View Full Version : NHC Jordan Robertson
30-12-2008, 04:48 PM
He was on loan with Dundee United last year.
Looks like another career could be cut short (http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/england/south_yorkshire/7805203.stm)
You would have thought players would be a bit more careful after what happened with Luke McCormack and Lee Hughes.
30-12-2008, 04:51 PM
He was on loan with Dundee United last year.
Looks like another career could be cut short (http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/england/south_yorkshire/7805203.stm)
You would have thought players would be a bit more careful after what happened with Luke McCormack and Lee Hughes.
30-12-2008, 04:53 PM
It 'could' cut his career short if he is convicted of dangerous driving I reckon that he's going to spend quite a bit of time in prison
I think we should wait untill the police finish the enquiry before commenting here to be honest.
30-12-2008, 05:08 PM
It 'could' cut his career short if he is convicted of dangerous driving I reckon that he's going to spend quite a bit of time in prisonMight have Stevie Gerbil for a cellmate, Stevie can learn him how to dive etc, might enhance his career. :wink:
Randerson_4
30-12-2008, 06:03 PM
Might have Stevie Gerbil for a cellmate, Stevie can learn him how to dive etc, might enhance his career. :wink:
'Teach him' Surely?
As someone said surely too early to comment
However, a Championship youngster driving a Mercedes? Surely getting too much money!
30-12-2008, 06:21 PM
'Teach him' Surely?
:tsk tsk: See definitions of 'learn' (http://www.thefreedictionary.com/learn) (Number 5) :wink:
30-12-2008, 06:50 PM
:tsk tsk: See definitions of 'learn' (http://www.thefreedictionary.com/learn) (Number 5) :wink:
Surely you're not quoting an American website on how the Queen's English should best be deployed? :wink:
30-12-2008, 07:37 PM
Maybe, he will get lucky, just like David Grof did? He should have had his erse booted right out of ER for getting done for DD.
30-12-2008, 07:39 PM
Maybe, he will get lucky, just like David Grof did? He should have had his erse booted right out of ER for getting done for DD.
Spot on Northernhibby. IIRC Russel Latapy was sacked for the same offence.
Two very seperate cases. IF this guy is at fault for someones death through this then he will get a custodial sentence without a doubt.
mixusixtwo
30-12-2008, 07:46 PM
Don't think wee russell was sacked exactly. He was left out of the squad for a wee bit then left to join the current buns!
30-12-2008, 07:50 PM
Don't think wee russell was sacked exactly. He was left out of the squad for a wee bit then left to join the current buns! :confused:
Aye thats standing by the player during troubled times. :greengrin
30-12-2008, 10:36 PM
Surely you're not quoting an American website on how the Queen's English should best be deployed? :wink:
:agree: Quite right, quite right.
Would Shakespeare be English enuff for ya? ...
"Sweet prince, you learn me noble thankfulness" (Much Ado About Nuffin)
31-12-2008, 06:54 AM
Grof was convicted of drink driving. Bad as that is, it doesn't compare with someone accused of causing death by dangerous driving.
31-12-2008, 08:08 AM
Grof was convicted of drink driving. Bad as that is, it doesn't compare with someone accused of causing death by dangerous driving.
It's only luck that separates the two.
If you are drunk while driving you have a vey fair chance of killing someone.
31-12-2008, 08:21 AM
What, like a 50% probability? :confused:
31-12-2008, 08:27 AM
Can't see how you can relate the 2 cases Grof was done for drinking and driving,whilst Robertson, has been accused of causing death by dangerous driving, and no mention of drink involved .
31-12-2008, 08:28 AM
If you are drunk while driving you have a very fair chance of killing someone.
I agree entirely and wasn't condoning or defending Grof's actions.
You still can't compare them though or we'd start having to jailing a lot of folk for actions possibly leading to death.
31-12-2008, 08:33 AM
Can't see how you can relate the 2 cases Grof was done for drinking and driving,whilst Robertson, has been accused of causing death by dangerous driving, and no mention of drink involved .
This seems to be getting mixed up in the posts here.
The suggestion was that the Robertson incident was much worse as he killed someone by driving dangerously and that Grof can be no way compared because he was just drunk driving.
Well, for me, drink driving is extremely dangerous and its sheer luck that it deosn't involve a death.
The robertson one could have been a complete accident, a careless moment, a distraction, we don't know. Grof has knowingly entered his car whilst drunk and drove his car.
Yes, one ended with a death but Grof, or any other drunk driver, could actually have been the more reckless of the two in the circumstances.
'Teach him' Surely?
As someone said surely too early to comment
However, a Championship youngster driving a Mercedes? Surely getting too much money!
I just looked it up as I thought the same as you.
The car he was driving is in fact around £20k. 1.8 litre engine.
Here’s what the AA said ..
Successfully moving the game on from the Sports Coupe, the CLC delivers a pleasant, enjoyable and suitably upmarket experience. Although not adverse to having some fun, it's more likely that CLC buyers will be more interested in the car's looks, perceived elevated status and refinement.
With its modest size, the CLC could easily be seen as an ideal car for the novice driver - at least, if you can afford its premium price tag. Price aside, the CLC is an easy car to drive and there's isn't a really quick version that would otherwise get you into trouble.
After reading that I would say a sensible car for the guy to have, if he hadn't been a footballer we would never have heard about it.
The AA may have to change the last bit.
01-01-2009, 10:24 AM
he better like porridge
(((Fergus)))
01-01-2009, 12:29 PM
There's a lot of prejudice about driving under the influence. For a start, some people are better drivers even when over the limit than some others are when sober. Also, the drink drive limit is arbitrary: someone driving with 81 mg of alcohol per 100 ml of blood is regarded as a criminal, while someone with 79 mg is not - regardless of how they are actually driving. Of course, alcohol may impair a person's driving, however there are many other influencing factors that are not legislated against, e.g., medication, tiredness, time of the month, etc., etc. I reckon people just like having something to be outraged about.
01-01-2009, 03:28 PM
There's a lot of prejudice about driving under the influence. For a start, some people are better drivers even when over the limit than some others are when sober. Also, the drink drive limit is arbitrary: someone driving with 81 mg of alcohol per 100 ml of blood is regarded as a criminal, while someone with 79 mg is not - regardless of how they are actually driving. Of course, alcohol may impair a person's driving, however there are many other influencing factors that are not legislated against, e.g., medication, tiredness, time of the month, etc., etc. I reckon people just like having something to be outraged about.
They do. And there's another complicating factor in that motor etc skills are measurably impaired for some considerable time after the presence of alcohol is detectable in the blood. In other words, you can have a reading of 0mg yet still be impaired by the fact that you did previously drink alcohol. The moral logic of this finding would appear to be that you should not drink and drive in the same colunder week.
01-01-2009, 04:04 PM
if he hadn't been a footballer we would never have heard about it
I've moved this to the Holy Ground now as the discussion has gone down that route