View Full Version : Violent video games, do they make people raving radges?

31-05-2008, 08:25 AM
I think a few people can be influenced by these games. That for me is reason enough to have a look at some form of restrictions. If it causes one radge to go get his dad's pump action, his mum's long trench coat and then shout "here's Jacky" as he blasts his way through the 5th form, then that's one radge to many.

Your thoughts?

31-05-2008, 08:36 AM
I think a few people can be influenced by these games. That for me is reason enough to have a look at some form of restrictions. If it causes one radge to go get his dad's pump action, his mum's long trench coat and then shout "here's Jacky" as he blasts his way through the 5th form, then that's one radge to many.

Your thoughts?

Opinions eh.....:greengrin

The games have been certificated correctly....it's up to the shops that sell them to be stricter with their ID'ing....

Grand Theft Auto is an 18 and that's spot on....
Manhunt 2 is an 18 (and that has won it's appeal to be released because as I said on the other thread, the judges saw a bit of common sense)

Yes there are perhaps a few oddballs that walk into their school and go on shooting sprees killing innoncent people....but to blame it solely on gaming is a bit of a joke....especially when there's so many movies that are closer to real-life than video games

31-05-2008, 08:43 AM
Opinions eh.....:greengrin

The games have been certificated correctly....it's up to the shops that sell them to be stricter with their ID'ing....

Grand Theft Auto is an 18 and that's spot on....
Manhunt 2 is an 18 (and that has won it's appeal to be released because as I said on the other thread, the judges saw a bit of common sense)

Yes there are perhaps a few oddballs that walk into their school and go on shooting sprees killing innoncent people....but to blame it solely on gaming is a bit of a joke....especially when there's so many movies that are closer to real-life than video games

Good point :greengrin

Difference is that with the movies you tend to be a voyeur, where as with games you're involved with the carnage and can effect its out come and even gain a certain feeling of power .

31-05-2008, 08:47 AM
Good point :greengrin

Difference is that with the movies you tend to be a voyeur, where as with games you're involved with the carnage and can effect its out come and even gain a certain feeling of power .

When I was playing GTA4, I never felt any power lol

I did howver feel the power when playing High Velocity Bowling on the PS3 (it's like the Wii, in the fact you have to use the bowl the controller in the way you would with a ball....I felt like a powerful maniac :greengrin)

HibsMax
31-05-2008, 03:56 PM
In my uninformed opinion, video games don't make people commit violent crime. I've been playing video games for over 25 years and I've yet to feel the urge to carry out in real life what I have been doing in video games.

But then everyone is different. Some people may be affected. Some people also hear voices in their heads. The problem is with the people themselves, not the products be it video games, movies, music, etc.

It may be possible that a video game gives a person the idea to commit a crime in a certain fashion but the urge to commit the crime in the first place comes from somewhere else.

31-05-2008, 04:12 PM
If someone is tempted to go on a killing spree after playing a violent video game then they must have some issues in the first place.

Games are certified in the same way as films, if an under 18 plays a violent video game it comes down to parental responsibility in the same way under age drinking does.

I play video games regularly and have never once felt the urge to kill anyone, i'm not even sure any murders have been as a result of people playing games, this seems to be a good headline maker for some newspapers as opposed to hard fact.

The emphasis should be on the word game, if you can't differentiate between what is acceptable in a video game and what is normal behaviour then frankly i think you have far deeper lying mental health issues that need urgent treatment.

alex plode
31-05-2008, 05:46 PM
Don't think violent video games make people radges; but they do make people socially inept and fat.

Austinho
31-05-2008, 06:20 PM
I'm not much of a gamer myself, but a few years ago I went through a phase of playing Grand Theft Auto - Vice City for hours and hours on end. Went out straight after playing it once and for a split second thought I could just open a car door and drive off in it. Obviously I didn't actually do it, but I was still in the frame of mind of the game for a split second. So if something like that can happen to me, I worry about people that play them constantly, or have issues themselves.

31-05-2008, 06:27 PM
I'm not much of a gamer myself, but a few years ago I went through a phase of playing Grand Theft Auto - Vice City for hours and hours on end. Went out straight after playing it once and for a split second thought I could just open a car door and drive off in it. Obviously I didn't actually do it, but I was still in the frame of mind of the game for a split second. So if something like that can happen to me, I worry about people that play them constantly, or have issues themselves.

Really? Maybe you have underlying issues you should be worried about :greengrin

HibsMax
31-05-2008, 07:54 PM
Don't think violent video games make people radges; but they do make people socially inept and fat.

hmmmmmmmm. I'm about 5'10'' and 164lbs. That's not fat. Hold on, I am social basket case so you're half right. ;)

LustForLeith
01-06-2008, 06:50 AM
Anyone rememer the case about GTA San Andrenas? Sure it was banned in Austrailia, but only becasue the PC version had a cheat where you could actually have sex with someone, depending on what buttons you pressed depended on what you did. If this is the case it was okay to punch, stab, kick or shot a woman, but you couldn't have sex with her?

Might be wrong, think if thats the case somethigns not right!

01-06-2008, 09:24 AM

Utter bollox!

I don't know anybody that's inept or fat and I know a lot of people who like video games :agree:

01-06-2008, 09:26 AM
Anyone rememer the case about GTA San Andrenas? Sure it was banned in Austrailia, but only becasue the PC version had a cheat where you could actually have sex with someone, depending on what buttons you pressed depended on what you did. If this is the case it was okay to punch, stab, kick or shot a woman, but you couldn't have sex with her?

Might be wrong, think if thats the case somethigns not right!

Aye, someone hacked the game and got the code to show the sex scenes....Rockstar had buried it deep in the game and nobody was meant to find it :greengrin

Chuckie
01-06-2008, 11:12 AM

I used to play Streetfighter 2 a fat lot.. and I used to do Hadoukens at people.. :cool2:

AllyF
01-06-2008, 06:07 PM

I had a similar experience after a month or so addicted to Vice City as well.
I went out in the car with my Mum and had a sudden urge to take the wheel and crash the car. Not good.

Jay
01-06-2008, 06:30 PM
I went out in the car with my Mum and had a sudden urge to take the wheel and crash the car. Not good.

When my oldest was 10 he asked his grandad to buy him GTA for the playstation at my parents house - I knew nothing about it. His attitude was really bad for a few days and I mentioned it to my dad saying he was like a wee ned. My dad said to tell him he would take his game back if he didn't behave - thats when I found out he had it. I took it back to the shop.

Now most 10 year olds have a bit of an attitiude at times and maybe it was just coincidence but it makes you think eh? He did get better once he stopped playing it.

They do have driving games with police chases etc but none that go as far as GTA went.

02-06-2008, 08:50 AM
When my oldest was 10 he asked his grandad to buy him GTA for the playstation at my parents house - I knew nothing about it. His attitude was really bad for a few days and I mentioned it to my dad saying he was like a wee ned. My dad said to tell him he would take his game back if he didn't behave - thats when I found out he had it. I took it back to the shop.

Now most 10 year olds have a bit of an attitiude at times and maybe it was just coincidence but it makes you think eh? He did get better once he stopped playing it.

They do have driving games with police chases etc but none that go as far as GTA went.

Pretty much much my experience with kids and games :agree:

If kids think something is cool then of course they're going to copy it to a certain extent to be cool themselves.

02-06-2008, 09:17 AM

Its not meant for kids though, you done the right thing taking it back. Its rated 18 for a reason. I would not let a child play something like GTA.

As for games making people inept and fat thats a total un truth.

When i was 19 i started to play online games, SOCOM on ps2, i ended up playing the same group of folk all the time, ive now met half of them in real life and have been out for a few drinks etc. I played an online MMORPG and happened to meet a guy from glasgow on it who is now one of my best mates. I havent got fat, i didnt fail uni, i got a good job and i still have all my friends and fiancee.

I play games a lot of the time, but its a hobby, just as some folk go down the pub all the time i play games, when someone else is watching hours of tv i tend to play games rather than watch corrie or some other such rubbish. But then i dont go about saying TV ruins people lifes makes them fat and socially inept.

alex plode
02-06-2008, 10:16 AM
Its not meant for kids though, you done the right thing taking it back. Its rated 18 for a reason. I would not let a child play something like GTA.

When i was 19 i started to play online games, SOCOM on ps2, i ended up playing the same group of folk all the time, ive now met half of them in real life and have been out for a few drinks etc. I played an online MMORPG and happened to meet a guy from glasgow on it who is now one of my best mates. I havent got fat, i didnt fail uni, i got a good job and i still have all my friends and fiancee.

I play games a lot of the time, but its a hobby, just as some folk go down the pub all the time i play games, when someone else is watching hours of tv i tend to play games rather than watch corrie or some other such rubbish. But then i dont go about saying TV ruins people lifes makes them fat and socially inept.

To be fair, you're a relative newcomer, having played for only 6 years.

Another 6 years of solid gaming should see the pounds pile on, and the conversation clam up :wink:

02-06-2008, 10:26 AM
To be fair, you're a relative newcomer, having played for only 6 years.

Another 6 years of solid gaming should see the pounds pile on, and the conversation clam up :wink:

lol im sure i will become a big fat chud in 6 years ill post some pictures up when it happens.

Thats 6 years of online gaming, i played other stuff before that such as street fighter 2, ISS, sensi and all those classics!

The problem is people who have the addictive personality they will get addicted to anything.

And to be fair i do know a fair few fat guys that play games but theres just as many thin ones aswell!

alex plode
02-06-2008, 12:35 PM
lol im sure i will become a big fat chud in 6 years ill post some pictures up when it happens.

Thats 6 years of online gaming, i played other stuff before that such as street fighter 2, ISS, sensi and all those classics!

The problem is people who have the addictive personality they will get addicted to anything.

And to be fair i do know a fair few fat guys that play games but theres just as many thin ones aswell!

lol...of course I was genaralising and these games are harmless if controlled properly.
Good point about addictive personalities.
I do worry about my kids spending too much time in front of a PC or DS. We're becoming an obese nation (2nd fattest in Europe) of poor communicators. Reckon the relatively recent trend of gaming has a lot to do with this.

Jay
02-06-2008, 12:56 PM

But you are probably a rational level person to start with. I think that these games do encourage people wth violent tendancies anyway, people who are unstable in the first place.

I dont know what can be done about it now they are out there but I definitely think they have an impact on society and can be attributed to some of the violence we see on the news.

02-06-2008, 01:02 PM
But you are probably a rational level person to start with. I think that these games do encourage people wth violent tendancies anyway, people who are unstable in the first place.

I dont know what can be done about it now they are out there but I definitely think they have an impact on society and can be attributed to some of the violence we see on the news.

Aye i agree, its the same with movies they affect 'crazy' folk into trying to copy them too. I really do think that all that needs done with games is that the classification is actually enforced by the retailers, too often do kids buy these games and adults buy them for kids without knowing what they are, basically the people need educated.

02-06-2008, 01:06 PM
lol...of course I was genaralising and these games are harmless if controlled properly.
Good point about addictive personalities.
I do worry about my kids spending too much time in front of a PC or DS. We're becoming an obese nation (2nd fattest in Europe) of poor communicators. Reckon the relatively recent trend of gaming has a lot to do with this.

Other things contribute too other than games though, in the same time frame we have had these advancements ( if you call them that ):

Hundreds of free TV channels
The internet
Downloadable illegal games movies etc
PCs are cheaper
Junk food is cheaper
Mcdondalds and other fast food chains are everywhere and cheaper then ever before
Parents reluctant to cook for there children
Parents reluctant to take there kids to sports teams etc

When i was a kid which wasnt that long ago, i did watch tv and i did play games but my mum cooked dinner every night and we were not rich or well off at all, i never got a mcdonalds at all maybe once or twice a year, i played football for the school, BBs, normal football team, played basketball for the school and another team, done some athletics, pretty much all because my dad and mum gave up there spare time to take me to all those things and encourage me.

You cant blame just games its a combination of many things.

02-06-2008, 07:46 PM
I'm confused with this GTA thing...is it just me that thinks it is hardly the most violent game they have played??

Just dont believe playing any game or listening to a certain band or watching violent movies make people into killers....if they did the world would be full of crazed ipod wearing, PS3 t-shirt clad murderers.

Not saying that on the odd occasion it might give an already deranged person certian ideas but agree with the previous poster re the huge amount of sources for all types of imagery that might prompt some into unlawful acts.

Wonder what the excuse of the week was when murders happened before video games? Media led nonsense that fits certain peoples agendas that has little or no fact behind it.

st stevie
06-06-2008, 03:49 AM
theres tonnes o psychological research that supports theory that violent games turn you into a radge, and also a few studies that suggest otherwise, however these ones tend to have received financial backing from major entertainment companies such as sony. i never paid a great deal o attention to this subject as playing international soccer and zaxxon on my old commodore as a kid never caused me to go out mobbin and riotin, but i did get a wee shock few years ago when my laddie who wiz 5 at the time announced he wiz goin upstairs for a bit of "gangbangin"!!!!! he had a demo ps2 disc wi an execrpt of some sort o gta game! needless to say he didnae have it for long, but he's now playing gta at the age of 9 and as of yet hasnae taken my ak-47 to school wi him!!

06-06-2008, 08:53 AM
theres tonnes o psychological research that supports theory that violent games turn you into a radge, and also a few studies that suggest otherwise, however these ones tend to have received financial backing from major entertainment companies such as sony. i never paid a great deal o attention to this subject as playing international soccer and zaxxon on my old commodore as a kid never caused me to go out mobbin and riotin, but i did get a wee shock few years ago when my laddie who wiz 5 at the time announced he wiz goin upstairs for a bit of "gangbangin"!!!!! he had a demo ps2 disc wi an execrpt of some sort o gta game! needless to say he didnae have it for long, but he's now playing gta at the age of 9 and as of yet hasnae taken my ak-47 to school wi him!!

Where are these 'tonnes o studys'?

and second bold bit - where did you make this up?

06-06-2008, 02:03 PM
If violent video games and violent music make you into a radge then what the **** was hitler playing?

Or what was Stalin listening too?

Or the romans?

Or Genghis Khan?

Or Chairman Mao?

06-06-2008, 02:04 PM
Not sure, but after playing a long game of Pacman, I felt compelled to eat my girlfriend.

Do I win a free game?

LamontHFC©
09-06-2008, 02:43 PM
Not sure, but after playing a long game of Pacman, I felt compelled to eat my girlfriend.

Do I win a free game?

st stevie
10-06-2008, 04:55 PM
slickshoes you may want to check out studies by the likes of Craig anderson maybes also try the likes of journal for personality and social psychology. bandura has been discussing links with what children observe and their aggression levels since the 60's.
and secondly i didnt make the second bit up, if you are used to reading research journals and articles you may well have noticed the "funded by" section, usually near the end and in small print, cant remember who wrote the article that stated video games didnt lead to heightened aggression but sony definitley funded the research. its the same as medication, for example, if a researcher finds out a non medical approach is just as useful for a condition you can guarantee that drug companies will throw lots of money at research which attempts to disprove the non medical theory. this sort of stuff happens all the time and to be honest most multi national companies are at it you just need to open your eyes a bit.

11-06-2008, 08:50 PM
I can safely say that I have played every Grand Theft Auto, played Manhunt, and other violent games, and I have never had the urge to go and copy any of the actions of the game. Because in a game, you kill somebody, your going to do it outside.

It's just an escuse people use if they commit a crime, blame it on somebody else so that they can plead insanity, and say they were manipulated by the game etc. Its a load of bollocks - games cannot influence people to kill othre people.

11-06-2008, 11:44 PM
Well here's something - tonight while I was doing the dishes (yes, even though I have an actual wife I did dishes:greengrin) I noticed a bloody huge spider sitting on top of one of the door frames in the kitchen.

Now, I don't much care for spiders. In fact, generally I hate the crawling wee bassas. However, over the last couple of years I have been teaching myself that arachnaphobia is illogical and have actually been getting quite good at overcoming it to the point where getting rid of a spider in the house using the old glass and bit of paper method isn't a problem. In fact, the really small spiders were just getting picked up with a bit of kitchen roll and disposed off.

Now, this fella was big. Biggest one I've seen for a while, so I finished the dishes, went into the living room, turned out the kitchen lights and shut the door, hoping he'd be gone next time I went in as basically I was too feared to deal with the bugger.

So back in the living room I put on my 360 and had a shot of the Dark Sector demo. When I went to get some juice out the fridge a half hour later I noticed that between me and the kitchen was Mr Spider.

So, I got a phone book (sorry spider fans, this is where it ends for my lodger) and "dealt" with him.

So in summary - pre-video game I was a tolerant and timid soul who didn't want to disturb a spider, post video-game I was a phone book weilding spider cruching mo-fo.

I don't know what more evidence could possibly be needed.:greengrin

12-06-2008, 08:43 AM
Well here's something - tonight while I was doing the dishes (yes, even though I have an actual wife I did dishes:greengrin) I noticed a bloody huge spider sitting on top of one of the door frames in the kitchen.

Now, I don't much care for spiders. In fact, generally I hate the crawling wee bassas. However, over the last couple of years I have been teaching myself that arachnaphobia is illogical and have actually been getting quite good at overcoming it to the point where getting rid of a spider in the house using the old glass and bit of paper method isn't a problem. In fact, the really small spiders were just getting picked up with a bit of kitchen roll and disposed off.

Now, this fella was big. Biggest one I've seen for a while, so I finished the dishes, went into the living room, turned out the kitchen lights and shut the door, hoping he'd be gone next time I went in as basically I was too feared to deal with the bugger.

So back in the living room I put on my 360 and had a shot of the Dark Sector demo. When I went to get some juice out the fridge a half hour later I noticed that between me and the kitchen was Mr Spider.

So, I got a phone book (sorry spider fans, this is where it ends for my lodger) and "dealt" with him.

So in summary - pre-video game I was a tolerant and timid soul who didn't want to disturb a spider, post video-game I was a phone book weilding spider cruching mo-fo.

I don't know what more evidence could possibly be needed.:greengrin

I rest my case:greengrin

13-06-2008, 06:35 PM
There's a shop in GTA4 called radge :greengrin

HibsMax
18-06-2008, 06:22 PM

Do I win a free game?
It all depends on your ability but I suspect your girlfriend will run out and buy you one after that.

22-06-2008, 04:11 PM

:crazy::faf:
Hope that was a joke ?

I've never felt the urge to copy anything I have played.

AllyF
22-06-2008, 07:53 PM
:crazy::faf:
Hope that was a joke ?

I've never felt the urge to copy anything I have played.

Deadly serious... its just like those times when you are standing at the platform at the train station and just want to jump out in front of the train.

22-06-2008, 08:29 PM
Deadly serious... its just like those times when you are standing at the platform at the train station and just want to jump out in front of the train.

I am worried Ally. Please do not approach me at T in the Park :wink::greengrin

22-06-2008, 08:33 PM

Know the feeling... :agree:

22-06-2008, 08:47 PM
Know the feeling... :agree:

You guys scare me :greengrin

22-06-2008, 08:48 PM
You guys scare me :greengrin

Sometimes... I scare myself :greengrin

27-06-2008, 10:21 AM
I'd be very surprised, in the same way that formula one driving games don't make people drive round the town like it was Brands Hatch. Most people can tell the difference between reality and fantasy, and to me the individuals who claim it was the game that did it are missing something - namely the radgeness was there to start with.

They said the same thing about rock n roll.