View Full Version : Teenage Club Nights Up Town

12-10-2008, 05:31 PM
Do you let your teenage kids 13-15 go to these nights that are organised in city centre clubs on a Friday night/early evening?

12-10-2008, 07:36 PM
Do you let your teenage kids 13-15 go to these nights that are organised in city centre clubs on a Friday night/early evening?
My daughter who is nearly fourteen goes to NRG at Picardy Place. They have a policy of breathalysing the kids, to ensure there is no trouble with under-age drinking etc. Seems to be well supervised from what I have seen.

Little Miss Perfect
12-10-2008, 09:03 PM
My daughter who is nearly fourteen goes to NRG at Picardy Place. They have a policy of breathalysing the kids, to ensure there is no trouble with under-age drinking etc. Seems to be well supervised from what I have seen.

:agree: My 13 1/2 year old niece has been allowed to go there twice recently,she says it's amazing :confused: :greengrin,not too happy that she gets dropped off and picked up again by her parents or friends parents though.

12-10-2008, 09:15 PM
:agree: My 13 1/2 year old niece has been allowed to go there twice recently,she says it's amazing :confused: :greengrin,not too happy that she gets dropped off and picked up again by her parents or friends parents though. Aye they seem to have a great time in there. Not enough clubs for the under 16s really.

blaikie
12-10-2008, 09:59 PM
Went to one in Glasgow a few years back when I was 14 :greengrin was great for us expect the odd drunken ned sneaking there way in :wink:

12-10-2008, 10:40 PM
The Radio Forth ones are very good as well I'm told by my (just about to turn 15 yo) daughter.

13-10-2008, 01:09 PM
Ah, the memories. Had some great nights at the red hot pepper club U18's back in the day. Never any alchohol or fights or anything along these lines, but all us boys were like poachers dugs:greengrin.

Thanks for that. I feel a right old 'un now.:agree::greengrin

13-10-2008, 06:58 PM
I must be the only one that wouldn't let my son go to one of these nights then!

13-10-2008, 09:24 PM

My eldest is 13 and has been at me since aged 12 to go "clubbing". Told him, much to his disgust, to come back and ask me on his 14th birthday.

hibeerobbo
14-10-2008, 08:38 AM
I used to go to the under 18's at walkers " Oh the good old day's" and i'm only 22..

14-10-2008, 11:35 AM
IMO its a great idea, much better to have young guns "clubbing" where they are supervised(to an extent) than standing out on street corners or in parks trashing stuff because theres nothing to do.

14-10-2008, 11:41 AM

Without trying to sound confrontational Scouse Hibee, or like a kid who’s not allowed, can I ask why you wont let your son go?

Perhaps some of us who allow their kids to go could maybe allay some of the fears (?) you have. Or perhaps you’ve heard something we haven’t!

magnificent_seven
14-10-2008, 02:41 PM
There was a hellish article in the NOTW a few weeks ago in which an underage reporter went to an unders night and it made for some pretty nasty reading in which if you read youd all probably think twice about letting your kids go. I cant find a link though.

However, that night was in Glasgow and I know I used to go to the unders nights in Perth and they were magic! No dodgy shenanegans there!

14-10-2008, 04:08 PM
Without trying to sound confrontational Scouse Hibee, or like a kid who’s not allowed, can I ask why you wont let your son go?

Perhaps some of us who allow their kids to go could maybe allay some of the fears (?) you have. Or perhaps you’ve heard something we haven’t!

Certainly Jack, firstly my son who is 14 has never really expressed a desire to go to one of these events anyway so I consider myself quite fortunate. However if he did ask the answer would be no which I think he already knows.

Maybe I'm a bit of dinasour/old fashioned call it what you like but I hate the fact that kids want to (in my opinion) be trated like adults far too quickly these days. In my mind the city centre on a friday night is no place for my 14 year old son whatever the supervision at these events. I can't say I've heard too many horror stories but I do hear a fair bit of stuff that I'd rather my son wasn't exposed to, from police friends regarding these events. I am of the opinion that he has plenty of time to do the friday night clubbing thing when he's older and wiser and now is the time to enjoy his childhood as I think it should be enjoyed. Every parent is different and I respect that everyone has their own opinion and are entitled to it......mine is maybe an old fashioned one but that's the way it is.

14-10-2008, 05:22 PM
Hi Scouse, I hear what your saying, horses for courses I suppose.

I’m a wee bit different from you I think a little of something now and again will set them up with a personal experience for use later on. Rather than hearing second hand embellished stuff from their school pals. I remember being excited but desperately disappointed on my first visit to Clouds, aye it was great to be there but the reality didn’t measure up to the stories. Fond memories.

For my oldest 2 the boy went (started 13/14 ish) a couple of times and got fed up with it and has never been back [to the one on Picardy Place]. My daughter (allowed about the same age) loved it and when she kept enough of her paper round money she went. Both went with chums, both were dropped off and picked up afterwards. She’s a bit fed up with it now, turning 15 tomorrow, but will still go to the Radio Forth events which seem to be a whole lot better (Edinburgh better than Dunfermline).

My son went on to go to some weird heavier (?) sort of club at the back of the station, again dropped off and picked up albeit round the corner, but I didn’t mind that as I knew the DJ – although he’s a bit odd (but trustable) too come to think about it!! He got fed up with that too – after I got him VIP tickets!!!!

15-10-2008, 12:48 AM
Ach nothing to be feared.

They will grow out of it soon and be drinking in the streets with all the other teens who used to go to these clubs but got bored.. :wink:

Chez
18-10-2008, 10:05 PM
Hi Scouse, I hear what your saying, horses for courses I suppose.

I’m a wee bit different from you I think a little of something now and again will set them up with a personal experience for use later on. Rather than hearing second hand embellished stuff from their school pals. I remember being excited but desperately disappointed on my first visit to Clouds, aye it was great to be there but the reality didn’t measure up to the stories. Fond memories.

For my oldest 2 the boy went (started 13/14 ish) a couple of times and got fed up with it and has never been back [to the one on Picardy Place]. My daughter (allowed about the same age) loved it and when she kept enough of her paper round money she went. Both went with chums, both were dropped off and picked up afterwards. She’s a bit fed up with it now, turning 15 tomorrow, but will still go to the Radio Forth events which seem to be a whole lot better (Edinburgh better than Dunfermline).

My son went on to go to some weird heavier (?) sort of club at the back of the station, again dropped off and picked up albeit round the corner, but I didn’t mind that as I knew the DJ – although he’s a bit odd (but trustable) too come to think about it!! He got fed up with that too – after I got him VIP tickets!!!!

Where are they usually held about Jack - The Forth events?

My son has enjoyed going to NRG and each time has came back happy so far. He chose not to go last night since none of his pals were going and didn't want to go on his own ( sensible choice IMO).

18-10-2008, 10:16 PM
Where are they usually held about Jack - The Forth events?

My son has enjoyed going to NRG and each time has came back happy so far. He chose not to go last night since none of his pals were going and didn't want to go on his own ( sensible choice IMO).

Its the City Night Club at the back of the station here and Velocity in Dunfermline. They seem to be very well organised.

Chez
18-10-2008, 10:54 PM
Its the City Night Club at the back of the station here and Velocity in Dunfermline. They seem to be very well organised.

Thanks Jack - will have a wee talk with him about them :thumbsup:

26-10-2008, 06:43 PM
I used to go to the under 18's at walkers " Oh the good old day's" and i'm only 22..

Walkers was sooooperb :thumbsup:

I found my membership card for there last week :greengrin

26-10-2008, 08:04 PM
My son went on to go to some weird heavier (?) sort of club at the back of the station again dropped off and picked up albeit round the corner, but I didn’t mind that as I knew the DJ – although he’s a bit odd (but trustable) too come to think about it!! He got fed up with that too – after I got him VIP tickets!!!!

That'll be the mission i imagine.
Never personally set foot in there myself but I know people who have.

it's kinda like a club to cater for those with a louder taste in music, think bands like Slipknot et al.
:rockin::rockin::rockin:

Chez
26-10-2008, 08:37 PM
That'll be the mission i imagine.
Never personally set foot in there myself but I know people who have.

it's kinda like a club to cater for those with a louder taste in music, think bands like Slipknot et al.
:rockin::rockin::rockin:

Reminds me of the Dreadnought in Bathgate during the 80's :greengrin

26-10-2008, 09:05 PM
Reminds me of the Dreadnought in Bathgate during the 80's :greengrin

Bloody hell! My friends still go there!
:faint:

i thought it was a new club although I think I could count the number of times I've been to Bathgate on one hand...

DISCLAIMER
Chez, this is not me suggesting that you are in any way knocking on a bit, rather lambasting my own lack of Bathgate-y knowledge.

Chez
26-10-2008, 09:55 PM
Bloody hell! My friends still go there!
:faint:

i thought it was a new club although I think I could count the number of times I've been to Bathgate on one hand...

DISCLAIMER
Chez, this is not me suggesting that you are in any way knocking on a bit, rather lambasting my own lack of Bathgate-y knowledge.

:tee hee: Your sense of humour keeps me young though Letrim :thumbsup:

26-10-2008, 10:04 PM
:tee hee: Your sense of humour keeps me young though Letrim :thumbsup:

Phew!
i was sweating for a while there...i had my spade out ready to go!
:cool2:

Chez
26-10-2008, 10:15 PM
Phew!
i was sweating for a while there...i had my spade out ready to go!
:cool2: