View Full Version : Question Edinburgh's burning?

19-12-2008, 09:27 PM
Rumours reaching me that both the building next to Rick's bar and Khushi's restaurant on Victoria Street are in flames right now. Apparently a fair bit of the West End and Victoria Street itself both closed.

Anyone know if this is true?

19-12-2008, 09:28 PM
http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/scotland/edinburgh_and_east/7793057.stm - answers my question

19-12-2008, 09:30 PM
confirmed. 2 massive fires in the toon,according to bbc

19-12-2008, 09:33 PM
Weird one this....:confused:

19-12-2008, 09:37 PM
Not liquid rooms!:boo hoo:

19-12-2008, 09:37 PM
Do the smellies not have a shop on Fredrick ST:confused: hope so:greengrin

Hanny
19-12-2008, 09:39 PM
Just on the news. Large fire in Victoria St and another fire at a shop in Frederick St. No reports of casualties.

Not sounding good.

19-12-2008, 09:45 PM
Just on the news. Large fire in Victoria St and another fire at a shop in Frederick St. No reports of casualties.

Not sounding good.

Liquid Rooms and an Indian Restraunt apparently.

Hanny
19-12-2008, 09:48 PM
Liquid Rooms and an Indian Restraunt apparently.

Aye, it's Kushi's and the buildings next door by the sound of it.

Mister P
19-12-2008, 10:05 PM
insurance job...credit crunch and possible administration :dunno:

just starting rumours here obviously

scotta3832
19-12-2008, 10:10 PM
Khushi's restaurant on Victoria Street are in flames right now.

Thats what i call Korma, I mean karma:cool2:

whereswallace?
19-12-2008, 10:11 PM
FFS...Works nite out tomorrow,guess where we were booked for a curry..... :grr: :grr: :grr:

Newhaven
19-12-2008, 10:20 PM
Kushi's again :confused:

http://edinburghnews.scotsman.com/edinburgh?articleid=4374511

PapillonVert
19-12-2008, 10:25 PM

The dress rehearsal?

Don Giovanni
19-12-2008, 10:37 PM

Hope the Liquid Rooms somehow survives. One of the (very) few good venues in Edinburgh both for live music and club nights. :grr: Many a good night spent there. Enjoyed Finigans Wake as well.

Major fires in Edinburgh are rare, thankfully. I can only think of a couple in the past 5 years or more, Parsons Peebles (sp.) and the Gilded Balloon. So to have three major/significant fires around the same time on the same night is bizare.

At least no-one appears to have been hurt in these incidents.

horseman
19-12-2008, 10:48 PM
this sucks big time !

liquid rooms is the best live music venue in the toon

where else can the beat play ?

motherf@*cker

Ally
19-12-2008, 10:52 PM
Liquid rooms is in the basement of kushi's so it might be ok...

Newhaven
19-12-2008, 11:12 PM
Fire under control - no damage to the liquid rooms

hibbybob
19-12-2008, 11:29 PM
Fire under control - no damage to the liquid rooms

Have tickets for the Rezillos on Monday ....... can't see that going ahead! :bitchy::boo hoo:

19-12-2008, 11:49 PM
At the risk of souding trite, hopefully nobody is hurt in any way, thats what really matters.

hibbybob
19-12-2008, 11:51 PM
At the risk of souding trite, hopefully nobody is hurt in any way, thats what really matters.

From the BBC article posted above: "Lothian and Borders Fire and Rescue Service said the scene was "chaotic" but with no reports of injuries"

20-12-2008, 12:04 AM

before you posted that, I was just thinking I remember going to the liquid rooms in August after a fringe show only to see most of the street cordoned off cos of a fire above. weird that it's happened again.

20-12-2008, 12:35 AM
from the BBC http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/scotland/edinburgh_and_east/7793057.stm

20-12-2008, 07:43 AM
From what I hear, it was some kind of explosion at Rick's possibly caused by a small gas cannister.

Liquid Rooms itself not damaged directly by fire, but has got substantial water damage from the Fire Services putting out the blaze above it.

20-12-2008, 07:55 AM
FFS...Works nite out tomorrow,guess where we were booked for a curry..... :grr: :grr: :grr:One things for sure ....yer curry will be HOT !!!!....:duck:

20-12-2008, 11:20 AM
Wow! Was I really that drunk in the grassmarket last night and wasn't aware of any of this going on :confused:

Chez
21-12-2008, 05:44 PM
One things for sure ....yer curry will be HOT !!!!....:duck:

:faf::faf:

mglancy23
23-12-2008, 11:40 AM
http://edinburghnews.scotsman.com/topstories/Blaze-flood-damage-forces-Liquid.4817669.jp

:grr::grr::grr::grr::grr::boo hoo::boo hoo::boo hoo::boo hoo::boo hoo:

Sick Boy
23-12-2008, 12:00 PM
http://www.liquidroom.com/

"DEAR ALL,

IT IS WITH GREAT SADNESS THAT WE ANNOUNCE THAT THE LIQUID ROOM IS NO MORE....FOR THE TIME BEING. AFTER THE HORRENDOUS FIRE THAT RIPPED THROUGH KHUSHI'S ON FRIDAY NIGHT, WE HAVE UNFORTUNATELY BEEN THE VICTIM OF SEVERE WATER DAMAGE AND INTERNAL STRUCTURE COLLAPSE. AS YOU CAN IMAGINE WE ARE ALL IN SHOCK AND DEEPLY SADDENED BY THE LOSS OF AN EDINBURGH INSTITUTION , ESPECIALLY AT THIS TIME OF YEAR.
HOWEVER, WE ARE LOOKING TO THE FUTURE AND WILL BE BACK IN 2009 BIGGER AND BETTER THAN BEFORE. WE WANT TO THANK EVERYONE IN THE INDUSTRY FOR THEIR OVERWHELMING SUPPORT AT THIS TIME. IT REALLY MEANS A LOT.
WE WILL HAVE AN OFFICE UP AND RUNNING IN THE NEW YEAR WHERE ALL EMAILS AND PHONE CALLS WILL BE DIRECTED TO. CONTACTS DETAILS WILL BE THE SAME, BUT PLEASE BE PATIENT WHILE WE GET BACK ON OUR FEET.
ALL CHRISTMAS CLUBS INCLUDING STEREOTYPE AT NEW YEAR WILL NOW BE AT 'FAITH'.
ALL CHRISTMAS GIGS WILL NOW BE AT THE 'PICTURE HOUSE'.

ALL TIMES AND PRICES FOR ALL EVENTS WILL STAY THE SAME.

PROMOTERS, AGENTS AND ANY OTHER FORMAL BUSINESS CAN GET KATH - [email protected] or on my mobile.

WE WISH YOU ALL A VERY MERRY CHRISTMAS AND A HAPPY NEW YEAR!!!
LOVE FROM MICK, KATH AND ALL THE LIQUIDROOM TEAM."

23-12-2008, 02:22 PM
insurance job...credit crunch and possible administration :dunno:

just starting rumours here obviously

Aye, there are times when a wee fire can be an awfy handy thing.... :cool2:

The BPBS'll be going up any day now.

21-04-2023, 09:26 PM
I see it’s happened again with Khushi’s Dunfermline branch. Once is unlucky. Twice is unfortunate. Three times… well…

Edit: it seems to be above the restaurant. No idea if that’s part of the restaurant.