View Full Version : Glenrothes By Election
05-11-2008, 09:51 PM
Seems we've all been too caught up in whats happening across the water to forget the big by election happening in Broons back yard. How do people see it going tomorrow/want it to go?
Think the SNP may snatch this seat
06-11-2008, 09:28 AM
Alex "nothing to do" Salmond has virtually camped out in Glenrothes recently.
The SNP are certainties.
06-11-2008, 10:22 AM
Seems we've all been too caught up in whats happening across the water to forget the big by election happening in Broons back yard. How do people see it going tomorrow/want it to go?
Think the SNP may snatch this seat
I think that was the point when Labour selected the date - its a good time to bury bad news.
I've heard SNP activists are confident and Labour are optimistic.
If it was the hibs, I'd rather be confident than optimistic.
It could still go either way - 10,000 is quite a majority to try to overturn and for it to be nailbitingly close perhaps says something about Labour's level of support in the once true-red area with the PM just next door.
I'll probably stay up for the result.
06-11-2008, 11:24 AM
I think that was the point when Labour selected the date - its a good time to bury bad news.
I've heard SNP activists are confident and Labour are optimistic.
If it was the hibs, I'd rather be confident than optimistic.
It could still go either way - 10,000 is quite a majority to try to overturn and for it to be nailbitingly close perhaps says something about Labour's level of support in the once true-red area with the PM just next door.
I'll probably stay up for the result.
:agree: It's a big majority to overturn, and I'll be pleasantly surprised if the SNP take the seat.
But I think we'll see that numpty headmaster returned for Labour with a greatly reduced majority.
06-11-2008, 11:40 AM
I think Labour will hold it.
06-11-2008, 11:44 AM
Sticking my neck on the line, I'll say SNP by a couple of hundred votes.
In such a case, it will almost certainly will go to a recount ;-)
Results watchers beware - you might want to set an alarm for 2.30-3pm as opposed to watching it from the start. (You sad, sad people :wink:)
06-11-2008, 11:57 AM
I think Labour will hold it.
I think you are right however hope not.
New Corrie
06-11-2008, 12:10 PM
Salmond never ceases to amaze me with his smugness and brass neck. How he can show his face in public after the mortification of his "arc of prosperity" rantings, is beyond me. This, coming from a man with a banking/economics background. Embarrassing doesn't even begin to describe this man. The last time he took to the streets of the Kingdom during a by election he, (in his usual i'm right and everyone else is wrong) fashion, told us that the Lib Dems had absolutely no chance of winning it. Guess who won it!
Not sure whats more embarrassing...Him, or the team he supports. Not much in it, me thinks.
06-11-2008, 12:24 PM
Salmond never ceases to amaze me with his smugness and brass neck. How he can show his face in public after the mortification of his "arc of prosperity" rantings, is beyond me. This, coming from a man with a banking/economics background. Embarrassing doesn't even begin to describe this man. The last time he took to the streets of the Kingdom during a by election he, (in his usual i'm right and everyone else is wrong) fashion, told us that the Lib Dems had absolutely no chance of winning it. Guess who won it!
Not sure whats more embarrassing...Him, or the team he supports. Not much in it, me thinks.
Where do you think your mob will come? Third or fourth? Do you think you'll keep your deposit this time?
06-11-2008, 12:39 PM
Thought you were describing your friend 'Dave' there. :greengrin
New Corrie
06-11-2008, 12:59 PM
Where do you think your mob will come? Third or fourth? Do you think you'll keep your deposit this time?
We will come nowhere, but then this election is in Scotland where the Conservatives get blamed for everything. Iceland!...Arc of prosperity....brilliant, I really like that one.
06-11-2008, 01:05 PM
We will come nowhere, but then this election is in Scotland where the Conservatives get blamed for everything. Iceland!...Arc of prosperity....brilliant, I really like that one.
This election is indeed in Scotland, where the Tories get blamed for a lot but equally where outside of the farming belt and certain wards in the cities, they know themselves they are a lost cause.
Even Dave admitted that Scotland could be a viable independent state, but hopes we'll hang on in the Union (to continue subsidising the rest of the UK with our natural resources and to be a good testing ground for potentially unpopular policies...)
Still, its all politics and its all bollocks. No-one knows which way things are going to go and no party has all the solutions to the problems we have here!
New Corrie
06-11-2008, 01:27 PM
Where do you think our mob will come at the next General Election? You've got to imagine first! Yes/No. The General Election is the real one, not the silly Inter Toto Holyrood one.
06-11-2008, 01:47 PM
Where do you think our mob will come at the next General Election? You've got to imagine first! Yes/No. The General Election is the real one, not the silly Inter Toto Holyrood one.
Clearly you'll be first, probably by a country mile.
But not up here and as I am someone from up here and care about it, it concerns me that the UK can elect a government which has only a handful (at very best standing) of seats in Scotland and a fraction of our vote.
06-11-2008, 01:56 PM
But not up here and as I am someone from up here and care about it, it concerns me that the UK can elect a government which has only a handful (at very best standing) of seats in Scotland and a fraction of our vote.
... Mind you, I'm sure that the injustice and irony of a Cameron government with only a couple of seats in Scotland will not be lost on voters in Scotland...
It's a faustian pact for Scottish Tories. Yes, you want the government in Westminster, but it's may end up costing you the Union.
New Corrie
06-11-2008, 02:01 PM
The same applies down there. We would have won the last general election if it wasn't for the Scottish Labour vote. There are still plenty of conservatives in Scotland. it's not that long since we were pishing all over the Nats up here. Our time will come again, but it's not easy in a country with such an appalling blame culture as ours.
06-11-2008, 02:05 PM
The same applies down there. We would have won the last general election if it wasn't for the Scottish Labour vote. There are still plenty of conservatives in Scotland. it's not that long since we were pishing all over the Nats up here. Our time will come again, but it's not easy in a country with such an appalling blame culture as ours.
And you're talking about an appalling blame culture? :dummytit:
You've a nerve!! :wink:
PS - Labour, without Scotland taken into consideration, would still have a commons majority of well over 100. It's another well trod lie Toriegraph readers from the South East like to poke me with when I go avisiting.
06-11-2008, 03:47 PM
I met Alex Salmond on my way home today. :thumbsup:
06-11-2008, 03:53 PM
I met Alex Salmond on my way home today. :thumbsup:
Shame you can't vote! :greengrin
Whats Alex Salmond doing there?
Shouldn't he be singlehandedly repairing the hole in the ozone layer, rebuilding the arctic ice, whilst wrapping up the wars in Iraq and Afghanistan? While he's about it, surely he should be in Congo sorting out the situation there and also personally sorting out this credit crunch? Surely he hasnt got enough hours in the day to do all this, but I'm sure I saw a wifey who needed a hand across the road this morning... where's Alex Salmond to help her? And when I didn't get a seat on the bus this morning, Alex Salmond should have sorted me out with a lift.
Scotsman
06-11-2008, 04:45 PM
Corrie Greens -
You are to the Tory Party as George Foulkes is to Hearts
Both deluded and following lost causes
SNP hopefully to win Glenrothes
06-11-2008, 05:53 PM
No one quite as low as the one who runs down his own country. :bitchy:
06-11-2008, 06:14 PM
Corrie Greens -
You are to the Tory Party as George Foulkes is to Hearts
Both deluded and following lost causes
SNP hopefully to win Glenrothes
indeed :agree:
06-11-2008, 08:14 PM
SNP by 2-300 votes?
New Corrie
06-11-2008, 08:35 PM
I want only good things for Scotland Doddie, and I dont think spending £450 million on a parliament creating more public servants is good for Scotland. I also think that having a man at the helm who cites Iceland as his argument for seperation is good for Scotland. Nationalists seem to think that they have a monopoly on wanting what's best for Scotland.
06-11-2008, 08:39 PM
greens - how would you feel about coming 3rd tonight? that seems to be what the chat is. Lib Dems may be having a bit of a mare.
PS - devolution is like giving someone the remote but telling them they can't change the channel.
New Corrie
06-11-2008, 08:54 PM
greens - how would you feel about coming 3rd tonight? that seems to be what the chat is. Lib Dems may be having a bit of a mare.
PS - devolution is like giving someone the remote but telling them they can't change the channel.
I think 3rd would be encouraging. The Lib Dems have fallen to bits big time. To think it's not that long since they won the by election held in Fife. I agree with your remote control analogy. I said at the time that a halfway house was futile and a complete waste of money. The only way that I would endorse seperation is if we were run on a centre/right basis outwith the EU. Not going to happen, so i'll stick with the status quo.
06-11-2008, 09:38 PM
Labour may have sneaked it but it has been a very low key turn out. But what does Wee Eck do when there is not a by-election? As I have seen more of him on TV in Glasgow east and now Glenrothes. But we will find out in about an hour
06-11-2008, 09:46 PM
Suspect Labour will hang on, Americans may be ready to vote for a black president, but Fifers possibly have some way to go yet to remove their blinkers and break their addiction to voting Labour.
06-11-2008, 09:57 PM
Labour may have sneaked it but it has been a very low key turn out. But what does Wee Eck do when there is not a by-election? As I have seen more of him on TV in Glasgow east and now Glenrothes. But we will find out in about an hour
Sneaked holding on, on a 10,000 majority.
You, sir, are spinning!
06-11-2008, 10:29 PM
I want only good things for Scotland Doddie, and I dont think spending £450 million on a parliament creating more public servants is good for Scotland. I also think that having a man at the helm who cites Iceland as his argument for seperation is good for Scotland. Nationalists seem to think that they have a monopoly on wanting what's best for Scotland.
It was Donald Dewar (the famous Glasgow criminal lawyer - is there any other kind?) who told us (mendaciously) that the Parliament building would cost £40 million, no, £50 million, no, £100 million, no, £200 million, no, £250 million, no, £300 million, no, £400 million, no, more than that....
It was a Labour government in Westminster that oversaw the building of Holyrood, and in doing so so inefficiently and mendaciously, they proved their unfitness to govern Scotland.
This post is typical of the way Labour activists twist the truth to blame the SNP for their own failures - neither Alec Salmond nor the SNP had the power or the authority at the time of building to prevent the massive overspend on Holyrood - and if you check back you'll find that the SNP were in favour of using the Royal High School building on Regent Road, which had already been adapted for use and which would certainly have been made suitable for the Parliament at much less cost that the eyesore that Donald Dewar's pet Catalan built us.
Holyrood - costs, design, the whole idea - was mismanaged by a LABOUR Scottish Secretary, a LABOUR government in Westminster, and a LABOUR/LIBERAL Executive in Edinburgh. So don't go blaming the SNP, pal.
And Alec quoted Iceland, true, but he also quoted Denmark, Norway, and Sweden in the comments you refer to. All of whom are doing better in the present recession than we are - possibly because they have authority over their own affairs?
Nor did I hear any Labourite spokespersons correcting Alec at the time regarding Iceland. (Although I understand that Gordon Brown and Alistair Darling KNEW the Iceland banks were about to fail, but did nothing and said nothing to warn British investors to protect their investments....)
Wake up and smell the coffee, mate - your precious Prime Minister, when he was Chancellor, stoked up this recession with his ridiculous idea that the days of boom and bust were over, and we could go on and on living on credit because he'd somehow figured out how to prevent any recession ever happening again. Now he's pretending to be the financial genius who's leading the world out of the pit - aye, right.
06-11-2008, 10:48 PM
predicting a labour hold on the tellybox :boo hoo: eck should un-freeze the cooncil tax in glenrothes as a lesson :grr::agree::greengrin
06-11-2008, 10:51 PM
Looks like I was right, bloody Fifers.:brickwall:brickwall
Zeberdee
06-11-2008, 10:52 PM
Hopefully this will take the smuggness off the SNP for a wee while altho im sure the arrogant salmond will keep it up.
06-11-2008, 10:53 PM
It was Donald Dewar (the famous Glasgow criminal lawyer - is there any other kind?) who told us (mendaciously) that the Parliament building would cost £40 million, no, £50 million, no, £100 million, no, £200 million, no, £250 million, no, £300 million, no, £400 million, no, more than that....
It was a Labour government in Westminster that oversaw the building of Holyrood, and in doing so so inefficiently and mendaciously, they proved their unfitness to govern Scotland.
This post is typical of the way Labour activists twist the truth to blame the SNP for their own failures - neither Alec Salmond nor the SNP had the power or the authority at the time of building to prevent the massive overspend on Holyrood - and if you check back you'll find that the SNP were in favour of using the Royal High School building on Regent Road, which had already been adapted for use and which would certainly have been made suitable for the Parliament at much less cost that the eyesore that Donald Dewar's pet Catalan built us.
Holyrood - costs, design, the whole idea - was mismanaged by a LABOUR Scottish Secretary, a LABOUR government in Westminster, and a LABOUR/LIBERAL Executive in Edinburgh. So don't go blaming the SNP, pal.
And Alec quoted Iceland, true, but he also quoted Denmark, Norway, and Sweden in the comments you refer to. All of whom are doing better in the present recession than we are - possibly because they have authority over their own affairs?
Nor did I hear any Labourite spokespersons correcting Alec at the time regarding Iceland. (Although I understand that Gordon Brown and Alistair Darling KNEW the Iceland banks were about to fail, but did nothing and said nothing to warn British investors to protect their investments....)
Wake up and smell the coffee, mate - your precious Prime Minister, when he was Chancellor, stoked up this recession with his ridiculous idea that the days of boom and bust were over, and we could go on and on living on credit because he'd somehow figured out how to prevent any recession ever happening again. Now he's pretending to be the financial genius who's leading the world out of the pit - aye, right.
This is the chancellor that just kept on borrowing, digging us into a hole and now as prime minister he is going to be the saviour to get us out of that hole. Isn't he just wonderful. Its bad enough just now, think what it'll be like when Cameron is in power.
06-11-2008, 11:00 PM
Sneaked holding on, on a 10,000 majority.
You, sir, are spinning!
Spinning me for Labour ---surely not :wink:
I'm hearing could be as much as 1500 majority. Not bad but not great. I think wee Eck has probably over played his own self importance. Can anyone name the Nat candidate? or any contribution he has made to the campaign?
06-11-2008, 11:11 PM
Spinning me for Labour ---surely not :wink:
I'm hearing could be as much as 1500 majority. Not bad but not great. I think wee Eck has probably over played his own self importance. Can anyone name the Nat candidate? or any contribution he has made to the campaign?
yup, peter grant(leader of fife council) :confused: and what contribution has lindsay roy made for the labour cause ? or did he need the help of the prime minister and his wife doing his canvassing for him ? and if your 1500 figure is correct then why on earth are labourites/labourettes claming this as a "spectacular" victory :dunno: they had a majority of 10,500 ffs :bitchy:
06-11-2008, 11:59 PM
Well it was spectacular result a majority of over 6700 and Labour share of the vote up. Looks like Wee Eck has had his day.:thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup:
les83
07-11-2008, 12:06 AM
Good good. Well done to the people of fife for seeing through the snp and alec salmond. Hopefully this will knock his smugness down a few pegs.
07-11-2008, 06:38 AM
I think Labour will hold it. :wink:
07-11-2008, 06:44 AM
Well it was spectacular result a majority of over 6700 and Labour share of the vote up. Looks like Wee Eck has had his day.:thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup:
I find it hard to believe that some people still want to defend this shambolic labour government that has;
Borrowed to ridiculous levels
Tried to force a costly and pointless ID card system on us
Seen closure after closure of local NHS hospitals
Nationalised banks but still let the big wigs get their bonuses
And thats not even starting on Scottish Labour
07-11-2008, 06:52 AM
I find it hard to believe that some people still want to defend this shambolic labour government that has;
Borrowed to ridiculous levels
Tried to force a costly and pointless ID card system on us
Seen closure after closure of local NHS hospitals
Nationalised banks but still let the big wigs get their bonuses
And thats not even starting on Scottish Labour
I'm from that area of Fife and Labour could've put up a complete numpty .. oh, wait a minute .. and still win that seat. That said, ino spin necessary for once .. t is a decent win for them - and Salmond will be spewing!
07-11-2008, 08:18 AM
I'm from that area of Fife and Labour could've put up a complete numpty .. oh, wait a minute .. and still win that seat. That said, ino spin necessary for once .. t is a decent win for them - and Salmond will be spewing!
Its the same where Im from, East Lothians another safe labour seat. And we have a complete numpty MP, and a complete numpty MSP who just so happens to be Scottish Labours chief!
07-11-2008, 08:19 AM
A very good win for Labour - disappointing if you like an upset! 6k is quite a majority and they've only lost 4000 off the 10k.
LibDems losing their deposit was fairly amusing and the Tories put in a fairly good showing (in the scale of things).
Why did it happen? Not sure. Localised campaign by Labour and the SNP chosing the leader of Fife Council as their candidate. Imagine they put someone like Cardownie up in a seat in Edinburgh. Unpopular government in Westminster or not, he'd get a kicking. Pressure is on Salmond to deal with it effectively and move forward. The spotlight is on him!
Does anyone else get creeped out by Jim Murphy MP?
07-11-2008, 08:30 AM
This is very bad news for the SNP but it's worse for the Tories nationally.
Brown is back! :thumbsup:
07-11-2008, 08:51 AM
This is very bad news for the SNP but it's worse for the Tories nationally.
Brown is back! :thumbsup:
Only until the real effects of his financial policies are really felt and people start losing jobs and houses at higher levels than elsewhere.
Personally thought Labour would hold on but very surprised at the level of the win as no doubt Labour are themselves. Listened to a Tory supporter from the area on the radio who voted Labour to protect the Union. Dear oh dear.
07-11-2008, 08:55 AM
This is the chancellor that just kept on borrowing, digging us into a hole and now as prime minister he is going to be the saviour to get us out of that hole. Isn't he just wonderful. Its bad enough just now, think what it'll be like when Cameron is in power.
Yep absolutely amazing to be honest.
07-11-2008, 09:01 AM
Only until the real effects of his financial policies are really felt and people start losing jobs and houses at higher levels than elsewhere.
Personally thought Labour would hold on but very surprised at the level of the win as no doubt Labour are themselves. Listened to a Tory supporter from the area on the radio who voted Labour to protect the Union. Dear oh dear.
Seriously?
The world is in financial meltdown and you blame Brown.
I guess that's the line the Tories and SNP have to trot out but it doesn't wash.
Brown's rating in the polls is rising cos he's seen as a safe pair of hands.
Can you really imagine Alex Salmond with that kind of responsibility? :faf:
Edit: It should be noted that the USA are crediting Gordon Brown as the person who lead the way in addressing the current crisis.
Zeberdee
07-11-2008, 10:03 AM
I hate this pointless negativety people have towards brown. At the end of the day he is the only real option. Those who see Salmond as an option are in never never land.
If Indpendance was achieved, which I dont think they would ever get enough support for, I would expect to see riots and in fighting within our own country between nationalists and unionists.
07-11-2008, 10:14 AM
Seriously?
The world is in financial meltdown and you blame Brown.
I guess that's the line the Tories and SNP have to trot out but it doesn't wash.
Brown's rating in the polls is rising cos he's seen as a safe pair of hands.
Can you really imagine Alex Salmond with that kind of responsibility? :faf:
Edit: It should be noted that the USA are crediting Gordon Brown as the person who lead the way in addressing the current crisis.
Britain is in a far worse mess than other countries due to the lack of regulation of the banks, levels of government debt and the consumer credit which has been encouraged by Brown during his tenure. There are reports that the UK is in a much worse position than other countries due to the level of debt that we have compared to others. Mandelson was happy to say in the summer that the level of government debt was a major weakness for Brown.
Brown has pumped billions into the banks without ensuring the government have much of a say in how they are run, that was the time to be making deals. Still not convinced that the railroading through the competition commission of the HBOS deal was not alot more than trying to do Salmond over.
Dont think you can say that Salmond wouldnt be able to deal with that responsibility. He is an economist by profession so think he will have a handle on things.
Lets see how popular Brown is when jobs and houses are lost down to the nationalised banks not doing what they are told.
07-11-2008, 10:30 AM
I hate this pointless negativety people have towards brown. At the end of the day he is the only real option. Those who see Salmond as an option are in never never land.
If Indpendance was achieved, which I dont think they would ever get enough support for, I would expect to see riots and in fighting within our own country between nationalists and unionists.
And whose fault would that be? Nationalists for daring to win a referendum, or Unionists bitter that they had lost? Thats a daft comment from a usually sensible poster.
It is frustrating to constantly hear people like Jim Murphy doing Scotland down and indeed, other countries in supporting his argument.
The unionist argument generally belittles Scotland and Scottish potential. The nationalist argument plays up the progress of others as an example.
If the unionists want to pop the nationalist balloon, they need to talk up the actual benefits of a union and underline Scotland's contribution to it and to stop the fear mongering and negativity. They will then probably take some of the more soft nationalists into their argument.
Re: financial situation - the IMF report last night stated that Britain is uniquely placed to feel the worst effects of a recession. Brown the economic genius, or just another labour boom-to-bust merchant?
The bottom line though, is that the constitution has to change.
Federalism would, I think, save the union. The status quo or to go back to how it was pre-devolution will ultimately see the Union fall apart.
...but then I thought the SNP might get this one, so what do I know! :greengrin
Zeberdee
07-11-2008, 01:07 PM
Thats a daft comment from a usually sensible poster.
possibly the best compliment i've ever been given. :greengrin
I dont want to get involved in a debate about independance cos I'll just get shot down from all angles and wont be able to keep up!
I was just making the point that I dont think it would pass easily.
07-11-2008, 01:09 PM
I disagree that pro Unionist means that you play down Scotland. I am a very proud Scot however the sensible economic argument for Scotland staying within the UK is overwhelming. I get frustrated that Nat's claim Labour supporters are not pro Scotland. we are pro Scotland but within the UK
07-11-2008, 03:22 PM
I disagree that pro Unionist means that you play down Scotland. I am a very proud Scot however the sensible economic argument for Scotland staying within the UK is overwhelming. I get frustrated that Nat's claim Labour supporters are not pro Scotland. we are pro Scotland but within the UK
Exactly - the idea that you can't be in favour of the economic Union of Scotland and England without AUTOMATICALLY talking down/belittling your own country is absurd, and yet is a tenet of pretty much any Salmond speech I ever see/hear about Independence.
Is it not possible to be proud of Scotland and being Scottish without being a rabid nationalist??
07-11-2008, 03:45 PM
Exactly - the idea that you can't be in favour of the economic Union of Scotland and England without AUTOMATICALLY talking down/belittling your own country is absurd, and yet is a tenet of pretty much any Salmond speech I ever see/hear about Independence.
Is it not possible to be proud of Scotland and being Scottish without being a rabid nationalist??
Or even of differing from nationalists in principle without using pejorative terms like RABID? :cool2:
07-11-2008, 04:14 PM
Or even of differing from nationalists in principle without using pejorative terms like RABID? :cool2:
How about loony?
Deluded?
*****in?
:devil:
Sorry. :wink:
sKipper
08-11-2008, 12:21 PM
If its Salmond v Brown I'd take Salmond any day.:agree:
I still think Brown will be found out big time in the future when the impact of his excessive borrowing and pensions tinkering begins to affect people directly.
Splat
10-11-2008, 11:56 AM
Brilliant management of funds by our wonderful Labour economic geniuses.
What to do when money is tight?.......Waste billions on id cards.
Britain’s debt will cripple it in the long-term maybe even a lot sooner that that and all the sycophantic Broon lickers will look like the lemmings that they are.
Labour for the workers, does that include the desire the choob had to abolish the 10p tax rate and screw low income families.
Brown is king of the Labour clique up here that is systematically being tacken apart (by the nats) and the members of this comfortable clique don't like it up them after years of cushy little jobs for the boys. You lost votes in Glenrothes lads, pretty embarrassing to be celebrating it.
Maybe our great leader could put some of our ample resources into equipping our soldiers properly in Iraq and Afghanistan. After all his party sent them their in the first place. It must be a right laugh going for a tour in Basra without body armour or properly protected vehicles.
But hey don't worry....Broons back.:jamboak: