View Full Version : Musselburgh Redknecks
30-04-2008, 11:26 AM
Saw Rhona Cameron on the telly, talking about her Musselburgh childhood. She went on to call people there "Redknecks" - that can't be right can it?
30-04-2008, 11:44 AM
Saw Rhona Cameron on the telly, talking about her Musselburgh childhood. She went on to call people there "Redknecks" - that can't be right can it?
Depends if they spent a long time out in the sun without any lotion on?
30-04-2008, 12:03 PM
No it's not.
If she had mentioned Prestonpans and rednecks she may have been closer to the mark :greengrin :stirrer:
30-04-2008, 12:49 PM
No it's not.
If she had mentioned Prestonpans and rednecks she may have been closer to the mark :greengrin :stirrer:
People in Prestonpans don't have necks.
McSwanky
30-04-2008, 01:01 PM
People in Prestonpans don't have necks.
That can't be right, I'm sure a few of them have fashioned one for themselves from brass.
30-04-2008, 01:37 PM
That can't be right, I'm sure a few of them have fashioned one for themselves from brass.
Reminds me of a joke I heard once:
Polisman to courting couple: Hey there - what are you up to up that close.
Ned: We're only necking.
Polis: Well, would you kindly put that neck back in your trousers.
The end.
Tomsk
30-04-2008, 01:51 PM
No it's not.
No, the American football team in Musselburgh is definitely the Musselburgh Rednecks. It's the Prestonpans Fluteplayers doon the Pauns ye ken.
Um, so I hear. Though I for one don't believe a word of it.
Calvin
30-04-2008, 02:00 PM
I would be offended by that if I was a real Panner, but given that I'm a Longniddry boy at heart and live in the nice new houses on the outskirts, I'll agree.
Bottom Pans is worse than Kosovo and the entire place is inbred ;)
McSwanky
30-04-2008, 02:04 PM
I would be offended by that if I was a real Panner, but given that I'm a Longniddry boy at heart and live in the nice new houses on the outskirts, I'll agree.
Off topic I know, but can anyone actually tell me where the line is drawn between 'top' and 'bottom' Pans? I assume the school's in the top pans, but is the community centre, for example, top or bottom pans?
I'm sure it's one of life's unsolved mysteries, someone prove me wrong!!
30-04-2008, 02:12 PM
Off topic I know, but can anyone actually tell me where the line is drawn between 'top' and 'bottom' Pans? I assume the school's in the top pans, but is the community centre, for example, top or bottom pans?
I'm sure it's one of life's unsolved mysteries, someone prove me wrong!!
Can't say with any real committment, but I think the top pans is the area around the Shrine, between Preston Road and the main road to Longniddry.
Calvin
01-05-2008, 12:20 AM
It used to be along the lines of what Filled Rolls said but young Panners couldn't get their head round that.
Basically, the concensus between us now is that Ayres Wind is the dividing line, Top Pans to the East and Bottom Pans to the West. So in 20 years when everyone from PL has grown up and married their cousin that will be the answer.
It is nice and simple and can be easily shown on the map as W Loan.
http://www.ukstation.com/edinburgh+lothian/map/prestonpans.html
01-05-2008, 09:49 AM
Port Setons going that way too. There's only one pub I'd drink at in Port Seton, but a couple I'd drink in in the pans, which says it all really.
McSwanky
01-05-2008, 09:58 AM
Port Setons going that way too. There's only one pub I'd drink at in Port Seton, but a couple I'd drink in in the pans, which says it all really.
There's only one pub I'd drink in in Longniddry too, but then again there is only one pub in Longniddry :wink:
01-05-2008, 01:57 PM
There's only one pub I'd drink in in Longniddry too, but then again there is only one pub in Longniddry :wink:
Legion and the inn, both gid for a pint
Calvin
01-05-2008, 02:54 PM
Don't talk to me about the Inn, all my friends go there now and I still look too young (which I am but so are they) so I am left in the Pans alone all weekend.
Port Seton is a mare, demolish the Wemyss and the problems would be less I reckon. The Thorntree is still the only decent pub there.
01-05-2008, 04:28 PM
Don't talk to me about the Inn, all my friends go there now and I still look too young (which I am but so are they) so I am left in the Pans alone all weekend.
Port Seton is a mare, demolish the Wemyss and the problems would be less I reckon. The Thorntree is still the only decent pub there.
Time to get some new pals Calvino.:agree:
PiemanP
01-05-2008, 07:36 PM
or some fake ID
:devil::greengrin
FraserHFC
01-05-2008, 10:08 PM
or some fake ID
:devil::greengrin
or a real ID, with fake details :devil:
Calvin
01-05-2008, 10:31 PM
Slim pickings though at PL.
Most folk have fake IDs but no-one would be stupid enough to believe mine :rolleyes:
rainman
06-05-2008, 07:12 AM
Slim pickings though at PL.
Most folk have fake IDs but no-one would be stupid enough to believe mine :rolleyes:
I take it you've never met the owners of the Inn? Couple of morons the pair of them.
Seriously went downhill since that pair of fuds took over the place.
06-05-2008, 09:25 AM
I take it you've never met the owners of the Inn? Couple of morons the pair of them.
Guys a grumpy git.
Calvin
06-05-2008, 08:14 PM
Aye they're flanges right enough.
Rossco442
07-05-2008, 09:57 AM
Aye they're flanges right enough.
Can't argue with the food though - smashing and a massive portion.
The legion is better for drinking - plus it shows the fitba. :thumbsup:
jakki
07-05-2008, 04:45 PM
Am I correct thinking you're talking about the owners of the Wemyss?
Lisa and Brian are old friends of ours of around 18 years and I certainly wouldn't describe them as "fuds"
07-05-2008, 07:41 PM
Am I correct thinking you're talking about the owners of the Wemyss?
Lisa and Brian are old friends of ours of around 18 years and I certainly wouldn't describe them as "fuds"
Longniddry Inn here. Wemyss is a dodgy pub with lots of bother, don't know how your friends can put up with it. Fair play to them.
rainman
08-05-2008, 04:57 AM
Longniddry Inn here. Wemyss is a dodgy pub with lots of bother, don't know how your friends can put up with it. Fair play to them.
I'm talking about Linda and Davie, the managers of The Longniddry Inn. Complete fuds.
Your right, the owners of The Wemyss deserve a medal for putting up with the **** that goes on there.
08-05-2008, 03:50 PM
I'm talking about Linda and Davie, the managers of The Longniddry Inn. Complete fuds.
Your right, the owners of The Wemyss deserve a medal for putting up with the **** that goes on there.
Yeah i realised you were, don't think marydoll did. Davie's a sour faced grumpy git
jakki
08-05-2008, 06:43 PM
oops my mistake.
When we had a caravan down at Seton Sands for15 years many years ago, we often went to the Longniddry Inn for a meal and weren't disappointed.
Sad to hear that it seems that everything has went down hill, but the most must be the caravan site. We went back there in March and although booked for the week,only stayed the one night.
Not a place for auld codgers like us:greengrin