View Full Version : New York

LustForLeith
12-06-2008, 09:57 AM
Started a similar thread ages ago, but it's confirmed. Going to New York at the end of November, really looking forward to it. Planning on a bit of sightseeing, eating out, taking in some sport. Any recommednations, perhaps not stnadard touristy stuff would be greatly appricated. Likewise, things that should be avoided or are over hyped.

(Hoping that Hatton has his next fight when I'm over there! Bonus!)

12-06-2008, 02:40 PM
Started a similar thread ages ago, but it's confirmed. Going to New York at the end of November, really looking forward to it. Planning on a bit of sightseeing, eating out, taking in some sport. Any recommednations, perhaps not stnadard touristy stuff would be greatly appricated. Likewise, things that should be avoided or are over hyped.

(Hoping that Hatton has his next fight when I'm over there! Bonus!)

Where are you staying? im going over in october and also looking for the same info, im staying the east village on manhattan i think at a guest housey type place, it looks good and i intend on taking in some sports, i think it should be ice hockey, yank football, and basketball season however baseball season will have just ended or be ending.

fergal7
12-06-2008, 02:57 PM
Was there a few weeks ago but only for 3 days. Be prepared for lots of walking, people,traffic, car horns etc.

Very busy and noisy place but a really good vibe.

Lots of bars in Manhattan but try The Subway Inn near Bloomingdales. Quite possibly the dingiest bar I have ever been in. Some characters in there I can tell you! Have a cocktail called "Adios Mutherf*kka". 7 shots in it and only $10. You will know when you've had one.

A place in Greenwich Village called BLT, have a Kobe Burger, well worth $16.

Jack Dempseys Bar was good, we saw Celtic v Hibs in there.

My mate who has been before wanted to take me to this Irish Bar that had loads of Hibs memorabilia on the walls. He could not remember the name or where it was but was sure he could find it. We walked for ages in the pi$$ing rain only to find out it was knocked down 18 months ago!

Madison Square for Knicks games.

Great place and certainly lives up to the hype.

Tazio
12-06-2008, 03:57 PM
Lots of bars in Manhattan but try The Subway Inn near Bloomingdales. Quite possibly the dingiest bar I have ever been in.

One of my favourite pubs anywhere. A good one to try is Jimmys Corner Bar just off 5th at 42nd-ish.

LustForLeith
12-06-2008, 04:49 PM
Was there a few weeks ago but only for 3 days. Be prepared for lots of walking, people,traffic, car horns etc.

Very busy and noisy place but a really good vibe.

Lots of bars in Manhattan but try The Subway Inn near Bloomingdales. Quite possibly the dingiest bar I have ever been in. Some characters in there I can tell you! Have a cocktail called "Adios Mutherf*kka". 7 shots in it and only $10. You will know when you've had one.

A place in Greenwich Village called BLT, have a Kobe Burger, well worth $16.

Jack Dempseys Bar was good, we saw Celtic v Hibs in there.

My mate who has been before wanted to take me to this Irish Bar that had loads of Hibs memorabilia on the walls. He could not remember the name or where it was but was sure he could find it. We walked for ages in the pi$$ing rain only to find out it was knocked down 18 months ago!

Madison Square for Knicks games.

Great place and certainly lives up to the hype.

Staying at the Radisson at Manhatten. Keeping an eye out for this place!

Quite fancy a sporting event, depending on whats on at the end of November.

12-06-2008, 05:56 PM
One of my favourite pubs anywhere. A good one to try is Jimmys Corner Bar just off 5th at 42nd-ish.

:agree: Had a great night in there Tazio listening to Jimmys stories bout when he was Alis trainer. Some fantastic boxing memorabilia from through the ages from Floyd Patterson to Ricky Hatton. Plus the cheapest drinks in the Times Square area :thumbsup:

12-06-2008, 09:28 PM
The only thing I liked about NY when I went there was the shops.
Think my 2 weeks on the west coast before going there put me off. The west coasters are so laid back their almost horizontal!!
Found the staff working in shops in NY very brash, obnoxious and downright rude (especially in MacD's).
Would only go back for the shopping, to be honest and not much else.

fergal7
12-06-2008, 09:58 PM
Think my 2 weeks on the west coast before going there put me off. The west coasters are so laid back their almost horizontal!!
Found the staff working in shops in NY very brash, obnoxious and downright rude (especially in MacD's).

Dead right but thats New York. I'd be dissapointed if it was any different!

Pheona
12-06-2008, 10:08 PM

Hockey at The Gardens - we went it was great! booked the tickets before we left though.

Then after that a wee beer or three in Jack Dempseys down the road.

12-06-2008, 10:25 PM
Just back from a stint in New York on Monday there - was good, but unbearably warm.

This will sound strange, and perhaps a tad morbid, but make sure you visit Ground Zero - a very humbling experience - I flew over NY for the first time since 9/11 happened (the last time was April, 2001) and it was a harrowing site.

I'd avoid taking a day trip to see the Statue of Liberty - good to see from the distance, but nothing really at it, per se. Times Square is similar, good to pass by, but not to spend much time in - very busy place.

If it's still standing when you're there, try and see Yankee stadium - much as I hate them, their stadium is impressive and soon to be removed - a lot of history there.

capitals_finest
12-06-2008, 11:34 PM
Love new york!

Like people have said avoid the statue of liberty. It is **** and some bitch of a police woman took my hibs flag off me in the security bit :grr:. I was almost arrested as i kicked up a fuss about it! Statue of liberty my erse.

The designer shops are decent but most of the stuff is about the same price. Abercrombie shop is like a night club which is cool. Make sure you go for a walk about central park. It is surreal being in amongst trees and no traffic etc surrounded by big **** off sky scrapers quite romantic as well if you re going with a lady friend :wink:.

13-06-2008, 12:23 AM
Dead right but thats New York. I'd be dissapointed if it was any different!

Yep, I liked that. Frankly, it's what I expected. Would you go to Paris and expect the taxi drivers to be all sweetness and light?? (here's a clue, you're in for a serious dissappointment if you do!!!)

New York itself is incredible. I was only there for a night or two, but could have stayed a week and never got bored, and that's just on the Manhattan Island.

Wall Street is crazy, just off it is a relatively run-down sort of Italian neighbourhood street, you're walking up that then suddenly BAM!! The world's most (or if not 2nd) most important Stock Exchange is just sitting there in front of you.

Also, investigate the possibility of a sunset cruise up the Hudson (is it the Hudson - my geography is seriously dicky) River. New York at night is even more captivating then New York at day.

PC Stamp
13-06-2008, 08:54 AM
November ... take a warm jacket and a pair of gloves cos it'll be freezing!

Sports ... if there isn't a NHL ice hockey game on at MSG, remember that Newark is a 15 minute train ride from NY Penn Station and you can go watch the New Jersey Devils. The Prudential Centre Arena is a 2 minute walk from Newark Penn Station.

There's also the New York Islanders for NHL on Long Island but it's a nuisance to get to.

If you do want to see the Statue of Liberty then don't do the expensive Liberty Island boat trip. Instead go to the Staten Island ferry terminal and take the free ferry to Staten Island. You'll get a magnificent view of the Statue of Liberty. At the other end you can grab a bite to eat over on Staten Island or just go out the exit door and turn round and jump straight on again for the return trip.

As lyonhibs says, NYC is superb at night. It's worth doing the nightime Gray LIne bus tour.

LustForLeith
13-06-2008, 11:38 AM
November ... take a warm jacket and a pair of gloves cos it'll be freezing!

Sports ... if there isn't a NHL ice hockey game on at MSG, remember that Newark is a 15 minute train ride from NY Penn Station and you can go watch the New Jersey Devils. The Prudential Centre Arena is a 2 minute walk from Newark Penn Station.

There's also the New York Islanders for NHL on Long Island but it's a nuisance to get to.

If you do want to see the Statue of Liberty then don't do the expensive Liberty Island boat trip. Instead go to the Staten Island ferry terminal and take the free ferry to Staten Island. You'll get a magnificent view of the Statue of Liberty. At the other end you can grab a bite to eat over on Staten Island or just go out the exit door and turn round and jump straight on again for the return trip.

As lyonhibs says, NYC is superb at night. It's worth doing the nightime Gray LIne bus tour.

Cheers mate, this is the sort of stuff I'm looking for. Quite fancy taking in a sporting event (hope it's the Hatton fight if that happens!). Heard that Woodbury Common is a good place to go as well for shopping

Zimmy
13-06-2008, 02:51 PM
Cheers mate, this is the sort of stuff I'm looking for. Quite fancy taking in a sporting event (hope it's the Hatton fight if that happens!). Heard that Woodbury Common is a good place to go as well for shopping

Woodbury is great, more so if you like Ralph Lauren gear they give it away, Macy's is different class too, be sure to get a visitors discount card. Might see you there we're going the first week in December.:thumbsup:

LustForLeith
13-06-2008, 03:56 PM
Woodbury is great, more so if you like Ralph Lauren gear they give it away, Macy's is different class too, be sure to get a visitors discount card. Might see you there we're going the first week in December.:thumbsup:

Think I'm there at the end of November. But if theres 7 shots in a glass for $10, may be there longer!

14-06-2008, 04:08 PM
If you're new to NYC and only have a short time, i'd say head for 42 street at ninth ave, and take the Circle 42 boat. It completely circles Manhattan, up the Hudson and down the east, and gives the best views of the city and takes in most of the sights. Takes about an hour and there's a bar on the boat for a relaxed drink.

Take a subway up to the Bronx for a Yankees game at Yankee Stadium, which is being torn down soon to make way for the new one their building over the road. Think this is the last season at the old place. If you can't get a ticket there are plenty great local bars to watch the game.

Agree with the chaps about Jimmy's Corner Bar. It's a remnant of the old Times Square, which is sadly now a sterile Disney type experience compared to the wonderful (if dangerous) sleeze of the Eighties.

The Lower East side (particularly Avenue B) is the best area for bars with character. My favourite new York spot is the rooftop bar at the Gramercy Park hotel. For a different experience take the subway to Lexington 125 and visit Harlem's famous Lennox Lounge. A wealthy boxing promoter client took me there a few months ago.

14-06-2008, 06:02 PM
you can buy a ticket/pass from vending m/cs in the underground/central station, it lasts a week. but its well worth it,you can use it on tubes/buses
try macsorleys[oldest bar in NY]spit+sawdust, but very good
im off fer at the trades fer 10 days
will be good to take my shorts instead of me thermals
a warning to all who want to go in november to march
ITS BLOODY COLD, REMEMBER GLOVES SCARVES,HATS,HOT WATER BOTTLES
but hey its a great city!!!!!!!!!!!
they named it twice
hb

14-06-2008, 07:53 PM
If you're new to NYC and only have a short time, i'd say head for 42 street at ninth ave, and take the Circle 42 boat. It completely circles Manhattan, up the Hudson and down the east, and gives the best views of the city and takes in most of the sights. Takes about an hour and there's a bar on the boat for a relaxed drink.

Take a subway up to the Bronx for a Yankees game at Yankee Stadium, which is being torn down soon to make way for the new one their building over the road. Think this is the last season at the old place. If you can't get a ticket there are plenty great local bars to watch the game.

Agree with the chaps about Jimmy's Corner Bar. It's a remnant of the old Times Square, which is sadly now a sterile Disney type experience compared to the wonderful (if dangerous) sleeze of the Eighties.

The Lower East side (particularly Avenue B) is the best area for bars with character. My favourite new York spot is the rooftop bar at the Gramercy Park hotel. For a different experience take the subway to Lexington 125 and visit Harlem's famous Lennox Lounge. A wealthy boxing promoter client took me there a few months ago.

That's the one. Fantastic boat trip :agree::agree:

Baldy
14-06-2008, 08:27 PM

Woodbury Common is 40 dollars on the bus which leaves from the NY Transit bus station on 34th street for that you will get a discount booklet which I alone saved in excess of 300 dollars at the outlet with when I was there in November.

the night time tour is great but if you plan on doing all the touristy stiff checkout newyorkpass.com there are discount weeks alot of the time, so don't buy it just yet

as for sports NHL may be on at the time your there, Baseball season will be over and NFL is at Giants stadium which there are supporters buses to which again leave at the NYT bus staion.

Basketball .. there will be loads of Basketball whilst you are there, NCAA & school ball will have games at MSG and at Brooklyn Uni (take the subway) and the Knics play at MSG aswell ... the NJ Nets play 20 mins away at the IZOD arena (formerly continental airlines arena) in Newark, again the buses leave from NYT and are again about 8 Dollars return.

15-06-2008, 07:52 PM
Where are you staying? im going over in october and also looking for the same info, im staying the east village on manhattan i think at a guest housey type place, it looks good and i intend on taking in some sports, i think it should be ice hockey, yank football, and basketball season however baseball season will have just ended or be ending.

I'm going in October too, the 17th.

What hotel/guest house did you book?

I'm considering this one (http://www.thepodhotel.com/) although Cliff recommended the Milford Plaza.

Tazio
16-06-2008, 04:17 AM

I'm considering this one (http://www.thepodhotel.com/) although Cliff recommended the Milford Plaza.

I stayed in the Pod a few weeks ago. Pretty funky place with good clean rooms. But there is a reason it is called Pod. The rooms are pretty small but very well designed with flat screen tellys and iPod docks. If you are like me and look for nothing more than a good shower and a comfy bed it is perfect. It is in a good location as well on a nice quite part of 51st Street.

sg7nil
16-06-2008, 11:32 AM
Does anyone recommend the indoor American football (Arena ball I think it's called).. what dates does the season run?

I think the wife and I will be popping over some time in the next few months, so the suggestions on here should come in handy.

18-06-2008, 11:08 AM

Aye i saw that pod place and nearly booked it but my mrs fancied somewhere different here is the link to where i am staying:

http://www.bedandcoffee.com/

it was pretty cheap, has good reviews in tripadvisor and seems to have a cool atmosphere bit like a hostel i suppose but with your own room, in a normal neighborhood form what i can tell as well so not smack in the middle of tourist land.

23-06-2008, 08:05 AM

Exactly how I'd sum it up Except you missed out that it's absolutely minging. I like you, had beenin the west for 2 weeks (Vegas and Peonix) and couldn't wait to leave New Yorkfrom the minute we got there.

23-06-2008, 08:50 PM
I stayed in the Pod a few weeks ago. Pretty funky place with good clean rooms. But there is a reason it is called Pod. The rooms are pretty small but very well designed with flat screen tellys and iPod docks. If you are like me and look for nothing more than a good shower and a comfy bed it is perfect. It is in a good location as well on a nice quite part of 51st Street.

This is where I stayed many moons ago but it was then called the Pickwick Arms Hotel so has obviously been done up. Found the rooms really small (probably why they have renamed it "the Pod") especially after 2 weeks spent in double rooms in Chicago and Los Angeles.
Location was excellent, between 2nd and 3rd Avenue with a 24-hour Macdonalds at the top of the road. If you're just looking for a place to lay your head while your there,then this would be a good place to try. :wink:

23-06-2008, 08:51 PM
Exactly how I'd sum it up Except you missed out that it's absolutely minging. I like you, had beenin the west for 2 weeks (Vegas and Peonix) and couldn't wait to leave New Yorkfrom the minute we got there.
Even Chicago folk are nicer than the NY lot. IMO they have a serious chip on their shoulder, felt like I was doing them a favour being in their shop. MacD's drove me nuts having to ask for hot tea all the time!!! :grr:

Zimmy
24-06-2008, 05:53 PM
Even Chicago folk are nicer than the NY lot. IMO they have a serious chip on their shoulder, felt like I was doing them a favour being in their shop. MacD's drove me nuts having to ask for hot tea all the time!!! :grr:

With all the great eating places in New York did you really go to a MacDonalds ?

24-06-2008, 08:36 PM
With all the great eating places in New York did you really go to a MacDonalds ?
I did at 3 o'clock in the morning on the way home from a nite oot and for my breakfast most mornings!! :wink:
It was quite a while ago when I went to the States and I was on a bit of a budget then and also not as refined as I am now to the finer things in life!!
Going to MacDonald's, Burger Kings, Wendys, Taco Bells was a novelty to me and I did this mostly for lunch. You have to understand, this was when Macdonalds over here sold burgers and nothing but burgers where in the USA there were into salad bars etc etc.

24-06-2008, 10:53 PM
Newark is a 15 minute train ride from NY Penn Station and you can go watch the New Jersey Devils. The Prudential Centre Arena is a 2 minute walk from Newark Penn Station.

It's actually a 20 minute walk but there are shuttle bus's at the train station to the Prudential which are free. I'd recommend anyone going gets on those shuttle bus's- I walked and it was a slightly nervy experience at times!

I'd recomment the Devils over the Rangers as far as the matchnight experience goes-also easier to get tickets. Much easier! Madison Square Gardens is worth going to though, just for the history.

Also got to agree with those who love the obnoxious New Yorkers! They're not all like that of course but the vast majority are loud and quite often eccentric. See it as part of the experience- even the underground can get good fun with some of the loonies on the trains.

Best city in the world.

Argylehibby
26-06-2008, 11:41 AM
[QUOTE=Hibbyradge;1642686]I'm going in October too, the 17th.

QUOTE]

Im heading there with the Family on the 18th. I booked an apartment which worked out cheaper than a couple of rooms at a half decent hotel. Only downside to the trip is the derby match is at ER that weekend :brickwall

26-06-2008, 12:43 PM

Should be American football and Ice hockey, both out at Giants Stadium I think.