View Full Version : Which Newpaper(s) do you read and why?

28-05-2008, 04:01 PM
Simple enough, which newspaper or papers do you read and why.

I generally always pick up The Guardian and The Telegraph, both are cheap at uni, contain good quality journalism and give opposing views on similar stories.

Generally always have a look at The Sun in my works staffroom for a laugh as well.

28-05-2008, 04:28 PM
Yeah, you forgot The Herald and The Scotsman.

I like the Herald and the Sunday Herald.

I dont tend to buy - just read online.

28-05-2008, 06:16 PM
Een

Hibbychick
28-05-2008, 06:34 PM
EEN :agree:

28-05-2008, 06:35 PM
Does this include online versions of the papers?

I dont but newspapers anymore I'm dead thight that way - Oh! I mean I'm saving the planet :agree:

28-05-2008, 07:07 PM
Star for the crap stories and the Scotsman/Independant for the serious stuff, bit of a contrast :greengrin

New Corrie
28-05-2008, 11:59 PM
Read the Telegraph because I like the crossword and the obituaries (generally war heroes)....I link Tabloids with Commercial Radio Stations...dare I say....for Jakeys.

GhostofBolivar
29-05-2008, 02:12 AM
The Independent - because of James Lawton, Patrick Cockburn and the mighty Robert Fisk.

29-05-2008, 07:40 AM
Where's the Scotsman?! Usually pick up a Scotsman, Robert McNeil and Hugh Reilly both very entertaining writers.

Rep of Ireland Hibee
29-05-2008, 07:42 AM
The Prague Post, as its the only paper in English here.

When I was at home I read the Irish Independent

29-05-2008, 08:03 AM
Get the Berliner Morgenpost delivered. Would love to have the Telegraph to read with my morning coffees :agree:

29-05-2008, 02:44 PM
Scotsman (mostly for the crossword) & the EEN for local stories & a laugh at the yams ...:agree:

Ally
29-05-2008, 03:04 PM
Herald.

29-05-2008, 03:39 PM
Read the Telegraph because I like the crossword and the obituaries (generally war heroes)....I link Tabloids with Commercial Radio Stations...dare I say....for Jakeys.

Uh huh.....that's a bit snobbish and very stereotypical....

So by your thinking....

You read the telegraph because you think your oh so mighty and ur a big snob :bye::bye:

blaikie
29-05-2008, 04:00 PM
Scotsman and the sun :greengrin

Ally
29-05-2008, 04:02 PM
To be fair the tabloids are *****.

29-05-2008, 04:06 PM
To be fair the tabloids are *****.

Aye, but the doesnae give his lordship to brand their readers jakies....

I read the Daily Star and I'm not ashamed to admit that, it's a quick read and helps past the time

29-05-2008, 04:13 PM
Aye, but the doesnae give his lordship to brand their readers jakies....

I read the Daily Star and I'm not ashamed to admit that, it's a quick read and helps past the timeYou mean theres more pictures ..just buy the Beano instead ffs !!!....:greengrin

(Not aimed at any particular reader nor meant to be stereotypical in any way)

29-05-2008, 04:18 PM
You mean theres more pictures ..just buy the Beano instead ffs !!!....:greengrin

(Not aimed at any particular reader nor meant to be stereotypical in any way)

Ach, the Beano went downhill ages ago....however, if they were to print Lucy Pinder and Danielle Lloyd topless most days....i'd convert :greengrin

29-05-2008, 04:26 PM
Ach, the Beano went downhill ages ago....however, if they were to print Lucy Pinder and Danielle Lloyd topless most days....i'd convert :greengrinHmmmm..:hmmm:..how much is the Star nowadays .....:whistle:

29-05-2008, 04:27 PM
Hmmmm..:hmmm:..how much is the Star nowadays .....:whistle:

25p of sheer greatness....cannae beat waiting to have a meeting or sitting in a theatre reading a Daily Star :thumbsup::thumbsup:

29-05-2008, 05:10 PM
Just as well you don't work for MORI :wink: The only two daily Edinburgh-based newspapers have been omitted...... and the "Others" are streets ahead.

29-05-2008, 05:13 PM
A. Pedant writes:-

Ahem, the pecentages add up to waaaaaaaaay over 100. I would venture that a Sun reader worked them out?:wink:

New Corrie
29-05-2008, 06:04 PM
Uh huh.....that's a bit snobbish and very stereotypical....

So by your thinking....

You read the telegraph because you think your oh so mighty and ur a big snob :bye::bye:

No, I read it because i'm interested in reading about people who made a contribution to our nation, as opposed to reading about Garry O'Connor's latest tattoos or Kris Boyd's moustache.

da-robster
29-05-2008, 06:23 PM
:cool2: (http://www.hibs.net/message/showthread.php?t=113889)http://www.hibs.net/message/showthread.php?t=113889

Scotsman and if my gran's across I'll skim the times

capitals_finest
29-05-2008, 06:42 PM
Newspapers are a waste of money and trees if you have a TV or internet access.

I watch BBC news in the morning and occasionally look at the BBC web site when at work. If i ever read a paper its the independant cos my pal at the newsagents gives me it free.

29-05-2008, 07:00 PM
No, I read it because i'm interested in reading about people who made a contribution to our nation, as opposed to reading about Garry O'Connor's latest tattoos or Kris Boyd's moustache.

Spot on:agree:

29-05-2008, 08:14 PM

Have to agree with you on this ones, Tabloids are good a for a bit of a laugh and a quick scan through. For real news and opinions then it has to be a broadsheet or a Berliner or whatever the hell size structure they go by now.

29-05-2008, 09:02 PM

I bet ur one of those guys that agree that games like Grand Theft Auto encourage violence on our streets.....I'm pretty sure the Telegraph and the Daily Mail's had articles from their 'great writers' slagging of the gaming industry

LiverpoolHibs
29-05-2008, 09:07 PM
As far as I can see the Telegraph just makes any excuse to print an underdressed, posh, young woman on the front page. A-Level - here's an attractive girl picking up her results! etc. etc.

It's more a question of what I won't read. All tabloids are **** (I'm not particularly bothered about being deemed 'snobby') obviously I make a particular point of not reading the Sun (Hillsborough, Murdoch etc.). Also the Times because of Murdoch and numerous other reasons. The Telegraph is appalling. The Independent is alright although their recent headline stuff is annoying. The Guardian is what I tend to buy although that isn't particularly good either - you do get Charlie Brooker on a Monday though!

Edit: Nearly forgot the Mail. Frankly, I'd have it closed down.

29-05-2008, 09:29 PM
I bet ur one of those guys that agree that games like Grand Theft Auto encourage violence on our streets.....I'm pretty sure the Telegraph and the Daily Mail's had articles from their 'great writers' slagging of the gaming industry

GTA doesn't encourage violence, it's a game, an outlet. BUT I pick up a NEWSpaper to read news, and be informed about current affairs etc not to be told;

Mike McCurry is a cheat- not news
Dear Deirdre (although I read it for a laugh at work)

Papers like the sun have pictures of their so called news stories and the text is always a small afterthought.

30-05-2008, 09:32 AM
The Sun and The Daily Star.

LustForLeith
30-05-2008, 09:51 AM
The Sun cause it's good!

30-05-2008, 09:55 AM
I'm very fond of the Herald, one of the last broadsheets, meaning it's so easy to hide your copy of Forum Magazine (the International Journal of Human Relations) when boarding the train.

30-05-2008, 10:14 AM
A. Pedant checking in again.

We are now running at 134% voter turnout. Either Mugabe, R., or Romanov, V., is running this particular poll.

Rod, get it sorted.

30-05-2008, 02:00 PM

Well if he's not then I am. Whats your point?:confused:

30-05-2008, 11:13 PM
I voted for Record, Sun, Star and others.

The paper I read the most is the metro because it's free and it's on the bus when I get there.

I don't buy any papers but there's usually a Record, Star, Sun or Evening news in the canteen at work so I sometimes read them on my break.

If I was to buy a paper it would probably be the Scotsman

GhostofBolivar
31-05-2008, 05:14 AM
A. Pedant checking in again.

We are now running at 134% voter turnout. Either Mugabe, R., or Romanov, V., is running this particular poll.

Rod, get it sorted.

Up to 141.03% :thumbsup:

Maybe this is what happened to all the spoiled ballots from the last election :dunno:

31-05-2008, 07:49 AM
Well if he's not then I am. Whats your point?:confused:

My point is that the "up their own erse" readers of said paper(s) have published a complete load of dross.....there's no truth in claims that gaming encourages violence...

31-05-2008, 08:16 AM
My point is that the "up their own erse" readers of said paper(s) have published a complete load of dross.....there's no truth in claims that gaming encourages violence...

Opinions eh!

I've got mine and yours is wrong :wink:

Several studies have found that playing violent video games not only increases violent thoughts but also makes others emotionally dulled to violence happening around them.

31-05-2008, 08:25 AM
Opinions eh!

I've got mine and yours is wrong :wink:

Several studies have found that playing violent video games not only increases violent thoughts but also makes others emotionally dulled to violence happening around them.

Perhaps.....but lets think about this.....if games are encouraging violence because the player acts out the brutal scenes...does that mean that anybody who's brilliant using a steering wheel on a racing game will be a sensation if they took up F1....

Or (further usage fo the mind needed here) :greengrin

Does being ***** hot at COD4 (Call Of Duty 4) mean that you'd a good recruit for the Army?

31-05-2008, 08:36 AM

Perhaps.....but lets think about this.....if games are encouraging violence because the player acts out the brutal scenes...does that mean that anybody who's brilliant using a steering wheel on a racing game will be a sensation if they took up F1....

Or (further usage fo the mind needed here) :greengrin

Does being ***** hot at COD4 (Call Of Duty 4) mean that you'd a good recruit for the Army?

Ah I see where you're coming from.

I don't think everyone would be effected by such games. However people gain their inspiration from all different weird sources and I'm sure certain individuals have gained their inspiration from such games.

Hopefully they're either sitting in a padded room with their underpants on their heads and 2 pencils up their nose or have already bitten the bullet. But who knows, maybe they're the nice guy next door who hears voices?

31-05-2008, 09:01 AM
Ah I see where you're coming from.

I don't think everyone would be effected by such games. However people gain their inspiration from all different weird sources and I'm sure certain individuals have gained their inspiration from such games.

Hopefully they're either sitting in a padded room with their underpants on their heads and 2 pencils up their nose or have already bitten the bullet. But who knows, maybe they're the nice guy next door who hears voices?

What I'd give to have a padded walls.....dinnae think I could ever get fed up of bouncing of them :greengrin

New Corrie
31-05-2008, 09:47 AM

Don't know about encouraging violence, but I do know that these games are enjoyed by sad geeks that can't get a girlfriend.:wink:

31-05-2008, 12:57 PM
Ahum..... talking of sad geeks.... I have cracked this poll-rigging thing.

If one excludes the votes from the first three options, then it all adds up to 100%.

I have a girlfriend.

31-05-2008, 02:15 PM
Don't know about encouraging violence, but I do know that these games are enjoyed by sad geeks that can't get a girlfriend.:wink:

And you know this because you are one of them????? :wink:

LiverpoolHibs
31-05-2008, 03:05 PM