View Full Version : What do people think about this?
04-10-2008, 12:19 AM
http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/uk_news/scotland/edinburgh_and_east/7651107.stm
Man fined for taking a photograph!!
A bit OTT of the woman and friends to call the police no?
04-10-2008, 05:05 PM
thats a strange one.
if someone has drunk themselves to a state of making an exhibition of themselves, its just part of a bad night.
cant believe it ever got to court.
04-10-2008, 11:50 PM
I just can't believe the group were so upset that they would call police! Now that guy effectively has a criminal record because of, IMO, their total over-reaction.
hibbybrian
05-10-2008, 08:21 AM
Judge "I'm going to impose a fine to remind him chivalry is not dead and when somebody is in distress you leave them to it." Not a very chivalrous attitude - what about offering to help :confused:
05-10-2008, 10:47 AM
The Paparazzi do it every day when they photograph celebs coming out of nightclubs pissed, what's the difference? :dunno:
Total waste of taxpayers money taking something like this to court.
HibsMax
05-10-2008, 05:16 PM
Totally OTT. And "they" say the (us) Americans live in a litigious country. LOL.
Ridiculous. Yes, waste of tax payers money. This should never have seen a courtroom (or whatever).
I supposed it's different for so-called professional photographers who make a living from capturing people's suffering on film.
I commend the guy for waiting to face his punishment but, to be honest, I'll bet he was truly shocked that the police would answer such a frivolous call in the first place. I am too. Must have been a slow night.
barcahibs
05-10-2008, 06:12 PM
I'm surprised that it went as far as court, but the police 'hassling' photographers is nothing new and is becoming an increasingly common topic amongst those of us who count photography as a hobby. One of the photography magazines recently gave away a small card explaining the rights of photographers taking pictures in a public place to be used when approached by the police. I myself have been told to move on when out with a tripod and slr taking pictures. I wasn't breaking the law or endangering anyone, but I did what I was told. :greengrin I think in our new security concious times the police are occasionally a little paranoid.
However I do feel that photographers also have a responsibility to practice some common sense - in this instance I would not have taken that picture. The tradition of candid street photography isn't that strong in this country,on the rare occasion I've tried it (people pictures aren't really my thing) I've always felt dead guilty and tried to hide my camera. I wouldn't ever get right in someones face and just take a picture without at least asking permission.
I remember a letter to Practical Photography (I think) where a man was complaining that he'd been told by the police to delete his pictures after taking some candids at an airshow. His crime? Taking an (in his view completely innocent) picture of a young girl in shorts bum which had a sticker advertising the airshow on it.
The guy really couldn't see what he'd done wrong and (i think) within the letter of the law he hadn't commmited any crime - but it was still a bloody stupid thing to do. A wee bit of common sense wouldn't go amiss at times.
Brando7
05-10-2008, 06:42 PM
The Paparazzi do it every day when they photograph celebs coming out of nightclubs pissed, what's the difference? :dunno:
Total waste of taxpayers money taking something like this to court.
Shocking :grr:
Hibby D
05-10-2008, 07:15 PM
thats a strange one.
if someone has drunk themselves to a state of making an exhibition of themselves, its just part of a bad night.
cant believe it ever got to court.
How do we know that is what happened? :dunno:
Even if that was the case (and I'm not condoning it) what gives some random stranger the right to take photographs?
Got what he deserves :agree: and I hope it's a lesson to any other budding photographers out there :bitchy:
Mulvaney
05-10-2008, 08:32 PM
How do we know that is what happened? :dunno:
Even if that was the case (and I'm not condoning it) what gives some random stranger the right to take photographs?
Got what he deserves :agree: and I hope it's a lesson to any other budding photographers out there :bitchy:
As the native Americans thought , he was stealing her soul :agree:
if you're into that ignorant primitive mumbo-jumbo :wink:
Tazio
06-10-2008, 12:02 PM
A bit OTT taking it to court etc. However if I was out with my wife and she took unwell and popped outside for fresh air and I caught a total stranger taking photos of her feeling ill I wouldn't be too chuffed at his behaviour.
06-10-2008, 06:07 PM
Given we live in a city that has more than its fair share of CCTV i find it a bit ironic he was supposedly invading her privacy given she had went outdoors due to feeling ill(aye right pissed more like it!). What a total over reaction imho.
Hibby D
06-10-2008, 06:15 PM
Given we live in a city that has more than its fair share of CCTV i find it a bit ironic he was supposedly invading her privacy given she had went outdoors due to feeling ill(aye right pissed more like it!). What a total over reaction imho.
Ever carried out jury duty? Hope not :wink:
06-10-2008, 10:33 PM
Thought about this point last night as well. Definitely CCTV outside that bit of the Omni - let's take the polis / government to court as well! I don't recall giving them permission to film me after all?
HibsMax
06-10-2008, 11:42 PM
Whether or not you agree with the guy taking a photograph or not I find it hard to believe that anyone would support this course of action. 100 quid for snapping a picture in a public place? Y'er havin' a larf.
07-10-2008, 04:28 AM
Whether or not you agree with the guy taking a photograph or not I find it hard to believe that anyone would support this course of action. 100 quid for snapping a picture in a public place? Y'er havin' a larf.
I'd be less bothered about the 100 quid than the breach of the peace on my record!
Surely the polis could have issues one of these spot fines or something anyway? :dunno:
07-10-2008, 07:56 AM
Ever carried out jury duty? Hope not :wink:
You've got a point there, I suppose. They haven't said that the girl was drunk. But the OP was asking what we thought about it.
If she was ill, then fair enough.
The implication in the story is that the guy was taking a photograph of the less salubrious aspects of Embra life - folk bundering in the streets, ********s fighting after a couple of lagers etc.
07-10-2008, 09:39 AM
Why would a guy want to take a photo of some random woman outside a pub? Seems a bit strange to me! :dunno:
07-10-2008, 10:13 AM
Surprised it went to court but prejudging the woman was drunk is a bit wrong. I was in a a pub in Galway last week having just partaken of dinner in an adjoining restaurant. I was on my first pint of Guinness when the old tummy started heaving, cold sweats and dizziness came on. Rushed outside for a bit of the old projectile vomiting. Now, most people who know me would for sure say that Turnbull had over indulged once again, but simply not the case in this instance. I would have been pretty peed off if I had been accused of being drunk. I blame the oysters personally.:wink:
Hibs On Tour
09-10-2008, 09:54 PM
Total load ay pish IMO.
Particularly given that there is no actual 'right to privacy' within UK legislation. Breach is about the only legal recourse anyone would have and surely a wee bit common sense from all concerned would avoid pish like this.
If the Polish daftie had shown some he wouldn't have got done. If the reekin bird :greengrin and her associates had shown some he wouldn't have. If the police had shown some they would have given him a warning, moved him on and he wouldn't have.
Must be that we don't have backlogs with the courts etc after all... :bitchy:
10-10-2008, 12:34 AM
A bit OTT taking it to court etc. However if I was out with my wife and she took unwell and popped outside for fresh air and I caught a total stranger taking photos of her feeling ill I wouldn't be too chuffed at his behaviour.
10-10-2008, 12:37 AM
Total load ay pish IMO.
Particularly given that there is no actual 'right to privacy' within UK legislation. Breach is about the only legal recourse anyone would have and surely a wee bit common sense from all concerned would avoid pish like this.
If the Polish daftie had shown some he wouldn't have got done. If the reekin bird :greengrin and her associates had shown some he wouldn't have. If the police had shown some they would have given him a warning, moved him on and he wouldn't have.
Must be that we don't have backlogs with the courts etc after all... :bitchy:
Discretion doesn't seem to be an option anymore.
Hibs On Tour
11-10-2008, 12:37 AM
Discretion doesn't seem to be an option anymore.
Quite ludicrous when you think that per head of population Britain is the most surveillanced society in the entire world with regards CCTV. Perhaps the bird should go the whole hog and drag Edinburgh City Council into court too?
I should lock myself in the house more - every time I come out either physically or via the 'net I seem to be scratching my head more and more these days... :dunno: