View Full Version : Kenny Ritchie

20-07-2008, 11:28 AM
Did he attack the old man?

Bearing in mind that the guy that done the attacking was had most of his face covered.....

I'd like to think that Ritchie wouldn't have done that.......but i'm just no sure anymore......

There's a line in the EEN yesterday....

"I didn't attack any old people and i certainly didn't kill any children either"....

Why you bringing that back up Kenny?????

Jay
20-07-2008, 12:01 PM

Bearing in mind that the guy that done the attacking was had most of his face covered.....

I'd like to think that Ritchie wouldn't have done that.......but i'm just no sure anymore......

"I didn't attack any old people and i certainly didn't kill any children either"....

Only a small handfull of people know the answer to that Gramo. I would hate think anybody would do that to an old man (or a youngster for that matter). As far as I can see Kenny Ritchie has major issues that need dealt with and who knows if he would or wouldn't. Whoever did it needs locked up for a very very long time.

20-07-2008, 05:15 PM
Whats happened likes ???

20-07-2008, 05:44 PM
He's just ****, Hearts **** at that!

20-07-2008, 05:50 PM
He's just ****, Hearts **** at that!

Whats he done though.

I know he was on death row etc, but whats the new thing that he's apparently done ?

Chez
20-07-2008, 06:06 PM
Whats happened likes ???

Whats he done though.

I know he was on death row etc, but whats the new thing that he's apparently done ?

He hasn't done anything - he's being questioned about an incident in Watson Crescent on Thursday night

http://edinburghnews.scotsman.com/topstories/Richey--denies--beating.4305639.jp

20-07-2008, 06:08 PM
Lets be careful here folks ....he was questioned, he aint been charged ..:wink:

20-07-2008, 09:51 PM
No idea if he's guilty or not but I think it's fair to say that he's a bit messed up psychologically as his response of, "If they try to take me in they had better bring machine guns because I ain't going in. They had better bring armed guards because I will f*** them up" shows. I don't think anyone could have expected anything else though after being locked away on Death Row in America for 21 years. He had his head shaved at one point in preparation for being put on the Electric Chair, I could not even begin to imagine what that kind of experience would do to you.

He needs some serious professional help from the authorities, I know that much.

22-07-2008, 12:09 AM
No idea if he's guilty or not but I think it's fair to say that he's a bit messed up psychologically as his response of, "If they try to take me in they had better bring machine guns because I ain't going in. They had better bring armed guards because I will f*** them up" shows. I don't think anyone could have expected anything else though after being locked away on Death Row in America for 21 years. He had his head shaved at one point in preparation for being put on the Electric Chair, I could not even begin to imagine what that kind of experience would do to you.

He needs some serious professional help from the authorities, I know that much.

Deffinitely. Imagine having your youth taken away from you for a crime you didn't commit and spending your life growing up in jail.

Did he get compensated for the mistake ?

rainman
22-07-2008, 02:26 AM
Deffinitely. Imagine having your youth taken away from you for a crime you didn't commit and spending your life growing up in jail.

I believe he was a yam before he went to America. No excuse!!!

Ants
22-07-2008, 05:58 AM

He did not get any compensation from the American justice system due to the outcome/way in which his verdict was reached.

22-07-2008, 09:40 AM

His conviction for causing the death of the little girl by setting fire to the house was only over turned after he pleaded no contest to charges of attempted involuntary manslaughter, child endangering, and breaking and entering.

He got off lightly IMO a deserves no sympathy what so ever. If you want to talk about having your youth taken away from you, maybe you should think about the wee girl who had her entire life taken away from her.

Jay
22-07-2008, 09:51 AM

How do you know he didn't commit the crime? He was never cleared of the act so could not be compensated.

22-07-2008, 10:15 AM
How do you know he didn't commit the crime? He was never cleared of the act so could not be compensated.

The authorities wouldn't admit that they were wrong. He accepted a lesser charge in order to be released. He may well have been guilty but the evidence that was presented was shown to be well dodgy and wouldn't have "stood up" today.

22-07-2008, 10:16 AM
An interesting story. The EEN. Journalism as it shouldn't be.

Basically, this guy is making allegations through the newspaper.

Ritchie has not been questioned by police however, in his statement to the journo, he appears to know that the victim "owes a lot of people money".

Post prison employment? (allegedly, perhaps and just an expression of personal opinion).

If the victim has allegations/accusations, he needs to go to the cops. Not some journo who is only interested in the latest meander of Ritchies disturbing life-story because it sells papers.

Did money change hands for this "exclusive" story? The guy after all, "owes a lot of people money".

(allegedly, supposedly and from the information available and all that jazz)

Jay
22-07-2008, 10:24 AM
The authorities wouldn't admit that they were wrong. He accepted a lesser charge in order to be released. He may well have been guilty but the evidence that was presented was shown to be well dodgy and wouldn't have "stood up" today.

I know but a lot of people assume that since he was released he was aquitted of all charges which was not the case.

Ivan Drago
22-07-2008, 09:52 PM
Kenny Ritchie fat Gorgie ******.

That is all.

22-07-2008, 10:08 PM
Kenny Ritchie fat Gorgie ******.

That is all.

better watch now....he'll come for us in a ski mask during the Barca game :greengrin

23-07-2008, 01:11 PM

TBH, I dont know much about the whole case. I thought he had been found innocent after years of being locked up ?

I have no idea about the case apart from a Youth was locked up until he became a middle aged man. I thought thrat he appealed and got let out as they realised it wasnt him.

23-07-2008, 05:59 PM
TBH, I dont know much about the whole case. I thought he had been found innocent after years of being locked up ?

I have no idea about the case apart from a Youth was locked up until he became a middle aged man. I thought thrat he appealed and got let out as they realised it wasnt him.

A bit inaccurate here, all of Kenny Richeys appeals failed until the last one. However many groups such as Amnesty international and so on fought his case as they viewed his conviction as 'unsafe', not neccesarily wrong but in need of further investigation.

The Supreme court of Ohio finally acepted an appeal which stated his conviction was 'unsafe' and that he had to be re-tried or released witin a time period. The State prosecution actively sought a re-trial and the sherriff at the time of the killing stated his belief Richey was guilty.

At the preliminary hearing for the re-trial Richey pleaded 'no contest' to a lesser charge of involuntary manslaughter and endangering a child. This is treated as a guilty plea by the court and Richey was sentenced. As the death penalty was not available for this crime he was sentenced to time already served, essentially 21 years in jail, and was thereby released immediately.

He has never been cleared of anything and is still viewed as guilty in court records. Thi is not to say that he is guilty merely he is not officially innocent and no one else is being sought in connection with the killings.

24-07-2008, 11:46 AM
I know but a lot of people assume that since he was released he was aquitted of all charges which was not the case.

A bit inaccurate here, all of Kenny Richeys appeals failed until the last one. However many groups such as Amnesty international and so on fought his case as they viewed his conviction as 'unsafe', not neccesarily wrong but in need of further investigation.

The Supreme court of Ohio finally acepted an appeal which stated his conviction was 'unsafe' and that he had to be re-tried or released witin a time period. The State prosecution actively sought a re-trial and the sherriff at the time of the killing stated his belief Richey was guilty.

At the preliminary hearing for the re-trial Richey pleaded 'no contest' to a lesser charge of involuntary manslaughter and endangering a child. This is treated as a guilty plea by the court and Richey was sentenced. As the death penalty was not available for this crime he was sentenced to time already served, essentially 21 years in jail, and was thereby released immediately.

He has never been cleared of anything and is still viewed as guilty in court records. Thi is not to say that he is guilty merely he is not officially innocent and no one else is being sought in connection with the killings.

So he was basically found guilty ? The way I saw it was he was sentenced to death, and he continually denied it, and they finally won an appeal and he was found innocent.

Thanks for clearing it up guys.

26-07-2008, 11:07 AM
Arrested last night in Orwell Terrace http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/scotland/edinburgh_and_east/7526694.stm

the_ginger_hibee
26-07-2008, 11:36 AM
Arrested last night in Orwell Terrace http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/scotland/edinburgh_and_east/7526694.stm

Giant kick in the nads to all the people who helped him out of jail and saved his life.

Understand his head may be a bit messed up but ever since he came back over here its been one thing after another.

Jay
26-07-2008, 12:44 PM
Giant kick in the nads to all the people who helped him out of jail and saved his life.

Understand his head may be a bit messed up but ever since he came back over here its been one thing after another.

What do people expect? He was never prepeared for his release, no day release, no weekend passes, no college etc. He spent 20 years in jail, not only in jail but I think most of that was solitary confinement,regularly in chains, then arrived 'home' to a totally alien place - how much has the world changed in 20 odd years?

I suspect he is screaming for help. His head must be so messed up its scary.

26-07-2008, 09:49 PM
What do people expect? He was never prepeared for his release, no day release, no weekend passes, no college etc. He spent 20 years in jail, not only in jail but I think most of that was solitary confinement,regularly in chains, then arrived 'home' to a totally alien place - how much has the world changed in 20 odd years?

:agree: In a weird way he may even want to be back in jail because that's the way of life that he's used to and he can't adjust to life on the outside.

As you say he has been given, as far as i'm aware, no help in preparing him for a life of freedom and being in any prison for 21 years must affect you as it is without spending it on Death Row in the USA.

It comes as no surprise to me at all that he has ended up like this and I just hope he gets the help that he so desperately needs for his sake and those round about him.

26-07-2008, 11:23 PM
Kenny Richey was getting help from Gerry Conlon, who was wrongfully convicted of the Guilford Pub bombings in 1974, he was one of the "Guilford Four". :agree:

27-07-2008, 09:26 PM
Apprantly Mr Ritchie wants to buy a gun and "payback" people who have annoyed him.....

I would lock him up for those comments....

"Whooooo do you think you are kidding Kenny Ritchie...your not Scotland's number 1"..... :bye::bye::bye:

28-07-2008, 12:29 AM
apparently a suicide bid regarding his arrest the other night http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/news/scottish-news/2008/07/26/exclusive-death-row-scot-kenny-richey-in-suicide-bid-86908-20671895/

28-07-2008, 12:48 AM
apparently a suicide bid regarding his arrest the other night http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/news/scottish-news/2008/07/26/exclusive-death-row-scot-kenny-richey-in-suicide-bid-86908-20671895/

Plot, lost the :agree:

scott7_0(Prague)
29-07-2008, 07:12 AM
This winging **** shout be locked up again, he is **** of the earth!!

http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/news/scottish-news/2008/07/28/exclusive-death-row-scot-kenny-richey-battered-by-boxer-after-police-standoff-86908-20674479/

Oh poor me, I got beat up by a boxer - I smell ***** with this one, again he is looking for sympathy!

LunaJLHsauzee
29-07-2008, 08:48 AM
This winging **** shout be locked up again, he is **** of the earth!!

http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/news/scottish-news/2008/07/28/exclusive-death-row-scot-kenny-richey-battered-by-boxer-after-police-standoff-86908-20674479/

Oh poor me, I got beat up by a boxer - I smell ***** with this one, again he is looking for sympathy!

I think the guy should get sympathy, the boxer must have jumped him from behind after this warning to police from KR....

"They had better bring armed guards because I will f*** them up"

Aye, sure you will big man Kev:greengrin

sg7nil
29-07-2008, 12:33 PM

I know people who remember him and his family from Edinburgh before they "had to leave" as the two sons were nothing but trouble.:agree:

As it happens they'd have been better off staying here, as far from protecting the boys by giving them a new environment in which to live, they moved to a country with longer jail sentences and the death penalty.. just the place to take two young unmanageable nutters!

The eventual demise of the boys came as no surprise to anyone who knew them before they left, as they were just convictions waiting to happen.

All the bleeding heart liberals who campaigned to set Kenny free will now be cringing at his behaviour (it was unlikely to ever change) and if he does commit another crime (or possibly harm another person)... then I hope these people start to see some sense and admit that they were wrong!

29-07-2008, 02:34 PM

I think he attacked him after an argument about who had the biggest collection of paedo flicks. Furthermore I heard that Richey was knobbing the owner of Dickens lounge bar because he was a Yam fud. Know what though - I know squat, and unless you were a witness to the attack neither do you.

The thing is you can't go around saying things about people unless you are able to prove it in a court of law.

It's PC gone mad! :brickwall

29-07-2008, 02:36 PM
His conviction for causing the death of the little girl by setting fire to the house was only over turned after he pleaded no contest to charges of attempted involuntary manslaughter, child endangering, and breaking and entering.

He got off lightly IMO a deserves no sympathy what so ever. If you want to talk about having your youth taken away from you, maybe you should think about the wee girl who had her entire life taken away from her.

Yeah, 20 years not knowing if you're going to see the next christmas is a cake walk. Can't imagine it would put any pressure on you at all - going to the chair would be easier, eh?

gringojoe
29-07-2008, 05:52 PM
Yeah, 20 years not knowing if you're going to see the next christmas is a cake walk. Can't imagine it would put any pressure on you at all - going to the chair would be easier, eh?

During the Souness years I'm sure he came out and said he was now a Rangers fan, he was wearing a tartan glengarry at the time, I'd of quite happily flicked the switch on him there and then. Guys a fud end of.

hibsdaft
30-07-2008, 03:40 PM
All the bleeding heart liberals who campaigned to set Kenny free will now be cringing at his behaviour (it was unlikely to ever change) and if he does commit another crime (or possibly harm another person)... then I hope these people start to see some sense and admit that they were wrong!

disagree with this, the folk who campaigned did so on principle because they were against the death penalty in some instances or because they felt it was an unsafe conviction, not because they thought that kenny richey was a nice guy.

30-07-2008, 06:15 PM
disagree with this, the folk who campaigned did so on principle because they were against the death penalty in some instances or because they felt it was an unsafe conviction, not because they thought that kenny richey was a nice guy.

That certainly applies to me although I didn't actively campaign for his release, I did want to see him come off Death Row. I am very much against the death penalty and from hearing about his case I didn't think his conviction was "safe".

I have absolutely no idea what Kenny Richey WAS like as a person prior to 1987 but it is of no surprise to me that his behaviour now is somewhat erratic.

Therefore I did not want to see him released because I like him as a person but for the reasons you have just quoted.

GhostofBolivar
31-07-2008, 02:59 AM

As one of the 'bleeding heart liberals' who actively campaigned for his release and as someone who has encountered him since his release, I can honestly say that firstly I am not 'cringing' and, secondly, that I have seen sense and can admit that I was right in the first place.

I am enourmously saddened by Mr Richey's behaviour and continue to hope that he can sort his life out. It's a shame he's been unable to adjust to life away from death row.

04-08-2008, 03:31 PM

There was no way Richey committed this crime - only the totally corrupt and the mentally ******ed now believe that his guilty. The prosecution witheld forensic evidence and certain parties who tesified against him (ie: the firemaster) now admit that its next to impossible he could have committed this crime. The little in question was regularly left alone by her low-life mother who went out on the town. The fire brigade were called on three separate occassions (this fact was not allowed as evidence in the trial) to find the daughter left on her own. She had started the fires, and was apparently fascinated by flame.

Amnesty International, who concentrate on ploitical crimes and rarely get involved in criminal cases, conceded it was the most blatant abuse of justice they had seen in such a case.

Richey could have walked out in 5 years for manslaughter, but chose to fight on for justice. Yes, he had to compromise at the end, but his health was so bad there was little choice. Do you really believe Ohio would have conceded to a 'no contest' had they believed he was guilty? It was a fudge to avoid investigating the corrupt prosecutor who made his name on the Richey case.

I don't expect you to answer these points, because you are only offering blind prejudice to this debate, rather than any facts. This prejudice seems to be based on your view of Richey as a person.

Richey's character, like that of Barry George's, may be questionable, but that is neither here nor there if they were both wrongly imprisoned. It's difficult to see how Richey can be anything else other than tabloid jailbait and pub tales for the neer-do-wells of the town, given what he's been through.

In my view Hope Collins (the mother of Cynthia, the child that died in Ohio) was culpable as she was obviously unfit to look after a baby.

Hanny
08-08-2008, 04:00 PM
http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/scotland/edinburgh_and_east/7549870.stm

Back in jail..........

magpie1892
08-08-2008, 06:29 PM
The guy is obviously completely institutionalised and I reckon he's absolutely delighted to be back inside.

10-08-2008, 06:05 AM
It must be hard trying to lead a normal life after all those yrs on death row but if you believe what is written in various newspapers he doesn't seem to do himself any favours

11-08-2008, 09:17 AM
There's another way of looking at the way his behaviour has deteriorated of late.

If you are released from prison into the community in this country, there is all forms of support. (Not commenting on how good they are or anything else - just that they exist). Probation services, offender rehabilitation services and social work, all spring to mind.

Richey, has just been released from prison, after serving time. However, because it was a prison in another country, I don't think he would be offered any of these services.

Maybe, his behaviour is a cry for help. Maybe, he'll feel more comfortable back inside. Surely if he does time for this misdemeanour, he will be offered some of the support that has been lacking since he came back to Scotland?

Chez
11-08-2008, 09:52 PM
There's another way of looking at the way his behaviour has deteriorated of late.

If you are released from prison into the community in this country, there is all forms of support. (Not commenting on how good they are or anything else - just that they exist). Probation services, offender rehabilitation services and social work, all spring to mind.

Richey, has just been released from prison, after serving time. However, because it was a prison in another country, I don't think he would be offered any of these services.

Maybe, his behaviour is a cry for help. Maybe, he'll feel more comfortable back inside. Surely if he does time for this misdemeanour, he will be offered some of the support that has been lacking since he came back to Scotland?

:agree: Great Post :top marks

12-08-2008, 09:47 AM
:agree: Great Post :top marks

It's just that I know that sometimes the only way people can get help for their problems is if they commit an offence and get themselves into "the system".

Jay
12-08-2008, 02:05 PM
Oi you 2 read post 24! :smug:

12-08-2008, 02:12 PM
Oi you 2 read post 24! :smug:

Great minds think alike. You, me and Kenny. :wink:

Jay
12-08-2008, 02:18 PM
Great minds think alike. You, me and Kenny. :wink:

Chez
13-08-2008, 12:05 AM
It's just that I know that sometimes the only way people can get help for their problems is if they commit an offence and get themselves into "the system".

Its very true FR - many people who have been in jail know no other way of life, so they commit a crime to go back in. IMO, until such time that people get help to treat what causes them to be like that, they will continue this pattern.