View Full Version : Holidays

sammy7
18-05-2008, 06:34 PM
Where's everyone going on their holidays this year then??

18-05-2008, 06:43 PM
Where's everyone going on their holidays this year then??My back garden....:boo hoo:..Costa Very Little ...

sammy7
18-05-2008, 06:59 PM
My back garden....:boo hoo:..Costa Very Little ...

Haha. Yeah, everywhere is quite expensive just now ( except the back garden ) I don't have anything booked yet.. was in Magaluf for 3 nights last month and it was great so maybe head back there.. don't know yet!

18-05-2008, 06:59 PM
Playa Blanca Lanzarote :thumbsup:

TheBall'sRound
18-05-2008, 07:00 PM
My back garden....:boo hoo:..Costa Very Little ...

Ireland for a week then off to California (baby) for 2 and a half. Got a convertible pre-hired and nowhere to be. Heaven :thumbsup:

Little Miss Perfect
18-05-2008, 07:09 PM
Just outside Marmaris in Turkey,2 weeks in August,can't wait :thumbsup:

scott7_0(Prague)
18-05-2008, 07:11 PM
Well so far I have managed -

Skiing in the Austrian Alps long weekends x 2
Back to Edinburgh for long weekends x 5
Bratislava long weekend x 1
Dresden long weekend x 1
Munich long weekend x 1

Greece coming up in July
Egypt in Sept or Oct

and probably

Edinburgh again 3 or 4 times and the Alps twice before Christmas.

18-05-2008, 07:15 PM
Haha. Yeah, everywhere is quite expensive just now ( except the back garden ) I don't have anything booked yet.. was in Magaluf for 3 nights last month and it was great so maybe head back there.. don't know yet!Wife is too busy with her Nursing studies/placements etc...unfortunately her holidays off are diff from mines ...def get something next year though ..:agree:

howdenthehibby
18-05-2008, 07:42 PM
just back from paris,and thats it this year im afraid,lovely but very expensive.

18-05-2008, 08:17 PM

Dresden long weekend x 1
Munich long weekend x 1

Greece coming up in July
Egypt in Sept or Oct

and probably

Fantastic city, one of the most beautiful cities I've visited. Been twice and I'd go back in an instant.

Chuckie
18-05-2008, 08:44 PM
Brokeback Mountain....

18-05-2008, 09:11 PM
Fantastic city, one of the most beautiful cities I've visited. Been twice and I'd go back in an instant.

I would never have considered Dresden as a tourist destination. I was under the impression that the allies flattened the whole city during the war, wiping out nearly all of it's historical architechture.

My fault for being ignorant I guess.

aazza91
18-05-2008, 09:18 PM
Just outside Marmaris in Turkey,2 weeks in August,can't wait :thumbsup:

Also heading out to Turkey (Icmeler) in August.
Where about exactly you going too?

Plus 2 weeks in Zante, going on June 12th.

18-05-2008, 09:21 PM
Sweden in July for the Intertattie then off to the Scotland games in Macedonia and Iceland by way of Hungry and Bulgaria in September. Might try to get a week on a beach before the end of the summer or maybe a week in Toronto to visit my mucker, unless we progress to the UEFA Cup of course. :thumbsup:

Little Miss Perfect
18-05-2008, 09:21 PM
Also heading out to Turkey (Icmeler) in August.
Where about exactly you going too?

Plus 2 weeks in Zante, going on June 12th.

We're staying in Armutulan right at the back of Marmaris. Was In Icmeler last year. What dates you going?

Little Miss Perfect
18-05-2008, 09:23 PM

Dresden long weekend x 1
Munich long weekend x 1

Greece coming up in July
Egypt in Sept or Oct

and probably

Lucky you..

I'm just having 1 holiday this year,it's a shock to the system as we are normally away somewhere every other month, too much going on this year though :boo hoo:

Vexhim Hibee
18-05-2008, 10:17 PM
Krakow for 4 nights in June leaving on the 16th. Then 3 nights in London for the Motor Show in July leaving on the 26th Sunday Monday at the show and 3 concerts Squeeze on Saturday 80s now and then on Sunday and Blondie on Monday.

18-05-2008, 10:36 PM
Going to Ohio, Indiana and Michigan for 10 days, leaving on the 30th from Edinburgh.

Off to Florida for 2 weeks in August/September.

Going to New York in September (11th), but it's not exactly a holiday :boo hoo:

aazza91
19-05-2008, 04:11 AM
We're staying in Armutulan right at the back of Marmaris. Was In Icmeler last year. What dates you going?

Going on the 12th August until the 19th, What about yourself?

19-05-2008, 05:08 AM
Erm, New Zealand for me this year :agree::wink:

MagicSwirlingShip
19-05-2008, 05:55 AM
Back to Ibiza for the 3rd year on the bounce for me... Can't wait!:thumbsup:

19-05-2008, 07:34 AM
Madeira last time home. Sweden and NornIreland next time home and hopefully somehwere with a beach Sep/Oct leave (unless we are still in or have reached UEFA cup that is!!!)

19-05-2008, 07:45 AM
Off to the sunny Maldives 2 weeks today :woohoo::woohoo::woohoo:

19-05-2008, 11:26 AM
Pfft, I trump you all.

Post Graduation travelling - flying to Toronto on June 22nd - 4 nights there (Niagara Falls etc etc), then flying to Mexico City and spending the best part of 6 weeks in Mexico touring about with a couple of mates :party:

Got home the day before our friendly against Wigan and will then be moving to Nantes for the year in mid September.

Proud to be Scottish, happy to be the **** away from Scotland :thumbsup:

stu in nottingham
19-05-2008, 05:20 PM
We had Fiorentina and Venice booked in June. Due to family illness we will now be going to British Columbia, Canada for three weeks specifically Kelowna, Vancouver and the Rockies.

Not a bad substitute. :wink:

19-05-2008, 09:13 PM
off to benidorm this friday for a hen weekend, 16 ladies going until monday:thumbsup:

going to the isle of bute for a weekend in june with all the family as we are unvailing a plaque on a seat in memory of my grandma.

then new york for xmas with robert.

Little Miss Perfect
19-05-2008, 09:34 PM
Going on the 12th August until the 19th, What about yourself?

26th Aug :thumbsup:

19-05-2008, 09:55 PM
I would never have considered Dresden as a tourist destination. I was under the impression that the allies flattened the whole city during the war, wiping out nearly all of it's historical architechture.

My fault for being ignorant I guess.

You have company! I was thinking the same thing.

20-05-2008, 08:23 AM
You have company! I was thinking the same thing.

They rebuilt Dresden brick for brick as it was before it got completely flattened by the necessary yet wholly morally dubious (with the glory of hindsight) bombing campaign.

Apparently it's amazing - not been myself

20-05-2008, 09:31 AM
They rebuilt Dresden brick for brick as it was before it got completely flattened by the necessary yet wholly morally dubious (with the glory of hindsight) bombing campaign.

Apparently it's amazing - not been myself

Been a few years since I was in Dresden (went over for a Burns supper of all things). I reckon it must have been around 1983. Was great. As you say all rebuilt apart from one of the churches (I think) that they made safe and is now a sort of anti war monument. Never been since the wall came down so dunno what it is like since it has been westernized.

Rep of Ireland Hibee
20-05-2008, 09:48 AM
About 10 trips back to Dublin to watch St Patricks Athletic

Kosice in August, Salou/Barcelona and Belfast in September, and where ever St Patricks Athletic are playing in UEFA Cup :thumbsup:

Delboy4
20-05-2008, 10:11 AM
Been to Madrid, Dublin earlier on this year.
Going to Barbados end of June for two weeks:partyhibb:flying:
Then hopefully Sweden to cheer on the Cabbage.............:thumbsup:

Rep of Ireland Hibee
20-05-2008, 10:39 AM
Been to Madrid, Dublin earlier on this year.
Going to Barbados end of June for two weeks:partyhibb:flying:
Then hopefully Sweden to cheer on the Cabbage.............:thumbsup:

Go to Harbour Lights Nightclub on the beach. When I was there it was about $20 in and free drink all night. Have a great time, barbados is an absolute paradise

scott7_0(Prague)
20-05-2008, 01:13 PM
About 10 trips back to Dublin to watch St Patricks Athletic

Kosice in August, Salou/Barcelona and Belfast in September, and where ever St Patricks Athletic are playing in UEFA Cup :thumbsup:

OI I thought you were a Dynamo Zizkov fan now a days, christ you change Czech teams like hearts have mangers.

Rep of Ireland Hibee
20-05-2008, 02:52 PM
OI I thought you were a Dynamo Zizkov fan now a days, christ you change Czech teams like hearts have mangers.

That was resolved ages ago. Slavia have been forgiven for their errors. They admited fault as they were so busy with the moving into the new flash stadium. There apology parcel was more than welcoming. :wink:

By the way, I think Hearts have changed manager more than once. You should probably consider a change too, away from Pragus maroon shame :greengrin:wink:

(don't forget to send me that email :thumbsup: )

scott7_0(Prague)
20-05-2008, 02:55 PM
Slavia have been forgiven for their errors. They admited fault as they were so busy with the moving into the new flash stadium. There apology parcel was more than welcoming. :wink:

By the way, I think Hearts have changed manager more than once. You should probably consider a change too, away from Pragus maroon shame :greengrin:wink:

(don't forget to send me that email :thumbsup: )

Zrádce

Perth Hibee
22-05-2008, 05:23 PM
France on saturday then working in Muscat, oman for a month then the main holiday of the year......IBIZA, 9th year in a row, going for the decade!!! Going to be awesome :thumbsup:

24-05-2008, 03:02 PM
Was ski-ing in the French Alps earlier this year.

Next month I've got this little Shack (http://www.mamut.net/fjordferien/subdet4.htm) and a boat for a week on a Norwegian Fjord.

4 weeks in Sept/Oct in this (http://www.roadbearrv.com/veh_mh28.php) baby. Picking it up in New Jersey and giving it up in San Francisco 3.5 weeks later.

I need holidays :grr: noooooooooooooowwwwwwwww!

AllyF
24-05-2008, 03:56 PM
Sorento in Italy with the school in a month, can't wait for that. Will be a good rest after the exams. Also, south of France in August with the family.
Off to Kinross for the weekend in July too. :greengrin

24-05-2008, 04:39 PM
We had Fiorentina and Venice booked in June. Due to family illness we will now be going to British Columbia, Canada for three weeks specifically Kelowna, Vancouver and the Rockies.

Not a bad substitute. :wink:

where is fiorentina???

so far in the last year iv been to
amsterdam x 2
roosendaal x 8 or so
florence
pisa
brugge
ghent
brussels
madrid

usually for weekends, a few day trips

hoping to go to luxembourg and rotterdam before i come back to scotland

also hoping to visit friends in berlin, greece, lisbon and prague by 2009

24-05-2008, 06:05 PM
where is fiorentina???

so far in the last year iv been to
amsterdam x 2
roosendaal x 8 or so
florence
pisa
brugge
ghent
brussels
madrid

usually for weekends, a few day trips

hoping to go to luxembourg and rotterdam before i come back to scotland

also hoping to visit friends in berlin, greece, lisbon and prague by 2009

Fiorentina and Florence - one and the same place mate - would have thought you'd have know that seeing as you've been there! Been there too and pisa - would go back in a minute.

24-05-2008, 06:10 PM
Krakow for 4 nights in June leaving on the 16th. Then 3 nights in London for the Motor Show in July leaving on the 26th Sunday Monday at the show and 3 concerts Squeeze on Saturday 80s now and then on Sunday and Blondie on Monday.

Was in Krakow for a long weekend in March - very nice - hope you enjoy it. If you've not been before I would thoroughly recommend a visit to Auschwitz. I know it sounds morbid but it really is fascinating and truly unbelievable how big the second camp (Birkenau) really was. very humbling indeed.

Hoping to jet off to Dubai later in the year to visit a friend who is working out there -might as well take the opportunity whilst it's there!!

Gus
25-05-2008, 09:22 PM
off to ibiza on the 13th June for a week, the Tidy boys boot camp, gonna be mental?

Anyone else out in Ibiza that week??????????

26-05-2008, 01:43 PM
I've just booked flights which will take me...:thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup:

home:boo hoo::boo hoo::boo hoo::boo hoo:

26-05-2008, 01:56 PM
Fiorentina and Florence - one and the same place mate - would have thought you'd have know that seeing as you've been there! Been there too and pisa - would go back in a minute.

its not the same place! fiorentina are the football team! well as far as im aware, i stand to be corrected though!

did you climb the leaning tower!? one of the wierdest and best experiences iv had!

26-05-2008, 02:41 PM
Florida again for me this year, going to be in orlando for 12 nights then on a carnival cruise for 7, stopping in Nassau, Hondouras, Cozumel and Belize and then another 2 nights in Orlando after the cruise before heading home...........cannae wait :hyper:

26-05-2008, 03:12 PM
st lucia in 21days:thumbsup:

26-05-2008, 03:33 PM
st lucia in 21days:thumbsup:

What resort you staying in mate?

26-05-2008, 03:48 PM
its not the same place! fiorentina are the football team! well as far as im aware, i stand to be corrected though!

did you climb the leaning tower!? one of the wierdest and best experiences iv had!

Hmmmmm I wonder what the Italian for Florence is..........

Fiorenze (I think) thus Fiorentina = the football team from Florence.

Local rivalry is with Siena I think, but either way Fiorentina = from Florence.

Although, doubtless we are - somehow - both wrong :thumbsup:

27-05-2008, 11:00 AM

Hmmmmm I wonder what the Italian for Florence is..........

Fiorenze (I think) thus Fiorentina = the football team from Florence.

Local rivalry is with Siena I think, but either way Fiorentina = from Florence.

Although, doubtless we are - somehow - both wrong :thumbsup:

This was my understanding as well.

Antwerphibs - unfortunately, I did not scale the heights of the leaning tower! When we got there it must have been about lunchtime and there was no queue. We thought "ya dancer" and went in to pay to go up it. Unbeknownst to us that you actually buy a ticket with a time to go up and if we wanted a ticket the earliest time was 5.20pm. **** that for a laugh! So we just took a load of cheesy photos of it and the buildings surrounding it and went shopping in Pisa city centre instead - fab! :drool:

27-05-2008, 11:18 AM
This was my understanding as well.

Antwerphibs - unfortunately, I did not scale the heights of the leaning tower! When we got there it must have been about lunchtime and there was no queue. We thought "ya dancer" and went in to pay to go up it. Unbeknownst to us that you actually buy a ticket with a time to go up and if we wanted a ticket the earliest time was 5.20pm. **** that for a laugh! So we just took a load of cheesy photos of it and the buildings surrounding it and went shopping in Pisa city centre instead - fab! :drool:

Did you do the usual tourist photo of you holding up the tower :wink:

27-05-2008, 11:58 AM
Going to Croatia in a couple of weeks time. Dubrovnik. Really looking forward to it. Hoping to hire a car to head over to Bosnia (Mostar) and to Montenegro (Kotor). Easy reach of a day trip.

I was in Cyprus in January - don't really like Cyprus. It is void of any real identity or culture in the South with a *******ised British culture of greasy spoon cafe's and football shirts. It's like Southend with palm trees. I far preferred the Turkish side. I'm actually starting to think it would be a bit of a shame if the island reunified.

Then in December, I'm off to Brazil to see my brother.

27-05-2008, 12:50 PM
Going to Croatia in a couple of weeks time. Dubrovnik. Really looking forward to it. Hoping to hire a car to head over to Bosnia (Mostar) and to Montenegro (Kotor). Easy reach of a day trip.

I was in Cyprus in January - don't really like Cyprus. It is void of any real identity or culture in the South with a *******ised British culture of greasy spoon cafe's and football shirts. It's like Southend with palm trees. I far preferred the Turkish side. I'm actually starting to think it would be a bit of a shame if the island reunified.

Then in December, I'm off to Brazil to see my brother.

Me too, the Turks weren't up their own erses (is that an oxymoron) unlike their counterparts in the south.

27-05-2008, 12:57 PM
Me too, the Turks weren't up their own erses (is that an oxymoron) unlike their counterparts in the south.

To be fair, I think that folks in the South had tired of tourists whereas in the North they are still a fairly novel item and bring much needed cash.

We found the Turkish side to have more of a culture to it.

There's more culture to be found in my fridge at home than there was in the Republic of Cyprus.

27-05-2008, 01:02 PM

To be fair, I think that folks in the South had tired of tourists whereas in the North they are still a fairly novel item and bring much needed cash.

There's more culture to be found in my fridge at home than there was in the Republic of Cyprus.

Where did you go in the Turkish side? Got a villa in a place called Alsancak not far from Girne (Kyrenia) for 2 weeks in July. Never been before what do you reckon?

27-05-2008, 01:05 PM

That's the feeling I got too. Sort of "your cash is welcome, but hurry up and spend it".

Rep of Ireland Hibee
27-05-2008, 01:11 PM
I was in Cyprus in January

What was weather like in January? I'm off to Larnaca next Jan

27-05-2008, 01:24 PM
Where did you go in the Turkish side? Got a villa in a place called Alsancak not far from Girne (Kyrenia) for 2 weeks in July. Never been before what do you reckon?

Kyrenia - it's very nice. The whole area is very scenic. The roads are good and nothing is too far to drive for wee day trips. The "panhandle" Karpaz Peninsula right at the top of the island is worth a visit - some nice beaches up there. Also worth a visit are the Troodos Mountains, but you can't normally take a car from the North into the South but you should be able to easily hire a car in the South.

Its worth visiting Lefkosa (Nicosia) because the Old Town there is great. Lots of winding streets and wee market stalls. There is a great wee place called Buyuk Han and there is also an interesting mosque there. The Green Zone is fascinating. There is also the Hamam - the Turkish baths, but apparently some american tourists got bummed in there and the city authorities decided to close it down. haha

Weather in January - it was cold at nights - i didnt get my knees out all the time I was there. When you felt the sun on your face, it was warm - perhaps a bit like a good spring day over here but its not really beach weather.

27-05-2008, 01:38 PM
Kyrenia - it's very nice. The whole area is very scenic. The roads are good and nothing is too far to drive for wee day trips. The "panhandle" Karpaz Peninsula right at the top of the island is worth a visit - some nice beaches up there. Also worth a visit are the Troodos Mountains, but you can't normally take a car from the North into the South but you should be able to easily hire a car in the South.

Its worth visiting Lefkosa (Nicosia) because the Old Town there is great. Lots of winding streets and wee market stalls. There is a great wee place called Buyuk Han and there is also an interesting mosque there. The Green Zone is fascinating. There is also the Hamam - the Turkish baths, but apparently some american tourists got bummed in there and the city authorities decided to close it down. haha

Weather in January - it was cold at nights - i didnt get my knees out all the time I was there. When you felt the sun on your face, it was warm - perhaps a bit like a good spring day over here but its not really beach weather.

Cheers for that, sounds good. Hiring a car in the North for getting about, flying into Larnaca but being picked up at airport. Would imagine July will be boiling so will be taking it easy I reckon.

27-05-2008, 01:45 PM
Cheers for that, sounds good. Hiring a car in the North for getting about, flying into Larnaca but being picked up at airport. Would imagine July will be boiling so will be taking it easy I reckon.

Yup - nothing worse than frying at the wheel of your hire car. I would recommend visiting Lefkosa (Nicosia) - its really interesting.

The other thing I remember about North Cyprus was the fact that you hardly saw any women anywhere. Lots of lads walking around in army uniforms (I think it is where Turkey send their National Service recruits!). You hardly ever see women and certainly never on their own - unless they are tourists!

It is maybe different in the more touristy areas - as I say, I was there in January and it was very quiet.

The people were nice and always willing to help. I came away with a great affection and a lot of respect for the North of Cyprus.

27-05-2008, 01:55 PM
What resort you staying in mate?

Le Sport :thumbsup:

27-05-2008, 08:34 PM
Did you do the usual tourist photo of you holding up the tower :wink:

Actually no. There was a lot of building work taking place a little distance from the tower, so I climbed up on a wire fence and the resulting photo looks like me leaning on the leaning tower of pisa - quality!! :thumbsup:

AllyF
27-05-2008, 10:31 PM
Going to Croatia in a couple of weeks time. Dubrovnik.

Dubrovnik's amazing. :agree:

Bohemian_Hibee
27-05-2008, 11:58 PM
Jan '08 - Fuerteventura
Feb '08- Barcelona
May '08- Salzburg
June '08- Sunny Rhyl (Intertoto game :thumbsup:)
July '08- Bitez,Turkey
Aug '08- St Petersburg.

Oh,..and throw in the obligatory trips to Auld Reekie.

Anyone been to St. Petersburg? Tips/advise?

Just noticed. This is post No.666 and it's only taken me 6 years!:devil: