View Full Version : Man Bag

LustForLeith
15-08-2008, 02:08 PM
Whats folks opinions on these? Thinking of getting one in New York later in the year. My girlfriend thinks I shouldn't, got a feeling my parents will disown me and I won't be able to walk through Leith while 'wearing' it.

Should I get one?

15-08-2008, 02:18 PM
Whats folks opinions on these? Thinking of getting one in New York later in the year. My girlfriend thinks I shouldn't, got a feeling my parents will disown me and I won't be able to walk through Leith while 'wearing' it.

Should I get one?

You've got a girlfriend so obvious comment not applicable. Not a Scottish man thing in my mind, more for your French/Spanish/Italians but fashion has never been my strong point :greengrin

http://observer.guardian.co.uk/woman/story/0,,1726368,00.html

15-08-2008, 02:49 PM
Should I get one?

Only if you want ripped to bits by everyone next time yer oot :greengrin

I'd have had the Yeti down as more of a man bag man myself............

15-08-2008, 03:28 PM
If it's good enough for Jack Bauer, it's good enough for me! :greengrin

PiemanP
15-08-2008, 03:50 PM
:guesswho::dancer:

Should I get one?

15-08-2008, 04:20 PM

Should I get one?

What's wrong wi yer pockets FFS.:confused: Is it a fashion item? You'll be wanting a poodle or a wee Yorkie next.

LustForLeith
15-08-2008, 04:31 PM
Only if you want ripped to bits by everyone next time yer oot :greengrin

I'd have had the Yeti down as more of a man bag man myself............

Was thinking about that. Turning up in the Four In Hand, ordering a drink at the bar and turning to see everyones mouths wide open..!

vein
15-08-2008, 06:29 PM
Should I get one?

Serious question mate, what would you actually carry in it that you cant carry in your pockets?

LustForLeith
15-08-2008, 06:38 PM
Serious question mate, what would you actually carry in it that you cant carry in your pockets?

...no sure! Good question. What do women keep in theres?

vein
15-08-2008, 06:48 PM
...no sure! Good question. What do women keep in theres?

Erm, brushes, make-up, mace, hairspray, perfume and possibly other things but this is a family board :wink:

NYHibby
16-08-2008, 12:42 AM
Should I get one?

No. My roommate at uni had one for awhile. It was so embarrassing to be seen with him and his bag. This was in New York so these bags are not even cool there.

16-08-2008, 12:48 AM
Was thinking about that. Turning up in the Four In Hand, ordering a drink at the bar and turning to see everyones mouths wide open..!

Is it that much of a shock you buying drink like :greengrin

or is that a ploy so nobody notices your bag :wink:

scotty1875
16-08-2008, 07:48 AM
What's wrong wi yer pockets FFS.:confused: Is it a fashion item? You'll be wanting a poodle or a wee Yorkie next.

Made me laugh - class - :greengrin

16-08-2008, 07:56 AM

Should I get one?

mate, think man bags are more george street than citrus club :wink:

and shug yes i am a proud owner of a man bag, need it to carry my pieces to work :greengrin

vein
16-08-2008, 08:04 AM
mate, think man bags are more george street than citrus club :wink:

and shug yes i am a proud owner of a man bag, need it to carry my pieces to work :greengrin

Whats wrong with a Tesco bag like??:confused::confused::wink:

16-08-2008, 08:06 AM

i've got an image to protect :greengrin

16-08-2008, 08:49 AM

Not strong enough to cope with all the Mars bars he takes to work :dunno:

16-08-2008, 11:21 AM
Good grief. Man bags:bitchy:

I read something about tights for men too . Not the warm one's for outdoor work :bitchy:

Am i the only real man left ?:greengrin

16-08-2008, 09:24 PM
I have a bag but I dunno if it qualifies as a man bag :dunno:

Its a smallish, black, timberland, satchel style, bag and I carry it about with me nearly every day.............and for the record I have things like my wallet, blackberry, keys, glasses and ipod that probably wouldn't all fit in my pockets and would irritate the s**t out of me if I had to try. I also carry a book for reading on the train and my lunch for the days I go to work in it too.

Anybody who ridicules manbags probably isn't comfortable enough with themselves to appreciate how handy they are and/or never tried one...........'Mon the manbaggers :greengrin

16-08-2008, 09:27 PM
:guesswho::dancer:
exactly

LustForLeith
16-08-2008, 09:44 PM
Was thinking when its hot and I don't have a top with pockets I have a wallet, i pod, phoneand keys with money in my jean pockets. Becasue I don't ike anyithgn in the back pockets (uncomfy when I sit down) I could do with something to carry them in. Sometimes this gathering in the pocket area results in too much aggrigation against the hee haws...

Man bag is sounding like a good idea again!

Edinburghlass
17-08-2008, 06:20 AM
Man bag on a holiday is the right idea - digital camera, ipod, guide book, etc, etc. Makes sense to me.

I bought my other half a LV one for his birthday (in Hong Kong so it's probably a Louisa Vitton rather than a Louis Vuitton) and he seems quite chuffed with it.................well, until he saw Peter Andre pictured wearing exactly the same one. :bitchy:

17-08-2008, 09:08 AM
FFS man NO :brickwall

17-08-2008, 09:18 AM
Man bag on a holiday is the right idea - digital camera, ipod, guide book, etc, etc. Makes sense to me.

I bought my other half a LV one for his birthday (in Hong Kong so it's probably a Louisa Vitton rather than a Louis Vuitton) and he seems quite chuffed with it.................well, until he saw Peter Andre pictured wearing exactly the same one. :bitchy:

thats what bum bags are for :agree:

always annoys me there's no pockets on my speedo's

Tazio
17-08-2008, 09:43 AM

If a man bag makes you look bad then a bum bag (fanny pack) makes you look like an utter trumpet. Nowt wrong with a bag for men. You just have to be careful in your selection process. I'd rather have a bag than have my pockets stuffed with everything. It ruins the lines of decent clothes.

17-08-2008, 10:36 AM

:shocked:

Thanks for the horrible mental picture that's now in ma head of the Yeti in speedos.

17-08-2008, 04:33 PM

Bum Bags :grr:

Jeezo , you will be telling us all you keep your mobile in a belt holder and walk about with the bluetooth thing in your lug :bitchy:

Man bags ! Pah. The only man bags you should have should be made from elbow skin:greengrin

17-08-2008, 05:20 PM
A man's gotto do what a man's gotto do ------ but please gonna no dae that!

capitals_finest
19-08-2008, 12:21 PM
Man bags are for men with manginas.:bitchy:

I carry my phone/money/wallet/keys in a gun sling. :cb:agree:

20-08-2008, 06:38 AM
Man bags, just say NO :no way: