View Full Version : XL Holidays go BUST!
12-09-2008, 08:19 AM
www.xl.com
Thats Travel City and other similar named tour operators, my mum and dad are meant to go to florida next week and there is now no chance they will go.
Anyone who has a travel city holiday should have a look at that site for more info.
chinny baxter
12-09-2008, 08:55 AM
Who will be next? I guess Easyjet and Ryannair will be ok, but will smaller companies like Globespan etc make it?
12-09-2008, 09:23 AM
Its a bit worrying, im booked to go away to vegas a week on wednesday, hopefully the airline im with is too big to go down like this!
Its a bit crap though that even although its all booked up and ready to go it can be pulled away at any moment!
Little Miss Perfect
12-09-2008, 09:47 AM
Seguro holidays went bust this week too, my parents had booked a month in Albufeira with them for February.
Fly Zoom have gone too.
NaeTechnoHibby
12-09-2008, 10:30 AM
I have a friend currently in Florida, who booked through Travel City Direct, what a bummer.
I hope that the way they booked allows them to get back with minimum fuss.
12-09-2008, 10:38 AM
I have a friend currently in Florida, who booked through Travel City Direct, what a bummer.
I hope that the way they booked allows them to get back with minimum fuss.
they willl get back TCD are ATOL proctected (i think) so ATOL will organsie to get them back
12-09-2008, 10:42 AM
they willl get back TCD are ATOL proctected (i think) so ATOL will organsie to get them back
Aye you are correct they will be able to still have there holiday and will have flights home arranged.
12-09-2008, 10:42 AM
Depends whether a package deal or flights only was booked.
http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/business/7611639.stm
12-09-2008, 11:11 AM
Depends whether a package deal or flights only was booked.
http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/business/7611639.stm
i know
but if they have booked throught a travel agent who has packaged it for them the might be protected throught their ATOL. or most companies offer cleint airline failure insurance which would help.
for example if i had booked flights with XL for one of my cleints and then booked accomodation through someone else, since my company has an ATOL they would be covered under ours (I THINK:confused:)
LustForLeith
12-09-2008, 11:11 AM
Who will be next? I guess Easyjet and Ryannair will be ok, but will smaller companies like Globespan etc make it?
I'm sure Ryanair mentioned there profits were down for the first tiem and they were struggling
Little Miss Perfect
12-09-2008, 11:29 AM
Easyjet are offering rescue packages to the stranded passengers for £75
Following the announcement that XL Group has suspended all of its operations, easyJet, the UKs largest airline, will offer those passengers stranded at their destinations, a special rescue fee of £75* to return home to the UK.
easyJet has made this offer available to any XL passenger due to travel inbound to the UK during the next seven days (offer available until 23:59 Friday 19th September).
To claim the exclusive £75 rescue package, passengers should call easyJet customer services on one of the numbers listed below. Passengers must provide the agent with their XL booking reference number and present their XL booking confirmation at check as further proof of booking.
HibeeUnderwood
12-09-2008, 05:28 PM
My step-dad went on holiday once and stayed for 2 weeks, after 1 week the airline went bust but he still managed to get home by the same company.
sammy7
13-09-2008, 11:16 AM
I was in Turkey with XL and wasn't meant to be coming back until tomorrow (sunday) morning, but got put on a flight last night. Absolute nightmare, my 7 night holiday turned into 5 nights! :boo hoo:
To be fair though, at least I didn't have to pay for the flight myself, as I was covered
Brando7
14-09-2008, 09:18 AM
I was in Turkey with XL and wasn't meant to be coming back until tomorrow (sunday) morning, but got put on a flight last night. Absolute nightmare, my 7 night holiday turned into 5 nights! :boo hoo:
To be fair though, at least I didn't have to pay for the flight myself, as I was covered
Gutted for you sammy
Hope it was still good the 5 days u had
Brando7
14-09-2008, 09:22 AM
Ma pal just told me that me been told not to pay anymore money to his holiday for next year to Florida with globespan as there rumors that their the next company to fold
I along with a good few others will be using Flyglobespan during the October holiday, if they do go Tats-up (soon), at least I will get to the Jambo's game.:thumbsup:
Source that told him is ?????
sammy7
14-09-2008, 09:35 AM
Gutted for you sammy
Hope it was still good the 5 days u had
Thanks, yeah the 5 days i did have were great :thumbsup:
14-09-2008, 09:57 AM
Apparently another firm has just gone bust, K&S Holidays.
Little Miss Perfect
14-09-2008, 11:19 AM
Apparently another firm has just gone bust, K&S Holidays.
Yeah read that on Sky a wee while ago, they specialise in holidays to Turkey. Gloomy times indeed, must be a nightmare for thos stranded that are having to fork out a fortune to get home.
14-09-2008, 11:45 AM
i would like to know who told him this. Cause it dosen't sound right, if its a package holiday with globespan then i think the best thing would be to contiue paying. if he stops paying the company will cancel HIS holiday cause he never paid and he wont get any money back. but if he contiues to pay and they do go under then he should get money back?? i would get your mate to check this
No they were not, K&S have just beat them.....
### I dont want a holiday in the sun.... ###
Little Miss Perfect
14-09-2008, 12:00 PM
i would like to know who told him this. Cause it dosen't sound right, if its a package holiday with globespan then i think the best thing would be to contiue paying. if he stops paying the company will cancel HIS holiday cause he never paid and he wont get any money back. but if he contiues to pay and they do go under then he should get money back?? i would get your mate to check this
That were my thoughts on it, i'm pretty sure the guy who told Brando said it was a woman at Thomas Cook lol.. :confused:
Im flying to Florida in the middle of October with Monarch, through My Travel - if they go tits up, I'll no be best pleased since its been booked for 10 months :grr::grr:
MrT
NaeTechnoHibby
14-09-2008, 07:07 PM
When I get back to work tomorrow I might have more information about Globespan, as they own our building and they have a call centre there :agree:
I would be surprised if there core business went bust, as they have so many fingers in pies, mind you some of that is property :bitchy:
Spoke to a guy tonight who is due to fly out to Florida in a couple of weeks with his 2 kids and had booked with Travel City. He said there are a few companies who will transfer them onto their packages and all you pay is the difference, they sort out (claim) the insurance stuff. He did this and it cost them an extra £900 to go but he said he couldn't break his kids hearts.
Sad sad stuff.
we are booked with easyjet for flights to paris in a few weeks but if it all goes down the pan at least we can drive there.
14-09-2008, 10:38 PM
Spoke to a guy tonight who is due to fly out to Florida in a couple of weeks with his 2 kids and had booked with Travel City. He said there are a few companies who will transfer them onto their packages and all you pay is the difference, they sort out (claim) the insurance stuff. He did this and it cost them an extra £900 to go but he said he couldn't break his kids hearts.
Sad sad stuff.
we are booked with easyjet for flights to paris in a few weeks but if it all goes down the pan at least we can drive there.
i dont want to tempt fate but i think you will be safe with easyjet. prob one of the strongest out their. I THINK you will be fine.
i think MY Travel will be ok but Monarch??
15-09-2008, 04:38 AM
Deary me, this credit crunch business sounds a nightmare folks! It hasn't been that bad over here as far as I am aware, although it has been felt a little bit. Seems the UK is going down the pan!!
Brando7
15-09-2008, 04:25 PM
I along with a good few others will be using Flyglobespan during the October holiday, if they do go Tats-up (soon), at least I will get to the Jambo's game.:thumbsup:
Source that told him is ?????
As LMP said it was someone that was in Thomas cook, he was in looking to buy Theme park tickets for when he went to Florida & woman behind the desk asking who they were flying wi n he said globespan n she said she hear rumors about them going under then she phoned him the next day & said that she shouldnt be telling him this but to hold off payment towards the holiday as rumors are strong, could be a load a brown stuff
Dont shoot the messenger :greengrin
16-09-2008, 11:35 AM
Sad sad stuff.
No Probs with easyjet, they're as safe as houses. Oh wait a minute!
No seriously, after this is all over only five major European carriers are likely to be ok. British Airways, Lüfthansa, Air France/KLM, Ryan Air and Easyjet are pretty sound, all other carriers are on a shoogly peg at the moment.