View Full Version : Wendy Alexander Resigns!

28-06-2008, 10:20 AM
Wendy Alexander has resigned as leader of the Labour Party.

JamieHibby
28-06-2008, 10:23 AM
Wendy Alexander has resigned as leader of the Labour Party.That's a pity, I thought she was doing a great job, Her and Brown. :wink:

28-06-2008, 10:31 AM
That's a pity, I thought she was doing a great job, Her and Brown. :wink::greengrin

28-06-2008, 11:02 AM
Wendy Alexander has resigned as leader of the Labour Party.

So, Bendy Wendy finally falls on her sword :wink:

Politics are not really my thing but I know enough to realise the Labour Party is in a very bad way. From the opinion polls I'd be worried if I voted Lib/Dem as despite the appalling performance of Labour it's the Tories who are picking up all the slack. In SPL speak the Lib/Dems are like Hibs - always striving for third place :greengrin

Hibby D
28-06-2008, 11:03 AM
I've always been grateful she wasn't a member of my preferred party. I always feel like I want to slap her - and I'm not normally a violent person :dunno:

fergal7
28-06-2008, 11:14 AM
What odds on her doing a Steve Cardownie and crossing over to SNP?

JamieHibby
28-06-2008, 11:15 AM
What odds on her doing a Steve Cardownie and crossing over to SNP?No thanks :bitchy:

28-06-2008, 11:15 AM
What odds on her crossing over to SNP?

I'd be very surprised if they wanted her fergal. Her reputation is in tatters and the SNP are doing quite nicely without her :wink:

28-06-2008, 11:18 AM
So who's next from among the numpties? :cool2:

28-06-2008, 12:01 PM

Thats a very good point. Wendy was bad but who have they got that is better than her?

Cathy Jamieson- May be reasonably intelligent but always remembered for being slagged on only an excuse repeatedly.

Andy Kerr- Complete and utter tosspot.

Margaret Curran- Probably a front runner, a gobby wee erse.

Iain Gray- He may be a hibby but he's a useless politician

28-06-2008, 02:02 PM
Oh thank god - Bendy Wendy and her horrendous gaping gob can get right to ****.

That said, as mentioned above, who´s up next??

I can hardly wait :bitchy:

JamieHibby
28-06-2008, 02:03 PM
So who's next from among the numpties? :cool2:Fatty Foulkes :greengrin

28-06-2008, 02:16 PM
Fatty Foulkes :greengrin

He'd be a great choice (if you are a supporter of most of the other parties, except the Fence Sitter Collective - The Lib Dems)

I have no idea who should be Labour leader. Seems like this person with "formidable intellect" (as the papers liked to tell us) has indeed fallen on her own sword yet STILL cannot accept responsibility for her own wrong doing and blames it on the SNP. "A big boy done it and ran away!" Seriously folks, WTF??

From my own partisan point of view, I'd be happy with Foulkes or Iain Gray.

They'd no doubt keep up Labours appauling record in Holyrood opposition better than Satchmo Wendy could.

The problem for Labour and their supporters in the media is that they still have not come to terms with the fact that the SNP won the election.

Scottish Labour suppporters seem to think - much like OF fans - that they have an entitlement to Scotland.

hibsdaft
28-06-2008, 02:43 PM
Cathy Jamieson- May be reasonably intelligent but always remembered for being slagged on only an excuse repeatedly.

nice summary.

i don't mind cathy jamieson, seems a decent sort and believe it or not, an ex-punk :greengrin

a very interesting bye-election in Glasgow East also announced today. Labour won last time out by 60% to SNP's 16- 18%, it will be interesting to see how solid the Labour vote now is in Glasgow.

gringojoe
28-06-2008, 02:51 PM

It's has got to be someone from the Labour heartlands, ie Kumbernauld, Koatbridge or some other slum, no chance of anybody from the East getting it.

toaosi
28-06-2008, 03:50 PM
I'd be very surprised if they wanted her fergal. Her reputation is in tatters and the SNP are doing quite nicely without her :wink:

Doing very nicely thanks to her:greengrin

28-06-2008, 04:23 PM
Used to be a Labour supporter, but I think they, rather than the Tories, are the real disease holding Scotland back, and I sincerely hope that the SNP annahilate them at the polls.

28-06-2008, 04:30 PM
Used to be a Labour supporter, but I think they, rather than the Tories, are the real disease holding Scotland back, and I sincerely hope that the SNP annahilate them at the polls.

Can't see them losing the by election for Glasgow East. Traditional labour heartland and have a massive majority. Doesn't help that a lot of the people that will vote will do so based on the rags they read (ie the hun and the daily ******) with their anti SNP propaganda.

28-06-2008, 05:49 PM
Wendy was an embarrasment as Scottish Labour leader and a truly horrible person. :bye:

Andy Kerr must be in with a big shout.

28-06-2008, 06:25 PM
Wendy was an embarrasment as Scottish Labour leader and a truly horrible person. :bye:

Andy Kerr must be in with a big shout.

Hope so. He's a grade A fud and will continue to boost SNP ratings.

hibsdaft
28-06-2008, 06:31 PM
hmm, are there any Westminster heavyweights they might want to parachute in for Joke McConnell's Wishaw bye-election and then take over?

28-06-2008, 08:47 PM
Fatty Foulkes :greengrin

Said the same to my missus earlier. We'd be guranteed a bevvy merchant Jambo as First Minister whoever wins the next election!

Tomsk
29-06-2008, 10:54 AM
hmm, are there any Westminster heavyweights they might want to parachute in for Joke McConnell's Wishaw bye-election and then take over?

Do you have anybody in mind, Mother Hubbard? :wink:

Gary_Mc
29-06-2008, 11:06 AM
If the Labour Party have any sense they will ask Jack McConnell to resign right away and get a 'big hitter' from London...Des Browne for example to stand for his seat and the leadrership in Scotland. One of the biggest reasons the SNP have been as popular as they have been is because they have a real politician as a leader and not a mickey mouse MSP.

29-06-2008, 05:42 PM
If the Labour Party have any sense they will ask Jack McConnell to resign right away and get a 'big hitter' from London...Des Browne for example to stand for his seat and the leadrership in Scotland. One of the biggest reasons the SNP have been as popular as they have been is because they have a real politician as a leader and not a mickey mouse MSP.

Yes. Just what Scottish Labour need to prove their credentials to the electorate - yet another party leader imposed on them by the UK parliamentary labour party. I thought that Gerald Warner's piece in the Scotsman today was excellent - I dont agree with the guy at the best of times but the headline "Farewell to a daft wee lassie promoted beyond her abilities" was pretty apt. All editorials in Scotland's quality papers are saying that interference by the party HQ in London is actually extremely counterproductive for Labour in Scotland and that the next leader must at least look to be their own person and not be taking orders from London.

Also, which big hitter is going to resign their seat and risk a by-election in times when not even secretly, Labourites are questioning whether they can hold on to a seat which is in their heartlands? Labour are goosed at the moment, and not a moment too soon. The whole party needs a good old fashioned doing at the polls and they should concentrate on coming back with fresh ideas and perhaps, just a little bit more humility.

That said, Des Browne would be an excellent choice - if you are a supporter of one of the opposition parties.

30-06-2008, 12:19 PM
Thats a very good point. Wendy was bad but who have they got that is better than her?

Iain Gray- He may be a hibby but he's a useless politician

What an excellent summation of Scottish Labour.

Des Brown? Oh please, please, please! :devil:

(See reference tpo Andy Kerr above - another of the same, methinketh.)

Could they dig up Nigel Griffiths?

Or even Donald Dewar? (They could stand the coffin up on end against the wee desk thing....)

He'd make as much sense as any of the rest of them.

30-06-2008, 12:47 PM
What an excellent summation of Scottish Labour.

Des Brown? Oh please, please, please! :devil:

(See reference tpo Andy Kerr above - another of the same, methinketh.)

Could they dig up Nigel Griffiths?

Or even Donald Dewar? (They could stand the coffin up on end against the wee desk thing....)

He'd make as much sense as any of the rest of them.

One of the problems Labour has is that there is no-one like Donald Dewar left in their party any more.

Dewar had wide-reaching political appeal beyond the Labour faithful and I daresay that had he been alive today, he'd be giving Salmond a good run for his money.

30-06-2008, 05:12 PM
One of the problems Labour has is that there is no-one like Donald Dewar left in their party any more.

Dewar had wide-reaching political appeal beyond the Labour faithful and I daresay that had he been alive today, he'd be giving Salmond a good run for his money.

Not too sure about that. He'd have had to explain how come the parliament building HE said would cost £50,000,000 ended up costing 10 times as much.

And he was a Labour politician and a Glasgow lawyer. What odds he wouldn't have been caught out with his hand in the till like his successors were? :cool2:

hibsdaft
30-06-2008, 10:21 PM
Do you have anybody in mind, Mother Hubbard? :wink:

well now you come to mention it, no. :greengrin

i can see them losing this Glasgow East seat. folk just aren't willing to turn out and vote for them. the polled 13,000 in Henley in 1997, the other week they took 1000 there in the by-election. most of those voters they've lost seem to be traditional Labour voters who are not voting Tory, they're just not voting at all.

in Scotland half of these people will now strongly consider voting SNP.

plus factor in all the former SSP voters and other tactical voters who want to give Labour a kicking and they are in trouble at this seat imo...

Tomsk
01-07-2008, 04:01 PM
well now you come to mention it, no. :greengrin

i can see them losing this Glasgow East seat. folk just aren't willing to turn out and vote for them. the polled 13,000 in Henley in 1997, the other week they took 1000 there in the by-election. most of those voters they've lost seem to be traditional Labour voters who are not voting Tory, they're just not voting at all.

in Scotland half of these people will now strongly consider voting SNP.

plus factor in all the former SSP voters and other tactical voters who want to give Labour a kicking and they are in trouble at this seat imo...

They scraped through the bottom of the barrell when they appointed the 'intellectual heavyweight' that was Wendy Alexander. God alone knows where they will look to now.

As it happens, I am a natural Labour supporter but I haven't voted for them since John Smith was leader. The chances of Tomsk voting for them in Scotland are very slim.

01-07-2008, 07:49 PM
They scraped through the bottom of the barrell when they appointed the 'intellectual heavyweight' that was Wendy Alexander. God alone knows where they will look to now.

As it happens, I am a natural Labour supporter but I haven't voted for them since John Smith was leader. The chances of Tomsk voting for them in Scotland are very slim.

Slimmer than John Prescott?

Tomsk
01-07-2008, 08:35 PM
Slimmer than John Prescott?

Slimmer than one of Wendy's excuses.

01-07-2008, 09:24 PM
Slimmer than one of Wendy's excuses.

Slimmer than Iain Gray MSPs grasp on reality in this here clip??

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=04AQe5AXxnU

Cmon Iain, give up the politics and get back to teaching!! The classroom needs you. :wink:

That must have been tougher than going to watch hibs away at brechin in a cup-tie on a rainy winter's night.

My hat is off to you, sir. You have tenacity and a seeming unending amount of self-belief.