Sony W890i
Nokia 6110
Noka 6500
Motorola V9
Sony W910i
Samsung G600

Any other recommendations?

Thinking about getting that one myself.

Also thinking about changing from pay as you go to contact - any suggestions?

The cooler king
30-05-2008, 09:06 PM

k850i review (http://www.mobile-phones-uk.org.uk/sony-ericsson-k850i.htm)

Hanny
30-05-2008, 09:10 PM

Must have been a hun doing the review:

tip - buy the "Velvet Blue" model pictured and not the hideous "Luminous Green" option

One thing I can agree with, I hate touch sensitive keys.

01-06-2008, 09:26 AM

'tis a good phone :agree: of the phones offered IMO thats the best one.

I work in the t-mobile shop, will be able to get you a good deal, if you want to pm me how many minutes/text your likely to need and roughly how much your looking to spend i'll tell you what sort of deal i can do for you.

01-06-2008, 12:14 PM
I'm also on for a free upgrade.........on 3 Network.

held back as I knew the Motorola V9 was coming out - only annoyance there is no radio...:brickwall.

I thought that was exclusive to 3.......can T-Mobile deal with that??

01-06-2008, 10:13 PM
Blackberrys are the mutts nuts :agree:

Ive got a 8310 Curve and managed to get it free with a T-Mobile Flext 25 contract (£60 worth of credit each month) with unlimited email and data usage for only £30 a month.

They had never really appealed to me before but now that i have one i dont think i'll ever be going back to a normal phone its that good.......sitting at your desk at work browsing and posting on hibs.net all day without having to use the company computers and being tracked is a godsend :thumbsup:

01-06-2008, 10:18 PM
LG VIEWTY, quality phone :agree:

01-06-2008, 11:12 PM
Had the sONY 910I but after 3 phones in 3 weeks I decided it was **** and went for the 890i which is a great wee phone, only downside is its so bloody thin I keep on thinking I have dropped it :greengrin

Hibbie_Cameron
02-06-2008, 03:12 PM
Im due an upgrade too, coming to the end of an 18 month contract with 3.

Anyone able to answer a few questions i may have to save me going into town?

02-06-2008, 09:51 PM
Blackberrys are the mutts nuts :agree:

Ive got a 8310 Curve and managed to get it free with a T-Mobile Flext 25 contract (£60 worth of credit each month) with unlimited email and data usage for only £30 a month.

They had never really appealed to me before but now that i have one i dont think i'll ever be going back to a normal phone its that good.......sitting at your desk at work browsing and posting on hibs.net all day without having to use the company computers and being tracked is a godsend :thumbsup:

very intersting comments - Hibs.net is blocked by my work firewall so at times I feel lost without access -especially when we have nowhere to go to in the area to kill the old lunch hour.

I considered the sheer bulkiness of the blackberry to be rather offputting - - enthusiasm aside is that right?

3 are hassling me to upgrade -the usual speil, but I've told them I have no complaints but am considering my options(Willie Mackay ain't so bad afterall...:duck:).

Might be wrth considering from your viewpoints though. Call me daft but does it have a radio??

02-06-2008, 11:03 PM
very intersting comments - Hibs.net is blocked by my work firewall so at times I feel lost without access -especially when we have nowhere to go to in the area to kill the old lunch hour.

I considered the sheer bulkiness of the blackberry to be rather offputting - - enthusiasm aside is that right?

3 are hassling me to upgrade -the usual speil, but I've told them I have no complaints but am considering my options(Willie Mackay ain't so bad afterall...:duck:).

Might be wrth considering from your viewpoints though. Call me daft but does it have a radio??

The Curve is a bit bigger than a normal phone because it has a full QWERTY keyboard on it but it aint massive by any standards, Its the same length and thinkness as a normal phone but probably about 50% wider to accomodate the keys but as a result you also get a massive (for a phone) widescreen and i dont find it to be any heavier than my old Sony Ericcsson W610I

If your put off by the size of it you can get a Pearl which is the same size as a standard phone but a bit chunkier, the downside IMO is the keyboard because it has the buttons laid out in a QWERTY format but its two letters to a button so you have to push it twice to get the second letter up like texting without the predictive writing, too much of a pain in the arse for me and the full keyboard on the curve is so much easier to use

You cant get Blackberrys on 3 so you would have to switch provider and it doesnt come with a radio although i got myself a 4gb Micro SD card and the phone has a 3.5mm socket that standard headphones fit into so its also become my new MP3 player with a bluetooth connected remote control :smug: :greengrin

If you are gonna use a phone for boring stuff like actually phoning people then a blackberry might not be for you but if you send lots of emails, texts and want to use the internet on the go then its braw (if you do buy one i recommend downloading Opera Mini 4.1 as your browser rather than the standard one as its much faster and ten times easier to use!!)

03-06-2008, 08:38 AM
I'm also on for a free upgrade.........on 3 Network.

held back as I knew the Motorola V9 was coming out - only annoyance there is no radio...:brickwall.

I thought that was exclusive to 3.......can T-Mobile deal with that??

we don't do the V9 so don't know anything about that phone mate, the motorola V series arent that popular now though so might just be that none of the other providers wanted it, thats why 3 have exclusivity on it :dunno:

would also agree with MyJo, blackberry's are cracking phones, don't use one myself but all the customers i speak to seem to think there brilliant and i cant ever remember sending even one for repair! what i would say is though if the main reason your interested in one is the internet there's probably other options that might be better value if your no fussed about the emailing side of it, i've just got the 8gig n95 and the internet on that is superb :agree:

Big_D
03-06-2008, 03:39 PM
we don't do the V9 so don't know anything about that phone mate, the motorola V series arent that popular now though so might just be that none of the other providers wanted it, thats why 3 have exclusivity on it :dunno:

would also agree with MyJo, blackberry's are cracking phones, don't use one myself but all the customers i speak to seem to think there brilliant and i cant ever remember sending even one for repair! what i would say is though if the main reason your interested in one is the internet there's probably other options that might be better value if your no fussed about the emailing side of it, i've just got the 8gig n95 and the internet on that is superb :agree:

The N95 will email just fine (as will most others) :dunno:

03-06-2008, 03:44 PM
The N95 will email just fine (as will most others) :dunno:

aye, dont think you can get the push email service for it though (well i don't think t-mobile support it, should probably find out for certain though eh :wink:) This basically means that to view emails you need to log in to your emails, where as with the blackberry they come through like a text message.

Big_D
03-06-2008, 03:49 PM
aye, dont think you can get the push email service for it though (well i don't think t-mobile support it, should probably find out for certain though eh :wink:) This basically means that to view emails you need to log in to your emails, where as with the blackberry they come through like a text message.

I'm not so sure but you could set it up like your pc to check at specified intervals , either way its only a couple of clicks .
The V9 is available on Vodafone too but when was the last time Motorola brought out anything worth buying ?

03-06-2008, 03:59 PM
I'm not so sure but you could set it up like your pc to check at specified intervals , either way its only a couple of clicks .
The V9 is available on Vodafone too but when was the last time Motorola brought out anything worth buying ?

oh i dunno.......... we sell a few of their bluetooth headsets :wink:

wouldn't touch a motorola phone myself, sold phones for about 6 years but still cannae work the things :grr: , some folk really like them though so fair play, there must be something good about them once you get used to there menus all being the wrong way round!

Big_D
03-06-2008, 04:22 PM
oh i dunno.......... we sell a few of their bluetooth headsets :wink:

!

Lol i use a Motorola bluetooth headset myself , have done for years with various phones . Motorola phones are just plain dull and haven't moved on since the V3

GhostofBolivar
03-06-2008, 07:23 PM

Have a mate who's had massive problems with one of these. Dunno if it's the phone or the provider, though. I have another who's had no difficulties with it, so make of that what you will.

I've got a G600 and (so far) have no complaints.

Hibbie_Cameron
03-06-2008, 10:20 PM
'tis a good phone :agree: of the phones offered IMO thats the best one.

I work in the t-mobile shop, will be able to get you a good deal, if you want to pm me how many minutes/text your likely to need and roughly how much your looking to spend i'll tell you what sort of deal i can do for you.

Would you agree with the review aboves criticisms of the phones keypad etc?

Very interested in this phone and thinking about getting it by the weekend if possible

04-06-2008, 07:02 PM
Would you agree with the review aboves criticisms of the phones keypad etc?

Very interested in this phone and thinking about getting it by the weekend if possible

no, think their just looking for things to moan about to be honest, the navigation key is a bit funny at first but after using it a few times its fine and the touch screen is better than most touch screen phones.

got a few mates that have the phone and they really like it

Drew Peacock
10-06-2008, 12:53 PM
I've just upgraded to this:

http://www.gsmarena.com/sony_ericsson_c902-pictures-2250.php

Looks the business. Had Sony Ericsson's and Nokias recently and the Sony's are definitely more reliable IMO.

I think Nokia have tried to cram too much software into the OP and the ease of use of their phones has suffered as a result in my opinion.

Hibbie_Cameron
11-06-2008, 10:07 PM
Got the k850i today, great phone