http://sport.scotsman.com/sport/Hibs-star-Hogg-hit-by.4560957.jp

Sorry if already posted.

Hibs Spain
06-10-2008, 11:22 AM
http://sport.scotsman.com/sport/Hibs-star-Hogg-hit-by.4560957.jp

Sorry if already posted.He will be now :greengrin

The cooler king
06-10-2008, 11:58 AM
So the Hogg-meisters been playing half blind?

Rumour has it that as a young lad, he suffered a fall from a high building into some radioactive wasteland which resulted in some toxic liquid seeping into his eyes as a result.

Surely this confirms why our superhero centreback displays all the superhuman attributes of 'The Daredevil!'

Chuckie
06-10-2008, 11:59 AM
So the Hogg-meisters been playing half blind?

Rumour has it that as a young lad, he suffered a fall from a high building into some radioactive wasteland which resulted in some toxic liquid seeping into his eyes as a result.

Surely this confirms why our superhero centreback displays all the superhuman attributes of 'The Daredevil!'

That's you that is. :wink:

06-10-2008, 12:03 PM
That mitigates against his performance against the mighty hun.

Hope he recovers soon.

Mulvaney
06-10-2008, 12:10 PM
That mitigates against his performance against the mighty hun.

Hope he recovers soon.

Don't think that is what you are trying to say. Perhaps you might want to check the correct usage involved :wink:

06-10-2008, 12:40 PM
Don't think that is what you are trying to say. Perhaps you might want to check the correct usage involved :wink:

Well spotted. :top marks

You let yourself down in your second sentence though as the word "involved" is totally superfluous and confuses your meaning. The word "required" might have been acceptable although still unnecessary.

06-10-2008, 12:56 PM
You let yourself down in your second sentence though as the word "involved" is totally superfluous and confuses your meaning. The word "required" might have been acceptable although still unnecessary.

acceptable, although

06-10-2008, 01:22 PM
You let yourself down in your second sentence though as the word "involved" is totally superfluous and confuses your meaning.
One wonders whether the 'totally' in your 'totally superfluous' might be superfluous. Isn't superfluity a bit like pregnancy, in that one is either pregnant or one is not - there are no degrees of pregnancy? Nor, one might argue, are there degrees of superfluity. (I'm not saying that some of The Three Degrees couldn't have been pregnant, mind.)

06-10-2008, 01:25 PM
acceptable, although

Away and find yer ain pals.

06-10-2008, 01:39 PM
One wonders whether the 'totally' in your 'totally superfluous' might be superfluous. Isn't superfluity a bit like pregnancy, in that one is either pregnant or one is not - there are no degrees of pregnancy? Nor, one might argue, are there degrees of superfluity. (I'm not saying that some of The Three Degrees couldn't have been pregnant, mind.)

I concur and I thank you for pointing it out with such indisputable grammar.

In future, I shall keep a wary eye open for unnecessary superfluous adjectives.

(((Fergus)))
06-10-2008, 02:00 PM
I concur and I thank you for pointing it out with such indisputable grammar.

Just the one? Also, can a "wary eye" be anything other than open? :dunno:

:duck:

06-10-2008, 02:11 PM
Away and find yer ain pals.

don't you just love when these threads go off in a wayward direction........... :greengrin

Sumner
06-10-2008, 02:27 PM
Good luck with the recovery Chris,
but hopefully when back he's right-back

Hogg Bamba Jones Murray

with Thicot in holding dm role = more solid defensively :agree:

06-10-2008, 02:32 PM

Mulvaney
06-10-2008, 06:10 PM
Well spotted. :top marks

Firstly , apologies to the OP for the hijack :agree:

I was motivated to comment on Mr. Radge's syntax by the excellence of his fanny punctuation on another thread :thumbsup:

Although, I suppose all the girls say that :blushie:

I must say that I was a mite taken aback by the total lack of punctuation in his original reply to me, but that just shows that modern software is no substitute for a classical education :wink: :greengrin

Hibs Spain
06-10-2008, 06:39 PM
Firstly , apologies to the OP for the hijack :agree:

I was motivated to comment on Mr. Radge's syntax by the excellence of his fanny punctuation on another thread :thumbsup:

Although, I suppose all the girls say that :blushie:

I must say that I was a mite taken aback by the total lack of punctuation in his original reply to me, but that just shows that modern software is no substitute for a classical education :wink: :greengrinThis is almost funny. I wonder how many the jokers debating grammer on this would have a Scoobie about sentence analysis? Adjectival,adverbial,verb,noun,clauses etc....Good to see you're making the the effort though..:thumbsup:

Mulvaney
06-10-2008, 06:55 PM
This is almost funny. I wonder how many the jokers debating grammer on this would have a Scoobie about sentence analysis? Adjectival,adverbial,verb,noun,clauses etc....Good to see you're making the the effort though..:thumbsup:

Anyone wishing to further their knowledge in this area might find this (http://www.amazon.com/Explaining-English-Handbooks-Language-Teachers/dp/0194371727)publication useful.

Written by a dyed in the wool hibby :wink::thumbsup:

who now owes me a pint :devil:

06-10-2008, 07:04 PM

06-10-2008, 07:07 PM
This is almost funny. I wonder how many the jokers debating grammer on this would have a Scoobie about sentence analysis? Adjectival,adverbial,verb,noun,clauses etc....Good to see you're making the the effort though..:thumbsup:

Nice sentence.

What does it mean?

Hibs Spain
06-10-2008, 07:08 PM
Anyone wishing to further their knowledge in this area might find this (http://www.amazon.com/Explaining-English-Handbooks-Language-Teachers/dp/0194371727)publication useful.

Written by a dyed in the wool hibby :wink::thumbsup:

who now owes me a pint :devil:I don't need any publication to help me with grammar.I have a degree.A major part of which was English grammar.(As opposed to literature).I also have an A in English.(Higher)..Gotten in the days when if you you started a sentence with "Due to" instead of "Owing to" you would get three of the belt.. :greengrin But convince me that I owe you a pint and I'll be happy to cough up. :thumbsup:

06-10-2008, 07:11 PM
I don't need any publication to help me with grammar.I have a degree.A major part of which was English grammar.(As opposed to literature).I also have an A in English.(Higher)..Gotten in the days when if you you started a sentence with "Due to" instead of "Owing to" you would get three of the belt.. :greengrin But convince me that I owe you a pint and I'll be happy to cough up. :thumbsup:

Interesting word.

I'd have been expelled for using it, when I studied English, though.

Oh, and it's 2 spaces after a full stop. :wink:

Hibs Spain
06-10-2008, 07:11 PM
Nice sentence.

What does it mean?If it were flawless would it have had the same effect? :greengrin

06-10-2008, 07:13 PM
I don't need any publication to help me with grammar.I have a degree.A major part of which was English grammar.(As opposed to literature).I also have an A in English.(Higher)..Gotten in the days when if you you started a sentence with "Due to" instead of "Owing to" you would get three of the belt.. :greengrin But convince me that I owe you a pint and I'll be happy to cough up. :thumbsup:

Congratulations, you're the first person on Hibs.net ever to start a sentence with a word in brackets.

What does it mean?

This is fun.

Mulvaney
06-10-2008, 07:18 PM

Arrogant little shot, aren't you :greengrin

Hibs Spain
06-10-2008, 07:23 PM
Interesting word.

Oh, and it's 2 spaces after a full stop. :wink:Oh dear, oh dear..You don't think I know what gotten signifies? When using the internet,It's generally accepted that anything goes as long as it is understandable to those reading it.I would have been expelled but due to my dad's intervention the charge was reduced to "Left by mutual agreement" Believe it or not.... Oh and for what It's worth,you don't need an apostrophe before "and" because "and" is a conjunction.:wink:

Hibs Spain
06-10-2008, 07:27 PM
Congratulations, you're the first person on Hibs.net ever to start a sentence with a word in brackets.

What does it mean?

This is fun.You can now also start a sentence with "And" :agree:

06-10-2008, 07:29 PM
Interesting word.

Oh, and it's 2 spaces after a full stop. :wink:

LOL!! :LOL:
Methinks someone did Secretarial Studies at school.:agree:

Mulvaney
06-10-2008, 07:34 PM
FFS:brickwall

to think all this started with the inadvertant insertion of an apostrophe into a fanny :bitchy:

Hibs Spain
06-10-2008, 07:38 PM
Arrogant little shot, aren't you :greengrinYeh,I've always had a chip on my shoulder about being a bit on the "height challenged" side.How did you know that? Have you seen me standing on my seat in the lower West in a desperate effort to see over the heads of the people sat there sitting in front of me? :worried: :greengrin

06-10-2008, 07:42 PM
Oh dear, oh dear..You don't think I know what gotten signifies? When using the internet,It's generally accepted that anything goes as long as it is understandable to those reading it.I would have been expelled but due to my dad's intervention the charge was reduced to "Left by mutual agreement" Believe it or not.... Oh and for what It's worth,you don't need an apostrophe before "and" because "and" is a conjunction.:wink:

Shirley even in Spain a comma and an apostrophe are different things? :confused:

Hibs Spain
06-10-2008, 07:45 PM
Shirley even in Spain a comma and an apostrophe are different things? :confused:Glad to see you,re paying attention. :thumbsup::greengrin

CapitalHibs
06-10-2008, 07:47 PM
Oh dear, oh dear..You don't think I know what gotten signifies? When using the internet,It's generally accepted that anything goes as long as it is understandable to those reading it.I would have been expelled but due to my dad's intervention the charge was reduced to "Left by mutual agreement" Believe it or not.... Oh and for what It's worth,you don't need an apostrophe before "and" because "and" is a conjunction.:wink:

Wiz that no "owing to my dad's intervention...":greengrin

06-10-2008, 07:51 PM
FFS:brickwall

to think all this started with the inadvertant insertion of an apostrophe into a fanny :bitchy:

Hibs Spain
06-10-2008, 07:57 PM
Wiz that no "owing to my dad's intervention...":greengrinHaha ..No "Due to" would be correct on that occasion.Actually,talking about it brings back some pretty mixed emotions.I was at a boarding school and I was always getting caught doing something wrong.All "civil" crimes though,like getting in late at the week-ends,trying to grow my hair too long etc.. All pretty inocuous stuff to me but ..Hey..I'm still here to tell the tale as they say..Can you still say that? :greengrin

06-10-2008, 07:58 PM
LOL!! :LOL:
Methinks someone did Secretarial Studies at school.:agree:

School was a long time ago

And I would have been battered senseless if I'd done secretarial studues, had it been on offer when I was there.

For some reason, we've all started picking fault with each others' posts and the lack of spaces seemed fair game.

06-10-2008, 08:04 PM

Oh dear, oh dear. You're getting very defensive.

None of this is actually serious, you know.

Hibs Spain
06-10-2008, 08:05 PM

And I would have been battered senseless if I'd done secretarial studues if it was on offer when I was there.

For some reason, we've all started picking fault with each others' posts and the lack of spaces seemed fair game.OOOOOOOOPpphhh....
"OTHERS'" ....Good shout! What about "Those" or "Those ones"?:dunno:

CapitalHibs
06-10-2008, 08:08 PM
Haha ..No "Due to" would be correct on that occasion.Actually,talking about it brings back some pretty mixed emotions.I was at a boarding school and I was always getting caught doing something wrong.All "civil" crimes though,like getting in late at the week-ends,trying to grow my hair too long etc.. All pretty inocuous stuff to me but ..Hey..I'm still here to tell the tale as they say..Can you still say that? :greengrin

I can. I must say though my English teacher scared the crap out of me on the usage of "due to" that I will never use it today, under any circumstances or in any context.:greengrin

Mulvaney
06-10-2008, 08:11 PM
Yeh,I've always had a chip on my shoulder about being a bit on the "height challenged" side.How did you know that? Have you seen me standing on my seat in the lower West in a desperate effort to see over the heads of the people sat there sitting in front of me? :worried: :greengrin

The "arrogant" and "shot" were apparent from the text of your posts.

The "little" part was deduced from sub-textual analysis :agree:

Wee tip, friend.

Before you flamboyantly lay your "two pair" on the table, consider the possibility that the other players might be sitting with full houses and 4 aces.

"I have a degree and an A in Higher English " Well Whoopsie effin Doo :bye:

Despite Mr. Pain claiming that he does not require a publication on English grammar, please buy George's books and make him so filthy freekin rich he can pay for the new East stand and get me a comp. season :thumbsup:

06-10-2008, 08:18 PM
OOOOOOOOPpphhh....

Indeed. Point to you.

That's two or three you've gotten.

So far.

Hibs Spain
06-10-2008, 08:20 PM
The "arrogant" and "shot" were apparent from the text of your posts.

The "little" part was deduced from sub-textual analysis :agree:

Wee tip, friend.

Before you flamboyantly lay your "two pair" on the table, consider the possibility that the other players might be sitting with full houses and 4 aces.

"I have a degree and an A in Higher English " Well Whoopsie effin Doo :bye:

Despite Mr. Pain claiming that he does not require a publication on English grammar, please buy George's books and make him so filthy freekin rich he can pay for the new East stand and get me a comp. season :thumbsup:I'm no computer nerd so I don't spend time raking through people's old posts to compile some kind of profile of posters on here...But if your buddie's book has some substance to it,I'll certainly look out for it. :agree:

06-10-2008, 08:22 PM

And I would have been battered senseless if I'd done secretarial studues, had it been on offer when I was there.

For some reason, we've all started picking fault with each others' posts and the lack of spaces seemed fair game.

Just having a laugh mate.

I know all about the 2 spaces after a full stop from Sec Studies and it does my nut in when checking the young ones letters in my work. There spelling leaves a lot to be desired and they have no idea of sentence structure. :grr:

Bairns nowadays!!:blah:

06-10-2008, 08:24 PM
I'm no computer nerd so I don't spend time raking through people's old posts to compile some kind of profile of posters on here...But if your buddie's book has some substance to it,I'll certainly look out for it. :agree:

Cough, cough, choke, choke.

06-10-2008, 08:25 PM

I know all about the 2 spaces after a full stop from Sec Studies and it does my nut in when checking the young ones letters in my work. There spelling leaves a lot to be desired and they have no idea of sentence structure. :grr:

See what you done there? :wink:

06-10-2008, 08:25 PM

I have resisted long enough..... I can stand it no longer.

Young ones letters?

There spelling?

Ahhhh.. that's better. :wink:

CapitalHibs
06-10-2008, 08:26 PM

:rules:Eh, that'll be "their".

Hibs Spain
06-10-2008, 08:28 PM
Indeed. Point to you.

That's two or three you've gotten.

So far.Well? What's the answer? I even phoned Edinburgh Uni about this and they couldn't or wouldn't give me a definitive answer.
They basically said "It doesn't matter any more"
So.... Can you point out which seats are yours?.....Yes ,those over there..
OR ...Yes,those ones over there..:dunno:

06-10-2008, 08:31 PM
**** sake ..i have to go back to the beginning to find out what the **** this thread is actually about !!!!! :grr:

Oh aye ..its about Hogg ..:blah:

06-10-2008, 08:33 PM
SEE!!

I am unable to speel corectly anymore coz of all the crap leters I ave to check everyday!!

Hibs Spain
06-10-2008, 08:35 PM
Cough, cough, choke, choke.Christ! What have I done? Why have I put myself in this position? The pressure! I don't have time to check everything I type. Can we agree on a few mistakes per week? :greengrin :greengrin

06-10-2008, 08:39 PM
Not if we hope to maintain standards.

Riordans Boots
06-10-2008, 08:39 PM
Christ! What have I done? Why have I put myself in this position? The pressure! I don't have time to check everything I type. Can we agree on a few mistakes per week? :greengrin :greengrin

Getting back to the point HS :dunno:

Hogg .... how you don't rate him and :blah:

06-10-2008, 08:41 PM
OOOOOOOOPpphhh....

My apologies.

I thought you'd spotted a mistake in one of my earlier posts, which I couldn't be ersed looking for.

Now I see it was a genuine question.

I agree that either of your suggestions can be correct, depending on context.

e.g. Which are your's? Those are mine.

Which golf clubs are your's? Those ones.

Possibly.

06-10-2008, 08:41 PM
Admins - can we get Macar back please, he'd love this thread :whistle:

06-10-2008, 08:43 PM
Christ! What have I done? Why have I put myself in this position? The pressure! I don't have time to check everything I type. Can we agree on a few mistakes per week? :greengrin :greengrin

You joined in.

Can we agree on a few mistakes per week? :greengrin :greengrin

Spoilsport.

06-10-2008, 08:45 PM
Admins - can we get Macar back please, he'd love this thread :whistle:

Undowtibly.

Hibs Spain
06-10-2008, 08:48 PM
Getting back to the point HS :dunno:

Hogg .... how you don't rate him and :blah:Well,I don't rate him because I think he's too small and so causes us immediate and unnecessary problems in the air.He is short of pace and is bullied off the ball by just about every big forward in the SPL. In fact I can't think of any attributes he has apart from the fact that he turns up every week (unfortunately):agree:

06-10-2008, 08:51 PM
:rules:Eh, that'll be "their".

Unless it is referring to the place of work, as in "There, spelling leaves a lot to be desired ..." :dunno:

OtterHibee
06-10-2008, 08:58 PM
Going back to the OP, hope Chris is back fit before long, although I wouldn't risk him against the yams if he's not 100%.

Funny that as I mentioned the other day, arguably his best games this season have been against Motherwell, Dundee Utd and Hamilton - all played AFTER the incident v Morton. It's somewhat admirable that he's played well despite this problem, although he really should have been properly rested in order to fully recover IMHO. Had Jones not been injured for the Motherwell game, I don't think Hoggy would have played as there was still reports as late as the Saturday morning of him having late fitness tests due to concussion. I can see why he himself would have wanted to keep playing but should Mixu as his manager not have been a bit more strict and told him to rest until his injuries had properly cleared up? Without making too many excuses, these complications could well explain his performance against Rangers.

Hibs Spain
06-10-2008, 09:01 PM
My apologies.

I thought you'd spotted a mistake in one of my earlier posts, which I couldn't be ersed looking for.

Possibly.The issue is "ones" If you are looking at more than ONE club..The debate is whether you can say "Those"(without the ..are mine bit) OR "Those ones" The problem is in the fact that we're describing,let's say 12 clubs as what appears to be the plural of "one" as "ones"..Does ones exist in that that format?I genuinely can't make my mind up.I've always said "those ones" but I'm starting to think it's wrong :dunno:

06-10-2008, 09:05 PM
Admins - can we get Macar back please, he'd love this thread :whistle:Wur no that keane...

Riordans Boots
06-10-2008, 09:08 PM
Well,I don't rate him because I think he's too small and so causes us immediate and unnecessary problems in the air.He is short of pace and is bullied off the ball by just about every big forward in the SPL. In fact I can't think of any attributes he has apart from the fact that he turns up every week (unfortunately):agree:

Would you rate him if he played in platform boots and wore very thick tinted spectacles at every game then? :greengrin

Hibs Spain
06-10-2008, 09:22 PM
Would you rate him if he played in platform boots and wore very thick tinted spectacles at every game then? :greengrinNo. I would rate him if he was good at all the things I just said he wasn't good at.(apart from turning up every week) :greengrin

06-10-2008, 10:29 PM

I'm not the best at Engurlish, but should that not have been Scooby, as in Scooby Doo, as in 'Cockney rhyming slang' for 'not got a clue'.

Thought so........:wink:

Would you rate him if he played in platform boots and wore very thick tinted spectacles at every game then? :greengrin

if this sympathy story is to be believed he will be next time out. I find it believeable that Mixu would permit a player who is struggling to see a moving ball play because he has the desire to do so, but the fact that he is saying that Hogg has been suffering from concussion only leaves one of two points to be true:

Mixu is talking mince using the word concussion.

or

The Club Doc should resign on endangering a players condition, let alone the team in permitting a player to take to the field of play when patently not fot to do so.

06-10-2008, 11:38 PM
My apologies.

Possibly.

NO APOSTROPHES IN "YOURS". END OF. :grr:

Going back to the OP, hope Chris is back fit before long, although I wouldn't risk him against the yams if he's not 100%.

Funny that as I mentioned the other day, arguably his best games this season have been against Motherwell, Dundee Utd and Hamilton - all played AFTER the incident v Morton. It's somewhat admirable that he's played well despite this problem, although he really should have been properly rested in order to fully recover IMHO. Had Jones not been injured for the Motherwell game, I don't think Hoggy would have played as there was still reports as late as the Saturday morning of him having late fitness tests due to concussion. I can see why he himself would have wanted to keep playing but should Mixu as his manager not have been a bit more strict and told him to rest until his injuries had properly cleared up? Without making too many excuses, these complications could well explain his performance against Rangers.

This is very worrying. If Chris has had concussion and/or its after-effects since the Morton game, and has gone on playing, he's been risking his long-term health. Boxers who are knocked out have a mandatory three-month lay-off, IIRC.

There's no way Mixu should have been playing him in these circumstances. Bad enough continuing to play with joint or muscle problems - playing with concussion can lead to brain damage. I just hope he hasn't suffered permanent injury.

He really shouldn't have been playing. :bitchy:

Hibs Spain
07-10-2008, 09:00 AM

This is very worrying. If Chris has had concussion and/or its after-effects since the Morton game, and has gone on playing, he's been risking his long-term health. Boxers who are knocked out have a mandatory three-month lay-off, IIRC.

There's no way Mixu should have been playing him in these circumstances. Bad enough continuing to play with joint or muscle problems - playing with concussion can lead to brain damage. I just hope he hasn't suffered permanent injury.

He really shouldn't have been playing. :bitchy:Could that even be "No APOSTROPHE in YOURS" ?

07-10-2008, 09:05 AM

Of course, you are correct.

It must have been the pressure of being under such constant scrutiny.

As you're about to find out. :wink:

Hibs Spain
07-10-2008, 09:15 AM
Of course, you are correct.

It must have been the pressure of being under such constant scrutiny.

As you're about to find out. :wink:

:greengrinWhat about those,those clubs or those ones? The 1st two are definitely correct :agree:

07-10-2008, 09:39 AM
What about those,those clubs or those ones? The 1st two are definitely correct :agree:

The use of the word "ones" to replace a noun, does, at least initially, seem clumsy.

However, if I was being offered a choice between, say 3 pairs of trousers, I wouldn't blench if I was asked, "Which ones would you like"?

Instead, I would likely answer, "Those ones" or "the blue ones".

:hmmm: Having said that, I think "ones" is superfluous, although accepted.

07-10-2008, 09:43 AM
Could that even be "No APOSTROPHE in YOURS" ?

It could, but you're nitpicking now. There were two occurrences of "yours", therefore two apostrophes.

Plural.

I was right.

By the way, you're wrong in having a space before the question-mark in that quotation. It should read: Could that even be "No APOSTROPHE in YOURS"?

And I draw your attention to your post, "What about those,those clubs or those ones? The 1st two are definitely correct".

There should be a space after the comma, and a comma after the word 'clubs'. You should have put a full stop at the end, and a purist would have spelled out the word 'first' rather than using the ordinal numeral. And the use of quotation marks around those words quoted from the other person's post would have been advisable.

The post should read: "What about 'those', 'those clubs', or 'those ones'? The first two are definitely correct."

Don't get smart with an old English teacher. :devil:

07-10-2008, 09:46 AM
However, if I was being offered a choice between, say 3 pairs of trousers, I wouldn't blanch if I was asked, "Which ones would you like"?
I would. I would immediately remonstrate with the sales assistant that as 'pair' is a singular noun, he/she should say 'Which one would you like?'.
If he/she persisted with 'Which ones would you like?' I would assume he/she was suggesting that I buy two of the three under consideration, which I would judge overzealous and unacceptable (at which point I would almost certainly storm out).

07-10-2008, 09:47 AM
Two occurrences of "yours". Two apostrophes. Plural.

Don't get smart with an ex-teacher of English.

Like every profession, there are good and bad English teachers. :wink:

However, thanks for the challenge. :greengrin

:eyes:

07-10-2008, 09:49 AM
I would. I would immediately remonstrate with the sales assistant that as 'pair' is a singular noun, he/she should say 'Which one would you like?'.
If he/she persisted with 'Which ones would you like?' I would assume he/she was suggesting that I buy two of the three under consideration, which I would judge overzealous and unacceptable (at which point I would almost certainly storm out).

:hilarious :applause:

And if you were being offered a choice between 3 "pairs" of scissors?

07-10-2008, 09:55 AM
And if you were being offered a choice between 3 "pairs" of scissors?

Buy the cheapest. (Unless made from aluminium, in which case reject as possibly contributing to Mr Vlad's "wealth".)

07-10-2008, 10:01 AM
Like every profession, there are good and bad English teachers. :wink:

However, thanks for the challenge. :greengrin

:eyes:

I liked teaching English.

I HATED being a teacher.

So I left.

The truth is that life is really too short to be spent picking up the mistakes of the people around us.

You know, this thread began as a discussion about the fact that one of our defenders has been playing with the after-effects of concussion, and the possibility that he may have done himself serious damage by doing so.

That's a friggin' sight more important than a couple of apostrophes.

07-10-2008, 10:05 AM

I HATED being a teacher.

So I left.

The truth is that life is really too short to be spent picking up the mistakes of the people around us.

You know what? I completely agree. I say words to that effect at work at least weekly.

However, as guilty as you have just made me feel, this grammar stuff is merely a bit of fun.

07-10-2008, 10:17 AM

I HATED being a teacher.

So I left.

You know, this thread began as a discussion about the fact that one of our defenders has been playing with the after-effects of concussion, and the possibility that he may have done himself serious damage by doing so.

I geddit, in a Connolly/Izzardesque sort of a bringing the story back to the beginning sort of a way.

Hibs Spain
07-10-2008, 10:21 AM
The use of the word "ones" to replace a noun, does, at least initially, seem clumsy.

However, if I was being offered a choice between, say 3 pairs of trousers, I wouldn't blench if I was asked, "Which ones would you like"?

Instead, I would likely answer, "Those ones" or "the blue ones".

:hmmm: Having said that, I think "ones" is superfluous, although accepted.Yeh,I use "ones" but I'm becoming more convinced that it's wrong."That one" is correct but "Those ones" just can't be right,although it's accepted.It's quite often a good idea to use a word or expression in a different context to see if you're right or not.eg "How many golf clubs are there in your bag"? "There's one".... "Oh there aren't lots of ones"? ..Just not right is it?:agree:

Hibs Spain
07-10-2008, 10:25 AM
It could, but you're nitpicking now. There were two occurrences of "yours", therefore two apostrophes.

Plural.

I was right.

By the way, you're wrong in having a space before the question-mark in that quotation. It should read: Could that even be "No APOSTROPHE in YOURS"?

And I draw your attention to your post, "What about those,those clubs or those ones? The 1st two are definitely correct".

There should be a space after the comma, and a comma after the word 'clubs'. You should have put a full stop at the end, and a purist would have spelled out the word 'first' rather than using the ordinal numeral. And the use of quotation marks around those words quoted from the other person's post would have been advisable.

The post should read: "What about 'those', 'those clubs', or 'those ones'? The first two are definitely correct."

Don't get smart with an old English teacher. :devil:I've never had typing lessons.If I were handwriting there would be no mistakes like that.I didn't mean to put a space there.:greengrin

07-10-2008, 10:28 AM

I HATED being a teacher.

So I left.

Chill out, Doddie. You were happy enough to join in before seemingly having a road to Damascus monent.

People will discuss anything they like, whether or not you feel it's worthy, and they are entitled to do so.

If you re-read the posts, and look at the various smileys, you will see that people are in good humour.

As I said, Chill out.

Hibs Spain
07-10-2008, 10:30 AM

Plural.

I was right.

Don't get smart with an old English teacher. :devil:And...I didn't use inverted commas cos I was trying to do things a bit more quickly and knew that I would have been understood. I would have to say though,that the word "or",being a conjunction surely negates the need for the comma after the word"clubs"?:dunno:

07-10-2008, 10:33 AM
And...I didn't use inverted commas cos I was trying to do things a bit more quickly and knew that I would have been understood. I would have to say though,that the word "or",being a conjunction surely negates the need for the comma after the word"clubs"?:dunno:

You're just being stubborn now.

Although there is some doubt about the need for two spaces after a full stop, there definitely should be a space after a comma. :agree:

It makes your writing look better and, more importantly, easier to read and understand.

Hibs Spain
07-10-2008, 10:40 AM
You're just being stubborn now.

Although there is some doubt about the need for two spaces after a full stop, there definitely should be a space after a comma. :agree:

It makes your writing look better and, more importantly, easier to read and understand.Like I said "I've never been taught to type". I just try and use spacing to look like it would if it were handwritten. Have I won yet? :greengrin :thumbsup:

07-10-2008, 10:58 AM
Like I said "I've never been taught to type".

Neither have I. I just learned what little I know from people who knew better. That's called a hint, by the way.

Like I said "I've never been taught to type". I just try and use spacing to look like it would if it were handwritten. Have I won yet? :greengrin :thumbsup:

There are no winners in Grammar War.

Hibs Spain
07-10-2008, 11:20 AM
Neither have I. I just learned what little I know from people who knew better. That's called a hint, by the way.

There are no winners in Grammar War.Oh no.. No winners? That's a bit like trying to stab a blancmange then? :greengrin

07-10-2008, 11:26 AM
Oh no.. No winners? That's a bit like trying to stab a blancmange then? :greengrin

...stab a blacmange, then?

That's got to hurt. :tee hee:

littleplum
07-10-2008, 12:17 PM
And...I didn't use inverted commas cos I was trying to do things a bit more quickly and knew that I would have been understood. I would have to say though,that the word "or",being a conjunction surely negates the need for the comma after the word"clubs"?:dunno:

It is an Oxford (or Harvard) comma and is entirely optional. :wink:

Hibs Spain
07-10-2008, 12:28 PM
It is an Oxford (or Harvard) comma and is entirely optional. :wink:Gulp....:confused:

08-10-2008, 12:06 AM
I've never had typing lessons.If I were handwriting there would be no mistakes like that.I didn't mean to put a space there.:greengrin

Are you being deliberately obtuse, mate? :cool2:

Chill out, Doddie. You were happy enough to join in before seemingly having a road to Damascus monent.

People will discuss anything they like, whether or not you feel it's worthy, and they are entitled to do so.

If you re-read the posts, and look at the various smileys, you will see that people are in good humour.

As I said, Chill out.

I'm chilled, Radge. Totally chilled.

There was a bad pun in the last line which I should have made more obvious....

It sounds as if poor old Hoggy's been going round like the guy in "Catch-22" who always saw two of everything - until they disappeared him.... :cool2:

08-10-2008, 07:47 AM
Are you being deliberately obtuse, mate? :cool2:

I'm chilled, Radge. Totally chilled.

There was a bad pun in the last line which I should have made more obvious....

It sounds as if poor old Hoggy's been going round like the guy in "Catch-22" who always saw two of everything - until they disappeared him.... :cool2:

I saw the pun but, didn't think it was intentional.

I saw the pun, but didn't think it was intentional.

08-10-2008, 10:14 AM
I saw the pun but, didn't think it was intentional.

I saw the pun, but didn't think it was intentional.

In this case I'm afraid the intention outran the performance.

Story of my life, really...... :boo hoo: