View Full Version : Suggest a restaurant
29-05-2008, 05:43 AM
I want to take my wife out for dinner at the weekend and I need some inspiration please.
Not Italian or burgers thanks.
I want to take my wife out for dinner at the weekend and I need some inspiration please.
Not Italian or burgers thanks.Do you like Indian D ?...if so try the fantastic Brittania Spice in Leith ...
http://aolsearch.aol.co.uk/aol/redir?src=websearch&requestId=e0ef8b5c78d0730a&clickedItemRank=1&userQuery=Brittania+Spice&clickedItemURN=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.britanniaspice.co. uk%2F&title=Britannia+%3Cb%3ESpice%3C%2Fb%3E+Restaurant+ Edinburgh+%7C+Indian%2C+Bangladeshi%2C+Nepali+%3Cb %3E...%3C%2Fb%3E&moduleId=matchingsites.jsp.M&clickedItemPageRanking=1&clickedItemPage=1&clickedItemDescription=WebResults
McSwanky
29-05-2008, 07:45 AM
Dunno if it's the sort of thing you'd be interested in, but the Taste of Edinburgh (http://www.channel4.com/life/microsites/T/taste2008/events/edinburgh/index.html) festival is on in the Meadows this weekend.
29-05-2008, 08:38 AM
Really liked Empire, a Turkish restaurant in St mary's street. Good food, reasonable price (BYOB) and a great atmosphere - especially the belly dancer.
29-05-2008, 09:12 AM
Khushies on Victoria Street. Excellent place to go. BYOB. Very lively place and most importantly of all, the food is outstanding.
fergal7
29-05-2008, 09:24 AM
Khushies on Victoria Street. Excellent place to go. BYOB. Very lively place and most importantly of all, the food is outstanding.
Have you been lately?
Been dissappointed with the food the last couple of times. Might have been unlucky but nowhere near as good as before.
alex plode
29-05-2008, 09:40 AM
Treat her to the Balmoral No1 :thumbsup:
or on a lesser budget - Blonde @ St. Leonards is always good.
29-05-2008, 09:52 AM
Fan of Thai food?
Spirit of Thai across from the Lyceum - was there on Tuesday and it's flawless! Great food, lightning quick service and a very intimate atmosphere.
derekHFC
29-05-2008, 09:55 AM
Are there any places in Leith that do a BYOB now?
Few of us looking to go out next Saturday night. We were talking about going to Khushies, but we wanted something a bit nearer to home.
Delboy4
29-05-2008, 10:33 AM
If you want something special, try Heights Restaurant at the Apex Hotel in the Grassmarket. It's a la carte food, so, not heaped plates BUT good food...! You can have the fixed menu at £22 for a three course and if you are trying to impress your other half, it over looks the castle. Never had a bad meal yet.:yum yum:
capitals_finest
29-05-2008, 07:02 PM
There is a lovely wee thai restaurant on Howe st near stockbridge. Quite expensive but the food is bang on and the people that work in there are so nice you just want to cuddle them... even the wee thai men :thumbsup:.
29-05-2008, 08:09 PM
Pompadour at the Caley Hotel.
hibee_boy
29-05-2008, 08:11 PM
expensive, but i had the best steak ive ever eaten in Tiger Lily last week. outstanding.
30-05-2008, 06:43 AM
Treat her to the Balmoral No1 :thumbsup:
or on a lesser budget - Blonde @ St. Leonards is always good.
Yes, No1 is always an enjoyable treat, Alex. Haven't been to Blonde yet but will give it a try.
sauzee=legend
30-05-2008, 06:48 AM
Mai Thai on Holyrood road is really good, been there twice in the last 2 weeks.:thumbsup:
Bobby S
30-05-2008, 06:53 AM
http://www.amber-restaurant.co.uk/ at the whisky experience - right next to the witchery - I was there last weekend and it was magic. No cheap mind.
I use this to source restaurants:
http://www.list.co.uk/eating-and-drinking/ - their hitlisted stuff is almost always very good.
30-05-2008, 07:08 AM
Dunno if it's the sort of thing you'd be interested in, but the Taste of Edinburgh (http://www.channel4.com/life/microsites/T/taste2008/events/edinburgh/index.html) festival is on in the Meadows this weekend.
I concur, went last year and it was extremely enjoyable...spent a wee bit though :cool2:
http://www.amber-restaurant.co.uk/ at the whisky experience - right next to the witchery - I was there last weekend and it was magic. No cheap mind.
I use this to source restaurants:
http://www.list.co.uk/eating-and-drinking/ - their hitlisted stuff is almost always very good.I like that source list, plenty choice & variations in there ....gonna bookmark that ..:aok:
31-05-2008, 12:15 AM
I wasn't that impressed with Tiger Lilly when I was there a couple of weeks back.
Much prefer the Lemongrass at Bruntsfield, if you like Thai - it's sublime.
The other place I like is Stac Polly on Dublin Street - there's another on Grindlay Street but I haven't been in that one yet.
31-05-2008, 09:06 AM
Because of The List recommendations, I ended up going to The New York Steam Packet.
Quirky and cheap and cheerful. :thumbsup:
The Balmoral is next on my list.
Thanks everyone.
Bobby S
02-06-2008, 07:15 AM
I like that source list, plenty choice & variations in there ....gonna bookmark that ..:aok:
The only thing I would add to that is don't let your wife/girlfriend see it otherwise you'll never be away from expensive restaurants.
The only thing I would add to that is don't let your wife/girlfriend see it otherwise you'll never be away from expensive restaurants.Aye true ..:greengrin..thing is we dont go out very often & when we do it tends to be the same places ..ok nice, but a bit repetitive ... would be good to try somewhere else...just for a change ...:greengrin
LustForLeith
02-06-2008, 01:41 PM
Anyone had food at The Vodoo Lounge yet? Quite fancy it, thougth I'd get opinin first.
shaun
03-06-2008, 11:49 AM
Mccowans Bar at fountain park was in there on friday very nice food :thumbsup:
TheBall'sRound
04-06-2008, 05:09 AM
Mccowans Bar at fountain park was in there on friday very nice food :thumbsup:
always thought that looked like a big weatherspoons. If you're going to do big franchise food you might as well walk another 50 yards and get some ribs at Old Orleans :greengrin
04-06-2008, 07:03 AM
Kubla Khans Is worth a try
A group of us went last week and sat for 4 hours eating and drinking and only paid 35 quid a head very good value in my opinion :agree:
stuartmcdee
11-06-2008, 10:01 AM
the old chain peir in trinity is well worth looking up a good choice on the menu and not over priced note it is well worth booking if you want one of the window seats for the veiw over to fife
shaun
11-06-2008, 11:02 AM
always thought that looked like a big weatherspoons. If you're going to do big franchise food you might as well walk another 50 yards and get some ribs at Old Orleans :greengrin
I wanted to go there but it was a work's night out i was out numbered by people going to McCowans bar :boo hoo:
LustForLeith
12-06-2008, 12:23 PM
Anyone been to the outsider on george iv bridge?
14-06-2008, 06:18 AM
I know there are great restaurants in Edinburgh, however, limiting yourself to the City and its environs, you are denying yourself some great restaurants within an hour's drive. Well worth it for good food!!
14-06-2008, 03:58 PM
I know there are great restaurants in Edinburgh, however, limiting yourself to the City and its environs, you are denying yourself some great restaurants within an hour's drive. Well worth it for good food!!
Not if you both like a drink with your meal and don't want to pay a fortune for a taxi it's not. :greengrin
14-06-2008, 04:45 PM
[/B]
Not if you both like a drink with your meal and don't want to pay a fortune for a taxi it's not. :greengrin
True, but if I am going to enjoy a good meal I don't neccessarily want a bevvy. Anyway, the missus drives!!!!!
come doon to the honest toun, loads of great restruants,bars,
geez i should get a joab for the tourist board
try 102, the glasshouse[expensive],or go to the ship inn great food btw
defy any one to eat 3 courses!!!!!!!!!!!!!
hb
come doon to the honest toun, loads of great restruants,bars,
geez i should get a joab for the tourist board
try 102, the glasshouse[expensive],or go to the ship inn great food btw
defy any one to eat 3 courses!!!!!!!!!!!!!
hb:hmmm:....:greengrin
21-06-2008, 03:59 PM
Not Italian or burgers thanks.
Number 3 Royal terrace is nice without breaking the bank. or Martin Wisharts for something special