View Full Version : Carol Has Countdown to Zero

Chez
26-07-2008, 06:43 PM
Carol Vorderman's days with the show are now at an end

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/entertainment/7527091.stm

26-07-2008, 06:54 PM
i stopped liking her when she started doing the adverts years ago encouraging people to borrow money :bitchy: http://www.moneysavingexpert.com/loans/1146661969,42304

and http://www.thisismoney.co.uk/credit-and-loans/article.html?in_article_id=408784&in_page_id=9

i just thought it was wrong advising people that are already in financial trouble to "borrow from peter...to pay paul"

bet she made a flippin mint tae :bitchy:

Chez
26-07-2008, 07:01 PM
i stopped liking her when she started doing the adverts years ago encouraging people to borrow money :bitchy: http://www.moneysavingexpert.com/loans/1146661969,42304

and http://www.thisismoney.co.uk/credit-and-loans/article.html?in_article_id=408784&in_page_id=9

i just thought it was wrong advising people that are already in financial trouble to "borrow from peter...to pay paul"

:agree: She definitely did and is now crying wolf since Channel 4 have to decrease her salary by 10% :bitchy:

26-07-2008, 09:07 PM
:agree: She definitely did and is now crying wolf since Channel 4 have to decrease her salary by 10% :bitchy:

:bitchy:No, They wanted to reduce it TO 10%. What would you do if your boss offered that??? Tel them to ram it maybe?

26-07-2008, 09:15 PM

Deary me. If someone is stupid enough to go for a loan based on the fact that Carol Vorderman is in the advert then they deserve everything they get.

"She's good with figures":rolleyes:

Chuckie
26-07-2008, 10:28 PM
Boy and man I've fantasised over that woman..

She will be missed.. :boo hoo:

26-07-2008, 10:41 PM
Deary me. If someone is stupid enough to go for a loan based on the fact that Carol Vorderman is in the advert then they deserve everything they get.

"She's good with figures":rolleyes:

bit unfair that pd, theres people out there totaly desperate and when they see a nice kind face advertising loans then thats all the encouragement they need to apply, it's debatable whether you can call those people stupid, some will see a loan as the only way out :agree:

i concur :drool:

here's something to keep u going http://images.google.co.uk/images?hl=en&q=carol+vorderman&cr=countryUK%7CcountryGB&um=1&ie=UTF-8&sa=X&oi=image_result_group&resnum=1&ct=title

missing her awready :boo hoo:

26-07-2008, 10:43 PM
:agree: She definitely did and is now crying wolf since Channel 4 have to decrease her salary by 10% :bitchy:....

as pointed out above......it was a reduction TOO 10% :greengrin but i'm sure she will still manage to put food on the table :greengrin

Jay
26-07-2008, 10:48 PM
Never liked her. :grr:

26-07-2008, 10:53 PM
Never liked her. :grr:

it's only her consonants i like:agree:

Jay
26-07-2008, 10:56 PM
it's only her consonants i like:agree:

Aye her vowels are a pain in the erse :greengrin

26-07-2008, 11:09 PM
Aye her vowels are a pain in the erse :greengrin

a cure

3639 :whistle:

26-07-2008, 11:10 PM
bit unfair that pd, theres people out there totaly desperate and when they see a nice kind face advertising loans then thats all the encouragement they need to apply, it's debatable whether you can call those people stupid, some will see a loan as the only way out :agree:

Perhaps, but desperation doesn't make you take total leave of your brain. It does the opposite in my experience. If it's tens of thousands of pounds we're talking about here then FFS you do your research when you apply for a consolidation loan. You surely just don't pick one because there's a nice face telling you about their product.
However, these advertising people are very clever and have probably sold products to you without you even knowing it. It's amazing how they can get into the subconcious and by using Carol Vorderman they have probably persuaded quite a few people to chose their product...

...but "She's good with figures"? deary dear.:dizzy:

Jay
26-07-2008, 11:15 PM
a cure

3639 :whistle:

was thinking more of this

AllyF
27-07-2008, 11:05 AM

i concur :drool:

here's something to keep u going http://images.google.co.uk/images?hl=en&q=carol+vorderman&cr=countryUK%7CcountryGB&um=1&ie=UTF-8&sa=X&oi=image_result_group&resnum=1&ct=title

missing her awready :boo hoo:

Here's something for you pair (http://www.djmick.co.uk/celebritygallery/12/carvor/carol%20(6).jpg)

LiverpoolHibs
27-07-2008, 12:02 PM
I have never felt more indifferent about anything in my life.

27-07-2008, 02:45 PM
I have never felt more indifferent about anything in my life.Same, she was only on a million a year! Diddums! :bitchy:

Bohemian_Hibee
29-07-2008, 09:49 AM
I was watching Carol Vorderman on Countdown the other day and I got aroused !

7 letters is a good score isn't it!

McSwanky
29-07-2008, 10:09 AM
I was watching Carol Vorderman on Countdown the other day and I got aroused !

7 letters is a good score isn't it!

Good riddance to her and her dodgy loan-peddling moral-free attitude I say. Although I would imagine we'll still see plenty of her during the ad breaks. The bitch.

A 90% pay cut seems scandalous until you hear what she's been raking in for the past 20 odd years. The bitch.

I don't like her. The bitch.

29-07-2008, 12:09 PM
I feel the same about ALL these vastly overpaid ‘celebrities’. £1,000,000 a year for doing what? A co-host on a 2 bit programme hardly anyone watches!!

Hundreds of thousands for folk who read, don’t write, edit or anything else, but read the news and a knighthood when they retire, or those who act out other folks stories but when they don’t have a script can hardly string a couple of words together.

Millions for signing ‘stars’ after 1 or two albums! Who wouldn’t get a second song at Tamson's karaoke (every Friday folks :party::singing:).

Making a celebrity living from being famous for being famous but never actually having been famous, or for being the ******** offspring of someone who was famous a long time ago!

Drugged up junky prima-donnas and p!ss head nomarks spreading a message to all and sundry that drugs are cool!

You and me are paying these mega riches to these people through our TV licence, through buying the products advertised on the telly and buying their over hyped records and DVDs, even just listening to their ***** on the radio.

They then swan about like some sort of demi-gods treating the rest of us like halfwit *****es while encouraging us to donate our ‘proper hard earned cash’ for their pet projects as they jet about the world from mansion to mansion or preaching about subjects they know f all about.

Aye, my heart bleeds for them.

And for all I admire JK Rowling and her creative juices I think her income of £150,000,000 last year is obscene.

Calvin
29-07-2008, 02:12 PM
And for all I admire JK Rowling and her creative juices I think her income of £150,000,000 last year is obscene.
On that point, who else are the profits from her books going to go to? It's different when it's a one man show.

At least she's very charitable, not like half of these multi-millionaires.

29-07-2008, 02:33 PM
On that point, who else are the profits from her books going to go to? It's different when it's a one man show.

At least she's very charitable, not like half of these multi-millionaires.

Make the books etc. cheaper!

Same with all the other stuff; films; DVDs; CDs; console games ...... They cost pennies to make and produce but pounds to buy – in fact they cost cents to make and dollars to buy but despite there being almost 2 dollars to the pound the price is nearly always the same in pounds and dollars!

Agreed, one of the reasons I admire her.

LiverpoolHibs
29-07-2008, 02:53 PM
I feel the same about ALL these vastly overpaid ‘celebrities’. £1,000,000 a year for doing what? A co-host on a 2 bit programme hardly anyone watches!!

Hundreds of thousands for folk who read, don’t write, edit or anything else, but read the news and a knighthood when they retire, or those who act out other folks stories but when they don’t have a script can hardly string a couple of words together.

Millions for signing ‘stars’ after 1 or two albums! Who wouldn’t get a second song at Tamson's karaoke (every Friday folks :party::singing:).

Making a celebrity living from being famous for being famous but never actually having been famous, or for being the ******** offspring of someone who was famous a long time ago!

Drugged up junky prima-donnas and p!ss head nomarks spreading a message to all and sundry that drugs are cool!

You and me are paying these mega riches to these people through our TV licence, through buying the products advertised on the telly and buying their over hyped records and DVDs, even just listening to their ***** on the radio.

They then swan about like some sort of demi-gods treating the rest of us like halfwit *****es while encouraging us to donate our ‘proper hard earned cash’ for their pet projects as they jet about the world from mansion to mansion or preaching about subjects they know f all about.

Aye, my heart bleeds for them.

I was with you up till then. :greengrin

29-07-2008, 02:56 PM
Good riddance, she was a patronising bint who was cruelly exposed as talentless when poor old Richard's countdown finished.

Only one person was bigger than countdown.

29-07-2008, 02:58 PM
I have never felt more indifferent about anything in my life.

I....aw what's the *****in point. :yawn:

FraserHFC
29-07-2008, 03:26 PM
Make the books etc. cheaper!

Same with all the other stuff; films; DVDs; CDs; console games ...... They cost pennies to make and produce but pounds to buy – in fact they cost cents to make and dollars to buy but despite there being almost 2 dollars to the pound the price is nearly always the same in pounds and dollars!

Agreed, one of the reasons I admire her.

In fairness to JK I don't think she sets the prices on the highlighted things

29-07-2008, 04:23 PM
In fairness to JK I don't think she sets the prices on the highlighted things

No your right I wasn't having a go at JK there - just everyone else :greengrin

Chez
29-07-2008, 11:11 PM

as pointed out above......it was a reduction TOO 10% :greengrin but i'm sure she will still manage to put food on the table :greengrin

Sorry folks, misread the article, even then what's 10% of a million quid annual salary - 100k - 5 times the amount a year that anyone on here gets I bet :greengrin