View Full Version : Question Smeato - A hero in death?

12-10-2008, 10:23 AM
Call me cynical, but....

I couldn't believe it when Scotland loving Smeato was moving over to the US.

now we're led to believe he has suffered a near-fatal Asthma attack and is in intensive care on a ventilator, under sedation, etc...

His fiance has flown out to his bedside.

As I say, slightly controversial maybe, but having said he would surely be a terrorist target with his own life after the media rush to portray him as the almost single handed repeller of terrorists, I can't help but think we're about to see a passing away and a in truth, a relocation to somewhere in the US with a new CIA arranged profile and cover.

The West will be thinking his image would be one to remain intact, possibly as in the same case of Bin Laden.......................doesn't really sound like he's still around.

Thoughts???

LiverpoolHibs
12-10-2008, 10:28 AM
Call me cynical, but....

now we're led to believe he has suffered a near-fatal Asthma attack and is in intensive care on a ventilator, under sedation, etc...

As I say, slightly controversial maybe, but having said he would surely be a terrorist target with his own life after the media rush to portray him as the almost single handed repeller of terrorists, I can't help but think we're about to see a passing away and a in truth, a relocation to somewhere in the US with a new CIA arranged profile and cover.

The West will be thinking his image would be one to remain intact, possibly as in the same case of Bin Laden.......................doesn't really sound like he's still around.

Thoughts???

12-10-2008, 10:30 AM
Weedgie choob :agree:

toaosi
12-10-2008, 10:37 AM
Call me cynical, but....

Thoughts???

You need to switch off the telly and get out more.

12-10-2008, 12:49 PM
Call me cynical, but....

Thoughts???

Put down the Glenn's vodka and step away from the keyboard.

RmR
12-10-2008, 01:33 PM
Come on chaps this could be true. Heard from a undercover CIA agent in the pub the other night that the plan was to fake his death then to drop him on the Pakistan border. Obviously Al qaeda will have let their guard down after hearing the news and will be unprepared for the chaos to follow.:greengrin:greengrin

Seriously though hope the guy gets better even if he is (allegedly) a bit of a chancer.

LiverpoolHibs
12-10-2008, 02:01 PM
I love the idea that al-Qaeda are dedicating a cell or two towards targetting an over-exposed Glaswegian media whore. Has he taken over from America as the Great Satan?

12-10-2008, 03:51 PM
he is being given a secret mission by the CIA. He will be flown into Afghanistan under cover of darkness and parachute into the mountains where american intelligence last placed Osama Bin Laden.

He will then hunt down Bin Laden and use the time-honoured method of dealing with terrorists and give him a boot in the baws while shaking a fist at him and shouting "up ye!"

12-10-2008, 05:26 PM
Laugh now fools....................I have your posts saved.....:greengrin

13-10-2008, 11:15 AM
It's a very ironic coincedence that the asthma attack coincided with the beginning of the trial of the doctors. Cynical people will have theories about what triggered it. Without knowing all the facts I prefer not to speculate, but I'm open minded about the situation.

As far as I've seen, Smeato appears to be the genuine article, and it's unfortunate that his bravery has made him public property - possibly to an extent that he couldn't have forseen.

13-10-2008, 12:33 PM
It's a very ironic coincedence that the asthma attack coincided with the beginning of the trial of the doctors. Cynical people will have theories about what triggered it. Without knowing all the facts I prefer not to speculate, but I'm open minded about the situation.

As far as I've seen, Smeato appears to be the genuine article, and it's unfortunate that his bravery has made him public property - possibly to an extent that he couldn't have forseen.

I may be wrong about this - but didn't he make his role out to be more than it actually was? I know there was other guys that did just as much as Smeato did but he was the one that played it up for the cameras? :dunno:

If I'm wrong about this - apologies.

13-10-2008, 01:11 PM
I may be wrong about this - but didn't he make his role out to be more than it actually was? I know there was other guys that did just as much as Smeato did but he was the one that played it up for the cameras? :dunno:

It just spiralled out of control from his interview some reporter done with him and the Glasgow language he used during it. After that it got repeated and repeated, some guy made a petition, some guy made a website, people started making jokes, stories, photoshopping pictures, making up slogans, TV shows wanted to bring him on. It can all easily escalate without him whoring himself to the media like some folk think he has done.

13-10-2008, 01:59 PM

I'm not actually sure. Seems to me that he was the guy they buttonholed for some quotes, he just gave his account, and then the press built the whole thing up. Others say they were involved and that they haven't had the full credit.

Maybe Smeato was just more camera friendly, and the public wanted a hero they could put a name to.

13-10-2008, 02:17 PM
It was his comments after that made him interesting;

"Glasgow doesnae accept this, if you come tae Glasgow, we'll set about you."

13-10-2008, 03:56 PM

I obviously hope he gets better and makes a full recovery but this was the first thought that occured to me when I heard he'd been taken ill.

Perhaps more an indication of how cynical I've become......although perhaps not as cynical as Toaods! :greengrin

Chuckie
13-10-2008, 04:35 PM
It was his comments after that made him interesting;

"Glasgow doesnae accept this, if you come tae Glasgow, we'll set about you."

I can confirm the bit in bold is true. :agree:

Eurohibees
13-10-2008, 04:35 PM
Weedgie choob :agree:

13-10-2008, 06:30 PM
I can confirm the bit in bold is true. :agree:

Me too. I never tried to drive my car into an airport, but I did attempt to drive it into the city centre and feared for my life.:greengrin

hibeerobbo
14-10-2008, 08:42 AM
It's probably so he doesn't have to go as a witness, I've always thought he built it up... if he was to go to court he would be shown up for what he was..

14-10-2008, 08:56 AM
It's probably so he doesn't have to go as a witness, I've always thought he built it up... if he was to go to court he would be shown up for what he was..

Aye, an ordinary guy caught up in an extraordinary event. Hope he gets better soon.

magnificent_seven
14-10-2008, 09:45 AM
I hope he's better soon. The people on here calling him a 'weegie choob' need to take a look at themselves and ask what theyve done to stop terrorism.

Fair enough he has been turned into some sort of cult icon by the press and i'll admit, it got a bit annoying, with him having newspaper columns etc. Maybe a bit OTT.

However, at the end of the day, he tackled a terrorist and stopped him from doing anything worse at the time.

I think a lot of people would probably just stood and stared, without doing something about it.

So as much as I know he should not be a cult icon, he still done something to help which is a damn sight more than what a lot of people would have done in the same circumstances.

14-10-2008, 10:18 PM
I hope he's better soon. The people on here calling him a 'weegie choob' need to take a look at themselves and ask what theyve done to stop terrorism.

Fair enough he has been turned into some sort of cult icon by the press and i'll admit, it got a bit annoying, with him having newspaper columns etc. Maybe a bit OTT.

However, at the end of the day, he tackled a terrorist and stopped him from doing anything worse at the time.

I think a lot of people would probably just stood and stared, without doing something about it.

So as much as I know he should not be a cult icon, he still done something to help which is a damn sight more than what a lot of people would have done in the same circumstances.

Was the guy not on fire when he tackled him?

I think a lot of folk (including myself) think the guy has come accross as a dick (especially in his Sun column) who claimed all the credit for stopping Al Queda in their tracks that day.

If it all comes out in court that he did do it all single-handedly I'll apologise.

Kaiser_Sauzee
15-10-2008, 09:29 AM
The reason that the guy that was on fire was tackled was because he was trying to retrieve gas cannisters from the burning car then violently resisted arrest. Smeaton and others helped the Police restrain him. People forget this.

15-10-2008, 10:47 AM
Funny, whenever i saw him on TV or anything he never once said he did it all himself he named or mentioned all the other people that helped and said he did not know why he was the only one receiving any attention.

SouthsideHarp_Bhoy
15-10-2008, 12:27 PM

Come on, hes not in the SAS - he kicked a guy on the balls...who was already in the process of BURNING TO DEATH - he didnt stop anything, he just kicked a guy who was on fire at the time - short of maybe burning his trainers, it wasnt the most risky thing ever.

He was maybe brave, but he didnt do anything to stop terrorism, that is daily record overblown nonsense

15-10-2008, 12:30 PM
Come on, hes not in the SAS - he kicked a guy on the balls...who was already in the process of BURNING TO DEATH - he didnt stop anything, he just kicked a guy who was on fire at the time - short of maybe burning his trainers, it wasnt the most risky thing ever.

He was maybe brave, but he didnt do anything to stop terrorism, that is daily record overblown nonsense

I'm sure he didn't think to himself "take that towel head, that's one in the balls from the free west". It's more likely to be a human reaction to seeing something that just isn't right. Fight or flight.

SouthsideHarp_Bhoy
15-10-2008, 12:31 PM
The reason that the guy that was on fire was tackled was because he was trying to retrieve gas cannisters from the burning car then violently resisted arrest. Smeaton and others helped the Police restrain him. People forget this.

Come on, a guy in the process of burning to death was fumbling about in his pocket for keys, while thinking about getting a gas canister out of the boot and inflicting greater damage

My bet was he was rolling and running about like a mad thing thinking 'jeez, i thought paradise would feel a whole lot better than this'

Then Smeato booted him in the chuckies

15-10-2008, 12:33 PM
Come on, a guy in the process of burning to death was fumbling about in his pocket for keys, while thinking about getting a gas canister out of the boot and inflicting greater damage

My bet was he was rolling and running about like a mad thing thinking 'jeez, i thought paradise would feel a whole lot better than this'

Then Smeato booted him in the chuckies

So you were there and saw it all go down?

You have a guess at what happened, he was there and so were others they all verified his story.

Dont understand why so many people have such a problem with the guy.

SouthsideHarp_Bhoy
15-10-2008, 12:35 PM
I'm sure he didn't think to himself "take that towel head, that's one in the balls from the free west". It's more likely to be a human reaction to seeing something that just isn't right. Fight or flight.

I agree.

He's being made out to be Team America by some.

I dont understand why when something bad happens to someone, everyone automatically thinks they were amazing.

My take on him pre asthma attack was that he was an annoying choob who liked the sound of his own voice too much - albeit one who acted bravely in a situation

I wouldnt have wished asthma attack on him, and i would rather he surived than didnt, but lets not make him out to be some kind of modern day William Wallace

15-10-2008, 12:37 PM
I agree.

He's being made out to be Team America by some.

I dont understand why when something bad happens to someone, everyone automatically thinks they were amazing.

My take on him pre asthma attack was that he was an annoying choob who liked the sound of his own voice too much - albeit one who acted bravely in a situation

I wouldnt have wished asthma attack on him, and i would rather he surived than didnt, but lets not make him out to be some kind of modern day William Wallace

I prefer to see him as an ordinary bloke who has been manipulated and used, and will ultimately be destroyed, by government and the media.

SouthsideHarp_Bhoy
15-10-2008, 12:38 PM
So you were there and saw it all go down?

You have a guess at what happened, he was there and so were others they all verified his story.

Dont understand why so many people have such a problem with the guy.

Because of the media. Simple put, i dont believe them, especially not the weegie rags that have elevated this guy to iconic status.

I dont believe the account that has been popularised, instead i try to imagine what the scene would have been like and make my own mind up

Im not denigrating smeeto, i just dont think he is the man who single-handedly stopped glasgow airport going up - i think a concrete bollard probably had more to do with it

15-10-2008, 01:08 PM
Because of the media. Simple put, i dont believe them, especially not the weegie rags that have elevated this guy to iconic status.

I dont believe the account that has been popularised, instead i try to imagine what the scene would have been like and make my own mind up

Im not denigrating smeeto, i just dont think he is the man who single-handedly stopped glasgow airport going up - i think a concrete bollard probably had more to do with it

Well i didnt like the report of last years scottish cup final so i decided myself to imagine what happened and wouldnt you know hibs won! It really was a great day!

I agree he didnt do THAT much but the hate he gets from some people is ridiculous.

15-10-2008, 03:15 PM
i met Mr Smeato in a vip part of a certain edinburgh nightclub at new year.
the whole hibs team were also in the vip area at the same time.

my friend and i bought him a vodka and red bull and had a good half hour chat with him.

he is actually really down to earth and quite a nice guy.

hope he pulls through it although i reckon it wont be as bad as the media make out.

he probably had a sneezing fit and had to take a day of work!! :blah:

15-10-2008, 04:20 PM

As far as I've seen, Smeato appears to be the genuine article, and it's unfortunate that his bravery has made him public property - possibly to an extent that he couldn't have forseen. Surprised he is not one of the
most important witnesses. :agree: