View Full Version : £41k for driving a lorry!

Tomsk
18-06-2008, 02:12 PM
Please tell me they're having a laugh ...

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/business/7460452.stm

£41k for driving a lorry. Vuck me! :grr:

Zeberdee
18-06-2008, 02:47 PM

If its so easy why dont you apply and do it?

18-06-2008, 03:09 PM

£41k for driving a lorry. Vuck me! :grr:Thats an unbelievable wage !! double that of a Nurses !! ..gonna tell the wife tae jack in her studies & get herself a class 1 HGV licence...:greengrin

18-06-2008, 03:10 PM
i'll do it for £40,995 on the road.

Woody70x2
18-06-2008, 03:31 PM
Why not get paid £41k.

Unsociable, boring and dangerous work.

Tomsk
18-06-2008, 03:51 PM
If its so easy why dont you apply and do it?

Why would I want to take a drop in earnings to drive a lorry? :cool2:

18-06-2008, 04:18 PM
Why would I want to take a drop in earnings to drive a lorry? :cool2:

:worms::coffee:

18-06-2008, 06:51 PM
Why not get paid £41k.

Really?

H18SScottW
18-06-2008, 08:40 PM
Why not get paid £41k.

If that's the requirements, I'm yer man! :wink:

hibee_boy
18-06-2008, 09:12 PM
double that of a Nurses:greengrinand teachers :grr:

18-06-2008, 09:33 PM
Truck driving has been getting more money for a good few years now......I don't drive but wouldlove to just tell my gaffer to shove it up his..........anyway, I digress.......the thought of a decent wage plus having a timetable and nobody talking a load of pish in your ear all day must be great.

19-06-2008, 07:06 AM
Why not get paid £41k.

Really?

For all the obvious risks that there are driving around a tank full of rather inflammable petrol, when was the last time anyone heard of a petrol tanker being involved in an accident, or blowing up, or a petrol tanker driver being hurt or killed in an accident?

I'd argue that it's just as dangerous driving anything, given that white vans are involved in far more traffic accidents than petrol tankers.

£41k for doing seems totally out of touch with what everyone else is getting paid, and I've not really got a lot of support for these guys.

19-06-2008, 07:39 AM
and teachers :grr:

Aye but work out a teachers hourly rate - 5 hours a day or so plus they get more holidays than santa.

I wish I had done a year at Moray House when I was younger. :devil:

hibee_boy
19-06-2008, 08:17 AM
Aye but work out a teachers hourly rate - 5 hours a day or so plus they get more holidays than santa.

I wish I had done a year at Moray House when I was younger. :devil:

5 hours a day?

I start at 8 and finish at 6. Also spend about 2 hours at home working after that. My point is, that professionals, who are teaching the young people in this country deserve more than colecting tickets on trains (Scotrail ticket inspectors get more than teachers do)

19-06-2008, 08:38 AM
5 hours a day?

I start at 8 and finish at 6. Also spend about 2 hours at home working after that. My point is, that professionals, who are teaching the young people in this country deserve more than colecting tickets on trains (Scotrail ticket inspectors get more than teachers do)

My wee one starts at 850 and finishes at 250. She has 1 hour for lunch and a morning break. I make that less than 5 hours a day teaching time (although of course teachers have there lackies now as well to take the weight off them). In addition she gets every holiday known to man plus some others I wasn't even aware of.

Maybe Moray House should do include time management in the course if that's the hours you're working. :wink:

19-06-2008, 08:57 AM
For all the obvious risks that there are driving around a tank full of rather inflammable petrol, when was the last time anyone heard of a petrol tanker being involved in an accident, or blowing up, or a petrol tanker driver being hurt or killed in an accident?

I'd argue that it's just as dangerous driving anything, given that white vans are involved in far more traffic accidents than petrol tankers.

£41k for doing seems totally out of touch with what everyone else is getting paid, and I've not really got a lot of support for these guys.

Does that not indicate a higher level of experience and careful driving then?

19-06-2008, 09:55 AM
5 hours a day?

Scotrail ticket inspectors don't get 7 weeks off for summer holibags do they?:confused:

Expecting Rain
19-06-2008, 09:56 AM

Tomsk, still a lot less than Jonathan Ross!

LiverpoolHibs
19-06-2008, 10:30 AM
This constant need to compare wages is absolutely baffling to me. If you deserve better wages, fight for them.

Tomsk
19-06-2008, 10:35 AM
Tomsk, still a lot less than Jonathan Ross!

Don't get me started!

19-06-2008, 10:51 AM
Question to hibee_boy - how do you have time to browse hibs.net (currently viewing at time of post) when you're so busy? Is that maybe why you're so busy? :na na:

Zeberdee
19-06-2008, 10:57 AM
5 hours a day?

I think you'll find the job of a conductor involves more than jut collecting tickets. MAybe you should check your facts before putting down other peoples proffessions. And no i do not work for first scotrail. For example, in an emergency, and train becomes derailed in an automatic section, thus no longer activating the track circuits, who's job would it be to lay emergency protection in order to prevent a collision?

They also have to work shifts, and a lot of overtime to earn more than teachers as the basic is only 22k.

This all not to mention the **** they have to put up with at night, where assault is common.

19-06-2008, 11:13 AM

To turn that argument on its head, when was the last time anyone heard of a petrol tanker being involved in an accident, or blowing up, or a petrol tanker driver being hurt or killed in an accident?

Seems to me that those tanker drivers take a lot of great care and skill in driving their treacherous loads and thus may ultimately deserve higher pay due to the skills involved.

Has anyone else held the country to ransom, knowing that if they don't show up to work the whole country could be ****ed?

Zeberdee
19-06-2008, 11:16 AM
Has anyone else held the country to ransom, knowing that if they don't show up to work the whole country could be ****ed?

yes. its the only way Bob Crow knows how to negotiate.

LiverpoolHibs
19-06-2008, 11:19 AM
To turn that argument on its head, when was the last time anyone heard of a petrol tanker being involved in an accident, or blowing up, or a petrol tanker driver being hurt or killed in an accident?

Seems to me that those tanker drivers take a lot of great care and skill in driving their treacherous loads and thus may ultimately deserve higher pay due to the skills involved.

Ambulance Drivers, Firefighters, and many others. What's your point?

19-06-2008, 11:46 AM
Ambulance Drivers, Firefighters, and many others. What's your point?

It was a Calendar Signing thread reference.

Has anyone else not understood the relevance of asking if anyone else has done something/seen something or heard something at the end of a post?

LiverpoolHibs
19-06-2008, 11:54 AM
It was a Calendar Signing thread reference.

Has anyone else not understood the relevance of asking if anyone else has done something/seen something or heard something at the end of a post?
Ooops, sorry. :greengrin

19-06-2008, 12:05 PM
Not quite on the same topic, but I was VERY impressed with the driving skill of a lorry driver this morning. He did a turn in the road on the royal mile. Not even in a junction, just at a normal straight bit of road. It was a proper lorry too, as in with the trailer able to un-hinge from the cab.
When i first saw him goin for it i thought there was no way. I know car drivers that would've had second thoughts! But he made it round, and pretty quickly too!

19-06-2008, 12:07 PM
This constant need to compare wages is absolutely baffling to me. If you deserve better wages, fight for them.

Or get another job??? Seems to me that if you are not happy with your wage then you should simply look elsewhere.

Thing about these drivers is that they will not get anything like that fro driving anywhere else and they have just been manipulated by a Union (again!) to take advantage of the current climate around fuel.

Still at least they are striking for their own wage and not some employee who's not been employed yet pension rights like the wackos at Grangemouth!

H18SScottW
19-06-2008, 09:42 PM
Not quite on the same topic, but I was VERY impressed with the driving skill of a lorry driver this morning. He did a turn in the road on the royal mile. Not even in a junction, just at a normal straight bit of road. It was a proper lorry too, as in with the trailer able to un-hinge from the cab.
When i first saw him goin for it i thought there was no way. I know car drivers that would've had second thoughts! But he made it round, and pretty quickly too!

Two words for that driver ... "Sat Nav" (c) Uncle Bryn

19-06-2008, 10:35 PM
I think you'll find the job of a conductor involves more than jut collecting tickets. MAybe you should check your facts before putting down other peoples proffessions. And no i do not work for first scotrail. For example, in an emergency, and train becomes derailed in an automatic section, thus no longer activating the track circuits, who's job would it be to lay emergency protection in order to prevent a collision?

They also have to work shifts, and a lot of overtime to earn more than teachers as the basic is only 22k.

This all not to mention the **** they have to put up with at night, where assault is common.

Aye because teachers don't have to put up with assaults!? At least with conductors and other workers they have more protection when it happens, when its a teacher being assualted 'its just a kid'.

Its a sad reflection on our country that people are getting paid a lot more to drive a lorry than Nurses/Teachers/Policemen.

And I don't know where this misconception that teachers have got it easy comes from. My dads in work for 7 each morning and there until at least 5 each day, he then comes home and does more, and more at weekends, usually a 55-60 hour week. Marking/lesson prep/report writing etc doesn't just do itself, unlike these lorry drivers who will be working a 40 hour week and can forget about there job when they come home.

Silver Fox
19-06-2008, 10:40 PM
When i first saw him goin for it i thought there was no way. I know car drivers that would've had second thoughts! But he made it round, and pretty quickly too!:hijack:

I used to work in Livingston at the almondvale and was always amazed at the skills of these guys, the massive McDonalds HGV's delivering to one of the 'McDonalds Triangle' then turning on a ha'penny to exit the car park, incredible, or maybe you had to be there! :duck:

20-06-2008, 05:22 AM
I am afraid I still have problems with people complaining, whether in outrage or jealousy, at what other people earn. That is the wages for a job, you live with it when you take the job. If the jobs are that easy then more people would be doing them, people would not be in short supply, therefore wages would not rise. Conversely if companies or authorities are failing to fill posts due to lack of staff and candidates, wages will rise. I know some wages are set by authorities and governement obviously but if there are no candidates then wages must be raised to encourage people to go into that profession. Jealousy or outrage is not the way to go, fighting for your own salary is.

20-06-2008, 08:13 AM

I get what you're saying, but are the petrol lorry drivers saying that they'd be less careful if they were paid less? Surely driving safely is a pre-requisite for any driving job, regardless of the cargo.

20-06-2008, 08:31 AM
I get what you're saying, but are the petrol lorry drivers saying that they'd be less careful if they were paid less? Surely driving safely is a pre-requisite for any driving job, regardless of the cargo.

I don't know. I can't claim to understand what goes on in lorry drivers' heads.

I've never been in favour of the strong-arm tactics of Thatcherism however, back in the day, these lads would be out of a job and cheaper replacements lined up before you could say "Arthur Scargill".

Has anyone seen Filled Rolls recently? He's usually apt to be able to capture the zeitgeist and nub of an issue in an amusing posting of 400 characters or less.

20-06-2008, 08:31 AM
Why shouldn't a lorry driver get £41K?:confused: Fair play to them, they work in an industry awash with cash. If it's OK for the Oil company exec's to make mega bucks then the drivers etc should get their share.

20-06-2008, 09:04 AM
Why shouldn't a lorry driver get £41K?:confused: Fair play to them, they work in an industry awash with cash. If it's OK for the Oil company exec's to make mega bucks then the drivers etc should get their share.

I think thats where it grates the most. It does for me anyway.

These oil companies are making billions of pounds in profit, while pricing out people at the pumps. Smaller businesses are beginning to realise that they cant survive much more in the way of petrol price hikes. And private car owners are feeling the pinch too (possibly a good thing but thats another story).

The price is being raised because there is a global necessity for fuel, and everyone is being fleeced while the oil companies and government make millions from us.

HibsMax
21-06-2008, 11:38 AM
As has been said above, what one person makes compared to another is completely irrelevant. There are even vast variances between people working in the same profession, not just between professions.

I used to have a general dislike for truck drivers because of the way some of them drive but now I have a great deal of respect for most of them. Like it or not, these guys are the backbone of our country. There's only so far you can transport stuff by plane, ship and train.

I don't care that they earn in relation to teachers, nurses, doctors, etc. It's not the truck driver's fault that someone else get paid X while they are getting paid Y.

24-06-2008, 11:39 AM
£20,000 a year for being a nurse, 3 year degree course, unlimited personal liability for any mistakes you make. Scotrail conductor on £21,000 a year, LRT bus driver on £25,000. What's it all about?

A reflection of our societies values IMHO.

By the way, the tanker drivers have a very difficult job, and I don't think there is anything wrong with the wage they are getting. What we should be asking is why doesn't everyone get paid that much?

24-06-2008, 12:26 PM
£20,000 a year for being a nurse, 3 year degree course, unlimited personal liability for any mistakes you make. Scotrail conductor on £21,000 a year, LRT bus driver on £25,000. What's it all about?

By the way, the tanker drivers have a very difficult job, and I don't think there is anything wrong with the wage they are getting. What we should be asking is why doesn't everyone get paid that much?

Thats where the problems exist, perhaps these truck drivers aren't overpaid, but we have a problem with Nurses/Teachers being greatly underpaid and undervalued.

Zeberdee
24-06-2008, 04:07 PM

scotrail conductors get closer to 30k in reality. 22k is the basic. But they simply wouldnt do it for less. The money is in the industry so their entitled to it.

People know what nurses get before they start they're course, but they obviously feel the satifaction makes up for the less cash.

If people are so annoyed about what other workers get paid then why not apply for the other jobs? If your good enough you'll get the job, you may find it harder than many of you negative people assume tho.

Crossgates Hibs
24-06-2008, 06:45 PM
I am afraid I still have problems with people complaining, whether in outrage or jealousy, at what other people earn. That is the wages for a job, you live with it when you take the job. If the jobs are that easy then more people would be doing them, people would not be in short supply, therefore wages would not rise. Conversely if companies or authorities are failing to fill posts due to lack of staff and candidates, wages will rise. I know some wages are set by authorities and governement obviously but if there are no candidates then wages must be raised to encourage people to go into that profession. Jealousy or outrage is not the way to go, fighting for your own salary is.

Good point i still think they are overpaid BUT compared to a slimey freeloading politition they deserve every penny.:grr:

24-06-2008, 07:15 PM
scotrail conductors get closer to 30k in reality. 22k is the basic. But they simply wouldnt do it for less. The money is in the industry so their entitled to it.

People know what nurses get before they start they're course, but they obviously feel the satifaction makes up for the less cash.

If people are so annoyed about what other workers get paid then why not apply for the other jobs? If your good enough you'll get the job, you may find it harder than many of you negative people assume tho.

If we all had that attitude there would be no teachers and nurses in this country. Teachers and nurses do get a lot of job satisfaction, but if they continue to see people in less skilled work earning more and more than them then they will drop like flies and our country will face a crisis.

24-06-2008, 10:50 PM
If we all had that attitude there would be no teachers and nurses in this country. Teachers and nurses do get a lot of job satisfaction, but if they continue to see people in less skilled work earning more and more than them then they will drop like flies and our country will face a crisis.

Oh come on...so much melodrama but so little fact.

Lets look at what teachers can earn:

Classroom Teachers at the top of the scale will earn £32,583
Chartered Teachers can earn up to £39,942
Head Teachers can expect to earn from £40,290 to £78,642

Hardly breadline stuff and is obviously a career that while giving 'satisfaction' can also lead onto higher positions and the associated wage.

Of course not all will earn top wage but then there is a huge amount of truck drivers that will earn nothing near what these guys driving the tankers will.

Got to agree with GordonT's post...less moral indignation and more understanding of the real world might help some people get over the fact that some workers might get paid more than others.

Tomsk
25-06-2008, 10:53 AM
Oh come on...so much melodrama but so little fact.

Lets look at what teachers can earn:

Classroom Teachers at the top of the scale will earn £32,583
Chartered Teachers can earn up to £39,942
Head Teachers can expect to earn from £40,290 to £78,642

Hardly breadline stuff and is obviously a career that while giving 'satisfaction' can also lead onto higher positions and the associated wage.

Of course not all will earn top wage but then there is a huge amount of truck drivers that will earn nothing near what these guys driving the tankers will.

Got to agree with GordonT's post...less moral indignation and more understanding of the real world might help some people get over the fact that some workers might get paid more than others.

It's the laws of supply and demand that dictate what people earn. But it doesn't mean we have to be happy with the end results.

Sergio sledge
25-06-2008, 11:49 AM

:agree: Mife wife is an A&E nurse, and is seriously considering leaving her job to do something else. There are other factors that come into play up here though, the major one is that she was given a pay rise 3 years ago, like all nurses did according to the agenda for change agreement with the government. However NHS Highland can't afford to give them the pay rise, so a large amount of the nurses haven't received theirs, including my wife. They keep telling us it'll be backdated, but she's due over £4,000 and with having just had a baby and bought a new house, we could do with it right now....

The reality is if you are a new start nurse, you will earn more than a nurse who started 4 years ago, and is technically 2 pay grades higher, because NHS Highland can't get their finger out to give everyone what they are due. My wife would earn more if she quit her job, then re-applied for her old job, however her supervisor basically told her she'd sacrifice her backdated pay if she did that...:grr:

Anyway, that's slightly off the point of this thread. :greengrin

Incidentally, the Nurses union that my wife is part of are useless, and at the moment won't consider striking over their pay issues, as nurses are such an essential service. I agree with them about not striking, I think that would be a bad thing to do, but it is galling when you see oil workers, firemen, posties etc. striking and getting exactly what they want when nurses work away quietly, and get messed around as much as they do.

25-06-2008, 07:33 PM
It's the laws of supply and demand that dictate what people earn. But it doesn't mean we have to be happy with the end results.

Nope we could always let the government decide instead........:wink: