View Full Version : Tobin - Guilty
RoslinInstHibby
02-12-2008, 03:38 PM
must serve a minimum of 30 years
PC Stamp
02-12-2008, 03:46 PM
must serve a minimum of 30 years
He's already serving life for the murder of the Polish lassie in Glasgow is he not?
He was likely to be spending the rest of his life in jail anyway and should have just owned up to Vicky Hamilton's murder and saved everyone a lot of grief and heartache.
Personally I'd shoot him :devil: .... but that can't happen so as he's aged 62 and is considered to be in relatively poor health it can only be hoped that he won't hang around too long to be a burden on the tax payer.
02-12-2008, 03:54 PM
Why do folk get Donald Findlay QC?
Whenever you see his name you think, "that fella is guilty".
Defending the indefensable.
sg7nil
02-12-2008, 03:57 PM
He's already serving life for the murder of the Polish lassie in Glasgow is he not?
He was likely to be spending the rest of his life in jail anyway and should have just owned up to Vicky Hamilton's murder and saved everyone a lot of grief and heartache.
Personally I'd shoot him. :devil:
Too good and quick for him...
I'd tie him to a post and let folk hit him with baseball bats (only in painful - non-fatal areas) keeping him alive and in excruciating pain for as long as possible.
Alternatively there is always the garrotte as used previously in Spain!
Seriously though... what's the chances that in a few years time there will be some bleeding heart liberals who will start a campaign to get him out and back "into society"?
02-12-2008, 04:33 PM
Personally I'd shoot him :devil: .... but that can't happen so as he's aged 62 and is considered to be in relatively poor health it can only be hoped that he won't hang around too long to be a burden on the tax payer.
Aye, but it's a game for these guys, Cliff.
Mess people around and cause as much pain as possible to as many people a possible.
He's done worse than many who've been given the 8-foot drop.
02-12-2008, 04:39 PM
A I alone in wondering if Mr Findlay actually gets a buzz out of defending these extreme cases?
Apparently he decided he wanted to be a defence counsel when he was a wee boy - his inspiration was (as I've heard) the Peter Manuel case. SEVEN years old.
Now THAT makes me wonder about him. :cool2:
http://www.eveningtimes.co.uk/news/display.var.2466877.0.killer_inspired_top_qc_to_ta ke_up_law.php
02-12-2008, 05:01 PM
I wondered what the big police presence in Dundee was today - wasn't until I seen the huge escort leaving the Court that it clicked.
Hope he dies an agonising death, but a fairly quick one, to save much of the tax payers money being wasted on him.
02-12-2008, 05:17 PM
:agree: Agree - no-hoper who only ever seems to use one tactic - lodge a special defence of alibi.
02-12-2008, 05:23 PM
In fairness to Findlay, do advocates not follow the "cab rank principle". They have to take cases that are referred to them if they are next on the list, and they can't turn it down?
02-12-2008, 08:41 PM
Although I don't know them, Vicky Hamilton's family originally come from near where I stay (I don't know if they still live there). I am delighted that they have got a bit of closure with today's verdict and hope that after 17 years, they can finally start to move on with their lives and that Vicky can finally rest in peace.
As for that vile excuse for a human being, I sincerely hope he rots in Hell.
majorhibs
02-12-2008, 10:09 PM
In fairness to Findlay, do advocates not follow the "cab rank principle". They have to take cases that are referred to them if they are next on the list, and they can't turn it down?
Stop it! Findlay works on cases that put him on front pages, nae matter how the public he allegedly represents view them. A press junkie who's addiction leads him to handling cases decent human beings look at him with abhorrence. He seeks cases for his "profile" and his social circle deserve each other.
Hibbie_Cameron
02-12-2008, 11:32 PM
Seen on Sky News earlier that they think up 12 other missing girls may have been linked to Tobin and they are looking into it.
Seeing his evil puss on tv earlier made me think that a 30 year jail sentence is no punishment at all for this ****bag
blaikie
02-12-2008, 11:39 PM
Seen on Sky News earlier that they think up 12 other missing girls may have been linked to Tobin and they are looking into it.
Seeing his evil puss on tv earlier made me think that a 30 year jail sentence is no punishment at all for this ****bag
I seen online that he could be "bible john" :bitchy: The guy is just pure evil :bitchy:
03-12-2008, 07:09 AM
Does Findlay work for free?? If not, how does the likes of Tobin afford him?? :confused:
03-12-2008, 07:15 AM
Does Findlay work for free?? If not, how does the likes of Tobin afford him?? :confused:
Is he not an Advocate? If so you get them through legal aid if there's the need.
03-12-2008, 08:12 AM
Does Findlay work for free?? If not, how does the likes of Tobin afford him?? :confused: Donald Findlay is a senior Advocate and Queens Counsel, Tobin would have had legal aid to secure his services.
03-12-2008, 09:37 AM
Cheers :agree:
03-12-2008, 09:50 AM
Cant help thinking that Tobin should have been linked to this earlier especially when he raped 2 teenagers down south a couple of years after Vicky Hamilton had gone missing. I would have thought at that time him staying in Bathgate would have come to light, maybe not. I suppose the purse being placed at St Andrews bus station may have led the police to believe the girl had ran away.
Totally horrible case and only hope that the girl's family can get some peace now at least having knowing what happened to her may do this though not so sure.
03-12-2008, 11:38 AM
Stop it! Findlay works on cases that put him on front pages, nae matter how the public he allegedly represents view them. A press junkie who's addiction leads him to handling cases decent human beings look at him with abhorrence. He seeks cases for his "profile" and his social circle deserve each other.
Well if that's a fact then he's not a very nice bloke. I know English barristers can't pick and chose cases, maybe the Scottish system is different?
03-12-2008, 11:55 AM
I'm sure he also gets the long drawn out and controversial cases that are no doubt a massive burden to taxpayers and line his pockets with millions.
woodythehibee
03-12-2008, 06:08 PM
Well if that's a fact then he's not a very nice bloke. I know English barristers can't pick and chose cases, maybe the Scottish system is different?
don't think they can pick and choose their cases here just like a person claiming legal aid cannot pick and choose a lawyer. you get what your given i'm sure :agree:
03-12-2008, 08:44 PM
don't think they can pick and choose their cases here just like a person claiming legal aid cannot pick and choose a lawyer. you get what your given i'm sure :agree:
Then Findlay has the most amazing knack of just happening to be picked for the nastiest and most widely-publicised cases.
He gives me the creeps.
AndyM_1875
04-12-2008, 08:07 AM
Defendants can request representation from whoever is available. If muttonchops is available then you can ask for him and the taxpayer will pick up the tab. If he's not then there are other leading defence councillors like Gordon Jackson QC.
Findlay despite his recent appalling record of lost cases is still reckoned to be one of the most successfull in tearing down prosecution cases as he did most notably when he got Paul Ferris off. Some legal friends of mine think he's still trading off this success.
06-12-2008, 09:54 AM
Defendants can request representation from whoever is available. If muttonchops is available then you can ask for him and the taxpayer will pick up the tab. If he's not then there are other leading defence councillors like Gordon Jackson QC.
Findlay despite his recent appalling record of lost cases is still reckoned to be one of the most successfull in tearing down prosecution cases as he did most notably when he got Paul Ferris off. Some legal friends of mine think he's still trading off this success.
Was just gonna ask about whether he had won a case before, he never seems to!