View Full Version : Dreams
23-10-2008, 08:21 PM
I know hearing about other people's dreams is very boring, so I don't want to go into specifics. I'm interested in how many people remember dreams, or are aware they have them.
I've always had very vivid dreams. In the darkness they tend to be disturbing, violent and confrontational. I've got used to them now, but as a child I was often scared to go to sleep.
In the light hours, my dreams are exciting or comforting, often very sexual in nature.
Eating late and certain foods brings them on.
Chuckie
23-10-2008, 08:38 PM
I have very vivid dreams too Bob...
I find often if I sleep alone in a house, I can have awful nightmares, where I will actually wake up screaming, like you see in films.
A recurring dream I have always had is one where I am flying. In my dream I can fly, sometimes I have to really try hard to fly, and other times I can just soar and glide above everyone and everything, and it is like I am untouchable and godlike.
I also have erotic dreams about big fat women.
There you go..
23-10-2008, 08:45 PM
From time to time I have lucid dreams, but when this happens, I do daft things like walking in front of a car just to see what happens, of course I wake up. :greengrin
I also like it when I wake up from a good dream, but get back to sleep quickly and manage to go back into the dream I've just woken from. :thumbsup:
I often have re-ocurring dreams about almost being struck by lightning. :dunno:
A colleague of mine swears by the fact that he has had dreams before that at the time seems average yet a few days later when he is awake he has a feeling of deja vu, where does the feeling come from - his dream
I don't work with complete basket cases may i add.
23-10-2008, 09:16 PM
I once had a dream about talking dinosaurs, they said i was in the way of their construction and demolished my hut and got a helicopter to take me away.
Was a bit strange, but not my strangest...
Threw a can of Dr.Pepper into my school and the school exploded cartoon style (the roof went flying up) then it landed as a liquid which spread over the ground and solidified into pizza, i ate a slice. :pizza:
EDIT: I had a feeling :pizza: wouldnt give me a smilie. :(
23-10-2008, 09:33 PM
Had a dream about gordon strachan running over my mums head last night, then deciding he hadnt done it enough then went back for more.
Was a horrible dream. Suppose it would be with the wee ginger fud in it. :agree:
24-10-2008, 12:25 AM
My dreams are crazy. Freud would have a field day with me.
I have lucid dreams, almost always when i do dream. I often dream in black and white, although i dream in colour too. often i dream about things that are worrying me and i play out the various consequences in my head...
hibsboy90
24-10-2008, 01:23 AM
A colleague of mine swears by the fact that he has had dreams before that at the time seems average yet a few days later when he is awake he has a feeling of deja vu, where does the feeling come from - his dream
I don't work with complete basket cases may i add.
I get them. Like premonitions.
Classic example, was in Nethy Bridge, and could have sworn i'd been there before. I'd dreamt about being there, the exact same place, layout and all. Yet i had never been there before in my life.
Last night a dreamt i was working in sainsburies at the gyle - there isn't one. And i got sacked as it ran out of toilet roll, my responsibility.
Don't laugh people.
24-10-2008, 01:41 AM
I get mental dreams all the time - always very vivid.
There's been many a time I've had to have a really long think to work out whether a conversation had happened in my dreams or in reality.
Fair to say I enjoy the dreams more often than not.
Teo10
24-10-2008, 06:53 AM
I've had a few crazy dreams....Like everyone I know at this dance and random ass ***** happens. Or I'm playing football and on fire....or when I was younger when I wanted toys I'd dream about having them and wake up with excitement of playing with said toys to then realise I didn't actually have them....I dream about chuckie storar and fenton too.....
24-10-2008, 08:44 AM
Try taking Lariam the anti malaria drug then come back and talk about dreams. I had to stop taking it things got that bad.:agree:
24-10-2008, 10:05 PM
Classic example, was in Nethy Bridge, and could have sworn i'd been there before. I'd dreamt about being there, the exact same place, layout and all. Yet i had never been there before in my life.
I get that all the time, sometimes can last for a few minutes exactly how i dreamed, bizarre to say the least.
Helped me avoid having a bird crapping on my head once actually:greengrin
24-10-2008, 10:12 PM
Last night a dreamt i was working in sainsburies at the gyle - there isn't one. And i got sacked as it ran out of toilet roll, my responsibility.
Don't laugh people.
Same here...
i'll dream about something happening at work...then a few days later it happens and i'm left querying WTF just happened
24-10-2008, 10:23 PM
I ****ing hate dreams because it's IMPOSSIBLE to run fast :grr:
24-10-2008, 10:26 PM
This reminds me of a dream i used to have quite alot, id run, but it was as if i was floating just off the ground and could hardly move (like running in a pool, but even slower than that).
Was horrible. :agree:
Calvin
24-10-2008, 10:42 PM
I used to have a recurring nightmare where my whole family get stuck in a car in a level crossing. A 125 comes along and smashes them all to smithereens.
I dream pretty much every night, but I only occasionally remember them for more than 6 seconds.
Last night, a vivid part of my dream was that my house was the train station, and the train was running on tram lines. I look left in my garden and it's Berlin. I watch all my friends go past on the train, go inside, then they all walk past the window. Only then do I realise that my house is the station.
When I went to Holland in 2003 I already knew the town through a dream. It was very freaky.
24-10-2008, 10:47 PM
Try taking Lariam the anti malaria drug then come back and talk about dreams. I had to stop taking it things got that bad.:agree:
I started taking it more for the same reason.:greengrin
24-10-2008, 10:51 PM
:agree: Try turning around and running backwards - always works for me. Either that or I end up flying, or doing huge jumps.
Lately, I have had dreams of me being with my dad - out shopping with him, walking around with him and being in the house with him - he has been dead for over 13 years.
Does any expert analyser on here know what it means when you dream about someone who is dead :dunno:
24-10-2008, 11:09 PM
:agree: Try turning around and running backwards - always works for me. Either that or I end up flying, or doing huge jumps.
WHAT!?
And run TOWARDS the guy with the gun/guy with the brick/guy with the sword/guy with the dildo!?
25-10-2008, 05:42 AM
I started taking it more for the same reason.:greengrin
Lysergic Diethylamyde was good enough for that thanks :greengrin
Danny_Hibee
25-10-2008, 09:25 AM
WHAT!?
And run TOWARDS the guy with the gun/guy with the brick/guy with the sword/guy with the dildo!?
To be honest you probably are better turning and facing towards him rather than away from him :agree:
26-10-2008, 10:40 AM
Lately, I have had dreams of me being with my dad - out shopping with him, walking around with him and being in the house with him - he has been dead for over 13 years.
Does any expert analyser on here know what it means when you dream about someone who is dead :dunno:
According to Freud - "Dream interpretations are different from person to person. There is no fixed explanation for a specific dream."
But as I'm trying to help you out here, it could mean one of the following...
you're subconsciously thinking about him.
you feel the need more greater wisdom in your life.
you want/need to understand others' problems better.
depending on your religious beliefs, a greater being could be telling you he's safe.
or it could simply be that you miss him.
i dream a lot about my gran, who i never met as she died before i was born. yet in my dreams i've spent time with her and talked to her and asked her for advice on things. I think this goes hand in hand with the fact that i only really have lucid dreams, and everything seems so real. I've actually made decisions in real life based on conversations i've had with my gran in my dreams.
Not important, life-or-death situations, but minor things i guess.
i think dreams are fascinating :agree:
26-10-2008, 10:40 AM
To be honest you probably are better turning and facing towards him rather than away from him :agree:
Depends on how you feel about things like that...
:wink::greengrin:cool2:
26-10-2008, 10:41 AM
WHAT!?
where do you buy your cheese sir?
it sounds most excellent.
I go for months without dreaming then have a week of really weird dreams.
On Friday night m dream was that I was a few days away from going into labour and David Beckham and a woman from my work were helping me deliver the kid.
Last night my dream was about me shooting myself in the head. 3 bullets didnt kill me and I was just wandering round waiting to see when I would die. I kept wanting to tell someone what I had done but I couldnt bring myself to do it.
God know what tonights will be!
According to Freud - "Dream interpretations are different from person to person. There is no fixed explanation for a specific dream."
depending on your religious beliefs, a greater being could be telling you he's safe.
i dream a lot about my gran, who i never met as she died before i was born. yet in my dreams i've spent time with her and talked to her and asked her for advice on things. I think this goes hand in hand with the fact that i only really have lucid dreams, and everything seems so real. I've actually made decisions in real life based on conversations i've had with my gran in my dreams.
Thank you for this helpful post Letrim :thumbsup:- I get told by other relatives that my nature is very similar to my dad and I look like him. I think about him a lot because he was the greatest wisdom provider in my life - I miss him greatly and was close to him even though he lived over 300 miles away from me.
My granny was also the one I listened to for suggestions in my life and I dream about her a lot even though she is dead now so your post makes total sense to me :greengrin
26-10-2008, 01:57 PM
Thank you for this helpful post Letrim :thumbsup:- I get told by other relatives that my nature is very similar to my dad and I look like him. I think about him a lot because he was the greatest wisdom provider in my life - I miss him greatly and was close to him even though he lived over 300 miles away from me.
My granny was also the one I listened to for suggestions in my life and I dream about her a lot even though she is dead now so your post makes total sense to me :greengrin
Any time. I'm glad it was understandable! Given that a lot of my friends are studying psychology and another is studying the interpretation of dream, I'm never short of opportunities to chat about the subject.
It sounds like the reasons you're dreaming about your dad are the ones i suggested - the most common reasons I think. Another reason could be that in the past an event might have occurred around about this time of year which has stayed with you and as a result you're subconsciously thinking about him now. Doesn't necessarily have had to have been a major event, but just a time when you perhaps shared a special moment or something similar. Another reason could be that something recently has reminded you of him - perhaps, as you say, your relatives likening you to him.
Hopefully that made just as much sense!
26-10-2008, 02:01 PM
...and you also realise you are weak and can't fight.
I used to have a dream of a clowns face just laughing and it was a horrible face.
Also I get abducted, and im trying to run away from the place thats like a mining place(like prestongrange) znd when i'm trying to run, its so slow and if i call out theres no sound.
Had them a few times.
they just seem to be mental now though, completely random things.
26-10-2008, 02:04 PM
Sorry for your loss Chez. I know it's not the same, but I still dream about my dog who died while I was at T in the Park, and I didn't know until I got home. Taking her walks etc and trying to find out how it happened that she went from being healthy to just dying in the space of 2 days. I'll never know, but annoys me so much.
26-10-2008, 02:08 PM
Sorry for your loss Chez. I know it's not the same, but I still dream about my dog who died while I was at T in the Park, and I didn't know until I got home. Taking her walks etc and trying to find out how it happened that she went from being healthy to just dying in the space of 2 days. I'll never know, but annoys me so much.
i think it's harder losing a loved one - be it a friend, relative or a pet - when it's a shock. In my own personal experience, it's been easier to deal with when I've been able to try and come to terms with it beforehand.
I think it's natural to dream about those we love - especially those who have passed away, as there will be a certain part of us still questioning our loss, along the lines of "why so soon?" and "what might have happened if..."
The unanswered questions I suppose. I know that I dream about friends and relatives who've died, and sometimes they're alive in the dreams, and it's harder waking up and realising that it was just a dream...but i suppose, they're memories, memories that can't ever be destroyed and without memories, we'd basically be like robots.
Teo10
26-10-2008, 02:15 PM
Seems to be quite a common one. I also have dreams where it feels like I am doing a bunjy(sp) jump but it's all white I keep going up and down up and down and the distance between me hitting the floor varies, thing is it allways happens when I am ill:confused:
AllyF
26-10-2008, 02:54 PM
I can never remember my dreams and if I do they are really weird and I'm too embarrassed to re-tell them.
Recently, I've been having more and more dreams where I actually do the action from the dream, in my bed. For example, if I was jumping, I would jump in my bed. Or if I was falling, I would flip up like a fish because of the shock when I've landed. Its a bit freaky but I actually quite enjoy it.
26-10-2008, 02:59 PM
I can never remember my dreams and if I do they are really weird and I'm too embarrassed to re-tell them.
Recently, I've been having more and more dreams where I actually do the action from the dream, in my bed. For example, if I was jumping, I would jump in my bed. Or if I was falling, I would flip like a fish because of the shock when I've landed. Its a bit freaky but I actually quite enjoy it.
You'll enjoy them a lot more when you start dreaming about "doing the business" with a bird then. :wink::greengrin
Storar
26-10-2008, 03:44 PM
Seems to be quite a common one. I also have dreams where it feels like I am doing a bunjy(sp) jump but it's all white I keep going up and down up and down and the distance between me hitting the floor varies, thing is it allways happens when I am ill:confused:
I think it is quite common. I hate it when you try to run and you go very slow or if you get in a fight but you're really weak:boo hoo:
I've had some messed up dreams:boo hoo:
New Corrie
26-10-2008, 04:03 PM
My latest one was that I was at the shops at Western Corner and a bit of scaffolding hit me on the napper taking a huge chunk out of my heid, but given that there was a bus full of people at the lights I kept walking pretending it wasn't sore, then one of the passengers came over to see if I was OK, and i told her that I am sure it would be ok (even though there was claret everywhere). She said that she couldn't help me as she, herself was ill and didn't want me to catch any bugs.
Too much cheese toast and lager me thinks.
Then there was the time I got attacked by a giant Pizza in Morningside...I'll spare you that one.
26-10-2008, 04:59 PM
My latest one was that I was at the shops at Western Corner and a bit of scaffolding hit me on the napper taking a huge chunk out of my heid, but given that there was a bus full of people at the lights I kept walking pretending it wasn't sore, then one of the passengers came over to see if I was OK, and i told her that I am sure it would be ok (even though there was claret everywhere). She said that she couldn't help me as she, herself was ill and didn't want me to catch any bugs.
Too much cheese toast and lager me thinks.
Then there was the time I got attacked by a giant Pizza in Morningside...I'll spare you that one.
Must have been a dream, a pizza in Morningside?!
Actually think you should elaborate on this one, Greens!
26-10-2008, 10:02 PM
where do you buy your cheese sir?
it sounds most excellent.
I make my own, I have many spoons and lighters in my house :greengrin
I think it is quite common. I hate it when you try to run and you go very slow or if you get in a fight but you're really weak:boo hoo:
I've had some messed up dreams:boo hoo:
I hate this crap man, I want to know how to fix this.
I have VERY bad ones when I'm ill, one night I slept with the telly on and I woke up roughly every 30 minutes to change the channel because I thought a white noise monster was gonnae come oot the telly to get me if I didn't :bitchy:
26-10-2008, 10:03 PM
I make my own, I have many spoons and lighters in my house :greengrin
I hate this crap man, I want to know how to fix this.
I have VERY bad ones when I'm ill, one night I slept with the telly on and I woke up roughly every 30 minutes to change the channel because I thought a white noise monster was gonnae come oot the telly to get me if I didn't :bitchy:
Ah, it all makes sense now...
:devil::greengrin
EH6 Hibby
27-10-2008, 01:36 PM
I always have strange dreams and I usually remember them, but there is one dream I have all the time that really bothers me, I would love to find out what it means.
It's always the same idea but it's different every time, it's always about going on holiday although the destination and the people I'm going with are different each time. It usually goes along the lines of I've forgotten I'm going on holiday or I've been offered a holiday at the very last minute and I'm usually rushing around trying to pack or I'm in a taxi on the way to the airport and realise I've not packed and don't have anything with me, and I have to go home and try to get my stuff together before my flight leaves. I never manage it completely and usually end up being on holiday with no clothes or hardly any and I don't have any money! :confused:
I have this dream every few months so it has to mean something surely! :confused:
27-10-2008, 04:22 PM
Come on now ........
Who else has the naked in public dream?
27-10-2008, 04:29 PM
I always have strange dreams and I usually remember them, but there is one dream I have all the time that really bothers me, I would love to find out what it means.
It's always the same idea but it's different every time, it's always about going on holiday although the destination and the people I'm going with are different each time. It usually goes along the lines of I've forgotten I'm going on holiday or I've been offered a holiday at the very last minute and I'm usually rushing around trying to pack or I'm in a taxi on the way to the airport and realise I've not packed and don't have anything with me, and I have to go home and try to get my stuff together before my flight leaves. I never manage it completely and usually end up being on holiday with no clothes or hardly any and I don't have any money! :confused:
I have this dream every few months so it has to mean something surely! :confused:
stay at home next summer?
it could be stress-related. If you have a stressful job, or you're a student meeting deadlines, or even if there's something on your mind that's niggling away then it could be contributing to this dream. Or if you worry a lot about things then one of the most hellish things to worry about would be a holiday, so perhaps the worry, the stress and the thought of the most stressful holiday amalgamate to form this recurring dream. The people and the destination in it are probably irrelevant hence why they constantly change.
27-10-2008, 04:29 PM
Come on now ........
Looks like it's just you. :wink:
27-10-2008, 07:58 PM
Come on now ........
I was at the swimming pool when mine happened and I had to walk home :boo hoo::brickwall
Come on now ........
I had a recurrent dream where I was walking up through this housing scheme with my clothes on to the local community hall. Whilst doing that, people were standing at their front doors looking at me scornfully. I was nervous and continued to walk up to the community hall with my head down.
I got to the hall door and in the hall was my best friend and she kept saying to me "Do it Chez, do it!!". The next thing I undressed in the hall and cut over the grassy area outside (like a fitbaw pitch) in the nude with everyone looking at me differently to the scornful way they were looking at me on my way up to the hall.
Was a weird dream to say the least and the only thing I am predicting from it is that it was telling me I am free from my past now and I am now the person I was born to be before alcoholism etc had affected me. My clothes were perhaps my protective shields I created during my child hood and removing them has set me free :thumbsup:.
Be interesting to see what other's perceptions are - if they are the same or different to my own :greengrin
Storar
27-10-2008, 09:22 PM
The only recurring dream I've ever had is where I save my brother from drowning:confused:
Not had it for a few years now but I can remember very vividly 4 seperate dreams where I've had to save him from drowning. The strange thing is that I can't actually swim myself:confused::greengrin
27-10-2008, 09:34 PM
When I was younger I used to have this dream where this boulder was rolling after me down a psychadellic slope in a tunnell....used to scare me *****less....never knew what it meant...
Davy Mac
27-10-2008, 09:52 PM
I have crazy dreams every night but one dream that makes me laugh - and I've had it a couple of times is playing for Partick Thistle!!!:LOL::rotflmao::hilarious
It's absolutly hilarious and there I am in red, yellow and black stripes playing at Firhill.
Brilliant - I try a 'book' that dream quite a lot:greengrin
27-10-2008, 10:31 PM
You know the wooden sticks you get with Magnum ice lollies?
Right.
I had a beauty of a dream where I was at the Commonwealth Pool with a couple of mates, the pool was a zig-zag shape, and I started getting dizzy so I decided to leave.
When I got to the lockers I couldn't open mine so I ask one of the guards for help. At that moment Henrik Larsson came in with a giant wooden Magnum stick and cut the guy's arm off with it.
Then I ran away and woke up in hysterics....
Storar
27-10-2008, 10:43 PM
Right.
I had a beauty of a dream where I was at the Commonwealth Pool with a couple of mates, the pool was a zig-zag shape, and I started getting dizzy so I decided to leave.
When I got to the lockers I couldn't open mine so I ask one of the guards for help. At that moment Henrik Larsson came in with a giant wooden Magnum stick and cut the guy's arm off with it.
I love you
04-11-2008, 04:06 PM
Psychoses are waking dreams, so are dreams sleeping consciousness? Think I'll have an extra spoonful of Horlicks tonight.
A dream I have had most of my life involves playing for hibs. When I was younger, I would find myself in a scoring position, only to wake up just as I missed an open goal. As I got older, I started to succeed in sclaffing the ball into the net. Now I can score from anywhere on the pitch, yet the dream doesn't last long enough to enjoy the adulation of the fans.
I'm just hoping that one day the dream will continue right up to an evening sesh in Tigerlily, and waking up on Monday morning to read about what I've been up to on Hibs.net.
LamontHFC©
12-11-2008, 10:51 PM
Right.
That really has just made my night. :faf:
Teo10
15-11-2008, 01:55 AM
Right.
Such a ginge like:faf: that is amazing!
Eurohibees
15-11-2008, 09:56 AM
The one thqat freaked me was the time i dreamt my toenails fell off and left the cuticles red raw woke in tears convinced they were gone, felt such a relief when i seen them still attached. Phew!
Hibby D
15-11-2008, 10:49 AM
I dream every night - and all my dreams are very very vivid.
I can remember complex numbers, colours, music & words to songs I don't know when I'm in my conscious state ( I like when this happens - does it make me psychic? :greengrin)
Recurring dreams - oh yes! Flying, Teeth falling out (I have this dream when I'm worried about losing control of things) and several dreams where a particular (semi) famous person is my boyfriend :faf:
I also suffer from sleep paralysis - I've not experienced it for a while now but when it happens it freaks me out big time :boo hoo:
15-11-2008, 11:21 AM
That really has just made my night. :faf:
Such a ginge like:faf: that is amazing!
I've had better yins than that tae :wink:
I can remember complex numbers, colours, music & words to songs I don't know when I'm in my conscious state ( I like when this happens - does it make me psychic? :greengrin)
Recurring dreams - oh yes! Flying, Teeth falling out (I have this dream when I'm worried about losing control of things) and several dreams where a particular (semi) famous person is my boyfriend :faf:
I also suffer from sleep paralysis - I've not experienced it for a while now but when it happens it freaks me out big time :boo hoo:
I get that quite often and find it's quite a cool experience, I actually try and move slowly to see if it'll happen, kind of like trying to sneeze :cool2:
16-11-2008, 01:26 PM
Me too and it scares the s&*t out of me. Normally when it happens I have this urge that I desperately need to get up due to some danger like someone being in the house / slept in / fire, etc. :boo hoo:
16-11-2008, 02:27 PM
I had this dream where I was fighting an alien species and the next wave of them were coming over the hill....the attack was going well until Kriss Akabusi appeared and started laughing before shooting himself in the mouth....
Scared the *****e oot me :agree::dizzy:
Teo10
18-11-2008, 03:20 PM
I had the weirdest dream so far last night.
It started of I was at my house and my mates had something to tell me but would'nt.... Then eventually this wee kid turned up in my room with bags full of stuff...to which I asked why do you have those? he replied oh theres something you should know...Your going to die!
To my suprise I was like eh **** off and get out of my room to which he told me it was destiny..I didnt really bat an eyelid until that night when a strange guy turned up at my door saying he needed to come in, I was cautious then eventually let him in...just as the door closed there were gunshots, he pushed me to the floor as some random came round the corner and the guy who pushed me shot him straight in the head. Then it cut back to my room with this little kid who kept bringing his stuff in saying hes taking my room..(it was like the storyline from the film "Wanted" but I had to be saved...) then later on that day more people came up crashing into my house to which myself picked up a gun and started shooting for my life...aswell as this "protector" who was there helping me...
Thats all I can remember then I woke up....
Freaked me right out!
AllyF
20-11-2008, 09:41 PM
Had an odd dream last night where I befriended a dinosaur.
Calvin
20-11-2008, 09:46 PM
Last night I was at work and the Chef gave me a Chef's outfit. For some reason I was amazingly chuffed. I went to put it on, and when I came back the hotel had tripled in size and there were new rooms. I went into one and there was some kind of expo. Tubes from Soccer AM was there so I started trying to chat with him but I never managed to say anything.
Odd.
01-12-2008, 11:36 AM
I had a dream last night that I got stabbed twice. I then went round to my mates house and went to sleep. It had all healed up when I woke up in the morning and had two punture marks!?! WTF
I did watch that thing about Philadelphia on BBC2 and then assault on precint 13 before I went to sleep!
I usually find that I dream about stuff I have been thinking about / watched on TV that night.