View Full Version : '£1m Council House'

The cooler king
09-10-2008, 08:17 PM
Could only happen in the UK.
Familly of 7 refugees from Afghanistan, never worked, never contributed to the UK economy receiving £170k handouts per year, £12k a month for rent..........

One of the sons compares it to like 'Winning the lottery'.........

Still pretty sure they'll pay it all back with their contribution to the UK economy.:agree:

09-10-2008, 08:21 PM
Familly of 7 refugees from Afghanistan, never worked, never contributed to the UK economy receiving £170k handouts per year, £12k a month for rent..........

Still pretty sure they'll pay it all back with their contribution to the UK economy.:agree:

I take it the article was in that open-minded bastion of fairness, the Daily Mail.

The cooler king
09-10-2008, 08:24 PM
I take it the article was in that open-minded bastion of fairness, the Daily Mail.

Hardly gonna been in the Sun is it, they too ****in busy defending Brown over the great 'Global' Economic breakdown that he's had nothing to do with.......:brickwall

PiemanP
09-10-2008, 08:31 PM

:agree: bloody disgrace, many many people, me included work our ***** off, payin taxes bein a good citizen blah de blah yet half of us cant come near affordin our own home especially the first time buyers....
yet its alrite for this lot to waltz into out country do sweet FA for our already failing economy and cost the honest decent tax payer a lump because we've got to find nice snug house and a shed load of money for bloody refugees!

govenrmnet/council should have told them to ***** off and sleep on the streets!

The cooler king
09-10-2008, 08:44 PM
:agree: bloody disgrace, many many people, me included work our ***** off, payin taxes bein a good citizen blah de blah yet half of us cant come near affordin our own home especially the first time buyers....
yet its alrite for this lot to waltz into out country do sweet FA for our already failing economy and cost the honest decent tax payer a lump because we've got to find nice snug house and a shed load of money for bloody refugees!

THe street will be soon be full shortly with UK citizens who are losing their houses by the barrowload.....:brickwall

09-10-2008, 08:48 PM

Workin our wotsit off blah blah blah...waltz into the country blah blah blah.

Try looking closer to home to find the real malingerers and scroungers.

PiemanP
09-10-2008, 08:56 PM
Workin our wotsit off blah blah blah...waltz into the country blah blah blah.

Try looking closer to home to find the real malingerers and scroungers.

aye i agree, and maybe if the government didnt make it so that these people who wont work can live off hand-outs, then they would get off their ***** and actually get a job and work for a living!

09-10-2008, 09:04 PM
Hardly gonna been in the Sun is it, they too ****in busy defending Brown over the great 'Global' Economic breakdown that he's had nothing to do with.......:brickwall

I agree with you.

It is all Gordon Brown's fault.

We were mugs not to realise how powerful he really was.

Powerful enough to bring the world's economy to its knees.

Some guy.

Or are you suggesting it's not really a global recession? :hmmm:

09-10-2008, 09:09 PM
The story is in The Sun.

http://www.thesun.co.uk/sol/homepage/news/article1786330.ece

If the Council are paying the rent at over £12,000 a month, I think it could be put to better use rather than housing an unemployed mother of 7.

09-10-2008, 09:09 PM
THe street will be soon be full shortly with UK citizens who are losing their houses by the barrowload.....:brickwall

I remember that happening all through the 80's as Thatcher killed jobs and put 4 million people on the dole..

I remember that happening again in 1990, when the housing market crashed because of greedy estate agents, mortgage lenders and twat yuppy city traders.

Funnily enough, the re3st of the world wasn't affected.

This time, when the whole world is under threat, you try to blame Gordon Brown.

HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA

The cooler king
09-10-2008, 09:23 PM
I remember that happening all through the 80's as Thatcher killed jobs and put 4 million people on the dole..

I remember that happening again in 1990, when the housing market crashed because of greedy estate agents, mortgage lenders and twat yuppy city traders.

Funnily enough, the re3st of the world wasn't affected.

This time, when the whole world is under threat, you try to blame Gordon Brown.

HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA

HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA

And you're that ****in naive or stupid to think that during Gordon Brown tenure as the chancellor he had **** all to do with global economic policies?........
HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA

11 budget speaches this clown made and one word he failed to use in all 11 of them ......... 'Savings'!!....and thats a fact!!!......

HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA, he's got you well and truly fooled!!!

HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA.:bye:

09-10-2008, 09:23 PM
For the sake of the discussion, like the OP, I'll assume the figures quoted are correct.

It costs £170k a year to keep this family.

The rent costs £12k a month which equals £144k a year.

That leaves £26k for 2 adults and 2 children to live off.

An average of £55.55 per person, per week. Big wows.

Oh, and by the way, what do folk think about the landlord who is charging the Benefits Agency £12k a month?

Maybe the Mail, The Express and The Sun should have printed a headline like;

"Millionairre landlord demands £12000 of tax payers' money every month to house refugee family."

But nah.

Liam_c
09-10-2008, 09:25 PM
I read that and im ****ing fumming. !

Scottish independance i say!

09-10-2008, 09:29 PM
HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA

And you're that ****in naive or stupid to think that during Gordon Brown tenure as the chancellor he had **** all to do with global economic policies?........
HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA

11 budget speaches this clown made and one word he failed to use in all 11 of them ......... 'Savings'!!....and thats a fact!!!......

HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA, he's got you well and truly fooled!!!

HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA.:bye:

Oh but I'm agreeing with you.

As absurd and as impossible as it might seem, Gordon Brown ruined it for the USA, the rest of Europe and Asia.

Of course he did.

And you mustn't let anyone trot out lies and myths about Gordon Brown's tenure as chancellor.

I seem to recall it was Gordon Brown that introduced ISA's.

He couldn't even bring himself to say the word Savings, he would only use an initial.

The cooler king
09-10-2008, 09:30 PM
For the sake of the discussion, like the OP, I'll assume the figures quoted are correct.

The rent costs £12k a month which equals £144 a year.

Oh, and by the way, what do folk think about the landlord who is charging the Benefits Agency £12k a month?

"Millionairre landlord demands £12000 of tax payers' money every month to house refugee family."

But nah.

If i had an address in Chelsea, doubt i'd be long out of work........

"Daft ****in council ****ers piss £12000 of tax payers money per week doon Park Lane swanny" Would have been a better headline.

09-10-2008, 09:36 PM
If i had an address in Chelsea, doubt i'd be long out of work........

"Daft ****in council ****ers piss £12000 of tax payers money per week doon Park Lane swanny" Would have been a better headline.

Good point, well made.

Eh?

The cooler king
09-10-2008, 09:40 PM
Oh but I'm agreeing with you.

As absurd and as impossible as it might seem, Gordon Brown ruined it for the USA, the rest of Europe and Asia.

Of course he did.

And you mustn't let anyone trot out lies and myths about Gordon Brown's tenure as chancellor.

I seem to recall it was Gordon Brown that introduced ISA's.

He couldn't even bring himself to say the word Savings, he would only use an initial.

Somebody should have told the useless prick that the 'S' stood for Savings and no 'Spending'........useless fat ****er.

09-10-2008, 09:50 PM
Somebody should have told the useless prick that the 'S' stood for Savings and no 'Spending'........useless fat ****er.

Good point, well made.

Again.

Still, don't let the "facts" get in the way of your, er, "facts".

09-10-2008, 10:33 PM

But nah.

I'm pretty sure quite a few families of 4 out there wouldn't mind 220 quid a week to live off whilst living in a massive house, rent free? :confused:

LiverpoolHibs
09-10-2008, 11:05 PM
I refuse to read the link as it's to the Sun, but:

Maybe if a certain someone (who can rot in hell) hadn't sold off vast amounts of council housing/successive governments hadn't failed in building adequate levels of affordable housing, then...

Economic downturn = ****-wits like the Cooler King (et al) swallowing the attempt's of the Murdoch/Tory media to pin the countries problems on the most vulnerable elements of society.

09-10-2008, 11:33 PM

Maybe if a certain someone (who can rot in hell) hadn't sold off vast amounts of council housing/successive governments hadn't failed in building adequate levels of affordable housing, then...

Economic downturn = ****-wits like the Cooler King (et al) swallowing the attempt's of the Murdoch/Tory media to pin the countries problems on the most vulnerable elements of society.

You won't have seen many of those in your 22 years liverpoolHibs......

Economic downturn.

What do we all, collectively, need to do during an Economic downturn liverpoolHibs?

LiverpoolHibs
09-10-2008, 11:45 PM
You won't have seen many of those in your 22 years liverpoolHibs......

Economic downturn.

What do we all, collectively, need to do during an Economic downturn liverpoolHibs?

You've already proved your inability to argue cogently or rationally. I'm not sure what the point would be in engaging with you, in such a manner, again. You've shown it to be a pointless exercise.

10-10-2008, 12:00 AM
You've already proved your inability to argue cogently or rationally. I'm not sure what the point would be in engaging with you, in such a manner, again. You've shown it to be a pointless exercise.

spit oot the dictionary son and answer the question.

LiverpoolHibs
10-10-2008, 12:07 AM

spit oot the dictionary son and answer the question.

Hahaha!

After your responses on War Memorial thread, you're having a go at me for not answering questions?!

Unbelievable.

10-10-2008, 12:15 AM
Hahaha!

After your responses on War Memorial thread, you're having a go at me for not answering questions?!

Unbelievable.

bu bu bu bu bu bu

10-10-2008, 12:23 AM

But nah.

:agree: The son of the woman openly admits to the fact that the house is not worth the £12k a month some chancing landlord is taking from the taxpayer for it and that the council are ******ing mental for even contemplating paying that amount of money to house a family.

As fully paid up member of the "What the hell are the government doing with my tax money" brigade i hate to see stories like this where money is needlessly and often undeservedly pissed up against the wall but in this case im totally exasperated by the stupidity and carelessness of the government to actually agree to the absurd level of rent they are paying.....do i blame the family for biting those idiot's hands off when they offered the property, no i dont because i know deep down if it was me i would do exactly the same thing (and i do work and pay my taxes incase anybody is wondering).

10-10-2008, 12:50 AM
:agree: The son of the woman openly admits to the fact that the house is not worth the £12k a month some chancing landlord is taking from the taxpayer for it and that the council are ******ing mental for even contemplating paying that amount of money to house a family.

As fully paid up member of the "What the hell are the government doing with my tax money" brigade i hate to see stories like this where money is needlessly and often undeservedly pissed up against the wall but in this case im totally exasperated by the stupidity and carelessness of the government to actually agree to the absurd level of rent they are paying.....do i blame the family for biting those idiot's hands off when they offered the property, no i dont because i know deep down if it was me i would do exactly the same thing (and i do work and pay my taxes incase anybody is wondering).

Exactly. The case of the family is absolute. The council have failed here.

The cooler king
10-10-2008, 06:59 AM
Reassuring to hear that our treasury rated the Icelandic banks with an 'AA' rating as safe houses to keep our money.........Who does the treasury report to?..........Who is really accountable?.........:brickwall

10-10-2008, 08:24 AM
I'm pretty sure quite a few families of 4 out there wouldn't mind 220 quid a week to live off whilst living in a massive house, rent free? :confused:

By my calculation, every family of 4 in the UK would get a minimum of £216.58 with their rent and council tax paid.

If they were unfortunate enough to have a disabled child, they would be allowed a bit more.

Check yourself. (http://www.dsdni.gov.uk/fs_isr.pdf)

hibeenicol
10-10-2008, 08:48 AM
By my calculation, every family of 4 in the UK would get a minimum of £216.58 with their rent and council tax paid.

If they were unfortunate enough to have a disabled child, they would be allowed a bit more.

Check yourself. (http://www.dsdni.gov.uk/fs_isr.pdf)

well I have to say if them figures are right then I'd be as well not working as I don't come out with much more than this and still have rent and council tax to pay. who's the clever ones eh?:brickwall

Tazio
10-10-2008, 09:05 AM
There is also the small fact that part of asylum seekers benefits are n the form of vouchers. The press somehow miss little facts like that.

Ridiculous situation but totally of the councils making. Actually a bit of a non story as national news but should do a nice job of stirring up a bit more resentment of foreigners in the country.

10-10-2008, 09:14 AM
There is also the small fact that part of asylum seekers benefits are n the form of vouchers. The press somehow miss little facts like that.

Ridiculous situation but totally of the councils making. Actually a bit of a non story as national news but should do a nice job of stirring up a bit more resentment of foreigners in the country.

The fact that half the papers are calling it a "£1m MANSION" makes it even worse, seen a picture of it today, run down old looking house with a ancient nissan micra in the driveway. Yes the family surely are living like kings!

LiverpoolHibs
10-10-2008, 09:44 AM
bu bu bu bu bu bu

As I say, I'm not going to wste my time arguing with you as you have shown inability to debate rationally.

Read this is you wish, I won't lose much sleep if you don't.

http://www.socialist.net/bail-out-blackmail.htm

LiverpoolHibs
10-10-2008, 09:46 AM

The fact that half the papers are calling it a "£1m MANSION" makes it even worse, seen a picture of it today, run down old looking house with a ancient nissan micra in the driveway. Yes the family surely are living like kings!

It's ******ing disgusting.

10-10-2008, 10:42 AM
well I have to say if them figures are right then I'd be as well not working as I don't come out with much more than this and still have rent and council tax to pay. who's the clever ones eh?:brickwall

You must have very low expectations if you think having £11262 a year to keep a family of 4 is clever.

With or without rent and council tax.

If someone with a family was working for that sort of money, they would get Tax credits and Housing and Council Tax benefit too.

If you have a family of 4, and earn that sort of cash, I'd get alonmg to the council and HMRC.

10-10-2008, 10:59 AM
Fair enough there is are PLENTY wasters/scroungers in our country who are born and bred British, surely that in itself is enough reason for not allowing foreign scroungers into the country.... :bitchy:

*****in ridiculous :grr:

10-10-2008, 11:31 AM

And that would be the same Labour government that hasn't built any new council homes in its tenure? Yes, of course the buy your council house scheme was totally wrong BUT it would still be cheaper in the long run to build new council houses than give people massive handouts like this

LiverpoolHibs
10-10-2008, 11:35 AM
And that would be the same Labour government that hasn't built any new council homes in its tenure? Yes, of course the buy your council house scheme was totally wrong BUT it would still be cheaper in the long run to build new council houses than give people massive handouts like this

What do you mean the 'same Labour government'?

Did you miss the part about 'successive governments failing to build adequate levels of affordable housing'?

10-10-2008, 03:26 PM

But nah.

The Rachmanesque landlord , of course , doesnt fit in with the currant buns agenda.

If this situation arose in Scotland we'd be ok , a few thousand of our Ibroxian chums could gather outside said house and chant " The Talibans over , its time to go home" :devil:

10-10-2008, 03:51 PM

The Rachmanesque landlord , of course , doesnt fit in with the currant buns agenda.

If this situation arose in Scotland we'd be ok , a few thousand of our Ibroxian chums could gather outside said house and chant " The Talibans over , its time to go home" :devil:

It could be like that time the SUN readers attacked a pediatrician since they thought he was a pedophile. Easy to get the two mixed up as you can see!

10-10-2008, 09:53 PM

What do you mean the 'same Labour government'?

Did you miss the part about 'successive governments failing to build adequate levels of affordable housing'?

I didn't miss any part, the tories were the main culprits by not building any and also offering to sell them and for that (and many other things)those ****bags will NEVER get my support. Point is a Labour Government in power for 12 years has failed to address the problem and quite simply building new council homes is much cheaper than paying private landlords in the example above.

10-10-2008, 11:34 PM
Can we merge this thread with the Yaminstration one on the main board?

11-10-2008, 08:07 AM
Can we merge this thread with the Yaminstration one on the main board?

:tumble:

A good night, DBS? :greengrin

LiverpoolHibs
11-10-2008, 07:52 PM
I didn't miss any part, the tories were the main culprits by not building any and also offering to sell them and for that (and many other things)those ****bags will NEVER get my support. Point is a Labour Government in power for 12 years has failed to address the problem and quite simply building new council homes is much cheaper than paying private landlords in the example above.

Eh?

Were you taking issue with something in my post or have I got the wrong end of the stick?

richard_pitts
11-10-2008, 09:05 PM

Sorry to interupt your mourning of Jorg Haider, but...

If they were in Pilton, going on the "facts" presented (which it has to be said look rather dubious) I'd have said they were doing a good job of integrating by scamming the social :wink: After all people like you keep whanking on about the need for integration, and when it happens you still moan :greengrin :blah:

Talking of right-wing, just wondered if you could answer this: people like you have been going on about the public sector needing to stand on its own two feet for years, then you demand to be bailed out by the public sector. Ironic isn't it?

Incidentally after reading your more interesting diatribes I gather you work in IT for a bank and are quite bitter about it. Perhaps if you were less bigoted you might get a better job? In the 1930s people like you would have claimed the Jews took your job. I have to say if one of the effects of the credit crunch is your job gets outsourced, I hope it's given to a black man. :greengrin

Anyway the potato famine is over, why don't you go home? (irony again, although in my experience people like you don't understand irony so it's always good to explain this)

Liam_c
11-10-2008, 11:32 PM
Surely its cheaper to throw them on a plane, and toss them out back in afgan?

****ing disgrace if you ask me...

LiverpoolHibs
11-10-2008, 11:55 PM
Surely its cheaper to throw them on a plane, and toss them out back in afgan?

****ing disgrace if you ask me...

Prick.

You're the self-confessed racist, aye?

Exactly what i was going to say mate. Appart from the end bit, because i do consider myself racist, but thats another topic....

As I've asked in the other thread, care to explain that comment?

Liam_c
12-10-2008, 12:09 AM
Why do you care if im a racist? I have my reasons, and if i posted them i would probably end up banned ( No thanks ).

LiverpoolHibs
12-10-2008, 12:13 AM
Why do you care if im a racist? I have my reasons, and if i posted them i would probably end up banned ( No thanks ).

Why would I not care if you're a racist?

I'd like to hear your reasoning (ha!) behind being racist.

How old are you, out of interest?

Liam_c
12-10-2008, 12:15 AM
18 on Monday.

LiverpoolHibs
12-10-2008, 12:19 AM
18 on Monday.

You've answered the least important of the three points. Well done...

If you're willing to come on a messageboard and proclaim yourself a racist, at least have the balls to try and argue your corner.

Liam_c
12-10-2008, 12:24 AM
Well i do have better things to do at 1:20am ( Like sleep - thats where im heading now ).

Why should i argue about me being racist? Its what i am and i dont need to explain why, I hate these 'Asians' as you would call them, and if it was up to me they would all be deported back to there huts. They're good for nothing, not even cooking my burger at Mcdonalds. Even paying the phone bill is a nightmare because the person on the other side only knows little english. Yet they always seem to have loads of money, WHY?

Anyway, ill get slated to pieces for posting this but **** happens :blah::blah::blah:

LiverpoolHibs
12-10-2008, 12:30 AM
Well i do have better things to do at 1:20am ( Like sleep - thats where im heading now ).

Why should i argue about me being racist? Its what i am and i dont need to explain why, I hate these 'Asians' as you would call them, and if it was up to me they would all be deported back to there huts. They're good for nothing, not even cooking my burger at Mcdonalds. Even paying the phone bill is a nightmare because the person on the other side only knows little english. Yet they always seem to have loads of money, WHY?

Anyway, ill get slated to pieces for posting this but **** happens :blah::blah::blah:

For a nanosecond I was concerned that you might reply with something vaguely articulate or reasoned, I needn't have worried.

Night, night, Adolf.

12-10-2008, 09:41 AM

Anyway, ill get slated to pieces for posting this but **** happens :blah::blah::blah:Ignorance personified!! :bitchy: Blatant racism is alive and kicking in Scotland! :blah::blah: :bye:

12-10-2008, 10:17 AM

Correct. Murdoch and his cohorts at their best (worst)

12-10-2008, 11:05 AM
Eh?

Were you taking issue with something in my post or have I got the wrong end of the stick?

No, just wanted to make sure that although I gave the labour party a battering nobody thought I was tory in any way:greengrin

12-10-2008, 12:32 PM

Well, you're right about one thing.

Take your intolerant racist filth somewhere else.

Goodbye.

12-10-2008, 02:36 PM
Well, you're right about one thing.

Take your intolerant racist filth somewhere else.

Goodbye.

:applause:

richard_pitts
12-10-2008, 07:50 PM
:agree::bye:

12-10-2008, 11:36 PM
Not trying to stick up for the guy, because what he posted was totally out of order but I think its a bit of a poor show that he was goaded, over two threads, into posting something that was going to get him banned.

Fair enough the boy has views straight out of the dark ages and when he grows up a bit and gains some more life experience he might realise what a plum he was but he admitted that he held racist views and didn't want to go into it because he knew the condequences. Right or wrong he didn't deserve to be hounded because someone felt morally superior to him

13-10-2008, 04:18 AM
Sweeping it under the carpet (racist views) is more dangerous than allowing it IMO.

Better to have the debate than not have it, and perhaps some sense could be talked into the guy?

13-10-2008, 09:39 AM
Not trying to stick up for the guy, because what he posted was totally out of order but I think its a bit of a poor show that he was goaded, over two threads, into posting something that was going to get him banned.

Fair enough the boy has views straight out of the dark ages and when he grows up a bit and gains some more life experience he might realise what a plum he was but he admitted that he held racist views and didn't want to go into it because he knew the condequences. Right or wrong he didn't deserve to be hounded because someone felt morally superior to him

Sweeping it under the carpet (racist views) is more dangerous than allowing it IMO.

Better to have the debate than not have it, and perhaps some sense could be talked into the guy?

Sorry guys, we ban people for calling Hibs supporters childish names.

Saying that an entire race of human beings are "good for nothing" and telling them to "go back to their huts" is much, much worse.

If we allowed that sort of stuff to remain on the board, we would rightly be slated for condoning racists. Like it or not, you would be tarred with the same brush.

If people want to brag about how they hate people with different skin colours, I'm sure there are plenty of sick places for them to do that

Start with Follow Follow.

LiverpoolHibs
13-10-2008, 10:33 AM

He quite happily admitted to being racist before any 'goading', I just asked him to explain himself. Otherwise it goes unchallenged.

It surely isn't unusual to feel morally superior to someone who thinks Asians are 'good for nothing'.

13-10-2008, 11:09 AM

Saying that an entire race of human beings are "good for nothing" and telling them to "go back to their huts" is much, much worse.

If we allowed that sort of stuff to remain on the board, we would rightly be slated for condoning racists. Like it or not, you would be tarred with the same brush.

If people want to brag about how they hate people with different skin colours, I'm sure there are plenty of sick places for them to do that

I never condoned what he said, and I'm not trying to say he shouldn't have been banned because he fully deserved to be launched and you made totally the right call in response to what was posted. What I'm trying to point out is that the provocation of him because he admitted to having racist views was uncalled for. He should have been left alone to wallow in his own hatred in private as long as he wasn't posting it on here but he wasn't and that is the only reason it ended up the way it did.

He quite happily admitted to being racist before any 'goading', I just asked him to explain himself. Otherwise it goes unchallenged.

It surely isn't unusual to feel morally superior to someone who thinks Asians are 'good for nothing'.

He made a passing comment on another thread about admitting he was a racist but then said he wasn't going to get into it.

You then took it upon yourself to be judge, jury and executioner for this guy and dig away at him despite him asking to be left alone because he didn't want to get in trouble but, like a dog with a bone you just went at him until you got the reaction you wanted and then condemned him for it.

You might not agree with his opinion or his views but it doesn't mean he is wrong. In his own mind he is totally right and justified in his racism and condemnation of asians just as in your mind your right and justified in your condemnation of him the only difference being that he did not force his views upon another person and shout them down for daring to be different.

Thanks to you the guy can no longer enjoy this site when, as far as I am aware, he done nothing wrong previously and never alluded to racist views in his posts but ****** everyone else as long as your satisfied with your role as "cyber vigilante" in getting him banned.

13-10-2008, 11:23 AM
Well, what the hell - this is Hibs.net not politics.net, and I'm strating to think the Holy Ground and Dug Out may be more trouble than they're worth. Glad I'm not an Admin with cans of worms being opened left right and centre!

Incidentally, this guy only appears to have made one post on the main Hibs.net forum in the last 6 months - and that was in the Gramo in Beans thread, not football or Hibs related directly. Is someone who doesn't care for football too much really a huge loss to the .net community?

LiverpoolHibs
13-10-2008, 11:26 AM
He made a passing comment on another thread about admitting he was a racist but then said he wasn't going to get into it.

As I say, I think that if you're willing to admit to admit being a racist then you can't then just crawl under a stone and refuse to explain yourself. Yes, I was fairly insistant that he did so, I don't see anything wrong with that

You then took it upon yourself to be judge, jury and executioner for this guy and dig away at him despite him asking to be left alone because he didn't want to get in trouble but, like a dog with a bone you just went at him until you got the reaction you wanted and then condemned him for it.

Again, I'm not going to apologise for that. If he didn't want to get into it then he shouldn't have proclaimed himself a racist on the other thread

You might not agree with his opinion or his views but it doesn't mean he is wrong. In his own mind he is totally right and justified in his racism and condemnation of asians just as in your mind your right and justified in your condemnation of him the only difference being that he did not force his views upon another person and shout them down for daring to be different.

Do you seriously believe that? His opinion is as valid as any other? "Daring to be different"? Laughable.

Thanks to you the guy can no longer enjoy this site when, as far as I am aware, he done nothing wrong previously and never alluded to racist views in his posts but ****** everyone else as long as your satisfied with your role as "cyber vigilante" in getting him banned.

He never alluded to his racist views? Except when he said, "Appart (sic.) for the end bit, because I do consider myself racist"?

I didn't ban him, I'm not totally sure that I even agree with him being banned; but as I'm not a moderator and don't know the legality of such comments in terms of how it reflects on the site, that's not really for me to judge.

13-10-2008, 11:50 AM
Well, what the hell - this is Hibs.net not politics.net, and I'm strating to think the Holy Ground and Dug Out may be more trouble than they're worth. Glad I'm not an Admin with cans of worms being opened left right and centre!

Incidentally, this guy only appears to have made one post on the main Hibs.net forum in the last 6 months - and that was in the Gramo in Beans thread, not football or Hibs related directly. Is someone who doesn't care for football too much really a huge loss to the .net community?

Very good point. I hadn't realised that.

He might have been a Yam out to discredit us.

13-10-2008, 12:11 PM
As I say, I think that if you're willing to admit to admit being a racist then you can't then just crawl under a stone and refuse to explain yourself. Yes, I was fairly insistant that he did so, I don't see anything wrong with that.

There are laws to deal with these people, racism is a crime and its up to the police and the courts to deal with these matters when it is required, i dont think a daft wee boy making a passing remark about being racist when he probably doesn't even know any better is something to start a witch-hunt about.

Again, I'm not going to apologise for that. If he didn't want to get into it then he shouldn't have proclaimed himself a racist on the other thread.

He was responding to another poster on a thread about what is considered offensive and/or racist and he admitted that he thought himself to be racist and you then jumped on it! As you admit your not an administrator or, as far as i know, a police officer so why you felt you had to take it upon yourself to hound this kid i dont know.

Do you seriously believe that? His opinion is as valid as any other? "Daring to be different"? Laughable.

He is entitled to his opinion regardless of its validity to you, me or anyone else who might be inclined to hear it, if you believe it to be wrong then so be it but dont be so arrogant as to dismiss him as not worthy of an opinion.

Maybe some people believe that your anti-american opinion is not valid or that your support for organisations like EZLN (revolutionaries and freedom fighters to some....common terrorists to others) is wrong and has no place on this site......but it still wouldn't be thier place to attack you in the way you did to Liam_c

He never alluded to his racist views? Except when he said, "Appart (sic.) for the end bit, because I do consider myself racist"? .

I said he had never done anything wrong or make racist comments in his previous posts so to try and make a point out of this is just silly.

I didn't ban him, I'm not totally sure that I even agree with him being banned; but as I'm not a moderator and don't know the legality of such comments in terms of how it reflects on the site, that's not really for me to judge.

What he said deserved a ban and i totally agree with Radge that there is no place for that kind of behaviour or attitude on this site for both potential legal problems and the fact that its just downright stupid and disgusting.
However i dont believe that the post in question would have been made without your provocation of the poster and surely you could see when he admitted he was only 18 that it was just a daft young boy with no experience of the world and an opinion formed on the teachings of others around him, not someone to attack for being ignorant.

LiverpoolHibs
13-10-2008, 12:34 PM
There are laws to deal with these people, racism is a crime and its up to the police and the courts to deal with these matters when it is required, i dont think a daft wee boy making a passing remark about being racist when he probably doesn't even know any better is something to start a witch-hunt about.

He's not a 'daft wee boy' though, is he. He's old enough to vote. 17/18 is easily old enough to know better.

He was responding to another poster on a thread about what is considered offensive and/or racist and he admitted that he thought himself to be racist and you then jumped on it! As you admit your not an administrator or, as far as i know, a police officer so why you felt you had to take it upon yourself to hound this kid i dont know.

Why does anyone pull anyone up for anything then? I fail to see how not being a police officer or a moderator stiops me from being able to take issue with someone labelling themself a racist

He is entitled to his opinion regardless of its validity to you, me or anyone else who might be inclined to hear it, if you believe it to be wrong then so be it but dont be so arrogant as to dismiss him as not worthy of an opinion.

That's not what you originally said, though is it? You said, 'it doesn't mean he is wrong' and that I was 'shouting him down for daring to be different.

Maybe some people believe that your anti-american opinion is not valid or that your support for organisations like EZLN (revolutionaries and freedom fighters to some....common terrorists to others) is wrong and has no place on this site......but it still wouldn't be thier place to attack you in the way you did to Liam_c

What do you mean by my anti-American opinion? That's bordering on a slur.

And I would be happy for someone to try and draw any equivalency between my EZLN avatar and Liam_c's comments.

I said he had never done anything wrong or make racist comments in his previous posts so to try and make a point out of this is just silly.

No it isn't, racism thrives in an environment where it is not constantly challenged.

N.B. I'm certainly not suggesting that it would thrive here, just a general rule.

What he said deserved a ban and i totally agree with Radge that there is no place for that kind of behaviour or attitude on this site for both potential legal problems and the fact that its just downright stupid and disgusting.
However i dont believe that the post in question would have been made without your provocation of the poster and surely you could see when he admitted he was only 18 that it was just a daft young boy with no experience of the world and an opinion formed on the teachings of others around him, not someone to attack for being ignorant.

Again, I think 18 is plenty old enough to allow him (or anyone else) no excuse on the grounds of age.

richard_pitts
13-10-2008, 01:23 PM
Can't agree MyJo - I've worked with a lot of people trying to change attitudes as part of my job, and all he did was ask him to explain why. The BNP amongst others have accused me of PC Brainwashing :wink:

If he'd been prepared to try and justify it, I would have argued back, although from experience when someone comes out with that, you aren't going to win - 80% of people's attitudes can be changed.

Frankly, he sounds oddly reminiscent of the person I got into a fight with for shouting racist abuse at our players. Scary thing is, he's old enough to vote :bitchy:

No idea why he supports Hibs either given who we are...:dunno:

13-10-2008, 01:23 PM
Why does anyone pull anyone up for anything then? I fail to see how not being a police officer or a moderator stiops me from being able to take issue with someone labelling themself a racist.

Take issue with it all you want, point out to him that being racist is not a good thing to be gloating about but dont target an individual who made it quite clear to you that they didnt want to discuss the subject because it had no place on this site and he knew that. If you wanted to discuss it with him that badly and try and educate him then send him a PM rather than goading him into making a public post purely to attack him for it.

That's not what you originally said, though is it? You said, 'it doesn't mean he is wrong' and that I was 'shouting him down for daring to be different.

You need to decide what it is your taking issue with in my post? first you try and pick apart the fact i said he had not shown any racist attitudes in his previous posts by pointing to the post that started all this and now you've decided to be selective in the parts of my post you are quoting to suit your agenda?
Your trying to misrepresent me as saying he was right and i supported him being "different" with what you have said above and if my "anti-american" comment based on your posting history is a "slur" then this could quite easily be construed in that manner also.
The point i was trying to make is that he has an opinion and regardless of our own personal feelings about it we have no right to say he is wrong and the "daring to be different" comment was a turn of phrase in relation to your attack on him for thinking differently to you, i was in no way trying to say he was correct or brave to be a racist.

What do you mean by my anti-American opinion? That's bordering on a slur.

And I would be happy for someone to try and draw any equivalency between my EZLN avatar and Liam_c's comments..

I dont know you so i couldn't possibly pass comment on your opinions but from reading your posts i get the impression that you dont like America and thier policies, i was simply trying to say that someone could easily take offence to your opinion on these matters in the same way you were offended by Liams.
For all i know you could go to bed wearing stars and stripes pyjamamas and a baseball glove listening to star spangled banner on repeat but that wasn't the impression i got.

The same goes for the EZLN, i have no idea who they are, i looked at thier wikipedia entry to find out and decided to use it as an example of your beliefs that might be offensive to others, nothing at all to do with comparing you to Liam but to try and explain that nobody has the right to have a go at you for your avatar despite it being a potentially contentious subject.
Quite frankly i couldn't give two hoots about what some Mexican militia are doing or what they stand for but you do so who is to say your wrong in your support for them?

No it isn't, racism thrives in an environment where it is not constantly challenged.

N.B. I'm certainly not suggesting that it would thrive here, just a general rule.

Again, I think 18 is plenty old enough to allow him (or anyone else) no excuse on the grounds of age.

I think we're going round and round in circles here and your obviously a man who is passionate about his beliefs and is not going to apologise for them....and quite right, i never once said you should apologise for finding Liams comments disgusting and offensive because i feel the same, i just think it wasn't a particularly fair trial for the boy.

Lets call it quits and agree that he was a twat and has rightly been banned but it could have been handled better :dunno:

LiverpoolHibs
13-10-2008, 01:53 PM
Take issue with it all you want, point out to him that being racist is not a good thing to be gloating about but dont target an individual who made it quite clear to you that they didnt want to discuss the subject because it had no place on this site and he knew that. If you wanted to discuss it with him that badly and try and educate him then send him a PM rather than goading him into making a public post purely to attack him for it.

I didn't goad him, I asked him to explain himself. If he was that dead set against saying it, he didn't have to make the post that got him banned.

Also, I didn't know that he was going to come out with something quite that extreme. I wasn't pushing him into a corner knowing what he was going to come out with. As I say, I was hoping he'd explain himself with a degree of rationality.

You're possibly right that a P.M. rather than the public domain would have been a better channel for that, I don't know.

You need to decide what it is your taking issue with in my post? first you try and pick apart the fact i said he had not shown any racist attitudes in his previous posts by pointing to the post that started all this and now you've decided to be selective in the parts of my post you are quoting to suit your agenda?
Your trying to misrepresent me as saying he was right and i supported him being "different" with what you have said above and if my "anti-american" comment based on your posting history is a "slur" then this could quite easily be construed in that manner also.
The point i was trying to make is that he has an opinion and regardless of our own personal feelings about it we have no right to say he is wrong and the "daring to be different" comment was a turn of phrase in relation to your attack on him for thinking differently to you, i was in no way trying to say he was correct or brave to be a racist.

I'm not trying to do that at all, and I apologise if it has come across that way - it was in no way intended. Of course we have a right to say he's wrong, that attitude infuriates me!

I dont know you so i couldn't possibly pass comment on your opinions but from reading your posts i get the impression that you dont like America and thier policies, i was simply trying to say that someone could easily take offence to your opinion on these matters in the same way you were offended by Liams.
For all i know you could go to bed wearing stars and stripes pyjamamas and a baseball glove listening to star spangled banner on repeat but that wasn't the impression i got.

Not liking American policies or their current (or, indeed, past and future) administrations doesn't equate to being anti-American. It's a very lazy term when used by both left and right.

I'm not particularly fond of the Chinese government or their policies. I'm not anti-Chinese, however.

The same goes for the EZLN, i have no idea who they are, i looked at thier wikipedia entry to find out and decided to use it as an example of your beliefs that might be offensive to others, nothing at all to do with comparing you to Liam but to try and explain that nobody has the right to have a go at you for your avatar despite it being a potentially contentious subject.
Quite frankly i couldn't give two hoots about what some Mexican militia are doing or what they stand for but you do so who is to say your wrong in your support for them?

Of course they have a right to have a go at it! If they can rationally explain (and argue with me) anything about it that could be deemed offensive or contentious.

I think we're going round and round in circles here and your obviously a man who is passionate about his beliefs and is not going to apologise for them....and quite right, i never once said you should apologise for finding Liams comments disgusting and offensive because i feel the same, i just think it wasn't a particularly fair trial for the boy.

Lets call it quits and agree that he was a twat and has rightly been banned but it could have been handled better :dunno:

I think we're going round in circles as well.

However, you may have noticed by now that I'm pretty stuborn and (over-)opinionated so I don't think we're going to agree. :wink::greengrin

13-10-2008, 02:30 PM
I think we're going round in circles as well.

However, you may have noticed by now that I'm pretty stuborn and (over-)opinionated so I don't think we're going to agree. :wink::greengrin

:greengrin fine, I'll settle for us sitting at opposite ends of the room in silence with the occasional dirty look and tut crossing the divide

Anyway, back to these scrounging afghans....let's deport them :grr:

I'm joking :duck:

LiverpoolHibs
13-10-2008, 04:46 PM
:greengrin fine, I'll settle for us sitting at opposite ends of the room in silence with the occasional dirty look and tut crossing the divide

I can live with that. :thumbsup:

Anyway, back to these scrounging afghans....let's deport them :grr:

I'm joking :duck:

wpj
14-10-2008, 07:20 PM
Interesting article here

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/england/london/7669836.stm

15-10-2008, 12:19 AM
Interesting article here

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/england/london/7669836.stm

So there we have it.

The rent was never worth as much as was being claimed. Not the fault of the family staying in the house, but the fault of some clown in the DWP who decided that's how much the rent should be.

15-10-2008, 12:44 AM
I know Liam_C.

And as a friend of his, i will point out that he is not a Hibby, a hun, a yam or any other type of football fan.

He's more of a 'cars and bikes' type of lad on here for the technical support part of here and the banter in these boards.

He's not a bad lad, what he said did deserve a ban whether he was badgered into it or not he should have had the savvy not to have said what he did but it's been said now and he's 'felt the wrath'.

Aye, he is racist i know that first hand but he's not the only decent guy i know who has those beliefs on asians and there must be many, many more.

Don't think there is anyone going to change his opinion now or ever.

Until he falls in love with an asian and has kids. :wink:

15-10-2008, 05:21 AM

How so?

If he was shouted down by everyone else, it could hardly be viewed as condoning racists?

And the last point of yours is pretty much the point I was trying to make. By not having the debate at all, he just goes elsewhere with the same views.

Fair enough if the debate is not to be here, just my opinion.

15-10-2008, 07:05 AM
I know Liam_C.

And as a friend of his, i will point out that he is not a Hibby, a hun, a yam or any other type of football fan.

He's more of a 'cars and bikes' type of lad on here for the technical support part of here and the banter in these boards.

He's not a bad lad, what he said did deserve a ban whether he was badgered into it or not he should have had the savvy not to have said what he did but it's been said now and he's 'felt the wrath'.

Aye, he is racist i know that first hand but he's not the only decent guy i know who has those beliefs on asians and there must be many, many more.
Don't think there is anyone going to change his opinion now or ever.

Until he falls in love with an asian and has kids. :wink: A decent guy who happens to be a racist? :confused:

15-10-2008, 08:08 AM
How so?

If he was shouted down by everyone else...

Which is exactly what happens when Yams come on here and give their opinions about Hibs.

However, most preople, including you, are happy to see them launched, if they're not baying for it.

And the last point of yours is pretty much the point I was trying to make. By not having the debate at all, he just goes elsewhere with the same views.

Fair enough if the debate is not to be here, just my opinion.

If the BNP thought they had a platform on here with which they could spout their hatred, they'd be all over us like a rash. Like they are on Follow Follow.

That's how they work.

Sorry Steve, I had a decision to make, I made it and I have explained my thinking behind it, hopefully in a reasonable manner.

We'll never keep everyone happy but on this occasion, I think the najority seem to understand why it was done and agree with it.

15-10-2008, 08:42 AM
Which is exactly what happens when Yams come on here and give their opinions about Hibs.

However, most preople, including you, are happy to see them launched, if they're not baying for it.

If the BNP thought they had a platform on here with which they could spout their hatred, they'd be all over us like a rash. Like they are on Follow Follow.

That's how they work.

Sorry Steve, I had a decision to make, I made it and I have explained my thinking behind it, hopefully in a reasonable manner.

We'll never keep everyone happy but on this occasion, I think the najority seem to understand why it was done and agree with it.

Not true, I have never asked for Jambos to be banned, nor am I ever really bothered whether they are launched or not to be honest.

Other than that, fair do's.

15-10-2008, 09:07 AM
Not true, I have never asked for Jambos to be banned, nor am I ever really bothered whether they are launched or not to be honest.

My mistake. In that case, I retract that remark.

15-10-2008, 06:14 PM
A decent guy who happens to be a racist? :confused:

Aye.

15-10-2008, 09:31 PM
Aye.

Where do you draw the line on decency?

A decent guy who just happens to be a rapist?

A decent guy who just happens to hate catholics?

A decent guy who just happens to be a paedophile?

Sorry, Ben, it doesn't work like that.

15-10-2008, 10:25 PM
Where do you draw the line on decency?

A decent guy who just happens to be a rapist?

A decent guy who just happens to hate catholics?

A decent guy who just happens to be a paedophile?

Sorry, Ben, it doesn't work like that.

What if said person i have known since i was learning to walk, have grown up with him as like one of my best friends. Know all his family well share the same friends mainly stay just down the road from..

It is his opinion and as long as he doesn't express it when out with me/keeps it to himself it doesn't bother me.

15-10-2008, 11:56 PM
What if said person i have known since i was learning to walk, have grown up with him as like one of my best friends. Know all his family well share the same friends mainly stay just down the road from..

It is his opinion and as long as he doesn't express it when out with me/keeps it to himself it doesn't bother me.

I see.

So if he only sexually assaulted children when he's not with you, he'd be ok, too?

Ach, forget it.

You don't mind racists. As long as you're not around when they're doing their stuff.

I understand.

16-10-2008, 01:20 AM
I see.

So if he only sexually assaulted children when he's not with you, he'd be ok, too?

Ach, forget it.

You don't mind racists. As long as you're not around when they're doing their stuff.

I understand.

No, different story.

Those are his beliefs and as long as he keeps them to himself (ie. doesn't offend anybody) i think i can put up with it as i like him as a person.

If he was a proven Peadophile i'd personally chop his Heehaws off myself.

I'm sure though you expected this reply and your now going to go on a rant about why i think being racist is 'better' than peadophilia which is not the case.

But this will just go round in circles and i shouldn't have to take friend advice from anyone on here i'll choose who i want to be friends with.

16-10-2008, 08:49 AM
No, different story.

Those are his beliefs and as long as he keeps them to himself (ie. doesn't offend anybody) i think i can put up with it as i like him as a person.

But he didn't keep them to himself and he did offend people. That's why he is banned.

No, different story.

[B]

I'm sure though you expected this reply and your now going to go on a rant about why i think being racist is 'better' than peadophilia which is not the case.

Have I been ranting? :confused:

But this will just go round in circles and i shouldn't have to take friend advice from anyone on here i'll choose who i want to be friends with.

Indeed so.

A man is known by the company he keeps.

16-10-2008, 06:47 PM
But he didn't keep them to himself and he did offend people. That's why he is banned.

Have I been ranting? :confused:

Indeed so.

A man is known by the company he keeps.

Yes, but he did say he didn't want to but he kept getting badgered so he did. (foolishly)

You've not been ranting.

Awrite ok then mr. sensible.

wpj
16-10-2008, 07:50 PM
Yes, but he did say he didn't want to but he kept getting badgered so he did. (foolishly)

You've not been ranting.

Awrite ok then mr. sensible.

Totally abhor racist *****e and racists but kinda know what you're saying Ben, i have a couple of friends who make comments i am not comfortable with and they know how i feel cos i don't hold back, however i trust them to the max and they would be the first ones to my side if i needed them. I will keep on explaining my argument as they will theirs but would never lose them as friends

Tazio
16-10-2008, 10:00 PM
Oddly a bloke I've known for a while told an amazingly racist joke in the pub tonight and then guffawed at the punchline. Somehow he hadn't noticed the embarrassed looks around the table as he was telling it and the lack of laughs.

Still a nice guy so I'm hoping it was just an oddly judged joke and not his real feelings.

24-10-2008, 12:54 AM
aye i agree, and maybe if the government didnt make it so that these people who wont work can live off hand-outs, then they would get off their ***** and actually get a job and work for a living!

Asylum seekers are not allowed to work.

They are given food vouchers to buy food.

Thought you might like to know that.

02-11-2008, 11:55 AM
""I'd like to take the children on holiday to Disneyland Paris but I can't afford it."

Boo-hoo, sure we're all gutted for you. :violin:

02-11-2008, 12:10 PM
She didn't ask for the house. The council gave her it.

The millionairre landlord is charging £12000 a month in rent. They get food/clothing vouchers to the value of £52 a week for her family and they are not allowed to work.

"Would you like to take your children to Disneyland?" "Yes, but I can't afford it." Good journalism.

Britain is one of the richest countries in the world. Is it not right that we help those less fortunate?

What a disgusting article.

02-11-2008, 12:20 PM
You should read some of the comments people have written.

Hook, line and sinker.

No-one knows the facts.

I wander how much the NOTW paid them for the story and photographs.

Hypocrites.

PiemanP
02-11-2008, 12:45 PM
She didn't ask for the house. The council gave her it.

The millionairre landlord is charging £12000 a month in rent. They get food/clothing vouchers to the value of £52 a week for her family and they are not allowed to work.

"Would you like to take your children to Disneyland?" "Yes, but I can't afford it." Good journalism.

Britain is one of the richest countries in the world. Is it not right that we help those less fortunate?

What a disgusting article.

i dont think anyone is really having a go at the family, because lets be honest im sure pretty much every one would jump at the chance if the council offered them a 1.2 million house etc, its the council who are to blame for offering people like this all theese luxurys for doing sweet **** all and contributing nothing to the econmy/country!

and dont think im having a go beacause they are 'foreign' its the exactly the same situation for your unemployed and wont work or your junkies etc wether black,white, green i dont care they shouldnt be offered anything, and maybe then they'd get off their arse and do something and not live off hard working peoples tax money.

02-11-2008, 01:02 PM
i dont think anyone is really having a go at the family, because lets be honest im sure pretty much every one would jump at the chance if the council offered them a 1.2 million house etc, its the council who are to blame for offering people like this all theese luxurys for doing sweet **** all and contributing nothing to the econmy/country!

and dont think im having a go beacause they are 'foreign' its the exactly the same situation for your unemployed and wont work or your junkies etc wether black,white, green i dont care they shouldnt be offered anything, and maybe then they'd get off their arse and do something and not live off hard working peoples tax money.

They are refugees, fleeing the regime in their country. It's right that we offer them sanctuary, or at least consider their application for entry.

I think there are far too many workshy people but we must offer a minimal existence to our citizens in time of need.

richard_pitts
02-11-2008, 07:52 PM

One problem with this is that asylum seekers are not actually permitted to work :wink: Consequently you have Doctors seeking asylum living of benefits :bitchy:

Tazio
02-11-2008, 09:34 PM
Saiedi explained that she receives £213 a week in child tax credit, £60 in child benefit plus £60 income support. But the family's biggest handout coup is their massive £12,458 a month rent, paid direct by the council to landlord Ajit Panesar.

Just over £300 a week isn't a fortune is it?