbsup:

06-02-2009, 01:45 PM

Yep, the very words I was going to reply with! But, on reflection, we may not have had Mad Vlad to enrich our lives.

EskbankHibby
06-02-2009, 02:03 PM

Police dont just assault themselves you know, then theres all that whisky/meths too drink and taxpayers to sponge off, god only knows where he find the time to throw together the random collection of words that make up his EEN column.

hibee62
06-02-2009, 02:21 PM
I can't believe how many people are backing mcwhirter here, if its just because foulkes is a hearts man then its a joke. Mcwhirter is the People and planet candidate and we are already being torn apart by that faction. The current rector only got in because of it and he hasnt been clean of controversy.

As i said previously, Foulkes is the far lesser of three evils.

PS, this is hardly a football conversation topic.

JennaFletcher
06-02-2009, 02:36 PM
I can't believe how many people are backing mcwhirter here, if its just because foulkes is a hearts man then its a joke. Mcwhirter is the People and planet candidate and we are already being torn apart by that faction. The current rector only got in because of it and he hasnt been clean of controversy.

As i said previously, Foulkes is the far lesser of three evils.

PS, this is hardly a football conversation topic.

You being serious? It's not because Foulkes is a deluded Jambo who is a crap journalist and an even worse MSP - pro ID cards (total waste of money and totally against civil liberties/individual freedom) also... [from Wikipedia] He has also been accused of wasting public and government time money by asking a large number of frivolous parliamentary questions, including how much money the Scottish Government (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Scottish_Government) has spent on spacehoppers (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Spacehoppers), and how many times Scottish ministers have met with Scottish musician Sandy Thom (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sandy_Thom). These questions reportedly cost the Government nearly £100,000 to answer.

:bitchy::grr:

So you still think he is the ''lesser'' of three evils?! I think not.

06-02-2009, 02:39 PM
If he was in a room with Hitler & Stalin, he could still not be described as the lesser of three evils :faf:

06-02-2009, 02:48 PM

How weird: I saw that.

He took ages. If he wasn't on his mobile phone, he might have done a better job of paying for his ticket.

Normally you see him round campus with two obnoxious lackeys. They must have let him out on his own.

He is probably going to win, to be honest. The student association office holders and student labour have been synonymous for years - even back to the time I was at Uni, which was before t'internet, when essays were mostly handwritten and the matric card was a wee bit of paper with your photo glued to it.

hibee62
06-02-2009, 02:54 PM
You being serious? It's not because Foulkes is a deluded Jambo who is a crap journalist and an even worse MSP - pro ID cards (total waste of money and totally against civil liberties/individual freedom) also... [from Wikipedia] He has also been accused of wasting public and government time money by asking a large number of frivolous parliamentary questions, including how much money the Scottish Government (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Scottish_Government) has spent on spacehoppers (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Spacehoppers), and how many times Scottish ministers have met with Scottish musician Sandy Thom (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sandy_Thom). These questions reportedly cost the Government nearly £100,000 to answer.

:bitchy::grr:

So you still think he is the ''lesser'' of three evils?! I think not.

Yes, I do. What has McWhirter ever done? Foulkes may have been controversial but he stands up to the SNP and their dodgy dealings and he is not an idealist (ala every politician (student or otherwise) involved in student rights at the moment).

I'm sorry, but having sat on the SRC at the University for the last 2 years I have learnt to avoid anything backed by People and Planet due to the fact it will result in even more ridiculous schemes such as when they voted en masse to try and force the university to withdraw all support for RBS (advertising etc.) which would result in millions of sponsorship to be taken away from the university simply because they built an oil pipeline.

Given that the current student president, IMHO, would not have gotten in had it not been for the current rector (and trust me when I say things would have been much better had he not become president) and he was the P&P candidate before I will not make the same mistake again and I can only hope that the non-deluded amongst the student population don't either.

hibee62
06-02-2009, 02:56 PM
How weird: I saw that.

He took ages. If he wasn't on his mobile phone, he might have done a better job of paying for his ticket.

Normally you see him round campus with two obnoxious lackeys. They must have let him out on his own.

He is probably going to win, to be honest. The student association office holders and student labour have been synonymous for years - even back to the time I was at Uni, which was before t'internet, when essays were mostly handwritten and the matric card was a wee bit of paper with your photo glued to it.

I wouldnt be so sure, McWhirter has already got the support of P&P, the faction with the biggest student clout at the minute.

06-02-2009, 02:58 PM
I wouldnt be so sure, McWhirter has already got the support of P&P, the faction with the biggest student clout at the minute.

:fingerscrossedsmilie:(it doesn't exist, but it should)

hibee62
06-02-2009, 03:00 PM
:fingerscrossedsmilie:(it doesn't exist, but it should)

If only you knew...

06-02-2009, 03:15 PM
If only you knew...

If you have some info, I am always happy to hear.

It will save me a fortune in nytol bills and probably recoup about 10 years of my life.

hibee62
06-02-2009, 03:28 PM
If you have some info, I am always happy to hear.

It will save me a fortune in nytol bills and probably recoup about 10 years of my life.

Boom boom!:greengrin

I just assumed that you didnt know about what happened in last years president election given you stated it was a while since you went to the uni. Either way, it is thought by many that the rector had a major influence in getting the eventual winner's expulsion overturned. The current president is backing McWhirter, I don't want to see it happen again! Hence my support for Fatty!

06-02-2009, 03:55 PM
Boom boom!:greengrin

I just assumed that you didnt know about what happened in last years president election given you stated it was a while since you went to the uni. Either way, it is thought by many that the rector had a major influence in getting the eventual winner's expulsion overturned. The current president is backing McWhirter, I don't want to see it happen again! Hence my support for Fatty!

Man alive.

In some countries, student politics has a noble tradition of overthrowing dictatorships, causing changes in governments and standing up to oppression.

Where did it all go wrong in the UK?

stevensons-fan
06-02-2009, 04:04 PM
Who was up at Uni? Iain or Galloway?

Foulkes was.

ancienthibby
13-02-2009, 06:37 AM
And the winner is

Iain MacW a 70/30 winner over Lord 'MadVladismyPal'

13-02-2009, 07:48 AM
And the winner is

Iain MacW a 70/30 winner over Lord 'MadVladismyPal'

Excellent news - I'm sure Fat boy drunk will claim a victory of sorts in there somewhere though :greengrin