View Full Version : USC in administration

Hank Schrader
29-12-2008, 01:35 PM
Story on BBC News website ticker just now...

GC
29-12-2008, 01:38 PM
Story on BBC News website ticker just now...

Please let them have a massive sale:pray:

29-12-2008, 01:44 PM
Good over priced crap anyway.

GC
29-12-2008, 01:46 PM
Good over priced crap anyway.

Not really...Brands like G Star will surely come down in price.

Hardly overpriced crap.

29-12-2008, 01:51 PM
Not really...Brands like G Star will surely come down in price.

Hardly overpriced crap.
Do you know USC buy these jeans for like twenty quid a pop and they have the cheek to sell them for over £100. You get ripped off. Plus I hate G Star jeans, everyman and his dog wears these things, can no one think for themselves these days.

GC
29-12-2008, 01:54 PM
Do you know USC buy these jeans for like twenty quid a pop and they have the cheek to sell them for over £100. You get ripped off. Plus I hate G Star jeans, everyman and his dog wears these things, can no one think for themselves these days.

Clearly the dog can, finding a pair of G Star jeans for a dug is no mean feat:greengrin

29-12-2008, 01:54 PM
Clearly the dog can, finding a pair of G Star jeans for a dug is no mean feat:greengrin
haha :greengrin

29-12-2008, 02:08 PM
Looks like Tom Hunter is using administration as a vehicle to get rid of loss making sites

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/finance/newsbysector/retailandconsumer/4014771/USC-designer-clothing-chain-heads-for-administration.html

Around 300 job losses, most of which will be part time staff

30-12-2008, 07:13 PM

If all this is true how can they be going into Administration?

Seems like a great business model. By em cheap sell em with a huge mark up and evreyone and their dog wants them.
Something doesn't add up. :wink:

07-01-2009, 11:29 PM
Gstar is pretty rank TBH.

I have 2 pairs of G-Star jeans, and they are ones that dont have it written all over the arse and legs.
I don't mind the jeans that dont totally advertise it, but the ones that do just look awful, and so many people wear it.

For the same price, you can get a pair of Diesels which are better quality and not everybody about Edinburgh will be wearing the same jeans as you.

Got myself a pair of Firetraps, and I havent seen one other person in them.

I've seen maybe one G-Star jacket I like, and it only has one yellow G-Star tag on it, just hate the over advertising the brand. :grr:

08-01-2009, 12:29 AM

I have 2 pairs of G-Star jeans, and they are ones that dont have it written all over the arse and legs.
I don't mind the jeans that dont totally advertise it, but the ones that do just look awful, and so many people wear it.

For the same price, you can get a pair of Diesels which are better quality and not everybody about Edinburgh will be wearing the same jeans as you.

I've seen maybe one G-Star jacket I like, and it only has one yellow G-Star tag on it, just hate the over advertising the brand. :grr:

I have 4 pairs of Rocawear jeans and they are quite simply the best I have ever owned (I did have 5 pairs but I had to chuck my favourite pair out last month after 3 years because they we're starting to fall apart from overuse :grr:) and one of the best things about them is that I haven't seen anybody else wearing them because I bought them in america unlike the g-stars and evisu that cost the same money but are everywhere you look being worn by neds and jakies.

08-01-2009, 12:39 AM

I love Diesel stuff, they're pretty much the only jeans I'll buy.:agree:

Austinho
08-01-2009, 12:55 AM
Problem with G-Star jeans is that a lot of people who wear them seem to think that they automatically make them look good. Doesn't matter how awfully the shoes go with them, or how badly they fit that person - it's like all the fashion does and don't go completely out the window, just because they spent £100 on a pair of jeans. More often that not, they look like idiots.

I recently got a pair of Superdry jeans that are very good quality, as well as a pair of Jack&Jones jeans which are really smart. The best pair I've had in quite a while though, believe it or not, were a pair from Topman. They fitted really well and looked awesome - just a pity everything from there is rubbish quality, as they ripped right up the middle after a few months.

08-01-2009, 07:04 AM

I love Diesel stuff, they're pretty much the only jeans I'll buy.:agree:

George at Asda is my designer label of choice.:thumbsup:

08-01-2009, 07:16 AM
George at Asda is my designer label of choice.:thumbsup:Matalan is better than yer George crap !!!! :greengrin

08-01-2009, 07:19 AM
Cheapskates - I'm a Debenhams man now have you no been in the new centre at Livi? :thumbsup:

08-01-2009, 08:20 AM
Are they still accepting gift vouchers in USC?

08-01-2009, 08:35 AM
Are they still accepting gift vouchers in USC?

I think it depends on whether they are USC vouchers. Don't see them accepting any Zavvi ones somehow.

08-01-2009, 08:50 AM
I think it depends on whether they are USC vouchers. Don't see them accepting any Zavvi ones somehow.

That's a disappointing piece of news.

So they're still accepting USC vouchers in USC then?

08-01-2009, 03:48 PM
Don't know mate. Was being supercillious. :greengrin

08-01-2009, 06:25 PM
Don't know mate. Was being supercillious. :greengrin

The answeis yes they are accepting the vouchers. Although I also believe the shop has been "saved" - according to one of the staff in store.

11-01-2009, 08:30 AM
Problem with G-Star jeans is that a lot of people who wear them seem to think that they automatically make them look good. Doesn't matter how awfully the shoes go with them, or how badly they fit that person - it's like all the fashion does and don't go completely out the window, just because they spent £100 on a pair of jeans. More often that not, they look like idiots.

I recently got a pair of Superdry jeans that are very good quality, as well as a pair of Jack&Jones jeans which are really smart. The best pair I've had in quite a while though, believe it or not, were a pair from Topman. They fitted really well and looked awesome - just a pity everything from there is rubbish quality, as they ripped right up the middle after a few months.

Its hilarious when you see young lads 16-17 with there G Star jeans on and they look about 3 sizes too big for their wee skinny legs and the erkey is down to their knees.

Probably got them in the sales though :faf:

11-01-2009, 10:47 PM
You know it stands for Unbelievably Schemie Clothing don't ya :wink:

11-01-2009, 10:55 PM
Its hilarious when you see young lads 16-17 with there G Star jeans on and they look about 3 sizes too big for their wee skinny legs and the erkey is down to their knees.

Probably got them in the sales though :faf:

Being honest, I wear my jeans like that purely because I find it comfy. I hate my jeans right up at my waist for some reason, I always buy them so they hang low, so the back of mine pretty much rip all the time :greengrin

14-01-2009, 02:24 PM

I bought a £70 pair of trainers and a £100 RL jacket and my GF called me a tramp last night. :grr:

14-01-2009, 08:23 PM
I'v always bought designer clothes since I was about 16 and used to have to lie to my Mother how much I paid for them, even now I still lie to my wife how much my gear cost cos she'd go radge :faf: