View Full Version : Turkey (Gumbet)

11-07-2008, 09:12 AM
Just booked up for a week in Gumbet (10th August) & by all accounts it looks superb....:agree:..ive been to Turkey twice before..Icmeler & Marmaris & loved both although Marmaris was a bit too hustle bustle compared to the more laid back Icmeler..

Anyone been to Gumbet before..apart from the water parks is there anything we should particularly look out for ..excursions etc ?

cheers..

hibees4life1875
11-07-2008, 09:53 AM
Never been to Gumbet however my nan has years ago and always raved about the peace and quiet.

I imagime there will be the usula excursions to pamukalle (sp) or ephesus etc.

My parents have a house in Altimkum (Didim) which is about 2 hours or so from Marmaris and its magic.

I went to Marmaris for a day and hated it. (too bussy for my taste)

Enjoy the time away ;)

11-07-2008, 10:05 AM
Never been to Gumbet however my nan has years ago and always raved about the peace and quiet.

I imagime there will be the usula excursions to pamukalle (sp) or ephesus etc.

My parents have a house in Altimkum (Didim) which is about 2 hours or so from Marmaris and its magic.

I went to Marmaris for a day and hated it. (too bussy for my taste)

Enjoy the time away ;)Cheers..been to the mud baths & turtle beach (which was amazing)...saw the Kings tombs that were etched into the cliffs, that too was superb, may take in Ephesus as we didnt manage that the last time ...

Quite fancy the paragliding too if its available....:worried:....:greengrin

Little Miss Perfect
11-07-2008, 10:51 AM
I was in Gumbet a few years ago,not my favourite resort in Turkey but was still good. Quite a hilly resort

I stayed in Hotel Simba which is now known as Litera Gumbet Relax.

Where are you staying?

I dont parasailing when i was there, i didn't like it,felt really ill after lol..i don't have the stomach for stuff like that.

Trips, boat trip, turkish bath, Jeep safari,village tour all the usual trips available Kenny.

Boat trips normally all go to Camel Beach,have a ride on a camel,they stink :agree:

Take a Dolmus or Taxi along to Bitez for the day, it's a lovely wee resort with a really nice beach. Gumbet beach is ok but some parts of it were minging TBH. Bodrum next door is also worth visiting,nice Marina etc

There's also a place just outside Bodrum where you can swim with Dolphins and Whitewhales if that's your sort of thing, I didn't go so don't know what the conditions were like.

And then there's bar street...

Craig's been a few times to Gumbet too,more recently than me so he will no doubt give you some tips :agree:

11-07-2008, 12:00 PM
I was in Gumbet a few years ago,not my favourite resort in Turkey but was still good. Quite a hilly resort

I stayed in Hotel Simba which is now known as Litera Gumbet Relax.

Where are you staying?

I dont parasailing when i was there, i didn't like it,felt really ill after lol..i don't have the stomach for stuff like that.

Trips, boat trip, turkish bath, Jeep safari,village tour all the usual trips available Kenny.

Boat trips normally all go to Camel Beach,have a ride on a camel,they stink :agree:

Take a Dolmus or Taxi along to Bitez for the day, it's a lovely wee resort with a really nice beach. Gumbet beach is ok but some parts of it were minging TBH. Bodrum next door is also worth visiting,nice Marina etc

There's also a place just outside Bodrum where you can swim with Dolphins and Whitewhales if that's your sort of thing, I didn't go so don't know what the conditions were like.

And then there's bar street...

Craig's been a few times to Gumbet too,more recently than me so he will no doubt give you some tips :agree:Thanks Julie ..were staying in the hotel Baba ....it was really difficult to decide the Baba or the Jasmin ...my youngest suggested the former so we done a bit research & it looks a good place..certainly got rave reviews ..:agree:

We almost booked the Club Aquarium (Icmeler) where we stayed before but just fancied a wee change ...we may though go back to Icmeler later in the year as Dianne fancies the hotel Marti right on the beach...

Little Miss Perfect
11-07-2008, 12:16 PM
I stayed right behind the Jasmine.

The Baba is that right on the beach? Sure i was in that bar it had a karaoke night on the night i was in.

My family are in Turkey now, its BOILING hot, 7 weeks until i go.

Marti hotel looks lovely,was just along from where we stayed in Icmeler last year.

hibees4life1875
11-07-2008, 12:52 PM
Cheers..been to the mud baths & turtle beach (which was amazing)...saw the Kings tombs that were etched into the cliffs, that too was superb, may take in Ephesus as we didnt manage that the last time ...

Quite fancy the paragliding too if its available....:worried:....:greengrin

Yeah we done the dalyan (sp) crize where you visit the tombs and cruise the river that was used in the bogart film then stopped at tutle beach and finished with a mud bath.. all great and some cracking photos.

Ephesus is spectacular and a must see. its hard to imagine that they have only excavated 10% of it. However if your taking the kids take plenty water and sun cream as there is virtualy no shade.! Hats and sunglasses are a must too. I was about 9 the first time i went and loved it plenty to see and keep me occupied. i have been back a further 4 times since. :greengrin

11-07-2008, 12:58 PM
I stayed right behind the Jasmine.

The Baba is that right on the beach? Sure i was in that bar it had a karaoke night on the night i was in.

My family are in Turkey now, its BOILING hot, 7 weeks until i go.

Marti hotel looks lovely,was just along from where we stayed in Icmeler last year.Is indeed on the beach Julie ...:agree:
http://www.holidaywatchdog.com/13093-Gumbet-Baba_Hotel-Holiday-Review.html

Yeah we done the dalyan (sp) crize where you visit the tombs and cruise the river that was used in the bogart film then stopped at tutle beach and finished with a mud bath.. all great and some cracking photos.

Ephesus is spectacular and a must see. its hard to imagine that they have only excavated 10% of it. However if your taking the kids take plenty water and sun cream as there is virtualy no shade.! Hats and sunglasses are a must too. I was about 9 the first time i went and loved it plenty to see and keep me occupied. i have been back a further 4 times since. :greengrinCheers...hated the mud baths ..esp the ones we went to when we stayed in Marmaris ...we stood & baked for a bit but when we went to shower there was barely a dribble !!!!! :paranoid:...i got back on the boat for the long journey to turtle beach wi my shorts full of Cleopatra's face pack !!! much to the amusement o my wife, kids & 20 others ...:greengrin

Hibee-Bongo
13-07-2008, 08:31 PM
Just back from 2 weeks in marmaris, nice enough place, was surprised how green it was too.

I don't go parasailing due to Jurassic Park 2 fears

15-07-2008, 10:35 AM
Midnight Express, qv

Hibee-Bongo
15-07-2008, 12:42 PM
Midnight Express, qv

My mate actually asked a Turkish Policeman about Midnight Express. Apparently its never been like that:blah:

Brando7
15-07-2008, 12:46 PM
Just back from 2 weeks in marmaris, nice enough place, was surprised how green it was too.

I don't go parasailing due to Jurassic Park 2 fears

Bet u glad 2 be back, there just been a earthquake in Marmaris

15-07-2008, 01:36 PM
My mate actually asked a Turkish Policeman about Midnight Express. Apparently its never been like that:blah:

The story I keep hearing is that the whole thing was sponsored by the CIA or somebody to give Turkey a bad name. I reckon the Turkish tourist board should by up all the copies of it they can find, because it put me off going there for life.

15-07-2008, 11:57 PM
The story I keep hearing is that the whole thing was sponsored by the CIA or somebody to give Turkey a bad name. I reckon the Turkish tourist board should by up all the copies of it they can find, because it put me off going there for life.

It's a true story, is it not? :dunno:

As for the OP, was in Bodrum about 10 years ago now (wow, I is OLD!) and it was a decent place. Gumbet is a lot smaller, although it was still pretty busy at night, a few decent boozers and all that. Defo go along to Bodrum though, some decent streets to walk about and you can also go to the outdoor nightclub Halikarnas (sp?) which is a decent experience :agree:

Hibee-Bongo
16-07-2008, 12:11 AM

We got told it was something to do with the French?

LeithWalkHibby
16-07-2008, 01:29 AM

Maybe the Turkish tourist board shouldn't be too hasty...

Expecting Rain
16-07-2008, 10:05 AM
Hisaronu is highly recommended, a beautiful location, Babadag mountain and the beach at Olu Deniz, families and couples mostly choose this as their destination and it is pretty much hassle free, the people are brilliant and there is plenty to do, i`m going back for a 2nd visit and can`t wait!

Little Miss Perfect
16-07-2008, 08:44 PM
Hisaronu is highly recommended, a beautiful location, Babadag mountain and the beach at Olu Deniz, families and couples mostly choose this as their destination and it is pretty much hassle free, the people are brilliant and there is plenty to do, i`m going back for a 2nd visit and can`t wait!

That's where i have been looking at for next year :agree:

Mr T
16-07-2008, 09:28 PM
What Julie said!!

Gumbet is my favourite part of Turkey and IMO the most friendly part. Its much more laid back than Marmarais and I felt the bar staff were more up for a laugh :wink:

The boat trips were really good and as L(i)MP said most of them go to camel beach. You've gotta have a ride on the camel, just trying to stay on when its kneeling back down is a task :grr:

Other trips such as the off roading on buggys and paragliding were really good too....

Man am gonna sneak into your suitcase, ok :devil:

Expecting Rain
17-07-2008, 09:17 AM
That's where i have been looking at for next year :agree:

Go for it Miss, you won`t be disappointed!:thumbsup:

17-07-2008, 10:13 AM
Bet u glad 2 be back, there just been a earthquake in MarmarisNot in Marmaris ...there was one in Rhodes though ..:agree:

http://aolsearch.aol.co.uk/aol/redir?src=websearch&requestId=13151b97fd2f21d5&clickedItemRank=2&userQuery=Earthquake+in+Rhodes&clickedItemURN=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.greeka.com%2Fdodec anese%2Frhodes%2Fnews%2Fnews%2F356.htm&title=News%3A+Strong+%3Cb%3EEarthquake%3C%2Fb%3E+h its+%3Cb%3ERhodes%3C%2Fb%3E&moduleId=matchingsites.jsp.M&clickedItemPageRanking=2&clickedItemPage=1&clickedItemDescription=WebResults

SuzySubaru
17-07-2008, 02:59 PM
Icmeler is heaven on earth as far as I'm concerned - I'd love to live there some day.

17-07-2008, 03:13 PM
Icmeler is heaven on earth as far as I'm concerned - I'd love to live there some day.That was our first impressions when we went there ...superb place ...:agree:...we are gonna give Gumbet a try but next holiday away for a fortnight will be Icmeler ..:agree:

Little Miss Perfect
17-07-2008, 05:11 PM
Not in Marmaris ...there was one in Rhodes though ..:agree:

Rumbled it's way over to Marmaris/Icmeler etc as well Kenny. My family are there the now

http://aolsearch.aol.co.uk/aol/redir?src=websearch&requestId=13151b97fd2f21d5&clickedItemRank=2&userQuery=Earthquake+in+Rhodes&clickedItemURN=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.greeka.com%2Fdodec anese%2Frhodes%2Fnews%2Fnews%2F356.htm&title=News%3A+Strong+%3Cb%3EEarthquake%3C%2Fb%3E+h its+%3Cb%3ERhodes%3C%2Fb%3E&moduleId=matchingsites.jsp.M&clickedItemPageRanking=2&clickedItemPage=1&clickedItemDescription=WebResults

Icmeler is heaven on earth as far as I'm concerned - I'd love to live there some day.
Icmeler is lovely, i realy like it there

17-07-2008, 08:27 PM
Icmeler is lovely, i realy like it there...Rumbled it's way over to Marmaris/Icmeler etc as well Kenny. My family are there the now
Sorry Julie, wasnae doubting what Scott said, just couldnae see any mention of it other than in Rhodes ...:agree:....wee Ashley gets a bit paranoid about those things & spent the entire night scouring the net for news ...:panic:.....:greengrin

Brando7
17-07-2008, 09:00 PM
Sorry Julie, wasnae doubting what Scott said, just couldnae see any mention of it other than in Rhodes ...:agree:....wee Ashley gets a bit paranoid about those things & spent the entire night scouring the net for news ...:panic:.....:greengrin

Julie's family got woken wi it, doors flying open n water nearly out of the pool, must have been some quake to make such an impact on Marmaris/Icmeler :agree:

17-07-2008, 09:13 PM

Julie's family got woken wi it, doors flying open n water nearly out of the pool, must have been some quake to make such an impact on Marmaris/Icmeler :agree:Scary Mary fae the hairy dairy !!! :paranoid:.....im gonna glue myself tae the bar ...if it happens ...i go in glory !!! :party:...:greengrin

Little Miss Perfect
17-07-2008, 09:20 PM

No worries Kenny, i didn't see it on news either, did read about it on a couple of the holiday forums and obviously getting the texts from family over there, Hannah about keecked herself,they were all running about like loonies and wee Ellie slept right through it bless her,happened about 6.25am