View Full Version : Public Transport Etiquette

07-07-2008, 09:21 PM
Why are there so many bawbags on public transport these days?

The thing that annoys me most is this obsession to play music on their phone to the whole bus.

Look - yer music is ***** - keep it to yersel!!!!!:brickwall

Rant over:grr:

07-07-2008, 09:30 PM
Sometimes I wish everybody would 'pump up the volume' on their phones and then maybe these folk would get the message.

One person playing a phone and 20 plus passangers get pissed off, 20 folk play tunes and 19 get a satisfied glow from annoying the pest!!

07-07-2008, 09:38 PM
Sometimes I wish everybody would 'pump up the volume' on their phones and then maybe these folk would get the message.

One person playing a phone and 20 plus passangers get pissed off, 20 folk play tunes and 19 get a satisfied glow from annoying the pest!!

07-07-2008, 09:52 PM
Take the car :greengrin

08-07-2008, 12:07 AM
I always have a word in their shell like. Has always worked so far, however there was a case over here last year that caused uproar. A 70+ year old dude asked 2 guys in the tube to put their fags out and got more broken bones than Evil Knievel for his efforts.

Chez
08-07-2008, 12:16 AM
I always have a word in their shell like. Has always worked so far, however there was a case over here last year that caused uproar. A 70+ year old dude asked 2 guys in the tube to put their fags out and got more broken bones than Evil Knievel for his efforts.

Over here, you'd be stabbed, either by a sharp knife or tongue, if you ask someone on a bus to put their fag out :greengrin

08-07-2008, 09:55 AM

Is that not the cup of tea/frank exchange of views approach you were slating me for on another thread?? :wink::wink::cool2:

Public transport behaviour wrongs for me are:

1. Sitting in the disabled seats when there is someone who could be offered a place.

2. The Metro Newspaper

3. People shuffling around for change and holding up the bus.

4. Drivers coming off shift having a long conversation with their colleague.

5. Persistent bell-ringing.

6. Folks not saying ta' to the driver, though since I moved back to Edinburgh I have noticed that people do this a lot more often than they used to.

7. People not letting people off the bus as they charge onto it.

8. Yoofs who talk *****e to each other, loudly.

9. Crap music being played.

10. Folk dropping litter.

11. Uncontrolled children, not on a leash.

12. Staring.

Just about does it for me, but I'm sure I could think of more.

The Mook
08-07-2008, 10:37 AM
Is that not the cup of tea/frank exchange of views approach you were slating me for on another thread?? :wink::wink::cool2:

1. Sitting in the disabled seats when there is someone who could be offered a place.

2. The Metro Newspaper

6. Folks not saying ta' to the driver, though since I moved back to Edinburgh I have noticed that people do this a lot more often than they used to.

12. Staring.

I can understand all the others, but whats your beef with The Metro :dunno:

08-07-2008, 11:08 AM
I can understand all the others, but whats your beef with The Metro :dunno:

Yeah, I suppose. The Metro isn't that bad. The letters page is usually quite amusing and I suppose it might keep some people from reading those pesky red tops.

08-07-2008, 12:10 PM
Aye, i hate people who listen to music on their phones, i usually say something like "Headphones dont cost that much nowadays do they?" to a friend rather loudly...

so far i havent been stabbed/beaten/raped so its going well

08-07-2008, 12:49 PM
I was on a train journey to the Capital last week and had to ask someone to turn down the volume on their mp3 player. It was doing my nut in!! :brickwall

Thing is, the bloke was old enough to know better, or maybe he had to have it up dead loud coz he was that old he was deaf!! :duck:

08-07-2008, 08:42 PM
My number one public transport rant:

Folk who barge onto the train when there's a whole carriage full of folk trying to get off. FFS it's not going anywhere!

08-07-2008, 09:33 PM

Because the newer generation of buses have only one door so you have to get off next to the driver's cab. It's harder to be ignorant! :greengrin

Hannah_hfc
12-07-2008, 02:32 PM

Folk who barge onto the train when there's a whole carriage full of folk trying to get off. FFS it's not going anywhere!

Similarly with long distance transport like coaches or planes and theres folk barging about and pushing their way through to the front 10 mins before the thing even boards. Does my nut in. If your at the gate in time your gonna get on, the thing isnt gonna leave without you :brickwall

12-07-2008, 06:01 PM
Note to CIA.

Forget extraordinary rendition, simply make the target travel on the 22 Bus at rush hour. He will hear at least five different languages being spoken - nay shouted; 20 different ringtones and at least four fat wee schemies shouting "fox sake, yah liar" down a mobile phone. Add in a couple of Morningside types drawling drivel like they have taken three valiies before they got on "like, yeah, hey, todally, I'm too cool to talk".

The poor ********s brain will be so fried that he will agree that Iran deserves all it gets, for not being nice to Israel.

It's a no brainer! :brickwall

Alternatively, make him ride the 4.05 from Dunfermiline Town and ask him what he sees out the window. If the answer is "Primark bags", then he is not ready for interregation, and so a session using Extraordinary 22 (tm Filled Rolls - non-nazi 2008) is in order.:thumbsup:

woodythehibee
12-07-2008, 08:56 PM
if the bus is busy and most seats are filled, as soon as a double becomes free, a person will quickly move from sitting beside someone to taking the free double seat. can human's not sit beside each other these days? the worst thing is, the free seat beside "the mover" is usually taken up after the next stop which makes the move absolutley pointless!

Chez
12-07-2008, 08:59 PM
if the bus is busy and most seats are filled, as soon as a double becomes free, a person will quickly move from sitting beside someone to taking the free double seat. can human's not sit beside each other these days? the worst thing is, the free seat beside "the mover" is usually taken up after the next stop which makes the move absolutley pointless!

:agree: It happens frequently as well :greengrin

Tazio
13-07-2008, 11:46 AM
Loud bad language.

I'm not against swearing and do it a fair bit myself but I find it embarrassing when you are on a bus full of visitors to our city. The usual candidates are the back of the top deck crew. It isn't even good creative bad language.

Chuckie
13-07-2008, 11:58 AM
That 22 is a bawbag... I had the misfortune to be on one a few weeks back, remember that hot day we had..? Standing there sweating I practically had my heed in the armpit of a rather large lady wearing a vest.. And she was humming.. And the guy opposite me had chocolate (I hope) on his face.. When I tried to tell him he looked like he might want to kill me.. Next time I'll go by skateboard..

14-07-2008, 12:47 PM
That 22 is a bawbag... I had the misfortune to be on one a few weeks back, remember that hot day we had..? Standing there sweating I practically had my heed in the armpit of a rather large lady wearing a vest.. And she was humming.. And the guy opposite me had chocolate (I hope) on his face.. When I tried to tell him he looked like he might want to kill me.. Next time I'll go by skateboard..

You mean the summer?

... and another thing!

Just wait!! in a couple of years (plus a few more for delays) instead of 100 folk crammed on a 22 bus there will be upto 600 sweaty armpits; 300 sweary yobs and pish heads, 299 ringtones (the one the same as yours will go off insistently making you think you have a call while the person whose phone it is for some reason cant hear it) and the alky who puts £1 in for his/her fare and swears (literally) that that's how much it was when he went down The Walk and s/he's nae mare muney onyway – when the tram line comes in.

*Note it’s a tram, singular. There is only one line, its not a network or a system which implies trams going different places. Our one goes from Newhaven to the airport and back again – it’s a tram.

Sergio sledge
16-07-2008, 04:16 PM

2. The Metro Newspaper

12. Staring.

:agree: You forgot:

1. Ignorant people who sit on the outside of a double seat and put their bag, or shopping on the inside one, then stare blankly into space as old people have to stand up for the whole journey.

2. People who sigh loudly and make a face at you when you ask them to move their bag so you can get a seat.

3. Kids who get on the bus at the first stop and sit down on a double seat each when there are about 6 of them. Then they proceed to talk rubbish really loudly to their friend sitting across the aisle when there are two random people sitting on the spare seats between them. Often talking about who battered who at the weekend, or who cheated on who at the weekend....and all the time swearing profusely...

16-07-2008, 04:18 PM
:agree: You forgot:

1. Ignorant people who sit on the outside of a double seat and put their bag, or shopping on the inside one, then stare blankly into space as old people have to stand up for the whole journey.

2. People who sigh loudly and make a face at you when you ask them to move their bag so you can get a seat.

3. Kids who get on the bus at the first stop and sit down on a double seat each when there are about 6 of them. Then they proceed to talk rubbish really loudly to their friend sitting across the aisle when there are two random people sitting on the spare seats between them. Often talking about who battered who at the weekend, or who cheated on who at the weekend....and all the time swearing profusely...

Who got off with who up the swings and how Kylie gave Stevie a blowie behind the Co-op.

GhostofBolivar
16-07-2008, 10:47 PM
Mobile phones.

"Yeah... Uh, uh... I'm on the bus... Yeah... Yeah... I'll be there in ten minutes... I'm on the bus... Uh, uh... I'm on the bus... I'll be there in ten minutes... Yeah... Ten minutes... uh, uh... I'll see you in ten minutes... I'm on the bus..."

We get the idea. Find something different to say.

Mixu62
17-07-2008, 01:06 AM
Asking the driver where the bus goes. READ THE F***ING TIMETABLE AT THE STOP!!!:brickwall

Smacking people in the face with your back-pack when you swing round the pole to take a seat. Take it off when you get on!!!

Stoppping dead when you get off, thus ensuring a pile up of other departing passengers. This also applies to escalators.

rainman
17-07-2008, 06:36 AM
Mobile phones.

"Yeah... Uh, uh... I'm on the bus... Yeah... Yeah... I'll be there in ten minutes... I'm on the bus... Uh, uh... I'm on the bus... I'll be there in ten minutes... Yeah... Ten minutes... uh, uh... I'll see you in ten minutes... I'm on the bus..."

We get the idea. Find something different to say.

Reminds me of this website

http://www.overheardeverywhere.com/

David@EasterRoad
17-07-2008, 07:12 PM
I remember being on a packed rush hour 26 heading home and some neds were irritating the whole bus by running up and down the aisle. Having had a rubbish day I decided to clip this boys heels, he went flying and everyone laughed at him. He looked at me in disbelief and then thought better of it and got of the bus with a bright red face!

Felt good at the time but probably not the most sensible thing i've ever done, if someone is reading this to him i'm trully sorry for my actions. :greengrin

18-07-2008, 08:15 AM

That drives me mad when I'm trying to get off the bus, usually I have the buggy as well so end up getting moaned at cos it hits them, if they weren't standing right in my way they wouldn't bloody get hit :brickwall

18-07-2008, 10:20 AM
i was on the 42 this morning and a guy on the top deck was stinking. it was totally sick.

so i opened a window - as did a couple of other folks - only for some moany faced cow to come up and close them without so much as a by-your-leave.

why do bus passengers as a species, seem to prefer the smelly greenhouse effect as opposed to well-aired public transport?

19-07-2008, 09:38 AM

2. The Metro Newspaper

12. Staring.

Menace tea :devil:

20-07-2008, 01:28 PM
Folk who not only shut the bus window but slam it at the same time. Especially if you're in the seat immediately in front of the window. Pampers all round.

:brickwall

Mixu62
21-07-2008, 01:01 AM
Maniac bus drivers who think they're in the Keanu Reeves movie, Speed. "Don't go under fifty"!

H18SScottW
22-07-2008, 10:28 PM
The downright bizarre ... two lassies on my bus home today took a set of hair extensions each out of carrier bags and started fixing them to each other :brickwall

23-07-2008, 05:07 PM
The downright bizarre ... two lassies on my bus home today took a set of hair extensions each out of carrier bags and started fixing them to each other :brickwall

Something similar happened to me recently. Two birds sat opposite me in a cafe started spraying themselves and my breakfast with deo. Took the hump when I said excuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuse me. :brickwall