View Full Version : Matthews Mum Guilty
mickeythehibbee
04-12-2008, 12:17 PM
Both Karen Matthews and Michael Donovan have been found guilty on the charges relating to the kidnap of Shannon
http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/england/west_yorkshire/7763260.stm
Absolutely despicable people if you ask me. The longer there in prison the better :agree:
04-12-2008, 01:12 PM
Very easy people to dislike. I could be a bleeding heart liberal and claim it is poverty that drove them to it, but I reckon they were just greedy, lazy slobs.
The thing about this crime is it was so badly thought through you could make a black comedy out of it.
Very easy people to dislike. I could be a bleeding heart liberal and claim it is poverty that drove them to it, but I reckon they were just greedy, lazy slobs.
The thing about this crime is it was so badly thought through you could make a black comedy out of it.
Somebody said to me that they felt sorry for them to a point as it was done for the money to give them a better life!!
Well!! Firstly I dont believe if they had got the money that Shannons life would be better (or any of her siblings) the money would have been squandered in a few weeks on the parents.
Secondly no matter how poor I was I could never even begin to imagine agreeing to someone drugging my daughter and tethering her so she couldn't get away and hiding her under a bed. She must have been terrified!
Unfit parents who dont deserve to have kids.
04-12-2008, 01:34 PM
Somebody said to me that they felt sorry for them to a point as it was done for the money to give them a better life!!
Well!! Firstly I dont believe if they had got the money that Shannons life would be better (or any of her siblings) the money would have been squandered in a few weeks on the parents.
Secondly no matter how poor I was I could never even begin to imagine agreeing to someone drugging my daughter and tethering her so she couldn't get away and hiding her under a bed. She must have been terrified!
Unfit parents who dont deserve to have kids.
Yeah, it's like anyone wanting a better life for their kids these days seems to think it justifies anything. Like you say there are lots of poor people who struggle on and work hard and want a better life for their kids.
A lot of people I work with are on minumum wage, doing work that most people would run a mile from. I've never heard them once say that it's not fair and that they should be getting more "for their kids".
That's why that Rachael on the X-Factor gets on my goat. "I really, really need to win this to give my kids a chance". Newsflash, all the other contestants want to win it too for their reasons, so stop using your kids to gain an advantage. Oh, and if you're that worried for your kids, why not knuckle down and do a job?
One of the things I thought summed this lot up was the party they had when Shannon was "found". You'd be hard pressed to find a bigger bunch of Vikki Pollards and Waynetta Slobs anywhere.
The worst of it is they'll probably be feeling sorry for themselves right now, trying to blame everyone else.
Yeah, it's like anyone wanting a better life for their kids these days seems to think it justifies anything. Like you say there are lots of poor people who struggle on and work hard and want a better life for their kids.
A lot of people I work with are on minumum wage, doing work that most people would run a mile from. I've never heard them once say that it's not fair and that they should be getting more "for their kids".
That's why that Rachael on the X-Factor gets on my goat. "I really, really need to win this to give my kids a chance". Newsflash, all the other contestants want to win it too for their reasons, so stop using your kids to gain an advantage. Oh, and if you're that worried for your kids, why not knuckle down and do a job?
One of the things I thought summed this lot up was the party they had when Shannon was "found". You'd be hard pressed to find a bigger bunch of Vikki Pollards and Waynetta Slobs anywhere.
The worst of it is they'll probably be feeling sorry for themselves right now, trying to blame everyone else.
I felt the same about Rachel.
I still cant believe a mother would willingly put her 9 year old child through such an ordeal. It sickens me to the stomach.
04-12-2008, 01:54 PM
I felt the same about Rachel.
I still cant believe a mother would willingly put her 9 year old child through such an ordeal. It sickens me to the stomach.
I suppose the fairest thing you could say is that the woman isn't too bright. Hardly an excuse but maybe part of an explanation.
I agree FR but no matter how dim you are you should still have that tug of love for your kids. I know that would be in an ideal world - look at the case of baby P but I cant get my head round her knowing what was happening to her daughter and not stop it.
04-12-2008, 02:23 PM
I agree FR but no matter how dim you are you should still have that tug of love for your kids. I know that would be in an ideal world - look at the case of baby P but I cant get my head round her knowing what was happening to her daughter and not stop it.
Like you, I just can't understand how that can be lacking in a human being. Mind you I can't understand how people can send their kids away to boarding school either. I can't understand why people think it is a good idea to spend £1000 on christmas presents for a two year old. To me, both those things are bad parenting as well.
At the end of the day though, I wouldn't compare them to what happened to the Matthews child. It's just that there a lot of people out there who seem to lack what I call human instinct.
I spoke to a girl once who ran the play area at one of these Brewsters restaurants. She said that once she had to take a wee girl back to her parents because they had been naughty. The mother claimed the child wasn't hers! Not a criminal offence, but how damaging is it to the girls development?
I remember being in an IKEA in London once, and they had to page this mother for at least half an hour to tell her to collect her child from the creche.
Of course the examples I'm talking about are more examples of the parents bringing up the kids to be tough cookies, and not a direct act of abuse like happened to Shannon. I just reckon that there are a lot more people out there that shouldn't be allowed kids than is comfortable.
04-12-2008, 02:24 PM
It reads like an episode of Shameless but even the residents of Chatsworth wouldn't sink that low.
fergal7
04-12-2008, 03:43 PM
They should put something in the water supply to stop this trash breeding.
04-12-2008, 04:03 PM
They should put something in the water supply to stop this trash breeding.
:agree: :agree:
In words of one (or maybe 2) syllables
I hope she rots in hell, the low-grade, demented ****.
stu in nottingham
04-12-2008, 04:12 PM
Every so often stories come along that renew your faith in human nature. This is one that could rob you of it.
The word they used in the report is the one I would use - 'wicked'.
On the (slightly) lighter side (if there could ever be one). I liked the way the accomplice was described as a 'dimwit' in court!
04-12-2008, 07:11 PM
I cant help thinking the policeman who said she was 'pure evil' had lost his sense of proportion a bit though. What would he call Ian Brady or Fred West?:dunno:
04-12-2008, 09:12 PM
Hope they both rot in jail :agree:
To drug your child for up to a year then stage a kidnap and keep her locked up in a house is disgusting...
Ivan Drago
04-12-2008, 09:35 PM
It has to be officially the stupidest plan to ever hit the national news.
The gadge was gonnae find her in a car park and wee Shannon wasn't going to say a thing and the police wouldnt realise that it was that peado's uncle.
**** me, it's a million miles from normal society :bitchy:
05-12-2008, 09:48 AM
Did that freaky looking boyfriend no turn out to be a pedo and got caught wi loads of images on the computer?
You should be strung up wi the baws.
05-12-2008, 10:54 AM
I cant help thinking the policeman who said she was 'pure evil' had lost his sense of proportion a bit though. What would he call Ian Brady or Fred West?:dunno:
Yeah, at the end of the day these aren't particularly evil people, wicked, stupid, selfish, but in mitigation I'd say they didn't have the capacity to understand their cruellty. The two you mentioned definitely did, and enjoyed it.
Think the best description I heard of the mother was that she was unable to put her child's needs in front of her own. That's not the same thing as torture.
It has to be officially the stupidest plan to ever hit the national news.
The gadge was gonnae find her in a car park and wee Shannon wasn't going to say a thing and the police wouldnt realise that it was that peado's uncle.
**** me, it's a million miles from normal society :bitchy:
I reckon it's a lot closer than people think, or care to admit.
Yeah, at the end of the day these aren't particularly evil people, wicked, stupid, selfish, but in mitigation I'd say they didn't have the capacity to understand their cruellty. The two you mentioned definitely did, and enjoyed it.
Think the best description I heard of the mother was that she was unable ti out her child's needs in front of her own. That's not the same thing as torture.
I reckon it's a lot closer than people think, or care to admit.
I agree that evil isn't the right word. Evil should be kept for people like Tobin. They are just greedy, nasty, worthless lowlife members of society and thankfully Shannon was found before anything serious did happen to her.
stu in nottingham
05-12-2008, 01:02 PM
Think the best description I heard of the mother was that she was unable to put her child's needs in front of her own.
I think she was able but chose not to.
05-12-2008, 01:28 PM
I agree that evil isn't the right word. Evil should be kept for people like Tobin. They are just greedy, nasty, worthless lowlife members of society and thankfully Shannon was found before anything serious did happen to her.
Serious enough, Jill.
I'd be very surprised if that wee girl hasn't been neglected and abused in a variety of ways by her mother and the rest of the family.
How seriously, who knows, but being confined under a bed? Tied up and kept in the house? Wassn't she being drugged as well?
If the family were prepared to go that far, how much farther might they already have gone?
I just hope the lassie gets a really good foster home with really caring people.
Serious enough, Jill.
I'd be very surprised if that wee girl hasn't been neglected and abused in a variety of ways by her mother and the rest of the family.
How seriously, who knows, but being confined under a bed? Tied up and kept in the house? Wassn't she being drugged as well?
If the family were prepared to go that far, how much farther might they already have gone?
I just hope the lassie gets a really good foster home with really caring people.
According to the telly this morning she is in a safe happy enviroment now being well looked after. I hope she is as far away from her hometown as possible and making a new start in life. Hopefully her siblings are getting the same treatment too.
In a perverted way this is a good thing to happen to her. She is now out of that "family environment" and will probably be cared for properly. If this whole sorry episode never happened she would have been another layer of this disfunctional underclass.
This Karen woman has scores of children by several different men. This "I want something for nothing" attitude is the root cause of this ordeal. What's to stop them breeding like rats? As it was said in the documentary...the more kids you have, the less you are able to contribute to society and the more you are entitled to.
I'd love to have seven kids but I simply can't afford to because I'm a net contributer to society. I work hard to pay my mortgage and pay taxes left, right and centre. Part of me is thinking about just jacking it all in and breeding like this underclass does. why not? Someone else will pick up the tab for my house and benefits. You're only here for a visit so what do you have to lose?
I've always been a big supporter of forms of socialism and the welfare state but people like this are making me think again. The way the system operates today is producing this underclass who have no sense of personal responsibility and are breeding like rats because it gives them greater reward. The way it's going they are going to outnumber the hard working taxpayers who are funding their lifestyle!
When you look at the human race as a whole...we seem to be encouraging the wrong specimins to reproduce!
I think you should have to apply for a licence before you have a child. You should have to prove that you can support it economically and emotionally before you're allowed to bring it into the world. I would even go as far as to sterilise the whole lot of us and only allow those who fit the criteria to reproduce. We have the technology to do so and would eliminate this underclass at a stroke.
I'm absolutely sick to the back teeth of funding these peoples lifestyles.
06-12-2008, 07:50 AM
Seems like she's finally got a job, as a cleaner in the Prison. :applause:
She's the oldest looking 33yr old I've ever seen, looks more like 63. :sick: