View Full Version : The Shell Strike

goosano
13-06-2008, 12:17 PM
Does anyone have sympathy for the strikers? I can't say I do

I couldn't believe that they were already on £36K and have rejected pay rises of 7.6% and 6% this year and next to take them to £41K-for a driving job that does admittedly have special requirements at either end. Think what nurses,police and firemen earn compared to this. No wonder their spokesmen would not discuss pay and percentages on the TV interview. They argue that Shell can afford higher wages given their large profits and yet they are not employed by Shell

Is their picketing of oil refineries not secondary picketing and therefore illegal?

I suspect the public has little sympathy for them particularly if their action leads to disruption of non-Shell supplies

Your thoughts?

LiverpoolHibs
13-06-2008, 12:31 PM
I'd have a bit more sympathy if they hadn't acted as they did during the miner's strike.

13-06-2008, 01:47 PM
OIL STRIKE!!!

time to go and panic buy again :panic:

Sergio sledge
13-06-2008, 02:11 PM
Does anyone have sympathy for the strikers? I can't say I do

I couldn't believe that they were already on £36K and have rejected pay rises of 7.6% and 6% this year and next to take them to £41K-for a driving job that does admittedly have special requirements at either end. Think what nurses,police and firemen earn compared to this. No wonder their spokesmen would not discuss pay and percentages on the TV interview. They argue that Shell can afford higher wages given their large profits and yet they are not employed by Shell

Is their picketing of oil refineries not secondary picketing and therefore illegal?

I suspect the public has little sympathy for them particularly if their action leads to disruption of non-Shell supplies

Your thoughts?

I have a little sympathy for them, as they haven't had any pay rise for something like 15 years, so in real terms they are on less than they were on 15 years ago.

That said, they do seem to earn a pretty good salary for what is essentially just a lorry driver. Not that I'm trying to put down lorry drivers, but my wife who is a nurse in A&E earns just over half that amount, which seems silly for what is IMHO a much more skilled job, and is more important in terms of life and death. But then, I guess we are paid what our employers are willing to pay us and if Shell (or whoever employs the tanker drivers) can afford to pay them that much then fair enough. I guess I don't really have a huge amount of sympathy for them then......:wink:

13-06-2008, 10:03 PM
When in doubt, never have sympathy with strikers.

A couple of exceptions obviously, but it generally works for me.

The old "pay and conditions" justification is usually a cracker, and a pile of nonsense, as in this case.

LiverpoolHibs
13-06-2008, 11:42 PM

The old "pay and conditions" justification is usually a cracker, and a pile of nonsense, as in this case.
Oh dear.

NaeTechnoHibby
14-06-2008, 01:20 AM
Gawd! I wish I could strike, sometimes :boo hoo:

I dinnae have that luxury, or some of you widnae get tae sell yer hoose :wink:

Oh! Fir a pay rise......................I wish :boo hoo:

Hank Schrader
14-06-2008, 01:50 AM
OIL STRIKE!!!

time to go and panic buy again :panic:

The last forecourt scramble in April was generated by nothing more than media frenzy. If everyone had kept calm hardly any of the pumps would have run dry.

14-06-2008, 06:14 AM
Aye, if I went on strike I would be on the next plane home jobless. Having said that, my next door neighbour is one of the union leaders so got to sympathize as he is my mate!!!! However we both obviously live in penury so give them a rise. He might buy me a beer one day:greengrin

To say it is not a very skilled job is actually quite wrong, also a lot of responsibility. Having worked on tankers a wee bitty bigger than these ones, you do not want a cargo of aviation fuel being treated wrongly.

They used to work for Shell until they got farmed out to another company IIRC.

GreenandGlaikit
14-06-2008, 09:05 AM

[u]The old "pay and conditions" justification[/b] is usually a cracker, and a pile of nonsense, as in this case.

"Pay & Conditions" is why people attend work in the first place. Why the fe*ck else would they spend 40 hours plus a week engaged in some (usually) deeply uninteresting activity? :rolleyes:

Its funny how Oil-Company Executives never feel the need tae Strike, though. :wink:

bobbyhibs1983
14-06-2008, 09:26 AM
As somone said i think they have not had a pay rise for 15years but on the other hand how many ppl earn 36k(or 41k with the pay rise)?

Im not sure what risks are taken when driving these lorries but 36k does seem a large amount of money,As a few posters have said nurses, police and firmen dont get paid too much and may i say our brave servicemen and woman in places like Iraq and that do a huge dangeraous job and are paid very poorly