View Full Version : Media 'Anti-English' punch hurts woman (BBC news site)

Mixu62
13-01-2009, 10:48 PM
Story on the BBC website about an English woman in Aberdeen who was the victim of a racially motivated assault. Now, the erse who dunnit needs to take a serious look at themselves, but it begs the question: If Anti-English abuse/violence is considered racial, doesn't it set a precedent for anti-Irish? i.e. the Famine song etc.? Just curious.

(Apologies if already posted elsewhere and I'm not trying to start another flag debate!)

13-01-2009, 10:51 PM
Story on the BBC website about an English woman in Aberdeen who was the victim of a racially motivated assault. Now, the erse who dunnit needs to take a serious look at themselves, but it begs the question: If Anti-English abuse/violence is considered racial, doesn't it set a precedent for anti-Irish? i.e. the Famine song etc.? Just curious.

(Apologies if already posted elsewhere and I'm not trying to start another flag debate!) dont be daft mixu, that's just footie banter dont yea ken ?....

13-01-2009, 10:51 PM

(Apologies if already posted elsewhere and I'm not trying to start another flag debate!)

Actually, I think you have and it was fully intentional. Why else ask the question?

Mixu62
13-01-2009, 10:57 PM
Actually, I think you have and it was fully intentional. Why else ask the question?

I'll take you comment with the pinch of salt I assume it was meant with. I wanted to steer away from the petty finger pointing and try to deal with an issue that has got a lot of backs up lately. I'm asking whether a precendent has been set by recognising Scots/English as seperate race's abd abuse based on it recognised as racially motivated. Nowt to do with flag-waving.

13-01-2009, 11:03 PM
Unless and until the person being punched or doing the punching is a Hibs fan can we just not go there?

I don't mind a lengthy debate about racism in our chanting or whatever but this just seems a pretty gratuitous theme to introduce to this board on the back of an assault in Aberdeen involving people who have nothing to do with Hibernian. Am I missing something?

I'll take you comment with the pinch of salt I assume it was meant with. I wanted to steer away from the petty finger pointing and try to deal with an issue that has got a lot of backs up lately. I'm asking whether a precendent has been set by recognising Scots/English as seperate race's abd abuse based on it recognised as racially motivated. Nowt to do with flag-waving.

14-01-2009, 09:11 AM
Unless the woman who punched this English lassie was black, hispanic, asian etc, then surely it can't be deemed racist, as the last time I checked, both English and Scottish people were primarily caucasian?

Anything to get a ****ing news headline man! :grr:

I don't believe for a second that the journalist responsible for this doesn't know the difference between racism and xenophobia, but im sure "English Girl assaulted in xenophobic attack" doesn't have the same power to it.

p.s. - im not justifying or defending the person who assaulted the lassie - merely having a go at our delinquent media.

14-01-2009, 12:17 PM
Just the sort of thing you'd expect in the heartland of the Tartan Army. Isn't it time we got over it?

15-01-2009, 08:18 AM
I'd agree that it's a xenophobic attack, not a racist attack. Last time I checked, all "races" of people consider themselves as English, Scots, Welsh etc.

Some bawbag just heard her accent and decided to be a total knob about it.

No excuse for it at all. It's unlikely, but I hope he gets the book thrown at him. Would be quite ironic if that book was the Rough Guide to England.

We should put him on a prisoner exchange scheme and maybe send him to do his time daan saaf.

15-01-2009, 08:25 AM
Unless and until the person being punched or doing the punching is a Hibs fan can we just not go there?

I don't mind a lengthy debate about racism in our chanting or whatever but this just seems a pretty gratuitous theme to introduce to this board on the back of an assault in Aberdeen involving people who have nothing to do with Hibernian. Am I missing something?

This is The Holy Ground.

Have a look at the other threads, there aren't too many involving Hibernian.

This thread is precisely right for it.

So yes, you are missing something.

15-01-2009, 08:27 AM
Its all semantics whether it is 'racist' or not (sometimes I think this word is fast losing all meaning and should be consigned to the dustbin of history), but it is a 'prejudiced' attack in that it is born of anti-Englishness. There is a problem with this kind of prejudice in Scotland, which is sometimes defended by people on the basis of semantics about what is 'racism' and what isnt. It all yanks my chain to be honest:boo hoo:

15-01-2009, 08:33 AM
Its all semantics whether it is 'racist' or not (sometimes I think this word is fast losing all meaning and should be consigned to the dustbin of history), but it is a 'prejudiced' attack in that it is born of anti-Englishness. There is a problem with this kind of prejudice in Scotland, which is sometimes defended by people on the basis of semantics about what is 'racism' and what isnt. It all yanks my chain to be honest:boo hoo:

prejudiced is the right word to fit the circumstances.

nobody was defending the attack at all, or at least i cannot see from what is written that anyone has said that racism or xenophobia is one slightly worse than the other.

it just throws up interesting questions (wider than the situation itself) about what is racism and what is xenophobia. prejudice seems to cover both bases.

15-01-2009, 08:38 AM
prejudiced is the right word to fit the circumstances.

nobody was defending the attack at all, or at least i cannot see from what is written that anyone has said that racism or xenophobia is one slightly worse than the other.

it just throws up interesting questions (wider than the situation itself) about what is racism and what is xenophobia. prejudice seems to cover both bases.

I agree with you. Im not saying anyone in the thread is defending it, im saying some people do, or at least they deliberately muddy the waters about what defines 'racism'. Prejudice is wrong, end of story:agree: