View Full Version : Rab C Nesbitt
24-12-2008, 12:46 PM
Last night's Rab C Nesbitt was very disappointed, after a 8 year absence I was looking forward to seeing how things had moved on for Rab and his clan. There were moments when it almost broke into a comedy. The BBC have there work cut out if they think there is life left in what was once the best comedy on the box.
For those who didn't see it and want to watch it, visit the Bbc Iplayer and click on BBC 2.
Austinho
24-12-2008, 01:45 PM
Was this a new episode?
Zimmy
24-12-2008, 02:12 PM
I must say I really enjoyed it.
24-12-2008, 02:46 PM
I must say I really enjoyed it.
Me too. Comment about Burnie being cremated after being burnt to death being over kill was good.
Chuckie
24-12-2008, 05:26 PM
Brand new episode and I thought it was excellent..
24-12-2008, 05:35 PM
It was decent like.
24-12-2008, 05:41 PM
Brand new episode and I thought it was excellent..
We are going to watch it tonight so hope you are correct.
24-12-2008, 06:11 PM
We are going to watch it tonight so hope you are correct.
Wouldn't bother, myself. Watched it, waste of 45 minutes, tbh. Lot of tired stuff, predictable, cliched.
Not very good really.
fergal7
25-12-2008, 10:46 AM
I lasted 15 mins. Woefull
25-12-2008, 06:48 PM
There were some funny bits in it but they were few and far between. Took some doing to watch the whole 45 minutes of this.
They really shouldn't have bothered.
Was actually quite shocked that they mentioned Burnie in it so much, wasn't he done for kiddy porn or something? Isn't that the reason he was replaced in some of the later series?
AllyF
25-12-2008, 08:01 PM
It were pish.
Try The Peter Serafinowicz Show. :agree:
Brando7
25-12-2008, 10:05 PM
There were some funny bits in it but they were few and far between. Took some doing to watch the whole 45 minutes of this.
Was actually quite shocked that they mentioned Burnie in it so much, wasn't he done for kiddy porn or something? Isn't that the reason he was replaced in some of the later series?
he was arrested in 1993 for possession of child pornography & died a few years later
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Eric_Cullen
25-12-2008, 10:26 PM
Was actually quite shocked that they mentioned Burnie in it so much, wasn't he done for kiddy porn or something? Isn't that the reason he was replaced in some of the later series? He was cleared of those allegations http://members.madasafish.com/~cj_whitehound/Theatre_of_Cruelty/introduction.htm
25-12-2008, 11:57 PM
He was cleared of those allegations http://members.madasafish.com/~cj_whitehound/Theatre_of_Cruelty/introduction.htm
Exactly. The full uote from Wikipedia -
"Although many Scottish newspapers assumed that Cullen was a paedophile himself, and in fact continued to hound him throughout his life and even after death, he was treated for nineteen months by psychiatrist Dr Prem Misra (http://en.wikipedia.org/w/index.php?title=Prem_Misra&action=edit&redlink=1), one of the UK's leading experts on child abusers and abuse survivors, and Dr Misra has stated publicly that Eric Cullen showed no trace of any perversion whatsoever, and that he is absolutely certain that he was only ever a victim of abuse and not an abuser himself. Cullen worked with children all his adult life, including a spell as a primary school teacher, and the police could find no child with even the slightest complaint against him.
Once the court case was out of the way Cullen dedicated himself to campaigning against child pornography, and to trying to bring his abusers to justice. Of the three men he named as his principal abusers one, Francis Currens, was jailed during Cullen's lifetime; one, Cullen's uncle Jack Williams, was jailed after his death (both of them for a catalogue of offences including the repeated rape of young boys); and as at summer 2006 one, whom Cullen named as the ringleader, has never been prosecuted - or even seriously investigated.
Cullen's arrest in 1993, followed by a long drawn-out police investigation and the persecution by the press, destabilised his mental defences leaving him suicidal for many months. As soon as his prison sentence had been quashed on appeal, he began to be offered acting parts again, but he was still too ill with severe Posttraumatic stress disorder (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posttraumatic_stress_disorder) to resume work."
An extremely sad case of misdirected accusations and nasty innuendo more or less destroying the man.
26-12-2008, 09:24 AM
Because I always get the cringes when I hear a weedgie dialect, I spared myself the ordeal. Utter tripe.
Brando7
26-12-2008, 10:58 AM
Looks like the episode has sparked a wave of complaints, people got nothing better to do :bitchy:
http://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/scotsol/homepage/news/article2070562.ece
26-12-2008, 05:55 PM
Exactly. The full uote from Wikipedia -
"Although many Scottish newspapers assumed that Cullen was a paedophile himself, and in fact continued to hound him throughout his life and even after death, he was treated for nineteen months by psychiatrist Dr Prem Misra (http://en.wikipedia.org/w/index.php?title=Prem_Misra&action=edit&redlink=1), one of the UK's leading experts on child abusers and abuse survivors, and Dr Misra has stated publicly that Eric Cullen showed no trace of any perversion whatsoever, and that he is absolutely certain that he was only ever a victim of abuse and not an abuser himself. Cullen worked with children all his adult life, including a spell as a primary school teacher, and the police could find no child with even the slightest complaint against him.
Once the court case was out of the way Cullen dedicated himself to campaigning against child pornography, and to trying to bring his abusers to justice. Of the three men he named as his principal abusers one, Francis Currens, was jailed during Cullen's lifetime; one, Cullen's uncle Jack Williams, was jailed after his death (both of them for a catalogue of offences including the repeated rape of young boys); and as at summer 2006 one, whom Cullen named as the ringleader, has never been prosecuted - or even seriously investigated.
Cullen's arrest in 1993, followed by a long drawn-out police investigation and the persecution by the press, destabilised his mental defences leaving him suicidal for many months. As soon as his prison sentence had been quashed on appeal, he began to be offered acting parts again, but he was still too ill with severe Posttraumatic stress disorder (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posttraumatic_stress_disorder) to resume work."
An extremely sad case of misdirected accusations and nasty innuendo more or less destroying the man.
Feel bad about this as when it was on TV the other night, I more or less repeated, verbatim, the stuff that was inferred or in some cases, directly said, about this unfortunate chap. I regard myself as pretty clued-up when it comes to not passing on media nonsense, but it's scary the way these prejudices are allowed to infect everyone of us. (That is not to make an excuse for my deplorable laziness on this ocassion.)
On Rab C itself, I thought Jamsie Cotter character held up well, but I always felt that Rab C is an insufferable Weedgie bore, the sort whom I've had the displeasure to be stuck in a pub with too often. (Once is too often.) And time had been kind to him.
26-12-2008, 08:06 PM
Feel bad about this as when it was on TV the other night, I more or less repeated, verbatim, the stuff that was inferred or in some cases, directly said, about this unfortunate chap. I regard myself as pretty clued-up when it comes to not passing on media nonsense, but it's scary the way these prejudices are allowed to infect everyone of us. (That is not to make an excuse for my deplorable laziness on this ocassion.)
On Rab C itself, I thought Jamsie Cotter character held up well, but I always felt that Rab C is an insufferable Weedgie bore, the sort whom I've had the displeasure to be stuck in a pub with too often. (Once is too often.) And time had been kind to him.
I think there's a limit to how often one will laugh at Weegie behaviour accurately depicted in a docu-drama, really.
And the 'joke' the Hun refers to about the airport terrorists was stolen from Frankie Boyle - old jokes, bad jokes, and no jokes at all, the show was utter crud.
26-12-2008, 08:37 PM
Looks like the episode has sparked a wave of complaints, people got nothing better to do :bitchy:
http://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/scotsol/homepage/news/article2070562.ece
All this mock outrage is just becoming embarrassing.
It seems as if the soul of Mary Whitehouse has been reincarnated into 1000's of British homes. Also how ironic that the filthy Huns are outraged at being made fun of on national TV. :rolleyes:
26-12-2008, 08:46 PM
Lot of tired stuff, predictable, cliched.
Have you already seen next week's Only An Excuse? :greengrin
26-12-2008, 09:25 PM
Once again the PC brigade start their moaning...
Lets lock them up in a big container....and send them down to Atlantis where they can moan to their hearts content :agree:
28-12-2008, 02:31 PM
I was a bit disappointed with it as well. Although having said that - was it ever really funny? I've watched a couple of episodes on Paramount recently and barely managed to crack a smile during it. I think I used to laugh when it was on 1st time round 'cos I was a wee laddie and thought a bit of swearing was funny.
Hibby D
28-12-2008, 07:17 PM
Once again the PC brigade start their moaning...
Lets lock them up in a big container....and send them down to Atlantis where they can moan to their hearts content :agree:
:grr::grr::grr::grr::grr: <--------And that's in defense of those who didn't find it funny!!! Why can't they simply NOT find it funny without being accused of joining this bloody invisible brigade Grrrrrrr!!
I watched it and found it more than mildly amusing at times :greengrin
29-12-2008, 08:08 AM
I was a bit disappointed with it as well. Although having said that - was it ever really funny? I've watched a couple of episodes on Paramount recently and barely managed to crack a smile during it. I think I used to laugh when it was on 1st time round 'cos I was a wee laddie and thought a bit of swearing was funny.
You are right. It was never a laugh-a-minute comedy in the first place.
Some of the better episodes were funnier than this latest offering though.
They probably shouldn't have bothered brining it back...
29-12-2008, 03:17 PM
Have you already seen next week's Only An Excuse? :greengrin
Aw please, they're not, are they?
29-12-2008, 03:35 PM
Aw please, they're not, are they?
:agree: For sure. Vewwy pwoud.
30-12-2008, 04:52 PM
Actually, I don't think it was - funny, really, ever.
But then, neither's "Only An Excuse" - but there are people who still watch it.
I've no idea why. :dunno:
But then, so much of the "entertainment" emanating from the Great West of Scotland Suppurating Boil called Weegieville appears to be nothing better than unoriginal, pointless, witless garbage.
And always has been.
"Francie & Josie", anyone? :no way:
31-12-2008, 10:49 AM
Actually, I don't think it was - funny, really, ever.
But then, neither's "Only An Excuse" - but there are people who still watch it.
I've no idea why. :dunno:
But then, so much of the "entertainment" emanating from the Great West of Scotland Suppurating Boil called Weegieville appears to be nothing better than unoriginal, pointless, witless garbage.
And always has been.
"Francie & Josie", anyone? :no way:
:agree: Agreed - the "Glasgow patter" is shan. :greengrin
02-01-2009, 02:54 PM
:grr::grr::grr::grr::grr: <--------And that's in defense of those who didn't find it funny!!! Why can't they simply NOT find it funny without being accused of joining this bloody invisible brigade Grrrrrrr!!
Because with the PC brigade, there's a majority of them that go out there way to make sure that everybody's fun is ruined...:agree::agree:
They are mainly called Daily Mail readers :agree::agree:
03-01-2009, 11:13 AM
Because with the PC brigade, there's a majority of them that go out there way to make sure that everybody's fun is ruined...:agree::agree:
They are mainly called Daily Mail readers :agree::agree:
I sometimes wonder whether folks who rabbit on about the "PC" and other "brigades" have either shut down their brains for the winter, or don't have brains at all, or just don't want to use the brains they have.
They instantly dismiss other people's opinions as valueless without having to give any reasons at all.
It's possible to find something (as I did the RCN episode in question) direly unfunny simply because it's direly unfunny.
I just don't find Weegies spouting random sweerie-words in any way amusing.
Just as I find most Christmas and New Year "specials" on TV embarrassing non-entertainment. New Year Specials with minor celebrities in ill-fitting kilts wishing each other "Happy New Year" on TV when everyone knows the show was taped in August? Come on!
Nothing to do with PC or anything other than good taste. :greengrin
03-01-2009, 01:30 PM
Because the people in the article have actively complained to the BBC because they didn't find it funny. So, to repeat your question, why can't they just NOT find it funny?
04-01-2009, 04:25 PM
Because the people in the article have actively complained to the BBC because they didn't find it funny. So, to repeat your question, why can't they just NOT find it funny?
Maybe because they're ticked off that the MacBeeb's wasting money on crud like this? Money that comes from licence fees?
If it's that funny, why not write in and tell the MacBeeb how much you enjoyed it?
:stirrer:
05-01-2009, 03:52 AM
Maybe because they're ticked off that the MacBeeb's wasting money on crud like this? Money that comes from licence fees?
If it's that funny, why not write in and tell the MacBeeb how much you enjoyed it?
:stirrer:
Because I don't need to, just like the moaners don't need to either!
People are hardly likely to enjoy EVERY programme the BBC produces so your first point is nonsense really. As demonstrated on this thread, some people did enjoy it in any case.
05-01-2009, 09:45 AM
Because I don't need to, just like the moaners don't need to either!
People are hardly likely to enjoy EVERY programme the BBC produces so your first point is nonsense really. As demonstrated on this thread, some people did enjoy it in any case.
Aye, but they SHOULDN'T have. :devil:
05-01-2009, 04:24 PM
Thought it was well written, and I liked the angle where the tables have been turned on Rab by Mary. I think the programme was a good comment on the diminishing role of the male in society.
There were some good one liners in it, although I can't say it had me spellbound, I still thought it worth watching till the end.
06-01-2009, 05:37 AM
Having now watched it, it was not bad, not great, but hardly anything to get your knickers in a twist about re: complaints and all the rest of it.