View Full Version : Gang attack on MP

26-05-2008, 10:45 PM
http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/scotland/edinburgh_and_east/7419398.stm

What is the world coming to? Anne Moffat MP for east lothian out a walk along a nice coastal path on friday night gets beat up badly and mugged.

I don't like the woman but you wouldn't wish that on anybody. I live in the Partick area of Glasgow term time and I feel safer here than I do when back home in port seton:bitchy:

These ****bags will keep on doing things like this though as the polis arnae interested and they know they can get away with it.

Calvin
26-05-2008, 10:58 PM
Yeah, I was shocked but not surprised when I read that on teletext yesterday. Port Seton is the pits now, I'm nearly embarrassed to hail from there half the time.

As much as Anne and I disagree politically, she represents her constituents quite well.

The Polis round here are crap too.

27-05-2008, 06:10 AM
Yeah, I was shocked but not surprised when I read that on teletext yesterday. Port Seton is the pits now, I'm nearly embarrassed to hail from there half the time.

As much as Anne and I disagree politically, she represents her constituents quite well.

The Polis round here are crap too.

Would have to disagree with that. There were disputes as to whether she should even still be our MP as many branches of the labour party in East Lothian wanted her out. Add to that her 'Hitler' Comment, Sky high travel expenses and the fact she's thick as pig sh@t and I think we've got a poor MP.

Still, find these knobs that did this to her and kick the crap out of them please polis or vigilantes

Calvin
27-05-2008, 11:02 AM
All round crap but we had an issue the other week we wanted her to raise, got an email back the next day, a meeting next week and now she's working on it, that's what I meant by the respresentation bit.

Probably will never get anywhere though.

27-05-2008, 11:26 AM
Unfortunately if the Polis take preventative measures in combating youth violence, then the usual suspects start screaming about police injustices, bully boy tactics and police state Scotland.

I grew up in Wallyford and you could expect a clip around the ear from the village plod if you even looked like thinking about trouble. At the end of the day it was for your own good IMHO. Things went down hill in that village after they pulled the plod out due to government cutbacks.

Hibbie_Cameron
27-05-2008, 12:34 PM
Shocking to hear this

As already said noone deserves this treatment whether you agree with them or not.

More shocked she was out jogging and not in a taxi round the town:wink:

27-05-2008, 02:42 PM
I'm always amused with the way that whenever one of the "great and good" suffer from the general breakdown of civilisation, the media rags take it up and we get "Shock! Horror! Mugging in Port Seton!" (Or wherever.)

The same thing IIRC happened to Fatty George Fowl-kiss a while back.

Anyone else would have got 5 lines in the "Courier" and forgotten about.

So maybe we'll now hear Anne Moffat speaking out in Westminster on behalf of all the other anonymous victims of the rising crime rate, for which perhaps her mate Cathy Jamieson bears a fair responsibility?

And everyone I know in East Lothian thinks she's as useless as Iain Gray MSP - which means they'd make a nice matching pair of chocolate fire-guards.

28-05-2008, 09:04 AM
[QUOTE=Calvino;1625691]Yeah, I was shocked but not surprised when I read that on teletext yesterday. Port Seton is the pits now, I'm nearly embarrassed to hail from there half the time.QUOTE]

You mean it's taken something like this?

gringojoe
28-05-2008, 07:50 PM
Tough on crime, tough on the causes of crime. Another Labour lie, never mind she will probably hire a minder and claim for him on her expenses.

ScapeGoat
28-05-2008, 08:04 PM
Is Port Seton really that bad?

Was GOC that had an "altercation" with an Elvis impersonator there? Was that some kind of turning point?

29-05-2008, 08:37 AM
Is Port Seton really that bad?

Was GOC that had an "altercation" with an Elvis impersonator there? Was that some kind of turning point?

Some would say the turning point came in the 60s when they built the power station. It came as a relief to many, who feared they were going to have to build a wall instead.

It's an old story, but this Port Seton lad, came home and announced he was going to marry a girl from Prestonpans.

"has she slept with her brother", asked his parents.

"No".

"has she slept with her father then"

"No".

"Has she slept with her cousins"

"No"

"In that case you can't marry her"

"why"

(altogether now) "if she's not good enough for her own family, she's not good enough for ours"

I'll get my family tree.

29-05-2008, 10:46 AM
Some would say the turning point came in the 60s when they built the power station. It came as a relief to many, who feared they were going to have to build a wall instead.

It's an old story, but this Port Seton lad, came home and announced he was going to marry a girl from Prestonpans.

"has she slept with her brother", asked his parents.

"No".

"has she slept with her father then"

"No".

"Has she slept with her cousins"

"No"

"In that case you can't marry her"

"why"

(altogether now) "if she's not good enough for her own family, she's not good enough for ours"

I'll get my family tree.

The way I heard that story, the lad was from Tranent and the lassie from the Pans.

I think there are a lot of MPs and MSPs who need to be reminded that the things they do and say in Westminster or Holyrood (ior the things they FAIL to do and say there) have practical and lasting consequences for the rest of us.

That said, a bunch of cowardly wee neds ganging up on a woman on her own? Real hard men. :bitchy:

29-05-2008, 11:10 AM
The way I heard that story, the lad was from Tranent and the lassie from the Pans.

I think there are a lot of MPs and MSPs who need to be reminded that the things they do and say in Westminster or Holyrood (ior the things they FAIL to do and say there) have practical and lasting consequences for the rest of us.

That said, a bunch of cowardly wee neds ganging up on a woman on her own? Real hard men. :bitchy:

Aye but Panners and Tranenters don't have a history of marrying their cousins, unlike most fishing villages from Eyemouth to Peterhead.

McSwanky
29-05-2008, 11:49 AM
Aye but Panners and Tranenters don't have a history of marrying their cousins, unlike most fishing villages from Eyemouth to Peterhead.

Most Panners I know have got more cousins than I've had hot dinners. Ask a Panner if they know a Panner and the stock response is, "aye, he/she's ma cousin."

If that's not an incestuous community, I don't know what is. :duck:

29-05-2008, 11:58 AM
Most Panners I know have got more cousins than I've had hot dinners. Ask a Panner if they know a Panner and the stock response is, "aye, he/she's ma cousin."

If that's not an incestuous community, I don't know what is. :duck:

There is a difference between being related to someone, and sleeping with them, it is about half a mile.

McSwanky
29-05-2008, 12:00 PM
There is a difference between being related to someone, and sleeping with them, it is about half a mile.

Crikey, you were lucky. I only got about 6 inches.

29-05-2008, 12:20 PM
Crikey, you were lucky. I only got about 6 inches.

I don't like to brag.:blushie:

Calvin
02-06-2008, 10:47 AM
The only time I've ever got in trouble at school was when I wrote something about the inbreeding in Prestonpans both historically and today for a project.

It's true though, everyone from Prestonpans has 3 cousins in Prestonpans.

McSwanky
02-06-2008, 11:02 AM
The only time I've ever got in trouble at school was when I wrote something about the inbreeding in Prestonpans both historically and today for a project.

It's true though, everyone from Prestonpans has 3 cousins in Prestonpans.

Exactly 3? And here was me thinking they were no good at adding up :wink::duck:

(I would just like to point out at this juncture that some of my best friends are from Prestonpans, and are top blokes. I just like to stereotype and generalise in a racist fashion.)