View Full Version : PM Miliband?

30-07-2008, 12:43 PM
http://www.guardian.co.uk/politics/2008/jul/29/davidmiliband.gordonbrown

An interesting development. Might this be the start of something which could see the end of the Brown year and a snap General Election?

Discuss.:nerd::nerd:

30-07-2008, 01:00 PM
Interesting. I can never make my mind up about this guy - whether he's a smarmy **** or a straight-talker with that "freshfacedness" that we seem to hear so much about now.

The one thing I'm always left thinking is that I've just heard/seen the new Tony Blair.....take that any way you want!! :greengrin

LiverpoolHibs
30-07-2008, 01:47 PM
I wonder what the late Ralph Miliband would make of his arch-Blairite son.

30-07-2008, 01:50 PM
http://www.guardian.co.uk/politics/2008/jul/29/davidmiliband.gordonbrown

An interesting development. Might this be the start of something which could see the end of the Brown year and a snap General Election?

Discuss.:nerd::nerd:

Bring him on.

30-07-2008, 03:13 PM
has anyone ever saw tory bliar and miliband in the same room at the same time :dunno:

hibsdaft
30-07-2008, 03:42 PM
no seems to be denying this interpretation of the column in fairly strong terms :dunno:

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/uk_politics/7532691.stm

30-07-2008, 04:01 PM
no seems to be denying this interpretation of the column in fairly strong terms :dunno:

I saw that. :hmmm:

From reading it though, what other interpretation can you actually come up with?

30-07-2008, 04:46 PM

That's how you start a leadership challenge, mate.

One of your pals leaks the story to the press.

The press publishes it as a "we understand that..." sort of story - not reporting an actual challenge, just the rumour of a challenge.

Then when you're asked for your reaction, you tell the press that there's nothing farther from your thoughts than to try to unseat your esteemed and respected friend and leader Mr B.

And then you sit back and wait for the reaction from the rest of the party.

If that reaction's positive, you go ahead.

If it's negative - no damage.

Millipede wants the job all right - he's just testing the water.

RZA
30-07-2008, 04:48 PM
The sooner Labour realise that the people want a fundamental change, not just a new coat of paint on the same decrepid structure, the better.

30-07-2008, 04:54 PM

The press publishes it as a "we understand that..." sort of story - not reporting an actual challenge, just the rumour of a challenge.

Then when you're asked for your reaction, you tell the press that there's nothing farther from your thoughts than to try to unseat your esteemed and respected friend and leader Mr B.

An interesting angle.

It would make sense. Perhaps he's the stalking horse.

Have you ever read Sun Tzu's Art of War??

The Venerable Sun would be nodding in approval in his grave just now.

Hopefully, no-one above ground will get too freaked out by the distant, muffled knocking sound from the cemetery.

hibsdaft
30-07-2008, 05:18 PM

i see what youre saying but isn't he leaving himself wide open to criticism from the tories that he's another bottler/ diverer and that he's not being clear etc. i suppose they don't pick the next labour leader mind you

LiverpoolHibs
30-07-2008, 05:44 PM

He'd be a fool to take/go for it prior to the election.

hibsdaft
30-07-2008, 06:35 PM
on the other hand, i could see him getting the leadership and calling a snap election on his own terms. yes he'd lose, but not with the landslide that is currently on the cards if he lets Brown lead until the 2010 election... and which he will find himself picking up the pieces from after anyway

LiverpoolHibs
30-07-2008, 07:04 PM
on the other hand, i could see him getting the leadership and calling a snap election on his own terms. yes he'd lose, but not with the landslide that is currently on the cards if he lets Brown lead until the 2010 election... and which he will find himself picking up the pieces from after anyway

But he'd be as tarnished as Brown is now and would never lead succesfully past the election.

30-07-2008, 07:19 PM
I read an interesting article last week about how Labour should go about getting rid of Brown - the journo suggested using Jack Straw as a stop gap leader just now (the next election's lost anyway) then get Milliband in to be the leader of the opposition with no election losses to his name.

Iain MacWhirter (http://http://www.sundayherald.com/oped/opinion/display.var.2410396.0.step_forward_brutus_and_end_ this_tragedy.php)

30-07-2008, 11:25 PM
Miliband is not the answer to Labours problems. What is required is more polices that are based on looking after the interest of the working class. Its not a change of personality that required its a change of policy. If Labour elect Cathy Jamieson as leader in Scotland we will see the Labour party return to its roots and lead the way for the UK parliament to follow

hibsdaft
31-07-2008, 12:35 AM
But he'd be as tarnished as Brown is now and would never lead succesfully past the election.

perhaps, but he would immediately differentiate himself from Brown by being 'decisive', 'bold' etc etc all that **** that the media children love. that would create a bounce imo and he may be able to rally a respectable labour vote in a months election campaigning. labour would not blame the election loss on him imo although some ousted MP's would be raging at losing 2 years salary :greengrin

31-07-2008, 07:55 AM
Miliband is not the answer to Labours problems. What is required is more polices that are based on looking after the interest of the working class. Its not a change of personality that required its a change of policy. If Labour elect Cathy Jamieson as leader in Scotland we will see the Labour party return to its roots and lead the way for the UK parliament to follow

Who, in your view, constitute the working class in 21st century Britain?

31-07-2008, 12:34 PM

You are surely having a laugh, Cathy Jamieson. She is so far out of her depth it is embarressing. Her handling of the Reliance prisoner escapes was appalling and she struggles with the basics of the language.

31-07-2008, 12:45 PM
You are surely having a laugh, Cathy Jamieson. She is so far out of her depth it is embarressing. Her handling of the Reliance prisoner escapes was appalling and she struggles with the basics of the language.

She has also deputised over the past 8 years as successive Labour leaders messed up and defrauded themselves out of office.

Hardly a great track record.

Iain Gray - give me a break.

Andy Kerr -would be interesting, but I think his temper and attitude would count against him.

Any others??

31-07-2008, 08:52 PM

Cathy Jamieson...oh dear.

What do you mean 'back to it's roots'? Run by the trade unions and their policy desires?

hibsdaft
31-07-2008, 10:18 PM
labour used to have close to half a million members, no longer.

their constituency parties are ignored by head office now, candidates are forced through from above. where you had once dennis cannavan, widely respected by the people of Falkirk, New Labour would now rather force some no-mark careerist yes-man on the town, no democracy in that.

you used to get mp's who were part of the community, drank in the pubs or what have you. even as recently as mo mowlam you had decent mp's who people could relate to and weren't just political robots.

now all that are left are the professional politicians, smarmy ******s like douglas alexander who are detached from real life and the rest of society, spending their lives poncing around london well away from the terrible burden of their constiuencies in their wine bars and whathaveyou, gossiping plotting and bitching about themselves. :soapbox:

31-07-2008, 10:45 PM
labour used to have close to half a million members, no longer.

their constituency parties are ignored by head office now, candidates are forced through from above. where you had once dennis cannavan, widely respected by the people of Falkirk, New Labour would now rather force some no-mark careerist yes-man on the town, no democracy in that.

you used to get mp's who were part of the community, drank in the pubs or what have you. even as recently as mo mowlam you had decent mp's who people could relate to and weren't just political robots.

now all that are left are the professional politicians, smarmy ******s like douglas alexander who are detached from real life and the rest of society, spending their lives poncing around london well away from the terrible burden of their constiuencies in their wine bars and whathaveyou, gossiping plotting and bitching about themselves. :soapbox:

excellent post. But that is why it is important for ordinary people to get involved and take back the party from these parasites

31-07-2008, 10:48 PM
Cathy Jamieson...oh dear.

What do you mean 'back to it's roots'? Run by the trade unions and their policy desires?

What is the problem if a politician is working to same agenda as trade unions? The trade unions formed the Labour party to represent there interests so it should not be wrong for Trade unions to exert pressure on Labour Mps and Msp's to deliver their agenda

31-07-2008, 10:53 PM
She has also deputised over the past 8 years as successive Labour leaders messed up and defrauded themselves out of office.

Hardly a great track record.

Iain Gray - give me a break.

Andy Kerr -would be interesting, but I think his temper and attitude would count against him.

Any others??

They are the only 3 likely to get the necessary nominations. We could have the scenario of Hibs (Ian Gray) v Hearts (wee Eck) every week at Fm's question time.

I will be supporting Cathy Jamieson in the two votes I have, 1 in the CLP election and 1 in the union vote. She has her flaws but she can connect with ordinary people. She may not be as polished as Wee Eck but she is the best chance Labour have in Scotland of taking the party back to its grassroots

les83
01-08-2008, 12:54 AM
has anyone ever saw tory bliar and miliband in the same room at the same time :dunno:

my thoughts exactly, same brand of smarmy bawbag. When will the labour party go back to being the labour party?? :brickwall:

01-08-2008, 05:25 PM
Telegraph poll today says that the only leading figure who would improve Labour's fortunes significantly is A.C.L. Blair.

02-08-2008, 12:30 PM
They are the only 3 likely to get the necessary nominations. We could have the scenario of Hibs (Ian Gray) v Hearts (wee Eck) every week at Fm's question time.

I will be supporting Cathy Jamieson in the two votes I have, 1 in the CLP election and 1 in the union vote. She has her flaws but she can connect with ordinary people. She may not be as polished as Wee Eck but she is the best chance Labour have in Scotland of taking the party back to its grassroots

Eck would eat Gray alive, mate. Gray's an embarrassment - remember the interview he gave the night Wee Wendy made her "bring it on" speech? he spoke for three minutes without once looking straight at the camera. Oh, please, please!

BTW - how come YOU have TWO votes in this election? TWO VOTES for ONE CANDIDATE? Does everyone have two votes, or are some of you more equal than others? :cool2:

03-08-2008, 06:21 PM
Eck would eat Gray alive, mate. Gray's an embarrassment - remember the interview he gave the night Wee Wendy made her "bring it on" speech? he spoke for three minutes without once looking straight at the camera. Oh, please, please!

BTW - how come YOU have TWO votes in this election? TWO VOTES for ONE CANDIDATE? Does everyone have two votes, or are some of you more equal than others? :cool2:

I have two votes because I am a party member, 1 vote in constituency vote and 1 in union section. The electoral college has 3 sections --

1. mp's, msp's and mep's
2. party members
3. trade union
Hope that helps you understand in the one member one vote situation :greengrin

Also agree wee Eck is a better operator than Gray, probably better than Jamieson and Kerr too but its independence I disagree with a suck Wee Eck is not for me.

04-08-2008, 02:00 PM
I have two votes because I am a party member, 1 vote in constituency vote and 1 in union section. The electoral college has 3 sections --

1. mp's, msp's and mep's
2. party members
3. trade union
Hope that helps you understand in the one member one vote situation :greengrin

Also agree wee Eck is a better operator than Gray, probably better than Jamieson and Kerr too but its independence I disagree with a suck Wee Eck is not for me.

So in the Scottish Labour Doublespeak/Doublethink One Man One Vote System, "one man" could actually have THREE VOTES?

Who thought that up - Joe Stalin? :cool2:

04-08-2008, 03:12 PM
So in the Scottish Labour Doublespeak/Doublethink One Man One Vote System, "one man" could actually have THREE VOTES?

It's not too bad, I doubt many Labour MPs or MEPs will be trade unionists nowadays.

04-08-2008, 05:20 PM
It's not too bad, I doubt many Labour MPs or MEPs will be trade unionists nowadays.

I cannae think of a Labour MP, MSP or MEP you could call a SOCIALIST these days. :devil:

04-08-2008, 07:04 PM

Doddie, every time something is explained to you always try and have ago back, why?

The voting system is fairly straight forward. The electoral college has 3 equal shares its is done under the STV so if you are in all 3 you vote in all 3. Whats the problem.
As for you Wee Joe is just misunderstood:wink:

You are so bitter against the SLP that you can't allow yourself one decent statement about them. It is a sad day for Scotland when people in the SNP would rather side with the Tories than Labour. If you do get independence where will your politics be?

06-08-2008, 04:09 PM
Doddie, every time something is explained to you always try and have ago back, why?

The voting system is fairly straight forward. The electoral college has 3 equal shares its is done under the STV so if you are in all 3 you vote in all 3. Whats the problem.

You are so bitter against the SLP that you can't allow yourself one decent statement about them. It is a sad day for Scotland when people in the SNP would rather side with the Tories than Labour. If you do get independence where will your politics be?

Whose fault is that New Labour and the Tories are now indistinguishable?

06-08-2008, 04:43 PM

But you're talking about one man, one vote. But some men (and women) have two or three votes, depending on whether they're union members, party members, or elected representatives.

If it's an electoral college that allows union members a major say in decision-making (maybe even a decisive one), why not say so? Why the nonsense about one man one vote?

And perhaps you should ask yourself why someone who was a socialist at University and for a good few years after has become so disillusioned with your party? Could it be that it has something to do with that party's performance and record over the past 30 years?

WHEN independence comes, btw, I'll be where I am now - left of centre by a good way. Which puts me WELL to the left of the Labour Party.

And 'misunderstanding' wee Joe could get you a twenty-five in the Gulag in the old days. Or more likely nine grams in the back of the neck.

But that didn't worry the fellow-travellers, did it?

Whose fault is that New Labour and the Tories are now indistinguishable?

That's probably Eck's fault as well. :wink:

da-robster
09-08-2008, 11:36 AM
Politicical parties have no representation nowadays it's like pot and kettle.

To see this you only have to look at the leaders Brown is the boring unimanigitive and uninspiring mess the labour party has become.
Cameron is the man of no substance who is only high in the polls because of the mess of labour,and is only decent at calling on labours faults yet has no solutions of his own.
And Nick Clegg is undistinctive and unnoticeable and like the Lib dems sits on the fence having said that he's probaly still the best party for me.

At the moment politics in europe and America is dieing on it's feet Mccain and Obamas policies are identical and as of currently apart from holland and Scandanavian countries there are only 3 countries with an all left government Spain ,portugal and the uk. Now worried about the power countries in europe and in north america are losing have made traditionlists gain votes and soon we will have a west trying to stop the inevitable decline of there influence. Its a dark day for politics.

13-08-2008, 01:36 PM
Anybody see Milliband being interviewed on the Georgia crisis ahead of today's meeting? He sounded like he was sitting a Geography test and was keen to make mention of as many Georgian towns and cities as possible. Came across very poorly IMO.

Wasn't sure before but I now think this guy is year's away from potentially being effective in a leadership role......of party or country.

LiverpoolHibs
13-08-2008, 02:08 PM
Anybody see Milliband being interviewed on the Georgia crisis ahead of today's meeting? He sounded like he was sitting a Geography test and was keen to make mention of as many Georgian towns and cities as possible. Came across very poorly IMO.

Wasn't sure before but I now think this guy is year's away from potentially being effective in a leadership role......of party or country.

I think he realises he hasn't got a leg to stand on with any moral or legal admonishment of either side and so ends up with the usual trite, asinine rubbish.

14-08-2008, 05:57 PM

I think he realises he hasn't got a leg to stand on with any moral or legal admonishment of either side and so ends up with the usual trite, asinine rubbish.

Whilst its hard to stomach any politician who voted for the war in Iraq lecturing our countries over invading others he is RIGHT on this occasion to raise objections to the stance Russia has taken. Just as You and me and millions of other marched and voiced our disapproval of the Iraqi invasion.

Without raising objections the likelihood was that Russia would have toppled the democratic government of Georgia.