View Full Version : Weather Warning

Ivan Drago
03-12-2008, 01:34 PM
Be warned :greengrin

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/scotland/7762408.stm

bigstu
03-12-2008, 01:41 PM
There's a warning for up here too, i live out in the country and we had a load of snow on Monday night and the roads were mayhem on Tuesday so i dred to think what it'll be like tomorrow :brickwall

Chuckie
03-12-2008, 03:09 PM
Aw *****e man...

I'm flying from Prestwick in the morning...

:worried:

Anyone willing to sell me some valium ?

03-12-2008, 03:11 PM
Aw *****e man...

I'm flying from Prestwick in the morning...

:worried:

Anyone willing to sell me some valium ?I tend to think that lashings of vodka is a good alternative ....:party:

Chuckie
03-12-2008, 03:16 PM
I tend to think that lashings of vodka is a good alternative ....:party:

The flights at 9a.m..

It will need to be sprinkled on my muesli...

Good shout though...

Anyone ken if there is a chance flights might be grounded ??

03-12-2008, 03:20 PM
The flights at 9a.m..

It will need to be sprinkled on my muesli...

Good shout though...

Anyone ken if there is a chance flights might be grounded ??Never stopped me mate ...:greengrin..have a safe journey anyway..:aok:

Chuckie
03-12-2008, 03:26 PM
Never stopped me mate ...:greengrin..have a safe journey anyway..:aok:

:cheers:

Here's to voddie and orange for breakfast...

03-12-2008, 03:34 PM
Usually have a couple of Bloody Marys in the lounge before getting the 0600 hrs. Sets you up fine for the day so it does!!! :thumbsup:

Chuckie
03-12-2008, 03:38 PM
Usually have a couple of Bloody Marys in the lounge before getting the 0600 hrs. Sets you up fine for the day so it does!!! :thumbsup:

Funny you should say so..

I was speaking to a colleague the other day and he swears by them pre flight..

Is this a well known custom or pure coincidence ?

Brando7
03-12-2008, 04:06 PM
Email I just recieved

BLIZZARDS and heavy snow are heading for the Lothians as temperatures plunge as low as minus four.

The Met Office has issued a warning of "severe or extreme weather" in Edinburgh and the surrounding area tomorrow. Snow is expected to fall for at least six hours overnight, with the highest areas worse affected.

Some parts of the Lothians saw snow falls last night.

The city council has gritters, snow ploughs and mini-tractors on hand to deal with emergencies. They have 80 staff on-call ready to grit roads.

Helen Chivers, a forecaster at the Met Office, said the temperature had dropped to minus four degrees centigrade yesterday and the cold snap was expected to continue.

She said: "It will be a sunny, frosty day today, but there will be a change overnight into Thursday. There will be snow coming in from Thursday morning.

"It looks as though it will reach the Lothians at midnight. Then there will be snow on and off for the rest of the night.

"It will be more sleety in Edinburgh, but there will be a lot of snow in the higher areas.

"I don't think there'll be any area which won't see a flake or two. There will be about six hours worth of snow and there'll be a great deal around by morning – around 10 or 15 centimetres.

"It may well drift over the hills, as there'll be quite strong southerly winds. There could even be blizzard conditions."

However, it is not all bad news, as while it will stay cold for the next couple of weeks, forecasters expect this winter on average to be warmer than normal.

A spokeswoman for Edinburgh City Council said they were receiving detailed forecasts and monitoring weather and road conditions. They have emergency plans in place to deal with icy roads.

She said: "Operations are planned in advance and priorities are determined within our network of 1480 kilometres of roads and 2700 km of footways.

"At any given time during winter, we have approximately 80 staff on-call to deal with any winter roads emergencies.

"We have 26 gritters, which also work as snow ploughs, and 12 mini-tractors available to work to clear roads when necessary."

Police today warned motorists to take extra care on the roads though only minor accidents have been reported.

04-12-2008, 04:25 AM
Funny you should say so..

I was speaking to a colleague the other day and he swears by them pre flight..

Is this a well known custom or pure coincidence ?

Dunno mate. I just don't feel guilty drinking tomato juice but would feel like a jakey having a G&T at that time of day (unless of course it was still from the previous night!!)

Ants
04-12-2008, 05:56 AM
BEWARE:-
The bad weather is lurking......somewhere, but not in Edinburgh.:brickwall

Thats the sledge away for another day.

Chuckie
04-12-2008, 06:47 AM
Nae blizzards in the weej either.. They weather gadgies are full of it.. Mon the voddie..