View Full Version : 1st "proper jobs"

17-04-2008, 03:52 PM
Just wondering what - for those of you that can remember - your first "proper" job was - i.e. full time 9-5 stylee after leaving school University??

Looks like mine's will either be joining the machine that is the Civil Service, or teaching English in France for a year (only one that is a 100% go-er at he mo) and then seeing what happens upon my return.

17-04-2008, 03:55 PM
I was a fitness instructor for 5 years... now im off to uni to learn something interesting and doesnt make me want to smash my head against walls.

jamesg
17-04-2008, 03:55 PM
Within 6months of leaving school i was down newcastle doing basic training, i joined the army an was a junior soldier missing my mammy

17-04-2008, 04:05 PM
I was a car radiator engineer with Serck Services & Clan Radiators....worse job i ever had ..hated it ..

17-04-2008, 04:20 PM
Galley boy in merchant navy. Jan 1972, 15 years old.

jakki
17-04-2008, 04:44 PM
Actuarial Clerkess with the Caledonian Insurance Company

17-04-2008, 04:58 PM
Galley boy in merchant navy. Jan 1972, 15 years old.

You mean to say you didn't go to University!!!!!

Well I never :dizzy: :greengrin

thekaratekid
17-04-2008, 05:01 PM
Bingo caller

lol

17-04-2008, 05:51 PM
Scottish Gas admin....before it was a call centre and they actually used to care :bye:

18-04-2008, 05:29 AM
You mean to say you didn't go to University!!!!!

Well I never :dizzy: :greengrin

:bitchy: :tsk tsk::shocked:The University of Life has taken me to where I am today. My company did send me to college a few years later though (and I still never got a student ST):wink:

Gaz
18-04-2008, 06:59 AM
After leaving higher education i worked in the operations centre for then telewest now virgin media doing admin work. Still with them 9 years later working in the IT dept in desktop support

18-04-2008, 08:08 AM
My first full time job was a Games Tester at Rockstar North, surely beat the heck out of working part time at B&Q or Sainsburys!

stu in nottingham
18-04-2008, 08:32 AM
I did/am doing University BA and MsC as a mature student. When I left school at sixteen I went to work on the staff at for Notts County Cricket Club at Trent Bridge. The daily duties were as a groundstaff worker tending the pitch and the job was with a view to becoming a professional cricketer whilst I turned out for the youth team, Notts Colts.

Actually loved the job. Being outside was great. Overtime on evenings and weekends was helping operate the electric scoreboard. Met quite a lot of famous people too.

Neil4Hibs
18-04-2008, 09:12 AM
Deck Cadet in the Merchant Navy - P&O. Started at 16. Great life.

18-04-2008, 10:10 AM
My outstanding memory is of the Personnel woman, with a broad, superior grin saying, "....and you will have 22 days Annual Leave, which we believe is very generous!" I had just come from a student's 50% on / 50 % off life. I felt physically sick.

18-04-2008, 11:12 AM
Left school 26yrs ago and still don't have a "proper" job.

scott7_0(Prague)
18-04-2008, 11:55 AM
Self employed bouncy castle repair man!!

Great job, but had it's ups and downs!!

I'll get my coat!

hibee_boy
18-04-2008, 05:55 PM
primary school teacher

18-04-2008, 07:10 PM
Sawmill labourer was my first job upon leaving school and was very hard work at times.

18-04-2008, 07:59 PM
Spraypainter !

I was young and decided i didnt like it :bitchy: My mate loved it and is still doing it now making very big bucks indeed :agree:

18-04-2008, 08:14 PM
Trainee Accooontant at Babygro, Kirkcaldy .. was legend! :agree:

Mr T
18-04-2008, 09:03 PM
Left school at 16 and worked for Reg Vardy. Now working for another company who recently bought them over :greengrin

18-04-2008, 10:30 PM
teaching English in France for a year (only one that is a 100% go-er at he mo) and then seeing what happens upon my return.

If this is the British Council scheme I did this in Germany and would really recommed it. 12 hours a week and either a Monday or Friday off to enjoy where you go. PM me if you want any info.

18-04-2008, 10:54 PM
Office monkey in Scottish Life. Good God that was dull!!

18-04-2008, 10:56 PM
Deck Cadet in the Merchant Navy - P&O. Started at 16. Great life.

Engineer Cadet in the Merchant Navy - Ellerman City Liners. Started at 16. Loved it.:greengrin

18-04-2008, 11:55 PM
Engineer Cadet in the Merchant Navy - Ellerman City Liners. Started at 16. Loved it.:greengrinSo you were the one who oiled the Captains bolts ...& tightened his nuts ...:greengrin....

19-04-2008, 05:13 AM
Far too much semen (I mean seamen) on here!!!!!! Having said that you other pair were baby officers , not really workers.

Ants
19-04-2008, 06:49 AM
Mechanical Technician Apprentice Wi Ferranti.
Recently got my 25 Years LACK OF AMBITION Award.

Bunter
19-04-2008, 07:09 AM
Deli staff in Safeway at Piershill. I know my cheese. :wink:

19-04-2008, 09:05 AM
If this is the British Council scheme I did this in Germany and would really recommed it. 12 hours a week and either a Monday or Friday off to enjoy where you go. PM me if you want any info.

Yeh that's the one.

I'll wait until I get the info pack through before PM'ing but I certainly plan on doing a fair bit of travelling whilst I'm there, so the whole Monday or Friday off chat sounds excellent!!!

19-04-2008, 11:54 AM
Far too much semen (I mean seamen) on here!!!!!! Having said that you other pair were baby officers , not really workers.

:take that
You are only jealous 'cos I worked in the nerve centre.:greengrin

Pretty sad though when you think about it what hapened to the shipping industry. In the seventies the MN was still a major employer, by the early eighties a lot of the famous companies had already gone.

20-04-2008, 05:54 AM
:take that
You are only jealous 'cos I worked in the nerve centre.:greengrin

Pretty sad though when you think about it what hapened to the shipping industry. In the seventies the MN was still a major employer, by the early eighties a lot of the famous companies had already gone.

Absolutely correct mate. What galls me even more is the fact it received no publicity at all. Virtually every company flagged out as you know with huge loss of jobs and not a thing said by any government. Disgraceful. I started off with Union Castle in 72, but when I joined BP in 75 they had about 120 ships. Most of them with around 35 people on them. When they made us all redundant in 86 we are down to around 25 ships with about 25 people on each. Huge loss of jobs. I was one of the fortunate ones I guess. I ended up with 28 years at sea, 25 of them on tankers. And by the way I ended up a superintendent so I guess my galley boy days did something for me :greengrin

NaeTechnoHibby
20-04-2008, 11:31 PM
Hotel Receptionist :agree:

After a move from my first to second job, I got invited to London to work for the big swanky new Thistle there, and I hated it on site and said no :bitchy:

The fall out from that was that none of my so called pals didnae want to talk to me again :thumbsup: Bunch o' two faced weegie slappers, the lot of them :agree:

I went to the Isle of Mull after that and then back to Edinburgh :thumbsup:

Worked at the Braid Hills Hotel for for four years :agree:

Mixu62
21-04-2008, 01:13 AM
Marketing Dept at Scottish & Newcaslte. Dull dull dull. Only thing duller was the subsequent 15 years in the civil service which I escaped from to go to NZ. Doing more office stuff here, as (this is quite sad) it's pretty much all I can do!! If I had to do a single days manual labour, I'd need a month in bed to recover!! Still, the office can be a dangerous place. Got a rather nasty paper cut last week....

21-04-2008, 07:48 AM
Absolutely correct mate. What galls me even more is the fact it received no publicity at all. Virtually every company flagged out as you know with huge loss of jobs and not a thing said by any government. Disgraceful. I started off with Union Castle in 72, but when I joined BP in 75 they had about 120 ships. Most of them with around 35 people on them. When they made us all redundant in 86 we are down to around 25 ships with about 25 people on each. Huge loss of jobs. I was one of the fortunate ones I guess. I ended up with 28 years at sea, 25 of them on tankers. And by the way I ended up a superintendent so I guess my galley boy days did something for me :greengrin

That's something I have often had a wee rant about. It wasn't just the Goverment that ignored what was happening, the press turned a blind eye too.
You did well. I was with a general cargo company which really failed to react quickly enough to containerisation so they were one of the first to dramatically downsize their fleet. Add in the fact that the Junior Engineer rank disappeared virtually overnight and my career, such as it was, got strangled at birth. I did eventually end up working on coasters running close continent trips and servicing the Scottish Islands. There wasn't much money in it but it was brilliant fun. :greengrin

21-04-2008, 08:39 AM
Aye, and here is a reminder of some nice waves just to make us hanker to do it all again

http://www.snotr.com/video/960

21-04-2008, 11:15 AM
Aye, and here is a reminder of some nice waves just to make us hanker to do it all again

http://www.snotr.com/video/960

:greengrin Now that is impressive.

Louise
21-04-2008, 12:05 PM
Moved straight to Standard Life after school. Worked there for a few years as a CSR. Now working as a Recruitment Consultant and have been for the last year and a bit!

First real job though was a florist (part time whilst I was at school) made bouquet's and delivered them to the funeral home next door - not an ideal job for a 15 year old!

21-04-2008, 12:54 PM

http://www.snotr.com/video/960That water cannae be doing those electrics any good !!! :greengrin

21-04-2008, 01:44 PM
Left school at Easter time, I wasn't 16 until the August and then joined a shopfitting firm who also manufactured snooker tables. The first year was a YTS and then I started my apprenticeship as a joiner which I completed alongside learning to be a table fitter. Fitting snooker tables was the business so continued in that game travelling europe and sitting on my erse brushing and ironing in between tournament/ professional league games.

21-04-2008, 01:52 PM
Left school at Easter time, I wasn't 16 until the August and then joined a shopfitting firm who also manufactured snooker tables. The first year was a YTS and then I started my apprenticeship as a joiner which I completed alongside learning to be a table fitter. Fitting snooker tables was the business so continued in that game travelling europe and sitting on my erse brushing and ironing in between tournament/ professional league games.

... certainly not to be baulked at! :thumbsup:

Sorry, it was a nap that someone would come up with that! :whistle:

Don't worry - the coat's already on.....

21-04-2008, 01:54 PM
... certainly not to be baulked at! :thumbsup:

Sorry, it was a nap that someone would come up with that! :whistle:

Don't worry - the coat's already on.....

Give us a break :greengrin

21-04-2008, 02:08 PM
Give us a break :greengrin

Your lucky you're not scared of spiders! :greengrin

21-04-2008, 02:13 PM
Your lucky you're not scared of spiders! :greengrin

I need a rest :greengrin

That's your cue for a reply

21-04-2008, 05:49 PM
My first full time job was a Games Tester at Rockstar North, surely beat the heck out of working part time at B&Q or Sainsburys!

now thats a job

mines was a marquee erector for purvis marquees hard work

Orchard_Hibs
23-04-2008, 04:39 PM
Worked for tiso when i left school but got picked up by The North Face company in there product testing department, then busted my knee so went to UNI and when I'm done here i'm not sure what i'll do.

HibeeChick
29-04-2008, 10:36 AM
I was a florist at 13.... im still a florist at nearly 23 :agree:

29-04-2008, 10:41 AM
Apprentice Brickie.

duncs
29-04-2008, 02:28 PM
Going to begin my first "proper" job in July when I become President of the Aberdeen University Student Association, which will mean I'm not technically still a student but will be working on their behalf instead.