View Full Version : Andy Kerr

20-08-2008, 06:52 PM
Not wishing to clash with the 'Nationalists' thread, however I do think that this one deserves a separate airing.

Is it just me or does Andy Kerr, possible future Scottish Labour Leader, come across as an arrogant, rude and downright erse of a man?

Whenever I've seen him on TV, he seems overly aggressive, refuses to call the First Minister anything other than 'Salmond' and quite simply he is the kind of guy that would embarrass me if I was a Labour voter.

Have I got the guy all wrong?

20-08-2008, 09:08 PM
Not wishing to clash with the 'Nationalists' thread, however I do think that this one deserves a separate airing.

Is it just me or does Andy Kerr, possible future Scottish Labour Leader, come across as an arrogant, rude and downright erse of a man?

Whenever I've seen him on TV, he seems overly aggressive, refuses to call the First Minister anything other than 'Salmond' and quite simply he is the kind of guy that would embarrass me if I was a Labour voter.

Nope, having met the man I'd add bombastic, supercillious and walloper to your list!

21-08-2008, 09:34 AM
I’ve met him and a few other politicians from all parties over the past 30 odd years and in the main they’ve been OK when they are talking about what they are doing, when in Government, and what they'd like to do, with in opposition, I genuinely feel they actually believe what they are doing / saying is best for Scotland. :agree:

Having said that I’ve not met any of the current Tory MSPs but their previous, before devolution, were not nice people at all – apart from Lord James Douglas Hamilton who was a very, very nice absolute gentleman but as thick as ***** and so totally naive. These older Tory folks do not fall into the ‘I genuinely feel …’ comment above. :bitchy:

When they are all talking about individuals from other parties, and other parties in general, it seems to me they zip whatever brains they have out and revert to early childhood with their snipey wee comments and their oh so grown up heckling :bitchy:. The king of this has always been Alex Salmond – I think it may be his Hetrz gene!!!

I know the question wasn’t asked but would I trust any of them? No, not one!

sKipper
25-08-2008, 01:32 PM

Form my admittedly few observations I totally agree.

As a Nat myself I kinda hope he wins in a perverse way. I think he would chase a lot of women Labour voters towards the SNP.

25-08-2008, 03:52 PM

Short answer - NO!

He has little or no sense of humour, and thinks he's a lot cleverer than he actually is. He also fancies himself as a political Rottweiler. I think he'll be rapidly disabused of that delusion if he wins. Nicola Sturgeon has made him look really stupid on more than one occasion (not that that's very difficult), and Alec Salmond will eat him alive.

I can't make up my mind whether I'd rather have him or that plook Gray from East Lothian winning the contest. They're a bit like a matching pair of wally dugs.

25-08-2008, 07:26 PM
I've met him and I thought he was sound. But he isnae gonny save them, that's for sure.

27-08-2008, 05:02 PM
I have met on several occasions, and have never taken to him. He is arrogant and full of his self worth. He is a very similar character to Salmond so it would be a very childish FM's question time if he was to win the Labour leadership contest.

I fully expect him to finish 3rd with it being close between CJ and IG

28-08-2008, 05:09 PM
Seems like I called that one right then :greengrin

When is the contest actually decided?

28-08-2008, 05:20 PM
Form my admittedly few observations I totally agree.

As a Nat myself I kinda hope he wins in a perverse way. I think he would chase a lot of women Labour voters towards the SNP.
What makes you think that like? :confused:

28-08-2008, 05:28 PM
Labour in Scotland need to stop pi55ing around with these glorified toon cooncillor nobodies and go all out to tempt a real heavyweight to take the job. The ideal candidate would have been John Reid before he took his post at Celtic.

A Westminster veteran, a Scot, a fiery fixer and an experienced MP. Alex Salmond is a petty, petulant and downright arrogant child but because of this he wipes the floor with these Labour nobodies. A heavyweight is what is needed for Labour in Scotland, sadly the Nats march on as no one is pointing out their many failings and they have free reign to point out their positives.

sKipper
28-08-2008, 08:05 PM
[/B]
What makes you think that like? :confused:

Because he is very aggressive and confrontational, qualities women generally steer clear of in politics.

sKipper
28-08-2008, 08:06 PM
Labour in Scotland need to stop pi55ing around with these glorified toon cooncillor nobodies and go all out to tempt a real heavyweight to take the job. The ideal candidate would have been John Reid before he took his post at Celtic.

A Westminster veteran, a Scot, a fiery fixer and an experienced MP. Alex Salmond is a petty, petulant and downright arrogant child but because of this he wipes the floor with these Labour nobodies. A heavyweight is what is needed for Labour in Scotland, sadly the Nats march on as no one is pointing out their many failings and they have free reign to point out their positives.

There are very few failings to be pointed out, otherwise they would have been.

Besides, Labour don't have any heavyweights anymore. Salmond outclasses anything they have.

28-08-2008, 08:18 PM
Because he is very aggressive and confrontational, qualities women generally steer clear of in politics.

There speaks the voice of an authoritative psephologist:greengrin

28-08-2008, 09:16 PM

Besides, Labour don't have any heavyweights anymore. Salmond outclasses anything they have.

Yes they do. That plook who plays Speaker must weigh round about 25 stone.

28-08-2008, 09:33 PM
Yes they do. That plook who plays Speaker must weigh round about 25 stone.

Which is some size of a plook....actually dinnae get me started on that freeloading git.

29-08-2008, 06:26 AM
There speaks the voice of an authoritative psephologist:greengrin:greengrin

29-08-2008, 10:46 AM

Simply not true there are many SNP failings, they have managed to bury their budget shortfall very quietly thanks to the incompetence of the opposition in Scotland. Salmond has absolutely zero in the class department, every success of a Scot is hijacked by him for his own aims, Chris Hoys success being the most obvious. I am very open on the subject of independence but with Salmond et al in charge i am currently firmly in the Unionist camp.

Tomsk
03-09-2008, 03:59 PM

Reid might get in a few telling blows to Salmond in Parliament and on the talk shows but I think he would struggle to carry the electorate with him. He is a charmless man at the best of times and moreover one deeply stained with the dye of Westminster government. He would find that very hard to wipe off, and you can be sure Salmond would throw buckets at him at every turn.

Labour is struggling to position itself in post-devolution Scotland. The party cannot dress itself up as unconditionally pro-devolution because its Westminster masters won't let them for the wider damage it would do to the party's interests in the UK. So, it can't help making itself looking like a UK party. It's messages as a result are confused, it's leadership disarmed.

Personally, I feel their performance while in government was nothing short of pathetic. And I trust they will be unelectable for a long time to come.

08-09-2008, 05:57 PM
I've never voted for Labour in my life but lo and behold I received a Ballot Paper for the Labour leadership contest.

I presume that the Trade union that I am a member of makes some sort of financial contribution towards the Labour party and this allows the individual union members to vote in the election.

It seems a bizarre way of conducting an election where non Labour Voters/Party Members are allowed a vote in their leadership contest.

08-09-2008, 06:28 PM

Met him at my last work....he was in a photoshoot for a new phoneline that was launched for the Elderly....looked like he was sent there as his face was tripping him most of the day...

Arrogant nobody who comes across as a muppet on telly....

Jim Henson would be proud :agree::agree:

08-09-2008, 06:48 PM

Even in a bath of beans? :wink:

09-09-2008, 11:43 AM
I've never voted for Labour in my life but lo and behold I received a Ballot Paper for the Labour leadership contest.

I presume that the Trade union that I am a member of makes some sort of financial contribution towards the Labour party and this allows the individual union members to vote in the election.

It seems a bizarre way of conducting an election where non Labour Voters/Party Members are allowed a vote in their leadership contest.

"Bizarre" is a fair way to describe any electoral process created by the Labour Party.

(I believe their preferred way of running an election is to decide what the result should be, and then fix the vote to achieve that result. "Vote early, vote often" is the phrase, I think. It only applies to trusted Labour insiders, though.)

Met him at my last work....he was in a photoshoot for a new phoneline that was launched for the Elderly....looked like he was sent there as his face was tripping him most of the day...

Jim Henson would be proud :agree::agree:

New Corrie
09-09-2008, 11:59 AM
Short answer - NO!

He has little or no sense of humour, and thinks he's a lot cleverer than he actually is. He also fancies himself as a political Rottweiler. I think he'll be rapidly disabused of that delusion if he wins. Nicola Sturgeon has made him look really stupid on more than one occasion (not that that's very difficult), and Alec Salmond will eat him alive.

I can't make up my mind whether I'd rather have him or that plook Gray from East Lothian winning the contest. They're a bit like a matching pair of wally dugs.

And like anyone in the SNP has! Unless Macaskill finds emptying our prisons funny. I'm sure the stereotypical angry, bitter little Scot...Ms Sturgeon is a load of laughs, and as for the fat Yam (big chief Jimmy Wig)...he's too smug to be funny.

09-09-2008, 06:27 PM
And like anyone in the SNP has! Unless Macaskill finds emptying our prisons funny. I'm sure the stereotypical angry, bitter little Scot...Ms Sturgeon is a load of laughs, and as for the fat Yam (big chief Jimmy Wig)...he's too smug to be funny.Great descriptions! :hilarious

sKipper
09-09-2008, 08:01 PM
And like anyone in the SNP has! Unless Macaskill finds emptying our prisons funny. I'm sure the stereotypical angry, bitter little Scot...Ms Sturgeon is a load of laughs, and as for the fat Yam (big chief Jimmy Wig)...he's too smug to be funny.

I would like to reply in kind here with a few Tories, but I can't think of any :cool2:

sKipper
09-09-2008, 08:02 PM

Vote for the huddy :devil:

Actually any would do. :greengrin

11-09-2008, 12:35 PM

I think you'll find that all of the three people you mention address their political opponents with a great deal more courtesy than Kerr manages to do.

Or even you yourself....

Is this a requirement for Labour Party membership? :cool2:

New Corrie
11-09-2008, 01:33 PM
I think you'll find that all of the three people you mention address their political opponents with a great deal more courtesy than Kerr manages to do.

Or even you yourself....

Is this a requirement for Labour Party membership? :cool2:

It was sense of humour (or lack of it) I was referring to, and not courtesy. I've seen all these Nat types on the telly and all I can see is anger and bitterness. The thought of being stuck in your local with them fills one with dread. If the Juke Box was to loud they would still somehow manage to blame the English for it.

Scotsman
11-09-2008, 03:38 PM
It was sense of humour (or lack of it) I was referring to, and not courtesy. I've seen all these Nat types on the telly and all I can see is anger and bitterness. The thought of being stuck in your local with them fills one with dread. If the Juke Box was to loud they would still somehow manage to blame the English for it.

Corrie Greens - What`s a Nat Type?

I fear that your dislike of nationalism has made you sound just a little silly.

I`m one of the Nat types, I`m an SNP councillor, have many friends within other political parties and many English friends

In our local Branch, 25% of our membership are English- makes your argument sound just a little daft.

So before you lecture on courtesy, take a step back and have a wee think on what your saying

11-09-2008, 05:09 PM
Most of my chats with our brothers over the border would confirm that your average Englishman is more in favour of Scottish independence than your average be-cringed Scot is!

More's the pity!

New Corrie
11-09-2008, 05:17 PM
Corrie Greens - What`s a Nat Type?

I fear that your dislike of nationalism has made you sound just a little silly.

I`m one of the Nat types, I`m an SNP councillor, have many friends within other political parties and many English friends

In our local Branch, 25% of our membership are English- makes your argument sound just a little daft.

So before you lecture on courtesy, take a step back and have a wee think on what your saying

Do I sound as silly as SNP politicians trying to defend squandering 100's of thousands of pounds on rebranding exercises. I don't think so, or Macaskill trying to defend emptying our prisons and putting law abiding citizens at risk, and I most certainly don't sound as silly as Mr Salmond after he stated that the Lib Dems don't count and had no chance of winning the Dunfermline & Mid Fife by election.

If you want to hear people sounding silly, keep moving in the same SNP circles.

Scotsman
12-09-2008, 06:56 AM
Do I sound as silly as SNP politicians trying to defend squandering 100's of thousands of pounds on rebranding exercises. I don't think so, or Macaskill trying to defend emptying our prisons and putting law abiding citizens at risk, and I most certainly don't sound as silly as Mr Salmond after he stated that the Lib Dems don't count and had no chance of winning the Dunfermline & Mid Fife by election.

If you want to here people sounding silly, keep moving in the same SNP circles.

Bitter man? - Corrie Greens

Is that why this SNP Government is the most popular Scottish government
and is riding high in the polls

The vast number of Scots supporting the party shows this change of attitude

Since the SNP came into power there has been a sea-change in Scottish Politics.

Unionists are finding that hard to take

13-09-2008, 12:17 PM

Oh dear, oh dear, oh dear.

That's not the telly you're looking at, corrie, it's a mirror.

To gte back to the theme of the thread, Andy Kerr habitually refers to the First Minister as "Salmond" - which is a gross breach of political good manners, and something you won't hear from any of the SNP people you've attacked. Andy Kerr's TV manner is boorish and wooden, and those of us who have had the privilege of meeting him have testified to his lack of a sense of humour and his graceless arrogance in the conduct of his duties.

I find it hard to square your description of Nicola Sturgeon as "the stereotypical angry, bitter little Scot" with the lassie herself. She unfailingly comes over as quiet-spoken, courteous, and rational - all of which I would commend to your attention. (Any of all of these qualities would vastly improve your own contribution to this debate.) The only anger or bitterness around is what's coming over in your posts.

I think I'd quite enjoy an evening in the Pub with Alec and Nicola and Kenny, actually. Maybe invite Annabelle along as well. :greengrin

If you want to here people sounding silly, keep moving in the same SNP circles.

Don't have to, mate - you're doing a first-rate job of sounding silly right here, right now, yourself. :devil:

13-09-2008, 08:10 PM
And the winner is.........................

Iain Gray (http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/scotland/7614081.stm)

13-09-2008, 09:57 PM

A Hibby, I believe. Now, it would obviously be wrong to trivialise things, BUT that leaves us with a straight Hearts v Hibs contest......:dunno:

Calvin
13-09-2008, 10:06 PM
Gray is really a numpty. Afraid to talk of his past completely and comes out in a sweat whenever he has to speak publically.

Up the SNP!

sKipper
14-09-2008, 05:08 PM
A Hibby, I believe. Now, it would obviously be wrong to trivialise things, BUT that leaves us with a straight Hearts v Hibs contest......:dunno:

Come on the Yam !:greengrin

14-09-2008, 10:00 PM
Come on the Yam !:greengrin

And if it comes purely down to football, with 400,000,000,000,000,000,000,000,000 yams independence is a stick-on:greengrin:thumbsup:

NYHibby
15-09-2008, 03:03 AM
And if it comes purely down to football, with 400,000,000,000,000,000,000,000,000 yams independence is a stick-on:greengrin:thumbsup:

If it came down to football, Andy Kerr has his own football stadium.
http://www.gocolgateraiders.com/Sports/gen/2005/kerr.asp

In the last picture, you can see part of the apartment I lived in after I left Edinburgh.

15-09-2008, 07:41 PM

I see he has the same gift for public speaking Mr Blobby had... :devil:

And who the fizz is Johann Lamont? :confused:

16-09-2008, 11:09 AM
I see he has the same gift for public speaking Mr Blobby had... :devil:

And who the fizz is Johann Lamont? :confused:

I thought it was a bloke at first....but I see it's actually "Joanne" in terms of pronunciation.

16-09-2008, 12:39 PM
I thought it was a bloke at first....but I see it's actually "Joanne" in terms of pronunciation.

Well, whoever she is, she cannae be as big a plook as Gray is. :cool2:

18-09-2008, 07:45 PM
Ian Gray has a high responsibility to the people of Scotland. Every parliament needs a decent opposition, I hope he is up to the task. Labour needs to reconnect again and introduce more left wing polices such as nationalization of the utilities and railways. Even Bush is nationalising bank and insurance companies.

Capitalism is dying we should help on its way