View Full Version : Boris

08-05-2008, 10:51 AM
Thought there would be something on here about this unreconstructed fascist getting the top job in London.

FWIW I reckon it's the sign of a society that has totally imploded. People don't believe in anything, so why not put a buffoon in charge and have a laugh.

Thing is, I reckon once Boris starts to show his true nature, they'll be lined up against a wall and shot. Jolly nice blokes the upper class don't you know.

Calvin
08-05-2008, 10:56 AM
Thought there would be something on here about this unreconstructed fascist getting the top job in London.

FWIW I reckon it's the sign of a society that has totally imploded. People don't believe in anything, so why not put a buffoon in charge and have a laugh.
Thing is, I reckon once Boris starts to show his true nature, they'll be lined up against a wall and shot. Jolly nice blokes the upper class don't you know.

I agree totally. So many people are nowadays disillusioned with all politicians and parties that a laugh is the best option.

We voted for the Lib Dem guy but really they're all crap.

To be honest, I don't think he'll be any worse than Kenny was.

08-05-2008, 11:03 AM
I agree totally. So many people are nowadays disillusioned with all politicians and parties that a laugh is the best option.

We voted for the Lib Dem guy but really they're all crap.

To be honest, I don't think he'll be any worse than Kenny was.

You are probably too young to remember the havoc that the tories inflicted on this country.

With Boris what you see is what you get. A blithering, upper class twit, along the lines of a first world war general. Think Field Marshall Melchet in Blackadder and you'll get an idea of the sensitivity he'll bring to the situation.

Expecting Rain
08-05-2008, 11:32 AM

When this kind of thing happens you have to have a total rethink, create and manage your own politics on a daily basis, i agree society has imploded and political uniformity especially among the large parties is bland and uninteresting.

Expecting Rain
08-05-2008, 11:35 AM
"Don`t Follow Leaders watch the parking meters"

GreenandGlaikit
08-05-2008, 12:00 PM

Keep up ! :greengrin http://www.hibs.net/message/showthread.php?t=116842

08-05-2008, 12:02 PM
Got to agree with this although I'm unsure as to how justified the fascist label is.
I've usually found Boris Johnson to be quite an amusing creature but I was quite shocked when he got elected as mayor of London. There's a big difference between having a laugh on "Have I Got News for You" and running one of the biggest cities in Europe and I'm sort of gritting my teeth at the prospect as it seems like a car crash in the making.
Of course Red Ken was a colourful character as well but a lot more experienced and you could sense a real passion he had for the job which most seem to agree he made a reasonable success of.
Boris on the other hand looked as gob smacked as I was that he'd actually been elected which is worrying in itself. Time will tell though, whether there's a brain behind the bumfoonery - I hope for the sake of londoners that there is.

08-05-2008, 12:07 PM
Keep up ! :greengrin http://www.hibs.net/message/showthread.php?t=116842

Wondered why there wasn't something on this already. :doh:

GreenandGlaikit
08-05-2008, 12:16 PM
Got to agree with this although I'm unsure as to how justified the fascist label is.
I've usually found Boris Johnson to be quite an amusing creature but I was quite shocked when he got elected as mayor of London. There's a big difference between having a laugh on "Have I Got News for You" and running one of the biggest cities in Europe and I'm sort of gritting my teeth at the prospect as it seems like a car crash in the making.
Of course Red Ken was a colourful character as well but a lot more experienced and you could sense a real passion he had for the job which most seem to agree he made a reasonable success of.
Boris on the other hand looked as gob smacked as I was that he'd actually been elected which is worrying in itself. Time will tell though, whether there's a brain behind the bumfoonery - I hope for the sake of londoners that there is.

He's unquestionably an intelligent man. :agree: However, like Arnold Schwarzenegger being elected Californian Governor (like Ronald Regan before him - RONALD REGAN!!!!) it's mair a damning condemnation o' the Electorate's intelligence.

They prefer mild fame tae real political substance. :ill:

Suppose it's only a matter o' time before Gordon Ramsay and that other git Jeremy '@@@@' Clarkson are elected tae high office. :sick:

khib70
08-05-2008, 01:17 PM
IMO he can only be an improvement on the anti-Semitic, Trotskyist weasel Livingstone, to whom good riddance:bye::trumpet:

08-05-2008, 01:36 PM
It is a bit of a worrying development, but probably more worrying is the way that labour just don't seem to have grasped that their poor showing in England and Wales was nothing to do with the economy as such. More to do with the way they are running the country.

Anyhow, gordon's "in charge". he'll see us through this mess. arf arf.

08-05-2008, 01:38 PM
He's unquestionably an intelligent man. :agree: However, like Arnold Schwarzenegger being elected Californian Governor (like Ronald Regan before him - RONALD REGAN!!!!) it's mair a damning condemnation o' the Electorate's intelligence.

They prefer mild fame tae real political substance. :ill:

Suppose it's only a matter o' time before Gordon Ramsay and that other git Jeremy '@@@@' Clarkson are elected tae high office. :sick:

The "damning condemnation" of the intelligence of the electorate isn't Boris's election as London mayor - it's how on earth the Scottish people keep electing New Labour Party numpties to Westminster and Holyrood. :cool2:

And why the English electorate continue to tolerate it when so many Scots of a New Labour persuasion end up on the government front benches with their snouts firmly in the feeding-trough and absolutely NO constituency responsibilities to justify their presence in the House of Commons.

In the past 48 hours I have heard Gordon Brown, Wendy Alexander, Malcolm Chisholm, Jim Fitzpatrick, Ian Gray among others each contradicting him/herself in regard to whether Wendy did or did not say "Bring it on" and what exactly she meant (or didn't mean) by it.

Compared to any or all of that lot, Boris seems to me to be the very epitome of a responsible statesman.

:faf: :faf: :faf:

08-05-2008, 02:26 PM
The "damning condemnation" of the intelligence of the electorate isn't Boris's election as London mayor - it's how on earth the Scottish people keep electing New Labour Party numpties to Westminster and Holyrood. :cool2:

And why the English electorate continue to tolerate it when so many Scots of a New Labour persuasion end up on the government front benches with their snouts firmly in the feeding-trough and absolutely NO constituency responsibilities to justify their presence in the House of Commons.

In the past 48 hours I have heard Gordon Brown, Wendy Alexander, Malcolm Chisholm, Jim Fitzpatrick, Ian Gray among others each contradicting him/herself in regard to whether Wendy did or did not say "Bring it on" and what exactly she meant (or didn't mean) by it.

Compared to any or all of that lot, Boris seems to me to be the very epitome of a responsible statesman.

Dead man walking.:agree:

Tomsk
08-05-2008, 02:41 PM

Speaking of statesmen, has Lord Foulkes of Cumnock shared his wisdom with us on the matter to date? The world waits with baited breath I would think.

08-05-2008, 02:45 PM
Speaking of statesmen, has Lord Foulkes of Cumnock shared his wisdom with us on the matter to date? The world waits with baited breath I would think.

You'd think the people of London would have more to be getting on with than making cheap jibes at my expense - electing this buffoon. When did they last win the Scottish Cup anyway?

He might have said.

GreenandGlaikit
08-05-2008, 02:53 PM

Sorry, thought Tam Dalyell wis deid or retired ! :greengrin

The the logic behind 'Scots Ministers' is flawed. We are either in the UK or entirely separate (no fussed, TBH). If the the same argument wis raised when Tory English Ministers controlled UK Defence /Foreign Affairs/Exchequer etc., whilst representing their English, Welsh, & NI constituancies it might've been valid - else the argument reeks o' English Democrat-style ravings.

Tomsk
08-05-2008, 03:09 PM
He might have said.

Or ...

"Ah'll tak' ma oath it wasnae me. The cork wadna come oot."

08-05-2008, 04:12 PM
As a Thatcher Kid and a Blair Teenager (and young adult) I have no faith in party politics.

Boris is a buffon. Funny ****er sometimes but he isnt a politician. And being a funny ****er isnt what i want from someone in office anyway.

Other than ruining my life with bringing the Olympics to london (loooooong story) I havent got much to complain about Ken. I do however have alot to complain about with the conservatives now trying to sound like the "peoples" party.

da-robster
08-05-2008, 07:04 PM
interestingly our class went to the parliamen tand quizzed Mike Pringle Foulks and A green party adn I asked if he would vote for the Status Quo More powers or independence. I'm convince he said there should not be a referendum obviously oblivious to the fact that Wendy 's on the front page of every newspaper proclaiming "Bring it on" of course this was the same man who critisized Alex Salmond fpr attemptenting to make Scotland a better place to live than the rest of the UK.

strummbo
08-05-2008, 08:14 PM
Red Ken is not anti jew, he is anti the state of Israel, which is understandable given Israels view and actions pertaining to Palestine

Boris is a grade a buffoon, his father is the same

Run london, the twat couldnae even run a frickin bath...

Loads of Londoners i know are perplexed by the result

voter apathy, does any one know what the turnout was expressed as a percentage of the total

08-05-2008, 08:22 PM
Red Ken is not anti jew, he is anti the state of Israel, which is understandable given Israels view and actions pertaining to Palestine

Boris is a grade a buffoon, his father is the same

Loads of Londoners i know are perplexed by the result

voter apathy, does any one know what the turnout was expressed as a percentage of the total

turnout was actually higher this time. 45%

labour cannae blame the voters for this one.

08-05-2008, 11:12 PM

of course! He has "lower class" people do it for him :wink:

09-05-2008, 12:49 AM
You are probably too young to remember the havoc that the tories inflicted on this country.

With Boris what you see is what you get. A blithering, upper class twit, along the lines of a first world war general. Think Field Marshall Melchet in Blackadder and you'll get an idea of the sensitivity he'll bring to the situation.

An excellent comparison :agree:

10-05-2008, 04:32 PM
Sorry, thought Tam Dalyell wis deid or retired ! :greengrin

The the logic behind 'Scots Ministers' is flawed. We are either in the UK or entirely separate (no fussed, TBH). If the the same argument wis raised when Tory English Ministers controlled UK Defence /Foreign Affairs/Exchequer etc., whilst representing their English, Welsh, & NI constituancies it might've been valid - else the argument reeks o' English Democrat-style ravings.

Tam Dalyell wasn't so daft, actually.

Scots MPs at Westminster have no regular constituency responsibilities to concern them there. Most of the matters that concern their constituents - health, education, social services, etc - are matters that have been devolved to Holyrood.

As long as everyone at Westminster had similar responsibilities and areas of competence, one could argue that as the legislature of a united country, everyone could vote on every issue regardless of where their constituency happened to be. But Westminster MPs now have no power over a whole lot of issues in Scotland that have been devolved to Holyrood; so why should the Scots cast votes on similar matters in England that have nothing to do with them?

When the Tories inflicted us with the Poll Tax, it was arguably a breach of the Treaty of Union - taxation measures under the Treaty were to be uniform throughout the UK. That was wrong - but the present situation regarding Scottish Westminster MPs is no better.

Devolution has defined certain matters as 'devolved matters' in Scotland, but not in England. 'Devolved matters' are matters that aren't dealt with at Westminster - unless they relate to England. There is an obvious inequality here in the way that government generally deals with, for example, education in Scotland, and education in England.

And those who argue for a 'devolved assembly' style parliament in Edinburgh while retaining the United Kingdom as one nation have never given a satisfactory answer to this question.

The idea that the Holyrood Parliament could remain a sort of glorified county council - what Billy Connolly insultingly referred to as a 'wee pretendy parliament' is a total non-starter. It will either lead to devolved assemblies in the English regions (with IMO an acceleration in the process of the break-up of the UK entirely) or it will result in the much more radical devolution of power to Scotland within (I would guess) a confederated United Kingdom within the EC.

In that case we may well have to create a Federal government to deal with defence, foreign policy, constitutional issues, etc for the UK as a whole, while confining the present House of Commons to domestic matters relating solely to England. I would expect the Welsh Assembly to gain fully devolved powers as well - as would Stormont.

The United States of Great Britain and Northern Ireland? Maybe.

Of course, one might ask (and I'm certain that Alec Salmond and others will) whether a confederated union with England within the United Kingdom under the present British Crown is a situation worth stopping at? Within the EC it would make sense to go the whole distance and simply be a Scots Republic and work directly from Edinburgh to Brussels - cut out the Westminster middle-man, in fact.

Alba gu bragh! Up the Republic! :devil:

11-05-2008, 11:04 PM
The only way to turn the UK around is for Clarkson as PM, ahm no coming back to UK shores until that happen :wink:

And FWIW I don't think Boris is anywhere as much of a bufoon as his public image suggests :agree:

11-05-2008, 11:54 PM
The only way to turn the UK around is for Clarkson as PM, ahm no coming back to UK shores until that happen :wink:

And FWIW I don't think Boris is anywhere as much of a bufoon as his public image suggests :agree:

If anything, i'd suggest he's even worse. Had the displeasure to be in this idiot's company several years ago.

Wouldn't trust the fool to run a message.

12-05-2008, 05:47 PM
interestingly our class went to the parliamen tand quizzed Mike Pringle Foulks and A green party adn I asked if he would vote for the Status Quo More powers or independence. I'm convince he said there should not be a referendum obviously oblivious to the fact that Wendy 's on the front page of every newspaper proclaiming "Bring it on" of course this was the same man who critisized Alex Salmond fpr attemptenting to make Scotland a better place to live than the rest of the UK.
This is a cheap shot but instead of taking the class to Holyrood they should have kept you in class and polished up your typing or at the very least getting you to read over what you type before saving/posting it. :greengrin

12-05-2008, 09:50 PM

This is a cheap shot but instead of taking the class to Holyrood they should have kept you in class and polished up your typing or at the very least getting you to read over what you type before saving/posting it. :greengrin

32 years ago the Scottish Education department sent a memo down to all secondary school English departments instructing us to discontinue the practice of correcting and marking down spelling, punctuation, and sentence construction errors in written work submitted by our students.

Instead, we were to encourage 'creativity', 'liberty of expression', and 'imaginative freedom'.

McLuhan said that 'the medium is the message'. In other words, confused langauge betrays confusion of thought. Unstructured language is incapable of expressing structured thought at any level.

Don't blame the laddie, blame the system that fails to teach our children and young people to read, write and speak their own language accurately.

I actually agree with what he's trying to say here.

And you must admit that he's much more coherent than Boris and Fatty Foul-kiss usually are.

But then, I suspect that unlike them, he's sober. :devil:

13-05-2008, 12:15 PM
32 years ago the Scottish Education department sent a memo down to all secondary school English departments instructing us to discontinue the practice of correcting and marking down spelling, punctuation, and sentence construction errors in written work submitted by our students.

Instead, we were to encourage 'creativity', 'liberty of expression', and 'imaginative freedom'.

McLuhan said that 'the medium is the message'. In other words, confused langauge betrays confusion of thought. Unstructured language is incapable of expressing structured thought at any level.

Don't blame the laddie, blame the system that fails to teach our children and young people to read, write and speak their own language accurately.

I actually agree with what he's trying to say here.

And you must admit that he's much more coherent than Boris and Fatty Foul-kiss usually are.

But then, I suspect that unlike them, he's sober. :devil:
So then Doddie. Picaso. Genius or Screwed up?
I could paint better than that. :wink:
Get the basics right before letting the little buggers loose with imagination I say. :agree: