:bitchy:

Pretty tenuous link no :dunno:

WeAreHibs
17-12-2008, 07:31 PM
is it?

why?

Arch Stanton
17-12-2008, 07:35 PM
He could be playing for any club really - it isn't the point. I feel sorry for him really - he is obviously messed up.

17-12-2008, 07:36 PM
is it?

why?

Sorry bud, I like winding them up as much as the next man but a story about a young footballer with what looks like a few mental problems and who doesn't even play for them anymore doesn't rock my boat.

Just my opinion likes.

17-12-2008, 07:38 PM
Sorry bud, I like winding them up as much as the next man but a story about a young footballer with what looks like a few mental problems and who doesn't even play for them anymore doesn't rock my boat.

Just my opinion likes.

It gets a bit cringey if we use things like this as a stick to beat all Yams with. Same with the Rix case. Let it go, people.

blaikie
17-12-2008, 07:42 PM
http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/scotland/glasgow_and_west/7788669.stm

I wouldn't highlight this case on a football forum :agree:
The guy has serious problems and it now looks like his career is finished.

Mogsy
17-12-2008, 07:59 PM
Is this what the Yanks mean by "a drive-by shooting"...?

I'll get my coat.

17-12-2008, 08:02 PM
Hopefully the guy gets himself sorted out and rids himself of this beastly behaviour.

Credit to Clyde for standing by him and giving him a final chance.

Agree with OP though - Chalk another one up for the Jambos in view of their ex manager and two recent cases involving their fans being added to "the register" (soon to be known as Hearts customer database) .

HenryMonk
17-12-2008, 08:30 PM
pervert was groomed at hearts so thats good enough for me. hope its no anybodys wife or daughter from this board he picks on next.

straight to the hearts customer database for him

capitals_finest
17-12-2008, 08:35 PM
He could be playing for any club really - it isn't the point. I feel sorry for him really - he is obviously messed up.

Not as messy as his dash board... :offski:

20 years old and behaving like this. :bitchy: Silly boy.

17-12-2008, 08:38 PM

It gets a bit cringey if we use things like this as a stick to beat all Yams with. Same with the Rix case. Let it go, people.

Not the same thing at all.

Ivan Drago
17-12-2008, 08:44 PM

Aye, one's a young lad with probable mental problems who was hearts youth player, before the incidents took place - the other was already a convicted sex offender who was potrayed a "hero" by the owner of Hearts.

Im sure wee Airdrie Jambo agrees too :agree:

mickeythehibbee
17-12-2008, 08:46 PM
pervert was groomed at hearts so thats good enough for me. hope its no anybodys wife or daughter from this board he picks on next.

straight to the hearts customer database for him

Hmmm yeah, just happening to be at a club means that they "groomed him". Just the same way that if i were to turn into a sex mad fiend i'd be willing to bet you would say that Boot's the chemist have been "grooming" me! :bitchy:

Saying that something like this has anything to do with them over the road is pointless and has no basis. A thread like this should be kept away from the football forums :agree:

17-12-2008, 08:48 PM

It is the same thing from this point of view. I'm certain that most posts on here relating to Rix are there for petty pointscoring, and not out of any actual concern over what Rix did. Now this example is being used for petty pointscoring as well.

Using Rix as some sort of cyber weapon in a hibs.net vs bareback.co.uk fight just seems wrong, and actually takes away from the seriousness of these crimes.

IMO, of course.

Austinho
17-12-2008, 08:48 PM
I think with the amount of vermin/reptiles style abuse directed towards Hibs fans, and the number of them that use the (unproven) John Lesley case to label us all sex pests, Hibs fans are always going to revel in another addition to the growing list of sex offenders playing/managing/supporting Hearts.

I do feel sorry for this individual though, and its a shame that because being a footballer, this has received more media attention than necessary.

17-12-2008, 08:53 PM
It is the same thing from this point of view. I'm certain that most posts on here relating to Rix are there for petty pointscoring, and not out of any actual concern over what Rix did. Now this example is being used for petty pointscoring as well.

Using Rix as some sort of cyber weapon in a hibs.net vs bareback.co.uk fight just seems wrong, and actually takes away from the seriousness of these crimes.

IMO, of course.

I don't think it's the same at all. The main thing with Rix wasn't the crime itself or even Rix personally, it was more to do with HoMoFC, the big team, establishment club :blah: chose to appoint a convicted sex offender as manager.

17-12-2008, 08:55 PM
this has received more media attention than necessary.

Can't see why you would think that - the media will always pick up on cases like this. The fact that he's a footballer makes no difference to whether they would have reported it IMO.

mickeythehibbee
17-12-2008, 08:56 PM

IMO, of course.

I completely agree with this. It's totally unnecessary, particularly at the same time as we can criticise them about so much else :wink:

This is completely irrelevant and there is absolutely no point in this thread, particularly when the yams aren't to blame in anyway, apart from having the misfortune to have an ex player who also appears to have fairly severe mental problems :agree:

17-12-2008, 08:58 PM
I completely agree with this. It's totally unnecessary, particularly at the same time as we can criticise them about so much else :wink:

This is completely irrelevant and there is absolutely no point in this thread, particularly when the yams aren't to blame in anyway, apart from having the misfortune to have an ex player who also appears to have fairly severe mental problems :agree:

I agree with what you're saying about this thread and the young lad concerned, but for me the Romanov/Rix fiasco will always be fair game.

17-12-2008, 11:36 PM

Not really, he learned his trade at the PBS.

I liked the bit 'having sex with himself'. Isn't that most Yams do?

17-12-2008, 11:55 PM
http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/scotland/glasgow_and_west/7788669.stm

:bitchy:how very strange his actions seem to have been.this young lad obviously had/has problems which look like they are not easy to sort. no real damage done as yet,and I hope his family and doctors can help and support him. can't feel anything but sorrow for the laddie.

SvenNeil
18-12-2008, 12:38 AM
how very strange his actions seem to have been.this young lad obviously had/has problems which look like they are not easy to sort. no real damage done as yet,and I hope his family and doctors can help and support him. can't feel anything but sorrow for the laddie.

:agree: Is there much point in continuing with this thread?

18-12-2008, 06:35 AM
on one hand I feel a bit sorry for the lad, he was obviously quite a promising footballer with the world at his feet, he went to hearts and ended up with nothing but a mack and his cock in his hand standing alone in balerno.

I think all young promising players should learn from this and join hibs instead :greengrin

18-12-2008, 08:08 AM

Why not? - to point one.

How so? - to point two.

18-12-2008, 08:47 AM
on one hand I feel a bit sorry for the lad, he was obviously quite a promising footballer with the world at his feet, he went to hearts and ended up with nothing but a mack and his cock in his hand standing alone in balerno.
I think all young promising players should learn from this and join hibs instead :greengrin

That is a classic read. :faf::faf:

khib70
18-12-2008, 09:10 AM
how very strange his actions seem to have been.this young lad obviously had/has problems which look like they are not easy to sort. no real damage done as yet,and I hope his family and doctors can help and support him. can't feel anything but sorrow for the laddie.
I hope that the fact that he may or may not have "mental problems" is a comfort to the women and children he picked on.

Save your sympathy for the victims

18-12-2008, 10:34 AM

Definately not :bitchy:

"Lithgow signed for Clyde in October after he was released by Scottish Premier League club Hearts FC in the summer.
He made his debut for the club in November, just days before pleading guilty to the offences at Airdrie Sheriff Court, where he was placed on the sex offenders register and given bail."

...which means that he was most definately a Yam at the time of the offences. :agree:

The poor lad was almost certainly twisted by the turgid amoral atmosphere that surrounds Gorski Park - thank god he has now been given a chance to cleanse his mortal soul at that haven of moral rectitude that is Airdrie FC :jamboak:

BravestHibs
18-12-2008, 11:03 AM

I don't mean to pick on you Monkton but your post seems fairly reprasentative of the majority of the posts so far which is why I highlighted it. That said I can't see how this guy has greater mental health issues than someone who creeps around late at night strangling prostitutes or abducting kids yet as soon as your Peter Tobins or Myra Hindleys are mentioned then it's "Hanging's too good for them" "Gie me 10 minutes wi' them wi' nae cameras" etc. etc. The person with the real mental health issues IMO is the one that takes a life in order to try and cover a particularly vile rape. Where's their sympathy?

Sex offences are progressive, the majority of these really evil guys, like Tobin have criminal records that include lesser crimes before they eventually end up in a 5 page spread in the Sun.

Hibby D
18-12-2008, 11:48 AM
:agree: Is there much point in continuing with this thread?

We can continue it here in the Holy Ground as there are obviously a few related topics worthy of discussion - it's not something that's relevant to the main message board though

Jay
18-12-2008, 12:24 PM
I hope that the fact that he may or may not have "mental problems" is a comfort to the women and children he picked on.

I don't mean to pick on you Monkton but your post seems fairly reprasentative of the majority of the posts so far which is why I highlighted it. That said I can't see how this guy has greater mental health issues than someone who creeps around late at night strangling prostitutes or abducting kids yet as soon as your Peter Tobins or Myra Hindleys are mentioned then it's "Hanging's too good for them" "Gie me 10 minutes wi' them wi' nae cameras" etc. etc. The person with the real mental health issues IMO is the one that takes a life in order to try and cover a particularly vile rape. Where's their sympathy?

Sex offences are progressive, the majority of these really evil guys, like Tobin have criminal records that include lesser crimes before they eventually end up in a 5 page spread in the Sun.

Thank goodness for these two posts. I read this thread feeling guilty that I felt no sorrow for the guy. I was just glad he was caught and is hopefully receiving treatment, whether that treatment works or not is another matter but I suppose at least he is now known to the powers that be. What would the next step be?? He was progressing in his his crimes having gone from inside the car to outside. Mums with babies being his target - sounds dangerous stuff to me. Maybe no major harm done now although I doubt if his victims would say the same but who knows where it could lead.

and a cheap shot at the yams means nothing, whether he was a joiner of a footballer the sooner he was caught the better.

Hibs On Tour
18-12-2008, 12:25 PM

Fluck feeling sorry for him. Feel sorry for the poor blameless women to had to suffer this asrehole making a tit of himself in front of them. Fed up of all this 'be nice to nonces' pish to be honest - not like there are any excuses for such behavour. Throw the book at him, I say. I'll save my feelings for the 'good' in society rather than the dross like this melon... :bitchy:

Hibs On Tour
18-12-2008, 12:26 PM

What he said! :agree:

Arch Stanton
18-12-2008, 12:36 PM
Fluck feeling sorry for him. Feel sorry for the poor blameless women to had to suffer this asrehole making a tit of himself in front of them. Fed up of all this 'be nice to nonces' pish to be honest - not like there are any excuses for such behavour. Throw the book at him, I say. I'll save my feelings for the 'good' in society rather than the dross like this melon... :bitchy:

And what in hell makes you think you have a more empathetic attitude to victims than I do?

As far as I can see your post shows that you are singularly lacking in any kind of empathy.

18-12-2008, 12:45 PM
And what in hell makes you think you have a more empathetic attitude to victims than I do?

As far as I can see your post shows that you are singularly lacking in any kind of empathy.

nae need to get crabit FFS:greengrin

Arch Stanton
18-12-2008, 01:40 PM
nae need to get crabit FFS:greengrin

You could be right there hairy fella. I kinda thought the nic was self-depracating and amusing when I thought it up but maybe it was nearer the mark than I would care to admit.

18-12-2008, 02:57 PM

From John Brown's quoted statement, Clyde are prepared to offer the guy help. His career isn't over, though I suspect he'll be struggling to resurrect it after this.

"Lithgow signed for Clyde in October after he was released by Scottish Premier League club Hearts FC in the summer.
He made his debut for the club in November, just days before pleading guilty to the offences at Airdrie Sheriff Court, where he was placed on the sex offenders register and given bail."

...which means that he was most definately a Yam at the time of the offences. :agree:

The poor lad was almost certainly twisted by the turgid amoral atmosphere that surrounds Gorski Park - thank god he has now been given a chance to cleanse his mortal soul at that haven of moral rectitude that is Airdrie FC :jamboak:

Airdrie? The laddie plays for CLYDE. But if you're implying that Airdrie United is the sort of club that would encourage sex offenders to continue offending, you're way off the mark. And if you're suggesting that the folks who live in Airdrie are some sort of moral degenerates, that includes me and a lot of my friends and is a suggestion I find HIGHLY OFFENSIVE.

The way I view this story is that the guy needs help urgently. Hearts knew about his problems and ditched him before the case came to court - presumably to avoid embarrassment. Clyde (IMO to their credit) have stepped in to offer him a second chance and Brown, his present boss, has been sufficiently responsible to actually appear at the court to witness proceedings and support his player, who is a young man with his whole life ahead of him.

From my reading neither Brown nor Clyde are making excuses for him - they appear to be taking the matter seriously, both from the offender's perspective and that of his victims. Hearts have acted very irresponsibly in dumping a clearly damaged and troubled teenager before the case has even come to court.

Lithgow may be no more than a bad apple. He may be dangerous now - I would suggest that without help in time he will be, since sex offenders usually offend more seriously as time passes. However, that progression may be reversed with timely help, wich it seems Clyde are prepared to offer, as opposed to Hearts who have simply washed their hands of the guy.

At the same time, we shouldn't discount what he did as trivial - although he "only" exposed himself to the women, they weren't to know at the time that he wasn't about to go on to rape them.

18-12-2008, 03:26 PM
Does it pss anyone off when people get away with sex offences or murder because they have 'mental' problems? Of course they fking do! That's why they abused/raped/murdered someone FFS. Doesn't mean they should get a crappy sentence.

People saying he probably has mental problems is silly IMO. He's a 20yr old who's playing football at a decent level. You would think someone would have noticed if he had serious (real mental issues) before flashing and playing with himself in a car given the large amount of people he must associate with being a footballer.

18-12-2008, 05:15 PM
Not really, he learned his trade at the PBS.

I liked the bit 'having sex with himself'. Isn't that most Yams do?

Tell that to his victims

Didnt deny he was a yam at the time and I think we have more than enough ammunition for a pop at them without using this tenuous link :greengrin

Does it pss anyone off when people get away with sex offences or murder because they have 'mental' problems? Of course they fking do! That's why they abused/raped/murdered someone FFS. Doesn't mean they should get a crappy sentence.

People saying he probably has mental problems is silly IMO. He's a 20yr old who's playing football at a decent level. You would think someone would have noticed if he had serious (real mental issues) before flashing and playing with himself in a car given the large amount of people he must associate with being a footballer.

FWIW I thought the OP was a poor sideways swipe at the yams when we have many other better things to beat them up with - just my opinion likes :wink:

18-12-2008, 05:35 PM
We have to decide whether this thread is another cheap shot at Yams, or a serious discussion on sex crimes. Obviously, my input, and that of almost everyone else, would be different depending on what is the case.

When I originally posted, it was on the Hibs board, so I posted as if we were having another gratuitous pop at the Yams. Now that its been moved over here, I think we should all give it the gravitas it merits.

Austinho
18-12-2008, 06:18 PM
Can't see why you would think that - the media will always pick up on cases like this. The fact that he's a footballer makes no difference to whether they would have reported it IMO.It may have been reported, but the fact that the word footballer appears in the headline will always draw more attention. This thread being a prime example.

The more I think about it, the less I feel sorry for him actually - a few good points on here about sympathy towards murderers with 'mental issues'.

18-12-2008, 07:10 PM
He was performing a sex act on himself.

:shocked: He must've had a couple of ribs out to help him reach.

18-12-2008, 09:14 PM
You could be right there hairy fella. I kinda thought the nic was self-depracating and amusing when I thought it up but maybe it was nearer the mark than I would care to admit.

Aye...

19-12-2008, 07:46 AM
FWIW I thought the OP was a poor sideways swipe at the yams when we have many other better things to beat them up with - just my opinion likes :wink:

I wasn't having a go at the Yams. I was having a go at the people who make excuses for sickos. They're not right in the head etc etc. Too right they're no.

When I said that 'you would think someone would have noticed due to him being a footballer' I wasn't implying anything to do with the clubs/people he was at/is with. Apologies if it came across like that.

muz1875
19-12-2008, 10:57 PM

Spot on :top marks Was gonna say the exact same thing until I read your post.

20-12-2008, 12:51 AM
From John Brown's quoted statement, Clyde are prepared to offer the guy help. His career isn't over, though I suspect he'll be struggling to resurrect it after this.

Airdrie? The laddie plays for CLYDE. But if you're implying that Airdrie United is the sort of club that would encourage sex offenders to continue offending, you're way off the mark. And if you're suggesting that the folks who live in Airdrie are some sort of moral degenerates, that includes me and a lot of my friends and is a suggestion I find HIGHLY OFFENSIVE.

The way I view this story is that the guy needs help urgently. Hearts knew about his problems and ditched him before the case came to court - presumably to avoid embarrassment. Clyde (IMO to their credit) have stepped in to offer him a second chance and Brown, his present boss, has been sufficiently responsible to actually appear at the court to witness proceedings and support his player, who is a young man with his whole life ahead of him.

From my reading neither Brown nor Clyde are making excuses for him - they appear to be taking the matter seriously, both from the offender's perspective and that of his victims. Hearts have acted very irresponsibly in dumping a clearly damaged and troubled teenager before the case has even come to court.

Lithgow may be no more than a bad apple. He may be dangerous now - I would suggest that without help in time he will be, since sex offenders usually offend more seriously as time passes. However, that progression may be reversed with timely help, wich it seems Clyde are prepared to offer, as opposed to Hearts who have simply washed their hands of the guy.

At the same time, we shouldn't discount what he did as trivial - although he "only" exposed himself to the women, they weren't to know at the time that he wasn't about to go on to rape them.

Great post as always doddie...but it hasn't stopped the "hang the paedo" brigade coming out in force.

Behaviour such as this doesn't automatically mean he's going to become a serial sex offender. It's just a very "basic" way of displaying his emotions...he either doesn't know any differently or he's chosen that as the easy way. Either way the boy needs serious help. his reaction in court would suggest he is just in need of some guidance.

As for his "victims"...does the pain they have suffered really suit the punishment some are suggesting?

get well soon son!

Hibscouse
20-12-2008, 04:45 PM
Apologies if already posted!

http://edinburghnews.scotsman.com/latestnews/Former-Hearts-player-admits-being.4804327.jp