View Full Version : Bowls
Played there a couple of times Stu and have to agree. I really don't like slagging other clubs green but sometimes it is just so bad, you wonder why anybody would really want to play on such surfaces, it surely can't be enjoyable.
On a happier note, myself and my wife Les, successfully defended our mixed pairs title down at the Northern yesterday, much to Lesley's delight :thumbsup:Nooooooo !!!! the whole reason i took up the game of bowls was so i could get away from my wife !!!!!! :greengrin
Well done both ...:thumbsup:
Nooooooo !!!! the whole reason i took up the game of bowls was so i could get away from my wife !!!!!! :greengrin
Well done both ...:thumbsup:
Cheers Kenny, it was a great day out.
Unlike yourself, I am actually trying to entice Les to play the game a bit more, she quite enjoys it too. The state the game of bowls is in at the moment, we are trying to get anyone and everyone interested in playing in attempt to help our club survive these difficult times.
Of course there is also the small fact that I actually do love my wife and am more than happy for her coming down the club and buying me drink :wink: :greengrin
Cheers Kenny, it was a great day out.
Unlike yourself, I am actually trying to entice Les to play the game a bit more, she quite enjoys it too. The state the game of bowls is in at the moment, we are trying to get anyone and everyone interested in playing in attempt to help our club survive these difficult times.
Of course there also the small fact that I actually do love my wife and am more than happy for her coming down the club and buying me drink :wink: :greengrinOf course Mike ..nae worries aboot that mate & i agree the sport of bowls is dwindling & needs as much support as possible ....:thumbsup:
I love my wife too mate .....esp when she has my tea on the table after a hard days graft on the green ....:greengrin
Of course Mike ..nae worries aboot that mate & i agree the sport of bowls is dwindling & needs as much support as possible ....:thumbsup:
I love my wife too mate .....esp when she has my tea on the table after a hard days graft on the green ....:greengrin
and of course having a newly washed and ironed white shirt ready for league nights etc :wink: :greengrin
and of course having a newly washed and ironed white shirt ready for league nights etc :wink: :greengrinI do that myself Mike...the wife washed my beloved crisp white shirt only for it to come out a rather dodgy light shade o PINK !!! :embarrass ....somehow i wasnae gonna wear that along tae the Jewel club !!! :greengrin
tanfield
20-07-2009, 01:48 PM
Yes, well done Mike. Northern also through to the EBL cup final I here so all going well.:thumbsup:
Through to the semis of the championship. Fortunately my opponent was on a bender last night as I didnae play to well. Won't last much longer unless I can improve - too many wild ends at the moment.:agree:
I do that myself Mike...the wife washed my beloved crisp white shirt only for it to come out a rather dodgy light shade o PINK !!! :embarrass ....somehow i wasnae gonna wear that along tae the Jewel club !!! :greengrin
A wee tip for you to try Kenny, if you still have the shirt.
Buy a packet of 'Nappisan' available from Tesco and probably most other supermarkets, and soak your shirt overnight in this with warm water.
My sister did exactly the same thing to my shirt a couple of years ago when I visited her in Oz. An overnight soaking and the shirt was as good as new again, it's really good stuff this Nappisan for getting stubborn stains out.
Yes, well done Mike. Northern also through to the EBL cup final I here so all going well.:thumbsup:
Through to the semis of the championship. Fortunately my opponent was on a bender last night as I didnae play to well. Won't last much longer unless I can improve - too many wild ends at the moment.:agree:
Won my 1/4 final last night too Andrew, and with the sound of it, played very similar to yourself. As I was short priced favourite to win this one, the scoreline will look comfortable at 21-13, however at 11-13 down, I looked in trouble as the auld fellae I was playing was having a great game, and I wasn't quite as consistant as I would have normally expected/hoped. However, a 3 was followed by a 4, 2, 1 and game over but I can tell you, it was a struggle.
I am now in the fortunate/unfortunate position of maybe having a 'bye' into the final. I believe my opponent is still on holiday when the semi-final ON date is scheduled for.
I personally wouldn't like to get a 'walk-over' in the semi but I don't really see the alternative. Every year, the semi-final of the Championship is played on the Monday, with the final played on the Friday, it has been like that for as long as I can remember, and the club insist NO EXTENSIONS, especially for HOLIDAYS. If they break their own rule, they will open the floodgates for every player in every competition in the future to apply for extensions and the seasons will end up a mess.
I generally bend over backwards to help people fulfill their ties, I seem to have to do it every year, and I would hate to not play in the semi-final, but if the club stick to their guns, I can well understand why they would do it.
For the life of me, I don't understand why anyone would enter a competition when they know full well they will not make a semi-final or final.
I am glad I am not on the matches committee for this decision.
Hope my opponent is holidaying in the UK and he can return a couple of days early to play the game, that would be the ideal solution.
sg7nil
22-07-2009, 08:43 AM
Won my 1/4 final last night too Andrew, and with the sound of it, played very similar to yourself. As I was short priced favourite to win this one, the scoreline will look comfortable at 21-13, however at 11-13 down, I looked in trouble as the auld fellae I was playing was having a great game, and I wasn't quite as consistant as I would have normally expected/hoped. However, a 3 was followed by a 4, 2, 1 and game over but I can tell you, it was a struggle.
I am now in the fortunate/unfortunate position of maybe having a 'bye' into the final. I believe my opponent is still on holiday when the semi-final ON date is scheduled for.
I personally wouldn't like to get a 'walk-over' in the semi but I don't really see the alternative. Every year, the semi-final of the Championship is played on the Monday, with the final played on the Friday, it has been like that for as long as I can remember, and the club insist NO EXTENSIONS, especially for HOLIDAYS. If they break their own rule, they will open the floodgates for every player in every competition in the future to apply for extensions and the seasons will end up a mess.
I generally bend over backwards to help people fulfill their ties, I seem to have to do it every year, and I would hate to not play in the semi-final, but if the club stick to their guns, I can well understand why they would do it.
For the life of me, I don't understand why anyone would enter a competition when they know full well they will not make a semi-final or final.
I am glad I am not on the matches committee for this decision.
Hope my opponent is holidaying in the UK and he can return a couple of days early to play the game, that would be the ideal solution.
Seafield (or will that be Seapond ????) will be welcoming the Northerners tonight.
Look forward to seeing you all, and I may even bring my sponsorship form for the Longest day of golf challenge down (shameless plug - see threads elsewhere on Hibs.net for the full details:agree:) and see if I can fleece any of you to dip into your pockets:wink:.
Us (elite) athletes :faf: need our beauty sleep so I better not drink too much tonight or be out too late as I'm up at the back of 4 tomorrow morning to head out for the gowf.
Seafield (or will that be Seapond ????) will be welcoming the Northerners tonight.
Look forward to seeing you all, and I may even bring my sponsorship form for the Longest day of golf challenge down (shameless plug - see threads elsewhere on Hibs.net for the full details:agree:) and see if I can fleece any of you to dip into your pockets:wink:.
Us (elite) athletes :faf: need our beauty sleep so I better not drink too much tonight or be out too late as I'm up at the back of 4 tomorrow morning to head out for the gowf.
Ach Stu, I'm absolutely skint, broke, not got a penny, not a bean or a copper coin, nothing. I suppose I could leave the house early and maybe do a wee bit of singing in Great Junction Street and see what people will put in my hat :wink: :greengrin
On a more serious note, how does the Seafield green stand up to all the rain we have had, and with the looks of the forecast, will be having?
Will the game be in any danger of being postponed in your opinion?
We won in the top ten last night but my own game had to be called off due to the lightening. There was no way I was prepared to stand out on a bowling green with lightening flashing around me, not with me having a pacemaker. As it turned out, our opponents would have needed the equivilent of three eights in the last three ends to win overall, so they conceded defeat.
See you tonight, hopefully, and I'll bring all my pennies i'll make from my singing exploits, just to sponsor you :greengrin
sg7nil
22-07-2009, 11:45 AM
Ach Stu, I'm absolutely skint, broke, not got a penny, not a bean or a copper coin, nothing. I suppose I could leave the house early and maybe do a wee bit of singing in Great Junction Street and see what people will put in my hat :wink: :greengrin
On a more serious note, how does the Seafield green stand up to all the rain we have had, and with the looks of the forecast, will be having?
Will the game be in any danger of being postponed in your opinion?
We won in the top ten last night but my own game had to be called off due to the lightening. There was no way I was prepared to stand out on a bowling green with lightening flashing around me, not with me having a pacemaker. As it turned out, our opponents would have needed the equivilent of three eights in the last three ends to win overall, so they conceded defeat.
See you tonight, hopefully, and I'll bring all my pennies i'll make from my singing exploits, just to sponsor you :greengrin
In previous years the green would take plenty soaking before it became waterlogged, but bearing in mind the problems we had last year where the drain in the Links collapsed and we were underwater for a month, now I'm not so sure..
One (slight) compensation is that if it's unplayable (hopefully not) there is a free week next Wednesday as the league is suspended just in case anyone is off to Ayr (which rules Seafield - and possibly Northern out) so it should be relatively easy to reschedule it. :agree:
22-07-2009, 11:54 AM
Can anyone inform me if they know about any open tournies, Sunday 16th August?
Also, Sunday 23rd?
I'll be in Edinburgh and would love to play.
Saturday = Hibees, so anything on these sundays would be great!
cheers
In previous years the green would take plenty soaking before it became waterlogged, but bearing in mind the problems we had last year where the drain in the Links collapsed and we were underwater for a month, now I'm not so sure..
One (slight) compensation is that if it's unplayable (hopefully not) there is a free week next Wednesday as the league is suspended just in case anyone is off to Ayr (which rules Seafield - and possibly Northern out) so it should be relatively easy to reschedule it. :agree:
Unfortunately Stu, we have used this date to play our club triples 1/4 final ties on, so the whole green is almost taken.
Fingers crossed for the weather tonight then eh!
So is it bowling shoes or welly boots tonight STU?
sg7nil
22-07-2009, 02:28 PM
So is it bowling shoes or welly boots tonight STU?
There are 3 1/2 hours for it to dry out.. it should be fine as long as we don't get much more rain before then! :agree:
To be fair, I don't imagine Northern's green will be able to ship much more water either.
There are 3 1/2 hours for it to dry out.. it should be fine as long as we don't get much more rain before then! :agree:
To be fair, I don't imagine Northern's green will be able to ship much more water either.
Sorry Stu, wasn't having a go at your green, just a concerned question.
You're probably right re Northern's green, although it does drain very quickly once the rain stops.
It is meant to be not too bad tonight BTW, should start clearing up very soon, if the forecast is right
Northern beat Seafield 5-4 last night at Seafield in terrible weather. In fact, the weather was so bad that at one point, the bowls were coming down the rink looking like huge snowballs.
Oh, wait a minute, the weather actually wasn't that bad at all, it was just FatStu's new 'White' bowls. They were so dazzling that all our lads had to go and put their sunglasses on. As there was an obvious colour clash with the 'jack' there was a concern that FatStu's bowls might just blend in with it, making it difficult to distinguish between bowl and jack. Fortunately though, FatStu's bowl were never close enough to the jack to cause any concern. :duck: :wink: :greengrin
Fat Stu
23-07-2009, 09:32 AM
Northern beat Seafield 5-4 last night at Seafield in terrible weather. In fact, the weather was so bad that at one point, the bowls were coming down the rink looking like huge snowballs.
Oh, wait a minute, the weather actually wasn't that bad at all, it was just FatStu's new 'White' bowls. They were so dazzling that all our lads had to go a put their sunglasses on. As there was an obvious colour clash with the 'jack' there was a concern that FatStu's bowls might just blend in with it, making it difficult to distinguish between bowl and jack. Fortunately though, FatStu's bowl were never close enough to the jack to cause any concern. :duck: :wink: :greengrin
My rink won so :na na::na na::na na::na na:
Well done F.S. :thumbsup:
Oh, and BTW, MY rink won as well, so :na na::na na::na na::na na: to you too :greengrin
Lmc2105
23-07-2009, 10:42 AM
got my junior singles edinburgh championship game tonight against a lad from parkside!!!:grr:
wish me luck!!:boo hoo:
(nah am optamistic am going to win!!)
even tho we lost to the braid last nyt:grr:
got my junior singles edinburgh championship game tonight against a lad from parkside!!!:grr:
wish me luck!!:boo hoo:
(nah am optamistic am going to win!!)
even tho we lost to the braid last nyt:grr:
Good luck tonight, and better still play well :thumbsup:
Lmc2105
23-07-2009, 09:26 PM
I lost 21-13 to a very good youngster from parkside,
was a great game but the lad Neil watson a prospect for the future:top marks
i tried my best but the lad was to good,
well done neil and all the best for the future competition mate
( HIBEE TO):greengrin
I lost 21-13 to a very good youngster from parkside,
was a great game but the lad Neil watson a prospect for the future:top marks
i tried my best but the lad was to good,
well done neil and all the best for the future competition mate
( HIBEE TO):greengrin
Oh well, no loss what a friend gains eh!
James Connolly
24-07-2009, 08:27 AM
Dalkeith qualified for the Midlothian Top Ten final last night, well done lads!:thumbsup:
All 3 Dalkeith teams still have a good chance of promotion from their respective leagues, with 5 games to go.
On a personal front; through to the 1/4 finals of the championship & handicap, and through to the semi's of the triples.
Very unusual that I've still got so much to play for, at this time of year!:greengrin
Dalkeith qualified for the Midlothian Top Ten final last night, well done lads!:thumbsup:
All 3 Dalkeith teams still have a good chance of promotion from their respective leagues, with 5 games to go.
On a personal front; through to the 1/4 finals of the championship & handicap, and through to the semi's of the triples.
Very unusual that I've still got so much to play for, at this time of year!:greengrinShow off !!! :greengrin
Nah ..good stuff James & aw the best wi yer comps ...:aok:
James Connolly
24-07-2009, 02:31 PM
Show off !!! :greengrin
Nah ..good stuff James & aw the best wi yer comps ...:aok:
Thanks mate.
See it's another crappy night for the league games tonight; weather's been terrible for weeks!!:grr:
Thanks mate.
See it's another crappy night for the league games tonight; weather's been terrible for weeks!!:grr:Weather is depressing tae say the least mate, think Jewel are at home tonight, we have superb drainage so the game should go ahead ...providing it dies doon a tad ..or theres nae forked lightening ..we have a small team as it is !!! :greengrin
James Connolly
24-07-2009, 03:05 PM
Weather is depressing tae say the least mate, think Jewel are at home tonight, we have superb drainage so the game should go ahead ...providing it dies doon a tad ..or theres nae forked lightening ..we have a small team as it is !!! :greengrin
We're at Bonnyrigg tonight, just round the corner from my hoose!:thumbsup:
No draught beer though!!!!!:grr:
We're at Bonnyrigg tonight, just round the corner from my hoose!:thumbsup:
No draught beer though!!!!!:grr:Is that the club just off the high st ..beside the leisure centre James ..?
James Connolly
25-07-2009, 07:01 AM
Is that the club just off the high st ..beside the leisure centre James ..?
Sure is.
We only played 3 ends last night; rain was torrential. :grr:
Sure is.
We only played 3 ends last night; rain was torrential. :grr:Pity that...nowt worse than having tae re-arrange for the following week ..we lose a few players due to work when this happens ...
James Connolly
25-07-2009, 09:44 AM
Pity that...nowt worse than having tae re-arrange for the following week ..we lose a few players due to work when this happens ...
I know mate; we've already re-arranged next Friday's game against Inveresk, due to having reps playing at Ayr.
We're now playing Inveresk on Monday 3rd August, Bonnyrigg on Tuesday 4th August & Gilmerton Welfare on Friday 7th August; 3 league games in 5 days!:grr:
When you add in your club ties, it turns into a bit of a nightmare.
I know mate; we've already re-arranged next Friday's game against Inveresk, due to having reps playing at Ayr.
We're now playing Inveresk on Monday 3rd August, Bonnyrigg on Tuesday 4th August & Gilmerton Welfare on Friday 7th August; 3 league games in 5 days!:grr:
When you add in your club ties, it turns into a bit of a nightmare.Spot on mate, the majority of our team are all in the latter stages of their local comps so we will lose a few, i suppose its the same for our opponents too though...weather has just been terrible...up to now we have had two postponements & we are just passed the turnaround !!!
Ive never seen the Jewel team change so much in the last few weeks, we have had to pull in "newbies"...guys who have barely thrown a bowl,,or guys that have been on the peripheries of the team but have never got a sniff ...no an ideal situation but most o them get plonked intae 2nd..damage limitation....:greengrin
James Connolly
25-07-2009, 10:09 AM
Spot on mate, the majority of our team are all in the latter stages of their local comps so we will lose a few, i suppose its the same for our opponents too though...weather has just been terrible...up to now we have had two postponements & we are just passed the turnaround !!!
Ive never seen the Jewel team change so much in the last few weeks, we have had to pull in "newbies"...guys who have barely thrown a bowl,,or guys that have been on the peripheries of the team but have never got a sniff ...no an ideal situation but most o them get plonked intae 2nd..damage limitation....:greengrin
We were the same there over the Trades; one week we were missing 7 players; fair play to the boys who came in and helped out, but any team would struggle losing so many regular players.
The problem I've got now is, we've got too many players; I'm bound to piss a few players off if I drop them...oh the joys of being a selector!:greengrin
We were the same there over the Trades; one week we were missing 7 players; fair play to the boys who came in and helped out, but any team would struggle losing so many regular players.
The problem I've got now is, we've got too many players; I'm bound to piss a few players off if I drop them...oh the joys of being a selector!:greengrinAre you a selector now too as well as a skip ..?....:greengrin
Like ive said many times on here before, we dont have the luxury of bringing in good replacements as we are not a bowling club...we bring "drinkers" in as opposed tae bowlers....:greengrin
The criteria for getting into the Jewel team is simple ...do you drink..?....heavily ..?....do you have 2 legs & at least one arm with a hand (preferably with fingers attached)..?.....if so yer in ....:greengrin
James Connolly
25-07-2009, 10:31 AM
Are you a selector now too as well as a skip ..?....:greengrin
Like ive said many times on here before, we dont have the luxury of bringing in good replacements as we are not a bowling club...we bring "drinkers" in as opposed tae bowlers....:greengrin
The criteria for getting into the Jewel team is simple ...do you drink..?....heavily ..?....do you have 2 legs & at least one arm with a hand (preferably with fingers attached)..?.....if so yer in ....:greengrin
Sounds my type of club.:greengrin
Aye, selector for team 2 this season; the skip thing only lasted 1 week, mainly play 3rd, although I was down to 2nd last nite...and that's wi me selecting!!!!!:faf:
Sounds my type of club.:greengrin
Aye, selector for team 2 this season; the skip thing only lasted 1 week, mainly play 3rd, although I was down to 2nd last nite...and that's wi me selecting!!!!!:faf:Quality !! :greengrin....we dont have a selector (never have)..we just get an empty pint glass & stick everyones names in..i even played lead a few weeks back !!! ....that bad i was when we won the toss i threw the white onto the next rink !!! ...i never got my hands on it again as my skip opted tae gie it away...(wonder why)....we won btw ...:greengrin
26-07-2009, 04:00 AM
Can anyone inform me if they know about any open tournies, Sunday 16th August?
Also, Sunday 23rd?
I'll be in Edinburgh and would love to play.
Saturday = Hibees, so anything on these sundays would be great!
cheers
Gilmerton have an open pairs on the 23rd. There's a form on the board in Bainfield
Northern beat Currie 3-1 in top five singles to reach 1/4 final.
What a season we are having
Northern beat Currie 3-1 in top five singles to reach 1/4 final.
What a season we are havingWell done Mike ...:thumbsup:
Well done Mike ...:thumbsup:
Kenny, after the lesson you guys gave us, we have learned and went from strength to strength :wink: :thumbsup:
Kenny, after the lesson you guys gave us, we have learned and went from strength to strength :wink: :thumbsup:Excellent stuff Mike ...hopefully the same next year too ....:thumbsup:
27-07-2009, 02:01 PM
Gilmerton have an open pairs on the 23rd. There's a form on the board in Bainfield
Nice one!
Just need somebody to carry me now :greengrin
Lmc2105
27-07-2009, 11:03 PM
that the miners club or the private?:greengrin
Into the final of the Northern singles Championship for the 2nd year running.
Never rolled a bowl last night too.
Actually, I never rolled a bowl as my opponent was on holiday and was never going to return in time for the game.
Such is life
28-07-2009, 10:04 AM
Actually, I never rolled a bowl as my opponent was on holiday and was never going to return in time for the game.
Such is life
Did you win it last year?
Fat Stu
28-07-2009, 09:21 PM
Such is life
When done mike, Also in the final at seafield, 2 clubs in 2 years and 2 finals. hope for the same result as last year.
I had to roll a bowl or 2 though.
Did you win it last year?
Nah, I've never won it Craig. Three times I have been in the final and three defeats, last year being the worst of all. Having played and beat all the top guys in the club, I let myself down badly in the final, although it was the defending Champion who beat me.
I'm hoping for 4th time lucky this year obviously, but it's another tough game in front of me, although one I am very capable of winning, IF I play to my abilities. :wink: :greengrin
---------- Post added at 08:09 AM ---------- Previous post was at 08:07 AM ----------
When done mike, Also in the final at seafield, 2 clubs in 2 years and 2 finals. hope for the same result as last year.
I had to roll a bowl or 2 though.
Well done Stu and good luck.
I was going to offer you a membership to the Northern too but that would mean only place left for the rest of us in the final. :greengrin
29-07-2009, 09:15 AM
Nah, I've never won it Craig. Three times I have been in the final and three defeats, last year being the worst of all. Having played and beat all the top guys in the club, I let myself down badly in the final, although it was the defending Champion who beat me.
I'm hoping for 4th time lucky this year obviously, but it's another tough game in front of me, although one I am very capable of winning, IF I play to my abilities. :wink: :greengrin
Well all the best - When's the final being played?
I was fortunate to win the championship at Bainfield in 2000, when I was just turning 20.
No matter the club, they're damn hard things to win and I hope it's 4th time lucky for you.
Northern used be a green I loved playing on, hope it still plays well.
good luck :aok:
Well all the best - When's the final being played?
I was fortunate to win the championship at Bainfield in 2000, when I was just turning 20.
No matter the club, they're damn hard things to win and I hope it's 4th time lucky for you.
Northern used be a green I loved playing on, hope it still plays well.
good luck :aok:True..if i get past the second round im doing well ...:greengrin
Agree also about Northern..superb green & a joy to play on ....:thumbsup:
Fat Stu
29-07-2009, 09:22 AM
True..if i get past the second round im doing well ...:greengrin
Agree also about Northern..superb green & a joy to play on ....:thumbsup:
In all honesty it actually plays better in the other direction, IMHO probably the best green i've played on this season.
The other direction from the :hnet: game Stu. That's the way we play our league matches, away from the clubhouse, and the rinks are a lot better that way.
PLaying my final on Friday.
The other direction from the :hnet: game Stu. That's the way we play our league matches, away from the clubhouse, and the rinks are a lot better that way.
PLaying my final on Friday.BTW ..just reading the EEN ...Shuggie Hilson got a right doing eh ..?...21-0....:paranoid:..bit o gamesmanship there no ...?...i thought it was customary to at least gie the opponent a shot or two ...:rolleyes:
Mind you..ive also been beaten by that score ..in my "fledgling" days ...:greengrin
tanfield
29-07-2009, 09:53 PM
Well done Stu and Mike for getting to your respective finals. Stick in on Friday Mike. :thumbsup: Stu, when are you playing yours?
Got through to the Whitehouse final tonight. Was coasting at 17-12 but squeaky bum time at 18-13 and fortunately managed to close the game out. Final tomorrow against Stevie Kirk in what is a repeat of last years final. Fingers crossed for the same result:greengrin
Well done Stu and Mike for getting to your respective finals. Stick in on Friday Mike. :thumbsup: Stu, when are you playing yours?
Got through to the Whitehouse final tonight. Was coasting at 17-12 but squeaky bum time at 18-13 and fortunately managed to close the game out. Final tomorrow against Stevie Kirk in what is a repeat of last years final. Fingers crossed for the same result:greengrinAw the best Andy ...:thumbsup:
Fat Stu
29-07-2009, 10:04 PM
Got through to the Whitehouse final tonight. Was coasting at 17-12 but squeaky bum time at 18-13 and fortunately managed to close the game out. Final tomorrow against Stevie Kirk in what is a repeat of last years final. Fingers crossed for the same result:greengrin
Also playing mine on friday. We are in the prelim of the tait so needed to be played by monday.
Also playing mine on friday. We are in the prelim of the tait so needed to be played by monday.Aw the best tae you too Stu ..:thumbsup:
Lmc2105
29-07-2009, 10:51 PM
got to semi final of the 2 bowl at white house :thumbsup:
and also congrats to andy on winning his semi-final tonight and all the best tomorrow!!
al be up there cheering the fellow hibeee on:thumbsup:
Cumon Andy bring it home!!!:thumbsup:
Best of luck to all of us playing in our respective finals.
:hnet: bowlers, best in the City :thumbsup:
Best of luck to all of us playing in our respective finals.
:hnet: bowlers, best in the City :thumbsup:Aye superb stuff guys ...:thumbsup:
"Bring it home"....:cup:
tanfield
30-07-2009, 07:50 AM
Thanks guys.
How freaky is this though? If and it's a big IF, I do win tonight I'm playing against Tramways (my 1st club) at Tanfield (my second club) in the Tait and to cap it off the winner could play the Tanfield champion in the next round!
Thanks guys.
How freaky is this though? If and it's a big IF, I do win tonight I'm playing against Tramways (my 1st club) at Tanfield (my second club) in the Tait and to cap it off the winner could play the Tanfield champion in the next round!Home fi home Andy ...:greengrin
tanfield
30-07-2009, 09:41 PM
Managed to win 21 - 11 tonight. A bit of a scrappy first half where I just played that wee bit better and managed to build a lead. Got pulled back slightly but gobbed a shot with a hit and hope when there was 4 against me at 15-10.
Some good bowls at the end from both of us and killed the game with a 3 at the last. Conditions were pretty tricky as there was a bit of a wind blowing across the green but delighted to win again.
Best of luck to stu and Mike in their respective finals. Hopefully we can have a :hnet: hat trick:greengrin
Managed to win 21 - 11 tonight. A bit of a scrappy first half where I just played that wee bit better and managed to build a lead. Got pulled back slightly but gobbed a shot with a hit and hope when there was 4 against me at 15-10.
Some good bowls at the end from both of us and killed the game with a 3 at the last. Conditions were pretty tricky as there was a bit of a wind blowing across the green but delighted to win again.
Best of luck to stu and Mike in their respective finals. Hopefully we can have a :hnet: hat trick:greengrin
Brilliant Andrew, congratulations once again, that might just secure your place in the :hnet: team for next season's encounter with the Northern Hibees :wink: :thumbsup:
Well, at the fourth time of asking in the final of the Northern Championship, I finally made it all the way by beating Stan Christie 21-9.
Stan struggled in the rain but I played pretty consistantly all night, despite losing a four at one end, and made it quite comfortably.
Now we need Stu to make it a hat-trick for the hibs.net.
Well, at the fourth time of asking in the final of the Northern Championship, I finally made it all the way by beating Stan Christie 21-9.
Stan struggled in the rain but I played pretty consistantly all night, despite losing a four at one end, and made it quite confortably.
Now we need Stu to make it a hat-trick for the hibs.net.Cracking stuff Mike..well done mate ..:cup:
tanfield
01-08-2009, 01:31 PM
Stan struggled in the rain but I played pretty consistantly all night, despite losing a four at one end, and made it quite confortably.
Brilliant stuff Mike. Delighted for you:cup:
Fat Stu
01-08-2009, 01:43 PM
unfortunatley not guys, lost 21-14. Didn't play my best and bob peebles played fantastic,so no complaints.
unfortunatley not guys, lost 21-14. Didn't play my best and bob peebles played fantastic,so no complaints.Unlucky Stu ...:aok:
tanfield
01-08-2009, 07:20 PM
unfortunatley not guys, lost 21-14. Didn't play my best and bob peebles played fantastic,so no complaints.
Commiserations Stu although good achievement to get to the final in your first year.:agree::agree:
Northern lost 3-2 to Bainfield in the Top Five Singles yesterday in a right close battle. :boo hoo:
Thought we put up a good show and gave them a fright, just couldn't get that 3rd result.
03-08-2009, 12:47 PM
Well done, congrats!! :thumbsup:
Jewel lost 7-1 away to Rosewell..a green where we have never had a sniff !! in the past...:rolleyes:
tanfield
03-08-2009, 08:30 PM
Northern lost 3-2 to Bainfield in the Top Five Singles yesterday in a right close battle. :boo hoo:
Thought we put up a good show and gave them a fright, just couldn't get that 3rd result.
Hard lines Mike. Still looking good for Northern with the league a distinct possibility, final of the Cup and Top Ten Quarters to play.
Fat Stu
03-08-2009, 09:22 PM
Does anyone here play indoor? if so can you tell me how much it costs and how I go about joining. Really interested in geting a rink together and getting involved.
Also, me and my unlce are interested in this but would need another 2 bodies minimun. Anyone interested or if anyone has a slot(or knows of one) can they let me know.
Cheers.
tanfield
04-08-2009, 07:41 AM
Does anyone here play indoor? if so can you tell me how much it costs and how I go about joining. Really interested in geting a rink together and getting involved.
Also, me and my unlce are interested in this but would need another 2 bodies minimun. Anyone interested or if anyone has a slot(or knows of one) can they let me know.
Cheers.
I played indoor last year at Meadowmill (East Lothian) but don't enjoy it. Portobello would be nearest I'm guessing but don't know the fees. Give them a call though on 669 0878.
To give you an idea East Lothian last year was £55 plus £2.50 a game.
If you're looking for players try the Julian Haines bowls forum:agree:
Hard lines Mike. Still looking good for Northern with the league a distinct possibility, final of the Cup and Top Ten Quarters to play.
Top Ten tonight against Dudley Andrew, (whom we have already beat in the Edinburgh Cup :wink:)
The league situation has changed quite a bit as we are hearing that, because of certain teams being lost to the league, they will have to do a wee bit of reconstruction, which might just mean only ONE team is certain to be promoted this season. It's not beyond us to still win the league but Corstorphine are favourites.
Thanks for coming along on Friday Andrew, sorry I never head the chance to talk to you more though.
sg7nil
04-08-2009, 09:30 AM
I heard that league reconstruction could be on the cards too...
Spoke to Bill Ramsay (League Secretary) earlier this season.
I'd have thought that they'd have to have advised the teams at the start of the season that it was going to happen, so that you would know what you were playing for.
Heard they were discussing the possibility of cutting all the leagues to 6 teams.. giving only 10 league games per season.
To be fair, the old Port of Leith league used to only consist of 10 teams and you only played each other once per year so it was a 9 game season.
The idea behind the 6 team leagues woud be to give six divisions and all 36 clubs would then play the same number of games.. Dunno what plans they have for second 16's, but would suggest that although there are a few less teams playing in that, it would be unlikely that there would be more that six teams per division there either.
On the bright side, it would mean less fixture congestion and less/no need to start games early at the ends of the season.
James Connolly
04-08-2009, 12:41 PM
Good luck to the Dalkeith reps in this weeks Midlothian semi-finals.
Also, awe the best in the Top 10 final on Sunday!:thumbsup:
Unfortunately not involved in any of the above; got my championship 1/4 final to look forward to on Thursday though.
05-08-2009, 11:54 AM
Any body aware of any tournaments being held on 16th August?
There's some things on the 15th I'm aware of, but going to the match that day.
Would appreciate if anyone knows of something........ cheers
Northern beat Mayfield 7-2 at home last night and I believe we now go 2 points clear at the top with one game to go after Corstorphine lost 5-4 at Brunstane.
Any other results from last night lads?
Fat Stu
06-08-2009, 10:40 AM
Northern beat Mayfield 7-2 at home last night and I believe we now go 2 points clear at the top with one game to go after Corstorphine lost 5-4 at Brunstane.
Any other results from last night lads?
Seafield won a game last night beating blackhall 5-4. Had the champers out and the party poppers.
Yahoooooooooooooooooooooooooo!
Well done Stu, delighted for you guys as you have knocked on the door all season for your first victory.
Now, can you do it again next week? Everybody at the Northern will be rooting for your 2nd win :thumbsup:
Not that it matters much to all you superstars ...:greengrin..but if i win tonight im into the quarter finals of the re-named "Gosman" trophy...a fantastic trophy that the (now defunct) Jewel Juniors used to play for....:cup:
Fat Stu
06-08-2009, 01:55 PM
Any body aware of any tournaments being held on 16th August?
There's some things on the 15th I'm aware of, but going to the match that day.
Would appreciate if anyone knows of something........ cheers
Hi Craig,
Seafield have an invitation pairs on that day, i'm yet to hear from my normal partner but if he's unable your more than welcome to play with yours truly.
Yahoooooooooooooooooooooooooo!
Well done Stu, delighted for you guys as you have knocked on the door all season for your first victory.
Now, can you do it again next week? Everybody at the Northern will be rooting for your 2nd win :thumbsup:
It's academic for us but i'm sure we'll try and do you lot a favour.
James Connolly
06-08-2009, 09:35 PM
Won my championship 1/4 final tonight, 21-8.:thumbsup:
Also in the handicap & triples semi-finals; makes up for blowing the league/promotion over the last few weeks!:grr:
Also in the handicap & triples semi-finals; makes up for blowing the league/promotion over the last few weeks!:grr:Well done again James ..:thumbsup:..ive had a look at a few leagues in the Esk & many are close ...we (Jewel) are 4 points from second & about 5 points from second bottom ...crazy stuff !!! :greengrin
As for the "Gosman" 3 bowl trophy ..well i got through tonight against the odds on favourite ..7-5 & 7-6 ...he was needing a single for match ..i was needing 3 & lying a pair & he went wayward with his 3rd bowl ..i then drew the 3rd shot for game ....normally i would bottle it but i held my nerve !!!..get in there !!! :thumbsup:
James Connolly
07-08-2009, 04:12 AM
Well done again James ..:thumbsup:..ive had a look at a few leagues in the Esk & many are close ...we (Jewel) are 4 points from second & about 5 points from second bottom ...crazy stuff !!! :greengrin
As for the "Gosman" 3 bowl trophy ..well i got through tonight against the odds on favourite ..7-5 & 7-6 ...he was needing a single for match ..i was needing 3 & lying a pair & he went wayward with his 3rd bowl ..i then drew the 3rd shot for game ....normally i would bottle it but i held my nerve !!!..get in there !!! :thumbsup:
Congrats on your win!:thumbsup:
Aye, there's a lot of permutations in the leagues with 3 games to go; in ur league, there are 4 teams tied on 18 points at the top!:confused:
We really blew it this week; beat at home by Inveresk on Monday and then beat away to Bonnyrigg on Tuesday!:grr::grr:
We've only won 1 game in our last 6, not good enough; still there's always next season.:greengrin
Hi Craig,
Seafield have an invitation pairs on that day, i'm yet to hear from my normal partner but if he's unable your more than welcome to play with yours truly.
It's academic for us but i'm sure we'll try and do you lot a favour.
You are all true gentlemen Stu and we wish you all the best :wink: :greengrin
BTW did you hear if yer man ever found his passport?
He was a bit stressed that I played against him (can't remember his name) as he was leaving on holiday the next morning.
sg7nil
07-08-2009, 12:38 PM
Mike,
Allan found his passport and got away no problems. :wink:
Mike,
Allan found his passport and got away no problems. :wink:
Great news Stu. I felt a bit sorry for him as he really was stressing about it and think he would rather have not played that night. Said a lot for his dedication to Seafield B.C. that he did play.
Hope he had a great time after all that.
tanfield
07-08-2009, 08:47 PM
Also in the handicap & triples semi-finals; makes up for blowing the league/promotion over the last few weeks!:grr:
Well done James:thumbsup:
tanfield
07-08-2009, 08:51 PM
Congrats to Mike for winning his first Tait game tonight. According to my mate who was playing Mike he was 14 - 5 up but lost the next 8 ends or so. Congrats Mike - stick in on Monday.
All the best to Northern in the Top Ten Semi Final tomorrow against Queensberry. Should be a close game although the Queensberry singles won 21 - 1 in 8 ends! on Tuesday night.
I managed to get through my second game in the Tait tonight beating Scott Rogers from Pilrig 21 - 16. Play Paul O'Donnell (Bainfield) on Monday night. I'm going to have to play awfae well to get through that one!
Congrats to Mike for winning his first Tait game tonight. According to my mate who was playing Mike he was 14 - 5 up but lost the next 8 ends or so. Congrats Mike - stick in on Monday.
All the best to Northern in the Top Ten Semi Final tomorrow against Queensberry. Should be a close game although the Queensberry singles won 21 - 1 in 8 ends! on Tuesday night.
I managed to get through my second game in the Tait tonight beating Scott Rogers from Pilrig 21 - 16. Play Paul O'Donnell (Bainfield) on Monday night. I'm going to have to play awfae well to get through that one!Aw the best Andy ..rooting for ye bud ...:thumbsup:
tanfield
07-08-2009, 09:05 PM
Aw the best Andy ..rooting for ye bud ...:thumbsup:
Thanks Kenny. Well done on your win - keep them coming!!
Thanks Kenny. Well done on your win - keep them coming!!Cheers Andy ..i honestly wished the season had just started, playing well now ...:greengrin
Thinking of moving to another club, i will give the Jewel another season then im gonna look for somewhere else..would have to be quite local though...gonna consider Niddrie...Brunstane or Seafield ..
I managed to get through my second game in the Tait tonight beating Scott Rogers from Pilrig 21 - 16. Play Paul O'Donnell (Bainfield) on Monday night. I'm going to have to play awfae well to get through that one!
Thanks Andy and well done yourself, good win that.
I played Paul in the top five last week at the Northern and beat him so it can defo be done.
Stick in mate and all the very best.
garyrobertson85
08-08-2009, 09:58 AM
Good luck to the Dalkeith reps in this weeks Midlothian semi-finals.
Also, awe the best in the Top 10 final on Sunday!:thumbsup:
Unfortunately not involved in any of the above; got my championship 1/4 final to look forward to on Thursday though.
mon the gp!!!!:wink:
lets make it a league and top 10 double!!!
garyrobertson85
08-08-2009, 10:01 AM
Hi Craig,
i wudnt play with him hes utter garbage!!!
Northern beat Queensberry in the Top Ten semi-final yesterday and I believe we now face Slateford in the final at Parkside.
Edinburgh Cup final v Tanfield on Saturday, then Top Ten final against Slateford the following Saturday.
Somebody must be putting something in our beer.
Northern beat Queensberry in the Top Ten semi-final yesterday and I believe we now face Slateford in the final at Parkside.
Edinburgh Cup final v Tanfield on Saturday, then Top Ten final against Slateford the following Saturday.
Somebody must be putting something in our beer.:thumbsup:
tanfield
10-08-2009, 07:44 AM
Somebody must be putting something in our beer.
:dizzy::dizzy::dizzy:
Great year so far for Northern. Fingers crossed that you can lift some silverware
:dizzy::dizzy::dizzy:
Great year so far for Northern. Fingers crossed that you can lift some silverware
It will be a tough ask in both games Andrew, but they lads seem to be playing well and we will be up for it :thumbsup:
garyrobertson85
10-08-2009, 09:51 AM
gilmerton private won midlothians top ten:thumbsup:
cannae wait till next yr:greengrin
James Connolly
10-08-2009, 02:58 PM
gilmerton private won midlothians top ten:thumbsup:
cannae wait till next yr:greengrin
Aye, it was a cracking final; thought Ramsay played really well in the singles.
Well done Gilmerton, hard lines Dalkeith.
tanfield
10-08-2009, 08:24 PM
Out of the Tait Trophy after getting beat 21 - 13 by Paul O'Donnell at Queensberry. No complaints at all and I don't think I could have played much better but he just had that wee bit of a lead that I couldn't get back.
Both of us played really well (I thought so anyway) but I must have moved the jack to his bowl (admitedly when the shot was against anyway) or fell the wrong way about 7-8 times. Not saying I would have won but if I got a few more breaks it would have been a bit closer.:agree:
Strange feeling being beat and not feeling too disappointed. I'm not normally the best of losers:grr:
garyrobertson85
10-08-2009, 09:49 PM
Aye, it was a cracking final; thought Ramsay played really well in the singles.
Well done Gilmerton, hard lines Dalkeith.
dini say that lol his heeds big enough.tbh phil didnt play to well.most ends he was only getting 1 bowl in.played nothing like he can do.
Out of the Tait Trophy after getting beat 21 - 13 by Paul O'Donnell at Queensberry. No complaints at all and I don't think I could have played much better but he just had that wee bit of a lead that I couldn't get back.
Both of us played really well (I thought so anyway) but I must have moved the jack to his bowl (admitedly when the shot was against anyway) or fell the wrong way about 7-8 times. Not saying I would have won but if I got a few more breaks it would have been a bit closer.:agree:
Strange feeling being beat and not feeling too disappointed. I'm not normally the best of losers:grr:
Hard lines Andrew, it looks like I am in good company now.
I also got beat 21-13 last night but I played like a clown and deserved to be laughed off the green.
Turned up at Wardie, couldn't get in as the gates were locked. Eventually got in but they were not aware they were hosting a Tait Trophy game.:brickwall
The green was possibly the heaviest I have played on all year. My weight was all over the place and was deservedly beat, although I did make a wee bit of a comeback at one point and at 13-17 was lying a couple, until Peter from Dudley drew ? (there was not much drawing available on the rink, chuck and hope) the shot with his final bowl, 15-17 would have made it interesting.
Bottom line though, well beat and no complaints.
tanfield
11-08-2009, 12:22 PM
Hard lines Andrew, it looks like I am in good company now.
I also got beat 21-13 last night but I played like a clown and deserved to be laughed off the green.
Turned up at Wardie, couldn't get in as the gates were locked. Eventually got in but they were not aware they were hosting a Tait Trophy game.:brickwall
The green was possibly the heaviest I have played on all year. My weight was all over the place and was deservedly beat, although I did make a wee bit of a comeback at one point and at 13-17 was lying a couple, until Peter from Dudley drew ? (there was not much drawing available on the rink, chuck and hope) the shot with his final bowl, 15-17 would have made it interesting.
Bottom line though, well beat and no complaints.
Hard lines Mike, would have been interesting if the green was running better as I would have fancied you against Peter.
It was similar at Queensberry in that they didn't know until the afternoon that they were hosting a Tait Trophy game. Either these clubs don't read the draws carefully enough or ELBA didn't send the draws out to the club (that I can believe as Whitehouse never got the Top 5 draw yet other clubs did)
James Connolly
11-08-2009, 12:48 PM
dini say that lol his heeds big enough.tbh phil didnt play to well.most ends he was only getting 1 bowl in.played nothing like he can do.
Got to agree with you there; Phil wasn't playing to his usual high standard.
Still, Ramsay did play well, and IMO he gave Gilmerton the incentive to kick on and finish the job.
Before the game I thought Dalkeith would win the singles & pairs; once Ramsay won, we were up against it.
Still, not bad for a Div 2 team!:wink:
Hard lines Mike, would have been interesting if the green was running better as I would have fancied you against Peter.
It was similar at Queensberry in that they didn't know until the afternoon that they were hosting a Tait Trophy game. Either these clubs don't read the draws carefully enough or ELBA didn't send the draws out to the club (that I can believe as Whitehouse never got the Top 5 draw yet other clubs did)
For various reasons Andrew, I was never fully focussed on the game. Peter didn't play that well either but he certainly played better than me last night.
garyrobertson85
11-08-2009, 02:09 PM
Got to agree with you there; Phil wasn't playing to his usual high standard.
Still, Ramsay did play well, and IMO he gave Gilmerton the incentive to kick on and finish the job.
Before the game I thought Dalkeith would win the singles & pairs; once Ramsay won, we were up against it.
Still, not bad for a Div 2 team!:wink:
what i didnt understand was the singles waiting 30 mins to get started.
our triple won the game really with a 3 the 2nd last end to go 6 up.and the dalkeith rink done well to come back and get a peel after being 6 or 7 down
division 1 next yr i reckon
James Connolly
11-08-2009, 02:30 PM
what i didnt understand was the singles waiting 30 mins to get started.
our triple won the game really with a 3 the 2nd last end to go 6 up.and the dalkeith rink done well to come back and get a peel after being 6 or 7 down
division 1 next yr i reckon
Aye, Currie played a couple o crackers at the 14th end.
Big game for team 1 on Friday, away to Loanhead; would be the icing on the cake if they get promoted!:agree:
11-08-2009, 03:34 PM
i wudnt play with him hes utter garbage!!!
who? Me or Fat Stu :greengrin
garyrobertson85
12-08-2009, 12:02 AM
who? Me or Fat Stu :greengrin
fat stu:greengrin
opened his big mouth 2 clubs 2 championship finals in 2 years.:blah:
and he gets pumped:faf:
garyrobertson85
12-08-2009, 12:05 AM
Aye, Currie played a couple o crackers at the 14th end.
Big game for team 1 on Friday, away to Loanhead; would be the icing on the cake if they get promoted!:agree:
thers a few good teams up there challenging.u must be rubbing ur hands that EL CO-OP hav stuttered lately.ur other 2 teams no in with a sniff aswell? good luck:hnet:
James Connolly
12-08-2009, 12:14 PM
thers a few good teams up there challenging.u must be rubbing ur hands that EL CO-OP hav stuttered lately.ur other 2 teams no in with a sniff aswell? good luck:hnet:
Team 3 should go up; but we (team 2) have blew it big style; only 1 win in our last 7...total pish!!!:grr:
Could be playing your 3rd team next season though; I see they're pushing for promotion into Div. 3!
James Connolly
14-08-2009, 04:17 PM
Looks like another Friday nite wash-out in the Esk League!:grr:
garyrobertson85
14-08-2009, 05:45 PM
Looks like another Friday nite wash-out in the Esk League!:grr:
our game was called off against pathhead
James Connolly
17-08-2009, 08:55 PM
Got through to Sc Triples final tonight; Championship semi final on Thursday; Handicap semi final next Tuesday.
At least I know I'm playing on Finals weekend now!:thumbsup:
As the EEN seem to be interested in everything on the bowling front except one of the major inter club competitions of the year, just to keep you all informed, Tanfield defended the Edinburgh Cup by beating Northern in the final at Corstorphine on Saturday.
Northern had gone 3-2 up in wins and it was all down to the final game. Coincidentally this was between the two Campbell skips, Roy from the Northern and Stewart from Tanfield. It was peels going into the last end and with Tanfield's last bowl of the game, the Northern were lying the shot. Unfortunately for us, Stewart drew the shot under the severest of pressure obviously and Roy couldn't do the same with his last bowl so the cup went up the road a bit to Tanfield, rather than along to Warriston Crescent and the Northern.
Well done to Tanfield though, it could not have been any closer.
Got through to Sc Triples final tonight; Championship semi final on Thursday; Handicap semi final next Tuesday.
At least I know I'm playing on Finals weekend now!:thumbsup:Aw the best James..good luck mate ..:thumbsup:
As the EEN seem to be interested in everything on the bowling front except one of the major inter club competitions of the year, just to keep you all informed, Tanfield defended the Edinburgh Cup by beating Northern in the final at Corstorphine on Saturday.
Northern had gone 3-2 up in wins and it was all down to the final game. Coincidentally this was between the two Campbell skips, Roy from the Northern and Stewart from Tanfield. It was peels going into the last end and with Tanfield's last bowl of the game, the Northern were lying the shot. Unfortunately for us, Stewart drew the shot under the severest of pressure obviously and Roy couldn't do the same with his last bowl so the cup went up the road a bit to Tanfield, rather than along to Warriston Crescent and the Northern.
Well done to Tanfield though, it could not have been any closer.Hard lines Mike, sounded like a guid close game ...
James Connolly
19-08-2009, 01:18 PM
Aw the best James..good luck mate ..:thumbsup:
Cheers; you playing at Dalkeith on Friday?
Cheers; you playing at Dalkeith on Friday?Not sure James, i have only played one game this season due to work etc so im kinda out the loop...i wouldnt expect to be included mate tbh ..
Pity because i love Dalkeith....apart from yer pacy green !!!...:grr:...:greengrin
James Connolly
19-08-2009, 02:30 PM
Not sure James, i have only played one game this season due to work etc so im kinda out the loop...i wouldnt expect to be included mate tbh ..
Pity because i love Dalkeith....apart from yer pacy green !!!...:grr:...:greengrin
It's not been pacy this season; it's got more bumps and hollows than decent roads!:duck:
Our 1st team still have a chance of going up, if results go their way; I played for them last night, beat 6-2 at Loanhead!:grr:
Our 3rd team won promotion last night; overall it's been a good season for Dalkeith...apart from Team 2!!!!!!!
Glad the Jewel managed to stay up, good effort given the lack of bowling members willing to play on a Friday.
It's not been pacy this season; it's got more bumps and hollows than decent roads!:duck:
Our 1st team still have a chance of going up, if results go their way; I played for them last night, beat 6-2 at Loanhead!:grr:
Our 3rd team won promotion last night; overall it's been a good season for Dalkeith...apart from Team 2!!!!!!!
Glad the Jewel managed to stay up, good effort given the lack of bowling members willing to play on a Friday.Cheers James, hopefully re-group & gie it a good bash next season ...funny though..if we win our last game & the second top lose we will have missed promotion by about 3 points ...or if we had lost one more game we could have been relegated !!!...freaky ..:greengrin
James Connolly
20-08-2009, 07:33 AM
Cheers James, hopefully re-group & gie it a good bash next season ...funny though..if we win our last game & the second top lose we will have missed promotion by about 3 points ...or if we had lost one more game we could have been relegated !!!...freaky ..:greengrin
Aye, it's a very tight league.
Team 2 have been given the points by Shottstown on Friday, so I'll be down the club watching Team 1 play the Jewel...as well as enjoying the odd pint of Guinness!!:greengrin
James Connolly
20-08-2009, 09:09 PM
Won my championship semi-final 21-9 tonight!!:thumbsup:
1st time in a single-hand final, delighted it's the championship.
Fat Stu
21-08-2009, 10:51 AM
Well Edinburgh Bowling Club managed to successfully defend the McIver Trophy last night, In what is a friendly more than anything, Edinburgh were in invited to take part in the trophy traditionally played in by Edinburgh’s 6 oldest clubs, winners are the team that scores the most shots between 2 rinks.
sg7nil
21-08-2009, 11:37 AM
Well Edinburgh Bowling Club managed to successfully defend the McIver Trophy last night, In what is a friendly more than anything, Edinburgh were in invited to take part in the trophy traditionally played in by Edinburgh’s 6 oldest clubs, winners are the team that scores the most shots between 2 rinks.
So who are the 6 oldest clubs?
Edinburgh (obviously no 1)
Guessing now..
Could it be - West End, Leith, Summerside, Lutton Place..... and a really wild guess.. Northern?
tanfield
21-08-2009, 11:59 AM
Guessing now..
Could it be - West End, Leith, Summerside, Lutton Place..... and a really wild guess.. Northern?
I think Trinity will be one Stuart. They were formed 1855 IIRC.
You alright for Tuesday still?
Fat Stu
21-08-2009, 01:42 PM
Guessing now..
bold is correct, hillside another and can't remember who the 6th is.
Edit: Mayfield is the other.
sg7nil
21-08-2009, 01:59 PM
I think Trinity will be one Stuart. They were formed 1855 IIRC.
You alright for Tuesday still?
Raring to go ... see you at the Gyle for the pickup.:thumbsup:
bold is correct, hillside another and can't remember who the 6th is.
Edit: Mayfield is the other.
Defo not the Northern, we were formed in 1879.
I do believe Trinity is one of them though.
BTW, Northern were beaten 6-2 in the final of the Top Ten against Slateford.
Aye, it's a very tight league.
Team 2 have been given the points by Shottstown on Friday, so I'll be down the club watching Team 1 play the Jewel...as well as enjoying the odd pint of Guinness!!:greengrinJames..was the Dalkeith v Jewel tie switched to the Jewel last Friday ..?
My wife says her Uncle (Wullie Morrison) played in a Dalkeith win at the Jewel club ...she says Wullie told her that a few of the Jewel boys were steamboats because they started drinking early due to the Jewel having a 10pm curfew ...:confused:
I know about the curfew but just wondering if the "steamboats" & the "tie switch" were true...
In fact...i would believe the "steamboats" bit too....bugger..i missed that ...:grr:....:greengrin
James Connolly
25-08-2009, 07:50 PM
James..was the Dalkeith v Jewel tie switched to the Jewel last Friday ..?
My wife says her Uncle (Wullie Morrison) played in a Dalkeith win at the Jewel club ...she says Wullie told her that a few of the Jewel boys were steamboats because they started drinking early due to the Jewel having a 10pm curfew ...:confused:
I know about the curfew but just wondering if the "steamboats" & the "tie switch" were true...
In fact...i would believe the "steamboats" bit too....bugger..i missed that ...:grr:....:greengrin
No the game was played at Dalkeith; tight game, but Dalkeith won 8-0 to sneak promotion.
The Jewel played their back end players at the front and vice versa; big Gary Swain & Brian Forbes were lead & second!:greengrin
Wouldn't say they were steamboats, just a tad merry.:thumbsup:
No the game was played at Dalkeith; tight game, but Dalkeith won 8-0 to sneak promotion.
The Jewel played their back end players at the front and vice versa; big Gary Swain & Brian Forbes were lead & second!:greengrin
Wouldn't say they were steamboats, just a tad merry.:thumbsup:Well done Dalkeith ...just you lot get yer erkies back up & i will meet ye for a pint or 7....:thumbsup:
As for the Jewel reversing the ends ..thank fek i wasnae playing then..i would have ended up playing 3rd or lead !! :greengrin
The Jewel are a great bunch o lads but i just wish they would take the game a bit more seriously ....instead o the peeve !!! ....:greengrin
James Connolly
25-08-2009, 08:20 PM
Well done Dalkeith ...just you lot get yer erkies back up & i will meet ye for a pint or 7....:thumbsup:
As for the Jewel reversing the ends ..thank fek i wasnae playing then..i would have ended up playing 3rd or lead !! :greengrin
The Jewel are a great bunch o lads but i just wish they would take the game a bit more seriously ....instead o the peeve !!! ....:greengrin
We'll try our best; only missed out by 2 points after a terrible run.
As long as the boys are enjoying it, that's all that matters; fair play!:thumbsup:
Maybe meet up in the knockout next season.:thumbsup:
We'll try our best; only missed out by 2 points after a terrible run.
As long as the boys are enjoying it, that's all that matters; fair play!:thumbsup:
Maybe meet up in the knockout next season.:thumbsup:Nah.. they do take it seriously mate, we did have a prob wi one or two being half cut before games before, in fact we almost got into trouble at Gilmerton Miners a few years back when one Jewel bowler couldnae keep his trap shut ...he no longer plays for the team ..:greengrin
Anyway..another reason why im glad Dalkeith went up ....it meant EL-COOP didnt ....:thumbsup:
James Connolly
25-08-2009, 09:21 PM
Nah.. they do take it seriously mate, we did have a prob wi one or two being half cut before games before, in fact we almost got into trouble at Gilmerton Miners a few years back when one Jewel bowler couldnae keep his trap shut ...he no longer plays for the team ..:greengrin
Anyway..another reason why im glad Dalkeith went up ....it meant EL-COOP didnt ....:thumbsup:
Aye, I think some of the Div. 1 teams were glad they never went up as well.
Still got a lot to look forward to; especially the championship final a week on Saturday!:thumbsup:
In the Triples final also, and play the handicap semi final tomorrow.
Must have been a lucky year for me!:greengrin
Aye, I think some of the Div. 1 teams were glad they never went up as well.
Still got a lot to look forward to; especially the championship final a week on Saturday!:thumbsup:
In the Triples final also, and play the handicap semi final tomorrow.
Must have been a lucky year for me!:greengrinBeen a cracking year for you mate & good luck in aw yer finals & yer semi final..:thumbsup:...i just started to find my game....too bloody late now !!!! :greengrin
Cannae wait for next season !!!! (famous last words) :greengrin
James Connolly
25-08-2009, 09:33 PM
Been a cracking year for you mate & good luck in aw yer finals & yer semi final..:thumbsup:...i just started to find my game....too bloody late now !!!! :greengrin
Cannae wait for next season !!!! (famous last words) :greengrin
Cheers mate; as long as I don't blow it now!:duck:
Aye, it's been my best ever year, never reached a sinle-hand final before.
It would be magic to get my name on the championship board; it'll all be on the day though!
Cheers mate; as long as I don't blow it now!:duck:
Aye, it's been my best ever year, never reached a sinle-hand final before.
It would be magic to get my name on the championship board; it'll all be on the day though!I can only dream mate ...i had the chance a couple o years ago tae get my name in gold writing on the wall of honour ....as President ...i refused..:greengrin
Theres a name on our championship board that stands out now & a record of 10 club championships that will be difficult to be beat .. Stenhouse bowler Andy Cherry won his first final in the 40's & followed that up wi 9 more, the last about five years ago..he is still playing away but nowhere near as lethal as he was a few years back .....well he is into his 80's now ..:greengrin
James Connolly
26-08-2009, 07:53 PM
Won my handicap semi-final 21-18 tonight; 3 finals to look forward to on finals weekend!:thumbsup:
Won my handicap semi-final 21-18 tonight; 3 finals to look forward to on finals weekend!:thumbsup:Hope ye have a decent sized trophy cabinet mate ...:cup:
Hope ye have a decent sized trophy cabinet mate ...:cup:
I could loan J.C. mine but I'm going to need it myself.
Won the Championship
Won the club SBA Pairs
Won the club SBA Triples
Runner-Up in Club SBA Fours
What a season, think I'll just retire now :wink: :thumbsup:
Good Luck in all your Finals J.C.
tanfield
28-08-2009, 07:45 AM
I could loan J.C. mine but I'm going to need it myself.
Won the Championship
Won the club SBA Pairs
Won the club SBA Triples
Runner-Up in Club SBA Fours
What a season, think I'll just retire now :wink: :thumbsup:
Good Luck in all your Finals J.C.
Excellent going Mike:thumbsup: Just a shame that Northern were pipped in the Cup and Top Ten but good on yous for getting there!
I've still got the Handicap and 2 bowl to play (semi's of both) and the pairs (not played a game yet but in the quarters).
Hopefully be a busy couple of weeks but looking forward to a bowls free winter:agree: Stuff this indoors malarky(sp).
J.C. All the best with your finals. Keep it going.
Sunny Leith
28-08-2009, 09:57 AM
Excellent going Mike:thumbsup: Just a shame that Northern were pipped in the Cup and Top Ten but good on yous for getting there!
I've still got the Handicap and 2 bowl to play (semi's of both) and the pairs (not played a game yet but in the quarters).
Hopefully be a busy couple of weeks but looking forward to a bowls free winter:agree: Stuff this indoors malarky(sp).
J.C. All the best with your finals. Keep it going.
Looking forward to the season finishing too, always fed up with the bowls when this time of the season arrives.
I was papped in the 2 bowl final at the acre, it was the best I played in the whole tournement but I only got 6, the other player was sensational on the night so no complaints. Still managed to win the pairs and in the final of the u25's so all is not lost.
Good luck to everyone else in their respective finals, us hibs.net bowlers are a decent lot :top marks
Looking forward to the season finishing too, always fed up with the bowls when this time of the season arrives.
I was papped in the 2 bowl final at the acre, it was the best I played in the whole tournement but I only got 6, the other player was sensational on the night so no complaints. Still managed to win the pairs and in the final of the u25's so all is not lost.
Good luck to everyone else in their respective finals, us hibs.net bowlers are a decent lot :top marksIndeed, theres some cracking bowlers on here & ive had the privelage of playing alongside a few of them ....good luck everyone in their semi's/finals....:cup:
James Connolly
30-08-2009, 06:53 AM
A big thank you for all the best wishes.
Our club finals are played over the next 2 weekends; starting with the championship on Saturday.
I'll be over the moon if I could win it; only been playing seriously for 7 years.
Plus, I'd love to see our presidents face (Jambo), if he had to present the trophy with green & white ribbons on it.:thumbsup:
Just hope my green bowls are in a good mood next week!:wink:
Well done on a fantastic season Burnsie, top drawer!:thumbsup:
tanfield
30-08-2009, 09:03 AM
Our club finals are played over the next 2 weekends; starting with the championship on Saturday.
I'll be over the moon if I could win it; only been playing seriously for 7 years.
Plus, I'd love to see our presidents face (Jambo), if he had to present the trophy with green & white ribbons on it.:thumbsup:
Well done on a fantastic season Burnsie, top drawer!:thumbsup:
Stick in James:thumbsup:
Well done on a fantastic season Burnsie, top drawer!:thumbsup:Our championship final is on the 5th Sept... Brian Forbes v Nicky Mcgovern...should be a cracker..
Brian has won most of the competitions down at the Jewel throughout the years but the championship has eluded him up to now, poss due to the fact Andrew Cherry & the Cropley family have been in formidable form throughout the years...
Nicky Mcgovern is a dark horse, a very good young bowler who just seems to bottle it at the last minute as was shown last year when he was beaten by his older brother Rab in the final ..
Can Nicky go one better this year ..?
My heart says aye but my head says no ..i think Brian will be really up for this & his experience should be enough to tip it into his favour..i think it will be a close game with Brian just edging it ..:thumbsup:
Good luck to everyone else in their respective finals, us hibs.net bowlers are a decent lot :top marks
Aye, ALMOST as good as the Northern Hibees.
James Connolly
04-09-2009, 07:22 AM
The 1st of our finals weekends looks like being a washout!:grr:
tanfield
04-09-2009, 09:44 PM
Aye, ALMOST as good as the Northern Hibees.
Your comments should carry a health warning!! I almost choked when I read this.:greengrin
The 1st of our finals weekends looks like being a washout!:grr:We had two finals last night James ..
The Scottish pairs was a very one sided affair of 27 - 5 in favour of the excellent James (70's porn star lookalike) Cropley & Jimmy Mcgovern over Jason Mckay & Martin Forbes...
The second final was of the newly created Gosman trophy where Jason Mckay had better luck in beating Dex Forbes two sets to nil 7-5 7-6
Today is the Scotish singles championship with Brian Forbes v Nicky Mcgovern..should be a cracker..if the weather holds ...:thumbsup:
James Connolly
06-09-2009, 07:40 AM
We had two finals last night James ..
The Scottish pairs was a very one sided affair of 27 - 5 in favour of the excellent James (70's porn star lookalike) Cropley & Jimmy Mcgovern over Jason Mckay & Martin Forbes...
The second final was of the newly created Gosman trophy where Jason Mckay had better luck in beating Dex Forbes two sets to nil 7-5 7-6
Today is the Scotish singles championship with Brian Forbes v Nicky Mcgovern..should be a cracker..if the weather holds ...:thumbsup:
Well I blew the championship big style; 18-16 up after getting a 4, I then gave a terrible 4 back...played like a cock!
Take nothing away from my opponent though, he deserved his win.
tanfield
06-09-2009, 08:34 AM
Well I blew the championship big style; 18-16 up after getting a 4, I then gave a terrible 4 back...played like a cock!
Commiserations James. Sure you'll get many chances in the future.
Take nothing away from my opponent though, he deserved his win.Hard luck mate..aw the best in yer other ties ....im sure you will be fired up after that game ...
As i predicted Brian Forbes won the championship at the Jewel..his first ever ...this was young Nicky Mcgovern's second final in a row but his bottle went again ..
Hard luck mate..aw the best in yer other ties ....im sure you will be fired up after that game ...
As i predicted Brian Forbes won the championship at the Jewel..his first ever ...this was young Nicky Mcgovern's second final in a row but his bottle went again ..
Been there, done that, wore the T-Shirt and got a hat-trick of smashed bottles on my mantlepiece. :boo hoo:
(Not this year though :wink: :thumbsup:)
Commiserations to J.C. but it will make you all the more determined to come back next year and win it.
Myself and big bro Hugh won the Northern Invitation Pairs on Saturday for the first time after two previous Final defeats in that competition. Still feeling a bit rough today after our (over) celebrations.
07-09-2009, 08:56 AM
Won the WEBA Triples on Saturday :thumbsup:, coupled with us (Currie) winning the WE second division and finally being promoted after a couple of seasons of near misses not too bad a season.
Won the WEBA Triples on Saturday :thumbsup:, coupled with us (Currie) winning the WE second division and finally being promoted after a couple of seasons of near misses not too bad a season.Well done ..& the success continues ...:thumbsup:
07-09-2009, 12:28 PM
Lost count of the number of Jambo stickered bowls I've played against this season, there's even a set in my rink and he tells me he bought them from the club shop. Have never seen any Hibs stickers on sale anywhere, does anyone have or know of a supplier?
Lost count of the number of Jambo stickered bowls I've played against this season, there's even a set in my rink and he tells me he bought them from the club shop. Have never seen any Hibs stickers on sale anywhere, does anyone have or know of a supplier?To be honest SH ive never seen hibs stickered bowls...ive seen plenty old firm & yam bowls but never hibs...anyone else saw hibs ones on the green..or anywhere for that matter ..?..
James Connolly
07-09-2009, 04:11 PM
Managed to win our Sc Triples yesterday, a wee bit consolation for losing the championship.
Still got the handicap final to look forward to on Saturday.
To be honest SH ive never seen hibs stickered bowls...ive seen plenty old firm & yam bowls but never hibs...anyone else saw hibs ones on the green..or anywhere for that matter ..?..
I used to have a set of Hibernian stickers many moons ago, can't remember where I got them.
However, there are various places where you can buy them on line, although you have to buy multiples of 500 at a cost of £50.
If we knew there was enough of an interest, it is probably something we could get organised for next year, seeing as this season is almost over.
Sell two sets of 4 for a £1 or something to recoup the money back
Managed to win our Sc Triples yesterday, a wee bit consolation for losing the championship.
Still got the handicap final to look forward to on Saturday.:cup:
I used to have a set of Hibernian stickers many moons ago, can't remember where I got them.
However, there are various places where you can buy them on line, although you have to buy multiples of 500 at a cost of £50.
If we knew there was enough of an interest, it is probably something we could get organised for next year, seeing as this season is almost over.
Sell two sets of 4 for a £1 or something to recoup the money backI would love a set of hibs stickers for my bowls..thats bloody costly for the stickers though eh !! ..pity you couldnt even get them in 100's...
James Connolly
08-09-2009, 03:41 PM
I'd certainly be interested in a good few sets, say a fivers worth; would look fab on my green Aces!!:thumbsup:
There's a few Hibbys at my club I'd dish them out to also!
08-09-2009, 07:23 PM
Would defo be up for a few sets if this was arranged, a tenners worth would last a good wee while :thumbsup:
That's the thing, with all the various competitions we play in, we are for ever having to change our stickers and whilst you might get away with peeling off and re-using them once, that's about your limit as the adhesive perishes and they just fall off, so you really do need a few sets if you want them to be your main sticker.
I will contact this place and see if I can get them done.
BTW FAO Kenny, that's actually the cheapest price by a long way.
That's the thing, with all the various competitions we play in, we are for ever having to change our stickers and whilst you might get away with peeling off and re-using them once, that's about your limit as the adhesive perishes and they just fall off, so you really do need a few sets if you want them to be your main sticker.
I will contact this place and see if I can get them done.
BTW FAO Kenny, that's actually the cheapest price by a long way.Nae worries Mike, its been yonks since i got new stickers ...last ones i bought were my "yellows" from Foremost at Gorgie rd..think they were only 50p for the set o 4 though ..:greengrin
As you say though..if we get enough interest fi the bowlers on here then we should go for it ..:agree:
Lmc2105
09-09-2009, 08:41 AM
the stickers are a great idea!!
would love to have stickers on my bowls!!
count me in aswell:agree::thumbsup:
2 bowl final tonight guys in the club hopefully a can win something this year :greengrin
the stickers are a great idea!!
would love to have stickers on my bowls!!
count me in aswell:agree::thumbsup:
2 bowl final tonight guys in the club hopefully a can win something this year :greengrin
How did you get on Lee?
I tried phoning this place about stickers but only got an answering m/c. I will try again today.
How did you get on Lee?
I tried phoning this place about stickers but only got an answering m/c. I will try again today.What company does them Mike ..?
tanfield
10-09-2009, 07:50 AM
Certainly be up for some stickers and I know from previous searches that there is guys on eBay that make and sell them. Happy to make further enquiries on this but let me know.
Lee came unstuck in the 2 bowl last night but he was playing against the best 2 bowl player in the club (guy beat me in the semi). Still a great achievement to get to the final of the 2 bowl in what is effectively his first year bowling. Well done Lee:thumbsup:
My season so far:
Championship:cup:
2 Bowl - Semi defeat :boo hoo:
Handicap - Final tomorrow night :worried:
Pairs - Semi final on Sunday :worried:
Triples - 1st roond exit :boo hoo:
Certainly be up for some stickers and I know from previous searches that there is guys on eBay that make and sell them. Happy to make further enquiries on this but let me know.
Lee came unstuck in the 2 bowl last night but he was playing against the best 2 bowl player in the club (guy beat me in the semi). Still a great achievement to get to the final of the 2 bowl in what is effectively his first year bowling. Well done Lee:thumbsup:
My season so far:
Triples - 1st roond exit :boo hoo:Aye, thats Lee got a bit more experience now & he will be a better player for it ...esp when we gun down that Northern lot next year !!! :hnet::greengrin
Groathillgrump
10-09-2009, 11:02 AM
I'd take a few sets for my 10 year old who's a junior member at Stenhouse. :agree:
Send me a PM if you get 'em because as a non-bowler I'll probably never look at this thread again. :greengrin
I'd take a few sets for my 10 year old who's a junior member at Stenhouse. :agree:
Send me a PM if you get 'em because as a non-bowler I'll probably never look at this thread again. :greengrin
You ought to get yerself a set of bowls then and start playing. You would get a game in the :hnet: v Northern Hibbies (time Kenny made a smillie for us :greengrin) because ANYBODY can get a game for that lot. :wink:
I'm now just waiting on a price having given the company details of our/my requirements. They have been pretty good getting back in touch so hopefully I will get a reply today and let everybody know.
Lmc2105
10-09-2009, 11:34 AM
My season so far:
Triples - 1st roond exit :boo hoo:
Hi Guys thanks for your kind comments :thumbsup: always great to see this after a defeat. tbh i didn't play my best but as andy said i was up againsta very very good player well to be honest you have to be good to beat andy.
well done on your progression through last night some of your bowls as i said to my dad were game turning bowls :top marks
and i will be up to watch your final tomorrow,
but yeah al take the confidence from yesterday and gun down the Northern once again next year!!
:hnet:
legends of 73
10-09-2009, 11:48 AM
who was it that beat you mate?my uncle won his singles championship out your way at the weekend don't know what club though:confused:
James Connolly
10-09-2009, 02:13 PM
who was it that beat you mate?my uncle won his singles championship out your way at the weekend don't know what club though:confused:
Billy Stoddart, Dalkeith B.C.
10-09-2009, 02:42 PM
That's his uncle and my wife's uncle. :agree:
Could somebody e-mail me a copy of the Hibs badge please.
I have tried to download it several times but without any joy.
I was hoping to get the badge on the small bias side of the bowl but I cannot get a copy or even link that the company can open.
The alternative is getting 1875 or even 07 on the small bias side.
What's everybody's preference?
BTW they wil only be about 50p for a set of 4, if I have done my figures correctly, plus postage, unless I arrange to meet everybody before a home game and distribute them there.
Let me know what you all want, 1875 or 07
James Connolly
10-09-2009, 03:33 PM
I was hoping to get the badge on the small bias side of the bowl but I cannot get a copy or even link that the company can open.
BTW they wil only be about 50p for a set of 4, if I have done my figures correctly, plus postage, unless I arrange to meet everybody before a home game and distribute them there.
07 would be my preference, but either is fine.
10 sets for me please:thumbsup:
Let me know what you all want, 1875 or 07Mike, im trying to send you a badge but yer e-mail account is dodgy !!! ..why doesnt that surprise me !! :greengrin
Pm me yer "legit" addy mate ..:thumbsup:
Ps..i would rather have 1875 but if the majority want 07 then im happy wi that...pps..i would also like a decent bit of white in the background..if ye ken what i mean ..
10-09-2009, 03:41 PM
Would have to be the Hibs badge for me :agree:, all the Jambo's I have played against have the badge on the small side. 1875 or 07 just wouldn't be right. I'll see if I can get one.
10-09-2009, 03:44 PM
What format does the picture need to be?
ANDY McGEECHAN
10-09-2009, 04:23 PM
£10 worth here mate, just let me know where to send the cash.
Halmyre Hibee
10-09-2009, 07:04 PM
£10 worth here mate, just let me know where to send the cash.
And loads of Hibbys at Parkside who would want some
Love the avatar of Dosh by the way ::top marks
Halmyre Hibee
10-09-2009, 07:06 PM
Is he getting better or are you getting worse?:wink:
And loads of Hibbys at Parkside who would want some
Love the avatar of Dosh by the way ::top marksHalmyre..do you Norrie Scott from Parkside BC...?
James Connolly
10-09-2009, 07:22 PM
Is he getting better or are you getting worse?:wink:
I played like a numpty mate; but fair play, his name will go on the board, not mine!:boo hoo:
tanfield
10-09-2009, 09:58 PM
Would have to be the Hibs badge for me :agree:, all the Jambo's I have played against have the badge on the small side. 1875 or 07 just wouldn't be right. I'll see if I can get one.
Have to agree on that one. Hibs badge for the bias side please.
Will take at least 10 sets Mike
Lmc2105
10-09-2009, 10:23 PM
Have to agree on that one. Hibs badge for the bias side please.
Will take at least 10 sets Mike
i agree also the badge would be fantastic!
Groathillgrump
11-09-2009, 07:06 AM
Badge for me too. :agree:
The 1875 or 07 would probably be a bit too cryptic for the kids my son plays with but there's no mistaking who you support when you've got the badge on your bowls.
I'd take 10 sets of 4.
legends of 73
11-09-2009, 12:44 PM
thats my uncle said he played well but played like a trump the following day too much on his mind with family issues to be fair
Halmyre Hibee
11-09-2009, 04:41 PM
Halmyre..do you Norrie Scott from Parkside BC...?
Yes I know Norrie. He has some bowling delivery has he not but if it works for you then fair enough. Mine's isn't exactly as smooth as it used to be either.
I was previously a member of Parkside from 1977-93 moved to Dalkeith & re-joined 2006.
---------- Post added at 05:39 PM ---------- Previous post was at 05:38 PM ----------
I played like a numpty mate; but fair play, his name will go on the board, not mine!:boo hoo:
Plenty time yet.
Bet for next year you to win the Championship & Hibs to win the Scottish Cup....now what's the odds on that then?
---------- Post added at 05:41 PM ---------- Previous post was at 05:39 PM ----------
thats my uncle said he played well but played like a trump the following day too much on his mind with family issues to be fair
Go on the "Bald Eagle" as he is affectionately known.
11-09-2009, 06:04 PM
Yes I know Norrie. He has some bowling delivery has he not but if it works for you then fair enough. Mine's isn't exactly as smooth as it used to be either.
I was previously a member of Parkside from 1977-93 moved to Dalkeith & re-joined 2006.
---------- Post added at 05:39 PM ---------- Previous post was at 05:38 PM ----------
Plenty time yet.
Bet for next year you to win the Championship & Hibs to win the Scottish Cup....now what's the odds on that then?
---------- Post added at 05:41 PM ---------- Previous post was at 05:39 PM ----------
Go on the "Bald Eagle" as he is affectionately known.
You'll need a fitness test for next season on your back injury :wink:
I was previously a member of Parkside from 1977-93 moved to Dalkeith & re-joined 2006.[COLOR="Silver"]
Difficult is the only word i can use to describe his delivery ..how that guy can throw a bowl after his razzle dazzle is beyond me !!!..lets just say ..its different !! :greengrin
Halmyre Hibee
11-09-2009, 09:16 PM
You'll need a fitness test for next season on your back injury :wink:
Playing tomorrow for the first time in about 6 weeks in a friendly booze up against Hillside.
Substitute painkillers for drink if it plays up.
Gonna play with my green tigers for a change.
James Connolly
13-09-2009, 09:49 AM
Won my 1st single hand title yesterday (handicap)!:thumbsup:
Got a 4 at the last end to win 21-20.
Halmyre Hibee
13-09-2009, 01:47 PM
Yipee......I hope you gubbed a Jambo in the final.
Lmc2105
13-09-2009, 08:12 PM
well done james good on you mate!!:thumbsup:
tanfield
13-09-2009, 08:58 PM
Well done. Great stuff:thumbsup:
James Connolly
14-09-2009, 06:32 AM
Yipee......I hope you gubbed a Jambo in the final.
Nearly; it was big Gow who I beat!
Me & Flynny beat 2 Jambos in the Club Pairs final yesterday though!:thumbsup: